Under Abu Kassim, can MACC redeem itself and restore public confidence, which has plunged to lowest ebb in nation’s history, as an independent, professional and fearless fighter against corruption?

Generally news of the early retirement of Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) Chief Commissioner Datuk Seri Ahmad Said Hamdan have elicited two responses.

Firstly, Ahmad Said’s 30-month tenure as anti-corruption chief saw public confidence in the anti-corruption agency, Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA) and later MACC, plunged to the lowest ebb in nation’s history.

This is supreme irony and greatest national disservice. The MACC which started operations this year had been touted as modeled after world-famous Hong Kong’s Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC) and would be an even more effective anti-corruption agency because of the various panels and mechanisms exercising oversight to ensure its independence and professionalism.

It is however no exaggeration to say that public confidence in the ACA in its 40-year history had never fallen as low as during the first year of operation of MACC.

Who must bear responsibility for this ignominious state of affairs if not Ahmad Said as the first MACC Chief Commissioner?

Ahmad Said was appointed ACA director-general in May 2007, and the 30 months he headed the country’s anti-corruption agency, first ACA and later MACC, would be remembered as their “darkest days” when public confidence in ACA and MACC plunged to the lowest depth in the nation’s history.

Ahmad Said completely failed the first National Integrity Plan launched in 2004 to “effectively reduce corruption, malpractices and abuses of power”with the important target and specific objective to improve Malaysia’s ranking in the Transparency International (TI) Corruption Perception Index (CPI) from 37th place in 2003 to at least 30th position in 2008, and to better the CPI score of 5.2 for Malaysia in 2003 to at least 6.5 by 2008. (10 being the best and 0 the worst).

Instead, during his 30-month tenure as head of the anti-corruption agency, Ahmad Said presided over Malaysia’s double plunge to unprecedented lows, falling 22 places in TI CPI ranking from No. 44 in 2006 to No. 56 in 2009, with the CPI score also falling from 5.0 in 2006 to an unprecedented 4.6 in 2009.

Malaysians will not forget Ahmad Said’s infamous saying that as far as the MACC is concerned, there is no difference between corruption involving a few ringgit and corruption involving a few hundred millions of ringgit or the black marks in his record as MACC chief, including:

• The mysterious death of Teoh Beng Hock at the MACC headquarters on July 16, 2009 with overwhelming public opinion rejecting the theory that Teoh had committed suicide by plunging from the 14th MACC Headquarters at Plaza Masalam;

• The failure s to go after the “ikan yus” but only going after the “ikan bilis”;

• Playing the catspaw of Umno and Barisan Nasional to declare war on Pakatan Rakyat instead of declaring war on corruption.

The second response to the news of a new MACC chief is whether the MACC, under Datuk Abu Kassim Mohamed, can redeem itself and restore public confidence, which has plunged to the lowest ebb in nation’s history, as an independent, professional and fearless fighter against corruption?

The Malaysian public want to have an anti-corruption agency which has teeth and which can sent to jail the corrupt, regardless of position or status, responsible for Malaysia’s continuing plunge in international competitiveness.

The MACC was created to be more effective than ACA, with more powers, funds and personnel, to combat corruption, even to outshine Hong Kong’s ICAC.

Why then is the MACC facing the worst crisis of confidence among the Malaysian public, who generally regard the MACC as even worse and more useless than the ACA after less than a year’s operation?

Is Abu Kassim prepared to lead the MACC as an independent and professional anti-corruption body like Hong Kong’s ICAC, not at the beck and call of the political masters of the day, or will MACC be “more of the same” as under Ahmad Said?

If it is the former, DAP and Pakatan Rakyat are prepared to render full support and co-operation. If it is the latter, the people and history will be the judge.

1. #1 by taiking on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 2:44 pm

Macc was a success even before it had started work. And so it was within everyone’s expectation that thereafter macc can only achieve even greater success. Such is the case and so it is time, albeit brief, for the chief to retire and collect his Tunship from umno.

2. #2 by k1980 on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 3:11 pm

Ahmad Said– As far as the MACC is concerned, there is no difference between corruption involving a few ringgit and corruption involving a few hundred millions of ringgit

So Toyol, Raz Bagind ect are now dancing with joy because macc investigations on them would only be started after all the “few ringgit” corruption cases have been settled, i.e. in a few hundred years’ time.

