What a 52nd National Day!

From http://twitter.com/limkitsiang

What a National Day on Monday! Najib’s 1Malaysia gets drubbing in Permatang Pasir. MCA sacks ChuaSoiLek. SamyVellu in MIC. H1N1 – 71 deaths

27th August 2009 07:37 AM

1. #1 by k1980 on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 7:52 am

Just a reminder to PR. Do not ever accept this ex-“BN coordinator for PR-ruled states” into your coalition. All the ladies, old and young, in PR will scream and run away as soon as they spot him approaching and you know why.

2. #2 by All For The Road on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 8:14 am

Yes, what a way to celebrate our 52nd National Day with such ‘juicy’ and expected happenings in the run-up to it!

Looks like BN is in turmoil with its component parties really in tatters and disarray. The loss in Permatang Pasir for UMNO, PPP upside-down, MIC in-fighting, Ong Tee Keat vs Tiong King Sing, Gerakan no direction and purpose, and now MCA No. 2 sacked for obvious reasons are all but a tip of the iceberg for more ‘black’ happenings to emerge.

A ‘HAPPY MALAYSIA DAY’ to one and all!

3. #3 by the reds on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 8:40 am

Disaster…..1Collapse Malaysia!

4. #4 by Voter on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 9:34 am

PR must pressure the MACC and government.
    should not release of biting them.
    if not, another victim like TBH

5. #5 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 9:40 am

Mr LKS … this is a pathetic comment. Its full of arrogance and nothing else. Its our National Day. What is wrong to even write a hard hitting article that ponders about our future. Perhaps an article for the future of our kids? Condemn all you want but let it be constructive.

This is LKS, always able to only hammer and insult etc. There is no balance between exposing and insulting with articles that edifies the readers.

Watch and see … PR will not be able to progress with such mentality … arrogance is the downfall of BN, its what made BN the way they are today.

What a 52dn National Day? Let’s see:

i. LKS gutless to pass any remark against Zul Nordin who supports PKR ‘defector’ in Lunas;
    ii. LKS gutless to make any remark over baseless accusations involving Jawi rep;
    iii. LKS gutless to comment on TBH inquiry that raises many issues over potential corruption;
    iv. LKS gutless to comment about DSAI’s incompetency in selection of candidates (this is something I have said ever since I came here and everyone says DSAI is a brilliant man, if PM made that comment LKS would have screamed INCOMPETENCY);
    v. LKS gutless to make a stand over PAS Youth’s protest against MLTR;
    vi. LKS gutless to make a stand over the encroachment of non muslim rights in Selangor as proposed by certain members of PAS;
    vii. LKS gutless in condeming DSAI’s attempt to have BN MPs crossover (at least Karpal Singh spoke up against it)

Mr LKS … before you start to gloat and all, what about clearing your own backyard? BN is full of trouble, yes its corrupted to the core and beyond but do you believe in doing what is fair?

6. #6 by boh-liao on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 9:43 am

So what, so what
    The fact remains that the BN still firmly control the Parliament and the Federal Government
    And still give hell to PR states and their elected politicians
    And still firmly control Sarawak and Sabah
    BN will still be around come 53rd and 54th Merdeka

7. #7 by Bobster on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 9:59 am

1Najib empty slogan surely make a lot of noise during this 52 yr anniversary. As they say, empty cans make a lot of noise.

Woke up in the morning and heard World war III in Malaysia Chicken Association.

My response:-

1. Ong Tee Kiat should also stepped down soon for being ‘par tau’. He thinks this is communist party nobody can challenge him all have to listen and give him support.

2. He should be investigated for $10M scandal claim and took responsible if it is true.

3. Chuah Soi Lek has paid the high price for his mistakes by quitting all his posts and re-elected back yr later thru democratic process. So he has taken responsible for his mistakes and shall not be sacked now. Some procedures seriously wrong in MCA.

4. Think CSL among few good men left in MCA based on his performance during his Health Minister days. Again, definition of good is considering ‘teruk’ ones around him or another word less ‘teruk’. Who bought up pig growth hormone issue? Banned certain chinese medicine? Visiting hospitals and increase doctors allowances ,,,, . No respect to his predecessors.

6. CSL among very few MCA leaders left who dare to speak up. Think Gerakan should be buried by chinese once and for all if Toh Tsu Koon contibue to be the head. Zero respect for this coconut tree. His predecessor Lim Keng Yik though his foul mouth at least still earned some respect for helping our kampung once.

8. #8 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 10:04 am

Don’t forget the restrictions about drinking, displaying and serving that brew in the “progressive and developed” state in places where “everybody knows your name”. Even Rais Yatim’s crew is joining the restrictions bandwagon for the Black Eyed Peas’ performance next month at Sunway.

International celebrities and entertainers are now thinking twice about coming to this “progressive” country because our authorities have become increasingly restrictive with conditions now being put in place which affects everyone.

Is there anything much for us to celebrate at this point in time?

9. #9 by k1980 on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 10:04 am

Looks like lots of sacked mca suckers will be joining PR soon

KUALA LUMPUR (Aug 26, 2009) : MCA secretary-general Datuk Wong Foon Meng says the 16 Perak central delegates and several members who have openly called for the suspension of party chief Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat will be referred to the disciplinary board.

A disciplinary board source said it will not entertain the request made by the central delegates and members as they have not followed the proper procedures.

10. #10 by OrangRojak on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 10:14 am

BBC is helping Malaysia celebrate Merdeka with 2 articles in its Asia Pacific section today:

Caning – http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/8220369.stm

Another iconic animal to be extinct – http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/science/nature/8221132.stm

Happy Independence everyone!

Perhaps it’s time for a Parti Cari Makan? Seems like there are going to be a lot of ‘fairweather friends’ soon.

11. #11 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 10:17 am

boh-liao :
    So what, so what
    The fact remains that the BN still firmly control the Parliament and the Federal Government
    And still give hell to PR states and their elected politicians
    And still firmly control Sarawak and Sabah
    BN will still be around come 53rd and 54th Merdeka

That is reality, PM will not lose GE13, in fact PR will lose seats for sure. Many who are anti-BN already see this potentially happening if PR does not really buck up.

As for rumours that DPM is trying to move in on the PM, that is the biggest joke. That will never happen. UMNO culture has never allowed such challenges during the PM’s 1st term. The reality is that PM has given DPM a free reign on certain things, its called ‘Power Sharing’. Keeps everyone happy … and rich.

Perhaps PR and PM should really speak … what was said to have happened between PM and DSAI if it did happen would be good for the nation. Is that not what LKS been asking? Leave PR alone, work fairly with PR …

But then DSAI says it never took place. From what PR insiders tell me it did take place. Now, its about denial because one blames the other for denying it took place. Sad … very sad day.’

National healing needs to take place … 1Malaysia should be achieved and not merely lip service.

12. #12 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 10:18 am

sheriff singh :
    Is there anything much for us to celebrate at this point in time?

We celebrate for a better future … we make it happen. It starts with each one of us, we stop being selfish and more considerate. Then we make our political reps understand that too.

13. #13 by k1980 on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 10:20 am

sheriff singh, you can always invite Afghan belly-dancers (clad head to toe in burqas, of course) to come over and perform in bolehland. For all you know, one of the performers might be Hamid Karzai and you won’t know the difference

14. #14 by vsp on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 10:40 am

“Mr LKS … this is a pathetic comment. Its full of arrogance and nothing else.” – speakup

———-

Now, now we are hearing the same old tired record repeating the same laments about LKS. What pathetic comment? What LKS says in this thread is the truth, you hear speakup?

15. #15 by mendela on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 10:48 am

Just side track a little, Japan is in the middle of a heated GE campaign now. 3 more days to go.

Pls go watch news in Japan national TV station yourself, the NHK, channel 963 in Astro.

The NHK reporting in election news cannot be any fairer! It is always working hard to create a good balance in reporting between ruling and opposition parties. It always stays neutral and fair.

Evening NHK news is at 7 pm and 9 pm Malaysia time.

Malaysian mass media sucks!

16. #16 by chrisyong on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 10:49 am

If not for LKS shouting and yelling, al the mother of scandals will not be in the opened! He has a special gift, dont you “speak up” and “bo liao” try to criticise. You can’t even be a speck of his contribution!

17. #17 by Bobster on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 11:38 am

Chris Yong,

You hit the bull’s eye. Nothing more to add.

As usually, they will try to throw sand to divert attention from major scandals. Typical M’sia ruling politicians.

Arak issue becoming international news but not PFKZ. Joke of the yr in 52th Merdeka celebration.

18. #18 by Leong Yook Kong on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 11:52 am

I will be wearing black on 31 August 2009 to remember the 52nd National Day as the darkest hour in my life of 63 years to the events that had happened:-
    1. the explosive exposure of RM12.5 billion PKFZ “mother of all scandals”,
    2. to ensure that TBH would not die in vain and JUSTICE FOR TBH,
    3. putting up “controversial” candidate in an election,
    4. RM1 million is nothing to Yan Yan but RM112.00 looks very serious,
    5. the collapse of the PR state government of Perak,
    6. nothing happened to my RM24 million hut,
    7. you name it and you will get it.

