MACC should explain why it has not started investigations into the corrupt practice of DPM Muhyiddin using RMAF Nuri helicopter to officiate Umno division meetings in Sabah

On Monday, July 27 last month, the former third-highest ranking policeman in the nation, former Commercial Crime Investigation Department Director Datuk Ramli Yussoff was acquitted by the Kota Kinabalu Sessions Court on a charge of corruptly misusing his position in having used a police Cessna Caravan aircraft in June 2007 to survey two plots of land in Lahad Datuk unrelated to his official duties.

If convicted, Ramli is liable to be jailed between 14 days and 20 years and fined a minimum of RM10,000.

The very next day, officials from the Deputy Public Prosecutors office in Kota Kinabalu filed notice of appeal in the High Court against the ruling of the Sessions Court judge Supang Lian that Ramli had no case to answer as the prosecution had failed to establish a prima facie case against him.

I want to ask the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) why it is practicing double standards as it has not even started investigations into the allegation that Deputy Prime Minister, Tan Sri Muhyiddin had corruptly misused his position in having used RMAF Nuri helicopter to officiate Umno division meetings in Sabah last weekend totally unrelated to his official duties.

This came to light when Muhyiddin was involved in an emergency forced landing of a RMAF Nuri helicopter in Tuaran due to bad weather when flying between Kudat and Penampang.

As reported by Star online last Sunday 16th August 2009, Muhyiddin’s entourage took off at about 1.45pm Sunday on the RMAF Nuri from Kudat after officially opening the Umno division meeting there and were heading back to Kota Kinabalu for the Penampang Umno division meeting when the forced landing took place.

If Ramli is indicted for corruptly misusing a police Cessna Caravan aircraft for a purpose totally unrelated to his police duties, why is Muhyiddin spared for similarly misusing a RMAF Nuri helicopter for a purpose totally related to his DPM or even Education Minister’s duties?

Is there one law for the Umno Cabinet Ministers and another law for ordinary people, especially those whom the MACC’s masters in the Umno/Barisan Nasional government want to persecute and victimize?

In the case of Muhyiddin’s abuse of his position in using RMAF Nuri helicopter for Umno party purposes, an official report had already been lodged.

MACC should explain why it has not started investigations into the corrupt practice of DPM Muhyiddin using RMAF Nuri helicopter to officiate Umno division meetings in Sabah last weekend totally unrelated to his official duties.

[Speech at the Pakatan Rakyat Permatang Pasir by-election ceramah at Kg Cross Street, Bukit Mertajam on Friday, 21st August 2009 at 10 pm]

1. #1 by mendela on Saturday, 22 August 2009 - 11:40 am

There were too many fatal accidents involving RMAF Nuris. Din was just test riding the Nuri in order to decide when should RMAF make another arm purchase.

Arm purchase is big business for scUMNOs to get rich, real rich.

2. #2 by SpeakUp on Saturday, 22 August 2009 - 11:41 am

Is that wrong? How can it be wrong? Actually, he was on his way to meet some government officials but on the way he decided to schedule in an UMNO engagement. So nothing wrong one.

Just like Manek Urai, its okay to promise a bridge because that is the truth. Only BN can ensure there will be a bridge if they win. Its being practical … no one will haul DPM up by his belt la.

3. #3 by boh-liao on Saturday, 22 August 2009 - 11:41 am

Ho, ho, ho – what a funny Q LKS asked
    MACC investigates mooheedin?
    Sudah makan tiger’s gall bladder ah?
    U know, i know, we know
    MACC only investigates when commanded to
    Also, investigations macam macam ada
    All directed by mata-mata
    Do this, do that, don’t do this, don’t do that
    All well orchestrated
    That’s why even before an investigation is finished
    Mata-mata chief already knew 50% or 65% completed
    Cos he knew n directed the schedule of investigation
    If an investigation is truly open and to leave no stone unturned
    Mana boleh tahu before hand 70% completed
    Nak tipu pun tak ada style one
    Horse leg sudah exposed lah

4. #4 by dawsheng on Saturday, 22 August 2009 - 12:25 pm

I want to ask the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) why it is practicing double standards as it has not even started investigations into the allegation that Deputy Prime Minister, Tan Sri Muhyiddin had corruptly misused his position in having used RMAF Nuri helicopter to officiate Umno division meetings in Sabah last weekend totally unrelated to his official duties. -LKS

What MACC? Mana Ada Corruption Commission?