3. #3 by -ec- on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 3:25 pm

Battle over ex-top cop’s RM47m estate (NST 12/4)
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/articles/20091204111611/Article/index_html

it is suspicious. should macc investigate how this late tan sri ‘earned’ so much of monies during his terms as the country top cop. would someone asks where the monies coming from?

in order to build public confidence, the macc first job should be to launch full time, full scale investigation into the pdrm, which is perceived by the public as one of the most corrupted public agencies in the country.

4. #4 by sightseeing on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 3:29 pm

Can the MACC, under Datuk Abu Kassim Mohamed redeem itself and restore public confidence?

MACC is actually under Najib, the chief commissioner of MACC is only a lapdog of Najib. I believe MACC will only get more rotten and worst than the present state of affair. We have seen many examples of situation getting worst when a new head is taking over. Just take a look at the present heads of the AG, the IGP, the Election Commission, the Chief Justice, they are all worst than their predecessors.

5. #5 by -ec- on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 3:29 pm

for a job so badly performed, ahmad said should voluntarily give up the civil servant pension.

6. #6 by frankyapp on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 4:31 pm

My answer to # 4 is a simple…YES & NO. Abu Kassim,yes he would do it but could he do it ? No,I think he could not do it as he’s not in the driver’s seat. For as long as the ONE and all his cronies are in power, no one can do it, not even an angel.

7. #7 by dawsheng on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 4:41 pm

Right question at the right time and the answer is a straight NO! Be prepared for more lip service and sandiwara.

8. #8 by boh-liao on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 4:41 pm

Reward fr d master soon
    Did Ahmad hv close encounters with TBH’s spirit @ Plaza Masalam
    Carry on with d encounters @ PM n @ home till justice is done
    New MACC chief said “I will introduce several plans and measures to redeem MACC’s integrity and public confidence
    Finally true confession that things were wrong @ MACC n needed redemption
    Judgment Day is here

9. #9 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 4:42 pm

Dear Ahmad Said, I don’t mean to be rude but I have to be honest: Your departure is, to put it mildly, GOOD RIDDANCE TO BAD RUBBISH. If u feel sore, just look back at yr abysmal track record of failure and needless deaths during yr wake, in particular Teoh Beng Hock. Noe, some security says his ghost is haunting Plaza Massalam. Is that the reason for yr sudden departure. If it si, I guess Teoh beng Hock will know how to look out for you!

10. #10 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 4:49 pm

Oh, Ahmad Said, sweet dreams. I wish u sound and peaceful sleep…with a good conscience….

11. #11 by Biggie on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 4:51 pm

YB,

Yes, Macc had not been performing well all these while, so do our police. And to compare, I think the police should have a bigger impact on ppl’s daily life. I hope the opposition would continue to educate the parliament on the daily increase on street crimes and the rest which seems to be uncontrolled and termed the “untouchable” within the political lines.

Politicians seems to be full timed involved in politicking one and another and have lost the directions to serve the public. We need concerned politicians and by condemning others is the least of our concern.

The ‘Rakyat’ would applaud any party who could emphasize corruption and crime prevention all the time, to make Malaysia a safer place for all.

Lastly*, for my opinion, who cares if Chin Peng should be allowed to returned or not. I’m not a government or opposition supporter, and think that whether Chin peng returned or not, is non of our matter, he has to pay the price for something he had done, as the saying ” someone would have to go to jail”. And for so many years, he had been in Thailand, no one really cares about him, so why the hurry now.

So please, politicians are protected, but the rakyat are not. They are left to fend with robbers and rapers because the police are all left to protect and be busy with the POLITICIANS.

12. #12 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 5:04 pm

Shakespeare “Macbeth” Act 5, Scene 1:
    GENTLEWOMAN
    It is an accustomed action with her, to seem thus washing her hands: I have known her continue in this a quarter of an hour.

LADY MACBETH
    Yet here’s a spot.

LADY MACBETH
    Here’s the smell of the blood still; all the perfumes of Arabia will not sweeten this little hand. Oh, oh, oh!

DOCTOR
    What a sigh is there! The heart is sorely charged.