19. #19 by i_love_malaysia on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 11:58 am

I will enjoy a good day on next Monday not because it is a National Day but because every day is a good day for the Creator had said so!!! Give thanks for He is good!!! Keep praying for Malaysia!!! All the good & righteous will prevail over evils and dark forces!!! Help the poor and needy!!! It is more blessed to give than to receive!!!

20. #20 by jbozz on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 12:06 pm

Return to Speakup? what is the definition of gutless? and gutsy? If not of PKR, do you PKFZ will surface? gutsy is not to make noise on everything it is make noise at the right things. Your suggestion might be true but is not correct and right. If YB LKS do everything as you’ve pin point, then the entire PKR will collapsed, he will be busy fighting internally.

i. LKS gutless to pass any remark against Zul Nordin who supports PKR ‘defector’ in Lunas;
    How much BN spend rakyat money?

ii. LKS gutless to make any remark over baseless accusations involving Jawi rep;
    How much BN spend rakyat money?

iii. LKS gutless to comment on TBH inquiry that raises many issues over potential corruption;
    How much corruption 1 million compare to Toyol? 1 billion compare to PKFZ,
    1K, 500K is call corruption 1 million or 1 billion is NOT call corruption?

iv. LKS gutless to comment about DSAI’s incompetency in selection of candidates (this is something I have said ever since I came here and everyone says DSAI is a brilliant man, if PM made that comment LKS would have screamed INCOMPETENCY);
    How to compete when BN have the money to buy MP? BN has access to rakyat money thru budget, project to compete! PKR got few K or 100K just enough to hire lawyer to defend BN lawsuit.

v. LKS gutless to make a stand over PAS Youth’s protest against MLTR;
    PAS youth is a problem cause already bought over by BN, remember Nik Aziz asked them to quit PAS, PAS belong to Nik Aziz the rest are money face. No need to remind this is BN dirty job collaboration with PAS youth, look at the Najis smiley face everytime he speak PAS having good conversation offcourse, using rakyat money is free.

vi. LKS gutless to make a stand over the encroachment of non muslim rights in Selangor as proposed by certain members of PAS;
    Did UMNO make any stand on MCA, MIC, or any other? Did you go to your neighbor house and lecture the childrens how they have to behave?

vii. LKS gutless in condeming DSAI’s attempt to have BN MPs crossover (at least Karpal Singh spoke up against it)
    What is wrong? if this is working and currently used by BN in Perak. Looks like it they plan to use it more. This is a good tactic, so that people will start a revolution.

21. #21 by jbozz on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 12:11 pm

This also proven YB LKS is not fighting for his party but serve to fight for the rakyat. The rakyat wanted to know what happen? Whether is white cat or black cat, the cat that can catch mice is a good cat.

Seriously if a candidate become free, that is his or her own choice, there is nothing a leader can stop this is to show PKR do not practice money politic.

Let them all change, it is a good chance to see who is bad eggs among the good.

22. #22 by BoycottLocalPapers on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 12:12 pm

Who is ChuaSOILek?

I thought his name was ChuaSoilEK.

23. #23 by jbozz on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 12:17 pm

After 52 years

Malaysia has yet to reach developed country status
    We buy more expensive car
    The inflation rate is killing the middle and poor income.
    Rising in crime make most of us feel unsecure
    There isn’t any bonus for the civil servants for the Raya, they claimed the economy is bad but anyone asked how much Petronas gain during the period where petrol per barrel is high.
    EPF is might declare lower dividend, blame on economy downturn, which is silly.
    There are many budget around 3 this year since the new PM took over, where are the money goes to, and what is our benchmark against other countries?
    The political leader are still discussing about bumi and non bumi.
    MACC enjoyed OT to investigate on 1K and below 500K case and those cases involved more than 1 million or 1 billion are postponed.
    Mortality Rate in police custody has increased.

24. #24 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 1:30 pm

Kit is anything but “gutless”. If he appears so, its because he’s addressing issues of real politik!

Which Malaysian, since the 1970s, has singularly, in the best tradition of British Parliamentary Democracy, fearlessly spoken in voice stentorian against the Powers-That-Be against the inequities of NEP, exposing the mass Melaka hospital deaths in 1973 or mass infants deaths in 1974, the million dollar payouts ranging from purchase of Northtrop F-5 jet fighter in 1973, Royal Malaysian Navy’s purchase of 4 Swedish Spica-M fast strike crafts to present day French Scorpene submarines, the Bank Bumiputra finance Bhd and PKFZ scandal? And paid the price of 35 months incaceration in April 1978 for breach of Official Secrets Act, detained in 1969 and 1979 under ISA and suffered his son to be incarcerated in 1998 for defending an underaged Malay girl victim of statutory rape? In fact I think Malaysians owe him a debt that we cannot ever repay foir the struggle for Malaysian Democarcy against all odds all these decades.
    It is not a slavish apology in defence of the blog owner – but the record is there, if one chooses to remember, which calls in question how such a man can be described gutless! Can we name someone braver? I hope its not nonchalance or ingratitude with us here to affirm on eve of 52nd National Day what Shakespeare said that: “The evil that men do lives after them / The good is oft interred with their bones. …”

To be sure, even he must have been genuinely surprised by the 308 political tsunami that cut a wide swath through the heart of the notion of BN’s infallibility when its deprived off its customary 2/3 parliamentary majority and 5 states last year!

So this year sees the Opposition trying to keep the conditions for such a phenomenon alive, hoping it will displace all occupants of seats of power ensconced for over last 50 years, whilst the occupants are busy trying to rebuild the roofs, re-plant the trees, remove the sendiments and trying generally to mitigate the conditions by which such a wave is created.

In the process he tries to manage the real politik of the equation. If he were “gutless” as charged, it is only because he’s trying to keep the fragile coalition PR viable even in the face of the greatest odds posed by PAS and its hardline supporters adament in pursuing their theocratic objectives from vantage point of being ideologically and organizationally the strongest of the three partners.

This year then sees how – when the tsunami tore off the roofs, uprooted the trees, clogged the drainage with sediments of the BN’s political landscape – in the process of reconstruction around the bare (institutional) structures still standing, they are still very much in BN’s mould and under its control! It also lays bare the internal schisms afflicting the PR.

So invariably the imperatives of real politik have made Kit, whilst still vociferous against the excesses and abuses of the ruling coalition, as he has always been for last 40 years, inconsistently quiet and mute when his own coalition partners act in manner flagrantly in contravention of the principles and tenets that he has been fighting for in the same last 40 years.

It is a place between the rock and a hard place. By imperatives of real politik, reference is directed at the fact that the Opposition coalition is so near to changing the entire political landscape and yet not near enough as it is fraught with internal problems, both ideological as well as practical. The other side is probing these fissures, combining blandishment of positions and money buttressed by pressure of institutional support. It must weigh quite heavily on the DAP Supremo at what point the dictates of real politik will still hold or are to give way to doctrines and beliefs hard fought for in last 40 years that will tear the Opposition coalition asunder.

25. #25 by frankyapp on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 1:32 pm

Hi guys,this 52nd national anniversary is looking pretty good for PR,especially after permantan pasir victory.The wind of change has now shown some cracks in BN starting with the sacking of CSL of mca.pp would collapse soon and mic sammivallo would be wiped out.I understand in sabah,east malaysia,pbs and upko are seeking option to leave BN.I think the best option for them is to join PR ,after all being in BN for so long,sabahans are still being treated like second class citizens especially the non muslim bumi communities who are mostly represented by these political parties.Since Umno/Bn rule sabah,sabahan has endured continueous electricity and water supply disruption,high cost of living,lowest wages,additional illegal immigrants,worst corruption in most civil services ,highest brian drained and the worst of the worsts seeing helplessly thousands of illegals who are made citizen through dubious means by the Umno/Bn central government in putra jaya.My wish for this anniversary is that the transition of power from BN to PR would be peaceful.

26. #26 by vsp on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 1:44 pm

Speakup is a loose chatterbox whose dirty mouth constantly oozes feces from his own sick mind. This parasite has been feeding in this blog for the past 2 years issuing the same old tired complaints against LKS.

Speakup, if you are very smart become a politician yourself and challenge LKS in the next election. I predict you will get a big goose egg. So get yourself a favour, get lost.

27. #27 by jbozz on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 1:47 pm

“transition of power from BN to PR”

Can, but first many years are required to purge and appoint trustworthy followers. Keadilan is short of capable grassroot leaders. Even some vegetable seller also get appointed now and some become state minister who can’t deliver proper speech in english. Well is a good time to begin.

