Musa Hassan wreaking personal vengeance against me and other Pakatan Rakyat leaders for the Parliamentary Roundtable last week calling for a new IGP to create a safe Malaysia

I come straight from Kuala Lumpur where this afternoon tens of thousands of Malaysians of all races participated peacefully in a mammoth gathering to demand the repeal of draconian laws, in particular the infamous Internal Security Act (ISA).

For the first time in 43 years in politics under six Prime Ministers from Bapa Malaysia Tunku Abdul Rahman, Tun Razak, Tun Hussein, Tun Mahathir, Tun Abdullah and Datuk Seri Najib Razak, I experienced first-hand today the indiscriminate police use of tear gas and its corrosive effects.

Is this an indication that the Najib premiership is going to be the most draconian of all Prime Ministers since Merdeka in 1957?

It was clear that the cause of breach of peace and public disorder in Kuala Lumpur today was not the peaceful tens of thousands of Malaysians who merely wanted to send a clear and unmistakable message to the Prime Minister that draconian laws like the ISA must be removed from the statute books, but the police who indiscriminately fired tear gas and chemically-laced water cannons at the peaceful masses, in utter disregard of human rights of Malaysians to freedom of speech, expression and assembly.

The police has announced that a total of 438 people had been arrested including 37 women and 38 juveniles.

This is a great shame to the police and the new Home Minister, Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein as they had outdone the black chapter of the May 7 Day of Infamy in the Perak illegal power grab, where the legitimate Perak Speaker V. Sivakumar in Speaker’s robe and Speaker’s chair was physically dragged of the Perak State Assembly, with mass arrests of 64 people on that day.

They have even outdone the notorious Operation Lalang mass arrests in October 1957 when 107 people were detained under the crackdown.

But the P:olice want to do even more.

The Police have announced that they are looking for me and other Pakatan Rakyat leaders like Parliamentary Opposition Leader and PKR chief, Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim and PAS President, Datuk Seri Hadi Awang.

Clearly, the Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan is wreaking his personal vengeance against me and other Pakatan Rakyat leaders as last week I had convened on behalf of Pakatan Rakyat a Parliamentary Roundtable which resolved, with the unanimous support of PR MPs and NGO representatives who attended, that Malaysia needs a new IGP to create a safe Malaysia and demanded that Musa Hassan should not be given a second renewal of term of service as IGP in September.

(Speech by DAP Parliamentary Leader and MP for Ipoh Timor Lim Kit Siang at DAP Kuantan DAP Branch dinner in Kuantan on Saturday, 1st August 2009)

1. #1 by yhsiew on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 8:34 am

Kit,

Make full use of what happened at the rally for the up-coming 8th by-election in Penang. Show videos and photos to the electorate of the by-election to warn them of police brutality (PAS lawmaker Hatta Ramli was beaten) and the oppressive ISA which Nazri had declared to be a permanent feature of the BN governance.

2. #2 by yhsiew on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 8:42 am

Musa Hassan’s vengeance against you and other PR leaders was palpable when the police allowed a pro-ISA to hand the petition to the King but disallowed anti-ISA protesters to do so.

3. #3 by yhsiew on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 8:44 am

Oop!

allowed a pro-ISA should be allowed a pro-ISA DEMONSTRATOR.

4. #4 by c730427 on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 8:53 am

Uncle Kit,

You scratch his back, now he wants to scratch yours.

We the Rakyat will support all the people of Pakatan!!!

5. #5 by mendela on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 8:54 am

Najib spent RM20 M of our hard-earned money on a foreign PR firm to boost his image.

Yesterday crude treatment of the peaceful demostrators was shown in all world media from Japan to Germany to America!

Wow, our money well spent!

6. #6 by Joshua on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 9:25 am

call for RCI over POlice Reports as NFA

http://malaysia-police-reports.blogspot.com/

pw: wow reunions

7. #7 by ctc537 on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 9:30 am

The people are becoming more and more aware of their rights. If the government continues to refuse to listen to the voices of the people, then the likelihood of it being rejected by the voters in the next GE is becoming greater by the day.
    Malaysians are not so ignorant nowaday. They know why the BN government wants to retain the ISA and other unfair laws. Hope the IGP should be honest enough to evaluate himself, and if he finds that he is incompetent, then he should gracefully allows someone one more competent to take over la.