DOCTOR
    Hark, she speaks. I will set down what comes from her, to satisfy my remembrance the more strongly.

LADY MACBETH
    Out, damned spot! Out, I say! One, two. Why then ’tis time to do’t. Hell is murky! Fie, my lord, fie, a soldier, and afeard? What need we fear who knows it, when none can call our power to account? Yet who would have thought the old man to have had so much blood in him.

LADY MACBETH
    Wash your hands, put on your night-gown; look not so pale. I tell you yet again, Banquo’s buried; he cannot come out on’s grave.

DOCTOR
    Even so?

LADY MACBETH
    To bed, to bed; there’s knocking at the gate. Come, come, come, come, give me your hand. What’s done cannot be undone. To bed, to bed, to bed.

13. #13 by frankyapp on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 5:06 pm

Wow,wow,it’s a kind of pretty good record for an ex-d top cop to leave a RM47 million estate.Wonder how much more eventually when the real top cop goes to meet his maker. It’s so obviously clear,how on earth a civil servant or any top or super top civil servant could accummulated so much wealth upon retirement or upon death.Hence it’s a fact,all along the MACC have not been doing its proper job.Or it proves the MACC is a toothless tiger.If top civil servant could amass so much wealth,well only God knows how many thousands of time more,our ministers and the likes could accummulate upon retirement or upon death. If we have been a honest and transparent society since 1963,Malaysia would now be a well developed nation. MY final thought is should the present rate of corruption continues,given an other 50 years,we will not be able to reach a full grown nationhood.

14. #14 by Dap man on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 5:16 pm

MACC is a success story as far as UMNO is concerned and that’s what matters.

It is a success story, because it has obediently protected UMNO leaders from any prosecution.

It is a success story because it has managed to instil fear into Pakatan but murdering one from the DAP.

It is a success story because it has stayed clear of Khir Toyo, PKFZ, Lingam Tape, Anwar’s report against Musa Hasan and Abdul Gani.

MACC is to uphold Malay Supremacy.

Only the naive, gullible and fools will place his hope on Abu Kassim, the catpaw of UMNO.
    Only these people can be fooled all the time with hollow promises.

15. #15 by k1980 on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 5:20 pm

What if Abu Kassim Mohamed turns out to be Kasim Amat hisself?

16. #16 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 5:28 pm

Abu Kassim starts with clean slate whereas Ahmad Said carries a big baggage of not only TI CPI ranking with the CPI score falling but also the inexplicable death of Teoh Beng Hock within MACC precincts that he unconvincingly dismissed as “suicide”. Why does Ahmad Said have to go when it’s just 4-5 months from the end of 30-month tenure? Such early retirement is not ordinarily the case (for face saving purposes of loyal govt supporters). Could it be that it is likely MACC’s own foreign expert (Professor Peter Vanezis)’s testimony to be that TBH’s case would likely be homicide and not suicide, thereby making Ahmad Said’s continuance for another 4-5 months untenable, and accelerating Ahmad Said’s exit to take the blame, and for Abu Kassim to start with a new slate?

17. #17 by ktteokt on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 6:03 pm

frankyapp, don’t forget TDM said Malaysia is going to be an ADVANCED NATION by 2020, ten years from now! Can you believe it?

18. #18 by HJ Angus on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 6:27 pm

The level of corruption is too high to have much hope for anyone to be able to perform well unless there is a change of government at the federal level. Operating as an opposition in the state government is not enough to enable change in Malaysia as the present government does not treat the state citizens fairly – examples: the Kelantan oil royalty and also the Penang heritage funds.
    I think I have written enough about the “cancer” of the BTN without the insight of attending the course but malaysiakini has an article from one of those who took part in the program decades ago.

19. #19 by OrangRojak on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 6:39 pm

@k1980 – I thought the name sounded familiar too!

Does the new man have an entirely ‘blank slate’? I know he is formerly ACA (maybe everyone in MACC is!), but he seems like the invisible man on the Internet, until now.

I’m an eternal optimist. It seems obvious to me that anybody in a position of power in the existing government has an opportunity to take their place in Malaysian history by being the first one to say they’re going to do what’s right and actually do it too. Ahmad Said didn’t seize the opportunity – will Abu Kassim?

