Is Najib backing off from support for NEM to become an even bigger Flip-Flop PM than Abdullah?

The meek and timid response of the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak to the ferocious and incendiary rejection of the New Economic Model by the Perkasa-led Malay Consultative Council raises the question whether Najib is backing off from the NEM to become an even bigger Flip-Flop PM than his predecessor Tun Abdullah.

Najib’s statement that the NEM is not the Government’s “final stand” but merely the “trial balloons” of a group of experts making suggestions from the global market’s perspective is a greater commentary on Najib’s leadership qualities than on the NEM proposals.

The NEM was launched by Najib two months ago with great fanfare as a defining moment in the nation’s development path, to take the quantum leap from the nation’s decade-long economic stagnation and escape from the two-decade middle-income trap to become a developed high-income country – but it appears that it may end up more as a defining moment in the grave failings of the year-old Najib premiership.

Right from the very beginning, the NEM courageouslty admitted that Vision 2020 is not possible without economic, social and government transformation – and the NEM was presented as one of the four key pillars to unleash Malaysia’s growth potential, drive change, propel Malaysia to become a high income advanced nation with inclusiveness and sustainability and achieve Vision 2020.

NEM warned that almost all economies of East Asia are poised to achieve high economic growth in this decade but Malaysia runs the imminent risk of a downward spiral and faces the painful possibility of stagnation.

It admitted that the implementation of the NEP, which “has reduced poverty and substantially addressed inter-ethnic economic imbalances”, has engendered rent-seeking, patronage, opague government procurement and “pervasive corruption”.

It warned: “We are not developing talent and what we have is leaving.The human capital situation in Malaysia is reaching a critical stage.”

The NEM delivered the dire warning: “We must act now before our position deteriorates any further”.

But the biggest challenge for the NEM is whether there are “political will and leadership to break the log-jam of resistance by vested interest groups and preparing the rakyat to support deep-seated changes in policy directions”.

Will Najib fail in the first NEM test of political will and leadership as predicted by the NEM itself?

1. #1 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 12:39 pm

What do you mean by ‘first NEM test’ or ‘backing off’? The NEM started to fail a while ago when he started backing off on corruption, the police, used the judicial system for political purpose like Perak Coup and would not hang the likes of Khir Toyo and allowed the likes of Isa Samad to come back. He basically killed it during the Hulu Selangor when he decided personally endorsed ‘buy-election’ and of course the infamous Sibu ‘lets make a deal’.

All Perkasa is doing is taking cues from what has happened for the last months and assert themselves in tried and true tradition. If Najib did not expect Perkasa to do what they did, it only confirms he basically pretty much don’t have a plan.

So the issue is not NEM or 1Malaysia, the issue is Najib and UMNO/BN don’t have a plan. They are freaking lost.

2. #2 by k1980 on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 12:47 pm

Sibu’s TuaPekKong will soon back off from his 1malaysia con job…..

3. #3 by Mikewm on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 12:54 pm

I think it is clear to most people that the major stumbling block to any reforms that Najib may or may not be trying to implement, and that is the resistence of the vested interest groups. Corrupt practices are now so endemic in the BN government (and elsewhere) that no one (in any authority within UMNO or any of BN’s other components) in their right mind is going to back reforms, particularly a crack-down on corruption. I have many Malay friends, and some of them still hold the view that even accepting that corruption, cronyism and nepotism is rife, the status quo is more acceptable because the opposition does not have any experience in national government. I have tried arguing that without a change in government, no one else is going to get that experience. I really do fear that this laisez faire attitude, particularly in the rural areas, will be the downfall of this entire country and I will be emigrating back to my home country.

4. #4 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 12:57 pm

The message is clear. Some Malays want more and more as they see it as a perpetual right given to them by the Constitution. And the person who can ensure this and deliver it to them on a silver platter will get their support. Else they will create continuous problems and obstacles.

Over the past 1 over year, Najib is increasingly seen as a ‘wimp’ and the many by-election losses is not helping him.

His ‘you-help-me, I-help-you’ style in Hulu Selangor and Sibu confirms his desperation as he knows that there are many within his own party and government plotting his downfall.

