Vision 2020…not bloody likely!

By Hussein Hamid

Mahathir unveiled the Vision of 2020 plan for Malaysia in 1991. Malaysia was to become an industrialized nation and be considered a high-income economy. Najib refined (that is double speak to mean ‘no can do lah’) that vision: “It is clear that our Vision 2020 objective has to be refined to remain viable,” Najib said. “Being richer alone does not define a developed nation. There are important social and quality-of-life measurements that must be factored in when considering our objectives and successes.” Malaysia needs to “redefine and recalibrate” how and when it will achieve Vision 2020, Najib told reporters after the speech. That doesn’t necessarily mean a change in the timeline, he said.

I would have agreed with him in principal had he not put in the “that does not necessarily mean a change in the timeline” proviso. I am no economist but let us just use common sense to look at realities.

Let us look at the differences between salaries earned, the cost of a vehicle and a house between 1973 and 2009.

YEAR increase
1973 2009
1.3 liter Japanese Car 7,000 60,000 8.5
Double Story House 45,000 300,000 6.6
Engineer Salary 1,000 2,000 2

It is the same story when you compare salaries of shop assistants, office staff, factory workers and a whole range of other workers and professional. I have used these 3 items a house, a car and salary earned as a measurement of the country’s performance for the past 35 years to gauge our standard of living. There is little difference in salary between 1973 and 2009 – and yet our purchasing power is vastly different. While the starting income for a newly graduated Engineer between 1973 to 2009 has only doubled – the cost of a car has increase 8.6 times and that of a house 6.6 times.

Fast forward to today.

Ask the kids working at McDonald how much they were being paid per hour? RM3.00 per hour x 8 hours = RM24 per day. Working 25 days a month means they get RM600 per month.

In Australia my daughter works part-time during her University days at Gloria Jeans Coffee. She is paid Aud$14.00 per hour x 8 hours a day =Aud$112 a day x 25 days = Aud$2,800 per month.
(@ RM2.92 per = One Aud Dollar x Aud$2800 = RM8176 per month).

My daughter earns 13.6 times more that the girl at McDonalds in Malaysia.

Our Government lays claim to the fact that Malaysia will be a developed country 2020? A high income country? Let us look further.

2005 Financial Times Figures

GNP per Capita in US Dollars.

USA US$35,400
United Kingdom US$25,510
Singapore US$20,690
Australia US$19,530
Malaysia US$3,540

The above figures are the 2005 Financial Times figures for GNP per Capita in US Dollars – a measurement of developed country by income measurements.

Malaysia’s GNP per Capita US$3540. Malaysia a developed country by 2020? Not likely. This is a really sad story and a worrying trend is it not?

The Ringgit is sliding further and further under Barisan Nasional. To compound the effect of inflation, the Ringgit has depreciated greatly against ALL major currencies. The real income of most Malaysians has moved backwards. This is why many Malaysians suffer under the petrol hike. The root of the problem is that our real incomes have shrunk in the face of inflation and a depreciated currency. Malaysians have not been spoiled by subsidy but are unable to move out of the time lock of stagnated and depreciated incomes. If you compare the per capita incomes of Singapore, Hong Kong, Taiwan and South Korea they are a few multiples of ours although at independence all these countries were on the same economic level as Malaysia .

What has gone wrong? Were we not once the rising star of East Asia? A country rich in natural resources with the most promising potential?

What happened?

Massive Corruption for one! Plundering of our precious resources, wastage of funds for huge non-economic projects, anti-public interest deals with politically-linked companies and passing-of-the-buck to the man in the street. I repeat – passing of the buck to the man on the streets!

Four decades of a mismanaged NEP where education, economic and employment policies defined by race without the necessary checks and balances ensured that meritocracy took a back seat.

Our university standard has declined and today our best and brightest youths emigrate to escape the racial inequality and instead now contribute to the economies of foreign lands.

The reputation of our judiciary which was once held in high esteem worldwide has sunk so low that foreign investors now insist on arbitration in Singapore in case of any dispute.

