Malaysia an ‘oil cursed’ country

by Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah
Dec 12, 09

(Speech by former finance minister and Umno vice-president Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah at the one-day Young Corporate Malaysians Summit this morning)

In a speech I made in April this year, I spoke of where we stand in our developmental path and what I felt we must do to move forward.

I need to revisit that argument in order to develop it further.

We are stagnating. The signs of a low-growth economy are all around us. Wages are stagnant and the cost of living is rising.

We have not made much progress in becoming a knowledge and services based economy.

According to the World Bank, Malaysia’s share of GDP contributed by services was 46.2 percent in 1987. Ten years later, that share had grown by a mere 0.2 percent.

Between 1994 and 2007, real wages grew by 2.6 percent in the domestic sector and by 2.8 percent in the export sector, which is to say, they were flat over that 13-year period.

Meanwhile, our talent scenario is an example of perverse selection at its most ruinous. We are failing to retain our own young talent, people like yourselves, let alone attract international talent to relocate here, while we have had a massive influx of unskilled foreign labour. They now make up 30 to 40 percent of our workforce.

Alone in East Asia, the number of expatriate professionals here has decreased. Alone in East Asia, private sector wage increases follow government sector increases, instead of the other way around. We are losing doctors and scientists and have become Southeast Asia’s haven for low-cost labour.

I said that we are in a middle-income trap, stuck in the pattern of easy growth from low-value-added manufacturing and component assembly and unable to make the leap to a knowledge-intensive economy.

Regional competitors with larger, cheaper – and dare I say – hungrier labour forces have emerged. China and India have risen as both lower cost and higher technology producers, and with giant domestic markets.

The manufacturing sector which propelled the growth we enjoyed in the 90s is being hollowed out. There is no going back, there is no staying where we are, and we do not have a map for the way forward.

I am glad that the characterisation of Malaysia as being in a ‘middle-income-trap’ has been taken up by the government, and that the need for an economic story, or strategy, for Malaysia is now recognised.

We stand in particular need of such a model because we are a smallish economy. We cannot be good at everything, and we don’t have to be.

We need only make some reasonable bets in identifying and developing a focused set of growth drivers. It is not difficult to see what the elements of such a growth strategy might be. Whatever we come up with should build on our natural strengths, and our strengths include the following:

• We are located at the crossroads of Asia, geographically and culturally, sitting alongside the most important oil route in the world.

• We have large Muslim, Chinese and Indian populations that connect us to the three fastest growing places in the world today.

• We have some of the largest and oldest rainforests in the world, a treasure house of bio-diversity when the greatest threat facing mankind as a whole now is ecological destruction, and the greatest technological advances are likely to come from bioscience.

• We have the English language, a common law system, parliamentary democracy,good schools,an independent civil service and good infrastructure.

These advantages, however, are declining. Our cultural diversity is in danger of coming apart in bigotry, our rainforests are being logged out and planted over, our social and political institutions are decaying.

I have spoken at length on different occasions about the causes and consequences of institutional decline.The decline in our society and indeed in our natural environment, originates in a decline in our basic institutions.

The link between these is corruption.The destruction of our ecosystem for example, is made possible by corrupt officials and business people.The uncontrolled influx of unskilled labour is a direct result of corruption.

These are problems we need to be aware of before we speak glibly about coming up with new strategies and new economic models. We need to understand where we are, and how we have gone wrong, before we can set things right.

You are young, well-educated Malaysians. Many among you have left for other shores. Record numbers of Malaysians, of all races, work abroad or have emigrated. Among these are some of our best people.They sense the stagnation I described.

There is a certain lack of energy, ingenuity and “hunger” in the climate of this country that young people are most sensitive to. In the globalised job market, young people instinctively leave the less simulating and creative environments for those that have a spark to them.

How did we lose our spark as a nation?

We have a political economy marked by dependence on easy options and easy wealth. Like personal dependencies,these bad habits provide temporary comfort but discourage the growth of creativity and resilience.

I mentioned our dependence on low-cost foreign labour.

The other dependence is something I played a part in making possible.This is a story I want to leave you with to ponder in your deliberations today.

Once a blessing, now a curse

Our nation is blessed with a modest quantity of oil reserves. As a young nation coming to terms with this natural bounty in the early 70s, our primary thought was to conserve that oil.

That is why, when Petronas was formed, we instituted the Petroleum Development Council. Its function was to advise the prime minister on how to conserve that oil and use it judiciously for national development. We knew our reserves would not last long.

We saw our oil reserves as an unearned bounty that would provide the money for modernisation and technology. We saw our oil within a developmental perspective. Our struggle then, was to make the leap from an economy based on commodities and low-cost assembly and manufacturing to a more diverse, economy based on high income jobs.

Aware that we had an insufficient tax base to make the capital investments needed to make the leap, we planned to apply oil royalties to what you would call today strategic investments in human capital.

Whatever money left after making cash payments, allocations for development funds, etc, was to be placed in a Heritage Fund for the future.The Heritage Fund was for education and social enrichment.

In working out the distribution of oil between the states, who had sovereign rights over it, and the federal government, we were guided by concerns for equity between all Malaysians, a concern to develop the poorer states (who also happened to be the oil rich states) and a concern for inter-generational equity.That oil was for special development purposes and it was not just meant for our generation.

Sabah and Sarawak joined Malaya to form Malaysia because of the promise of development funds. Yet today, despite being their massive resources, they are some of our poorest states.