And his recent agreement with Singapore about the KTM land is seen as another sign of his weakness in giving in so very quickly.

Just apply a little pressure, as Perkasa did, and he quickly backs off. This merely attracts more pressure being placed on him.

Will he flip-flop you ask? Is this a trick question?

5. #5 by frankyapp on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 1:10 pm

I think Najib wants to remain as Umno president and prime minister hence he won’t dare touch ibrahim Ali aka prekasa and all of his hench-men. It showed Najib is a pretty weak leader,Instead of leading ,he’s being led by people within Umno such as IA and TDM.Malaysian of all races if depend on his good leadership would be doomed,no doubt about it.

6. #6 by johnnypok on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 1:36 pm

[deleted] He thinks money can buy power, and he has been abusing his power, and now he has trapped himself with his NEM or whatever you call it. Obama will not be impressed if NEM is a tool to cheat the people. The harder he tries to stay on, the faster he will be booted out by his own people. Watch the CI next week for indication.

7. #7 by Winston on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 1:37 pm

Uncle Lim, no one but no one must buy the NEP, NEM, 1Malaysia and so on!
    These acronyms are all cock and bull!
    Go all out to capture Putrajaya in the next GE and win all the state and by-elections in between!
    That’s the one and only way to go!!
    Nothing else will do!

8. #8 by chengho on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 1:38 pm

Suqui, Dong zong and Hindraf and now Perkasa ;

we do we go from here ; all blaming game
    we should start 1School and 1Malaysia.. let s the kids mix with each other from kindergarden

9. #9 by Jong on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 2:02 pm

yeah, he seemed “meek” under provocation!

10. #10 by limkamput on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 2:09 pm

Hey, Masing, you are a disgrace to Sarawak and your people. Your ancestors, despite their brave and glorious past would turn in their graves hearing you speak.

//Warning the opposition that such political rowdiness could break down social order in the country, he said they should not force Sarawakians to defend their territory against the rowdy antics of politicians from outside.//masing

First, masing, the social order in Sarawak, particular within your community, has broken down irreparably. Tell me what is left of your community other than the stupid position you hold in the state government. You want to defend your territory? Do you have one right now in the first place?

//“May 13 was when the Bumiputera were about to lose the power to control the state, so don’t start it.// masing

Assuming for a minute what you said is true, that bumiputera about to lose power is not you. You are bumiputera without power, so please don’t kid yourself.

//“The Dayaks, especially the Ibans, in this house, may look placid and timid, but if you touch our raw nerves and abuse our dignity and pride, we will fight back,” he stressed.//Masing

Your people long want to fight back. It is moronic leaders like you and others that held them back and cast them into perpetual poverty and deprivation.

11. #11 by limkamput on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 2:12 pm

sorry, posting #10 above should be in another thread.

12. #12 by limkamput on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 2:31 pm

sorry off topic, read in the star:

Kebun Bunga assemblyman Jason Ong said sports betting should be given a chance but with strict regulation……
    Gambling is discouraged in most religions. I AM A CHRISTIAN AND i am not encouraged to gamble…..

Look, Jason, you can use whatever arguments and whatever persuasion to put forth your views and arguments. But there is no need for you to say “I am Christian and I am….”

It smacks of hypocrisy. You have no right to speak on behalf of other Christians. You have no right to interpret this issue based on your understanding of Christianity. You are a politician first and foremost, so please stick to it. Don’t be a hypocrite.

13. #13 by monsterball on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 2:55 pm

Najib flip flops.
    Dollah…….zeezzeeeeezeeeezeee
    Sleepy head is better than pancake face.
    Keep singing slogans while flipping and flopping…thinking how smart he is.
    Sleepy head dares to admit his mistakes.
    That’s why sleepy head is smarter..cos he has BALLS..and dare to humbled himself.

14. #14 by ekompute on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 2:59 pm

Hahaha, a lot of rhetorics and nothing concrete! Once we become like Greece, then we will begin to see things moving… at that time, it would be the Chinese who would save Malaysia from doom. Until then…

15. #15 by ekompute on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 3:02 pm

chengho :
    we should start 1School and 1Malaysia.. let s the kids mix with each other from kindergarden

Are you saying that because Ibrahim Ali doesn’t mix with the other races, that’s why he is behaving like what he is today?