5. #5 by yhsiew on Saturday, 22 August 2009 - 12:30 pm

Kit,

You must be joking!

How can MACC officers investigate someone who has command over MACC?!

Don’t you know that no. 1 and no.2 are above the law in this country?

6. #6 by dawsheng on Saturday, 22 August 2009 - 12:35 pm

This came to light when Muhyiddin was involved in an emergency forced landing of a RMAF Nuri helicopter in Tuaran due to bad weather when flying between Kudat and Penampang. – LKS

Caught with the pants down! Why did you do it Muhyiddin? I was flying here and there saving the Malay race says he, and I almost died in a flying coffin.

7. #7 by taiking on Saturday, 22 August 2009 - 12:48 pm

Aiyoh u got lead macc letter or not? Investigate muhideen ah? Wait lah. Wait long long lah. Wait for toyo to orler. Toyo no orler who dare investigate? Aiyah like dat so simple orso dunno ah?

Some peaple hoh say macc letter fake one. I dunno. Lealy one. I dunno. But hoh news all orso control by umno. I orso lealy dunno umno news got fake one or no fake one. All orso good good news only. Cannot be wat. Where got all good good news only. U got believe ah? So I dun believe umno news loh. But hoh then like dat hoh I got no news to lead. So I lead arder news lah. Dat is y hoh I say I think I believe the macc letter. U got unlertand?

8. #8 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 22 August 2009 - 1:02 pm

Muhyiddin Yassin (MY) should just shove it down everybody’s throat:

“Hands off, fellas. This is MY MACC.”

9. #9 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 22 August 2009 - 1:14 pm

Helicopter ride? He nows say he will make Permatang Pasir ‘golden child’.. This is corruption of the same kind – using state assets for party purposes. Its no different. And the amount here is a lot bigger than a helicopter ride…

10. #10 by veddy.lum74 on Saturday, 22 August 2009 - 1:25 pm

moo hee din,

the more you talk,the more you look like a fool,beter act like TS Kah Lid,talk less and do more!

another thng,why so called ‘independent’ SPRM/MACC top guns are always sitting together with UMNO elites for press conferencing???and if MACC top guns dont even know what their staff are doing (related to TBH’s murder),how the hell they are going to know Ronnie’s assistant committed in scandals?

MACC directors,if you ppl hide something related to TBH’s murder,that’s tantamount to misconduct,you all should be prosecuted for corruption too!

MACC,mind your own business(better dissolve it,dont waste tax payers, money to pay wages to all your staff and bias directors!!!!!!!),if you have caught some UMNOputras for corruption and charged them behind bars,ppl would have positive perception on you,but you let go all of them, instead of that ,go full swing against PR leaders,and these are the things that ppl cant tolerate!

11. #11 by newchief on Saturday, 22 August 2009 - 1:30 pm

wake up dap. its pointless to talk about the hopeless macc which in fact is TRAITOR to rakyat!!!

macc CAN’T, WON’T and DON’T DARE TO ACT on those especially in bn’s team. if they do, their conclusion will just be ‘lack of evidence’ so it’s a waste of time and rakyat’s money!!!

wat dap should do is appoint a reliable investisgator to check the dirty money of bn and put a ‘cleverish’ lawyer to handle and charge these people in courts!!! people like zaid ibrahim should head the lawyers panel and let’s see how FAIR is MALAYSIA LAW then not only to the rakyat but to the world too.

12. #12 by BoycottLocalPapers on Saturday, 22 August 2009 - 1:47 pm

TUDM stands for Tentera Udara Dimiliki Muhyiddin

13. #13 by Prasad on Saturday, 22 August 2009 - 2:15 pm

DAP should continue to highlight every corruption case involving BN that MACC has not taken action against. There are so many and for MACC to give out statement they will go after anybody regardless of their political party is total BS.

14. #14 by Leong Yook Kong on Saturday, 22 August 2009 - 2:36 pm

We in MACC Malaysia are not practicing double standards. We are still waiting for instruction from the top whether to commence investigation or not?

There are good and just MACC offiers? These good and just officers dared not reveal their names in the “mystery letter” or “flying letter” for fear of repercussion. Uncle RPK is very understanding.

