The dead cannot cry……

By Hussein Hamid

Death

The dead cannot cry out for justice; it is a duty of the living to do so for them. Lois McMaster Bujold,

When am I going to die? To those that I will leave behind what comfort is there for them in my going? I do not know. But for Teoh Beng Hock those that he left behind can find some comfort in his passing for in death he has achieved what he would find it hard to achieve in living.

They can take comfort because in his dying he has opened our eyes to the unfairness of how our own Government treats its own people. He has opened our heart to allow all Malaysian to stand together to mourn his passing and by so doing we have become stronger and more committed to being one people – all Malaysian.

He has made us promised each other that this time his death will make that difference that will turn Pakatan Rakyat’s struggle from one that was confined to the states of Penang, Kedah, Selangor, Kedah and Kelantan to being a National one – san borders san race san religion. We are one united against a Government that has failed Teoh Beng Hock. That has failed us.

One should not leave this earth with unfinished business. The dead cannot cry out for justice, it is the duty of the living to do so for them. And so my friends we have work to do for Teoh Beng Hock. We begin now.

In any way that we can we must show our anger, our defiance and our disgust at how our Government has chosen to conduct itself.

We have asked them that they no longer continue to govern us as if we are deaf, mute and blind to their excesses. They choose to ignore this.

We ask that they cease and desist from harassing Pakatan Rakyat State Government from doing their duty in the States they were elected to govern. They chose instead to unleash all the instruments of state, The Police, MACC and others at their disposal to constantly harras our elected representative from doing their job.

We ask that they stop cronyism and nepotisms and jobs for the boys. They chose to throw this back in our face by appointing a CJ that certainly does not deserve to be put there and an ambassador to the US that will sooner if not later, be an embarrassment to out nation. In all the things that they do, vested interest and a need to promote their cause rather then that of the nation, has taken precedence.

This Government choses to taunts and provoke our every rational refrain. They will do so at their own costs. We give notice of our intent to no longer ask them to do what we would rather have them do by peaceful means. We will now demand that they do these things that we want them to do. Their failure to do so will be met with our resolve to change, by any means at our disposal, what we cannot do by peaceful means.

The people have the numbers. We have the strength and we have the will to do the necessary. Let not TBH death be one more number of a death in custody. Let his death be the catalyst for change. For a better life for us all. For the removal of UMNO/Barisan from any semblance of leadership of the Malaysian People. Only when that is done is Teoh Beng Hock’s work done. Then he can rest in Peace.

1. #1 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 2:04 pm

Hussein Hamid writes good articles BUT this is all a dream, BN is too deaf and indifferent to care. This is where we are today.

To be frank, TBH caused so much noise because he was a political aide. That is the reason why there was noise. Who made noise for the other 1,500 who have died before him?

How much noise was made for Kugan, how much noise was made for Gunasegeran who died in Sentul police lockup? Hardly anyone, not LKS, not Hadi, not DSAI, not Karpal, not Rayer …

The bells only toll for those who are in the right place and not for the down trodden that pass by unnoticed. It is a joke that Indian MPs did not openly demand for a RC for the death of Kugan and Gunasegeran. TBH was politicised and that is a fact.

Politicians have used the Rakyat on too many occasions. Its time they learn that they serve US the Rakyat.

Hussein Hamid has seemed to forget that many are asking PR to please work together. That they learn not to bicker. That they deliver on their pre-GE12 promises. That they will ensure the voters have a future in Malaysia.

Is that asking too much from PR? When BN is removed who will lead? That irresponsible, deceitful man called DSAI? Karpal Singh? Hadi? Who?

We have 3 reps for each PR cabinet committee. Why? Because there is no real unity … so what options do we have when BN falls?

What I am getting at is DO WE HAVE A REAL OPTION? This is running a nation, not electing for a class monitor. We cannot just change change, this is not masak-masak.

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2009/8/23/nation/20090823125019&sec=nation

So we eventually have Zulkifli Nordin as a Minister? Well done DSAI!!!

http://zul4kulim.blogspot.com/2009/08/biadapnya-pemuda-dap.html

2. #2 by limkamput on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 2:17 pm

Thank you, Hussien Hamid.

