Re: Idris Jala: M’sia must cut subsidies, debt by 2019 or risk bankruptcy

Letters
by Sara Wak

Dear YB Idris Jala and Koh Tsu Koon,

For the last many years, the BN Govt has been handing big ang pows to the rich Malays who are given APs, and it has been said by the BN Govt that this practice will go on until 2013 0r even 2014!

Why can’t the Govt control the issue of APs to people who want to import cars? The govt can collect RM30,000 to RM40,000 on each important cars. Why must the BN Govt decides to pass the right to collect these payments to only a handful of rich Malays?

How many APs are issued to these rich Malays a year ? Like what Rafidah did when she was minister , in giving APs and shares to her relatives?

The Malaysian Economy has deteriorated so much for the last decade because of all these handouts to the UMNO cronies. Malaysia was ahead of Korea, Taiwan and Singapore, and look at it now, it is even behind countries like Thailand, Vietnam and others in Asia !

I am sure that both you intelligent Ministers know too well why it is like that .

The Malays are treated just like the Aborigines who have been given handouts by the Australian Govt and look at them now, what state are they in ? They never improve, and actually falling more behind.

If the 2 of you are serious about improving Malaysian economy, get rid of Corruption, Nepotism and Cronyism!

Look at Sarawak in the last 25 years, what happened?

Sarawak was the richest state with plenty of Timber, oil and gas, and may I ask how much reserves/deposits the state government have?

Not only does it not have any money in its state coffers, it owes many banks billions of RM!

Why? Do you know?

Is this why Sarawak joined Malaysia ? So that the people can continue to become poor so that a few people at the top MISMANAGED the state and pocket the state’s money into their own, those of the their families and cronies ? Only a handful of Sarawakians benefit from what they have been doing ?

They are supposed to be servants of the people, but they become the masters of the people!

If both of you have any conscience, act now for the people. Do not pay lip service only and make the BN elite richer!

Feel your hearts, and use your heads please. Look at what majority of the plight of the Malaysians, instead of just serving the elite few.

We all know why Gerakan was defeated so badly in the 2008 elections and even Dr Koh lost his seat. Well, he managed to get into the Government by virtue of being appointed a Senator !
Has he not learned what he and his party was voted out after so many years in power ? I do not need to tell him at all.

Yet, what is he doing for the people now? Do you think Gerakan will be able to get their seats back from PR? If this continue, I think Gerakan and many Chinese BN parties will die a natural death !

During the Sibu by-election, Wong Soon Koh of SUPP publicly stated that hundreds of thousands of Malaysians migrated overseas because of the Opposition’s policies. I just wish he can go and talk to those who actually migrated, including the Malays, and see what they say, and do not just dream about it, or just lie to the people who may not be very knowledgeable or uneducated ! I feel Very sad and disgusted indeed that we have this sort of people as ministers !

How much has Sarawak invested in 1st Silicon and Borneo paper & Pulp projects and how much has the state profited or lost in them? How much did Sarawak borrowed and how much still remain unpaid?
How much loan interest has the state paid so far since those projects started and how much more is it expected to pay in the future?

Do you know? The people of Sarawak definitely do not know ! Is this what we call transparent Govt. Do all the monies that the State Govt has paid and continue to pay belong to just the CM and his ministers or do they belong to the people? If they belong to the people, why is it that the Sarawak people do not the info relating to how much has been spent and how much more will be spent?

If this is the type of politicians and ministers we have, Malaysia is doomed to fall and fall hard!

I just hope that the Chinese, the Natives of various states and even the poor Malays will wake up and see what they can do in the next elections. They should vote only for the people who can be their servants and not their masters.

If the 2 of you continue to pay lip service to UMNO instead of working of the good of Malaysians, I suggest that it is better for both of you to retire instead of doing more harm to Malaysians by supporting BN!

Good Luck to the 2 of you ! And thank you if you care to have read what I have written as a simple Malaysian who has no political connections at all, just like Dato Seri Idris Jala who does not belong to any political party.

1. #1 by HJ Angus on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 6:17 am

This is what happens when government becomes too big and out of control – the people suffer.
    The adage “Power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely” holds true in Malaysia where so many vital organs are now corrupted and only a change of government can change the direction of the destiny of Malaysians.
    We need a government that is only as strong as one that is easily replaced once it cannot perform for the collective good of all citizens.
    I wrote this in 2005 but the message is still apt. http://malaysiawatch.blogspot.com/2005/08/milton-friedman-is-still-right.html

2. #2 by c730427 on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 7:44 am

Not only we need to eradicate corruption, we must also eliminate the mind set of rent seekers.