Instead of being our ace up the sleeve, however, our oil wealth became in effect a swag of money used to fund the government’s operational expenditure, to bail out failing companies, buy arms, build grandiose cities amidst cleared palm oil estates.

Instead of helping eradicate poverty in the poorest states, our oil wealth came to be channeled into the overseas bank accounts of our political and politically-linked class.

Instead of being the patrimony of all Malaysians, and for our children, it is used as a giant slush fund that has propped up authoritarian rule, eroded constitutional democracy and corrupted our entire political and business elite.

Our oil receipts, instead of being applied in the manner we planned upon the formation of Petronas, that is, according to its original developmental purpose, became a fund for the whims and fancy of whoever ran the country, without any accountability.

The oil that was meant to spur our transition to a more humane, educated society has instead become a narcotic that provides economic quick fixes and hollow symbols such as the Petronas towers.

Our oil wealth was meant to help us foster Malaysians capable of building the Twin Towers than hire foreigners to build them, a practice in which we preceded Dubai. I would rather have good government than grand government buildings filled with a demoralised civil service.

It is no wonder that we are no longer productive, no longer using our ingenuity to devise ways to improve ourselves and leap forward.

Malaysia is now an “oil cursed” country. We managed to arrive at this despite not having a lot of oil.

When I started Petronas in 1974, I did not realise I would see the day when I would wish we had not uncovered this bounty.

Public assets ‘looted’

The story I have told is a reminder of the scale of the challenge of development. My generation of young people faced this challenge in the 60s and 70s. You face it now.The story tells us that development is about far more than picking strategies out of a box.

You have kindly invited me to address a seminar on strategies for reinventing and liberalising Malaysia’s economy. But the story of our squandered oil wealth reminds us that it was not for want of resources or strategies that we floundered.

Our failure has been political and moral. We have allowed greed and resentment to drive our politics and looked the other way or even gone along while public assets have been stolen in broad daylight.

I encourage you to take up the cause of national development with the ingenuity that earlier generations of Malaysians brought to this task, but the beginning of our journey must be a return to the basics of public life: the rule of law, honesty, truth-telling and the keeping of promises.

The Malaysia we need to recover is one that was founded on laws and led with integrity. With the hindsight of history we know such things are fragile and can be overturned in one generation, forgotten the next.

Without a living foundation in the basics you might sense an air of unreality around our talk of reinventing ourselves, coming up with “a new economic model” and liberalising our economy.

So before we can reinvent ourselves, we need to reclaim our nation. That larger community, bound by laws, democratic and constitutional, is the context of economic progress, it is the context in which young people find hope, think generous thoughts and create tomorrow.

1. #1 by Kasim Amat on Saturday, 12 December 2009 - 4:18 pm

I want to clarify that this article is merely a personal opinion of Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah which does not represent the majority of the thinking of UMNO’s members. There is nothing in the article that we can simply agree to because it is not based on the reality of what Malaysia is:

Overall, the article is aimed to attach UMNO with a view that more Malay will support Ku Li in the next UMNO election. If he is willing to accept to be a traitor of Malay, he should leave UMNO and join PR. We do not need such a leader in UMNO.
    1. Malaysia is not stagnating as we are still able to attract a large number of foreign investors from Japan and US to come here.

2. There is nothing wrong to be a haven for low cost labour because these labour help our country to remain competitive and produce GDP growth. In order to be a developed country, we have to go through this process as our own people are becoming more skilled and demanding higher pay jobs.

3. We are not in critical shortage of talents. Ku Li must remember that Malaysia is not Singapore. Malaysia has it own unique cultures and history. Whatever immigration policies undertaken by the government must be based on these cultures and history. As a Malay leader with foresight, the last thing we want is to become like Singapore who looses its real identity.

4. Petronas’s money has not been misused in anyway. Malaysia has become well known partly because of the icon of the Petronas Twin Tower, which all of the Malaysian feel proud about. Until today, the tower are still attracting thousands of visitors everyday. The benefits of having the tower are unmeasurable. If we are to build the whole building ourselves, it will never be done.

5. Ku Li mentioned that we have Chinese and Indian population which help connect to the two largest developing countries? May I know what connections you are talking about? These connections only benefit the Chinese and Indians themselves as I know a lot of Chinese and Indians are gaining advantages from these countries for their own benefit and it has nothing to do with other fellow Malaysian. You think Chinese and Indians willing to share their wealth with the Malay? The answer is surely “No”.

2. #2 by Godfather on Saturday, 12 December 2009 - 5:15 pm

Umno has a roadmap forward. It’s a treasure map that leads to Khazanah, our national treasury.

3. #3 by wanderer on Saturday, 12 December 2009 - 5:16 pm

The curse will soon reach the so called “Chosen Settlers”….unashamedly, whack everything within their sights…

4. #5 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 12 December 2009 - 5:48 pm

///So before we can reinvent ourselves, we need to reclaim our nation./// – Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah.

I thought it was the other way around: before we can reclaim our nation, we must first reinvent ourselves. That is why Ku Li exhorts “young people” to “ find hope, think generous thoughts and create tomorrow”.

Expressions of frustration by sophisticated Malaysians alone at the country being narcotized by oil wealth enroute to the fate of a failed state like Nigeria gets us nowhere. We cannot embark on a national rejuvenation and desired change without a significant change of attitude by a considerable number of citizens – considerable enough to pull their votes together to effect that change needed by all. The real change begins in the mind. What we are seeing is change in the minds of a few who can see the big picture : but what about the masses? Here the lesson of Bagan Pinang by election is salutary.