8. #8 by bennylohstocks on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 9:36 am

20,000 anti vs 1pro? Minority imposing on majority (AKJ fella said). That’s an easy problem to solve- detain the lone pro guy and his family members. All this guy needs is this right.

9. #9 by yhsiew on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 9:45 am

An iron fist in a velvet glove – this is how the recently defected politician, Chua Jui Meng, described Najib’s administration.

10. #10 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 10:05 am

do you mean he is worst than the worst dictator in Asian history – Marcos?

11. #11 by yhsiew on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 10:12 am

KUALA LUMPUR, Aug 1 — Police have crushed an anti-ISA rally……ALLOWING a pro-ISA activist through to the Istana Negara
    =========================================

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/33916-helter-skelter-as-police-crush-protest

12. #12 by Loh on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 10:27 am

Najib said that there was no need to march because the government is taking action to review the Act. Najib has missed an opportunity to show that he practise democracy, and accept the right of citizens to express their wishes. He should have told his cousin, if he did not know the role of police in such procession, to facilitate public rights to protest. Why not allow people to walk since the government is doing what the people ask for?

13. #13 by a2a on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 10:39 am

Why don’t the pro-ISA detain under ISA?

At least, allow them to understand how it is to get detain under ISA, later they can more interest to be pro-ISA.

Anti-ISA give the police pro-ISA list so the pro-ISA can allow them be more interest be pro-ISA.

14. #14 by HJ Angus on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 10:46 am

It is unfortunate that the Palace officials agreed to accept the petition of the pro-ISA group.
    It would seem that the Royalty is taking sides and that is not a healthy position.
    Meanwhile it seems that the mingling of the police with the demonstrators is a sign of what the 1Malaysia concept entails!
    http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2009/08/malaysiakii-and-how-1malaysia-concept.html

15. #15 by boh-liao on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 10:57 am

Malaysia is a member of the United Nations and should practise The Universal Declaration of Human Rights, adopted by the United Nations General Assembly (10 December 1948).
    http://www.un.org/en/documents/udhr/

Article 5: No one shall be subjected to torture or to cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment.

Article 9: No one shall be subjected to arbitrary arrest, detention or exile.

Article 19: Everyone has the right to freedom of opinion and expression; this right includes freedom to hold opinions without interference and to seek, receive and impart information and ideas through any media and regardless of frontiers.

Article 20: (1) Everyone has the right to freedom of peaceful assembly and association.

Why are NR and Umno so repressive? Why command their rottweilers to bite the fingers that feed them?

NR and Umno should have just agreed to allow people to have a peaceful rally and directed the police to assist in crowd and traffic controls before, during, and after the rally (just like what the police always faithfully do in an Umno or BN’s rally). Then, no stress, no anger, no wastage, and no nothing.

Useless, repressive, and draconian leadership.

16. #16 by boh-liao on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 11:04 am

AAB said: Walk with me
    NR also said: Walk with me, one for all and all for one; I want one
    But yesterday NR didn’t walk with people
    NR didn’t like the direction people were walking towards
    NR was walking the opposite direction with nazi

17. #17 by boh-liao on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 11:17 am

Nazi declared: “as long as BN rules, the law stays.”
    Which means no BN, no ISA
    Rakyat should know what to do in the next GE

18. #18 by AtoZ on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 11:19 am

From the usage of those weapons to HARM rakyat—publicly—they lead to clues on how the beautiful A*t*t*y*, capable TBH, and many more innocent people (we all know) were ill-treated, murdered!!??
    You see, in a business org, any chief of dept would seek the consent of the head of the org b4 taking action. Whatmore a country…who do you think must give his/her consent b4 the weapons were used yesterday?Oh…no…the rakyat will suffer.
    Uncle KS Lim, please take care of us and also the good samarithans in PR who are protecting us. God bless you.

19. #19 by k1980 on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 11:23 am

AAB, Naj said: Walk with me

You must learn to read between the words. They actually mean “Walk and you will kena from me”

20. #20 by the reds on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 11:53 am

“Is this an indication that the Najib premiership is going to be the most draconian of all Prime Ministers since Merdeka in 1957?” – Kit
    ————————————–
    Yes, definitely it is! Najib is only holding one-way ticket!