28. #28 by Bobster on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 2:00 pm

Guess whoever claimed Uncle Kit to be gutless should classify his ownself brainless for the inability to evaluate and understand 40 yrs selfless political struggle and sufferring of our senior politician for our country.

29. #29 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 2:01 pm

“…We celebrate for a better future … we make it happen. It starts with each one of us, we stop being selfish and more considerate. Then we make our political reps understand that too.”…

You are dreaming the idealistic dream. Wake up to reality. Go have a cheers in the developed state.

30. #30 by k1980 on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 2:07 pm

Waah, got RM 10,000,000.00 “gift” from Ah Tiong and still wants justice!
    http://justice4otk.blogspot.com/

I foresee the following websites coming up soon:
    justice4sackedchuasiolek

justice4rohaidisbarredlawyer

justice4toyolRM24millionhouse

31. #31 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 2:19 pm

Of course I cannot say anything about LKS when it shows he only wants to hammer and not put in anything positive.

I mean come on people like RPK who have fought and been detained and persecuted for supporting DSAI and PR has also made it clear that PR is out of touch with the people. Have you all not read the article?

Then you have articles in other anti-BN forums that have questioned PR esp people like DSAI as to why DSAI has not ensured that certain PKR members such as Zul Nordin toe the line.

Did LKS say anything about Wee Choo Keong and Azmin? But he was so fast to say that the minister is insinuating that DAP is involved with that molotov cocktail incident, there is no such insinuation in that statement.

But we all love to read into it and see a bogeyman at every corner. That makes it easier than to face our own problems, blame someone else. Is this not what BN is doing each day?

Read what I said and keep it in context, LKS has always been so full of hatred for BN that he is not openly addressing the problems that are within PR. Sorry but that is GUTLESS or better still hypocritical bearing in mind he always shoots things down as he is frank.

I am not saying that LKS should not reveal the rot within BN, of which I have said is rotten to the core. I question the fact that LKS is happy to hammer but not keen to look at his own backyad or even write on articles that would edify the readers.

Maybe people love reading obituaries only I guess.

32. #32 by sjchange on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 2:26 pm

I hope PR stop being the shelter provider for those selfish and greedy bugger like CSL and others too.

If they have more than 100% determinations for change and sincerely apologise to the nation of their wrong doing. Maybe, it can be considered lah!

33. #33 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 2:32 pm

sheriff singh :
    “…We celebrate for a better future … we make it happen. It starts with each one of us, we stop being selfish and more considerate. Then we make our political reps understand that too.”…
    You are dreaming the idealistic dream. Wake up to reality. Go have a cheers in the developed state.

Sheriff … so you are saying that Malaysians are selfish and inconsiderate and are incapable of changing?

Maybe reality is to let PR take over, let them have people who are incapable to be in power? Not saying all are incapable but too many are. DSAI made it clear, PRK’s selection of candidates has been flawed. On that basis we let them rule?

So okay … we have DSAI as PM. Oooopppss that cannot happen PAS says PM is from their party only. Then we have LKS and don’t know who as DPM.

When LKS decides on appointing perhaps LGE as some minister then people like Johari will protest and boycott the swearing in.

Then you got Zul Nordin in the ministry as a minister. He will then take a day off to barge into a seminar organised by the Bar Council on the Equality of Malaysians, because Zul feels some MALAYsians are more equal than other Malaysians.

Next, we have Wee Choo Keong who will issue a press statement that perhaps Karpal Singh and his sons are involved with drug traffickers BUT he will only reveal the evidence at another time, of which will not happen.

So some private individual says they are organising a concert by Barry Manilow, then you have Nasrudin Hassan Tantawi who will stage a protest saying that Barry is a JEW and should not be allowed to perform as they are linked to Zionists.

I don’t like what BN is doing but come on …

34. #34 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 2:35 pm

sjchange :
    I hope PR stop being the shelter provider for those selfish and greedy bugger like CSL and others too.
    If they have more than 100% determinations for change and sincerely apologise to the nation of their wrong doing. Maybe, it can be considered lah!

DSAI is PROUD to have such people within their fold. DSAI is the King of Crossovers but we insult those who crossover to BN. Hahahaahahaaa …

PKR is taking in rubbish and almost everyone says its a great thing. Yeah … collect rubbish is what PKR is good at doing.

Chua Jui Meng never spoke out against BN when he was there as Minister … what did he do? Neither did DSAI when he was DPM. Now want to act so innocent and champion for the people? If they failed to do it when they were in power you think they will when they get back inside the inner circle of power?

35. #35 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 2:37 pm

Bobster :
    Guess whoever claimed Uncle Kit to be gutless should classify his ownself brainless for the inability to evaluate and understand 40 yrs selfless political struggle and sufferring of our senior politician for our country.

I am saying and I have said before, LKS has a wealth of knowledge and experience but he rather spend it hammering BN non-stop.

Gutless is based on him not speaking up on matters that are rotting within PR. But I guess I am dumb and stupid only, I mean I am so wrong la …

36. #36 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 2:42 pm

vsp :
    Speakup is a loose chatterbox whose dirty mouth constantly oozes feces from his own sick mind. This parasite has been feeding in this blog for the past 2 years issuing the same old tired complaints against LKS.
    Speakup, if you are very smart become a politician yourself and challenge LKS in the next election. I predict you will get a big goose egg. So get yourself a favour, get lost.

Its been less than a year actually … and for your information, I am not smart but I rather be realistic about things calling it as it is and not just do for the sake of hatred.

I would love to see better things in Malaysia and not listen to the same old hammering that has gotten no where when PR has problems that should be addressed.

Its a fact, LKS comes in here to challenge this and that, daring this and that BUT why does he not do it in Parliament? At least do it there and let it get shot down so we can see how much BN is suppressing a good MP. Why not?

37. #37 by Winston on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 2:51 pm

Judging from what is happening in this country and the couldn’t-care-less attitude of UMNO/BN in whatever they do, I’m quite certain that come what may, UMNO/BN will remain in power- whether they are going to win or lose in any future general elections!

38. #38 by sightseeing on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 2:55 pm

…// This parasite has been feeding in this blog for the past 2 years issuing the same old tired complaints against LKS.//…vsp
    —————————–

I am glad that you tell this parasite SpeakUp to get lost.

The reason why he came to Kit’s blog is to discredit PR and to defend his UMNO master.

SpeakUp, why don’t you get lost and post all your garbage to TDM’s blog?

39. #39 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 3:01 pm

I like this the best … The Caning of Kartika … wow … no comments from LKS when such an act is being condemned by so many locally and internationally. Why no comments? Simple … just in case PAS makes an issue out of it.

Hence, how will PR manage this country when they are put into power? Means LKS will not speak of things that would make PAS unhappy despite the fact that the Rakyat will support LKS?

I wonder …

40. #40 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 3:03 pm

sightseeing … discredit PR? Amazing … since when have I bought up non-existing issues or made up issues that I say PR are faced with. Wake up la … you all just cannot accept the reality that PR and all needs to get their act together. You all cannot accept when someone critcises LKS with FACTS but revel with joy when someone calls the PM a MURDERER without a shred of proof.

This is Malaysia today … just do only, who cares about fair play …

41. #41 by vsp on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 3:22 pm

Speakup:

It’s okay to criticize, but not when you go on like a broken record day in and day out, sometimes getting too crude and hysterical, it tends to get ridiculously tiresome. Who doesn’t make mistake?

Yes Pakatan has many useless MPs and state representatives. But remember, before 2008, no one expected the Pakatan to deny the BN the 2/3 majority let alone to win 5 states. At that time it was very difficult to get good people into the opposition because it was akin to hara-kiri to oppose an arrogant BN. So now Pakatan was stuck with them and it would be too dangerous to drive these useless MPs into the BN fold before the next general election. The best the Pakatan can do is to make sure the coalition does not collapse before the next election. Within this period if BN were to regain their 2/3 majority due to defections, you would be sure the BN will ramp into Parliament further constitutional admendments to seal their grip on power.

I think you are too naive and idealistic in your rantings. You are not the only one to realise the shortcomings in Pakatan. There were others, I for one, who also criticize Pakatan but with reasonable limits. Do you prefer to go back to the dark ages?

42. #42 by k1980 on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 3:43 pm

//Pakatan has many useless MPs and state representatives//

Very true… but just name a PR elected representative who owns a RM24,000,000 house or a PR elected representative who accepted a RM10,000,000 gift from Tiong Bin Tulu. Useless is much better than corrupt…

43. #43 by Bobster on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 3:48 pm

Guess a lot of people loss touch of the real struggle since 308.

Just to refresh memory of a not so old article circulating in the net last yr. Good to read during this 52th anniversary of Merdeka for reflection where the country is heading.

An interesting analysis…..please read and forward to all!! Help save our country….

Where is our direction for our next generation…?