20. #20 by OrangRojak on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 6:54 pm

I’m not sure I agree entirely with HJ Angus in writing off any positive events before a General Election. Before monsterball starts frothing at the mouth, I should point out that Malaysia absolutely needs a change of government to demonstrate – if nothing else – its democratic maturity.

But in-between times, an effective Opposition, vibrant civil society, daring journalists and the occasional foreign minister of a respectable country can squeeze a government pretending to be the face of reform against the embarrassing facts that reveal they haven’t really changed a bit.

Change is coming. I think with every new person that takes their place in a traditional ‘hotseat’ – unless they are handcuffed by their own involvement in extreme wrongdoing – there’s a chance that they will seize their moment to be celebrated as part of Malaysia’s Renaissance rather than the last contributors to Malaysia’s Dark Ages.

I think we could be cautiously excited about the ‘new guy’. Let’s see what he does. If he delivers his duty, we can celebrate it. If he doesn’t … he can see from his predecessors how he will be remembered.

21. #21 by son of perpaduan on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 7:20 pm

Good job to our Opposition members of parliment. Firstly, let me refresh all malaysian reader, in the very begining, MACC is a body manipulated by BN or be more precise Umno to act as a body to kill off all PR elected members. Unfortunately, now it seems that this body totally malfunction and causing heavy setback due to the truth faild to reveal to the people of malaysian who are now powering for fairness anf justice. As long as the ikan yu don’t serve on the slaughter table, people of malaysia will boycott eating ikan bilis. My sincere support to you Your Excellency Mr. Lim Kit Siang and the rest of opposition members of parliment.
    Your entire lifes act as a opposition in the parliment will never buried in vain. You deserve to be call as a nation hero when the times come. Good luck!

22. #22 by boh-liao on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 7:27 pm

To instil just a bit of optimism in d current dark ages in 1M’sia
    We must demand d REMOVAL of OSA
    Let’s hv a look at all d details of d give-away contracts signed since MMK’s reign of corruption n reign by terror
    Let’s see how intertwined r big n small businesses with Umno B/BN – d mother root cause of all corruptions in 1M’sia
    Then we can decide if there is any hope/future left
    Don’t forget, even a carpet businessman/lover has a big say in 1M’sia’s future

23. #23 by dawsheng on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 7:43 pm

I think we could be cautiously excited about the ‘new guy’. Let’s see what he does. If he delivers his duty, we can celebrate it. If he doesn’t … he can see from his predecessors how he will be remembered. – OrangRojak

There is no “if” he delivers, but confirmed wayang! The only thing I can be excited about is whether Abu is a better actor than Ahmad.

24. #24 by dawsheng on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 7:55 pm

The level of corruption is too high to have much hope for anyone to be able to perform well unless there is a change of government at the federal level. – HJ Angus

Corrupt leader anti corruption, you must be joking!

25. #25 by tenaciousB on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 8:02 pm

It’s not surprising that he resigned because i’m sure the second autopsy done on TBH has been proven that he was murdered.

Therefore, he had to resign and perhaps leave the country with some bribe money from UMNO.

26. #26 by Dap man on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 8:09 pm

In Malaysia….
    1. The man with false dentures speaks about dental care.
    2. The man with four wives speaks about the beauty of monogamy.
    3. The nightly pub-goer speaks upholds religious prohibition on alcoholic drinks.
    4. The lying politician gives sermons on how to be holy.
    5. The corrupted speaks about fighting corruption.

27. #27 by ringthetill on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 8:14 pm

Well written arcticle, YB LKS. Going by Malaysian standards and track records, I can understand has expressed your doubt why this new man can’t do any better than the last useless fellow.
    Is Malaysia so short of upgright and forthright persons to choose from? Another one chosen from within the already run down MACC is just changing the window dressing, I guess.

28. #28 by son of perpaduan on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 8:17 pm

Please wake up everyone! do you believe MACC will admit on TBH scandal? MACC is a living prove on this case in order to save the bloody entire Umno instituition. Who wanna admit..huh? you! This scandal very similar like altantunya, but at least in altantunya case they able to find a death sentence scapegoat. Therefore, case clossed. right or wrong?