15. #15 by parajurit sarawak on Saturday, 22 August 2009 - 2:57 pm

Kit,

I think there nothing wrong for Mohideen to use Nuri or even F5E or maybe Naval submarine. He is the 2nd man of Malaysia and has every right to deploy the government asset with his whim and fancies. Because as the 2nd man of Malaysia, all the government assest belongs to his nenek, nenek, nenek, nenek and nenek dia punya.

Even when we were bofore in the Military, for misusing a truck 3 tonner to move our personal belonging from our rented house to military quarters without authority can be court marshalled.

To Military officers, do not follow unlawful orders from politician.

16. #16 by gofortruth on Saturday, 22 August 2009 - 3:14 pm

UMNO is the master of MACC, so naturally they behave like bulldozers!
    We need to have a change of Federal Government in order to clean up this filthy mess!!!!!

17. #17 by ekompute on Saturday, 22 August 2009 - 5:18 pm

“Is there one law for the Umno Cabinet Ministers and another law for ordinary people, especially those whom the MACC’s masters in the Umno/Barisan Nasional government want to persecute and victimize?”

Wake up, wake up, LKS! How is it that you are still asking this question when Mohamed Nazri Abdul Aziz has already made it clear: “UMNO members only have to answer to the disciplinary committee and are punished according to party regulations for party dealings. They have immunity to laws outside the jurisdiction of the party. This is because their actions in the party have nothing to do with the public business.”

In other words, UMNO members are exempted from the law when they are conducting the party’s business, whether legal or illegal. They can be charged only when acting in their personal capacity. In other words, they are accorded the same status as the Sultan, LOL.

And Botak did also explain: “Ahmad Ismail, if you talk about Ahmad Ismail, that too, Ahmad Ismail… because he is a party member, we have taken action as far as the party is concerned and suspended him for three years. So he has been punished in so as far as the party is concerned. Because he is a party member, there is a mechanism, there is a vehicle, for us to punish him. We have done that…”

Botak was implying that once an UMNO member is subjected to UMNO party discipline, he cannot be charged in court or put under ISA as this amounts to double jeopardy. But Tan Hoon Cheng, if you talk about Tan Hoon Cheng, that too, Tan Hoon Cheng… because she is not a party member, the UMNO government has to take action as far as their party is not concerned and put her under ISA.

From the foregoing, it also implies that DAP members cannot be charged in court once they have been subjected to DAP party discipline. Seems like, unlike UMNO, DAP is not doing enough to protect their members by acting swiftly to subject their members to party discipline so as to avoid the law. So who to blame? LOL.

18. #18 by ekompute on Saturday, 22 August 2009 - 5:34 pm

parajurit sarawak :
    Kit,
    To Military officers, do not follow unlawful orders from politician.

Hmmm, Parajurit Sarawak, I think the above statement is not quite correct. You think military officers will follows orders, even lawful ones, from politicians? Well, try asking LKS, Anwar or even UMNO MPs to give them orders, even lawful ones like asking them not to misuse national assets, and see if they will listen?

No, the military officers know who they are dealing with. They don’t see him as a politician. They know that they are dealing with a mafia and if they don’t listen, they will instantly become “retired officers”, no longer “military officers”, the next day.

I believe military officers know their battle well and they must have read Voltaire who in the 18th century said: “It is dangerous to be right when the government is wrong.”

19. #19 by ekompute on Saturday, 22 August 2009 - 5:44 pm

gofortruth :
    UMNO is the master of MACC, so naturally they behave like bulldozers!
    We need to have a change of Federal Government in order to clean up this filthy mess!!!!!

Hahaha… a real-life Animal Farm in the making. We (the animals) drove out Mr Jones (the British) to create a utopia, only to find ourselves in a worser state today than if Mr Jones had been around.

Napoleon (read UMNO) is the main tyrant and villain of Animal Farm (read Malaysia). He begins to gradually build up his power, using puppies (read MACC) he took from their parents, the dogs Jessie and Bluebell (read ACA), and which he raises to be vicious dogs, as his secret police.

20. #20 by SpeakUp on Saturday, 22 August 2009 - 6:02 pm

ekompute … if PR comes into power watch the power struggle within, mark my words. Not only that it will be like the French Revolution, many will be ‘killed’ and it will be considered acceptable. Yes, a new Animal Farm will happen.

To date PR component parties DARE NOT make a formal stand for the Rakyat that they are one. Remember the People’s Declaration before GE12? How much of that came true?