Greetings to all,

For those who started work around 1973, a 1.3 Litre Japaness car was RM 7000

Today the equivalent is….. let’s say RM 60000………..8.5 times

In 1973 a double storey house was about RM 45,000..or less Today it is about RM 300,000…………6.6 times
    (It was advertised in a school magazine at 37,000, Taman Lumba Kuda)

This makes it 8.1 times

In 1973 an Engineer’s pay was RM 1000
    Today it is about RM 2000 +/-…………..2 times…..

From 1973 to 2008……..35 years……what is the Trend.? Bearish !!!!
    In a stock market when the trend is bearish , what do we do?…Exit !!!

When a country’s trend is bearish what do we do?

This Bearish trend is more difficult to turn around as compared to the stock market.

I have used these 3 items House, Car & Salary as a measurement of the country’ s performance for the past 35 years……

Foreigners also ask about these 3 items to gauge our standard of living.

There is a book I saw in MPH bookshop entitled :

Malaysia : The Failed Nation some of you may be interested to read it.

I agreed with the writer…..

This morning I was having Coffee at McDonald ( now the coffee..100 % Arabica beans..is quite good@ RM 2.90……free refill!! I asked how much per hour is their pay?
    RM 3.00 ! x 8 hours = RM 24 per day… x 25 days = RM 600 per month

In Australia my daughter works part-time during her University days..she worked at Gloria Jeans Coffee…. the pay?
    A$ 14.00 ( @ 3.15 = RM 44 per hour……x 8 = RM 352 per day !!! x 25 days = RM 8800

13.3 times more !!!!! ……Price of houses in Perth is about the same in KL

Price of cars are about 23 % cheaper…in Perth.( Australia )

I think more and more people are becoming aware of this Bearish trend.

Developed country by 2020?…means High income country

Let’s look at some as of year 2005 ( Financial Times )

USA GNP per capita US$ 35400

UK GNP per capita US$ 25510

Australia GNP per capita US$ 19530

Singapore GNP per capita US $ 20690

These are developed countries by income measurement

Malaysia ‘s GNP per capita US$ 3540 ( sTILL 4 FIGURES – rIGHT ??? )

Year 2020..developed country?
    Really…a sad story.

Worrying Trends, isn’t it??
    Ringgit sliding further and further under BN

Gan | Jul 8, 08 4:03pm

Recently, I interviewed some fresh graduates applying for jobs with my engineering company. I accepted two applicants on a starting salary of RM1600. It struck me as odd that 15 years ago, I myself started work as a fresh graduate engineer for the same pay.

Indeed, if you compare the salaries of graduates now and 15 or even 20 years ago, you’ll find little difference but that their purchasing power is vastly different. It’s the same story when you compare salaries of shop assistants, office staff, factory workers and others.

To compound the effect of inflation, the ringgit has depreciated
    greatly against all major currencies. The real income of most
    Malaysians has moved backwards.

This is why many Malaysians suffer under the petrol hike. The root of the problem is that our real incomes have shrunk in the face of
    inflation and depreciated currency.. Malaysians have not been spoiled by subsidy but are unable to move out of the time lock of stagnated and depreciated incomes..

If you compare the per capita incomes of Singapore , Hong Kong , Taiwan and South Korea , they are a few multiples of ours although at independence all these countries were the on the same economic level as Malaysia .

What has gone wrong? We were the rising star of East Asia , a country rich in natural resources with the most promising potential.

The reason is massive corruption, plundering of resources, wastage of funds for huge non- economic projects, anti-public interest deals with politically-linked companies and passing-of-the -buck to the man in the street..

Four decades of NEP where education, economic and employment policies are defined by race ensured that meritocracy took a back seat.

Our university standard has declined and the today best and brightest of our youths emigrate to escape the racial inequility only to contribute to the economies of foreign lands.

The reputation of our judiciary which was held in high esteem worldwide has sunk so low that foreign investors now insist on arbitration in Singapore in case of any dispute.

We also have a slew of oppressive laws such as the ISA, OSA, Uuca and PPPA which stifle free speech and are designed to keep the ruling parties in power..

We have become less attractive to foreign investors and now lag behind our neighbours in Asean for foreign direct investment. Even some corporations who have established themselves here are moving out.

All the economic and social malaise cannot help but affect the value of our currency. The strength of a country’s currency is after all, a reflection of its fundamentals.

Furthermore, Bank Negara has a policy of weak ringgit to help
    exporters, never mind the burden on the common folk. The government is pro-corporation, not pro-rakyat. (no different from singapore which is also pro foreign talent!)

While the poor and middle-class are squeezed, an elite group gets
    breathtakingly rich. We have the distinction of having the worse
    income disparity in Asean. A re-distribution of wealth is under way
    from the poor and middle-class to a select group of politically-connected elite.

The end result of this re-distribution will be a small group of super-rich while the majority are pushed into poverty and the middle-class shrinks. This is what happens when the rich gets richer and the poor get poorer.

There is much that is wrong with Malaysia . The responsibility for
    pulling the country backwards can be laid squarely at the door of the ruling regime. It is BN’s mis-governance, racial politics and culture of patronage which has seen the country regress economically and socially..

We seem to be sliding down a slippery slope, further down with each passing year of BN’s rule. Another five years of BN rule and we’ll be at Indonesia ‘s standard under Suharto. Another 10 years and we’ll be touching the African standard.. What a way to greet 2020.

Is there any hope for Malaysia ?

Faced with the reality that BN will never change, many Malaysians desperate for change turn their lonely eyes to Anwar Ibrahim.

Pakatan Raykat has promised to treat all races fairly, to plug wastage, fight corruption, reform the judiciary and make Malaysia more competitive.

But some have questioned whether we can trust Anwar and his loose coalition of disparate parties..

The question is not whether we can trust Anwar and Pakatan Rakyat but whether we can afford not to.

Can we afford another ten years of BN’s misrule?

44. #44 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 3:59 pm

VSP … thank you for the comment, I see your point. Yes, its rantings I agree and its the same. The same manner of rantings I see LKS do over the smallest of things too. Its called giving him a dose of what he does.

If we are fair we speak for what is fair. We call it as it is. LKS is not doing that.

If I were to go to TDM’s site, the only issue I can say about him is that he is protecting Malays too much, in a way he is kinda like a racist. But look at him as a statesman … not even international journalists have been able ot take him on. Say what we want about him, he did prosper the nation and I saw so many Average Joe making big bucks.

I believe that PR can be a political party that can truly challenge BN. I for one would love to see that happen BUT PR needs to work out change.

Many years ago, people said this: Justice Must Be Seen To Be Done. This was when there were so many issues of corruption etc etc. In the same manner, if PR wants to change of which it knows it must then let the change be seen. Not asking for change overnight but let it be seen that they are working towards change.

I do not relish going back to the Dark Ages but I rather see PR moving towards a better government. It will take time but we just want to see some movement forward and not back which is happening.

;0)

45. #45 by dawsheng on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 4:14 pm

Yes, its rantings I agree and its the same. The same manner of rantings I see LKS do over the smallest of things too. Its called giving him a dose of what he does. – SpeakUp

Oh please! How can you compare LKS with “Tong Sampah”!

46. #46 by dawsheng on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 4:19 pm

Do you prefer to go back to the dark ages? -vsp

You are sounding like Squealer in Animal Farm.

47. #47 by yhsiew on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 4:19 pm

A Chua-Ong civil war is looming within MCA. Malaysiakini (Chinese version) reported that Chua’s supporters are busy going around collecting signatures so as to move a motion of no-confidence against Ong.

48. #48 by cseng on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 5:31 pm

As the incoming govement of Malaysia (if we won GE13, we is not you, nor I, is we). I think PR can came out a merdeka wish list and declared to BN what the real wishes of rakyat.

My first wish is PR formed Fed goverment by next GE, establiched a 2 parties system for Malaysia to progress.

49. #49 by monsterballssgoh on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 6:20 pm

Speakup is not logical..practical and sensible.
    He is indirectly and daily trying to corner and proof PR is not planning anything for the country and people….trying so hard to proof PR is good for nothing.

50. #50 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 6:55 pm

I say the opposition should call for General Election in six months. BN has lost the confidence of majority.. Lets go to the polls again…

51. #51 by Loh on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 7:07 pm

///If I were to go to TDM’s site, the only issue I can say about him is that he is protecting Malays too much, in a way he is kinda like a racist. But look at him as a statesman … not even international journalists have been able ot take him on. Say what we want about him, he did prosper the nation and I saw so many Average Joe making big bucks.///– SpeakUp

If that is all he could talk about TDM for abusing his power all 22 years, and yet he has so much to talk about LKS who has not been in power for even a day, I suppose we can guess what he represents.

52. #52 by ktteokt on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 7:22 pm

BN has lost all by-elections in the peninsula. This is a total disgrace and DEFEAT – AND HOW TO BEAR WITH IT TILL NEXT GE should be the theme for this year’s Merdeka celebration!

