Replace the BTN, which spent RM550 million in past ten years to incite racial hatred and animosity to create more racists than Malaysian nationalists, with an independent non-partisan institution answerable only to Parliament

Biro Tata Negara (BTN) spent RM550 million in the past ten years from 2000 to 2009 to incite racial hatred and animosity to create more racists than Malaysian nationalists and was a major push factor for the brain drain driving Malaysia’s best and brightest from Malaysian shores in the past decade.

The annual budget for the BTN in the past ten years, totalling RM548 million, is as follows:

Year Expenditure
(RM)
2000 28,928,500
2001 27,172,300
2002 34,199,700
2003 35,620,163
2004 86,165,889
2005 68,160,330
2006 43,097,076
2007 74,339,400
2008 76,348,700
2009 74,023,100

For next year of 2010, RM62.5 million has been budgeted for BTN.

These are huge sums of money. How can there be justification for the expenditure by such vast sums of money for an agency to continue its anti-national agenda to divide Malaysians with its divisive, racist and seditious indoctrination programmes, as further testified by student council representatives from several public universities yesterday.

University of Malaya Students Council president, Mohd Ridzuan Mohammad, described the BTN course as “unsuitable” as it “incites racial sentiments and does not help provide better representation to the student body”.

University Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM), student council member Hisyamuddin Che Ali said Faculty of Islamic Studies complained that racial sentiments were fanned at BTN courses…for example, they were told that the Chinese are lording over the country.

The RM550 million spent by the government on BTN have undermined nation building and national unity, resulting in the nation losing greater international competitiveness as it is a major push factor in driving the best and brightest Malaysians out of the country – contributing to Malaysia’s lagging in economic development to neighbouring countries in the past decade.

If the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak is serious about national reforms to “recatalyse” the country with the 1Malaysia concept, he should have no hesitation in closing down the BTN with its racist and anti-national agenda and replace it with n independent non-partisan national civics institution which is completely independent of the government-of-the-day and answerable to Parliament for its curriculum and management to foster national unity and Malaysian consciousness.

1. #1 by HJ Angus on Friday, 4 December 2009 - 3:34 pm

Why the massive costs in 2001 and 2002? Buying RM12,000 laptops?
    I suggest since we also have the National Sevice program, we should do a 2 in 1 program to cut costs.
    But then some sceptics will say NS stands more for “national scam”!

2. #2 by HJ Angus on Friday, 4 December 2009 - 3:37 pm

ohoh… the numbers have changed but still the price variations during the years look dodgy unless you provide more details like number of persons trained.
    Maybe people like the minister who enjoyed the course did it in Hawaii?

3. #3 by boh-liao on Friday, 4 December 2009 - 3:37 pm

Penang-based MACC officer Norliza Musa said she would follow MACC’s orders blindly, regardless if they were wrong or right
    She must b a wonderful, robotic product of BTN
    No wonder TBH could fly n no one from MACC wanted 2 share d secret
    Hmmm…. obey orders blindly n faithfully, 1M’sia

4. #4 by -ec- on Friday, 4 December 2009 - 3:57 pm

yb, you may want to write that up at least 30% for spending over-budget.

5. #5 by Bigjoe on Friday, 4 December 2009 - 4:32 pm

Just get rid of it I say. We know how to get along. Its the politicians that don’t…

6. #6 by yhsiew on Friday, 4 December 2009 - 5:08 pm

I am not surprised if UMNO treats the annual budget for BTN as party fund!!!

7. #7 by frankyapp on Friday, 4 December 2009 - 5:09 pm

She followed orders blindly,regardless of whether it’s right or wrong,wow this is big talk.Lets see what she does when her boss asks her to jump over the penang bridge.

8. #8 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 4 December 2009 - 5:32 pm

Hello Najib,

Sorry to keep ‘begging’ like this. Makes us Rakyat sound so cheap!

Anyway, what needs to be done has to be done. Can UMNO reimburse the Rakyat for the RM550 million spent on BTN. It’s a matter of principle. After all, BTN is, for all intents and purposes, an UMNO vehicle, to drive its racist propaganda.

BTW, shame on you! shame, shame….shame.

Oh..and Najib, what is this Eurocopter thing. Anything to do with Mongolia? I smell some rats somewhere.