What sort of change in the mind are we talking about here? In a nutshell it may have something to to so with this nebulous term “moral fibre”. Nations cannot rejuvenate if large swathes of their citizens do not embrace moral fibre, keep imbibing self-serving propaganda of, and keep voting in leaders of dubious moral fibre. Then we next ask: what is moral fibre?

It is many things some of which, for egs.: it is discipline of desire, a dedication to the principle of exertion, the striving for the reward for work well done based on Merits rather than creed, colour and political affiliation in order to harness an opportunity to do more. Our entrenched policiers are against this!

It is the simple morals our parents have taught us when we were little : despise and abhor the bully, the brawler, the oppressor, whether in private or public life. We should fight for the rights of our neighbours for the the equal rights of all are the treasures accumulated in the past necessary to establish a harmonious compatibility amongst all in the present to cooperate for a better collective effort for the future. What do we have instead? A polarisation along lines of race or religion and even geography (West from the East) institutionalised by laws.

Instead of urging all men to develop free initiative, free action, free association, we enforce conformity and uniformity.

Instead of honouring people who speak the truth, laws are used to persecute and hound our most radiant luminaries like RPK to exile. Instead of upholding justice – symbolised by blind folded matron holding sword in one hand and the scale in the other – without fear or favor, our matron take off the blind fold and metes “selective” justice in favour of the powerful and well connected.

Instead of thrift we indulge in wastage of PKFZ and look for easy money – hence the culture of corruption. Instead of being proud of real achievement we favour symbols – the tallest building, biggest airport and other monuments. Instead of loving truth we love hypocrisy: the more hypocritical the leader the better. We will follow him. Both when he weas in office as well as well as after.

When we look for qualities in a leader it is just like those that that we look in a subordinate : (1) integrity (2) intelligence and (3) drive/ambition. The three must be in combination. The presence of (2) and (3) in the absence of (1) brings us to ruins. We have experienced that but we never learn. We keep repeating history in whom we select.

So it has something to do with moral fibre – of leaders and large sections of people forming the vote bank. So before we can reclaim the nation we must first reinvent ourselves. How long will this take? Maybe eons. Now it is just the beginning of realisation, like the first streaks of dawn across the emptied skies.

5. #6 by limkamput on Saturday, 12 December 2009 - 6:05 pm

If we are asked what ills are inflicting this country today, I think there are as many responses as to the number of respondents. Let me share a few:
    1. Patronage and Racism: this places so many incompetent people at the helm – initially in the civil service, statutory bodies and now in GLCs and privatised entities. Incompetent people can not protect the interests of the public; they can not make decisions judicially; and they can not foresee emerging trends and challenges. In fact, incompetent people at the helm not only are unable to contribute, they are the source of problems and hence causing the value of many institutions they lead to plummet.

6. #7 by limkamput on Saturday, 12 December 2009 - 6:07 pm

2. Manipulation and coercion: if we have so many that are incompetent and owe their positions to patronage and racism, we can’t expect them to be independent and confident of their own ability. Many know they owe their positions to special favour and privileges. Hence they are easily manipulated and coerced to do things that are not right and proper. I believe this is the most significant reason why so many heads of institutions and departments are ever so ready to concede and compromise. They know they can’t resist or assert their independence. They will be shown the exit door just like that.

7. #8 by limkamput on Saturday, 12 December 2009 - 6:09 pm

3. Corruption and cronyism: with more and more suffocating regulations, ill-conceived privatisation and poorly thought out public-private sector partnership, corruption and cronyism have become rampant. Corruption has developed into an art form. There is no shame in corruption anymore, especially among the givers. The reason is simple: what is there to lose each time you are faced with a “bureaucratic” problem. Just offer something to the person in charge. If that person accepts the offer, all the problems are solved. If that person refuses to accept, there will be no attempted bribery charge taken against the giver.

In the name of facilitating decision making and implementation, cronyism becomes the order of the day. Cronyism in fact is a special form of corruption – how decision-makers in the government identify favoured people to be given projects and privatisation deals. It is a win-win situation, except the losers here are the the government and the public.

8. #9 by limkamput on Saturday, 12 December 2009 - 6:12 pm

3. Rent seeking: because most of the projects and privatisation deals are borne of cosy relationship between the givers and takers of bribes, renting seeking activities have become common. It does not matter whether a project is needed. It does not matter whether a privatisation deal is viable or sustainable. It does not matter the cost of the projects are excessive with numerous variation orders or the terms and conditions of the privatisation agreements are lopsided and devoid of logics and reasons. It does not matter the projects, the privatisation agreements, the licensing conditions have created monopolies and stifle competition. The most important thing is the cronies and those making the decision in the government must benefit privately. A simple illustration: we have been talking about toll, IPP, foreign labour, APs (not just cars), taxi, bus and lorry permit reviews since before the election. Have you all seen any yet?

9. #10 by limkamput on Saturday, 12 December 2009 - 6:14 pm

4. An economy filled with distortions: the consequence of all these is we now have an economy filled with distortions – an economy saddled with mediocrity (because of incompetent people at helm), devoid of vitality and creativity (because most are manipulated and coerced), drained by corruption, and strangled by rent-seekers and monopolies

10. #11 by frankyapp on Saturday, 12 December 2009 - 6:24 pm

Hi Tengku,well said. What we were (good days) and what we are now(bad days),you are partially responsible, for you have been part and parcel of the ecosystem. Wonder why,you couldn’t or maybe you wouldn’t want to inspiring your fellow colleagues to do what you mentioned in your nation building talk at the young corporate malaysian summit. Maybe it’s still not too late for you to start leading the walk. My suggestion is if you could not effect any change within,then please come out and help others who want change to ensure change.