53. #53 by Onlooker Politics on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 8:03 pm

YB Kit,
    I think it is not so appropriate for you to make further comment on Chua Soi Lek’s being sacked by MCA. This is MCA’s internal party affair and as an opposing party leader, it is much better for you to adopt the “no comment” attitude. It is the Chinese philosophy that one should try to avoid getting too much involved in other people’s family business, unless you are invited by both fighting parties to serve as a mediator!

Also please don’t ever try to invite CSL to join DAP! His family members got too many scandals in Batu Pahat. He could be the box office ticketing room poison for DAP if he ever joins DAP, now or later! He is too close to Dr. Ling Liong Sik and Najib for DAP’s comfort, or even for Pakatan Rakyat’s comfort!

54. #54 by Onlooker Politics on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 8:28 pm

Speakup,
    It seems that you were one of the well-doing beneficiaries of Dr. Mahathir’s high gearing debt-financing money-squandering economic policy. Since you are a law practitioner, you must have gotten a lot of engagement offers as the panel lawyer of Pro-Umno housing developers during Dr. Mahathir’s rule.

If you dare to call YB Kit “gutless”, why don’t you dare to suggest in this blog on what LGE can do in Penang in order to benefit you and also benefit others as well? I believe not only I myself but many other DAP supporters would like to hear about the best suggestion which you can offer to Penangites as well as other Malaysians!

But please don’t ever ask LGE to build more condominiums in Penang and appoint you as a conveyancing lawyer. We Malaysians need some other development projects which will use no debt-financing in order to help us get out of the debt-ridden situation created by the former BN state government!

55. #55 by vsp on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 8:48 pm

Speakup:

Come election time if Pakatan chooses the same rotten representatives, then you can whack them for all I care. I hope there would be more quality people, not people such as Zakaria Nordin, Wee Choo Keong, Hassan Ali and some other idiots.

Pakatan, please note.

Onlooker:
    Aye, Chua Soi Lek is definitely a toxic product.

56. #56 by Loh on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 8:57 pm

///????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????///– ??-DangMok, malaysiakini

That is the type of MCA deputy leader of Puchong Division who chose to carry the balls of UMNO Chief. He is fighting for CSL in trying to organize an emergency meeting to work against MCA president. Unless these MCA supporters of CSL think that CSL is the best they can elect to represent them they have no reason to act the way they did. If they truly believed that CSL is the savior of MCA, then it would be better for MCA to be disbanded. A person who has to compromise because of personal faults has no time for the Chinese community, and as leader of Chinese community, his character would be taken as what the community would emulate. Do the Chinese want their children to argue that if CSL with all the failings which he considered the only appropriate reason was to quit his post, there is no need for personal integrity? Is that the race the Chinese community wants their descendants to end up with?

57. #57 by veddy.lum74 on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 9:22 pm

yes,MCA is now sinking,subsequently,it will be Umno’s turn!

i dont take a damn look at mosquito party like MIC or PPP,thy are parasites of BN:Barisan Najis!

58. #58 by veddy.lum74 on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 9:32 pm

i m giving you ppl some clues,najis will very soon declare that all BN component parties are united into only one party,no more UMNO,MCA ,Gerakan or PPP,the party is called:1MalaysiaParty!

if najis dont do it,PR can well assure of their victory on13th GE,no one is going to vote for MIC,Bersatu or PPP anymore,the BN will be completely flattened!

by uniting the parties,BN still got some slim hopes!

NAJIS,ARE YOU AWARE OF THAT?OR KJ didnt tell you,he didnt tell you bcos you are not his FIL!!!LOL LOL LOL

59. #59 by Onlooker Politics on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 10:26 pm

“yes,MCA is now sinking” (veddy.lum74)

veddy, I think you jump into the conclusion too early at the present stage! I see MCA’s internal rife quite differently — it is the clash between the English-educated faction and the Chinese-educated faction.

As far as I know, there are lesser and lesser Malaysians who are purely English-educated due to the decease of the old English-educated generations without being replaced with the new English-educated generation. It is almost impossible for us to find new English-educated generation in Malaysia nowadays unless we talk about the generation which have received their elementary school education or secondary school education in English-speaking foreign countries like England, Australia, Canada or Singapore. Since Chua Soi Lek represented the declining English-educated generations of MCA, the sacking of Chua Soi Lek by MCA is not likely to create a great impact on MCA, except for the case that it may displease Najib because Chua Soi Lek is the appointed Special Ambassador of Najib for coordinating the cooperations among Barisan Nasional component parties.

By sacking Chua Soi Lek, Ong Tee Keat has successfully made one big leap forward in his political advent because he is able to prove to the public in general and to MCA members in particular, that he himself is a brave MCA president who dares to defy Najib by challenging Najib’s appointing Chua Soi Lek as a Special Ambassador who was made to report duty directly to Najib.

Please do bear in mind that Ong Tee Keat is an eloquent Chinese essay writer. With the assistance of another eloquent Chinese essay writer, Professor Dr. Hou Kok Chung, Ong Tee Keat will most likely be able to strengthen his party position with the strong support coming from the majority party members who are mostly Chinese-educated.

DAP has neglected to develop a strong leadership team who can write eloquently in Chinese and Malay. Frankly speaking, when I tried to browse Lim Kit Siang’s Chinese blogsite, most often I found that YB Lim’s personal aide had not been able to update the Chinese blogsite regularly and the messages posted were usually too long out-dated!

If DAP cannot even afford an up-to-date Chinese blogsite, I wonder how DAP is going to compete with MCA for the support from the vast majority of Chinese Malaysians who are basically Chinese-speaking! Not to mention that to expect DAP to have a well-versed Malay blogsite is just an exorbitant luxury for most Malaysian people to dream of!

60. #60 by Theman56 on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 11:59 pm

What a crap government, I just read in malaysiakini that it is possible theoratically to catch hepatitis C in a hair salon. I wonder what has the Ministry of Health has been doing all this time and being so negligent? There are no government controls and monitoring in the hair cutting industry that no one really cares about the spread of the virus. This is just great! Where are the unlucky people who might have caught the virus because of not disinfecting the equipment going to get the money for the liver transplant or are the ministers going to donate their livers for the donors list. Man they have to seriously wake up and do their jobs!

61. #61 by tenaciousB on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 12:05 am

‘onlooker politics’ you sound like a chinese educated fraction. lol

62. #62 by ekompute on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 12:13 am

Onlooker Politics :If DAP cannot even afford an up-to-date Chinese blogsite, I wonder how DAP is going to compete with MCA for the support from the vast majority of Chinese Malaysians who are basically Chinese-speaking! Not to mention that to expect DAP to have a well-versed Malay blogsite is just an exorbitant luxury for most Malaysian people to dream of!

DAP is trying to distance itself as a Chinese party. If it wants to write in classical Chinese, I don’t think it is at all a problem. Apparently, most Malaysian Chinese are real bananas… yellow outside, but white inside, thanks to Malaysian education policy. Now that China is picking up, awwww…..

I am trying to start a website, “Learn Chinese”. Anyone interested?

63. #63 by ekompute on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 12:17 am

veddy.lum74 :

Don’t think it will be called 1MalaysiaParty. It will be called 1MalaySia-siaParty.

64. #64 by ekompute on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 12:28 am

Onlooker Politics :
    But please don’t ever ask LGE to build more condominiums in Penang and appoint you as a conveyancing lawyer. We Malaysians need some other development projects which will use no debt-financing in order to help us get out of the debt-ridden situation created by the former BN state government!

If I were Prime Minister, all I need to do to get Malaysia out of debt is to beef up the Inland Revenue Department and go after all the UMNOputras and other BNputras.

As someone mentions in this blog, when you fight corruption, corruption fights back. So forgive me for maintaining ISA for 5 years, maybe three. That would be enough time for me to clean up Malaysia. After that, I will abolish ISA, can?

But let me warn you…. you won’t be seeing me for at least 3 years after I become Prime Minister… unless you want to see your Prime Minister at the bottom of some 14-storey building, LOL.

65. #65 by ekompute on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 12:30 am

Thank you Taxidriver for suggesting I see Dr M. My toes miraculously stop creaking, LOL.

66. #66 by OrangRojak on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 2:02 am

为什么学习汉语?谷歌可以翻译!

Sorry, sorry, forgot where I was…
    Mengapa belajar bahasa cina? Google dapat menerjemahkan!

Now if only my local nasi ayam guy gets a free wireless access point, I can finally order something different to eat…

67. #67 by OrangRojak on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 2:05 am

Oof. That doesn’t look right. Is it … fail?

68. #68 by ekompute on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 4:41 am

OrangRojak :
    Mengapa belajar bahasa cina? Google dapat menerjemahkan!

“Menerjemahkan” is the spelling that is prescribed by the rules laid down by Dewan Bahasa but this spelling is not acceptable by common usage. The accepted spelling is “menterjemahkan”, so if you are taking the SPM examination, sorry, deduct 1 point, LOL. The Malay language has many exceptions to the rule and this is just one.