21. #21 by frankyapp on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 12:03 pm

Wow again from me ,one pro ISA and the other anti ISA. Both teams are pretty strong amounting to ten of thousands of demonstrators and protestors but one “kena hamtam” and the other one was given an escort.This was clear evidence that the police under IGP Musa Hassan totally practised descrimination against the opposition PR and its supporters.Here it’s once again proved that the IGP is a tool for Umno/Bn. I hope PR and its supporters will continue to keep the fire burning against its political foes until it burns them(Umno/Bn) to the ground.

22. #22 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 12:05 pm

He is going to try and foolishly so.

The Chinese have a saying. Today is NOT like the golden yesterdays..

Najib’s ‘iron fist in velvet glove’ is more velvet than pure iron. He does not have it in him and if he tries, he screws up just like he screwed up with scorpion submarine, Altantuya, etc..

Sooner or later he will screw up so bad, he is going to fall. Let me take out his pig iron fist, and let Malaysian show him, we are made of sterner stuff…

23. #23 by boh-liao on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 1:10 pm

Siapa faithful to Umno/BN and served Umno/BN’s needs, his contract will be renewed in September.
    So obvious, no?
    All of us can do nothing.
    As nazi always said: u no like, disappear lah.

24. #24 by k1980 on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 1:14 pm

And while tens of thousands of Malaysians of all races participated peacefully in a mammoth gathering to demand the repeal of the infamous Internal Security Act, the MIC and sami vell are begging the Penang State govt to sell Kg Buah Pala to them for RM3.20sen

25. #25 by ekompute on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 1:23 pm

LKS, make sure you don’t end up like Teoh, otherwise democracy in Malaysia also kaput. Bring your lawyer along… Better still, take refuge inside an Embassy. You can’t trust the police these days… no different from criminals, the way I see them. Remember the IGP who gave the ex-Deputy Prime Minister black eye. This one may be no different.

26. #26 by a2a on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 1:26 pm

Anyway to destroy UMNO.

Yes, it is their blood, their blood is CORRUPTION, their core is CORRUPTION.

They can’t live without a CORRUPTION, they cant live without their blood(CORRUPTION).

Their core is CORRUPTION), they can’t live without it.

Explain with proof to Malaysians.

27. #27 by ekompute on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 1:49 pm

This review of the ISA is merely an eyewash. ISA is what keeps UMNO in power. It is UMNO’s life line, so you think they will abolish it? To do so will be suicidal, and they know it too well.

28. #28 by imranj78 on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 2:20 pm

DS Najib and the the government are already in the midst of reviewing the ISA. Then why the need for the demonstration? What point is PR trying to make?

Obviously this is a cheap publicity stunt that PR is pulling in trying to shore up its waning support among the people. It is obvious that PR is worried and trying to deflect attention from their own interal issues. Now if your publicity stunts don’t affect others, fine. But your selfish stunt caused trouble and misery to so many other people in KL at that time!! Is this the mentality of a government in waiting??? I shudder to think of such people in power!! Not that I think the people at power now is so great, but it doesn’t seem that PR is projecting itself as a viable alternative!

Come on PR/DAP, do something constructive!! Malaysians are looking forward to a truly two party system. What I see so far from PR is disheartening!!

29. #29 by dawsheng on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 2:55 pm

Obviously this is a cheap publicity stunt that PR is pulling in trying to shore up its waning support among the people. – imranj78

You also said the demonstration was a selfish act and caused trouble and misery to many people, so how is that it became a cheap publicity stunt to gain support?

30. #30 by dawsheng on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 3:06 pm

It is obvious that PR is worried and trying to deflect attention from their own interal issues. – imranj78

Care to elaborate? By your account the cause and action cannot hold water. You said PR is worried and they have internal issues, and to deflect they cooperate to do a demonstration? Please write something convincing so I can believe you.

31. #31 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 3:35 pm

1 person handing in a petition is not an UNLAWFUL GATHERING. Hell, we can even get 2 more friends and its still ok.

The pro-ISA guys NEVER planned for a march, they said to instigate the anti-ISA people. Foolishly, some fell for it by calling more to come out.

You see, BN is not dumb, no one cares at the end of the day. If they really did you would have 100,000 on the streets. There was about 20K only. So what does this prove? 20,000 out of millions living in KL?