11. #12 by k1980 on Saturday, 12 December 2009 - 6:26 pm

Malaysia is not ‘oil cursed’ … it is ‘unmo cursed’ . Don’t blame the oil, just blame the corrupt leadership

Without oil, the country would had become another Somalia long ago, with pirates roaming the Melaka Straits and with American UAVs picking off local terrorists

12. #13 by -ec- on Saturday, 12 December 2009 - 7:26 pm

to put the words into actions, structural institutional change must be carried out:

1. undo all the amendments to the federal constitution since independent and the creation of malaysia. return the true malaysian spirits to the country. all the corruption practices are ‘legalized’ when the federal constitution was gradually amended to give the corrupt powers to exploit the natural resources of the country. cure the illness from its core culprit.

2. remove the provision that chief judge to be appointed by the pm. let the appointment of chief judge to be elected by the people during general elections. only the most independent and best performed judge be elected. give the people back the real democratic legal institution.

3. stop all those non sense racial superiority and inferiority arguments. enact anti-discrimination legislation! the people must cross this hurdle and move forward.

4. introduce education and experience requirements for mps. only well qualified mps should sit in the parliament. uneducated and low iq, low eq candicate mps should be prevented to run for election. raise the quality of the law making institution.

5. remove the reporting of macc to the pm. free macc to become a real independent agency.

the leaders and the people must be bold enough to change. start from the institutions!

13. #14 by pulau_sibu on Saturday, 12 December 2009 - 8:40 pm

China is a communist country that practices capitalism. The leaders want the democracy out so that the people have no voice or choice. We are so called democratic country but with the Petronas and many other national corporations, we look like communism. With the communism, the leaders are able to be dictators.

14. #15 by taiking on Saturday, 12 December 2009 - 9:21 pm

The real problem with umno now is they do not want the rest of us to mention the word racism and at the same time they preserve for themselves the sole and absolute right to practice racism.

Of course the whole problem started with mamak and his great success in breeding some super greedy and power crazy umnoputras. Now that the positions of these people are under threat, they decided to lash out. The distorted idea on racism is one of the ways in which they lashing out. Threatening a return of may 13 is another.

15. #16 by lee wee tak_ on Saturday, 12 December 2009 - 10:50 pm

taiking, limkamput,

the real problem is Malaysians themselves divided into the following

1) the stupid, easily manipulated, whose soul and future can be bought by the price of a bag of rice
    – give them a pittance every 5 years and they are your dependable fixed deposits voters

2) the selfish, hopeless racists who continued to subscribe the divisive propaganda and vote for racism and discrimination everytime without considering the real issues of justice, corruption and oppression

3) the irrational, mindless idiots who subscribe to & even outrightly support the notion that a political party is beyond criticism and examination, voting against which is a cardinal sin punishable by internment or worse

4) the happily ignorant, oblivious frog in the slowly boiling kettle who ignore their rights and duties as citizens to voice out and vote, and opt for the holier than thou option of non-participation

5) slightly different from 4), those who whine, bitch, throw toys out of their tramp and no where to be seen on polling day

replace this lot with limkamputs, taikings, -ec- and the likes, UMNO-type of politicians would be banished without a trace

why blame UMNO? we Malaysians have ourselves to blame. According to RPK, 51% of the Malays voted for racist UMNO, and BN component parties especially in Sabah and Sarawak scored huge victories….

the East Malaysians especially, deserve every single centimeter of misery them voted for…as for those who voted against BN, my umbrage, solidarity, support and empathy is with you

16. #17 by ktteokt on Saturday, 12 December 2009 - 10:51 pm

We are worse than people in communist countries!

17. #18 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 12 December 2009 - 11:05 pm

“Between 1994 and 2007, real wages grew by 2.6 percent in the domestic sector and by 2.8 percent in the export sector, which is to say, they were flat over that 13-year period.” (Ku Li)

With the high inflation rates as being recorded for year 2008 and the 11 months of 2009 and with no pay raise to most regular workers of Malaysia, perhaps the Malaysians on average would have to report a negative growth in real wages for the most recent two years.

After 1997-1998 South-East Asia Financial Crisis, Malaysia’s two Prime Ministers, namely Dr. Mahathir and Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, had been listening to the advice of foreign experts on the proposal to choose developing bio-technology as the focus of developmental strategy. It is very sad to see that many bio-technology entrepreneurs who have been given the 100% tax exemption for their intent to invest in food production using high tech methods are just the money squandering con men who try to borrow a high debt from the Government-Owned Banks and then run away to live in foreign countries. The technological levels which have been employed in most food production agricultural, aquaculture and husbandry animal faming are relatively very low as compared to many developed nations such as the United States or Japan. Malaysia’s food production is still low and is still too far away from achieving the target of attaining the self-sufficiency in food supply in order to fulfill the aim of enhancing the national food security. Therefore, Malaysia is still a highly fragile country in terms of its exposure to high impact from imported inflation due to its net food importer international trade status!

With the drastic drop in Petronas’ revenue for the past one year, it is quite likely that the Malaysia’s economy will continue to record a recession this year until the beginning of first quarter of 2010. Malaysia seems to be a country which has been cursed with bleak and difficult life in the future mainly due to the national mismanagement that have been carried out by Umnoputras for the past 52 years!