3. #3 by ekompute on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 4:09 pm

Rather poetic, but I think Teoh Beng Hock would rather live than die, if only for his parents, his wife and his child. Shall we have a campaign for all bloggers to dedicate their blogs to his memory? Any good artist here that can design a banner that we can all put in our blogs? This way, his memory will live on in cyberspace.

4. #4 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 4:25 pm

ekompute … do we need one for the other 1,500? What about Kugan and Gunasegaran? Maybe we do like a montage …

5. #5 by Lee HS on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 4:30 pm

When the government is acting against the wishes of the minority, it can win. However when it acts against the wishes of the majority, it will not last.

The trouble is Malaysian majority is still blind to what is happening around them. They don’t see justice. The don’t hear cry for justice. They don’t speak for justice. They don’t speak for the welfare of our nation.

We poor minority has to suffer because of this blindness.

The minority has to thank those who have stood against justice for us. We have to thank those who have sacrifice against cruelty for us. And last of all we have to thank those who have died fighting for a better life for us.

When a country goes to the extend of cultivating fears amongst its people, even killing its people, then this country is heading towards an uncivilised and undemocratic culture.

Even now they have resorted to using financial institution such as the bank to harrass political opponent.

We can only wish the majority will wake up one day to see the light of justice. When will that day come?
    It will only come when the majority has turned into more humans like the day when Abraham Lincoln liberalised slaves in the US.

6. #6 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 4:38 pm

“Even now they have resorted to using financial institution such as the bank to harrass political opponent.”

Lee HS you are VERY mistaken, the suit was commenced by Khalid FIRST, the bank counter claimed only. Justice requires that truth be told with facts. :0)

Also, the bank’s lawyer is a good man, Tommy Thomas has always been on the straight and level when he served in the Bar Council.

7. #7 by boh-liao on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 6:17 pm

People die everyday
    Some deaths have repercussions beyond the graves
    Stephen Bantu Biko died on 12 Sept 1977 at the Pretoria prison, South Africa
    The police claimed his death was the result of an extended hunger strike
    How many deaths (during police and MACC custodies) will it take for people in M’sia to say ‘Enough of this nonsense under Umno’?

8. #8 by monsterballssgoh on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 7:52 pm

Malaysians are witnessing unusual deaths with doubts and plenty of suspicions…unfair and unjust conclusions fed to us.
    Strange as it maybe…most unusual deaths…concluded as..suicide deaths are one less vote against UMNO.
    Most strange is still the Mongolian lady…..killing is not enough…..must be C4ed.
    How mad and angry the killers can be and why so?
    Nice to read a post from one that cares..for the unusual dead that cannot tell why so….out of frustrations or being murdered by someone.

9. #9 by ekompute on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 9:02 pm

Lee HS : When the government is acting against the wishes of the minority, it can win. However when it acts against the wishes of the majority, it will not last. The trouble is Malaysian majority is still blind to what is happening around them.

Hahaha, sounds like my MLM solution is the perfect solution to the problem. Word of mouth is the fastest and most effective form of propaganda. As we all know, effective propaganda depends a lot on trust. And relying on relationship and trust, MLM has been misused very successfully by many companies even to sell products whose value is half its price, LOL.

The snowball effect is indeed frightening. When the group reaches a critical size, there is no way stopping. Apart from being able to penetrate a big target audience, the best part of it is that the work is evenly distributed such that each person only needs to spread the word to 6 persons. And with computer technology and Twitter… we can twit until any rogue political party collapse, LOL.

And before SpeakUp ask me, “Have this been done before?” Well, not that I know of. But I know that this has been done in the commercial sector with much success for decades. Hope it answers your question, SpeakUp, LOL.

10. #10 by ekompute on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 9:11 pm

SpeakUp :
    ekompute … do we need one for the other 1,500? What about Kugan and Gunasegaran? Maybe we do like a montage …

Hi SpeakUp, actually I just woke up, figuratively and literally. 1,500? Awww, I thought there was only one, LOL. Well, I believe there are more than 1,500 blogs in Malaysia.

Actually, I intend to dedicate one of my websites, http://malaysian-politics.dummipedia.org to Teoh Beng Hock. Still in the process but should be up in a few days’ time.

