The art of blaming thy neighbours

By Tunku Abdul Aziz

Malaysia is blessed in that there is a law for every situation; you name it and we have it all.

Tragically, the mountains of statutes have done nothing more than to earn for us an international reputation of being an overregulated and an underenforced country, with the usual, predictable consequences.

In short, we have already become a first rate country run, generally speaking, by a third rate one race-dominated public service and who have, by their general attitude to their work, made it impossible for Malaysia to be taken seriously.

We have, at the same time become a reactive, finger-pointing society whenever the inevitable happens. Both on a personal as well as at institutional level, we have developed a propensity for “blame thy neighbour” into a fine art form.

The tragedy is that we Malays have made a virtue of “if it be the will of God” while forgetting, somewhat disingenuously, that God, in His infinite wisdom, “helps those who help themselves”.

It is not unlike some Malays practising polygamy and claiming their rights under Islam while ignoring studiously the very strict injunctions and responsibility that their religion demands of such an undertaking.

I am also reminded of Malays enriching themselves by corrupt means and claiming that it is “redzeki yang diberi oleh Tuhan” or loosely translated “God’s bountiful blessings” and who are they, they claim, or we, for that matter, to question His wisdom and beneficence?

What chance do we ordinary corruption-despising mortals have against those who believe, quite sincerely, that God is really on their side?

Yielding to what we want to believe to be “the inevitable” comes easily to us Malays because it takes responsibility out of our hands, and as a people, we are predisposed to shift responsibility and apportion blame to others.

We find great emotional and psychological comfort that when something goes wrong; we can attribute it all to an act of God, or God’s will.

We are, from birth, intoned to accept the inevitable even though we, through our criminal negligence, inefficiency or plain corrupt practice, allow what is largely preventable.

It is a fact that the vast majority of corruption cases involve Malays in government service and those who contribute to the corruption statistics are generally drawn from the lower ranks of the public service, the underpaid foot soldiers, and never the top dogs.

The Malaysian Anti Corruption Commission, our custodian of all things good and wholesome in public behaviour may want, when they are tired of harassing the Pakatan Rakyat state assemblymen, to tell the world why Federal ministers have generally been left in peace to feather their own nests? And those reports made by the public against them?

To be fair to my own people, we Malays are not congenitally morally or ethically deficient. It would be wrong to suggest that we invented corruption.

The blame must be placed squarely on the improper implementation of the New Economic Policy, which has proven to be a real curse to the poor ordinary Malays.

They find themselves suddenly wielding power over their fellow citizens, and that puts an enormous temptation in their way.

Malays like others with power to abuse as they like can resist most things, but not temptation.

They also know that they operate in a corruption-friendly environment and can get away, literally, with murder.

In the 52 years under the same government, no powerful minister or top bureaucrat for that matter, however corrupt, has ever been put behind bars. This led Tun Dr Mahathir, when he was prime minister, to suggest somewhat cynically as is his trademark that Malaysian ministers were clean.

Using his logic, we must have the cleanest government in the world. We believe him at our peril. The next TI Corruption Perceptions Index will be an interesting barometer of the degree of corruption of Najib and his merry band.

Corruption is not just about money changing hands. Using a government helicopter for party work is abuse of power. That, in plain language, is bending the rules.

Don’t say you have not been warned. – mysinchew.com

1. #1 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 2:11 pm

If only more UMNO politicians have a conscience … actually, if only ALL MALAYSIAN politicians have a conscience. The such articles would not need to be written. But its called being a dreamer …

DSAI is too busy blaming BN (bad neighbour) … LKS is too busy hammering our PM … Hadi is busy promoting what he calls a RELIGIOUSLY INGRAINED society …

Who is busy working for the Rakyat? Who is busy worrying about the Rakyat’s future? Who is sitting down scratching their head trying to keep the nation above water? Who is not sleeping each night trying to figure out how to ensure the poor need not go on only 1 meal a day?

Who?

2. #2 by carboncopy on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 2:28 pm

Who? Definitely not SpeakUp. Busy working as CT for the evil regime.

But I am very sure the ppl who stand up for the rights of ALL Malaysians are the Pakatan Rakyat. DAP and PAS have a long proven record. PKR have taken much beating as well.