18. #19 by boh-liao on Saturday, 12 December 2009 - 11:33 pm

M’sia is not cursed by oil but by oily self-enriching corrupt Umnoputras
    D big fat mother of corruption is MMK who abused our oil money
    M’sia should learn fr d goment of Rwandan President Paul Kagame
    His goment has declared zero tolerance for corruption

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/expat/expatnews/6752425/Rwanda-gets-tough-on-corruption.html

19. #20 by ekompute on Saturday, 12 December 2009 - 11:37 pm

“According to the World Bank, Malaysia’s share of GDP contributed by services was 46.2 percent in 1987. Ten years later, that share had grown by a mere 0.2 percent.”

Is it any surprise? Instead of focusing on building human resource capabilities, we are destroying it so that the weaker half can “catch up” and appear good (i.e. gorging one eye out of the two-eyed person so that the one-eye person can look equal). Instead of creating wealth, we are arguing who should get more (just like a typical family business that eventually becomes bankrupt through internal squabbling). Instead of competing with the world, we are competing among ourselves. With the car heading towards the wall, we are quarreling as to who owns the car.

With such “strategies”, it would be a miracle if Malaysia ever becomes a developed country by 2020. Stop dreaming and wake up to the fact that although Mahathir did do something good, his strategies and legacies are bringing all of us to ruins. His succession planning strategy was not to build up a good team to take over but to leave a weak team behind so that he could continue to pull the strings even as he “retires”. Well, he did manage to leave behind a weak team but he failed to pull the strings, thus sending him reeling to create chedet.com.

History will remember him not as Bapa Pemodenan but as Bapa Pengunduran, a selfish man who became a multi-billionaire by destroying the judiciary, destroying the good people within UMNO, destroying everything so that he could rule as a despot and enrich himself for 22 long years.

20. #21 by HARAPAN MALAYSIA on Sunday, 13 December 2009 - 12:12 am

My God ….” A Fund for ..whims and fancy of WHO..ran the country without any accountability..”
    ….corrupted our entire political & business elite…”

Something..is Rotten to the core….!

Why Nobody stopped it….?

Why Somebody wants to be Nobody..when he or she is Somebody in Everybody …?

21. #22 by cseng on Sunday, 13 December 2009 - 1:20 am

Kassim Amat;
    Maybe, what Tunku is trying to tell you this, the real curse is umno styles of ‘ketuanan melayu’ based policies. This policies enriched only well connected Umno-putra to tap-into oil money using this ‘ketuanan melayu’ propaganda, using NEP, lopsided deal and corruption. B’coz there is plenty and so easy to ‘grab’ some, our leader has lost their mind to plan and invest for future. The impact of this is detrimental; recently many articles pointing at our future are dimming away. Our economy capital disconnected, we are neither low-cost/high –volume neither high-value/high-tech. Study shows M’sia will export maids in 10-15 years to come. The oil could not satisfy the greed of our leaders! The deficit is biting our economy bone once petronas can’t lay enough eggs. Don’t these worrying you more than your Umno’s ‘ketuanan melayu’? Why the only worrying thing for you is your identity and you felt so threatened by your own Malaysian citizens?
    Oil, natural resources and diverse culture are our nation’s blessing; the cruse on the other hand is our political alliance named Barisan National and our voters’ stupidity.

22. #23 by katdog on Sunday, 13 December 2009 - 1:38 am

Lee wee tak is correct.

Our elected government is our responsibility. Malaysians have only themselves to blame. UMNO and Dr. M would not have been able to openly pillage the country if more people had stood up to them and voted responsibly.

Instead the chinese and indians continued to throw their support for MCA/MIC and Gerakan giving free reign for Dr. M to continue his corrupt and racist activities without fear or repercussions.

Look at the Kelantanese Malays. They have been opposition since 1990. These stoic true Malays have rejected the corrupt rule of BN for 19 years. And for 19 years these Malays have been marginalized and isolated by mainstream development by UMNO. And yet, despite being persecuted by UMNO, these Malays have consistently rejected the corrupt UMNO regime.

23. #24 by frankyapp on Sunday, 13 December 2009 - 1:56 am

Hey kassim amat,why for more than 50 years you still need your mother’s salong for protection.The reality is what’s ” ketuanan melayu” when more and more malays are becoming maids,jobless,drug adicts,mat rempit ,semi literate,thieves,robbers,gangsters,terrorists rapists and murderers etc.under the present government. You have eyes,but you don’t see,you have ears but you choose not to listen.”Ketuanan Melayu ” is used by Umnoputras for their greed,not for you and the majority of the malays.

24. #25 by ekompute on Sunday, 13 December 2009 - 2:37 am

“Why the only worrying thing for you is your identity and you felt so threatened by your own Malaysian citizens?” – Cseng

Truth be said, the Malays have every reason to feel insecure. The artificial definition of “Malays” in Malaysia includes so many ethnic groups that are not ethnically Malays. It is an artificial construct to give the illusion of a bigger Malay population. Thus those who are ethnically Malays are insecure because they know that their numbers are indeed very very small. The rest who are not ethnically Malays but termed “Malay” feel insecure because they know they are not true Malays.

While I do not blame them for feeling insecure, the way they are reacting boggles the imagination.

25. #26 by ekompute on Sunday, 13 December 2009 - 2:42 am

The reality is what’s ” ketuanan melayu”… Frankyapp

Ketuanan Melayu? Tell me which field of endeavour they excel in this world? For a start, how about bringing in the first Nobel Prize in any area, even Literature… we know that science is out, so don’t even talk about that. Why, we don’t even have a word for it.