We also have a slew of oppressive laws such as the ISA, OSA, University and University Colleges Act and Printing Presses and Publications Act (PPPA) which all stifle free speech and are designed to keep the ruling parties in power.

We have become less attractive to foreign investors and now lag behind our neighbors in Asean for foreign direct investment. Even some corporations who have established themselves here are moving out. All the economic and social malaise cannot help but affect the value of our currency. The strength of a country’s currency is after all, a reflection of its fundamentals. Furthermore, Bank Negara has a policy of a weak Ringgit to help exporters – never mind the burden on the common folk. The government is pro-corporation, not pro-Rakyat.

While the poor and middle-class are squeezed, an elite group gets breathtakingly rich. We have the distinction of having the worse income disparity in Asean. A re-distribution of wealth is under way from the poor and middle-class to a select group of politically-connected elite. The end result of this re-distribution will be a small group of super-rich while the majority are pushed into poverty and the middle-class shrinks. This is what happens when the rich gets richer and the poor get poorer.

There is much that is wrong with Malaysia. The responsibility for pulling the country backwards can be laid squarely at the door of the ruling regime – Barisan Nasional. It is BN’s mis-governance, racial politics and culture of patronage and greed which has seen the country regress economically and socially. We seem to be sliding down a slippery slope, further down with each passing year of BN’s rule. Another five years of BN rule and we’ll be at Indonesia ‘s standard under Suharto. Another 10 years and we’ll be touching the African standard.. What a way to greet 2020. Is there any hope for Malaysia?

Faced with the reality that BN will never change, many Malaysians desperate for change turn their eyes to Pakatan Rakyat.

Pakatan Rakyat has promised to treat all races fairly, to plug wastage, fight corruption, reform the judiciary and make Malaysia more competitive. But some have questioned whether we can trust Anwar Ibrahim and his loose coalition of disparate parties. The question is not whether we can trust the opposition but whether we can afford not to in view of our state of affairs.

1. #1 by drngsc on Thursday, 3 September 2009 - 9:20 am

2020, that is a dream. The reality is that I hope we do not go back to 1970. This government is all talk. Very good for slogan and grandstanding. Not so good for seeing things through, and lets not forget all the corruption. Ya, many are 20 million and 20 million richer. But what are our alternatives? God help us please.

2. #2 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 3 September 2009 - 9:26 am

* Challenge 1: To form a nation that stands as one. – we are a nation divided as seen in the recent incidence.

* Challenge 2: To produce a Malaysian community that has freedom, strength, and full of self confidence. – freedom is limited and self confidence is unattainable due to personal agendas of Malaysians and all Malaysian politicians.

* Challenge 3: To develop a mature democratic community. – BN does not dare to call for elections in Perak

* Challenge 4: To form a community that has high morale, ethics and religious strength. -we are happy to bribe, do not believe in fair play and today many says its okay to be gay or lesbians.

* Challenge 5: To cultivate a community that is matured and tolerant. – Malaysians are not matured and cannot tolerate, unhappy means must incite people to protest, this comes from BN and PR.

* Challenge 6: To form a progressive science community. – cannot happen when we will not embrace English or translate more English books into Malay

* Challenge 7: To cultivate a community rich in values and loving culture. – Malaysians are very ‘uncivilised’ and selfish

* Challenge 8: To ensure the formation of a community with a fair economy. – how does this happen with NEP

* Challenge 9: To cultivate a prosperous community. – hard to do when you have Cow Head Movements

Who can deliver Malaysia? Not BN for sure and I doubt it will be PR at the rate they are going. Hahahahaahahaa …

3. #3 by Mist on Thursday, 3 September 2009 - 10:10 am

Vision 2020 was a dream. The play on 20/20 vision was cleverly orchestrated but like in all careful and clever orchestration reality had a way of inconveniently bursting our bubbles of delusions. So we now have “refined and recalibrate” but the time-line remain the same. The problem with people “stealing” catch-phrases and ideas from others is that they won’t be able to go very deep into it as they had no inkling what it meant nor do they know what was involved. Its value to them like every political pronouncements came from the nice sound bite.