“Komersial” is another one. This spelling is not acceptable because “sial” means “unlucky” and it is a no, no especially to superstitious folks, more so when money is involved in such a field as commerce. The correct spelling is therefore “komersil”.

Want some more? Too many to list down but we are off topic. Better stop before I get the boot and you get the flying shoe, LOL.

69. #69 by monsterballssgoh on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 5:30 am

Enjoy the 52nd Merdeka show….first time with terrible flu virus …out to attack big crowds.
    Forewarn is foretold..to parents.
    Go…if you are die-hard UMNO members……but please leave children at home.
    The recent result of the P.Pasir shows “1Malaysia” not working.
    MCA is so disunited….where got “1 MALAYSIA”…..under UMNO?
    UMNO did one…on sex and trying repeat performance..sacking Anwar.
    MCA trying to please holy ones.,by sacking Chua Soi Lek on sex.in the holy month of Ramadan.
    Holy holy holy is the name of the game.
    Najib should be pleased..with such a holy act….but instead…warned OTK not to do that…to weakened BN. Politics more important than holy stuffs..as if we do not know.
    UMNO can do anything…to weaken UMNO…not MCA..nor others.
    Here is clear double standards by UMNO to MCA.
    hi folks!! Do not be distracted by MCA away from the RM10 million bribe given to OTK by Tiong..
    Enjoy the fun…but stay focus to demand MACC actions.
    They are so call investigating now….but you know MACC…is political minded…servants to UMNO.
    Yes..enjoy the fun of MCA…with one group out to demand an extraordinary emergency general meeting..and that needs only 800 signatures.
    Day in day out…we can see truths revealed.
    Ong Tee Keat suspected to be the mastermind in taping the sex movie.
    Chua Soi Lek is suspected to oust OTK………one way or another.
    These two are like cat and mouse.
    Since we know…OTK is Ong Ta Kut….the cat must be Chua Soi Lek!!
    Have you seen the movie.” TOMBSTONE” ?
    Well some MCA guys will be buried alive.sooner or later..enjoying a glass of beer and sex..for a job well done.
    Yes…..MCA is heading to the grave yard.
    Good riddance to bad rubbish.
    MCA is a disgrace to the Chinese community.

70. #70 by monsterballssgoh on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 6:21 am

Actually the Merdeka celebration should start with the year ….when UMNO BARU was born.
    We conquer and celebrate..correct?
    Mahathir..the doctor who claims to cure..killed UMNO and started UMNO BARU….correct?
    So…Merdeka should be..from the year half Indian…half Malay..became PM.

71. #71 by ekompute on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 7:11 am

There’s one thing I never could understand. When a party is declared illegal, can the Prime Minister of that party continue to govern?

Or are we then, to paraphrase one high-ranking American official, “a country composed of 16.5 million cowards and one son of a bitch”?

72. #72 by ekompute on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 7:22 am

Sorry for asking… I was then very young, only 32 years old, LOL.

73. #73 by Jeffrey on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 7:46 am

“What a 52nd National Day!” has omitted mention of the unprecedented proposed canning of Kartika Sari Dewi Shukarno for drinking beer!

Under our “civil law, women cannot be subjected caning as a punishment for any offence.” Section 289 of the Criminal Procedure Code (CPC) expressly provides that no female shall be punishable with whipping.

Until recently, enforcement of sharia in this particular regard has been lax but it is now becoming more aggressive, and the scope of the religious courts appears to be expanding.

Azmi Sharom, an associate professor in the law faculty of Universiti Malaya says, “The crux of the matter is, how can we have such medieval laws on our books at all?” “I have a feeling this problem is going to get worse and worse because none of the leadership is going to have the guts to say – hold on, this is a secular democracy, we have to put a stop to this.”

According to Malaysiakini report “Kartika furore highlights rise of Islamic law” of
    Aug 27, 09 11:11am – ‘Harussani Zakaria, the mufti for Perak endorsed the push for stricter implementation of Islamic law.

“People will ask, you have this law, why don’t you practise it? When we practise it, then the government interrupts the process,” he complained, adding that Kartika should be punished swiftly.

The influential cleric said Malaysia would be better off if all citizens, INCLUDING non-Muslims, were subject to Islamic law including “hudud” penalties like stoning adulterers and chopping off thieves’ hands.’

Zaid Ibrahim was reported to have also said that problems could arise if syariah pronouncements conflict with the constitution.

“But which Malay political leaders from EITHER side of the political spectrum dare touch it?” he said.

“So the hardliners can and will always push and push and Malaysia will no longer be a liberal and moderate modern state.”

It is worrying the kind of image the country gets when international press picks this up. (The Wall Street Journal opined that this is a consequence of the Umno-PAS spat.)

How long will Anwar&PKR and DAP keep quiet on this issue because of “partnership” with PAS in PR?

More and more encroachments are made into private lives of Malaysians and civil liberties as well sanctity and supremacy of Federal Constitution (which DAP characterises as “secular”) are at stake.

On 52nd National Day, is PR going to keep quiet about this in the interest of political expedience in not having a spat with hardliners in both PAS and BN’s side over this issue of major public importance?

Keeping silent means civil liberties have no champions and as Zaid said, “the hardliners can and will always push and push and Malaysia will no longer be a liberal and moderate modern state.”

Does PR want to be facilitator to Malaysia being “no longer be a liberal and moderate modern state”?

74. #74 by ekompute on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 8:09 am

Jeffrey : More and more encroachments are made into private lives of Malaysians and civil liberties as well sanctity and supremacy of Federal Constitution (which DAP characterises as “secular”) are at stake.

On the contrary, I would think that UMNO will suffer more than anyone else. I have a feeling that this development would only result in more and more Malays giving up Islam, thereby further weaking UMNO’s support base. When conditions are too harsh, they may well decide to give up their Malay privileges altogether, if required. I don’t know, what do you think?

75. #75 by Jeffrey on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 8:43 am

I think contrary. More and more will embrace Islamic fundamentalist ideology of the genre PAS espouses as a change and panacea to the intolerable status quo of ills – increasing gaps between the rich and poor, abuse of power, corruption – that the other side is identified with and is perceived to trying to cover up by appeals to race and “moderate” religion of its brand.

If lessons were to be drawn regarding rise of religious fundamentalism in Middle East, this lack of a viable political alternative have driven masses to rally under religious banner – most telling is Ayatollah Khomeini’s Iran revolution to overthrow the so called secular but corrupt regime of the Shah backed by the US.

There must be (it must be conceded) some differences between people and societies in Middle East and those in South East Asia, partcularly Malaysia with a polyglot mix of people, to draw such a parallel, but it is uncertain whether these differences are material enough to see a different outcome when conditions favouring progressive and indeed more aggressive push for Islamisation are present, especially when leaders on both sides of political divide have no resolve to resist and mitigate this push.

At the end of the day advocates of theocratic state will leverage on indecision and lack of will and resistance on both sides to achieve a fiat accompli of their agenda. They are actually “a third force” embedded in both sides unified by common objective.

76. #76 by Jeffrey on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 9:06 am

There’s a kind of Islamic revolution going on here. It is not of the kind flouting laws and constitution or necessarily espousing any form of violence. On the contrary it is very much based on “laws” – sharia, ie, as first step reactivation and aggressive enforcement of all dormant syaria enactments, until now not aggressively enforced by BN’s administration.

Any objections to implementation being contrary to Federal Constitution will be resisted and rebutted on grounds that even under Constitution, Islam is Official Religion, which together with Article 121(A) (civil courts have no jurisdiction over sharia matters) is argued to imply that Sharia is paramount, even by the Constitution. There also many sympathetic to paramountcy of religion over all secular features of the constitution embedded everywhere in the administration (in educational establishments, court system, civil service etc) as well as on the Opposition’s side pressuring fulfilment of agenda – based on “law”.

It is hard to resist this push. Govt leaders will not directly resist, they would just say that we must be “compassionate” and suggest appeal/legal recourse hoping some courts in favour of moderation and govt’s position will impede this march. Even on the Opposition side the MB of Selangor is under pressure and finds it expedient to consult the constitutional head of religion, the HRH the Ruler to use his moral authority to resist. We see this in both Elizabeth Wong’s case and the recent bourhaha on PAS’s commissioner (Hassan Ali) push to recruit mosque officials to arrest Muslims caught drinking alcohol. In such a way the MB does not have to confront issue whether he is against Religious tenents or his coalition PAS’s initiatives.

But history has always shown that in a struggle, when the aggressive party keeps pushing, and the party defending status quo keep defending, deflecting, dodging, ducking – without aggressively pushing back – the latter party will eventually lose.

For aggressive party, the logic is simple: one pushes, if succeeds, gain one step, if fails, loses no position. On the other side, if the defender succeeds in deflecting, it gains nothing though status quo is maintained but if it fails, it loses out some of its position.

Thus by such small and marginal step, the aggressive first party, inch by inch advances its position, pushing the line against the other, until inch by inch crosses a certain threshold with sufficient critical mass, it would push foot by foot, and then yard by yard.