26. #27 by ekompute on Sunday, 13 December 2009 - 2:45 am

That “astronaut” (how can an air passenger be misconstrued as a pilot, I am still scratching my head) went to outer space to do some experiments. Did we hear anything about it after the trip? These people are ketuanan at self-delusion.

27. #28 by katdog on Sunday, 13 December 2009 - 2:47 am

Unfortunately the deluded UMNO supporters still think Malaysia is a ‘rich and developed’ nation (look at Kasim Amats post to understand the horrific denial and delusion of UMNO supporters).

The advice of these deluded men essentially amounts to: “Nothing wrong was done, nothing is wrong, and nothing will go wrong”. Shocking!

Malaysia is at the crossroads today. Inaction to reform and adapt will surely doom this country. The signs are already obvious:

– our net FDI in 2008 was -USD6 billion. This is 6 billion dollars leaving the country in a single year. And the trend is not likely to change anytime soon.

– Private sector investments is estimated to have declined 0.4% per year from 2006-2010. Private investments now only account for 11% of GDP and FDI only account for 3.3% of GDP.

– There is no more Wawasan 2020. The dream is over. Its time to face reality. In order to become a developed nation by 2020, we would consistently need an average of 8-9% GDP growth from 2010-2020. Unfortunately, at best Malaysia is likely to only average 6% leaving it far short of developed nation status on 2020.

– Penans today have no road, no electricity, no water, no education. You want to be a developed nation in 10 years time? Don’t joke.

Malaysia is at the crossroads, but unfortunately UMNO is unwilling to change as evidenced by their actions after 2008. Some people still harbored hopes that after 2008, somehow reformists within the party would be able to effect some changes, but unfortunately there is no more hope of that anymore. UMNO is beyond any reform.

PR despite all its flaws and weaknesses is the last opportunity for Malaysia.

28. #29 by ekompute on Sunday, 13 December 2009 - 3:13 am

Very good analysis, katdog. But facts are not what they want to see or hear, LOL. Tell them fairy tales, paint a rosy picture for them even if it means leading them to Timbuktu and you will endear yourself to them.

29. #30 by frankyapp on Sunday, 13 December 2009 - 3:19 am

Hi ekompute,the tourist space craft or spaceship is ready to take dozens of interested tourists into space sometime next year for a historic trip. Maybe you be the one and become malaysia second astronaut and be awarded and honoured like our first one.So when comes 2020, malaysia would claim developed nation status with several more astronauts together with you and the so called first.This is kassim amat’s huge dream of his “ketuanan melayu “.

30. #31 by ekompute on Sunday, 13 December 2009 - 4:14 am

No thanks, frankyapp. I can do many more things with USD$25 million. Being first means nothing to me. Human achievement without humanitarianism is worthless.

31. #32 by sightseeing on Sunday, 13 December 2009 - 5:14 am

//Instead the chinese and indians continued to throw their support for MCA/MIC and Gerakan giving free reign for Dr. M to continue his corrupt and racist activities without fear or repercussions.// katdog
    ———————————
    I agree with you 100%. The non Malays play a major role in turning UMNO into a racist party. For those who have supported MCA, MIC, Gerakan and SUPP, curse yourselves and your past and current leaders in BN before pointing fingers at UMNO.

32. #33 by johnnypok on Sunday, 13 December 2009 - 5:34 am

1. CI will drop below 1000 again, and heading down to 500 and evernutally “0”
    2. Ringgit Malaysia will weaken and become worthless (already rejected by some countries)
    3. Petronas will close shop sooner than expected
    4. Civil war / military rule / BANKRUPT!

33. #34 by passerby on Sunday, 13 December 2009 - 5:57 am

Kasim Amat/

There are only 3 directions of development in this world. There are:
    1. going up
    2. no growth
    3. going down

Sadly all muslim countries are either in no growth or going down directions. That may be their choice given the type of religion they believe in. But the hard reality is whenever there is a disaster, it is always the developed or rather western and christian countries that are pouring in to help those affected. Do we see muslim countries coming in with their oil money to help? No.

1. Malaysia is not stagnating, but is it a going up country? No. True you may have some foreign investments coming in, are there enough to bring the country up to be a developed country? So sorry your mamakthir will not live to see his dream of Malaysia becoming a developed country at this rate.

2. Agreed you have to start from the low cost development but unfortunately Malaysia is still stuck in that level. Countries like S’pore, Korea, Taiwan, Hongkong that were at similar level with Malaysia or lower have all gone way past Malaysia to be developed countries. Stop dreaming of high paying jobs and what is the starting pay of a mata mata compare to a police officer in S’pore? I am shy to make the comparison! Maybe not you.

3. Malaysia is not critically short of talents but unfortunately you don’t have any high technical jobs for them. All those with high, I mean really high, talents have already left to contribute the superior knowledge to other countries and that is why S’pore, Hongkong, etc have all gone past pathetic Malaysia. Sure Singapore has lost its real identity and it is no longer a pathetic poor country like Malaysia! I am sure all S’porean are happy for the change! I can almost hear the jingling sound in their pocket. Hey, it Xmas season now and it is really fun if you have money in your pocket to spend. Ha ha ha. Ho Ho Ho. Father Xmas is coming to S’pore but not Malaysia.