3. #3 by k1980 on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 2:33 pm

The various forms of corruption such as ribery, extortion, embezzlement, graft, nepotism and illegal patronage are so common in Bolehland but not in Singapore. This is because Bolehland’s 3 branches of power viz executive, legislative and judiciary have been severely compromised by successive BN administrations.

4. #4 by limkamput on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 2:46 pm

Speakup, don’t act smart here. Obviously you know nothing about constructing an egalitarian society. There are fundamentals that ought to be there and certainly getting rid of endemic corruption is one of them. Your criticisms of opposition leaders are grossly unjustified. If the nation’s resources are poorly managed, if the coffer of government are grossly abused, if corruption are endemic, if incompetency is everywhere through cronyism, nepotism and racism, if power are blatantly abused, then surely the poor like you would only have one meal a day. I would like to help you but then I have no confidence the donations I entrusted through welfare organisations would reach you. Got it?

5. #5 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 2:49 pm

carboncopy … what is a CT, I know its probably another name calling la. Hmmmm … CT …

k1980 … LKY is not a so called democratically clean man. He is a wizard in using the ISA. After that he used defamation suits. He taught all that to DrM. BUT LKY cared for his people. When they were told to sod off, he was left with nothing. He decided to make something out of it.

Look at it today. PM is his son. Family is involved in Temasek … so many issues BUT they all do it for the nation.

Look at Korea … Hyundai was said to be a real crony. Yes, it was funded by the state BUT they ensured that the people benefited from it.

Locally … BN says … KEEP IT ALL TO MYSELF. Hence, the ‘success’ of the NEP.

6. #6 by veddy.lum74 on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 3:20 pm

that’s why in our bolehland,we see multiple standards,not double,correct me if i am wrong:
    a lady model drank some beer that hardly contained 10% of alcohol,and yet she has to be caned for 6 beats!

another racist hero that came from jawa had sucked public money amounted to billion of dollars is scot-free of any crimes that he had done for the past dont know how many years!?

and the most saddened thing is,he has many followers,to name a few,Shariizaat,KJ,Tiong Tai Koh…………………..

tunku aziz,may i ask you,if muslims hate pork and liquor so much,if they hate corruptions as how seriously they hate pork ,gambling and liquor,Malaysia will be a heaven,A HEAVEN THAT WE DO NOT NEED TO WAIT UNTILL WE DIE,RIGHT?

7. #7 by frankyapp on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 3:31 pm

Well Tunku and you guys,the one most important thing I know about GOD is he loves all his children all the time and HIS love is an unending love. We human shouldn’t blame GOD for any misfortune nor we could say it’s GOD given money hence it’s ok to take it.What GOD said was “no work,no food”.

8. #8 by veddy.lum74 on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 3:44 pm

i urge the police officers that were charged corruption before now immediately lodge a police report against Zaahhiid that now openly bribes the permatang kampong forks to vote BeEnd!

MACC,what are you waiting?MOO HEE DIN you dare not touch,what about this Najis’s good assistant,i guarantee that you dare not touch too!if you MACC dont have principles,dissolve it immediately!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

9. #9 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 3:51 pm

frankyapp … God made only 1 ‘mistake’. Giving humans the right of choice. Hahahahaaa … big time mistake.

10. #10 by ekompute on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 3:53 pm

“We have, at the same time become a reactive, finger-pointing society whenever the inevitable happens. Both on a personal as well as at institutional level, we have developed a propensity for “blame thy neighbour” into a fine art form.”

Errrr, Tunku, did you forget that we once had a “Prosper thy neighbour” campaign that was spearheaded by Mahathir, that hypocrite? LOL. “Prosper thy neighbour” is so altruistic that it cannot be believable, unless it comes from God himself. To me, don’t hurt your neighbour is more than enough.

Malaysia is indeed blessed with many natural resources. We have water, palm oil, and even petroleum, amongst many other things. But what do we do with it? We rather throw our water away than give it to Singapore.

Water, as we all know, is a unique resource that one cannot keep and is 100% replenishable. If I were Prime Minister, I would have given them to Singapore for free as a token of friendship.

But what does Mahathir do? He wanted to increase the price because he said Malaysia is losing a lot by charging Singapore only 3 sen. Now, show me the money that Malaysia has earned from the hundreds of other rivers that are discharging into the sea. 1 sen also no! Psst!