16. #16 by SENGLANG on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 3:03 pm

Perkasa boss say it is time for the Malay to rise NOW. Yes congratulation for the Perkasa boss who only realised only then Malsya should rise and not sleeping all the way. All hope Malay can be more hardworking and more productive instead of always on the look for hand up from government projects and sub sub to others. If all Malay work as hard as other the nation wll not go bankrupt in 9 years time.

Mahathir give the nation 2020 vision but now its end up as a bankrupt vision, it is either he is buta or NEP is buta end up helping the nation to bankrupt.

After so long UMNO still still barking at NEP and the general Malay has been cheated most by the NEP which end up enriching people like the unmno cronies people former mas boss who has taken most money from the people. The Malay are the one who suffer most under NEP.

Honestly without NEP the Malay will be better off and they will learn to fly by now instead still crawling asking for hand out.

Malay must know now it was the umno who has make them in the situation. they have not other to blame but umno who has enrich all their members

17. #17 by limkamput on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 3:48 pm

18. #18 by johnnypok on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 3:54 pm

“Vision 2019” = Malaysia Bankrupt, Sabah and Sarawak pull out and form a new nation, Malaya become a colony of Indonesia, part of Johor sold to Singapore, or given away free.

19. #19 by albert308 on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 4:48 pm

Najib’s political ILLUSION start to emerge. NEM or 1Malaysia are meant for political magic to gain support. It will end as failure. APCO’s payment of US$24 m in annual fees is a wasteful services.

20. #20 by Loh on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 5:31 pm

Najib should do his father a favour to make this a nation that Malaysian can be proud of, and honour Razak’s promise. He should just remove NEP, now that it has overrun twice its time. A new version of Article 153 appears to be needed now to protect the non-Malays.

Perkasa group said that Malays should have 67% of the economy. If non-Malays get the balance, foreigners should not have any share. How then can the government invite foreign investments. If foreigners get the balance, what about non-Malays in the country? The question of dividing anything by race is racist-communism. Is Perkasa making this country a special brand of communism, with the support of Mamakthir?

By saying what he had said, Najib played into the hands of Mahathir who cannot stand to see anybody perform better than himself. Najib’s half-hearted measure to remove the identity of Malaysians to Malays only would not make this a developed nation, in the sense only that Malaysians do not need subsidies to survive.

21. #21 by a2a on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 5:44 pm

Suggest that to have a TALK/DEBATE to find out who is actually live here the earliest.

The Orang Asli/Native people or the Malays.

22. #22 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 5:57 pm

“The meek and timid response of the Prime Minister” – YB Kit

That makes me wonder what would have been not meek or timid by Kit’s standards.

How about this “imaginary” one (with some points taken from his speech) –

“I do not agree that the pushing for NEM is necessarily disregarding Malay special rights or “an insult” to the spirit of the NEP. Surely you don’t expect me, as the son of the NEP’s founder, to betray my late father’s struggle or, as leader of UMNO, Malay interest.

However somebody wise once said: that craziness is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

As I listen to the speeches of this Congress rejecting the NEM for the NEP, I’ve never come so to grips with that quotation. When we see that Malay equity has remained at 18 per cent for the last ten to 15 years, we must try another way so that an increase can be realised…

So it saddens me that you have brought diffidence and fear to this great debate. Your criticisms of NEM and clinging support for NEP (in its present form) in voices stentorian, even when it has been shown to undermine the nation’s competitiveness and investments, have raised the stakes to a level where we can no longer distinguish the demagogue from the truly inspired….

Even as you are patriots and strong supporters of race you would unwittingly become traitors to the necessary end result – the upliftment of race, the first necessary prerequisite of which is to learn stand with less and less of the help of the crutches and to learn compete with other races on a leveller playing field. For it is only under more equitable conditions of all sharing a common place under the Malaysian Sun, in fairness to all other races who have helped build and developed this country to what it is today that all feel that they have a stake to together, as Malaysians, venture forth in confidence and unity to confront and meet the challenges of Gloablization and beat the rest of the World instead of beat each other, behind the rest of the world….This then is the true meaning of ‘1 Malaysia’ to make inclusive the stake of all under the Malaysian Sun that complements, like hand and glove, the NEM, as an engine of growth, to drive the country from low lying backwaters of economic stagnation to the sunlit uplands of economic prosperity where all especially the Malays, who form the majority, will reap the benefits….Hubris has no place if by reason of it the country loses out because the Malays as majority would lose out most in the only place we call our own if the country goes bankrupt in 9 years due to lack of competitiveness….