29. #29 by vsp on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 8:21 pm

MACC is part of the UMNO ecosystem. They are there to protect the UMNOputras from losing their power to rule. I hate to be a pessimist but unless the MACC is placed under the purview of a Parliamentary oversight panel comprising equally of the ruling party, the opposition and an independent ombudsman, whoever that is appointed by UMNO to head the MACC will always fail the test.

The next option to let the ghost of TBH haunt those who have a part in his murder.

30. #30 by ktteokt on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 8:41 pm

Ever seen a “stripeless” tiger or a “spotless” leopard? Or perhaps the morning sun rising from the West? If these occur, then there is perhaps hope for MACC to regain its reputation and public confidence!

31. #31 by Winston on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 9:29 pm

We don’t give much of a damn who takes over the MACC.
    What we would like to see is for the PR to take over the Federal government.
    The rest is irrelevant!

32. #32 by ekompute on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 10:19 pm

“Malaysians will not forget Ahmad Said’s infamous saying that as far as the MACC is concerned, there is no difference between corruption involving a few ringgit and corruption involving a few hundred millions of ringgit”.

Any manager worth his salt will know where to put his priorities and resources on. Ahmad Said’s statement not only shows that he has no management ability but he does not even where to begin doing his job. No wonder MACC’s performance is so dismal. It is no better than putting a blockhead in charge.

33. #33 by ekompute on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 10:22 pm

“What we would like to see is for the PR to take over the Federal government. The rest is irrelevant!”

Well, don’t expect too much from PR either. You may well be equally frustrated.

But 2 lousy coalitions, checking on one another, is better than one.

34. #34 by HJ Angus on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 11:10 pm

Just as the rot in Malaysia started about 25 years ago, one cannot expect a quantum improvement if the PR takes over. It is going to take a massive effort of the government that will need the cooperation of the majority of the population.
    For example, to see any actual improvement in schools will take at least 3 to 4 years when a better quality of teacher intake will improve the quality of teachers.
    Then the teacher trainers too have to be improved and all the evil effects of the BTN slowly eradicated. Some recalcitrants will need to be removed and others replaced using perhaps a voluntary scheme that will give them a reduced pension.
    It is not easy to change the government without some discomfort but we need to do it in the next elections.I expect an honest and competent government can produce positive and tangible results between 4 to 8 years.

35. #35 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 5 December 2009 - 11:43 pm

“Is Abu Kassim prepared to lead the MACC as an independent and professional anti-corruption body like Hong Kong’s ICAC, not at the beck and call of the political masters of the day, or will MACC be “more of the same” as under Ahmad Said?” (YB Kit)

What Abu Kassim will turn out to be as a new MACC Chief Commissioner is very much depending on whether he has the same kind of feudalistic mentality as his predecessor had, with which the personal political interest of his political master, namely the Prime Minister, will be put above all other national interests. The feudalistic mentality has already turned many top public servants into the lapdog or the apple polisher of the Prime Minister.

Many government servants do not know about the requirement for them to serve the nation dutifully and diligently in a manner of high integrity by carrying out their duty in a fair and just manner disregard of whether the client they are to serve is coming from the Ruling Party camp or coming from the Opposition camp. If those top Government Servants do really care much to memorise what have been written in the “Rukun Negara”, it will be quite easy for them to realize that they are indeed required by the Federal Constitution to pledge their loyalty to the Yang Dipertuan Agong, who is the symbolic figurehead of Malaysia, and not to pledge loyalty simply to the Prime Minister, for the Prime Minister is just the head of one of the Three Separated and Independent Branches of the Government — the Executive Branch. In a complete and perfect system of federalism, the security forces and law enforcement units of the Government are not only required to serve the Head of the Executive Branch of the Government but they are also required to serve the Head of the Legislature as well as the Head of Judiciary. It will be very difficult for the MACC Chief Commissioner to serve in a fair, just and impartial manner without fear or favour if he is to look up for the political patronage from the Prime Minister for getting promise or assurance for a prosperous personal retirement plan.

We are yet to see whether Abu Kassim can really show us that he is a real man who does not need to perform his duty as the MACC Chief Commissioner in an unseeming manner by way of performing as the apple polisher of Najib. Abu Kassim must be daring to take on the Big Fish from among the Umnoputras if he really wants to prove that he is the genuine Untouchable Man in Malaysia!

