1-AP

by Charlie
Letter

An ad in UK says :

UK Toyota Estima Ad

Toyota Estima Emina 2.4 Latest Edition.
5 Doors, Automatic, MPV, Petrol, 49,000 miles, Pearl White, 02 Reg year 2002, Air Conditioning, Anti-Lock Braking System, Central Locking, Compact Disc Player, 8 Seats, Electric Mirrors, Electric Windows, Adjustable Seat Height, Adjustable Steering Column, Air Bag, Alarm,

£8595

This car will sell for RM 160,000 in KL.
But £1 = RM 4.794
£ 8595 = RM 41,204.
So cheap? Cannot be!

OK. The pound took a dip. Lets use the old old rate of £1= RM 7
Then £ 8595 = RM 60,165
So cheap ? Really ? Why are we Malaysians paying RM 160,000?

The costing is :
Vehicle CIF — RM 60,000
Duty.Taxes/profit — RM 60,000

The other RM 40,000? Goes to the notorious AP.

If I sell 1 AP per month, my income is higher than the monthly salary of a CEO of a listed company. More than 1.5 times the annual salary of a fresh graduate.

If I sell 2 APs per month, I am a millionaire by definition : million dollar income.

Why do you want to go to U, struggle for 3-4 years, and get paid less than what they make with 1-AP?

Now I know why AP is extended again and again, and again …….

1. #1 by DAP man on Sunday, 4 July 2010 - 9:17 am

“Why do you want to go to U, struggle for 3-4 years, and get paid less than what they make with 1-AP?”

Why struggle when you have 30% equity in listed companies, university entry with 2As, scholarships for mediocrity, govt jobs, govt contracts at inflated costs, top jobs in GLCs and APs.

All you need the right skin colour and right connections and some laziness. Then call yourself “Tuan” and the hardworking people “Pendatangs”.

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 4 July 2010 - 9:49 am

No doubt, this is one side of the NEP policy – a misincentive for the wrong kind of performance.

But its more than that – when the game is unfair and the rules of the game is transparent, those who can be the best won’t invest in doing it because you never know when they will change the rules and make it unfair to you. Why would you try to go it alone and do remarkable feats and effort if you know that even if you do very well, someone think he is entitled to a piece of it without putting in the same effort and investment? You are not guaranteed to be protected from those who are feel entitled. You rather not do it. You rather not invest the effort and risk. Other than a misincetive of performance, its also a disincentive to the best performance.

3. #3 by hurricanemax on Sunday, 4 July 2010 - 10:41 am

Actually, all i ever needed to be successful in boehland is to be lazy, 3rd kelas local U grad or no grad, loud mouth, ability to spew racist messages, skill to round up a horde of ignoramus rakyak and buy myself to be a divisional head of a BN party. Yeah, my first step to be a Sukses Koprat.

4. #4 by PoliticoKat on Sunday, 4 July 2010 - 11:32 am

AP rules!

Sell 24 APs and you are set for life! How sweet it is to live in Malaysia. Proton sells about 100,000 cars a year. So that can be 100,000 APs. That means Proton alone can make 4100 poor, economically disadvantaged Malaysians into millionaire, every year!sub. And proton has been around for 30 years… that means 120,000 millionaires!

How sweet is it to be Malaysian! Where money flows like water!

5. #5 by frankyapp on Sunday, 4 July 2010 - 12:53 pm

How sweet is it to be Malaysian! Where money flows like water!/// PoliticoKat

Correction,it should be how sweet is it to be UMNO’s tools/cronies where money flows like water. I think if you wanted to be an instant millionaire or billionaire,all you needed to do is getting to pretty closed to the top ruling politicians in UMNO. The chinese ” guanxi ” is the magic vane.

6. #6 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 4 July 2010 - 1:17 pm

How sweet is it to be Malaysian! Where money flows like water!/// PoliticoKat.

If you’re enterpreneur – and a crony or a crony of a crony in order to take advantage of the many rules and regulations that deprive others but favour a select few who could leverage on connections to corner and profit from a certain segment of the market.

You can’t do that so easily in matured markets elsewhere.

7. #7 by gofortruth on Sunday, 4 July 2010 - 3:46 pm

A 2003 model here in Paris going for 7750 Euros ( RM 31000) only.
    http://www.lacentrale.fr/auto-occasion-annonce-11401067.html

8. #8 by raven77 on Sunday, 4 July 2010 - 3:52 pm

This AP thing is a stone age story….but what we need to know now is what is the PAKATAN RAKYAT is doing concretely to put an end to this!!!!! We rakyat cannot bleed on like this until there is no one left to vote…

9. #9 by kpt99 on Sunday, 4 July 2010 - 4:13 pm

Malaysians have no choice but to drive expensive and low grade cars coz of the AP and Proton.There is no value for money at all.Paying double for the imported ordinary cars like Toyota,Honda and etc.