Time to stop all such nonsense and finish the job off in GE13. I think its time to strategise to be successful in GE13 and not all this politician martyrdom.

32. #32 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 4:29 pm

OK, that’s one for SpeakUp, 2 if we count imranj78 as agreeing. Anybody else?
    So what does this prove?
    There’s no ‘proof’ in democracy, only counting and apathy. Malaysians are mostly apathetic. 20,000 went to a protest. You and imranj78 wrote dissenting views on a blog. I don’t think it proves anything. You?

33. #33 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 4:47 pm

Orang Rojak … yes I disagree with the protest and I have stated why with an alternative solution. Note that 20,000 protesters have proven nothing.

Last year 50,000 also got nothing accomplished. HINDRAF had about 30,000 so they say and look at HINDRAF today.

So let me know the actual accomplishments of the street protests … I am keen to listen to it.

In short what I say is, DO NOT PLAY into the hands of the politicians, not those from BN or those like DSAI!

Let me put it this way. DSAI knows how to gain sympathy. LKS has been held under ISA, LGE also (this man sat in jail for trying to speak for a 16 year old girl), Karpal too … but they all were not good at their PR. So not deemed as heroes unlike DSAI.

DSAI got punched once and he says he was knocked out till the next morning. Wow! What a punch … even Mike Tyson cannot pull such a punch. See … he knows how to use drama. Trust me, he knew how to make that stupid IGP punch him too la. This man is very cunning.

34. #34 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 4:50 pm

Orang Rojak … KL has 7.2 million residents … you had 20,000 on the streets yesterday. So what percentage of the people living in KL is that bearing in mind KL voted PR with resounding results!

Like I say … its food for thought.

35. #35 by limkamput on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 5:14 pm

imranj78 :DS Najib and the the government are already in the midst of reviewing the ISA. Then why the need for the demonstration? What point is PR trying to make?
    Obviously this is a cheap publicity stunt that PR is pulling in trying to shore up its waning support among the people. It is obvious that PR is worried and trying to deflect attention from their own interal issues. Now if your publicity stunts don’t affect others, fine. But your selfish stunt caused trouble and misery to so many other people in KL at that time!! Is this the mentality of a government in waiting??? I shudder to think of such people in power!! Not that I think the people at power now is so great, but it doesn’t seem that PR is projecting itself as a viable alternative!
    Come on PR/DAP, do something constructive!! Malaysians are looking forward to a truly two party system. What I see so far from PR is disheartening!!

The government is always in the midst of doing or reviewing something: toll roads rates, water agreements, APs, IPPs, education, higher education, health care etc. Can you tell me so far what results have we got, imranj78? So also is with this ISA review – may I know what hope can we expect if past behavior is to be judged?
    Let me tell you this, even if PR used the demonstration to galvanize support, it was within the rights of a democratic society which we the people must constantly inculcate and promote. If this generation knows not what democracy is all about, believe me, the next generation will only know closed society and dictatorship.
    Second, you talk about the inconvenience the demonstration caused others. Let’s be fair here, who was the one causing inconvenience here? If the demonstrators were allowed to assemble peacefully and finished with what they set out to do, which is to hand over a petition to the King, I think the whole process could be over in less than 2 hours. This is not to be. The authority must show total intolerance and started to block roads even the night before. D S Naj!b tried he level best to nurture goodwill among the people of Malaysia but the action of the police was in total contrary to his stated policy.

36. #36 by limkamput on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 5:19 pm

//DSAI got punched once and he says he was knocked out till the next morning. Wow! What a punch … even Mike Tyson cannot pull such a punch. See … he knows how to use drama. Trust me, he knew how to make that stupid IGP punch him too la. This man is very cunning.// loose cannon ball

Do you know what is my wishful thinking now? I wish that someday, you, the loose cannon will suffer the same fate as DSAI and live to tell what you have experienced, you stupid ball.

37. #37 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 5:28 pm

“Do you know what is my wishful thinking now? I wish that someday, you, the loose cannon will suffer the same fate as DSAI and live to tell what you have experienced, you stupid ball.” … ROFL!