3. #3 by ekompute on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 7:45 am

Idris Jala: M’sia must cut subsidies, debt by 2019 or risk bankruptcy

But first, you must handle Ibrahim Ali and Mahathir. Their ideas will bring doom to Malaysia sooner than expected.

4. #4 by ekompute on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 7:48 am

HJ Angus :
    This is what happens when government becomes too big and out of control – the people suffer.

I beg to differ. I think this is what happens when any government stay for too long. They become arrogant and do what they like, thinking that Malaysia belongs to them. They conveniently forget that they are just wakil rakyat, not wakil diri sendiri.

5. #5 by k1980 on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 7:52 am

Not only does Sarawak not have any money in its state coffers, it owes many banks billions of RM!

No problemo. Just sell Limbang to brunei and we will get RM200 billion

6. #6 by Jeffrey on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 8:17 am

Here’s a plaintive cry by a “simple Malaysian who has no political connections at all” (at rakyat level) for help on government level from 2 Ministers (if they who have knowledge/qualifications if they have also conscience) to arrest the deterioration of the Malaysian Economy ravaged by patronage hand outs and corruption – all matters of great national importance – just because the 2 ministers are supposedly tasked with setting KPIs and monitoring the performance of the other Ministers.

One Minister is a technocrat without political background/leverage and does not belong to any political party, co-opted by reason of his turning around a national airline and whose straight forward language of ‘Malaysia will be bankrupt in 9 years if nothing is done’ has by way of lack of political savvy earned him rebuke from within the power circles for providing political fodder to the opposite Opposition’s side. The other, equally without political clout, lost his seat and whole of the state that he ruled as Chief Minister in the last General Election but who still earned a ministerial post because of subservient loyalty to those in charge and usefulness in being used as symbol than reality for multi-racial representation within the ruling coalition.

It is a testimony of Farce to choose the politically weakest and of least political clout to monitor KPIs of peers of stronger political clout influence and status.

What an irony – a hapless (at rakyat level) making an appeal to improve the system to the comparatively also hapless (at government level). What good or change will come of it? The only value is that only a hapless could commiserate and empathize with another hapless’s plight (even if the first mentioned have no power to do anything to alleviate the plight.

Indeed judging from recent events and further to ekompute’s comments at #3, there is also doubt whether appealing to the most powerful of ministers could help : for he too had been roundly criticized and rebuffed in his signature economic policy by a small but loud pressure groups of people, ostensibly outside the government with no governmental position but the power to influence things their way ….

The true measure of the depth of the country’s predicament is the irony and absurdity of how things turn out – where the hapless have to turn to another hapless for commiseration and where the outwardly supposedly powerful with position have to listen “meekly and timidly” to those without any govt position but have the power and the voice to control all things from behind….

7. #7 by Thor on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 8:40 am

To be frank, Najib razak had already stepped into a “sink hole” and there’s no way he’s getting out. With the help of that mammak, he’s gonna bring the whole country down.
    He’s not going to satisfy everyone with all those money ‘cos more and more of his cronies will keep on coming and asking for more and more.
    And till the time that he could give no more, hell will then break loose.

8. #8 by Jeffrey on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 8:42 am

When things are bad – when the system is entirely controlled by rent seekers – there are two courses of action. One is change of government by ballot box. This is the best but the best and least painful way is not the easiest. For who that enjoys vested interest will not fight tooth and nail and by the dirtiest of means to preserve these interests?? The other way is for the country to proceed the inexorable course to bankruptcy. For then rent seekers have no more rent to collect. Their assets (unless relocated outside) will plunge in value and their liabilities here will soar. The downside is that everyone else innocent will suffer bitterly except those who have already relocated their assets outside and have funds to acquire back things cheap and rock bottom price if they think worth it. It may not be just then worth it because an economic calamity will be harbinger of civil and other disturbances that we cannot imagine how will play out. But right now if the ballot box is not exactly assured way of making things better, then the next unpalatable course may be inevitable and be within contemplation. For in some societies things cannot get better until they got worse and rock bottom. Then again they may languish at that level and will not arise for the better for generations.