Incremental advances are less shocking but an aggregate cumulation of all marginal steps represent a milestone!

77. #77 by ekompute on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 9:34 am

Hi Jeffrey, do you know that mosque attendance is dwindling? One Malay just recently lamented this to me.

When I was a human resource manager, I found that not many Malays used the Friday extended lunch breaks to go to mosque. So we came out with a ruling that those who don’t go to mosque must continue to work. The Islamic department came and see me, saying: “Whether they go to mosque or not is between them and God, your responsibility is to just provide them with the break,” LOL.

You see… when a religion is imposed on someone by law, how strong do you think their religious belief is? Christian converts tend to be more religious than those who merely follow their parents’ religion. Thus the term, “I am not a practising Christian,” LOL.

Is there such a term called “a non-practising Christian”? Well, I suppose if you can have a non-practising lawyer, why not a non-practising Christian then, LOL.

78. #78 by ekompute on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 9:44 am

Jeffrey :
    Thus by such small and marginal step, the aggressive first party, inch by inch advances its position, pushing the line against the other, until inch by inch crosses a certain threshold with sufficient critical mass, it would push foot by foot, and then yard by yard.

Actually, we are acting like the alchemists and philosophers of old…. mental masturbation and no experimentation/surveys. To find the truth, all we need is to get a minimum sample of 30 Malays (of course if we can 50-100, so much the better) and ask them whether they like the trend towards stricter syaria enforcement. My gut feel is no, and yours is yes.

79. #79 by SpeakUp on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 10:28 am

Onlooker Politics :
    Speakup,
    It seems that you were one of the well-doing beneficiaries of Dr. Mahathir’s high gearing debt-financing money-squandering economic policy. Since you are a law practitioner, you must have gotten a lot of engagement offers as the panel lawyer of Pro-Umno housing developers during Dr. Mahathir’s rule.
    If you dare to call YB Kit “gutless”, why don’t you dare to suggest in this blog on what LGE can do in Penang in order to benefit you and also benefit others as well? I believe not only I myself but many other DAP supporters would like to hear about the best suggestion which you can offer to Penangites as well as other Malaysians!

I made money during the DrM days because I worked hard and all of it dripped down to many common people. People who do not even vote or have political connections.

My parents were poor, father a mere civil servant and mother a hawker who works like 14 hours a day. So how BN am I?

In my time we had to knock on doors and beg for work. Hell, we even go see the fishmonger at night to get a simple S&P signed. That is how we worked. We made money as the man in the streets was able to afford better housing and banks had to litigate. So, did you not get such an opportunity?

I was never so fortunate to be on UMNO, MCA, MIC or Gerakan greased panels. We were on the panel of one small developer who built cheap housing. So, any more smart comments that are baseless?

I did a lot of pro bono work as the area I was in were full of people who do not understand their legal rights. Heck, I cleared squatters like mad and never took their offer for kick backs when they were happy to give. So what else would you like to insinuate?

I called LKS gutless, I did not call him a GUTLESS MAN. I stated he is gutless to do certain things of which I itemised. Is that untrue?

As for LGE, I only have 1 thing to say to him, actually 2. Firstly, KUDOS … he has been doing a great job for someone who has never been in such a position before. Secondly, he needs a Public Relations person to guide him, someone without political affiliations so that BN media need not always make him look so bad.

But one thing LGE can really do is to bring in more professionals to advise them on what to do. If you are very in with the Penang government you will know there are some minor short comings and this is caused by the fact that they feel they can only trust their own. BUT through no fault of theirs, their own are not professionals in certain areas. I need not list out some of the c0ck ups by some of them, we have read it in the papers.

Hence, look at the American presidency, they always use professional advisers. I think LGE can benefit from that sort of administration.

For your information, Penang does not need more condos, people should just live in shantys ok. You are amazing. Penangites are buying housing, its the same in KL, the property market has been very good for the last 2 months. Its all locals who are purchasing. Don’t you know that at all? Are you not in touch? So am I the one who is talking nonsense?

I would love to celebrate this Merdeka with perhaps remembering an article from LKS that sounds like … “I have a dream …”

That would have been a good way rather than some negative cr@p. Why can’t LKS tell us his dreams for the nation and let that inspire us to change things. Maybe that can wake people up to learn how not to vote BN anymore.

Look at PP … they voted for BN, the numbers were very strong, about as strong as during GE12, so what inroads did PAS make in the last 18 months? Next to nothing. Face that fact.

80. #80 by taiking on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 11:40 am

Speakup said:

“In my time we had to knock on doors and beg for work. Hell, we even go see the fishmonger at night to get a simple S&P signed. That is how we worked. We made money as the man in the streets was able to afford better housing and banks had to litigate.

Yeah. Life is one tough cookie. Doesnt it make your blood boil to know that mere brokering some weapon acquisition could bring in 500million in commission payment?

Umno and umnoputras could survive this long and have it so good because malaysians are generally tolerant of abuse and oppression by these clowns. Of course ISA too played a great role. If only they have some sense of proportionality, they probably could go on for a long time abusing the country’s wealth and oppressing our freedom. If instead of 500m they took only say 100,000 not many people would be bothered. But Mahathir saw it fit to arm them with an oversize greed and belly. That began the whole problem for umno. “Huh 100,000 aja? Mana cukup tu?”

81. #81 by ekompute on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 11:52 am

SpeakUp :I made money during the DrM days because I worked hard and all of it dripped down to many common people. People who do not even vote or have political connections…. Look at PP … they voted for BN, the numbers were very strong, about as strong as during GE12, so what inroads did PAS make in the last 18 months? Next to nothing. Face that fact.

Wow, that was a very fine piece of oratory. I rate it same as the Gettysburg Address, really.

82. #82 by k1980 on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 12:25 pm

Ever notice that the politicians who yelled the loudest for “1malaysia” are also the ones busily separating the rakyat into “tuans” and “pendatangs”?

83. #83 by SpeakUp on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 1:05 pm

taiking :
    Speakup said:
    “In my time we had to knock on doors and beg for work. Hell, we even go see the fishmonger at night to get a simple S&P signed. That is how we worked. We made money as the man in the streets was able to afford better housing and banks had to litigate.
    Yeah. Life is one tough cookie. Doesnt it make your blood boil to know that mere brokering some weapon acquisition could bring in 500million in commission payment?
    Umno and umnoputras could survive this long and have it so good because malaysians are generally tolerant of abuse and oppression by these clowns. Of course ISA too played a great role. If only they have some sense of proportionality, they probably could go on for a long time abusing the country’s wealth and oppressing our freedom. If instead of 500m they took only say 100,000 not many people would be bothered. But Mahathir saw it fit to arm them with an oversize greed and belly. That began the whole problem for umno. “Huh 100,000 aja? Mana cukup tu?”

That brokering case is called BN government sanctioned wastage of money. Simple … very simple. Hahahahahaaa …

84. #84 by SpeakUp on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 1:05 pm

ekompute :

SpeakUp :I made money during the DrM days because I worked hard and all of it dripped down to many common people. People who do not even vote or have political connections…. Look at PP … they voted for BN, the numbers were very strong, about as strong as during GE12, so what inroads did PAS make in the last 18 months? Next to nothing. Face that fact.

Wow, that was a very fine piece of oratory. I rate it same as the Gettysburg Address, really.

Don’t bully bully ok … perli ker? Hahahaha …

85. #85 by frankyapp on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 1:28 pm

Hi ekompute,there’s no such non practising christian. Either you are a christian or a un-believer.That’s it.

86. #86 by frankyapp on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 1:30 pm

sorry,the correct word should be ‘NON BELIEVER .

87. #87 by SpeakUp on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 2:04 pm

frankyapp … got non-practicing Christian. On paper he says he is Christian but he does not go to church etc. Hehehehee … not trying to insult you ok, just making fun of the non-practising Christian.

88. #88 by ekompute on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 2:43 pm

Let me kill 2 birds with one stone, so here comes my stone towards SpeakUp and Frankyapp’s bird-bird:

SpeakUp, honestly, that was a very good defense article you wrote. I am sincere about it, I mean it comes from the heart of my bottom, opphhhhs, the bottom of my heart. Just pulling your legs about that last one, but I read it, was impressed and thought that you deserve a standing ovation for your defense.

And Frankyapp, the term “non-practising Christian” was given to me by someone who told me that she is a non-practising Christian. When I asked her to explain, she said she is Christian because her parents are Christian but she does not go to church nor really believe in that religion. Well, I believe that there are many non-practising Muslims too, given that they have no choice but to adopt that religion. The only thing you see is that they don’t eat pork and that has nothing to do with religion, it’s just upbringing and conditioning.

89. #89 by frankyapp on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 2:44 pm

Hi speakup,you are missing the point,on paper or going to church still does not make you a christian or believer let alone a non practising christian.Christianity is between man and GOD. Faith alone or works alone still does not make you a christian,hence you need faith and works to become a good/true christian.Anything less,is just hypocrisy.