11. #11 by frankyapp on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 3:55 pm

Well Veddy,like I just said,GOD loves all his creation human being and animal including pig.Yeah me too would like to ask Tunku why muslims in malaysia take the axception ? Hating corruption,gambling and drinking liquor is ok as these are not GOD’s creation.GOD never said don’t eat pork except don’t eat the apple from the tree in the garden of eden.

12. #12 by ekompute on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 3:56 pm

Prosper thy neighbour, how about prosper my foot?

13. #13 by frankyapp on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 4:01 pm

Hi Speakup,please don’t make fun with GOD,ok.Even if you are an unreligious person,I suggest you abstain from such mocking cause it would reflect it bad on you.

14. #14 by k1980 on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 4:13 pm

Prosper thy neighbour?

Remember Hirohito’s “Greater East Asia Co-prosperity Sphere”? Its aim was to prosper thy neighbour Japan.

15. #15 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 4:17 pm

frankyapp … sorry … I did not mean it in that manner hence I typed ‘mistake’.

Here is a great article, I love it:

http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/25994/84/

I hope there is an awakening withing PR. It will be good if there is!

16. #16 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 4:26 pm

Water, as we all know, is a unique resource that one cannot keep and is 100% replenishable
    Uh no – only in Singapore right? Don’t they call it “New water”? As drunk by the Dalai Lama? A popular pastime where I grew up was “going out on the p155”, but Singapore is better than the UK – no need to even go out, right?

Water is like your bank balance. If you don’t spend money for a long time, one day you look at it and it looks like a lot. You drink like crazy, then one day your bank manager phones and tells you it’s all gone, and suggests you make like the Dalai Lama. Singapore has freshwater inputs from rain, from desalination and from the Malaysian pipe. If their consumption exceeds their supply, they’re in big trouble. Australia is experiencing that, and so are many other countries around the world. Malaysia is very lucky with its water supply, unless you’re in East Malaysia and somebody has effed it up for you.

I think it’s a sad indictment that Singapore and Malaysia are still arguing over water. Isn’t the problem an old contract with an incredibly long validity and no limit on volume? Perhaps we could have an article on that subject again one day. Regardless of who you believe is sprinkling free water on our heads, it’s still not free to ship it to Singapore. It’s an interesting problem.

I think Malaysia is at a watershed. If it wasn’t for East Malaysia at the last election, perhaps we would have been over it and surfing down the other side already. People are coming out onto the streets in large numbers saying “not good enough!”. That is what Malaysia needs more than anything else: people willing to stand up in public and say they want something better, instead of staying at home wondering when somebody is going to give them it, and complaining about those who take it without consideration for others.

17. #17 by ekompute on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 4:49 pm

Truth be said, I also have a tendency to make fun of GOD. The only thing that holds me back is the sensitivity of other people who can forgive GOD for his tidak apa attitude in the face of such gross injustice in this world, not just in Malaysia, where the weak is bullied by the strong.

We readily forgive GOD for everything, even the things that we will never forgive humans… either things that were done, or things that should have been done but were not done. And we rationalize on His behalf. We allow GOD to take His own time to act, but we will complain and complain till kingdom comes if humans take theirs, LOL.

Personally, I think one should not be offended if people use the word, “GOD” because they are not referring to any specific god. As you know, each religion has its own God, and if anyone point to any specific God like Lord Krishna, Jehovah, the Father, Kuan Yin, Tua Pek Kong or whatever, then only should one be offended… after all, freedom of religion also implies the freedom not to believe in any religion, unless we include atheism and agnosticism as a religion.

18. #18 by ekompute on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 4:58 pm

OrangRojak :
    Malaysia is very lucky with its water supply, unless you’re in East Malaysia and somebody has effed it up for you.

When Mahathir complained a lot about losing a lot of money because Malaysia is “undercharging” Singapore, I wonder whether he computed the loss in Johor Bahru due to flash floods. Basement car parks in many shopping complexes flooded, causing all cars parked there to be overhauled. My brother’s house was twice under 6 feet of water in recent years. Insurance companies are paying like hell. Better ask Singapore to quickly come in and take away those excess water. Pay them even, on an as-is basis, LOL.