38. #38 by limkamput on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 5:30 pm

SpeakUp :Orang Rojak … KL has 7.2 million residents … you had 20,000 on the streets yesterday. So what percentage of the people living in KL is that bearing in mind KL voted PR with resounding results!
    Like I say … its food for thought.

So you want all 7.2 million people (assuming your figure is correct) to be on the street yesterday to prove a point?

Second, even if there were only 500 people turned up yesterday, it was still within their democratic rights to express their views. Didn’t you and your gang keep telling me that? What happened – One standard for you and one standard for others? I don’t call you and your gang nincompoops for nothing.

It proves nothing? If it prove nothing, the authority would have become so agitated.

39. #39 by limkamput on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 5:34 pm

//ROFL!// loose cannon ball

what is wrong with you? why keep doing that all the time, mad already? go tampoi or tanjung rambutan lah.

40. #40 by limkamput on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 5:35 pm

sorry repost:
    It proves nothing? If it prove nothing, the authority would NOT have become so agitated.

41. #41 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 5:35 pm

“So you want all 7.2 million people (assuming your figure is correct) to be on the street yesterday to prove a point? ” – Klong … klong … klong … unable to comprehend …

42. #42 by limkamput on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 5:39 pm

of course, what can we expect from a nincompoop whose only gift is “loud mouthing”. Of course you don’t understand, never expect you to.

43. #43 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 5:58 pm

HJ Angus :
    It is unfortunate that the Palace officials agreed to accept the petition of the pro-ISA group.
    It would seem that the Royalty is taking sides and that is not a healthy position.
    Meanwhile it seems that the mingling of the police with the demonstrators is a sign of what the 1Malaysia concept entails!
    http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2009/08/malaysiakii-and-how-1malaysia-concept.html

Read this:

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2009/8/2/nation/20090802171841&sec=nation

44. #44 by a2a on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 6:33 pm

Don’t comment about the protest if you don’t even have no ball to be among those couraged protester anti-ISA.

Only talk big here but no ball to be among the protester anti-ISA.

45. #45 by a2a on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 6:34 pm

Don’t comment about the protest if you don’t even have a ball to be among those couraged protester anti-ISA.

46. #46 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 6:48 pm

a2a … hahahahaahahaaa … you are one of those who blindly follow. Did I insult the protesters? Did I belittle their courage? Are you incapable to read what is written?

Go and protest more! Go and fulfill DSAI’s aims! Go and let BN clamp down harder and make life more miserable for all in PR. Go play into their hands … see where this leads to … last year’s protests were much bigger but achieved NOTHING.

Really, tell me what did it achieve? I mean real results. Remember before TBH PM got 65% thumbs up la whilst PR was bickering away, arguing and accusing. PR almost bit the dust at Manek Urai … were those all positive results of street protests? Enlighten me please …

47. #47 by a2a on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 7:04 pm

This person really have no ball, indeed.

He talked big only here.

Those have balls they don’t talk much but action.

Ignore this person who have not even a ball.

48. #48 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 7:22 pm

a2a … and its clear, you cannot answer my queries. If we want to talk b@lls then was DSAI with the crowd? Was LKS with the crowd? Was Hadi with the crowd since he instructed PAS members to come out.

Hmmmm … maybe in KL only 20,000 have b@lls. So anyways, let’s not get caught up with petty arguments. Now please tell me how effective have street protests been? I am still waiting. Please enlighten me …

49. #49 by limkamput on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 7:31 pm

//I am still waiting. Please enlighten me …// speakup

No body has to answer you anything because you don’t understand what was stated earlier. It is confirmed you are moron, an obstinate (pigheaded) moron.

50. #50 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 7:35 pm

Consistency … kling klong-kling klong

51. #51 by limkamput on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 8:00 pm

kling klong-kling klong my ass.

you are just a paid blogger who is going to lose your job soon. So pitiful, you can’t do one thing right. If you want to be a saboteur, you must first ask Jeffrey to train you. He has many months of experience now.

52. #52 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 8:39 pm

///you are just a paid blogger who is going to lose your job soon. So pitiful, you can’t do one thing right. If you want to be a saboteur, you must first ask Jeffrey to train you. He has many months of experience now.///- LimKamPut

Those in live in glass houses don’t throw stones. You are the one who is going to lose your job soon. They tell me they didn’t realize they have engaged the services of a dyssocial Sociopath.