9. #9 by boh-liao on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 9:09 am

It’s bcos there r lots of big fat leeches in UmnoB/BN
    What 2 do with them?
    D usual way when dealing with leeches: Burn them or shoot them, no mercy

10. #10 by cemerlang on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 9:23 am

Let’s face some realities first. This man joined the PM department only recently. Imagine if he had joined from 1957. Just imagine. Or 1963 in some CM office. Bayaangkanlah ! He would have cut this and that, snip this and that, lessen this and that to make the state and the country as 5 star as MAS. When the country is run by the rich and famous, these people think like the rich and famous; meaning they think everyone is as rich and famous as they are. Well, reality check is not all Malaysians are rich and famous. At least for this man, he still knows because he still has a kampung to come home to. The other person comes from a very wealthy state; as wealthy as Singapore if someone knows how to manage it well. See, with all these rich and famous people in power, savings, do not be too generous, give to the poor sound alien to them. Greece is a member of the European Union and to think she is going bankrupt. It does not make sense, does it ?

11. #11 by baochingtian on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 9:27 am

///STAR: RAUB: One million laptop computers will be given out free to poor students of secondary schools throughout the country to increase broadband penetration in the country///
    At the state of how 1M’sia was announced by Idris, 1M’sia is still able to spend at such a manner, the suppliers must be well congratulated for securing the deal and more so congratulations to the procurement personnel of MCMC(?) for successfully procuring the 1 million laptops on time. Just hope these laptops are well utilized … God bless Malaysia.

12. #12 by dagen on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 9:40 am

Bodoh punya orang! And chengho alone is cheering them on. Bodoh punya orang. To be cheered on by the likes of chengho. Bodoh punya orang. A monyet could do just as well. Bodoh punya orang.

The decisive rejection of money politics by the people of HS and sibu means umno now no longer has any election tactics to call upon. Politics of fear will back fire big time if ever they played it up again. Anyway people no longer feel threatened. Those feared weapons, after their decades of repeated use have actually gone blunt. Of course they may still hurt people. It is just that they wont cut anymore. Umno must now swing their weapons harder in order to inflict damage. And that also means umno would be unable to stop the swing-back momentum of those weapons.

Corruption and abuse is umno’s specialty. Look at puduraya terminal. A new surau was put up not too long ago (completed some 3 months ago). And now, it was demolished as part of the ongoing overall renovation works to the terminal. What is this? New abuse tactic huh? Instead of overcharging 4 times they now split the final amout into two instalments? That is how we ended up facing possible bankruptcy in nine years. But hey, werent we suppose to be at the doorstep of a developed nation status by then? Or in jibby language, we were suppose to be very very near “high income” country by then, i.e. 2019.

Clearly they continue to believe that we are idiots. Clearly they have not learned anything from 308, hs and sibu. Our PAC reported an estimated loss of tens of billions a year through corruption and abuse. What about mismanagement and incompetency? For years they have depended on taxes paid mainly by the chinese. Then there were something like 30% chinese in the country. And now the number has gone down to 26%. And worse, the umno gobermen adopted a welcoming attitude towards relatives and countrymen and women of toyol-the-indon. The country’s wealth must also be shared with these illegals! (I suppose keris bin lembuddin would brand then as good illegals and not bad illegals.) What happens next? Remove subsidies. Everyone suffers. More so malays. Those whose interest whom umno and perkasa claimed they protect and defend!

The time for umno is long past.

13. #13 by maximus on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 9:40 am

Did the green Hulk got any APs??? Wake up all sensible Malaysians. dont just say KITA TAK DAPAT BUAT APA! Vote all of them out

14. #14 by bennylohstocks on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 10:20 am

15. #15 by Yee Siew Wah on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 11:17 am

Malaysia will go bankrupt by 2019. What a headline. This shocking declaration goes against the grain of past announcements of economic health and growth. What did we fail to see it before? What happened to our plan to become a developed nation in 2020 as claimed by our now half dead mamak ex-PM?
    Looks like Bolehland will be a dead duck by a year earlier instead of 2020. Are those BN/UMNO politicians and that half dead mamak kutty all this while have been trying to tell the rakyat that Bolehland will be bankrupt in 2020!!! Now they brought it earlier i.e. 2019. How amazing indeed!!
    It would be great to hear what that big mouth mamak kutty have to say. Hope he will not pretend to be dumb by saying i dont remember i said that la…
    Anyway, all said and done.
    Do the rakyat still vote BN/UMNO knowing that they will bankrupt the country in 9 years time???
    Perhaps those in PERKASA will just do that.
    Come GE13, vote PKR and save the country from BN/UMNO!!!