They say leadership is where one listen to the people. Change is always uncomfortable but if its necessary for survival, then we must.

It is the sacred duty of leadership then – even at the risk of losing one’s position at the helm – to make tough decisions, to lead and get his people from where they are that is wrong to where they have not been, that is right, even if the followers fear to go and some will rebel and try remove the leader in that process.

So, let me make one thing clear to such of my detractors who are so used to crutches that their bones have grown over them, you can come at me with whatever weapons that you have in your arsenal: you have come face to face with my will as I’ll stay my course in sure belief that there is no weapon as powerful as an idea that has come – the idea of 1 Malaysia inclusive for all and its complement, NEM, that the majority of all right thinking Malaysians will support as the compass pointing the direction to which the great ship of our nation will be steered from the present treacherous waters, through uncharted reefs, to safe harbour.

Groucho Marx once said, “Only one man in a thousand is a leader of men — the other 999 follow women.” I intend to be that one man”.

23. #23 by Bunch of Suckers on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 5:58 pm

chengho :

Changehole, an UMNOputra & disguised himself as Chinese by tainting our Chinese name.

24. #24 by yhsiew on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 6:01 pm

As predicted by foreign investors, Najib will not be able to bring the NEM to pass due to lack of political will.

With Perkasa and the Malay NGOs unwilling to give way, the country is doomed. More and more foreign investors will bypass Malaysia to other more investment-friendly countries such as Thailand and Indonesia (Najib has already been advised by his banker brother to get this problem fixed).

The foreseeable depressive state of the economy is likely to trigger an exodus of Malaysian talents to look for greener pastures overseas. My pastor’s daughter, now studying in an Australia university, said she will not return to Malaysia after graduating.

I am not surprised if Vietnam becomes a developed country in 20 years time while Malaysia still lingers on in its middle income status debating which race should own which equity share. In the 1980s, Malaysia, Hungary and Poland had roughly the same per capita income at around US$3,500. Today, Hungary and Poland have each more than doubled their per capita income to US$15,000 while that of Malaysia is only at US7,221.

The only hope for the rakyat is when PR takes over Putrajaya and brings the country back on its feet to face the onslaught of globalization and international competition.

So, reader, if you care for the future of the country, give your unreserved support to PR come 13th GE.

25. #25 by katdog on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 6:34 pm

The NEM is not something new or innovative or revolutionary. It’s something that people have constantly been pointing out for the past 10 plus years since 1997 brought Malaysia to its knees.

However, though everyone knew what needed to be done, nobody wanted to do it because those in power had too much too lose. The easy money and the security of ones political position through the doling out of contracts and patronage. No one wanted to loose that.

Najib himself is one of the biggest offenders of patronage politics. Look at the defense ministry and the billions spent on defense contracts. We continue to spend billions on military when our country will be bankrupt in 9 years? Who are we planning to go to war with in the next decade?

NEM is a good idea but UMNO-BN is not the right people to execute it. PR stands a whole lotta better chance of successfully executing the NEM compared to UMNO.

26. #26 by boh-liao on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 6:57 pm

D nation is sliding faster down d slope 2 bankruptcy n extreme racial politics
    NR blessed d Malay Consultative Council (MPM) with a closing ceremony speech dat showed his true color: Malay agenda n fine tuning NEM 2 make UmnoB connected Malays richer
    D most scary statement made by NR: “Umno has lasted this long because it has been FAIR to EVERYONE.
    O yeah? Sucked nonUmnoB Malays n nonMalays dry n still claimed 2 b FAIR 2 all

27. #27 by monsterball on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 7:28 pm

28. #28 by monsterball on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 7:43 pm

Najib have shown his true self…..like a chameleon…changing colors…performing his low class acts.
    Each time I watch his Rajang Park speech….I cannot help laughing till my belly aches..because each time I watch Najib’s mouth…hands…face…and body expressions…and also try to guess what went on in his head…thinking what….and why he talk like that…all boils down to one word….no confidence.because his guilty conscience keep pricking him in Sibu.
    Yes….it was a speech by an insincere hypocrite…PM…saying he is PM for all races..which means nothing as UMNO B is just the opposite of what he was saying.
    So he talked nonsense and started bribing.
    Najib pants on fire…balls being fried up by Sibuans.