9. #9 by taiking on Friday, 4 December 2009 - 5:51 pm

Three birds were killed with the throw of one stone. The first bird: breeding hatred feelings towards non-malays. Second bird, putting fear of losing umno in the heads and hearts of malays. Third bird killed: fatty cells accummulation for those who ran the course.

10. #10 by frankyapp on Friday, 4 December 2009 - 6:02 pm

BTN is a source for top umnoputas to indoctrinate the malays to believe the chinese and indians who are “pandatang” yet are superior to them because of the malays themselves being not united.Umnoputras hopping in creating this scenario,would make a serious hatred among the malays for the chinese and indians.Hence the answer for malays to become supreme,they must be united behind Umno to suppressing and dealing all sorts of deadly blows to make the non malays economically crippled,insecured,hoping these would make them migrate to seek for fair and secure pastures. At the same time Umnoputras is using BTN to giving its cronies some milky creams to sweeten their mouths.RM 550 million for ten years @ of RM55 million a year was indeed pretty good mouth watering for these guys .Who would not .Liken MACC Penang officer musa who would blindly follow orders irrespective it’s right or wrong when the juice is so sweet.This’s one of Umnoputras strategies. Using the non malays tax payers’s money to do it is indeed pretty cunning.We know we been tricked,problem is what we can do to break it.One malaysian is the answer.

11. #11 by chengho on Friday, 4 December 2009 - 6:42 pm

Kit , u should attend the course….

12. #12 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 4 December 2009 - 7:16 pm

Admiral chengho: brilliant suggestion but u know they will whitewash everything n make it sound like some soothing gospel. No, that wont work now. Perhaps, if someone had gone undercover then….so that’s it. Future government courses, PR must plant some moles and undercover particpants who can videotape the proceedings.

Why shud BN be so dumb. The truth will eventually prevail. Why cant they just start on d right foot n practise decency and decorum, democracy and dignity for all Rakyat from the very begining.

Does anyone ever wonder why we call BN numbskulls….numbskulls?

13. #13 by boh-liao on Friday, 4 December 2009 - 10:45 pm

Replace BTN? Mana boleh man?
    Cut off d source of easy $$$$ 2 Umnoputras?
    How can man? RM70 million a year, u know?
    That’s 1 of d sources of $$$ 2 gasak 2 transfer 2 London, Zurich, Dubai

14. #14 by pwcheng on Friday, 4 December 2009 - 10:50 pm

You can be sure that out of the 74 million, at least 50% of it ended up in somebody’s pocket. That’s very good business for UMNO, propoganda for UMNO and money for UMNO cronies. It s the same with the National Service. UMNO is just rotten to the core, For once TDM is dead right.

15. #15 by boh-liao on Friday, 4 December 2009 - 11:41 pm

Jaafar Abdul, a former deputy IGP, left RM47.3 million in property on his death in September
    He was d director of d Federal police Anti-Narcotics Department in 1982
    After retirement, he was chairman of Cosway Corporation Berhad, Dutaland Berhad n Yinson Holdings Berhad
    He was also a director of Olympia Industries Berhad, Silverstone Corporation Berhad, Parkson Holdings Berhad n several other private limited companies
    Whoever said NEP was not successful?

16. #16 by Winston on Friday, 4 December 2009 - 11:46 pm

Uncle Lim, how is it that something like this has been going on for a decade and there’s no concerted voice-out against it?
    It’s a complete waste of funds and it shows the utter hypocrisy of the UMNO/BN government.
    No wonder they want to increase their tax collection by GST!
    Just dump the UMNO/BN government and give your votes to the PR!

17. #17 by monsterball on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 2:11 am

This is just one of the many ways UMNO top guns become millionaires legally….and simultaneously apply the race politics…that have worked so well for them…up to now.
    UMNO keeping promoting UMNO..after election…..year after year.
    We only know the total millions spent per year.
    Details are secret ….cannot be told to the public.
    If UMNO is so truthful and responsible politicians….such expenditure should be made public with full details ..exactly like so ..made compulsory by the government to all Associations.
    UMNO always apply double standards in everything.
    What so secretive about BTN expenditure?
    Why no details for the public?
    UMNO can never reveal anything concerning money spent.
    These greedy crooks can never do anything right.

18. #18 by lkt-56 on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 8:21 am

Honestly I am surprised by the amount of tax payers’ money spent on this BTN thing. This is perhaps the reason why our some of country’s institutions are seen as “Malay” institutions by some… What I mean is the intense indoctrination programme of the BTN has worked effectively to embed this perception into the sub-conscience of those who attended the course.