36. #36 by frankyapp on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 2:39 am

Oh come on onlooker politic,you still don’t get it.Given Abu kassim genuine desire to tackle corruption,the best he can do is catching a few tiny ikan bliss to show the public,he got teeth,that’s all I think he can do. But when comes to umnoputras big fish,like I said,he’s not put on to the driver’s seat to do it.You got to know in malaysia,the power to catch corrupted people is not with the officer but is with the corrupted people who control the regime in power.These corrupted people will remain untouchables for as long as its regime stays in control.If you want corruption to be genuinely tackle,changing the present regime is our only hope.

37. #37 by patrickdejavu on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 3:54 am

When Abdullah decided to rebrand ACA to MACC,people expect a positive reforms which eliminates its previous flaws,weaknesses that will greatly uphold its integrity in executing its duties.In short,people expect improvements!!But to our disappoinment,it was merely rebranding instead of reforms.It seems that after the rebranding,MACC’s performance plunge to its deepest instead of any progress.Needless to elaborate,this is supported by various cases being reported in the media and local dailies.So,what claim is Abu Kassim trying to make when he said he will introduce measures and plans to redeem MACC’s integrity and public confidence??By making that statement,is he confessing that the reforms that was suggested by Abdullah when transforming ACA into MACC actually does not exist or not implemented?? Again,from that statement,is he trying to introduce second reform which clearly explains the failure of the first reform from ACA to MACC??Malaysians are not stupid.Malaysians are not fools that he can fooled around by simply making idiotic statement so that he can gain the people’s supports to the post of MACC’s head.No matter who becomes the MACC’s head,talks on reforms are remained just sweet talks without any realistic actions.How does the MACC fight corruption effectively when they are just the puppets of the ruling party??In another word,what is the rationale of depending on a corrupted body to fight corruption??

niamah!!!

38. #38 by sightseeing on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 4:19 am

Datuk Abu Kassim Mohamed,

Prove me wrong that you are not just another lapdog of UMNO within the first 30 days of your appointment as the MACC Chief Commissioner. I want to see some actions on the following cases:

1) Reopen investigation on Lingam tape scandal
    2) Investigate Bala’s accusation of being threatened by the younger brother of Najib
    3) Investigate the illegal transfer of $10 million overseas by the MB of N. Sembilan
    4) Investigate the abuse of power by Deputy PM in using military helicopter for UMNO’s function.
    5) Investigate how Mohd Khir Toyo got the money to built the $24 million home.

39. #39 by yhsiew on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 5:39 am

or will MACC be “more of the same” as under Ahmad Said?
    ============================================

As long as UMNO has its hand in the MACC, Abu Kassim’s appointment can be likened to “old wine in a new bottle”.

40. #40 by Cinapek on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 11:17 am

Ahmad Said departure is no loss to anyone. Even though he stoutly denied his premature departure was due in part to the TBH case, he still defiantly bad mouth the case as ” Teoh Beng Hock’s case is nothing. It is a very small case….”. A life lost is nothing? What kind of a man and a father himself could even utter such an insensitive remark? I can only conclude that he is better gone before more “nothing” lives are lost under his watch.

Abu Kassim needs to understand only one thing in his “makeover” of the MACC. It is the substance and not the form that counts. And the substance are derived from the people within that organization. Judging from the actions and performances of those MACC officers who came under the public limelight, Abu Kassim has his work cut out for him. Can he change the culture overnight? Can he change the mindset of people who are used to torturing information out of people to try to get information in other ways? Can he defy his political masters who put him into that postion? Would he dare to? Can he last if he dares to be independent and go after the sharks?

The jury is still out.

41. #41 by boh-liao on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 12:04 pm

Asking Abu Kassim to “prove me wrong that you are not just another lapdog of UMNO”
    Ha, ha, ha, easier to b a can-or-not space visitor than 2 prove u wrong
    D moment AK proves himself not 2 b a chiwawa or a lap dancer of Umno B
    He will b terminated
    He has 2 decide now 2 b rewarded with amazing wealth or b damned; easy choice
    He said he wants everyone 2 work WITH him n NOT FOR him – how cute, sounds familiar?

