Sibu by-election – the “Incredible Hulk” warning after the “Barbarians at the gate” speech

Malaysiakini commentator Terence Netto hit the nail on the head when he wrote a commentary entitled “S’wak BN shell-shocked by Sibu defeat“.

This explained the “Barbarians at the Gate” speech of SUPP Chairman, Datuk Dr. George Tan and the ensuring “Incredible Hulk” statement by Parti Rakyat Sarawak President Dato Sri Dr. James Masing, which is reproduced below.

When will the Barisan Nasional leaders particularly those from Sarawak come out of their denial syndrome and wake up to the true meaning and implications of the historic 516 verdict of the voters of Sibu in the Sibu by-election?

Don’t make Incredible Hulk angry, opposition told | The Borneo Post
May 26, 2010, Wednesday

KUCHING: Minister of Land Development Dato Sri Dr James Masing yesterday warned Peninsular Malaysia-based opposition parties to watch their step and refrain from practising rowdy politics in Sarawak. He said Sarawakians had had a glimpse of such behaviour among opposition leaders in the Batang Ai by-election but that was short-lived.

However, he said, during campaigning for the Sibu by-election Sarawakians had witnessed the full-blown rowdy behaviour of West Malaysian opposition leaders and their local counterparts.

Warning the opposition that such political rowdiness could break down social order in the country, he said they should not force Sarawakians to defend their territory against the rowdy antics of politicians from outside.

“Don’t make the Incredible Hulk angry. He is a very peaceful man but when he’s angry you better watch out. So don’t make him angry because you will not like him if he’s angry,” Masing told reporters during a break of the State Legislative Assembly (DUN) sitting yesterday after delivering his ministerial winding up speech.

“Please don’t come to Sarawak using that kind of tactics. These are alien to us and don’t do that because you may touch something which may not be very helpful to us. There is anger around us,” he warned.

He said Pakatan Rakyat (PR), comprising the Democratic Action Parti (DAP), Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) and Parti Islam Se-Malaysia (PAS), should learn from the May 13 incident and to ensure the ugly tragedy would not repeat itself.

“May 13 was when the Bumiputera were about to lose the power to control the state, so don’t start it. There’re certain things that we don’t go into. This is one thing we should understand. They should not encroach into one’s sacred areas because that will be a danger.

“I am just giving you a warning. Don’t do it. There must be certain areas that we play by and do it slowly. You must ask yourself why May 13 happened.

“Unfortunately there was a move along that direction, but please do not, if that happens we are going to have problems,” he cautioned.

While the people of Sarawak were very friendly, he said, when disturbed and provoked they too could be rough.

Earlier, in his speech, Masing said that the opposition should never assume that Sarawak politicians were incapable of being tough and fight back when forced to do so.

“The Dayaks, especially the Ibans, in this house, may look placid and timid, but if you touch our raw nerves and abuse our dignity and pride, we will fight back,” he stressed.

He said it was therefore, advisable for peninsulabased politicians to learn the history of Sarawak so that they know who the Ibans were and what they did to their enemies in the old days.

“The civilised world may have dulled the Ibans’ sense of aggression against those who wish them ill – but it can re-emerge and when it does it will not be pleasant.

“Malaysia has been peaceful for the past 50 years because we acknowledge and respect these societal holy grounds and understanding.

Whatever our political dreams are for ourselves or for our party, please, never forget those understandings less we fall into the abyss of anarchy.” He said when social order broke down, no one would benefit – not even members of the opposition.

“Therefore, it is my hope that in the midst of our struggle to get elected, or in our effort to score political points, we should not let our emotions get the better of us,” he said.

Commenting on the same issue, Housing and Urban Development Minister Datuk Amar Abang Johari Tun Openg said opposition parties from Peninsular Malaysia had been very provocative during the Sib by-election.

“If you start to do something which is provocative then other people will react.

So the best is to have certain atmosphere where everybody follows the game according to the rules.

“Surprisingly in the Sibu by-election there seemed to be some changes in the way they (opposition) campaign.

For the first time, in that by-election, I saw people travelling in a car with microphone,” he said.

Abang Johari said he had gone through seven elections but that was the first time he saw such a thing and it was only of late that he had witnessed the new and rowdy trend of campaigning.