4. There is nothing to be proud with the Petronas Twin Tower. Dubai has the world tallest tower now and I don’t think they are going to be very proud now. If you think R$100 billion gone down the drain still well spent, how can you argue with moron like you? Indonesia use to be a country with so much potential like Malaysia and look where are they now? Malaysia will be there too going at this rate. If you have some brain, can you think Malay talents can built another one by themselves now? If not, how can you said money is well spent.

5. What? Atfer 50 years you still think the chinese and the indians owe you a living? Hack, Lim Goh Tong didn’t share any of his wealth with me. Why should he and I am not even relate to him! Get off the clutch mentality and work like any body.

If you think having chinese and indian does not benefit Malaysia in the dealing with China and India, then something is wrong with your type of brain. Every country is trying to use whatever advantage they have by sending someone coming from that country or at least speak a their language when dealing with that country. If Malaysia has developed into a very rich country, I am sure the Head of a foreign government will try to say “selamat pagi” to Malaysian PM when they meet. Right now no one will like to get close to the PM with his sh!t everywhere.

34. #35 by monsterball on Sunday, 13 December 2009 - 5:58 am

Tunku Razaleigh is a very smart economist..well known throughout the world.
    He wrote a master piece…but I will not trust him as a politician.
    He will do anything for his persona benefits.
    His present popularity in UMNO is ZERO….and now speak up…25 years too late.
    I cannot imagine he walked like long lost brothers with his arch enemy…..Mahathir…few years ago…hoping UMNO Supreme Council will support him to be elected as UMNO president.
    Getting only one vote shows what UMNO thinks of him.
    He is unproductive and was played out by Najib.
    That is why…Najib is the adopted son of Mahathir.
    If he is that great…he could have taken Kelantan from PAS…long ago.
    Yes…Razaleigh is extremely smart…but totally selfish and unreliable.
    Enjoy his master piece…..read and learn..but do not for one moment think.. he is a true Malaysian…just like Mahathir..and such people have selfish ulterior motives…unless his conscience pricking him…to do all good in the last lap of his life.
    No matter what..he wilL still cast his vote for UMNO….because not one PR party trust him.

35. #36 by Godfather on Sunday, 13 December 2009 - 6:12 am

Why would Kasim Amat give up his right to the milk bottle?

36. #37 by k1980 on Sunday, 13 December 2009 - 8:05 am

Kasim Amat will give up his right to the milk bottle on condition that he gets a wholesome Dutch Lady maid who will permit him to suck her milk direct from the source

37. #38 by boh-liao on Sunday, 13 December 2009 - 11:05 am

Yes, don’t just blame d Malays 4 electing Umno B/BN one GE after another GE
    Lots of nonMalay voters continued 2 do so despite all d complaints of racism
    Perhaps nonMalay voters hv been conditioned 2 vote 4 Umno B/BN, Stockholm syndrome
    Perhaps it’s d fear of d spectre of May 13 or genocide
    Perhaps we just don’t hv any worthy opposition parties as d alternative gomen

38. #39 by boh-liao on Sunday, 13 December 2009 - 11:13 am

To really CHANGE d political scenario here, we need voters 2 change their mentality
    Just like d brave French citizens who stormed the Bastille on le 14 juillet 1789
    Get ready la guillotine

39. #40 by boh-liao on Sunday, 13 December 2009 - 11:24 am

“Penans today have no road, no electricity, no water, no education”
    No nothing – but continue 2 vote 4 BN mah, happily, yes?
    How 2 change lah? Corruptions continue, life goes on n ppl continue 2 foam on this blog
    Don’t like it, know what 2 do lah, vamoose, lejos, muy lejos

40. #41 by katdog on Sunday, 13 December 2009 - 11:29 am

Here’s more info regarding the state Malaysia is in today:

– Amongst our peers, China, India, Vietnam, Indonesia, Philippines and Thailand, our real GDP growth in the last three years was the second lowest at 5.5 per cent.

– Malaysia has one of the highest unemployment rate of graduates, at close to 4.0 per cent when compared to developed nations like Ireland, Korea and Singapore. (And this, even after we lose 300,000 Malaysians via migration a year)

– The government spends RM8,000 per capita annually in numerous subsidies. Meaning if subsidies were removed, each of us would be paying an additional RM8000 per year. I.e. cost of living in Malaysia is actually going through the roof. We don’t feel it yet simply because the govt. pumps in money from oil into various subsidies.

Despite all the facts, the UMNOputras still refuse face the harsh reality. UMNO has failed Malaysia. Even worst. UMNO has failed the Malays. What UMNO has done (and still persist in doing) is storing up a disaster for the Malays and their children in the future.

41. #42 by katdog on Sunday, 13 December 2009 - 11:46 am

“Penans today have no road, no electricity, no water, no education”
    No nothing – but continue 2 vote 4 BN mah, happily, yes? -boh-liao

Actually i believe many Penans don’t vote. Many can’t. Those in the interiors don’t even have IC’s/Mykads and can’t even register to vote if they wanted to. Penan’s are Malaysia’s ‘conveniently forgotten inconvenient’ bumiputeras.

Plus, votes from the interiors are only tallied up after being brought in by ship or air. There is ample time for EC officers to switch boxes or stuff ballots during the trip.

42. #43 by frankyapp on Sunday, 13 December 2009 - 12:43 pm

katdog,in addition,the Fed gov’nt added thousands of illegal immigrants using dubious means from neigbouring countries as voters,hence the landslide victory for Umno/Bn. Please understand our penans brothers and sisters as they are always being maginalised but not for long anymore as penans are smart people.What still worries me is those dubious voters.