10. #10 by habis on Sunday, 4 July 2010 - 5:57 pm

It just goes to show that the issue of APs to crony companies does not benefit the poor rural folks and creating lazy millionaires overnight who need not sweat as $$$$$ will surely rolled in.Just get connected to the bigwigs in the UNMO circles and you are on your way to the billionaire club.That is why APs will continue to florish until eternity comes because they are a rich source of donation to you know which party election funds.While others got to struggle and use their business acumen and ingenuity to accumulate wealth we have groups of individuals having $$$$$ thrust upon them without much sweat or labour.No need to go to the universities just join the right political party better still if your parents happen or rather blessed to be division leaders, heads of political parties in the BN. I will never be convinced by the present bunch of BN leaders who say that they here to serve the rakyat for they I strongly believe that elected representatives should bow to the voters and not the other way round. They are the rakyats servants and paid by the rakyats money. Why should we fear them because our votes will decide their fate.

11. #11 by limkamput on Sunday, 4 July 2010 - 7:43 pm

A Toyota Corolla 2003, hatchback, fantastic finishes, sound proof, is only 3000 pounds.

Sdr Lim, we should highlight more stories like this. Otherwise, they think we have forgotten the whole APs issues. Of course you can’t expect the father of racism to make any more noise about the APs anymore. His family members are now back in circulation. This bloody blood sucking scheme must be stopped right now. No wonder the second wife of former NAZA boss now want to claim 500 million ringgit fortune that was left behind.

A starting pay of a graduate in UK is about 2000 pounds just like most Malaysians earning about 2000 ringgit. Granted they pay slightly higher taxes, but I can ASSURE YOU THAT EVERYTHING IN UK IS CHEAPER. It is not a ringgit to a pound as most leaders would want us to believe. Don’t listen to all purchasing power parity sh!t the well connected and half baked economists churned out for ignorant Malaysians. A 30 pound purchase in a supermarket can be easily equivalent to 100 ringgit purchase in our supermarket. Mind you, the food is usually of highest quality unlike here.

Not just foreigners; most Malaysian workers, including the white collar workers, are exploited. Of course our leaders and captains of industries and bosses in GLCs would blame on low worker productivity. I just want to ask all the pseudo and half baked economists who really get to decide on worker productivity – workers or management? If workers have rudimentary machine and processes to work on, how productive can you expect out of them? It is at fact that most bosses just know how to sit around warming their big asses, enjoy big fat pay and perks and do nothing on productivity. Occasionally they will create some scandals, financial, sex, whatever, you name it.

12. #12 by limkamput on Sunday, 4 July 2010 - 7:49 pm

Malaysian companies, including those entrepreneurially own and managed, are also exploiting their workers. It is a fact; we shall open up the debate. MTUC and CEUPECS are either too weak or corrupted to play their roles, this is also a fact.

13. #13 by limkamput on Sunday, 4 July 2010 - 7:51 pm

sorry repost: Most Malaysian companies, including those entrepreneurially owned and managed, are also exploiting their workers. It is a fact; we shall open up the debate. MTUC and CEUPECS are either too weak or corrupted to play their roles.

14. #14 by voice2009 on Sunday, 4 July 2010 - 10:33 pm

In our times MALAYSIA,

AP license stand for AUTO PIRATES

15. #15 by voice2009 on Sunday, 4 July 2010 - 10:35 pm

AP license stand for AUTOCAR PIRATES

16. #16 by Indran on Sunday, 4 July 2010 - 10:47 pm

We do not need YB to raise this issue again. As Malaysians, we have 2 choices:
    1. Refuse to enrich the AP holders with our hard-earned money by driving cheap second hand cars.
    2. If we still need to bask in the glory of driving a new car, set up a business and run your brand new car on the business. Deprive IRB of our hard-earned money.

We have a choice and if just a few hundred thousand Malaysians practise this, the auto pirates will have to sail the high seas.

17. #17 by HOHOHO on Sunday, 4 July 2010 - 10:48 pm

Ho Ho Ho
    AP = ANUS PIRATES only in BOLEHLAND
    B-eNd will be opposition very very soon if they keep on robbing the RAKYAT n all our RESOURCES dry to bankruptcy by 2019!!!!
    Ho Ho Ho

18. #18 by c730427 on Monday, 5 July 2010 - 9:30 am

A Nissan 2.5 X Trail cost only RM100k equivalent in Taiwan compared to RM150k++ in Nissan Malaysia.