19. #19 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 5:32 pm

freedom of religion also implies the freedom not to believe in any religion
    I don’t think you have that freedom in Malaysia, do you – the ‘freedom from religion’? The Rukunegara says something about belief in God, doesn’t it? Is the USA still ‘one nation under God’? They don’t have much patience for people claiming not to have one there! This is, for me, the biggest test Anwar has to pass. The BBC got him on video saying “freedom of conscience”, and I’ve never seen him refer to it elsewhere. If he delivers on that one thing, I might even allow him a few detonated ex-mistresses, flying opposition staff and bizarrely over-compensated friends.

20. #20 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 5:35 pm

“Truth be said, I also have a tendency to make fun of GOD. The only thing that holds me back is the sensitivity of other people who can forgive GOD for his tidak apa attitude in the face of such gross injustice in this world, not just in Malaysia, where the weak is bullied by the strong.”

Wait I switch off my modem for a while, don’t want to kena lightning! Hahahahaaha …

21. #21 by Loh on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 6:32 pm

///The blame must be placed squarely on the improper implementation of the New Economic Policy, which has proven to be a real curse to the poor ordinary Malays.///– Tunku Abdul Aziz.

If the implementation stuck to the eradication of poverty, and even if it was less than properly implemented, the amount of money spent by the government would have solved poverty problem in the country, even if only Malay poverty is eradicated. Mahathir stated that if he could make one Malay a millionaire, he would have succeeded in NEP; he ended up distributing billions of state funds to person whom he has chosen to be billionaires or multimillionaires.

///They find themselves suddenly wielding power over their fellow citizens, and that puts an enormous temptation in their way./// — Tunku Abdul Aziz.

That was how UMNO has used the divide and rule technique to perfection, but as a government it kills the nation in the process. UMNO has succeeded to make Malays, the majority at least, consider that even though UMNO leaders are not practising the teaching of Islam, and though they get the lion share of the non-hahal gains through unfair policies, ordinary Malays get to enjoy more benefits than the non-Malays, and that the leaders in UMNO bear the brunt when they meet Allah. That was why UMNO candidates can still get the amount of votes in general and by-elections, even though their misdeeds are known; or are they not widely known?

Mahathir recently said that if poor Malay beggars and low income Malays are the only Malays that remain in the world, then it wouldn’t matter if Malays disappear from this earth altogether. Mahathir thinks that he is as capable as God to decide the fate of Malays, and he chooses to despise those Malays who choose their mix of material and spiritual happiness.

There are people who choose to claim to be Malays to gain the advantage the Malay tag allows him, for example, Mahathir listed his race as Indian why he studied medicine in Singapore. Clearly he is not a Malay, and how can ordinary Malay be proud/or let down to accept him as one? If Mahathir can be called a Malay, then 1.4 billion Muslims around the world can be Malay the moment they establish residence in Malaysia. Why should there be NEP to prepared Malay to be competitive when billion others out there are already very competitive?

22. #22 by monsterballssgoh on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 7:24 pm

Bottom line…UMNO thinks they own Malaysia and we are their subjects.
    They have been voted in for so long….through their smart cunning schemes and empty promises.
    The ones they are fooling most are Malays…..because UMNO under Mahathir make sure..to divide and rule….disuniting Malaysians…to the fullest.
    Unfortunately…quite alot..Malays..love race and religion politics….which is bunkum.
    More and more Malays have open their eyes and minds……mixing and working with other races in the commercial fields….and know UMNO is bunkum…liars and corrupted lot..promising Malays…heaven and hell.
    For that..UMNO broke Allah’s laws…interpreting them to suite their evil agendas..so much so…welknown to be hypocrites…they they ignore this label.
    Majority Malaysians know UMNO is totally insincere…just saying and acting to win votes.
    Judgement days for UMNO will be 13th GE…and tracing all the events after 12th GE….Malaysians are dead set to change the government…with a strong alternative …never had it the past.
    Led by Anwar Ibrahim…..it will be Anwar..UMNO fear most and just look at all the stupid charges hauled at him.
    Malaysians are well prepared to vote for change of government…with our without Anwar..as there are dozens of able leaders in PR…if ever Anwar is not available.
    Now look at UMNO…they have no one that are qualified to even stand for a by-election.
    Najib’s .”1 Malaysia”….which have double meaning..nothing new….if one think smart and carefully understand…will actually make voters run away more from UMNO and BN.
    Malaysians will not buy it….as Malays are not united…….how can UMNO unite all races?