16. #16 by artemisios on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 11:21 am

yea…

that’s the way to go… tax the poor, give it to the rich

increase 15sen petrol, 10sen sugar, another few quarters here & there to choke the poor.

the billions given to the few cronies… well… keep giving out those billions!

The situation is absolutely grave right now. Honestly I’ve never seen so many fellow malaysians being so serious about leaving Malaysia. Just ask any of your friends, especially young ones. You’d be surprised how seriously they’re considering leaving the country.

BN has shown no intention to change despite the March 2008 political tsunami. The came up with new slogans & new branding exercise, but they still prefer to bully the poor & feed their cronies.

One friend of mine even said “I’ve given my vote in 2008, I will again in 2013. I hope anyone but BN will rule after 2013. If not, I WILL LEAVE.”

17. #17 by baochingtian on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 11:23 am

If Dr M did not come out to defend his wawasan 2020, it only suggests that he actually doesn’t hv the foresight and the practical vision. Sad, what a shame!

18. #18 by yhsiew on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 12:10 pm

///Idris Jala: M’sia must cut subsidies, debt by 2019 or risk bankruptcy///

Why must the rakyat pay the price? After all, it is BN who mucked up the country’s finances.

19. #19 by cemerlang on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 12:10 pm

One million laptops. Applause for taking care of the poor students. Stop press ! You mean, there are one million poor students in Malaysia ! ? Hey ! What are they going to eat ? What are they going to wear ? How do they got to school ? Are their families taken care of ? A whopping 1 million POOR students !

20. #20 by yhsiew on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 12:23 pm

European countries heavily subsidize their farmers and agribusinesses. How come none of the European countries go bankrupt?

21. #21 by boh-liao on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 12:44 pm

UmnoB Malays don’t know what’s going on in this nation
    One declared we will b bankrupt by 2019 n d other declared we will b a high-income nation come 2020
    Really confused n bodoh 1

22. #22 by k1980 on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 12:46 pm

One million laptops for poor students.

I believe you have come across cases where needy students sell off their electronic calculators ect when they are in need of cash to buy cigarettes, music CDs, fashion accessories and the like.

There will soon be a black market for 1,000,000 second-hand laptops, all thanks to umno.

23. #23 by boh-liao on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 12:55 pm

Most of our politicians seem energy-less
    Shd follow d advice of Tokoh Nilam award winner Alias: Reading and having sex nightly, d secret to his seemingly boundless energy during d day
    No wonder MCA president full of energy

24. #24 by waterfrontcoolie on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 12:55 pm

The plan towards the current situation wasn’t by accident, it was designed by the Bapa Pembangunan from the start. Based my past experience, the revenue or rather the profit of a Japanese 2nds was some $70 to $80 K whereas that of a German made should be between $120 to $150 K. and the main loser is the revenue to the Gomen. It is based on making a few Bumis and Cronies to grow rich at the expense of the RAAYAT! There is no doubt on this. Giving laptops to the poor isn’t an issue but the methodology of purchasing them is the issue. Hence, we find those organisers of Protecting the NEP are mostly rent seekers not the average BUMIs who are struggling to go forward in their business ventures. In this respect, we do hear some Bumis who felt hurt when people go over board in the race profiling; but do note that unless those Bumis who are sidelined speak out, then many will think you are in the same boat. Hence, it is important that the supporters of the opposition do write and tell the truth to those rural folks who have been misled to think that the Non-bumis are indeed taking over the resources of the nation. In all reality, all thinking Malaysians do know that this is Mission Imposssible!!

25. #25 by Bigjoe on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 12:56 pm

ANYTHING that deny revenue to UMNO/BN govt so long as they have not fix corruption, police and the judicial system is justified. I am against even the deal in Singapore for KTM land for the same reason although there is nothing we can really do about it. I will live with congestion, poor transport, lousy water supply, brownouts, recession, crash stock market, unemployment etc. so long as they have not put in place a system that will fix it once and for all.