However, he said, whether the Oppositions’ campaigning tactics were unlawful was up to the Election Commission (EC) and other relevant authorities to deal with.

Masing is Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) president while Abang Johari is deputy president of Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB).

1. #1 by newchief on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 7:11 am

this james masing is acting like a real BULLY cum GANGSTER when he talk as such !!! why didn’t he has the guts to say it at the assembly and not outside publicly ???

such speech only invites to a fight but as oppositions, they are clever enough not to response to such dog crazy talks but instead focusing on the rakyat’s welfare and digging for records of corruptions / hanky pankies during bn’s regime.

however, pk should make a police report to charge him for uttering may 13th and charge him ( though it may be futile ) as response to his threat. in fact, with such speech, he’s already trying to instil anger and hatred among all malaysians !!

pk should at least response saying this is a man who fails to accept or recognise defeat and such person should not hold office because he is still in his infant stage mentality. pk should encourage the rakyat to write a memo demanding for his resignation since he DOES NOT RESPECT the rakyat’s votes !!!

2. #2 by Dipoh Bous on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 8:35 am

I wonder what William Mawan has to say about the 516..

PRS and SPDP are the Dayak-based party. What have they done for the Dayaks apart from being partners in grabbing their land?

“So the best is to have certain atmosphere where everybody follows the game according to the rules.”

It’s fine if both parties ‘follow the game according to the rules’ but does BN follow the rules? If PR were to splash tons of RM like what BN did or make ‘do we have a deal’, one could have easily guessed what the MACC/EC PDRM would have done.

Sarawak voters, the time has come for us to give BN a chance to be on the other side of the field : as OPPOSSITION !!

Selamat Hari Gawai Gayu Guru Gerai Nyamai to all Malaysians who will be celebrating it.

u……ha….u……ha !!

3. #3 by johnnypok on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 9:00 am

JM is uncivilised and still living in the head-hunting days … cannot blame him … it is in the gene … and it is this kind of attitude which makes them vulnerable to be cheated by the federal government … he is so stupid not to realise that many of his own people are still living below poverty while KL is robbing their lands … moreover, he is so dumb not to realise that when he is of no use to BN, out he goes, and he will be wondering and dreaming for the rest of his life …remember Tawi Sli and Kalong Ningkang?

4. #4 by steven chan on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 9:01 am

What sort of minister is that Masing ? He is talking through his nose and bankrupt of ideas using May 13. Wake up to reality! Its now nothing to do with 513, race or religion. The ppl of the country want change from the corrupted and tyrant govt of BN especially in EMalaysia where they are deprived of even their basic needs.Do some soul searching and this trend of selling your rights, freedom away should be stopped.

5. #5 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 9:03 am

I have to ask. Why do UMNO/BN insist of using analogies that are obviously inaccurate? Do they even bother to read and understand the stories and lessons of these analogies so that they can use it accurately? Its like the grab whatever is superficially fit and think they can shove it down people’s throat.

Incredible Hulk original inspiration was Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde and Frankenstein. If these people bother to read the classics, the anology does not fit. The warning is about human emotional frailty and vanity about technologies. If you say the Dayaks/Ibans can turn into the Incredible hulk, where is their emotional frailty, vanity and technology? The warning on systematic abuse is about EXISTING system how they refuse to admit their wrong and mistakes and fight their own mistakes – that is the UMNO/BN and cannot apply to PR.

Do these people read at all? They only proof themselves to be hicks and ignoramus using these types of comparison

6. #6 by son of perpaduan on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 9:39 am

Hello James Masing, you think you uttering silly statement people will afraid? You tell people of Sarawak not to kill and eat tiger because tiger will soon become extinct but what if those Sarawakian who family have no food to feed?
    Save the tiger or family?

7. #7 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 9:50 am

Dato Sri Dr James Masing warns ‘Barbarian” Opposition at the Gates to be careful of the Incredible Hulk unleashing its uncontrollable rage to take heads. If the rage is fomenting for Opposition’s “rowdy politics”, why did DAP’s Wong Ho Leng win Sibu’s parliamentary seat in spite of overwhelming odds???