Ask why RPK is frustrated with PR … simple as that.

21. #21 by kampungboy on Saturday, 22 August 2009 - 6:14 pm

Thank you Uncle Lim, I know MACC WILL NOT do any thing on DPM. But at least I know where my vote will go in the next election. May the FORCE be with you Uncle Lim. Keep up the good work.

22. #22 by vengai on Saturday, 22 August 2009 - 6:24 pm

Uncle Kit,
    May be the Malaysian Anti Cows are waiting for the MOOOH Eeee Din (Din Lembu), to purcahse a stronger waist belt before the investigate him.This is new case for them cause MOOOhs use to rope but This Moooh using belt.
    Heeeeeeeeeh Heeeeeeeeeh Heeeeeeeeeeh

23. #23 by ekompute on Saturday, 22 August 2009 - 6:29 pm

SpeakUp :
    ekompute … if PR comes into power watch the power struggle within, mark my words. Not only that it will be like the French Revolution, many will be ‘killed’ and it will be considered acceptable. Yes, a new Animal Farm will happen.

Hi SpeakUp, we are given only a choice between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea. Unless we have another alternative, I will choose the Deep Blue Sea…. who knows, there may be a lucky log floating somewhere that I can hold on to, LOL.

Yes, actually PR is not a coalition but a crowd of three virtual strangers. But let BN take a break for for five years, long enough for them to think (if they have any brains at all). For now, their frame of mind is no different from the gangsters that were so prevalent in the 1960s and 70s) and let them wake up to the fact that even a weak coalition can beat them flat.

24. #24 by ekompute on Saturday, 22 August 2009 - 7:09 pm

SpeakUp : To date PR component parties DARE NOT make a formal stand for the Rakyat that they are one. Remember the People’s Declaration before GE12? How much of that came true? Ask why RPK is frustrated with PR … simple as that.

Hi SpeakUp, I actually want to start a blog on “What if I were Prime Minister” but I am so lethargic… not enough caffeine, LOL.

Actually, I feel that PR must accept the fact that they are a group of 3 parties, with 3 conflicting ideologies. 3 equally strong-headed partners in a marriage of convenience. Once they get what they want, i.e. form the government, yes, I TOTALLY agree with SpeakUp that they will start tearing at each other, leaving no time to govern.

BN is different. BN has only one party, UMNO. The rest are monkeys with no ideology. To them monkeys, they are in for the money. I have never seen people with ideology agreeing with each other among themselves ALL the time except in BN, LOL. And don’t think that is good either. These monkeys either don’t think or they don’t dare to talk because UMNO has put gold bars into their mouths. Once they talk, the bars will drop from their bloody mouths. Is it any wonder why they never talk, LOL.

What then is the solution? Given the circumstances, I think that PR must acknowledge their unique situation. They must turn their differences into strength. Strength in diversity.

If they were to form a government, they should practise 3 ideologies on a state by state basis. PAS can have an Islamic state in the states that they won. DAP can practise their Malaysian Malaysia in the states that they control and likewise, Keadilan can practise BN politics in their own states. This way, the conflicts can be minimized.

But you may say, “How can, one country three system?” Then how can China practise “One country two system” with two conflicting economic systems with such success then? The voters should know who they are electing. If the majority in Kedah wants an Islamic state, let that state be Islamic… what’s the big problem? And if Selangor wants a Malaysian Malaysia, what too is the problem? But if they want another BN-style government, choose Anwar. Then everyone is happy.

Yes, the state becomes more autonomous and the Federal Government becomes weak. So what if overall satisfaction is maximized? Even if Federal Government is reduced to just taking care of national security, I think that is good enough. Indonesia is now giving more autonomy to their provinces.

PR is heading for trouble big time if it refuses to accept that ALL three of its members have conflicting ideologies and that oil and water does not mix. Any attempt to mix oil with water is an exercise in futility.

25. #25 by vsp on Saturday, 22 August 2009 - 8:10 pm

Yea, ekompute, there is sense in what you say.

26. #26 by OrangRojak on Saturday, 22 August 2009 - 8:20 pm

Any attempt to mix oil with water is an exercise in
    making margarine.

Has anybody lodged some sort of official report with MACC over the Muhyiddin Also Catches Choppers case? I assume the lack of one is ample excuse (for MACC) not to start an investigation.