Let us hope that the announcement by Nazri that it will be revamped is sincere and not just another empty “talk only” thing.

19. #19 by ekompute on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 9:54 am

“Let us hope that the announcement by Nazri that it will be revamped is sincere and not just another empty “talk only” thing.”

Knowing Nazri, he is a “safe” bet, LOL. But I won’t bet one sen on him, if I were you. Looking at those Youtube videos in parliament, I guess I would respect a monkey even more.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WduM1FdqzRQ

20. #20 by tenaciousB on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 10:15 am

Now we have proof all out that BN is racist. Why aren’t people protesting and demanding their cessation of governance and be banned from being re-elected?

I can’t understand malaysian mentality? fair enough the people are wise enough not to be violent and destroy public property or cause harm to another but to keep hush and allow ministers to continue to squander the nation’s wealth and joke about it is not funny.

Ignorance is bliss they say but in this case, it’s more like irresponsible citizens, it can’t even be related to passive resistance. It’s more like learned helplessness. Sad.

21. #21 by ekompute on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 10:49 am

I can understand all these corruption going around. When there is ineffective enforcement, this is what always happens. And who is enforcing anti-corruption at the moment? MACC is full of shit at the moment. It can’ t even take care of its own backyard.

22. #22 by boh-liao on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 11:35 am

This is d beauty n uniqueness of this nation
    Most ppl, Malays n nonMalays, know that Umno n BN r corrupt n racists
    Yet, one GE after another, Umno B n BN got elected 2 rule @ federal n state levels
    Voters, Malays n nonMalays, still love Umno B n BN
    D election system has been fine tuned 2 guarantee Umno B/BN’s victory
    Election shenanigans n cheats
    Make no mistake, d rich ones in M’sia r Malays
    “At 1 time, d main ppl taking out money were d Chinese. But these days, a large number of them r d rich Malays,” said a money changer in KL (Leslie Lopez, ST, 4 Dec 2009)
    Rich Malays, whales n ikan bilis, r moving RM in millions out of d nation
    Do they know something that we don’t know
    Maybe soon we will b like North Koreans left with worthless devalued RM
    North Korean gomen just declared 100 old won = 1 new won, devalued 100X
    O, M’sians, remember “God helps those who help themselves”
    B prepared 2 work as maids, nurses, laborers, gigolos, Ah Long’s runners
    And as pirates too (rich offerings fr d sea around us) – in fact a Malaysian is d tai ko financing pirates based in Batam n Belakang Padang, south of S’pore

23. #23 by boh-liao on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 12:06 pm

Read where our RM going these days
    http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/45410-kl-money-changers-aiding-capital-flight
    Read how to b pirates
    http://themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/world/45426-menace-of-the-seas
    Read confession of NR
    http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/45520-najib-ignores-pi-balas-claims
    “I will not entertain any frivolous statement,” means Correct, correct, correct
    Otherwise reply should be ‘My architect brother will sue d hell out of that bugger
    He’s ain’t heavy, he’s my brother
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e7HPqi5uVeo

24. #24 by k1980 on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 1:55 pm

Advice for Jib:

Don’t antagonize your wife– she might just tee off in your face

http://www.emmitsburg.net/humor/pictures/2009/tigerw.jpg

25. #25 by superstar48 on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 4:18 pm

So far as I know the govn has introduced,NS,BTN and the list goes on and on.Has the govn so far got any factual and financial report to its record.If it has one how effectively have the rakyat benefitted from it? If only the govn is caring all the money spent on the stupid programmes above were to divert to uplift poor people in kampongs,estates and new villages I think that will very noble act which nobody can deny.The more negative sentiments written in this blog or any other blogs, the people in power are robbing and raping the rights and priviledges of the innocent citizens.The time is very near,every right thinking voter should exercise your golden right to vote the person who cares not only for himself but the rakyat as a whole.

26. #26 by taiking on Monday, 7 December 2009 - 9:46 am

With one million+ voters not in their control (assuming btn is discontinued or truly revamped), umno would certainly not be pleased. Najib surely wouldnt. Beware. I bet my last dollar on this. He would set up something else to continue the brainwashing and the intimidation of that million strong malay voters. So fellas do keep a watchful eye out!