Although James did not say it explicitly, its implied by him that Opposition won because 67 percent of the voters there were Chinese, and that the others Melanaus, Dayaks/Ibans are not happy with rowdy tactics and that’s why Opposition should “know who the Ibans were and what they did to their enemies in the old days”. This is typical talk of Ketuanan Iban/Dayak adapted from ketuanan Melayu of Semenanjong based on politics of Divide! Divide! (based on race/creed) Fear! Fear! Fear! (May 13). It is not very creative is it? Why talk of May 13th in Sarawak? At the height of racial riot on May 13 1969, Sarawakians of all races were living in peace and harmony looking at Peninsular’s upheaval with wonder, disbelief and sadness. I believe Sarawakians compared to Semenanjong live in greater peace unity and harmony and this guy talks of spectre of May 13 there, in doing so he is the one implanting the ideas of rowdy tactics of his Semenanjong counterparts into the politics of Sarawak! And that includes the once-upon-a-time forcible removal of Stephen Kalong Ningkan from office by a federally initiated declaration of emergency based on some pretext of a “riot”…
    Its ironic he’s supporting George Tan’s accusation of the Opposition’s raising of Allah controversy as rowdy tactics when the first cause of that controversy was the political rhetoric of his Semenanjong counterparts; secondly, what the Opposition did was merely to remind Sarawakians to uphold the international 18 point treaty at time of joining Malaysia that religion in Peninsular shall not intrude into Sarawakian politics and affairs, which as a Sarawakian, James ought to be the first to uphold!

If there’s a seething anger amongst majority of Sarawakian building to the rage of Incredible Hulk one wonders at who that rage will be directed.

The situation of native Iban/Dayaks is that they are by majority poor (those working are earning RM16 a day) and deprived of modern amenities including sanitation and health care. Most important they lose their traditional lands. With no surveys conducted and hence no NCR titles issued whatever lands they occupy are State Land which the State could alienate and has alienated to the rich powerful and politically connected corporates whether local, Semenanjong or foreign based for development, whether for palm oil plantations, Bakun (with another 12 dams on the way) displacing thousands of indigenous people. They are betrayed by their Tuak Headmen. In elections headman, rewarded, arrange for long houses occupants to vote for incumbent. In other times corporates close to powers to be pay the headmen money so that they sell or give power of attorney for their lands to corporates to take over and develop their lands with bulk of commercial benefit to the businessmen….

In Al Jazeera’s interview 101 East by Fauziah Ibrahim sometime in March 2009 James could not deny that he was ally to the White Haired Rajah whose family corporate vehicle Cahaya Mata Sarawak is involved in much of Sarawak’s big business from cement manufacturing, construction, road maintenance to property development …In Sarawak Iban Bidayu and Orang Ulu make up something like 45% of population (Chinese about 26%) but its Malay (21%) and Melanau (7%) that exert disproportionate political and economic dominance.

8. #8 by ekompute on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 10:08 am

Dato Sri Dr James Masing: “Please don’t come to Sarawak using that kind of tactics. These are alien to us and don’t do that because you may touch something which may not be very helpful to us. There is anger around us.”

Is he referring to the “You help me, I help you” transaction?

9. #9 by Thor on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 10:12 am

What “incredible hulk”?
    All I can see is that “pink lipped hulk”.
    When he gets angry, he’ll stomp his foot and big fat mamma will shiver.

10. #10 by frankyapp on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 10:17 am

My goodness James Masing,how could you uttered such thing implying the opposition as outsiders. Then what about Najib and others from west malaysia and sabah,are they also outsiders ? Yea it’s time you and your fellows dayak and iban people turn Incredible Hulks towards UmnoBN who have raped,stolen and taken away much of your wealth which should be rightfully yours. Frankly I think James is barking at the wrong tree.

11. #11 by boh-liao on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 10:22 am

May Day, May Day! May 13! Mayhem!
    Sarawak BN cheats r, as usual, quick 2 use May 13 (even head-hunting practice) 2 scare d hell out of voters there
    Sarawak BN cheats’ war cry 2 voters: U must let us continue 2 impoverish, rape n sodomise U, n if U get smart n educated by outsiders, we will murder U, scalp U, pulverise U
    Such blatant n crude threats rocking d civil society, yet no ISA – BN’s rule
    West M’sian politicians r aliens but the green Hulk is not an alien or mutant huh

12. #12 by chengho on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 10:38 am

sarawak for sarawakian..