It is quite clear now that vision 20/20 was a delusion and the reality is that we are sliding backwards towards a failed state while other nations in asean is moving way ahead of us.

4. #4 by Free Man on Thursday, 3 September 2009 - 10:26 am

Vision 2020 only for B End project 1973 – 5 million to 10 million and today PKFZ 2007 already reach 500 million to 1 Billion before 2020 and how much they will when time reah 2020. The rakyat suffer and that is NEP for after 52 year MERDEKA.

5. #5 by taiking on Thursday, 3 September 2009 - 10:34 am

No. No. No. Ho. Ho. Ho.

Hussein. Hussein. Look. Look here. Dont. Never. Never ever include a certain island country in your argument.

Dont get me wrong. Your argument is absolutely frank and makes fantastic practical sense but all of that (no matter how cogent and well put) would be lost in the pea-minds of umnoputras because they would immediately zoom in on that little island and ignore everything you said in argument and raise all sorts of issues relating to that island which can be wholly unrelated to your main points. You know. The signs. The signs of a certain mental condition known as “phobia”. “Singaphobia” to be precise. Next time use taiwan or S.korea or hk instead. Ok?

Bottom line, hussein. Umnoputras got it in their heads that our economic pie (although shrinking in relative terms compare to other countries) could somehow bake (and re-bake) itself and therefore the pie would be there for their benefit and enjoyment always. So have no fear. Like Johnny English, they know no fear, they know no danger for they know nothing. You see hussein. Its “No worries, Mate”. Really.

You are bloody right. I have given up hope on them a long2 time ago. That is why I am a dap supporter.

6. #6 by KennyGan on Thursday, 3 September 2009 - 11:05 am

Malaysia is stuck in an economic rut of low income and stagnated economic level. We cannot move to the next level of high income, knowledge based economy unless there is a structural change.

The next level requires full meritocracy in all fields including education, employment and economic opportunities. No more racial quotas. Affirmative action should be need based and not race based. The NEP must be replaced.

The next level also requires a govt which respects democratic rights, stop abusing public institution and provide good and accountable governance.

Pakatan Rakyat has a better chance of providing a more democratic, less corrupt and more accountable govt than BN. But to replace the NEP with a needs based model requires a leader with considerable political skills. The only politician capable of doing this is Anwar while Umno politicians huddle in their comfort zone of Malay nationalism.

In short, to move to the next level requires a political change. Nothing less. Another 50 years of BN rule will see Malaysia fall further and further behind its neighbours. We may one day be the chief supplier of maids and unskilled labourers to our neighbours while in terms of democratic rights, we’ll mirror Zimbabwe. This is my prognosis of another 50 years of BN rule.

7. #7 by ktteokt on Thursday, 3 September 2009 - 12:51 pm

Like I have said before, the day Mahathir announced Vision 2020, he must have been slapped by the ghost from behind his head! Today, we can see for ourselves that this stupid slogan which kept the “low mentality” group dreaming that Malaysia will become an advanced nation by 2020 is utter rubbish! It was but a mirage and a dream!

8. #8 by yhsiew on Thursday, 3 September 2009 - 1:13 pm

How many times had our Ringgit (be it RM10, RM50 or RM100 notes) undergone changes in appearance? Those of you who study finance or economics will know that each change of the Ringgit’s appearance represents a lowering of the Ringgit’s monetary back-up deposited at the World Bank. In other words, each change in appearance of the Ringgit represents a depreciation of the currency.

How many times had the Singapore dollar changed its appearance?

9. #9 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 3 September 2009 - 1:13 pm

///Like I have said before, the day Mahathir announced Vision 2020, he must have been slapped by the ghost from behind his head!/// – ktteokt on September 3rd, 2009 12:51 .

There was no ghost. He was not slapped by one. Otherwise he would have slapped back!