Both nation has similar population and were badly hit by the 1997 financial back then. A decade later, Taiwan economy is vibrant and it’s internal development out paced us many folds. They had efficient public transport system and their high speed train is of world class standard but they never show Taiwan-boleh attitude like ours! For them, it is a need to develop and progress while we still dance and sing about Malaysia boleh but nothing gets done at the end of the day.

1-AP only brings us backwards, not forward :(

19. #19 by Godfather on Monday, 5 July 2010 - 11:59 am

The biggest scandal involving the APs is not just that it contributed to the ridiculous prices of vehicles or the fact that it only enriched a handful of UMNOputras. It is the fact that it indirectly promoted an inferior product – Proton – that killed so many people on the roads because there were no airbags or safety standards were compromised. For this alone, Mamakthir should be held accountable and given his day in court.

20. #20 by syeikh85s on Monday, 5 July 2010 - 12:23 pm

Well, it looks like a potential buyer has to pay a huge amount for a car that only cost very little. However, do we want the law and regulation be amended to allow all potential buyer to import their own car? I do understand the need for AP as a controlling measure for import of cars especially used and reconditioned one. Otherwise, our country will be a dumping ground for old vehicles, stolen vehicles and none road worthy ones. The government must revise to allow every tax paying citizens to entitle for one AP which can be used to purchase one car through registered dealers for a certain fixed fee plus tax plus. The vehicle must be registered under the purchasers name for not less than 5 years and restricted from transfer of ownership. AP must only be issued to tax payer with the reference number registered to the AP. Well, back to the discussion on the matter. One must understand that APs were approved to certain registered business entity with closed storage and out-let facilities and with payment of tax etc. One car which cost RM60,000 have to pay tax of about RM50,000 and shipment charges. So it is not right for a business entitu to sell the car for RM110,000 + shipment but surely with some profit. Must understand that, the importer has to pay for handling charges, shipment, storage at Port of clearance, transportation to the destination or show-room, overhead, sales personnel, last but not least some profit. What about the interest that have to be serviced with the financial institution that provide loan facilities to purchase the car in the country of origin? Not every car could be sold off in the very month but most cars are only disposable in months sometimes years. I think it is fair for the business entity to sell such a car for RM160,000.00. I am dare to say this because my son brought back a Harrier which he bought in Japan for only RM40,000 and paid RM40,000 as tax and shipment plus handling charges RM9,000 and documentation charges in Japan RM3,000. A total of RM92,000 was paid excluding road-tax and insurance and the car cost RM140,000 here. I am sure every businessmen need to make some profit. This is not charity but business.

21. #21 by Voter get Voters campaign for PR on Tuesday, 6 July 2010 - 5:10 pm

Dear Malaysians. I Love BN,I worship BN & I gonna Vote 4 BN
    BN is soooo smart in duping the Rakyat for over 54 years and yet the Rakyat are still in a drunken stupor to continue voting for them.
    1) PKFZ White Elephant 14 Billions
    2) 7.6 Billions Scorpene tin can
    3) 500 Millions halal commission on Scorpene
    4) 810 Millions palace balloning to some 1.2 Billions
    5) Maltrade II land grab by Naza, costing taxpayers some 2.2 Billions
    6) Limbang off shore blocks L and M giveaway to Brunei of 320 Billions.
    7) Maminco…cornering the tin market cost 2.2 Billions
    8) Bank Negara Forex fiasco costing ? Billions
    9) Perwaja Steel
    10) Naval support ships to cost 2.5 Billions so we can do humanitarians service to Indo or Philipine as earthquakes or Volcano erupts every month
    11) 60,000 APs worth 2.4 Billions given to a few umNOputras
    12) 810 Millions New Parliment
    13) BBMF scandal…Carrian group…BBMF manager was murdered
    14) RM6.75 billion for locally made naval vessels which were never delivered
    15) RM12.5 billion for economically senseless double tracking railway from Ipoh to the Thai border .
    16) Altantuya
    17) Teoh Beng Hock
    18) A.Kugan
    19) Amirulrashyid
    20) Nasir Safar’s ” chinese prostitute & Indian beggars,”
    21) Toyol 24 Million Palace
    22) missing jet engines
    23) Bala ‘s flip flop
    24) Perak coup de tat unlawful grab
    25) Sodomy I & II

Hope you guys can help me to compile a better list here by adding Facts & Figures ( no Sugar & Spices please ) that I missed out or err . We can then just copy n paste and email to all our friends on
    ” Why we must always vote for BN “

22. #22 by HJ Angus on Friday, 9 July 2010 - 5:43 pm

APs syatem must be the most blatant form of rent-seeking and should be easily used by the PR coalition to use in the next GE campaign.