I have dedicated my Malay website, http://teknologi-maklumat.com to Datuk Syed Ahmad Idid, the ex-High Court judge who tried to expose corruption in the judiciary but was shot down by Mahathir, the man behind the “Bersih, Cekap, and Amanah” slogan. And Mahathir said in his blog that he doesn’t want to be a hypocrite by saying that he likes criticism. A hypocrite is a hypocrite, whether he says he like criticism or not, LOL.

11. #11 by ekompute on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 9:15 pm

Two links, resulting in moderation… let me split them up into 2 posts:

SpeakUp :

Hi SpeakUp, actually I just woke up, figuratively and literally. 1,500? Awww, I thought there was only one, LOL. Well, I believe there are more than 1,500 blogs in Malaysia.

Actually, I intend to dedicate one of my websites, http://malaysian-politics.dummipedia.org to Teoh Beng Hock. Still in the process but should be up in a few days’ time.

12. #12 by ekompute on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 9:15 pm

I have dedicated my Malay website, http://teknologi-maklumat.com to Datuk Syed Ahmad Idid, the ex-High Court judge who tried to expose corruption in the judiciary but was shot down by Mahathir, the man behind the “Bersih, Cekap, and Amanah” slogan. And Mahathir said in his blog that he doesn’t want to be a hypocrite by saying that he likes criticism. A hypocrite is a hypocrite, whether he says he like criticism or not, LOL.

13. #13 by ekompute on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 9:16 pm

LOL, like that also can!

14. #14 by ekompute on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 9:21 pm

monsterballssgoh :
    Most strange is still the Mongolian lady…..killing is not enough…..must be C4ed.
    How mad and angry the killers can be and why so?

Hi monsterballssgoh, what happened to this incident now? Just get 2 scapegoats and end of story? These 2 low rank officers have no reason to kill that Mongolian lady. Who is the mastermind? Can’t be that the two ikan bilis did the dirty work without any instruction from someone else, right?

15. #15 by raven77 on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 9:33 pm

How can the living defend the dead like Teoh, when there are devils like the Lunas fella, Jelapang prostitutes, etc….

The living may first have to get rid of these ghosts in our midsts…

16. #16 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 10:04 pm

“Lee HS you are VERY mistaken, the suit was commenced by Khalid FIRST, the bank counter claimed only. Justice requires that truth be told with facts.” (Speakup)

Speakup may have his point. Some PKR leaders may be carrying the generational sin from its predecessor party, Umno. Over-gearing in debt financing has always been the bad money-spending habit culture of Umno. Pakatan Rakyat certainly needs some young and brilliant people like LGE or Husam Musa in order to get the coalition out of the financial persecution or political persecution by Umnoputras via the misuse or abuse of government instruments!

17. #17 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 11:21 pm

Politicians must not be in business. It causes problems. Khalid is in litigation over RM66M, is he that rich?

If they are successful as a business person, people say, CORRUPTED. If they fail, people say, USELESS person. Best not to be involved.

18. #18 by ekompute on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 12:48 am

Whatever it is, I still believe that two devils is better than one, and that I will still vote for PR even if it puts up a monkey as a candidate, LOL.

19. #19 by SpeakUp on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 1:10 am

ekompute … Zulkifli Nordin too? Hahahahaa …

20. #20 by ekompute on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 1:33 am

Vote for 2 party-system. Don’t care monkey or dogs, LOL.

21. #21 by ekompute on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 1:35 am

Vote for 2 party-system. Don’t care monkey or pig, LOL.

22. #22 by boh-liao on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 2:04 am

Umno’s proven tactic
    Send MACC hounds after PR politicians with financial and wives problems
    Threaten them with charges
    Pressurise them to jump, with promises to drop charges n enrich them
    Then, hey presto, one by one PR state collapses
    1Corrupted family

23. #23 by jbozz on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 12:10 pm

“The trouble is Malaysian majority is still blind to what is happening around them. They don’t see justice. The don’t hear cry for justice. They don’t speak for justice. They don’t speak for the welfare of our nation.” Quoted

If they do, we will not have to send our childrens overseas, buy hse at 5% more expensive, buy expensive national car, pay more for petrol and privatize land for developer to build expensive home for foreigner not for our own people.