13. #13 by boh-liao on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 10:42 am

D nation is sliding faster down d slope 2 bankruptcy n extreme racial politics
    NR blessed d Malay Consultative Council (MPM) with a closing ceremony speech dat showed his true color: Malay agenda n fine tuning NEM 2 make UmnoB connected Malays richer
    D most scary statement made by NR: “Umno has lasted this long because it has been FAIR to EVERYONE.”
    Wah lau, nonUmnoB Malays n nonMalays must cry with joy n gratitude they had been treated fairly in d last >50 years by UmnoB!!!
    So rejoice as nonUmnoB Malays n nonMalays expect lots of fair treatments fr UmnoB!

14. #14 by johnnypok on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 10:59 am

JM enjoys being raped and sodomised by BN/UMNO for a small fee plus some scraps, and perhaps another decorative title to boost his ego, and to blind him permanently to all the sufferings of his native brothers and sisters at home.

And while his native folks are still struggling to make ends meet, this scumbag is barking at the savior of the nation. If he is a good Christian, he should welcome the opposition to come and help Sarawak from going to the dogs, because BN Sarawak cannot do anything, even if they want to, and God knows what will become of Sarawak if BN/UMNO is allowed to continue raping and sodomising the innocent people and their HP6 leaders like JM and many others.

15. #15 by cemerlang on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 11:47 am

Different attitudes. Different characters. Different civilization. Different psychological makeup. Different religions. From the time humans are conceived in their mothers’ wombs, they are subjected to all kinds of treatment. Love, got. Hate, got. Healing, got. Assaulted, got. The evolution of the inner men. There are so many courses, classes, teachings. Norms. Not the norms. We can go on and on and on. Yin Yang. God Devil. Black White. Somebody great once say that we must punish the Barisan Nasional using the Opposition. This somebody great is a Barisan Nasionaler himself. Why would somebody who loves his own party so much wishes to see it punished too ? Why can’t the world be hallucinating about love and love and all love, instead of being reactively negative about it ?

16. #16 by a2a on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 11:54 am

Dont ever trust them anymore.

The article 153 specific position temporary practise supposed to help them from poor condition.

They twisted around want it as their permanent rights.

And the condition is 30% quota suppose be reduced and reduced till zero from times to times review.

Again they twisted around want to increase the quota to 65%.

DONT EVER TRUST THEIR WORDS. THEY ARE HARDLY TRUSTWORTHY.

I SUPPOSED THEY ARE CONSIDERED BESTRAY ALL OUR ANCESTORS.

17. #17 by Mikewm on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 1:05 pm

I am speechless at the arrogance and utterly pathetic ramblings of an obvious dinosaur trying to avoid being extinguished and thereby losing the golden eggs that he is probably sitting on. He is clearly wanting the rakyat to continue to be docile and accepting of the rampant rape and pilaging that is going on around them. I am really sad to hear such idiotic public speeches from someone who should know a whole lot better!

18. #18 by limkamput on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 2:10 pm

Hey, Masing, you are a disgrace to Sarawak and your people. Your ancestors, despite their brave and glorious past would turn in their graves hearing you speak.

//Warning the opposition that such political rowdiness could break down social order in the country, he said they should not force Sarawakians to defend their territory against the rowdy antics of politicians from outside.//masing

First, masing, the social order in Sarawak, particular within your community, has broken down irreparably. Tell me what is left of your community other than the stupid position you hold in the state government. You want to defend your territory? Do you have one right now in the first place?

//“May 13 was when the Bumiputera were about to lose the power to control the state, so don’t start it.// masing

Assuming for a minute what you said is true, that bumiputera about to lose power is not you. You are bumiputera without power, so please don’t kid yourself.

//“The Dayaks, especially the Ibans, in this house, may look placid and timid, but if you touch our raw nerves and abuse our dignity and pride, we will fight back,” he stressed.//Masing

Your people long want to fight back. It is moronic leaders like you and others that held them back and cast them into perpetual poverty and deprivation.