90. #90 by frankyapp on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 2:51 pm

Hi ekompute,I hope my answer to speakup would enlighten you now about christainity.

91. #91 by ekompute on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 2:52 pm

I think it is about time we, non-Malays, stop claiming that we are not pendatang. Let’s call ourselves pendatangs and deal a deathblow to Najib’s 1Malaysia. It’s not as if BN believes in 1Malaysia.

If all non-Malays begin to accept that they are classified as pendatangs, they won’t be voting for BN, that’s for sure. That would make BN wake up and stop branding non-Malays as pendatangs.

92. #92 by ekompute on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 3:08 pm

Frankyapp, actually, I do study quite a bit about Christianity and Buddhism, and I know where you are coming from. Even if a person follows all the religious rituals, he is still not of that religion, unless he truly believes in the teachings and values of that religion in his heart. All religions are the religion of the heart, not the body.

93. #93 by frankyapp on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 3:09 pm

Hi again ekompute,similarly there’s no non practising muslims,these are so-called non practising muslims.You cannot claim you are a christian when you do not believe in Jesus christ.Again to answer your point,even both your parents are christian,it does not make you a christian automatically.Like I said religion is between man and GOD,not between you and your parents.

94. #94 by SpeakUp on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 3:11 pm

frankyapp … I know what you are saying, I know it well. I agree with you. Just making some light hearted comment only.

ekompute … yes we are PENDATANG, we have a right because the Constitution assured our rights. Our forefathers sweated in the estates and mining pools to make Malaysia what it is today.

If BN is so unhappy then take away our citizenship, strip it. Then we are the real PENDATANG that they claim us to be, no rights.

Let’s now look at some great politicians in Malaysia, who are their forefathers? Some are Indons, some a Bugis some have Chinese blood and we know many with Indian blood. I think they forget that the mere fact that they are from a certain religion is not what makes them superior to others.

Will they ever wake up?

95. #95 by ekompute on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 3:43 pm

Quote from Islamicoccasions.com at http://www.ezsoftech.com/akram/introductiontoislam.asp

“Islam very categorically rejects racial discrimination. It promotes the feeling of brotherhood and equality among its followers. God clearly says, “O you men! surely We have created you of a male and a female, and made you tribes and families that you may know each other; surely the most honorable of you with Allah is the one among you most careful (of his duty); surely Allah is Knowing, Aware.” Holy Qur’an (49:13) Therefore, no one can claim any superiority over others based on racial or tribal differences. A person is to be judged by his character, not by his colour or race. God continues, “Surely the most honourable of you in God’s sight is the person who is most upright in character among you”. Holy Qur’an (49:13)

To the extent that the concept of Ketuanan Melayu is seemingly against the teaching of the Qur’an, can we say that Malaysia is practising Islam? Okay, let’s tread carefully on this matter before they twist and turn and say we insult Islam. Who is actually insulting Islam?

If a robber points a gun at you and ask you, “How come you are wearing my watch?”, what do you say? If me, I say, “Sorry, take it, I bought your watch last week,” LOL.

96. #96 by SpeakUp on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 4:05 pm

To the extent that the concept of Ketuanan Melayu is seemingly against the teaching of the “Qur’an, can we say that Malaysia is practising Islam? Okay, let’s tread carefully on this matter before they twist and turn and say we insult Islam. Who is actually insulting Islam?”

Nothing new la, when in trouble just talk about others and create one h3ck of a smoke screen!

“If a robber points a gun at you and ask you, “How come you are wearing my watch?”, what do you say? If me, I say, “Sorry, take it, I bought your watch last week,” LOL.”

You should answer, sorry I forgot to return the watch I borrowed.

97. #97 by Taxidriver on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 4:58 pm

Ever notice that the politicians who yelled the loudest for “1Malsaysia” are also the ones busily separating the rakyat into “tuans” and “pendatangs”? – k1980

“My Father who is in the heavens, forgive them for they know not what they are yelling about” – Jesus

98. #98 by ctc537 on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 5:27 pm

After 52 years of achieving independence, the country is now facing the most problems in its history. It has clearly shown that the political system where each of the three major races is represented by their race-based political parties respectively is no longer workable.
    It seems that politicians now concern more with their personal interests as the on-going MCA crisis shows. The biggest political party continues to play racist politics knowing full well that it could lead the country to chaos if left unchecked. Government institutions such as the MACC, PDRM, etc are losing credibility among the people because of being seen seen not neutral in discharging their duties. The people fear for their safety because of the worsening crime situation, fear for their lives because of the high death tolls from AH1N1,fear for their livelihood because of dwindling FDIs caused by the unsettling political situation, etc.
    This 2009 52th Hari Kebangsaan, all of us should stay at home mulling over what should be done to save our beloved country.

99. #99 by monsterballssgoh on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 6:35 pm

52nd Merdeka celebration….will be UMNO last road show.
    It s written…spoken and let it be done.
    Amen

100. #100 by Onlooker Politics on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 6:37 pm

“???????????????

Sorry, sorry, forgot where I was…
    Mengapa belajar bahasa cina? Google dapat menerjemahkan!” (OrangRojak)

YB Teresa Kok should voice out her opinion on why her parents sent her to a Chinese Independent Secondary School!

Perhaps most people just have the basic instinct to show a special passion towards their own native language! Nevertheless, some people who don’t like to see the expression of language exuberance with such a strong natural passion may label it as “Racist Chauvinism”!

101. #101 by Onlooker Politics on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 6:49 pm

“Penangites are buying housing, its the same in KL, the property market has been very good for the last 2 months. Its all locals who are purchasing. Don’t you know that at all? Are you not in touch? So am I the one who is talking nonsense?” (Speakup)

Sorry, Speakup! I may be a bit slow to pick up the first hand information which you revealed here!

As far as I know, the head of Bank Negara Malaysia, Tan Sri Dr. Zeti Akhtar Aziz, had just made an official announcement few days ago that the Malaysian economy suffered negative growth for consecutive two quarters since January 2009, that had officially sent the economic status of Malaysia to the realm of “recession”!

Is the speculative activities in the property market of Malaysia a sustainable uptrend bullish mood? Or is it just a foreplay which precedes an orgasm of profit taking by the housing developers?

102. #102 by Winston on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 10:14 pm

For those who suggest that Uncle Lim should stay out of the affairs of other parties, I must say that such comments are completely misplaced.
    The writer of such inane remarks seem to be ignorant of what other parties, especially UMNO/BN have been doing in this field vis-a-vis the DAP. The former never miss a chance to make accusatory remarks in the so- called MSM to deride the DAP. Whether such remarks are true or otherwise is not their forte!
    Another factor that favours Uncle Lim writing about such matters, besides informing us or reminding us about the wrongdoings, is that, SO FAR, OVER THE YEARS THIS BLOG WAS STARTED, THERE IS NOT EVEN A BEEP FROM UMNO/BN to refute what is written.
    In fact, such blogs scared the shit off them!
    So, Uncle, KEEP UP YOUR EXCELLENT WORK!!!

103. #103 by veddy.lum74 on Friday, 28 August 2009 - 11:26 pm

now that tiong tai koh has told us how he sent the rm10 million to OTK,mostly at hotel’s carpark in 3 separate delevery,now the ball is in OTK’s leg,i want to ask mr.ATM tiong,his ATMs not only can despatch bigbig notes,it’s mobility is very high too!

mr.ATM tiong,can i see you at Sunway Hotel’s car park,P5 tomorow?i need rm5 million,afterall it’s not your money werd……………..LOL LOL LOL

104. #104 by best4rakyat on Sunday, 30 August 2009 - 8:10 am

What a 52nd National Day!?
    Already near 300 days for sabahan especially in state capital of Kota Kinabalu.
    Can all good men and women most honorable out there help them (non-politically) for supporting and signing this <a petition at http://www.petitiononline.com/sapp/? We can do a good thing for this coming 52 years of independence. Remember anyone could possibly need hospital bed once in lifetime,don't you agree? Who's responsibility to this and seem there is no head in the state to take concern as days pass by! So uncle "Kit" please help sabahan too for this. Thank you.

105. #105 by best4rakyat on Sunday, 30 August 2009 - 8:12 am

What a 52nd National Day!?
    Already near 300 days for sabahan especially in state capital of Kota Kinabalu.
    Can all good men and women most honorable out there help them (non-politically) for supporting and signing this petition at http://www.petitiononline.com/sapp/? We can do a good thing for this coming 52 years of independence. Remember anyone could possibly need hospital bed once in lifetime,don’t you agree? Who’s responsibility to this and seem there is no head in the state to take concern as days pass by! So uncle “Kit” please help sabahan too for this. Thank you

106. #106 by ktteokt on Monday, 31 August 2009 - 10:32 am

Independence? What independence? Just a kid who refused to grow up after 52 years!