26. #26 by k1980 on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 1:25 pm

Jib’s secretary received an email from Jib requesting a listing of the cabinet members to be broken down by age and sex. She sent this reply…

“Attached is a list of our members. We currently have only one broken down by age or sex, and that is the member for Kinabatangan, Mr Bung Bocor.”

27. #27 by sheriff singh on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 1:43 pm

1. You want an AP? If I am not wrong, every citizen is entitled to 1 (one) AP free. But you need to pay some charges.

But of course some lucky devils can get thousands annually.

2. Why do KSK and Idris Jala get to be Senators and become Ministers? Why not? Its easy money and easy jobs. Look at the perks, man. They get buta gaji and pensions when they retire too. How many pensions do you think KSK is getting?

They just get to play act (and sometimes get a few wallops) but its still a good life.

They get big budgets to open up laboratories and do all kinds of experiments. But not necessarily to produce results. Else why is KSK not performing at all? You think he cares? He gets to fly all over the place, enjoy life.

3. Why is Sarawak, a rich state, so poor with no money?

The money has always been there. Its just leaked out of the many dams and other projects into, well, those on the gravy train which doesn’t stop to pick up more passengers.

It doesn’t appreciate its inspirational citizens. It tells them to go to China to find their fortune. And those who make it big time decides, and with money oozing out of their orifices, to invest in a progressive state like Penang where they are very welcomed. Just ask one of them, one Justin Hong. He’s got an inspirational tale to tell for others to emulate.

4. Why are the few Malay cronies who made it big time still not on the top 40 Forbes rich list?

Are you sure they are not there? They are there all right. They are in between the numbers in the rankings. They just don’t want to appear there. They are billionaires in-between the lines and numbers.

Officially the number 1 on the rich list is Robert Kuok. Unofficially it is the shorty Tun. Followed by many of his former cronies in between the numbers. They just don’t want to come out of their hiding places. Anonymity is fine with them.

And you have not yet listed the white-haired Rajah.

Or the three sons of yet another Tun. Yep, all of them are billionaires all right. But no publicity, please.

5. So Sarah Wak, I know you are angry. I feel for you. I know there are many more angry people like you over there.

Sound your battle drums and rally the people. Stop the gravy train in your State at the coming state elections. Show us the way.

28. #28 by Dipoh Bous on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 2:07 pm

What’s all this nonsense about our country going bankrupt????

How on earth does a country like ours could possibly head towards that direction when :

1. We’re able to donate billions to the unfortunate victims of natural disasters? Remember how much we donated to the people of Acheh?

2. We donated billions to the war victims in Bosnia?

3. We’re able to purchase an expensive ship to bring ‘humanitarian’ aid worth millions to gaza?

I am tempted to add some more but I believe the 3 examples above should be enough to convince MALAYsians that MALAYsia will not go bankrupt as predicted by Idris.

BTW, I don’t remember hearing aids being sent/given to the civil war victims in Sri Lanka. If some one knows, pls be kind enough to share the info with me.

29. #29 by limkamput on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 2:27 pm

This how I would describe roti Jala: He is either stupid or dishonest.
    If he is smart, he should know that the deficit and the debt problems faced by Malaysia today are not due to subsidies per se. It is mega mismanagement and wasteful spending, cronyism to the core, and the rampaging of rent seekers and vested interest groups that caused it. The government is forever crying father and crying mother on fuel and tolls subsidies. Hello, nincompoop Jala, has it ever occurred to you that it is we, the people, who are subsidising the toll operators, the car importers (the AP holders), the IPPs, and rice and sugar importers. Do you think it is just a coincidence that the one who made the loudest noise in Malay Consultative Council meeting recently was Persatuan Pengimport Kereta Bumiputra? Jala, if you can’t see all these, then you are stupid politically. You should go back to managing the ageing Boeing 737.

But then I have a problem. You are a proven smooth talker, a capable task master and an able leader. Hence you can’t be stupid. You are just dishonest then – like a prostitute in three piece suits. We have plenty in Malaysia and elsewhere too.

For KTK, no need to say anything lah.

30. #30 by steven chan on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 2:54 pm

Refer to No.6 by Jeffrey. Technocrat? What sort of technocrat is Jala for turning around MAS? He did it by selling all the big assets including MAS bldg. so that MAS will be in the black. Even a small child can do that.