29. #29 by spthang123 on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 7:49 pm

I was told that employees working in the election commission office are ordered to destroy any new voter’s application form if they think that the new voter will not vote in favour of National Barisan. Please chek this up.

30. #30 by Loh on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 8:59 pm

///’It is impossible that I, the son of NEP’s founder, will betray his father’s fight… As Umno president, I will not forsake the Malays who…///–Najib

Najib’s father said NEP was for 20 years. So Najib betrays his father if he cannot honour his father’s promise to end NEP now.

Was Razak lying to Malaysians then when he said NEP was a time bound policy but Najib wants it continue to honour his father’s fight. Was Razak fighting for Ketuanan Melayu? Was that his reason to topple Tunku and brought in mamakthir, the pseudo-Malay racist, to advance racial polarisation policies in the country?

The race-based political parties were organized to seek independence from the British through ensuring that the people of the community they represent would understand the need to compromise so that no one race would be discriminated and marginalised. Now UMNO takes it to be champion of Malays and Malays only. How can Malaysians share the same destiny when the race-based parties are fighting against other races as though it was a zero sum game, and the strongest party, UMNO, considers it its right to bully the weaker parties?

When all civilised nations in the world take it their duties to ensure that their nationals live a civilised life, only Malay leaders in Malaysia take it their duties to bully people who are classified differently from them in terms of race and religion. As for race, the classfication has not been based on ethnic division of humankind, but membership as would a secret society. That racial polarisation ensures that corruptions could be carried out with impunity was the reason that UMNO continue to harp the same tune of fighting for Malays’ right when they cannot even recognise who Malays are other than they belong to the same religion.

31. #31 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 9:32 pm

The NEP is Tun Dr Mahathir’s economic legacy; Ketuanan his political legacy. If NEP is hand, Ketuanan is the glove….

Najib’s NEM (as hand) and his inclusive 1 Malaysia (as glove) are diametrically opposed to NEP/Ketuanan.

If NEM & 1 Malaysia proceed it implies the dismantling of NEP and Ketuanan, in otherwards the dismantling of TDM’s legacy.

As long as TDM is alive do you think he will allow anyone to undermine his legacy? He wants it there firmly in place so that he will be remembered by this legacy, nevermind what it does to the country’s competitiveness.

What transpired in the Malay Consultative Council (MPM) Congress on 30th May in which it passed a resolution to Najib rejecting the NEM has all features of what TDM said earlier at the Malay Entrepreneurs’ Convention hosted by the Malay Chamber of Commerce Malaysia as reported on May 14th by TheMalaysianInsider.

He already told Malays to “boldly voice out their views if they were unhappy with certain provisions” of the NEM; that he himself “was concerned over some fundamentals in the NEM that could eventually lead to inaccurate government policies”) He said “Malays can send a memorandum to the government to express their opinions on certain issues envisaged in the NEM but their actions must be orderly and they should not resort to demonstrations” which was exactly what the Congress did. “In fact, I’ve sent a personal memorandum (to the government), giving my views on matters that I am not happy with”, he added. He said he disagreed with views that the New Economic Policy (NEP), under which a vast majority of Bumiputeras benefited, was a hindrance to progress as many non-Bumiputeras also gained from the policy”.

To replace the NEP by NEM because the former leads to corruption leakages and wastage is to tantamount to a slap on TDM’s legacy. He would do everything by patronage of right wing NGOs to fight NEM and agitate continuance if not greater implementation of the NEP. You think the present PM has the resources to fight the former premier when those around the present are not united to back him on 1 Malaysia & NEM and rather usher him to go the way of Pak Lah? Najib knows what right to do but has he the strength and will to do it against overwhelming resistance from all these quarters led by TDM responsible to put him in his present position?