I surmised that he got the idea when he visited his regular optometrist – also called ophthalmic optician -to carry out eye tests, to check the quality of his sight, whether there was onset of glaucoma or cataract.

That was when he was reminded about what a perfect vision was – 20/20!

So he was seized by a brain wave – why not the country too have this “perfect” vision – 20/20?

After all it is a perfect vision. And realistically not all whether persons or country will have a perfect vision, so if by year 2020 the national objectives are not anywhere near achieved, there’s an excuse – a vision by definition is an aspiration to perfection, there’s no need to get worked up if the perfect ideal is not achieved!

It is as simple and casual as that how the national mantra of Vision 20/20 was born.

10. #10 by illuminati on Thursday, 3 September 2009 - 2:10 pm

Malaysians have reached a point where they cannot afford NOT to change the government. Do the majority understands the implication of Malaysia’s slip, sliding away tendency under a government that has brought this upon us?

Every step of the way into the future is fraught with danger that we will definitely go downhill.

Thanks to Umno, Malaysia is sinking into the quicksand of racial prejudice, greed, abuse of law and other badly-cooked food.

To vote for the same is to prolong the suffering. Choose the lesser of two evils if that is the choice for the people.

People tend to have fear of the unknown. So they tend to stay put. A wife gets beaten by the husband often but keeps it to herself and suffer on. Is that what the people want?

11. #11 by monsterballssgoh on Thursday, 3 September 2009 - 5:59 pm

No visions can be achieved under UMNO.
    No need to keep on explaining why.
    Mahathir started to fool Malaysians…especially the Malays and on going…no turning back….too deep in corruptions..like drug addicts….hiding their faults….keep acting…denying all.

12. #12 by taiking on Thursday, 3 September 2009 - 6:54 pm

Slogans. Slogans. And more slogans. Now – tata daara – that is umno for you people.

2020 was supposed to be driven by our own heavy industry (i.e. hicom – failed), steel industry (i.e. perwaja – failed), car industry (i.e. proton – on life support), information technology (i.e. multimedia supercorridor – now a superflop).

And didnt the son of kutty also say that malaysia should achieve a population size of 70m by 2020?

Mad. Madness, man. Pure madness.

13. #13 by monsterballssgoh on Thursday, 3 September 2009 - 7:06 pm

Smart Tunnel…first in the world….now most stupid.
    UMNO Malays doing world businesses….with crooks as CEO and workers are chosen based on ..more stupid the better…just toe the line and vote for UMNO.
    Don’t make me laugh.
    Vision2020 was Mahathir’s idea…to led all Malaysians..out of focus..out of thinking straight..and Malaysians to dream fool’s dream by starring at the Twin Towers.
    It is the highest con job..all are happy..he made billions..for party…for his son.. and chosen friends…making sure not one sen is in his pocket….therefore …he is 101% clean.

14. #14 by katdog on Thursday, 3 September 2009 - 7:14 pm

Mahathir says the reason why Vision2020 will not be achieved is because of political instability. What a joker!

15. #15 by monsterballssgoh on Thursday, 3 September 2009 - 7:17 pm

Crooks do not need to carry alot of money in wallet. Sometimes…take out wallet…make sure everyone see that… and show few hundred RM in wallet……like normal wage earners and donate RM100…to charity. Do not overdo it and brag..like Mat bin Mat.
    Outwardly…so simple..so humble.
    Behind close doors…live like a King.
    And when traveling overseas…given a secret code number.. by cash trustee…memorize the code numbers..or words…….phone up the bank CEO…say the code word….and a bag full of money in whatever currencies he wants..delivered to the destination he chooses.
    You think all Malaysians are fools ah?

16. #16 by monsterballssgoh on Thursday, 3 September 2009 - 7:27 pm

Najib not interested in money. He has enough.
    He wants dot dot dot….but so busy….so stressful…cannot do now….but aiming at young young ones….like Gandhi…Kennedy…Castro….Mao.
    But those are great legendary leaders..enjoy…yet produced results..for all citzens
    Ours are copycat low class no brain .hypocritical racialist crooks…..very greedy..never ever enough…on and on .suck us high and dry.
    Najib..wants sweet young things….most important.
    “1 Malaysia” is attracting school children tiny tots and young ones.