Now that the country is in brink of bankruptcy he can get his advisers like Mamaktahir and the king of frogs of Perkasa to help him.

31. #31 by boh-liao on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 2:57 pm

Quality, not quantity, matters
    Sg women’s team finally overcame China team 3-1 to win d 2010 World Team Table Tennis Championships in Moscow
    A nation of abt 5 million ppl is d world champ

32. #32 by donplaypuks on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 3:19 pm

YB

Please refer to :

http://donplaypuks.blogspot.com/2010/05/pink-elephant-in-living-room-or-36274.html

for the full expose on the lies, distortions and half truths that Najib and Jala have indulged in to try and hide the fact that UMNO/BN has run this country into the ground with a record $362 billion in national debt!!

They have deliberately lumped budgeted transfer payments as “Subsidies” to arrive at $74 billion which is nonsensical and blatant lying to the Rakyat!!

Why should the Govt make a gift of $1 billion to KLIA or $80 million to Proton thinly disguised as “R&D Grant”? This is how how money is being wasted and siphoned about by croneys and constitutes the $28 billion per year the Auditor General reported as “leakages” from Govt revenues!!

Instead of re-negotiating the one sided IPP, toll highway, water and other monopolies, Najib wants to increase indirect taxes by raising petrol, sugar, rice and other prices of basic items which will hit the poor and middle class badly!!

DAP and Pakatan must stop this thieving and looting!

I have also given some suggestions how the Govt can recover $100 billion over 5 years, part of which included charging a fee for AP and llicences for betting, 4G etc.

dpp
    we are all of 1 race, the Human Race

33. #33 by cemerlang on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 4:04 pm

Bottom line is that is where OUR money is going to. Awak diamanahkan oleh rakyat dan Allah untuk mengendalikan duit dengan sebaik baiknya. Cara ini ke ? I wish to give a certain degree of the benefit of doubt to Idris Jala and somebody please continue to pray for him. Like you say, Sara, he does not belong to any political party. He is like a Jack in a box, sprung up from Shell to MAS to Putrajaya and if you are him, imagine how much you have to manouver yourself to fit all the different situations. Oh yes ! For the rest of you guys out there. You have to continue to push for the right things in life. As for the laptops, the cheapest is around RM 2000 each. I thought the country is producing computer tablets costing RM 900 each. No ?

34. #34 by son of perpaduan on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 4:20 pm

Cut the finger now or cut the whole leg later?

35. #35 by Godfather on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 4:25 pm

Talking about laptops, I’ll venture to describe the modus operandi of UMNO/BN. A “lucky” firm will be mandated to deliver the laptops. This lucky firm will not be an original supplier like Hewlett Packard or Acer. It’ll be a company set up a few months ago for this purpose.

This company will negotiate with the OEMs for basic laptops at RM1,500 each. The laptops won’t have Intel microprocessors, they will only have AMD processors. This company will invoice the Government at RM 2,000 each, the excuse being that there will be “support” services for the laptops. With a total profit of RM 500 million, the shareholders of this company will laugh all the way to the bank.

12 months later, most of the laptops would have broken down, and this company’s office will suddenly close down to avoid giving the “support” services. Nobody knows where the RM500 million has ended up.

Sounds familiar ?

36. #36 by transtar 3838 on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 4:45 pm

Cutting subsidies to recover Sime Darby’s losses? perhaps….

Then, PNB can maintain paying high dividend to unitholder

37. #37 by monsterball on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 5:19 pm

Sara Wak….Both of then know..and especially Tsu Koon.
    These are not noble politicians.
    These are crabs and worms depending on big fishes to feed them.
    These are worst than yes men or puppets.
    These are shameless… selfish balls carriers for personal benefits.
    And such people do not have dignity nor principles in life.
    Yes…Malaysians know.
    That’s why Tsu Koon was voted out and Najib’s “I Malaysia”….ignoring the power of voters…is not please..so put him back as Minister.
    Yes…’1Malaysia” must first and foremost..meet Najib’s demands and Najib and his adopted father cannot be questioned for whatever they did or about to do.
    Yes UMNO B is not a political party.
    It is just a name.
    It is a band of robbers and thieves out to fool Malaysians.