53. #53 by limkamput on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 9:13 pm

the great sir jeffrey, what is wrong with you? come on write something substantial, surely not just path here and path there, nincompoop here and nincompoop there. I waiting to read your contributions, come on show me. I did my part as you can see above! Is it because you are still waiting for directives from your pay master? very sad to see a great mind wasted.

54. #54 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 11:08 pm

Okay … listen up now. Name calling, belittling is now considered doing your part as a forumer in this blog! Hear ye hear ye …

Back to topic before I get scolded by another friend. Hehehehee …

Its interesting to see that today’s arrests were reported to be as follows:

400+ – Malays
    3 – Indians
    2 – Chinese
    1 – others

So does it means Malays are totally sick of BN, which is good to show that being anti-ISA and BN is not a racial issue or that Chinese and Indians are backing out. Maybe the Chinese and Indians are just tired of all this? Or Chinese and Indians do not care anymore? I really wonder what it means … any opinons?

55. #55 by imranj78 on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 11:35 pm

It is obvious that PR is worried and trying to deflect attention from their own interal issues. – imranj78

Care to elaborate? By your account the cause and action cannot hold water. You said PR is worried and they have internal issues, and to deflect they cooperate to do a demonstration? Please write something convincing so I can believe you. – dawsheng

dawsheng,
    cooperation to do a demonstration is easy enough. but the internal issues within PR is more fundamental in nature then just superficial matters like organizing a cheap, political demo! I’ll believe that PR has no internal issues if they come out and agree on matters such as: Is PR working for a secular state or not? What is PR’s views on NEP? What is PR’s view on PPSMI? What is PR’s view on religious conversion issues? If PR can come out with a strong, common statement to the above then I’ll believe there are no internal issues. And please no superficial general answer and the all so common statement `we agree to disagree’. How does PR intend to govern the country (if it ever)? By agreeing to disagreeing??!?!?!

limkamput,
    Yes many items are under review and ISA is just one of them. But at least lets see what the government has in store for the ISA before you start protesting!! What’s the point protesting on an item that is under review any way?!?! If the results are out and you’re not happy, THEN take the appropriate measures to escalate your concerns! Don’t jump the gun just because you’re looking for a cheap publicity stunt!

56. #56 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 11:52 pm

“dawsheng,
    cooperation to do a demonstration is easy enough. but the internal issues within PR is more fundamental in nature then just superficial matters like organizing a cheap, political demo! I’ll believe that PR has no internal issues if they come out and agree on matters such as: Is PR working for a secular state or not? What is PR’s views on NEP? What is PR’s view on PPSMI? What is PR’s view on religious conversion issues? If PR can come out with a strong, common statement to the above then I’ll believe there are no internal issues. And please no superficial general answer and the all so common statement `we agree to disagree’. How does PR intend to govern the country (if it ever)? By agreeing to disagreeing??!?!?!”

Imranj78 … you are not allowed to make such comments. There is no dissent withing PR (despite LKS and LGE and RPK and many more saying there are). There is no crack and its all just spun up by BN controlled media ok. The beauty of PR is that they are allowed to openly disagree (despite it being actually a bicker). Many forumers says its healthy to bicker openly unlike in BN where you are not allowed to do it.

p.s. its actually pretty hard to organise cheap publicity stunts. Many SMS and calls have to be sent out to make sure that the participants know how to avoid the authorities from the start.

57. #57 by dawsheng on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 12:59 am

cooperation to do a demonstration is easy enough. but the internal issues within PR is more fundamental in nature then just superficial matters like organizing a cheap, political demo! – imranj78

Isn’t agreeing on abolishment of ISA a fundamental in nature?

58. #58 by dawsheng on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 1:12 am

Is PR working for a secular state or not? What is PR’s views on NEP? What is PR’s view on PPSMI? What is PR’s view on religious conversion issues? – Imranj78

And because PR cannot answer these questions and to deflect they organized a demo to abolish ISA for cheap publicity?

59. #59 by dawsheng on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 1:26 am

And please no superficial general answer and the all so common statement `we agree to disagree’. How does PR intend to govern the country (if it ever)? By agreeing to disagreeing??!?!?!” – Imranj78

What? By turning Malaysia into a communist country?