17. #17 by Justitia on Thursday, 3 September 2009 - 7:27 pm

Well, let’s take a look at the data from another perspective with respect to Purchasing Power Parity of the GDP an arguably preferred measure used by economist to compare living standards. According to the CIA based on 2008 est. Malaysia is ranked 31. South Korea is ranked 15, Indonesia 16, Australia 19, Taiwan 20, and Thailand 25. However, we are ahead of Singapore which is ranked 46 and Zimbabwe 182.

https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/rankorder/2001rank.html?countryName=Malaysia&countryCode=my&regionCode=eas&rank=31#my

As this measure takes into account inflation, it would be interesting to see how we perform on this list over time. Given our trajectory, I am not too optimistic as we have been passed by countries such as Eygpt ranked 28 and it won’t be long before Nigeria 35 passed Malaysia.

18. #18 by katdog on Thursday, 3 September 2009 - 7:35 pm

Our wonderfully useless leaders today are still in denial about everything.

These BN leaders say that we can still achieve developed nation status by 2020 as long as we maintain an average annual growth of 8% from next year onwards up to the year 2020. Can you believe these fools?

Yeah, these are the same fools that predicted that Malaysia would enjoy growth of 3 to 4% this year. When everyone else with half a brain was already predicting a contraction of 1%-5%. The numbers that the government spews out are just incredulous, sometimes you wonder if monkeys could do a better job?

This UMNOputras have absolutely no clue how to run the country. All they are interested in is the next ‘development’ project they can get their hands on.

19. #19 by katdog on Thursday, 3 September 2009 - 7:40 pm

And while i am on the subject of ‘development’ projects, here’s one of the many hare brained scams those UMNOputras are thinking of to ‘develop’ this country:

A bridge from Melaka to Indonesia proposed by Ali Rustam.

I bet Khir Toyo will love that one.

20. #20 by johnnypok on Thursday, 3 September 2009 - 8:09 pm

2020 = A handicapped society “Malas-Sia”

21. #21 by rahmanwang on Thursday, 3 September 2009 - 9:21 pm

I think the cost of constructing a kilometer of highway in 1973 was RM 1 million but now the tender was RM100 million.
    That is a 100 fold increase.Why?Corrupt government.

22. #22 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 3 September 2009 - 10:36 pm

These statistics given by Hussein Hamid do not lie. Malaysians must thank Tun M (for which work he earned his Tunship) for his glorious contribution to Malaysia’s economic decadence. Once again (all arise), thank you Tun. You will be eternally remembered for all the tremendous good you have done for the nation! May Allah bless your soul and ‘reward’ you amply. We all believe in the hereafter and the just recompense for our earthly labours too – for better or for worse. I hope you read this and reflect on it long after the sun sets and the shadows lengthen and the worms come out to play.

23. #23 by rexis on Thursday, 3 September 2009 - 11:51 pm

A very straight forward figure there!

This society has becoming more and more unsustainable. The insanely high cost of living simply not getting us anywhere.

Most of the vacancy available in KL require one to own a transport, but yet the employers are unwilling to pay a reasonable sum of salary plus allowance.

Take an example for the vacancy form one of our broadband customer service call centre. Their office is in one of the commercial centre and the work carry on to wee hours, which means public transport is not an option, people need to have a vehicle to travel.