23. #23 by monsterballssgoh on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 7:26 pm

Bottom line…UMNO thinks they own Malaysia and we are their subjects.
    They have been voted in for so long….through their smart cunning schemes and empty promises.
    The ones they are fooling most are Malays…..because UMNO under Mahathir make sure..to divide and rule….disuniting Malaysians…to the fullest.
    Unfortunately…quite alot..Malays..love race and religion politics….which is bunkum.
    More and more Malays have open their eyes and minds……mixing and working with other races in the commercial fields….and know UMNO is bunkum…liars and corrupted lot..promising Malays…heaven and hell.
    For that..UMNO broke Allah’s laws…interpreting them to suite their evil agendas..so much so…welknown to be hypocrites…they they ignore this label.
    Majority Malaysians know UMNO is totally insincere…just saying and acting to win votes.
    Judgement days for UMNO will be 13th GE…and tracing all the events after 12th GE….Malaysians are dead set to change the government…with a strong alternative …never had it the past.
    Led by Anwar Ibrahim…..it will be Anwar..UMNO fear most and just look at all the stupid charges hauled at him.
    Malaysians are well prepared to vote for change of government…with our without Anwar..as there are dozens of able leaders in PR…if ever Anwar is not available.
    Now look at UMNO…they have no one that are qualified to even stand for a by-election.
    Najib’s .”1 Malaysia”….which have double meaning..nothing new….if one think smart and carefully understand…will actually make voters run away more from UMNO and BN.
    Malaysians will not buy it….as Malays are not united…….how can UMNO unite all races?
    UMNO blame everyone for everything.
    UMNO is never wrong.
    UMNO is more perfect than Allah.
    UMNO is a joke!!

24. #24 by Loh on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 8:37 pm

///Kedah Pakatan has been rocked with a defection – Lunas state rep Mohd Radzhi Salleh, who is also an exco member, has quit PKR citing loss of confidence in the party’s leadership///– Malaysiakini

They have certainly lost confidence in PKR leadership in terms of enriching them like UMNO would. Had they remained in UMNO, they would not be selected to stand for any position. Now that they are PKR representatives, they have become more valuable than UMNO ADUNs. It does not take very much to buy off PKR ADUNS, with the assistance of MACC, and what are offered could be more than PKR ADUNS could dream about striking like 4-Ds on every draw. UMNO is now active in buying elected members rather than buying elections.

The people do not have their representatives serving them when UMNO presides over money-politics at elected official level. More former UMNO members now with PKR might be the objects of head hunters. It proves that opposition state governments will not last because UMNO have made Malays either with them or with PAS.

25. #25 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 10:27 pm

“I don’t think you have that freedom in Malaysia, do you – the ‘freedom from religion’?” (OrangRojak)

OrangRojak,
    You are definitely right. When I was in the primary school, the Rukun Negara was begun to be taught to all Malaysians as a measure to reinforce national unity after the May 13 incident 1969. If there was anyone who dared to claim that he/she was an atheist, he/she would most likely be detained under the ISA for the allegation of receiving the Communist influence.

There was a Malay band of heavy-metal musical instruments by the name of Amok. The members of the secular band also do not claim that they are atheist in their pop songs, of which the contents are full of repentance after suffering from chronic drug addiction!

Recently, some religious champions just attempt to restrict the freedom of people in the field of liquor drinking. The Malaysian people are expected to have lesser and lesser freedom from religion as more and more politicians are trying to capitalise on the issue of religiosity of their own kind for their personal political advent! The Malaysian people are caught in the predicament of disillusionment being caused by the difficult choices of secular state or theocracy! While the believers in secular state are relatively liberal, the theocracy proponents sometimes can be too prejudiced to label the atheist as “Communist”! We need to adopt the principle of “Separation of Mosque and State” in order to avoid further entanglement in the unresolvable issues of religious differences!

26. #26 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 11:17 pm

Just as we were in the swing of Rohaizat and his nonsense, there is now fuel for BN’s ailing campaign for Permatang Pasir.

PR is breaking up! Its incapable of handling a government.

This is a great coup for BN to save their face for Permatang Pasir and why not?

How can this happen? Simple. Like I said before DSAI is incompetent. PKR fielded too many amateurs. This is a clear signal that DSAI is truly incompetent. PKR has been causing too many problems for PR, defections … loud mouthed ADUNs or MPs … hot headed reps …

PKR has just handed a great campaign angle to BN in its darkest hour. Does not matter if Rohaizat wins but nonetheless, BN can save some face now.