42. #42 by frankyapp on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 12:31 pm

Grilling people to death and throwing the dead body down the building ,hey hey macc wait a moment,is this your way to say “work with me “. Once bitten twice shy.

43. #43 by albert308 on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 12:43 pm

A late former deputy IGP pass away recently reportedly has RM47 million of cash and land to a tussle in family. This is the wealth possessed by top ranking government officers in our country in their lifetime, even after retire from government still continue obtain perks in the corporate position until death.
    Will Abu Kassim give up the guaranteed wealth of a top ranking officer under Umno BN system to fight corruption in gentleman way? The big question is will Abu Kassim go against the rotten to the core of Umno BN system?

44. #44 by boh-liao on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 12:54 pm

D great success of NEP, thanks 2 MMK
    Malays r rich, nay, super filthy rich n untouchable
    Wealth accumulated easily for 7 generations
    How many nonMalay ex-civil servants u know hv RM47 million?

45. #45 by superstar48 on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 3:58 pm

If the govn. of the day doesn’t interfere in the daily business of the public sector everything be it macc,police,judiciary and all govn. related departments will function 1st. class. I quote one fine example during Apanama,s period of PM’s rule.All the giant plantations in the country were doing very well- period during the 90’s or so Kumpluan Guthrie under the CEO Dato Ibrahim Khalid made a neat profit of about RM400 million.Why? because hard work from top managers’ to the bottom linesweeper.Work ethics from all the races,malays chinese indians were strictly followed and respected.Though in return the downline got only pittance but the satisfaction was there for everyone.But on the other hand Felda. Felcra, Risda and the list goes on,was fully subsidized and spoon fed by the Govn,with a few hundred million dollars losses every year in an out.The same apanama commented, how come private sectors can perform better whereas spoon fed govn.are otherwise.The Bn goons will always put smart one as replacement but along the line the sincere smart one has to become corrupt and do all the bad things.What to do,the new macc chief may be good but along the line he has follow orders.

46. #46 by boh-liao on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 4:18 pm

Good riddance 2 Ahmad Said Hamdan
    He was d one who insisted that TBH committed suicide
    Did he know something that we don’t know prior 2 d release of d 2nd autopsy rpt
    Did Porntip give tip 2 ASH
    Or, did he act in response to LKS’s call: ASH should resign over the country’s worst single-year plunge in the latest Transparency International Corruption Perception Index ranking (Nov 18, 2009)
    Will NR make ASH an ambassador 2 Mongolia

47. #47 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 10:50 pm

“Oh come on onlooker politic,you still don’t get it.” (frankyapp)

frankyapp,
    I believe that there is no such thing as a permanent friend or a permanent foe in politics. If YB Kit doesn’t attempt to change the heart of the newly appointed MACC Chief Commissioner by offering him a continual service contract in MACC when Pakatan Rakyat is able to take over the control of the Federal Government, do you think Abu Kassim will be kind enough to cooperate with YB Kit in order to take on the corrupted Umnoputra BIG FISH?

If YB Kit is to continue to choose taking the position of confrontation with the million counts of public servants even when there is hope for Pakatan Rakyat to take over the Federal Government by the next General Election, do you think Pakatan Rakyat can effectively take over the rule of the Federal Government without being harrassed or hindered by Najib through the organised sabotage within the whole team of Public Services Work Force?

Just take a look at Perak State Government. Pakatan Rakyat cannot even help much to protect the Perak Speaker Sivakumar from being robbed of the Speaker’s robe when it seems that the entire public services work force in Perak, including the High Court Judges, are standing by the side of Umnoputras. With the possible confrontation or protest by the huge public services work force, how do we expect Pakatan Rakyat to be able to effectively taking over the control and rule of the Federal Government when Pakatan Rakyat is able to win the next General Election?

Therefore, it is very important for Pakatan Rakyat to come out on time with some kinds of good offer to the existing top public servants in order to ensure that the whole system function of the Federal Government will not be paralysed and be made dysfunctional by the possible sabotage from the Umnoputras if Pakatan Rakyat is able to win the majority votes in the next General Election.