With all the:
    tolls: RM1.00 x 2 trip x 20 days = RM40
    fuel: 20km x 2 trip x 0.20 per km x 20 days = RM160
    parking: RM5 one day x 20 days = RM100
    car loan: RM350 for 7 years loan of proton saga = RM350
    car maintenance: RM50 oil change only = RM50

TOTAL of transportation expenses is already ** RM700 **

You need to eat: RM10 per day x 30 = RM300
    You need a place to sleep: RM250
    You need some groceries: RM50
    How about utilities: RM40

TOTAL cost to keep you alive is ** RM640 **

Your broadband line: RM90 combo = RM90
    You buy newspaper only at weekend = RM6
    You buy 1 magazine per month = RM10.00

TOTAL information cost is ** RM106 **

You are paying PTPTN: RM150
    You are paying a medical insurance: RM150

TOTAL another : ** RM300 **

GRAND TOTAL is RM1746, no disposable expenses, no entertainment, no occasional McValue, no social life, no weekend trip, your car have tyres that last forever, you go work naked because you are not buying anything to dress up yourself, you are lucky enough just to need to go thru 1 RM1 toll, and you cross your fingers that there is no toll and fuel price hike(fuel price just hike btw)!

And don’t dream about investment, properties, any retirement plan, getting married or even afford a girl/boy friend.

And they only offer RM1700(for degree holder) + a whopping RM50 of transportation allowance. From here we can see that you left RM4 to cover all the items left out.

Despite this GLC company reporting record breaking profit increase years after years, they are exploiting our degree holders and use them as cheap labour.

We are not getting anywhere near 2020.

24. #24 by rexis on Thursday, 3 September 2009 - 11:53 pm

Btw, I left out EPF and SOCSO!

25. #25 by GilaPolitic on Friday, 4 September 2009 - 12:59 am

Dear Uncle KS Lim,

Assalamu’alaikum.

Yes, the Petronas advertisement about “Tan Hon Ming” love story with a Malay girl created by the late Puan Yasmin Ahmad looks and sound like me and your good article on PenyuMenagis.

Unfortunately, today our Master BN warlords and bad politicians keep playing the racist sandiwara politics and also incite hatred among Malaysians for their own political gains. If the BN goons have similar brains like Uncle Lim KS, Tun Dr M and late Yasmin Ahmad, then Malaysians are more prosperous, harmony and peaceful nation with strong stable political environment now.

Let looks at the goodness of NEP policies have created a small minority of elite super rich Malays and non-Malays tycoons, cronies and politicians as well as NEP policies have destroyed the majority of poor income Malaysians in Malaysia today.

To proof my noble statement above to you on my true confession here. Please read my declaration in good faith below:-

I am a Kedahan, Bumiputra Malay and my dad was a good Malay policeman and my mum was a noble Chinese doctor. They got married out of pure love and “tak kira pangkat, agama and kaum”.

Now I was a retired qualified Senior Civil Engineer worked past 30 years in JKR and so called a fixed income civil servant. In 1973, I started worked as a Civil Engineer with a basic salary of RM1,000. With such a comfortable salary, I can buy a 1.3 ltr Nissan car at RM7,000 and a double storey house at RM45,000 in Bangsar, KL. My chinese wife was a fulltime doctor serving Malay communities in her clinic and she took care of my 5 children education and welfare until they graduated in many foreign universities under my borrowed study loans and overseas scholarships from my smart kids.

I saw a lot of elite rich Malays, UMNO politicians and connected Malay cronies in civil services benefited from NEP policies by many unethical manners like corruptions, greeds, lazy working, too much office politics, abused power, injustice toward other races and depend on tongkat ali contracts, etc. I have no regret for non-joining UMNO cronies to become super greedy rich because I’m richer in my morality and blessed by Allah s.w.t for his Almighty Islamic teachings. My wife was forced to convert Islam because she married a Islam husband but I silently let her to pray for her own faith in her own heart for past many years. Yet we can live happily because our family members are well protected by Allah and her faith god.

Today, my eldest son is a qualified Engineer from Oxford University and he gained full scholarship based on his good A level result without any financial assistance from JPA or BN connection. Unfortunately, he cried foul because he started with a basic salary of RM2,000 as a Trainee Engineer and he cannot even afford to buy a 1.3 liter Nissan car valued RM80,000 and he dares not dream of buying a double storey house of min RM300,000 above in KL.