38. #38 by boh-liao on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 5:26 pm

SUPP asked: What do voters want?
    Now Gerakan also asked: What do voters want?
    Gerakan Penang chief Teng still maintained dat UmnoB is a wonderful moderate boss
    SUPP n Gerakan shd go fly kite or disappear
    They did not realise dat they r irrelevant

39. #39 by victimofcorruption on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 6:24 pm

enough of subsidizing votes to them…think of our future…give change a chance…give chance to our future generation…

40. #40 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 31 May 2010 - 10:32 pm

Idris & Koh,

I do not suffer fools kindly. I regard BN, UMNOputras as fools. U r both on the periphery & more than 1 LEG in that circle of fools.

What more should I say?

41. #41 by pwcheng on Tuesday, 1 June 2010 - 12:28 am

37- by monsterball on Monday, 31 May 2010 – 5:19 pm

That sounds very familiar. It has happened before and it is going to happen again. I am not sure whether Jala is myopic and cannot see all these. These are the leakages that will cause the country to be bankrupt.

42. #42 by pwcheng on Tuesday, 1 June 2010 - 12:31 am

37- by monsterball on Monday, 31 May 2010 – 5:19 pm should read as 35 by Godfather on Monday, 31 May 2010 – 4:25 pm .

43. #43 by writecom on Tuesday, 1 June 2010 - 12:54 am

It’s kinda funny how the government divert their problems one after the another. Whenever there certain issues, instead of answering or solving it, it’s diverted by another issue, as a cover up. The rakyat are so confused when they used their soft approach like incentives, subsidies and handouts. The hard approach are the threat of May 13th, withdrawal of subsidies etc. Their political games are similar with a communist mindset and it’s high time the rakyat WAKE UP and list them separately.

If we wanna topple this little devils, we must list each and every one of their wrong doings, as detail as possible. Make them answer each and every one of it, on or before the coming State or general election.

Maybe we should take up an advisement in a local media and if none of the local media are unable to published our advertisements then let’s advertise overseas or our neighboring country like S’pore, Indonesia or Thailand.

Let’s get the advertisement out and let’s overthrow them with our “People’s Power”. Let’s get justice done before we are insolvent. Trillions of the rakyat’s money has been robbed by them and the rakyat irrespective of race or religions must act together as Malaysian.

44. #44 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 1 June 2010 - 5:02 am

SUPP asked: What do voters want?
    Now Gerakan also asked: What do voters want?
    Pg Gerakan chief THN still sang his praises 4 UmnoB as a wonderful moderate boss
    SUPP n Gerakan shd go fly kite or disappear
    They did not realise dat they r irrelevant

45. #45 by k1980 on Tuesday, 1 June 2010 - 7:44 am

Idris Roti Jala, please reply to the questions raised below—

http://ousel.blogspot.com/2010/05/why-is-idris-jala-not-talking-about.html

46. #46 by dagen on Tuesday, 1 June 2010 - 8:42 am

So jib wants us to believe that subsidies is the root of our economic and financial problems. Look. Lets face it. Did we not subsidise our little brother’s or sister’s education at some point? Did we not also subsidise our parents’ daily financial needs? Did we (esp the chinese) not subsidise the construction of school buildings, the purchase of school equipment and the holding of school events? Did we not subsidise all the needy people who often make the financial needs known through the newspaper? Did we not subsidise earthquake victims, flood victims and other victims of natural disasters? Each and everyone of us as individual spends a lot to subsidise a host of things. And indications are, our habit will continue. And indications are, we are unlikely to go bankrupt because of that.

But how did some of us became bankrupt? Hah, chances are because we got that one car which we really should not. Or we got that one house that we cannot afford. Or through bad judgment or blind boldness we went into a deal which we knew nothing about. In short, mismangement and greed is the root cause. Of course a nation is far more complex than that. However the basic arguments and logic remain the same and are applicable.

In nine years from today, should we as a country face bankruptcy it would be due to umno’s abuse and corruption and not the subsidies. Make no mistake about that!

47. #47 by johnnypok on Tuesday, 1 June 2010 - 8:47 am

Idris should quit his job and go back to help his own people in Sarawak who have been suffering from poor economic condition for the past many decades, ever since Sarawak become part of Malaysia.
    Join the opposition party and act like a good Christian, and expose the truth to the poor and innocent people in the remote areas.
    God will not forgive you if you betray your own people, and Lord Jesus will very angry with you.
    So wake up, brother Idris, before it is too late.