It may be easy for Pakatan Rakyat to win over the majority of Parliamentary seats by next General Election. However, it may not be so easy for Pakatan Rakyat to be able to uphold the ruling power for too long a period of time if Pakatan Rakyat does not choose to buy over the cooperation from the million counts of public servants. When the public servants choose the incooperation by way of work-to-rule when confronting Pakatan Rakyat, the Malaysian people will stand to lose due to droping in the productivity of the public servants. The people will then turn to put blame on Pakatan Rakyat when it is not able to secure full cooperation from the public servants.

Therefore it is important for Pakatan Rakyat to give offer to some top public servants now in order to win over their support in favour of Pakatan Rakyat. At the time when the public servants start to love Pakatan Rakyat, that will be the end to the first phase history of Barisan Nasional’s rule of Malaysia. That will the watershed mark for the beginning of the Pakatan Rakyat regime in Malaysia. That will also be the best time for Pakatan Rakyat to effectively take over the rule of the Federal Government from Barisan Nasional!

48. #48 by alaneth on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 11:18 pm

“The MACC which started operations this year had been touted as modeled after world-famous Hong Kong’s Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC)”

I never believe it will work in the first place. We are far far far behind HK in terms of discipline. No, we cannot compare Malaysian to Honkies. 56th in Transparency International !

Current Malaysian Leaders (BN) likes to talk BIG but get nothing done. Better join “NATO”.

49. #49 by Godfather on Monday, 7 December 2009 - 12:07 am

Rojakman:
    I’m sure you know what an ecosystem is. In Bolehland, all the key species live in harmony, and equilibrium is achieved. The key species are BN parties, Chief Justice, IGP, Attorney General, MACC commissioner, Elections commissioner. Any of these species try to rock the boat, they will be immediately replaced.

Capisch ?

50. #50 by frankyapp on Monday, 7 December 2009 - 2:54 am

Hi Onlooker Politic, I totally agreed with your first statement and you right too in most of your other comments. Lets us hope YB Lim Kit Siang takes note of our opinions. Do you remember me telling YB Lim and PR in this blog the danger and possiblility of not being able to enter Putra Jaya should they win the 13th GE. I hope PR should realise that winning the GE is one thing and pulling up and holding the people and country together is an other thing. Yep,Onlooker Politic,I really appreciate your sincere comments.

51. #51 by taiking on Monday, 7 December 2009 - 9:25 am

Dear Abu Kasim,

Remember this. Do your job instead of umno’s job.

Do also remember this. You are a civil servant first and last. And not a politician. So distance yourself from politics and politicians.

And finally, never ever forget this. When issues come to a boil and if you, rather unwisely were to associate yourself with politicians for rewards or otherwise, your politician associate will definitely sacrifice you to save himself. You will be the limbs he would cut to save his body!

Good luck and I wish you success.

The country depends on you.

52. #52 by boh-liao on Monday, 7 December 2009 - 9:32 am

Abu Kassim said MACC has to redeem itself
    Easy, b honest abt TBH’s death
    Go n pay respect 2 d victim, just do it

53. #53 by OrangRojak on Monday, 7 December 2009 - 12:51 pm

I’m sure you know what an ecosystem is.
    An ‘ecosystem at equilibrium’ would normally be composed of independent constituents, all enjoying a minimum of costs for the advantages on offer. There is no over-arching force replacing components that ‘rock the boat’. What usually happens during times of rising costs (boat rocking) is that a cost ‘mountain pass’ can eventually be crossed (territories re-drawn, interactions changed, diets modified, that kind of thing) into a new valley of low costs (maybe higher or lower than original), or membership changes – possibly catastrophically.

I don’t know who you imagine is independent in Bolehland. It seems to me that Bolehland is a rather straightforward Imperial arrangement where power is assigned from the layer above, where ‘above’ is normally (for Bolehland) determined by ancient allegiances, not by democracy. That kind of system more easily accommodates your suggestion of ‘immediate replacement’.

54. #54 by rubini on Monday, 7 December 2009 - 6:07 pm

This fellow cannot change anything. So what if he was a career officer. Despite mounting evidence on Khir Toyo before the 24million mansion, nothing was done!

I say throw out the BN government & allow PR to rule. Unless this happens i do not see Malaysia’s corruption level improving.