My children cried out loud to me about NEP policies and other Malay quotas really cannot help the middle income and poor Malays but the policies caused severe inflation and depreciation RM currency. I am loosing my other 4 children who decided to work and stayed in foreign countries like UK, Australia, China and NZ because of higher income, good education system, better cost of living, no racial tension, religion freedom, no corruption, no abuse power, CAT govt system and their respected world PMs.

DAP Taiko Lim, please tell me what is wrong with Malaysia today after 52 years Merdeka, Malaysians are moving backward when other poorer countries like China and India are moving forward to achieve develop nations. Can tainted new PM, Najib can lead to move forward with 1Malaysia mind when his UMNO warlords prefer to move backward to reject your Vision 2020 ?

Please explain to all Malaysians in your next SOUND BITES.

Ribuan Terima-Kasih.
    Selamat Berpuasa, Semoga ALLAH bless you forever.

Sekian,
    Snr Ir. Abd Rahman Mohammad &
    Dr Suzie Wong Abdullah

26. #26 by king cobra on Friday, 4 September 2009 - 2:47 am

well said rexis , tats y many malaysians left for overseas in search of better paying jobs where the foreign currency is higher than our pathetic ringgit RM5 can only get 1 Euro……..singapore$1=RM2.40
    Aussie$1 =RM2.90 USD1= RM3.50

27. #27 by monsterballssgoh on Friday, 4 September 2009 - 5:39 am

When UMNO chose Ringgit to let it be free ….float against all currencies..it was planned to be stronger…with exports growing like nobody business…exactly like what China is today.
    Malaysians need not know economic to understand what is the final results…as Ringgit is getting to be like Indonesia Rupiahs…..not important.
    Cost of living keep going up and up is clear signs…imported goods are getting dearer and dearer and cost of living getting higher and higher …with government keep increasing oil prices…electric bills…to generate more income…for billions were stolen…need to cover up..while wage earners are unable to get better salaries…because the many thousand small and middle class companies simply do not make enough money to give them more.
    Infact most are struggling to survive.
    It is a non stop struggling affairs..because corruptions is so great..making local products non competative to export.
    Wait for UMNO to advise all Malaysians to buy only local products…do not use cars.go by buses .local transport provided by the government..do not travel an enjoy….same old stories…while all of them live like Royalties.
    Then retail shops die…and out come another advise…spend spend spend …to generate turnovers.
    UMNO buggers are great money talkers.
    Diam is a classic example.
    That is why we are robbed and heated by them….so easily with no fear…because a team of layers are advising them too….not on country matters…but how not to get caught….cheating.
    These lawyers are filthy rich too..putting low profile lifestyles.
    UMNO is most evil.

28. #28 by monsterballssgoh on Friday, 4 September 2009 - 6:37 am

Big businesses must grow…so middle and small are needed by them.
    Go check out the list of all big business owned by government.
    All fail…billions upon billions lost.
    UMNO Malays good only to export fruits and nuts.
    Cars….steel…manufactured goods…keep dreaming.
    Even newspapers…all fail.

29. #29 by monsterballssgoh on Friday, 4 September 2009 - 6:45 am

MAS bailed out over and over again.
    Compare to Singapore Airline…MAS is small fry.
    So many International manufactures ran away…not because of high labour…but mainly due to UMNO interferences..wanting those guys sell to UMNO trading companies to market them…to bring the prices higher up to consumers. No need third party..to sell…UMNO made it a rule….making UMNO guys rich…public buy higher prices. UMNO do not care for Malaysians.
    Most glaring are medical products.,all ran away..refusing to play UMNO dirty politics,..hurting the pockets of poor people..needing medicine.
    UMNO learn all the dirty tricks from USA and apply.

30. #30 by trublumsian on Friday, 4 September 2009 - 9:19 am

vision 2020 will not be a problem for bn. haven’t they make it obvious all they have to do is reset the digits and sell it to the kampungs and fields. piece of cake. works every time. i mean malaysian football has made that into an art. the year to make it to the worldcup is a variable. what najib is really saying is that malaysia is right on track to achieve vision 20. farsight will say even the 20 should be a variable, just in case.