32. #32 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 9:43 pm

The tragedy is that once it comes open (from the Govt) that the country has to do something like move way from the NEP and become competitive or become bankrupt, and yet because of right wing groups objections led by TDM the Govt evinces lack of political will to do the necessary (ie apply the medicine), the situation may rapidly from now on deteriorate faster than ever as the market assesses the situation unremediable and capital/investment inflows may revert to flight.

33. #33 by limkamput on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 9:55 pm

People must adapt and move on or they die. Perkasa and the Malay Consultative Council are not fighting for their people, make no mistakes about it. These are cronies, consisting of rent seekers and good for nothing former government servants who want endless flow of government goodies to sustain their luxurious but unproductive life. Seriously, who in the Congress are really fighting for the Malay interests? I urge our PM not to continue listening to this group of good for nothing blood suckers.
    It is time to put everything on the table. First, why for the last 50 years, despite the numerous assistant programmes, the Malays have continued to claim that they have made no progress. Is the claim really correct? There are lots of disputes over the ownership of wealth in this country. Please PM, you must have the honesty to settle this ambiguity once and for all. Second, even if the statistics is indeed true, (i.e the Malays have no made no economic progress the last 50 years), then the BN and the government owe the people of Malaysia, both Malays and non Malays, an explanation why the NEP was a complete failure. If NEP has failed, why is this group of good for nothing cronies fighting for its continuation? PM, if you truly care for this country and its people, please listen to the people, not the cronies. Cronies and vested interest groups, for examples will ask you to remove subsidies but not trimming unproductive expenditures.

34. #34 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 10:14 pm

“trial balloons” ???

Najib’s baloney!!

NEM or NEP are UMNO’s mere sloganeering to enrich cronies and UMNOputras! UMNO is a big gas bag full of hot air and f#rt.

35. #35 by c730427 on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 10:21 pm

Malaysia is dominated by Malas People represented by PERKASA!

We are Malasia, not Malaysia!

36. #36 by waterfrontcoolie on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 10:44 pm

The Former PM said they must speak up against NEM, is he saying that after 50 years, only now he realized it was a failure! It looks like we thought he was the Father of Development! And it took him so lo………………………ng to realize it had failed so much for the Bapa! Can he suggest a better option? Or by now it is beyond him? Just keep complaining! Obviously some of the self-claimed egg-heads, in spite of all their PhDs could find an alternative and the only thing left is to cry for hand-overs; and after 50 years of Ketuanan we have only produce such intellectuals who can only beg for more clutches, the only thing left is to pray to Heaven for salvation!!

37. #37 by negarawan on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 11:11 pm

As long as UMNO prevails, there will only be “Malay Malaysia”, not “Malaysian Malaysia”. The separation of Singapore from the Federation of Malaysia in 1965 was because Singapore cannot accept the hegemony of UMNO and its communal policies. Look at how far Singapore has progressed ahead of Malaysia!

38. #38 by limkamput on Sunday, 30 May 2010 - 11:13 pm

The government, be it formed by BN and PR must take the issue to the people. The cronies, the rent seekers and the blood suckers are not the majority of this country. Whichever government that continues listening to this group will do so at its own peril. However, if the PM of the country is also a rent seeker or a blood sucker, then that will be a different story.

39. #39 by ekompute on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 4:58 am

I think the best way for Malaysia to go is to go back to first principles. Quick fixes are not a viable solution. Forget about race and help everyone who needs help. Since most of the Malays are said to be poor, they will form the majority of those who will be helped, anyway.

UMNO is full of bad karma and past baggages to be able to continue to lead. They should step back and become the opposition until such time when the public is ready to accept them again.

40. #40 by HJ Angus on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 6:38 am

UMNO is not going to step back – no political party does that.
    It is the duty of the voters to kick them out of government.

41. #41 by ekompute on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 7:41 am

HJ Angus :
    UMNO is not going to step back – no political party does that.
    It is the duty of the voters to kick them out of government.

Even if the voters kick them out, they won’t step back. They will fight underground.

42. #42 by k1980 on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 7:55 am

//Even if the voters kick them out, they won’t step back. They will fight underground.//

Old uncle saddam hussein fought, i mean hid, underground but he was also smoked out, caught and hanged.