Kudos Almighty DSAI! The So Called Saviour of Malaysia!!!

27. #27 by ekompute on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 12:42 am

OrangRojak :
    freedom of religion also implies the freedom not to believe in any religion
    I don’t think you have that freedom in Malaysia, do you – the ‘freedom from religion’?

“When it is a question of money, everybody is of the same religion.” — Voltaire

Yes, it does seem like those who profess to be religious are as religious as SpeakUp when it comes to action. It is only when they start to talk that you notice the difference, LOL.

28. #28 by SpeakUp on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 1:05 am

“Yes, it does seem like those who profess to be religious are as religious as SpeakUp when it comes to action.”

Ooooiii … don’t bully me!!!

29. #29 by ekompute on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 1:29 am

SpeakUp, what bully you? I raise you to the level of being very religious, no good meh?

30. #30 by monsterballssgoh on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 5:11 am

The art of blaming thy neighbour is used and taught by Mahathir..for 22 years.
    The art to judge others…when one is most sinful and have no business to judge others…is also shown by Mahathir.
    Such low class political shows are daily performed….effectively pleasing some Malaysians.. ..because Mahathir made sure some Muslims are half past sixes created by him….yet he blame others..doing that.
    As long as you have the son of the devil reincarnated to govern the country…do not expect TRUTHS and DIGNITY are real and sincerely shown by Najib and his band of robbers.

31. #31 by frankyapp on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 6:37 am

Umno leaders past and present disguised as good muslims but taught deviant islamic valves such as corruption as it’s God given money and hence it’s God will ,so it’s ok to take. Though muslims pray five times a day,ironically they fail to see the truth that taking bribe is un-islamic. When they were caught and later discovered they were wrong,they blamed GOD and not themselves.Most of these guys were so arrongant,they didn’t want to admit their greediness but simply made excuses to put the blame on GOD.As long as malays/muslims continue to have this kind of attitude or mentality,given another 50 years,I am afraid,they still need to cry for special rights and protection.

32. #32 by ekompute on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 7:01 am

frankyapp :
    Though muslims pray five times a day,ironically they fail to see the truth that taking bribe is un-islamic.

Sometimes, I really feel puzzled. Praying 5 times a day and still behaving so irreligiously? Is it because 5 times is not enough or because 5 times is too many, so much so they don’t bother to pray? UMNO should commence a Royal Commission of Inquiry to find out the true reason. May be of help to them in winning the next general election if they repent, LOL.

33. #33 by SpeakUp on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 11:11 am

ekompute :
    SpeakUp, what bully you? I raise you to the level of being very religious, no good meh?

I am so touched … I take you for a god dinner ok … when are you free? Sniff sniff …

34. #34 by SpeakUp on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 12:13 pm

35. #35 by frankyapp on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 12:57 pm

Hi ekompute,it’s not five times not enough or too much.The main problem is the prayer recitation is in arabic and most of the congregation just could not understand it.Worst still some misuderstood thinking its Allah will to take,hence you see corruption has been going on non stop .Why wake up Umno,let it continues to urinate ,soil itself and becoming a public nuisance .And when the election comes,we would help to dispose it into the dumptruck.

36. #36 by SpeakUp on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 1:27 pm

frankyapp :
    Hi ekompute,it’s not five times not enough or too much.The main problem is the prayer recitation is in arabic and most of the congregation just could not understand it.

Eeerrr … you mean its parrot ar? Serious? The Quaran says cannot get intoxicated with alcohol because the words prayed will not be understood by the person praying. So how about when they do not understand what they recite? How can it come from the heart?

37. #37 by frankyapp on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 2:09 pm

Yeah you are right speakup,like a kind of parrot repeating. It does not come from the heart,it just comes out from the mouth by heart.

38. #38 by SpeakUp on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 2:24 pm

frankyapp … sad huh? Is it unlawful to pray in Malay? I mean they are fighting for BM to be the one and only language. Then must pray in BM and not Arabic.

39. #39 by ekompute on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 3:26 am

SpeakUp :I am so touched … I take you for a god dinner ok … when are you free? Sniff sniff …

A god dinner? Wheyyyy, want to send me to heaven ar?