43. #44 by ktteokt on Sunday, 13 December 2009 - 3:10 pm

A FOOL AND HIS MONEY ARE SOON PARTED – This famous saying truly applies to MALAYSIA, a lucky nation run by BODOHs!

44. #45 by PSM on Monday, 14 December 2009 - 3:46 pm

I hope Ku Li reads what Kasim Amat wrote. Why? Because Ku Li can see for himself that he is wasting his time trying to change these UMNO “Tuans”! These people do not have
    Why is Ku Li still in UMNO when most of UMNO (except those in his constituency) support him?!

45. #46 by OrangRojak on Monday, 14 December 2009 - 4:40 pm

I think if you offered the Penan roads, they might wonder why you want them to have sore feet. Has anybody been to visit the Penan to ask them what they want? I doubt very much that it’s a two-storey townhouse.

46. #47 by Maxorian on Tuesday, 15 December 2009 - 2:08 pm

Dear Amat Kasim,

“I want to clarify that this article is merely a personal opinion of Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah which does not represent the majority of the thinking of UMNO’s members. There is nothing in the article that we can simply agree to because it is not based on the reality of what Malaysia is:”

– Of course you are right. That’s why everybody here say UMNO is corrupted and basically beyond help. Ku Li is only a small voice within UMNO. A voice nevertheless but it show NOT all UMNO is corrupted, only most of them are.

“Overall, the article is aimed to attach UMNO with a view that more Malay will support Ku Li in the next UMNO election. If he is willing to accept to be a traitor of Malay, he should leave UMNO and join PR. We do not need such a leader in UMNO.”

– he’s a politician what do you expect. But at least Ku LI is some saving grace for UMNO reputation.

“1. Malaysia is not stagnating as we are still able to attract a large number of foreign investors from Japan and US to come here.
    2. There is nothing wrong to be a haven for low cost labour because these labour help our country to remain competitive and produce GDP growth. In order to be a developed country, we have to go through this process as our own people are becoming more skilled and demanding higher pay jobs.”

– may I know what are you smoking. It seems to be some strong sh!t. Can I have some? Please? Seriously, the amount we attract are pitiful compare to Thailand, Philipine and Vietnam. We are losing our competitive edge to some 3rd world country because we can’t compete both in brain power or skilled labourer. All we had are unskilled illegal Indon immigrant which are fit only to be construction labourer and farm/plantation worker. We critically need both professional and skilled labourer in order to develop our manufacturing industry and we are losing both at an alarming rate to foreign country especially Singapore.

“3. We are not in critical shortage of talents. Ku Li must remember that Malaysia is not Singapore. Malaysia has it own unique cultures and history. Whatever immigration policies undertaken by the government must be based on these cultures and history. As a Malay leader with foresight, the last thing we want is to become like Singapore who looses its real identity”
    -Of course we are not. We don’t have work for them. In fact we are currently having unemployment rate of 4.0% for new undergraduates. After all most foreign companies already moved to China, Vietnam, Thailand and Philippine. What culture are you looking to preserve? Staying in kampung poor culture? Malays having siege mentality culture? Or “tidak-apa” culture? It is these type of “cultures” that is holding us back from developing as a nation. Malaysia is a multicultural countries. Diversity is our asset, instead of using our asset, UMNO abuse it, neglect it and abandon it through their “ketuanan Melayu” culture.

“4. Petronas’s money has not been misused in anyway. Malaysia has become well known partly because of the icon of the Petronas Twin Tower, which all of the Malaysian feel proud about. Until today, the tower are still attracting thousands of visitors everyday. The benefits of having the tower are unmeasurable. If we are to build the whole building ourselves, it will never be done.”
    -how do you know Petronas money is not misused? We don’t even have any public record showing distribution of the oil royalty paid to Federal government by Petronas. All the payment and budget allocation are never openly declared. Only recently after pressure from oppositions that some of those records started to surface. Even so we only know a rough estimates. Out of those billions, how many go to where is still one big question. I rather we are well known for our good deeds, virtues and our charms as a multicultural tolerant society rather than some ivory tower costing billions that quickly outlast its popularity. In times when we are economically strong, culturally sophisticated and politically just, then and only then can we build our tower as a monument to our achievement.

“5. Ku Li mentioned that we have Chinese and Indian population which help connect to the two largest developing countries? May I know what connections you are talking about? These connections only benefit the Chinese and Indians themselves as I know a lot of Chinese and Indians are gaining advantages from these countries for their own benefit and it has nothing to do with other fellow Malaysian. You think Chinese and Indians willing to share their wealth with the Malay? The answer is surely “No”.”
    – now you are being petty and ignorant. Everybody knows that China and India is current the growing giant of Asia. There is alot of potential growth in those countries. Think of all those potential market for our Malaysian manufactured goods. Think of all those potential economic cooperation. Think of all those raw material export that they are going to need. And think again that we have an asset that connect us to those big countries. YES! that’s right we have our own Indian and Chinese! We have an advantage over our US and EURO friends because we had large population of both English speaking and Chinese/Indian speaking’s Malaysian that would help us venture into those big market. And guess where all those money gonna flow to. It will flow back to Malaysia, stimulated our own industry, export and economy. It means more taxes for the government from private sector and more jobs for local population. This is how free market/Capitalism works. If you think sharing wealth means sharing my properties and money with you just because you are poorer than me then perhaps you should migrate to Cuba. I heard they still practice communism there. Even China now practice capitalism in economic sector.