27. #27 by limkamput on Saturday, 22 August 2009 - 11:10 pm

//Has anybody lodged some sort of official report with MACC over the Muhyiddin Also Catches Choppers case? I assume the lack of one is ample excuse (for MACC) not to start an investigation.//

This is our problem; if the intent is not right, nothing will go right. Let me ask you, did anybody make a report against PR so-called misuse of constituency fund in Selangor. How come the investigation was carried out with such zealousness and vengeance? I expect all the bloggers here to be smarter than that.

28. #28 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 12:11 am

ekompute … I get so frustrated when I see PR throwing away a golden opportunity. Also, its so hypocritical … before GE12 they all hug each other so tightly, after GE12, fight fight fight.

Then you have DSAI who misled the people. He can only talk. He is a great actor. Example … one punch and he says he was knocked out till the morning? Wow … even Mike Tyson cannot make that happen! Just like Gobala … Bollywood show.

Anyways, it was someone who is a high ranking member in one of the PR Strange Bedfellows Club that told me if BN falls, there will be an interesting power struggle within PR. Imagine this comes from an ardent serving member.

Even they know it … but so strange how many here an believe DSAI is the Savious, PR is ready to govern, its okay to bicker and sabotage.

29. #29 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 12:41 am

Will there be an article praising the actions of certain EC officials?

http://ckcounterpunch.wordpress.com/2009/08/22/ec-busts-bn-ceramah-for-abuse-of-govt-machinery/

30. #30 by ekompute on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 2:42 am

SpeakUp :
    ekompute … I get so frustrated when I see PR throwing away a golden opportunity. Also, its so hypocritical … before GE12 they all hug each other so tightly, after GE12, fight fight fight.
    Then you have DSAI who misled the people. He can only talk. He is a great actor. Example … one punch and he says he was knocked out till the morning? Wow … even Mike Tyson cannot make that happen! Just like Gobala … Bollywood show.
    Anyways, it was someone who is a high ranking member in one of the PR Strange Bedfellows Club that told me if BN falls, there will be an interesting power struggle within PR. Imagine this comes from an ardent serving member.
    Even they know it … but so strange how many here an believe DSAI is the Savious, PR is ready to govern, its okay to bicker and sabotage.

SpeakUp, don’t be too idealistic. My parents are uneducated but I still admire their wisdom: “Who become government also the same. Who don’t eat money?”

But the question is how much. Now I believe I will not take, unless someone offers me RM10 million. But if they stack RM100,000 in RM50 bills inside a suitcase right in front of me, maybe I also blur liao. Merely offering and actually seeing the money could be different.

We must have an inbuilt system that will have a check and balance and the best I can think of is a two-party system like in America. At least, eat also quietly, not as openly and as arrogantly as what BN is doing now.

I think that the only way for any country to control corruption is not to have a winner-wins-all system. Some departments must always go to the Opposition, the most important of which is the Anti-Corruption Department and the Public Accounts Department.

31. #31 by HJ Angus on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 10:47 am

I agree about creating a 2-party system.
    The rot is too deep and widespread for institutions like the PDRM, the MACC and the Judiciary to be able to keep clear of politics and ensure justice for all Malaysians.
    http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2009/08/malaysiakini-and-untangling-3-deadly.html

32. #32 by veddy.lum74 on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 3:17 pm

that’s why in our bolehland,we see multiple standards,not double,correct me if i am wrong:
    a lady model drank some beer that hardly contained 10% of alcohol,and yet she has to be caned for 6 beats!

another racist hero that came from jawa had sucked public money amounted to billion of dollars is scot-free of any crimes that he had done for the past dont know how many years!?

and the most saddened thing is,he has many followers,to name a few,Shariizaat,KJ,Tiong Tai Koh…………………..

tunku aziz,may i ask you,if muslims hate pork and liquor so much,if they hate corruptions as how seriously they hate pork ,gambling and liquor,Malaysia will be a heaven,A HEAVEN THAT WE DO NOT NEED TO WAIT UNTILL WE DIE,RIGHT?

33. #33 by GilaPolitic on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 10:58 pm

A corrupt practice of DPM Muhyiddin for using RMAF Nuri helicopter to officiate Umno division meetings in Sabah is indeed shown an UMNO leadership by bad example to all Malaysians and witnessed by world communities today.

Bravo ! Education Minister is above Malaysian Law with his arrogant remark – “He is not sacred” ! What a shameful statement from DPM?