40. #40 by ekompute on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 3:36 am

SpeakUp :
    frankyapp … sad huh? Is it unlawful to pray in Malay? I mean they are fighting for BM to be the one and only language. Then must pray in BM and not Arabic.

Now, the puzzle is finally solved. But I understand that the Qur’an cannot be translated into Malay or any other language for fear that the original meaning is lost, contaminated, or misinterpreted.

I have seen the English version of the Qur’an before and it is hard for me to understand even though I think I know English quite well. I would expect that anyone who claims to understand the Qur’an will be quite conversant with the Arab language, but I have yet to come across a Malay who dare to claim that he can understand or speak Arabic. So how do they understand the Qur’an, I wonder.

Maybe UMNO should make the Arabic language the official language of Malaysia, or can we have both? This could possibly save them from the moral decay that is threatening their very survival today.

41. #41 by monsterballssgoh on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 6:12 am

ekompute..his dinner is lots of volka to send you to paradise.
    Speakup simply talk nonsense…most of the time.
    I guess he is most of the time drunk too…having fun to irritate us.

42. #42 by frankyapp on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 6:43 am

Wow ekompute,you are great,thanks for the answer and I really appreciated it pretty much.Well Speakup,I hope ekompute’s answer would satisfy your continueous questioning ,though I think is good.

43. #43 by Loh on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 10:22 am

///Now, the puzzle is finally solved. But I understand that the Qur’an cannot be translated into Malay or any other language for fear that the original meaning is lost, contaminated, or misinterpreted.///– ekomopute

The original idea might be to keep the religion to Arabs or those who know Arabic language.

The prophets did not trust that there can be anybody who can translate it into other language. In that case those who are taught Koran in another language has not basis to claim that they know the religious teaching well. It seems that one can believe all he wants, without knowing the teaching. In fact if translation could distort the teaching, training in any other language would do equal harm.

Arabs own Islam.

44. #44 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 2:49 pm

The Bible was translated so why can’t the Quaran? Guess the 2 factions cannot work together.

If cannot translate then how the h3ck can they preach it in any other language? Cannot trust what! Nonsense la …

ekompute … GOOD dinner la, typo, typo …

45. #45 by ekompute on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 5:33 am

Loh :It seems that one can believe all he wants, without knowing the teaching. In fact if translation could distort the teaching, training in any other language would do equal harm.
    Arabs own Islam.

Does anyone knows whether the revelation was made to the Prophet by way of the Arabic language or through mental imagery? If Allah speaks in Arabic, then the Arabic language must be Allah’s chosen language, in which case, all Muslim countries should treat Arabic as their official language.

46. #46 by ekompute on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 5:43 am

SpeakUp :
    The Bible was translated so why can’t the Quaran? Guess the 2 factions cannot work together.
    If cannot translate then how the h3ck can they preach it in any other language? Cannot trust what! Nonsense la …
    ekompute … GOOD dinner la, typo, typo …

Hi SpeakUp, I guess it is like this. The Qur’an cannot be translated but you can explain what the verses are in another language.

47. #47 by trublumsian on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 6:29 am

maybe i’m missing something so can someone point out to me if the part-time model being sentenced to be caned commited the offense of consuming alcohol during a wrong time or in a wrong place? i mean if all muslims caught drinking are to be caned, isn’t that like EVERYBODY?

48. #48 by frankyapp on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 1:50 am

Hi trublumsian,there’s never be wrong time or wrong place,as muslims you are forbidden to drink or consume alcohol at all time and in all places. I hope you now get it.

49. #49 by frankyapp on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 1:59 am

Oh yeah I wish to add this as well for your info,should this law is pretty strictly enforced,I think there will not be enough canners to can all those offencers. So the pretty model you were referring was pretty unfortunate .

50. #50 by cemerlang on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 7:21 am

Probably it is due to the fact that human beings feel insecured. Who loves to be put in the spotlight and be known for all the wrong reasons ? But who actually know that they are being put in the spotlight ? That is why it is easier finding all the reasons and all the excuses just so that the real motives in the mind are seemingly well hidden. Why did you do this ? Quickly, find a good reason. But actually that good reason is the fault. Blame it on that fault. But the choice is still there. Either admit it or continue giving all the excuses to a seemingly fool. Kamikasi will be the last thing to do because it would be a shameful act.