31. #31 by trublumsian on Friday, 4 September 2009 - 9:20 am

20xx

32. #32 by AhPek on Friday, 4 September 2009 - 10:07 am

Hussein Hamid is only exhibiting his modesty
    in pronouncing that vision 2020 is bloody unlikely when in fact it cannot be.The only thing this bloody mamak envisioned at the time his brain wave came up with this vision 2020 is how many Malays can he make into multi-millionaires!!

33. #33 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 4 September 2009 - 10:38 am

rexis, you are very fortunate indeed!!! In order to survive in Malaysia, you must listen to BN govt’s 2020 survival guides!!!

1. Stay with parents so that you can save enough to get married after 40 years old or not to get married (bujang senang)!!! Share room with other siblings regardless of gender (triple decker if need to) or become the master of the living room!!!
    2. Dont earn more than RM2500 so that you dont have to pay tax!!!
    3. Eat real nasi lemak (nasi, ikan bilis and sambal) for three meals, or go for real puasa for whole day with only a meal a day (not eating kaw kaw in the early morning and buffet at night type!!!)
    4. No alcohol or tobacco or meat or teh tarik – good for your health and save money
    5. Walk to work is good for your health (too bad if you encountered snatch theft or mugger)
    6. No news is good news, just listen to BN free channels
    7. Dont need to buy insurance, BN govt is the insurance, any losses in business will be reimbursed by BN govt as life long learning tuition fees to learn how to run business successfully!!!

So you only need to spend few hundreds a month and you save lots of money to buy AS1Malaysia!!!

34. #34 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 4 September 2009 - 10:50 am

One more BN guide, you dont need to pay PTPTN even though MOE says so!!! You just need to join any BN component parties as member!!! Member has the previlege!!!

35. #35 by boh-liao on Friday, 4 September 2009 - 12:49 pm

Correct, correct, correct, rexis
    That’s Y corruption is part n parcel of the BN culture
    Anti corruption is really Nanti corruption
    Otherwise, macam boleh hidup
    Otherwise, the only way to survive is to ask for ISA for personal protection
    Gomen bagi makan n rent-free stay
    Otherwise, offer yourself as a sodomy victim (can be arranged), alleged or not, good reward
    A best seller would be “50 Ways to Survive Till 2020”

36. #36 by izrafeil on Friday, 4 September 2009 - 12:49 pm

just a bit of observation. You said Mc Donald pays RM3/hr, while Gloria Jeans in OZ pays AUD14/hr. Ok heres my take:

1) a cup of coffee sell for the same price in OZ and in M’sia (give or take a few change, after conversion), frequent travellers can vouch for this.

2) Now since G/Jeans is a franchise, the cost of raw material to OZ and to M’sia should be the same (same source ma).

3) The fact is we are paid RM3/hr compared to AUD14/hr when all else is equal means we been ripped off good. I.e. Owner of G/Jeans KL cant stop laughing out loud.

37. #37 by ktteokt on Friday, 4 September 2009 - 7:42 pm

Vision 2020? I suggest TDM go to the optometrist and have his eyes checked thoroughly! He cannot differentiate a mirage from REALITY!

38. #38 by klaikw on Saturday, 5 September 2009 - 4:39 am

That is why I works oversea as my minimum paid slip is USD3000 per month with good welfare. But the same job if I work in KL , I was offered RM3000 per month with zero welfare . By the year 2020, I have no eye see.

39. #39 by MGR1940 on Sunday, 6 September 2009 - 8:14 am

Vision 2020? My balls! Itook a bet on the day it was announced that even 2120 cannot be acheved with this umno malays arround. Can only be come true when PR takes over.

40. #40 by ktteokt on Sunday, 6 September 2009 - 5:43 pm

Suddenly, today I had a vision too! WAWASAN 3030! Who the hell will live that long to see it????