19. #19 by limkamput on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 2:24 pm

Look, Jason, you can use whatever arguments and whatever persuasion to put forth your views and arguments. But there is no need for you to say “I am Christian and I am….”

It smacks of hypocrisy. You have no right to speak on behalf of other Christians. You have no right to interpret this issue based on your understanding of Christianity. You are a politician first and foremost, so please stick to it. Don’t be a hypocrite.

20. #20 by limkamput on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 2:42 pm

If you start to do something which is provocative then other people will react.//masing

Getting your people to rise up against corrupted, incompetent and spineless leaders will only provoke them into actions that will fasten your own demise. They will welcome us with open arms, and we shall empower them to redeem their pride and dignity, unlike you who have continuously committed them to perpetual deprivation, poverty and hopelessness.

21. #21 by Jong on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 2:51 pm

HoHoho poor little ‘brave one’, betrayed his own people the hardcore poor, yet has words bigger than himelf lah!

So before the truth of him gets out and into the interior, he wants the opposition Pakatan Rakyat to bugger-off, why takut arhh? …OK no cheating, we’ll meet at level playing field, we respect all, fear no one – Pitsbull or Hulk you decide.

22. #22 by albert308 on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 4:49 pm

Barbarian at Gate and Incredible Hulk statements by top BN Sarawak leaders is amazing. Sibu Miracle 516 evidently has make huge impact in Sarawak political climate. BN are feeling strong ‘undercurrent’ among Sarawakians that will caused ‘political tsunami’ in the upcoming state GE. James Masing statement on Peninsular’s May 13 bloodshed incidents is extremely seditious, obviously threatening to Sarawak social fabric. Desperately another tactics commonly used by Umno ultras when power base is challenge. Next, we wait for Taib [deleted] desperate statement.
    Sarawak BN on the brink to lose power!

23. #23 by monsterball on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 3:06 am

When BN looses…like in Sibu….just look at how Dr. James Masing talk.
    Mahathir said doctors cures….but this doc talk like a wild man…..a sore looser.
    Masing ignored all the stunts Najib made that backfired and now pick on DAP as trouble causers.
    This cheap scat doctor is still a jungle man.
    If SUPP had won…I wonder what would he have said.
    Most probably….nothing bad about DAP..and praising Najib… like hell.
    Let Malaysians read his comment.
    He is indirectly insulting Sibuans intelligence.
    He is encouraging uprisings.
    Come to K.L and talk like that.. he will have dozens of bad eggs thrown at his face.
    He comment is not coming from as learned man.
    It sounds like a SUPP robot barking…programmed to talk like that.
    We have one typical robot in this blog…Chengho..yet he is penning more refined and cultured comments compared to the jungle man.

24. #24 by dagen on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 9:49 am

That green monster on the silver screen somehow could always have his trousers on – torn and tattered of course, but always on. Ever wondered why? Huh its a big great secret of the united states. And guess? They wont share it with you idiot! Got it james?

25. #25 by artemisios on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 10:48 am

Hello James,

shame on you – for betraying your own people

shame on the guy who wrote that kiddy speech for you – for trying to instigate without base & insulting the rakyat’s (especially Sarawakians) intelligence

You really think the Sarawakians will be so easily fooled and call you a “hero”?

Think again.

On second thought, maybe you won’t get my point.. so let me tell you straight up.

The answer is NO. They won’t think of you as a hero. They will only see you as a puppet. A puppet who talks big. A puppet who’ll never understand the meaning of the word HONOR.

26. #26 by Comrade on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 1:17 pm

These “Barbarians at the Gate”
    Are actually saviour of Sarawak state
    The PR/DAP’s Sibu miracle of late
    Is the turning point of that

Wise up, dear Sarawakian mates
    Don’t let the ruling regime decide your fate
    Because it is one without a clean slate
    Vote in and give PR the mandate

27. #27 by johnnypok on Tuesday, 1 June 2010 - 8:54 am

James will soon rot like Ikan Masing, for his stupidity, and his show of ‘uncivilised’ attitude, as though he is still living in the head-hunting days of his ancestors. I feel sorry for him, because he will lose the respect and rejected by the people, how to trust him?

28. #28 by victimofcorruption on Tuesday, 1 June 2010 - 1:54 pm

can ISA be invoked against him for what he had said?