43. #43 by Bigjoe on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 8:48 am

The guessing game is on on how long Najib will last. Like it or not, Najib’s only choice is to crack down on Perkasa using the ISA or he swing to the right with them. He will likely keep quiet for now but he don’t have much time before things go wrong again.

44. #44 by boh-liao on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 9:17 am

UmnoB Malays who shamelessly benefited $$$ of dis nation in d name of protecting Malay/Bumi rights r very smart b creative
    2 continue sucking d nation dry, they came out with fanciful grps n programs: MCM, Perkasa, NEM, etc – all aimed 2 protect their $$$-sucking habits while leaving poor Malays poorer

45. #45 by Godfather on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 10:19 am

Limkamput:

What has happened to you ? You are starting to appeal to the UMNO President now ? Using words like “please” and “listen to the people” ? I really thought that you know better than quite a lot of other people…..

46. #46 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 10:48 am

Jeffrey :
    The NEP is Tun Dr Mahathir’s economic legacy; Ketuanan his political legacy.

And a Malaysia in shambles and going down the Zimbabwe road is his everlasting legacy.

47. #47 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 10:50 am

chengho :

No, start with 1chengho. There is one and only one Zheng He. You are an imposter, a fake and a counterfeit. Stop debasing the real Cheng Ho or he will make sure you become a real eunuch – if you are not one already.

48. #48 by dagen on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 1:35 pm

Why I said chengho is an umnoputra in cheongsam? Yes he is a pretender. He wants us to think that he is chinese. Like jibby the jib he wants to fool visitors here.

Suqui is actually sùqiú. And it is not a body of people like dong zong and hindraf: And perkasa? It is really a different kettle altogether for it is nothing but a heap of smelly scum.

Errr jeffrey, you see nep is dr mamak’s bola-bola and ketuanan his dicky. So you see why it is not possible to seperate either of these from the man without his consent or cooperation! That would be genital mutilation (GM in this case male GM). Oh dear whatever happened to chengho. It must have been traumatic! and really painful.

49. #49 by sheriff singh on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 1:56 pm

If you are wondering what he looks like and how he dresses, see his picture here:

http://www.wissenschaft-online.de/sixcms/media.php/591/he1ZhengHeHIRES.jpg

His Muslim name is: Hajji Mahmud Shams.

50. #50 by limkamput on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 1:59 pm

Godfather :Limkamput:
    What has happened to you ? You are starting to appeal to the UMNO President now ? Using words like “please” and “listen to the people” ? I really thought that you know better than quite a lot of other people…..

Precisely, I know better, that is why I used “please” and “listen to the people”. Sometimes, I do think that politicians are dumb – when cronies, rent seekers and blood suckers are making noise, they think these are rakyat making noise. Look at the current debate over subsidies, Jib may stupidly think that the country can’t afford the subsidies anymore, when the main culprits are mismanagement, over budgeting, wasteful spending and siphoning from national coffers by vested interest groups. I have already told you before – appoint me the Finance Minister, I will balance the book in one year without cutting a single cent on the subsidies. Even our famous roti Jala also cannot think straight anymore, what can you expect from our man from Pekan.

51. #51 by bennylohstocks on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 3:00 pm

52. #52 by victimofcorruption on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 6:27 pm

NEM=NEP but with different name….it is easy to write a nice draft….but the implementation?

53. #53 by johnnypok on Tuesday, 1 June 2010 - 8:50 am

Not “Flip-Flop” but simply ‘BODOH” …stupidity of the worst kind …. Malaysia Bodoh …. Malaysia Bankrupt …. M Bodoh.

54. #54 by frankyapp on Tuesday, 1 June 2010 - 12:19 pm

I think it’s possible in the future to see greater Singapore and smaller Malaya and the two east malaysian states of Sabah and Sarawak becoming a new country. Basing on current events in the country with Umno/BN now leading the country to bankruptcy,I think there are already some kind of indicators of such direction. I think if there’s a change of the federal government in the next poll,this possibility would probably would thin out.

55. #55 by victimofcorruption on Tuesday, 1 June 2010 - 1:36 pm

more to flop than flip i supposed