48. #48 by dagen on Tuesday, 1 June 2010 - 8:51 am

Goodness. 1million laptops for poor school kids! Each is worth 42,000 (based on past record) and that in total works out to be (wot?) 42billion (phaarking) ringgit(?)

Is dr mamak’s idea of creating (then millionaires) billionaires still in operation today or wot?

49. #49 by SENGLANG on Tuesday, 1 June 2010 - 10:45 am

Jala has got it all wrong when he joint BN government. It was not subsidies that made Malaysian kaput it was BN corrupt practices that kaput this nation. Unfortunately he has to talk what BN like to hear he has no choice when he is a politician . Jala has a big nose as large as Jackie Chan that mean he is also as rich as Jakie if no richer.

Jala should stick to the corporate world and solve MORE of the corrupt GLC instead wasting his time in this Corrupt BN government.

Greek went to burst simply because of corruption and that same apply to BN government

50. #50 by baochingtian on Tuesday, 1 June 2010 - 10:56 am

///STAR: Delay in 14-stick cigarette pack ban a risky move.
    PETALING JAYA: The delay on the ban of 14-stick cigarette packs, which was supposed to take effect in Malaysia today, could bring some relief to certain segment of smokers.
    However, such policy indecisiveness on the Government’s part could spell the risk of dampening foreign investor sentiment towards the country.
    The last-minute policy U-turn, confirmed last week by the Government, was totally unexpected and did not reflect well on the country as an ideal investment destination, especially among multinational companies … tobacco companies in Malaysia had actually started making adjustments for the ban on 14s pack since late last year. “The sudden change in policy stance can be damaging to some companies in terms of competitiveness and lost business opportunities,” the industry observer explained.
    “This is particularly so for those that have entirely phased out their production machinery for the smaller packs and exhausted their inventory of the products.”
    Already, Philip Morris Sdn Bhd had made noise last week, threatening to take legal action over possible losses that it had to suffer due to the sudden policy deferment.///
    This is what the bolehland does, no foresight, no far sight, no planning, no analysis, no expertise… another FLIP-FLOP!

51. #51 by victimofcorruption on Tuesday, 1 June 2010 - 11:49 am

cut down on BAKTI, National Youth Day, jamuans, Hari Kecemerlangan xxxx, Hari Terbuka and all those unnecessary speeching ceremonies …
    cut down on number of ministries…
    cut down on ministers’ “tourism” expenses (overseas trip must be from their own pocket)…
    stop building more white elephants…
    cut down on freebies and crores of RM spent only during GE or BE or whatever E…
    stop creating more useless gov depts and posts…
    cut down the salaries of all ministers…
    abolish AP…
    stop building more MARA and Matriculation Colleges…focus and improve on the current ones which include the existing gov universities as well,,,
    pull out of F1 (Petronas)…
    stop giving out contracts to errant contractors (nepotism or cronyism?)…small example, the traffic light in my area is out of service on a weekly basis…
    stop sending so-called qualified A-ful students to overseas…instead, “subsidise” them to study locally to improve the local U standard…
    cut down primary education from 6 to 4 years…6 years are too long and “subsidiy-consuming”…same goes to secondary education from 5 to 4 years…then, we can graduate earlier (like most of other countries) and work and contribute to the country earlier…

burdening us for your own corruption sins will lead us to “Vision 2019″…

how i wish that every malaysians can finally wake up and realise that “Vision 2019” is more realistic than Vision 2020 if they keep voting for the corrupted folks..

52. #52 by johnnypok on Tuesday, 1 June 2010 - 4:43 pm

1. Sell Petronas Twin Tower

2. Sell part of Johor to Singapore

3. Sell part of Malacca to Indonesia

4. Sell the rest of Malaya as and when extra money is needed to keep One-Malaysia alive.

53. #53 by victimofcorruption on Tuesday, 1 June 2010 - 5:12 pm

johnnypok :
    1. Sell Petronas Twin Tower
    2. Sell part of Johor to Singapore
    3. Sell part of Malacca to Indonesia
    4. Sell the rest of Malaya as and when extra money is needed to keep One-Malaysia alive.

i believe that if Peninsular Malaysia and Singapore are both governed by Lee Kuan Yew, we can match Japan and Korea now…