60. #60 by Sagaladoola on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 1:51 am

My writing on this issue :

Bernama News on Losses Due to Anti-ISA Protests

http://sagaladoola.blogspot.com/2009/08/bernama-news-on-losses-due-to-anti-isa.html

61. #61 by Onlooker Politics on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 3:13 am

“What’s the point protesting on an item that is under review any way?!?! If the results are out and you’re not happy, THEN take the appropriate measures to escalate your concerns!” (imranj78)

imranj78,
    Frankly speaking, I do not see the protest as simple as protesting on an item that is under review. I see it as one important first step to overthrow Barisan Nasional Government which has implemented the disctatorial Umnoputraism for the past 52 years in Malaysia.

I used to be detained by the Police under the ISA and I knew very well how tyrannic the ISA could be. Several thousands of Malaysians who were born with natural sense of good conscience had been detained under the ISA simply because they walked on the street in order to voice out their discontent about the implementation of Umnoputraism – the unfair practice of robbing the poor in Malaysia to help the rich even getting much richer through the unfair distribution of the national wealth.

The ISA is the protection umbrella for Umnoputra to rob the Malaysian people of their equal share of the national wealth — via the means of corruption method called project upfront money, via the means of theft by giving out timber concessions to cronies and allowing the cronies to steal the timbers from the statutory declared permanent reserved jungle, and also via the means of siphoning out the National Wealth, especially the Petronas money, with the establishment of National Business Failure Bail-out Funds such as Dana Harta and Dana Modal and also with the project approval and financial indemnification given to the money-siphoning project such as Port Klang Free Zone project in order to bail out the bankrupt businesses of Umnoputras, including those businesses owned and operated by the greedy sons of Dr. Mahathir, the prodigal son of Dr. Ling Liong Sik and the business gang of Samy Vellu.

There is not even one single good reason which may justify the continuance of the nuisance of the ISA. The ISA should be totally repealled with immediate effect without further delay. Otherwise, Barisan Nasional Government should be overthrown by all means without dilly dally hesitation!

62. #62 by Jeffrey on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 3:37 am

“I did my part as you can see above!” Hear ye hear ye, yes, by calling names “saboteur” and “paid blogger”? He is a hypocrite who professes exactly the opposite of what he practises.

63. #63 by Jaswant on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 4:08 am

“(to limkamput) Don’t jump the gun just because you’re looking for a cheap publicity stunt!” imranj78

Cheap publicity stunt?? Well, that too. But apart from suffering from bouts of paranoid schizophrenia (which earned him the title ‘Sicko’) during which voices in his head tell him that he is Prime Minister, he is also the most popular blogger in Malay Street. It is so popular that he says he has to close it down. He says you would have to pay to get in. Those are his own words.

http://limkamput-nincompoop.blogspot.com/

64. #64 by ekompute on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 4:10 am

imranj78 :
    DS Najib and the the government are already in the midst of reviewing the ISA. Then why the need for the demonstration? What point is PR trying to make?
    Obviously this is a cheap publicity stunt that PR is pulling in trying to shore up its waning support among the people….

Hi imranj78, obviously most of us missed the point. I had the same opinion as you earlier and was also wondering why they need to demonstrate. The truth is these people are asking for the ISA to be abolished but the government has said that they will never abolish the ISA. To me, the review is just some window-dressing to pull wool over the eyes of the public. UMNO needs ISA to survive, especially these days when their popularity is so low. Get it?

65. #65 by ekompute on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 4:31 am

I was surprised to bump into Bernama’s article: “Islam A Fair And Tolerant Religion: Najib” at http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v5/newsindex.php?id=358985

Najib sounds very sedate and understanding… the only problem is he doesn’t seem to walk his talk… that is the only problem I find with that article. Everything he says there, I truly admire, but and that is a very big BUT… is ISA and Ketuanan Melayu consistent with Islam as he sees it? I guess he is saying like what the proverbial doctor says, “Do what I say, but don’t do what I do.” When he lose his post, come the next general election, I am sure he will fight for ISA to be abolished, like what Toon Abdullah Badawi is talking now when he no longer has power to do it. Talk for what, Toon? Better you shut up cos we know you only talk. When you got a chance to do it, you not only didn’t do but talk the opposite. Talk hen for wat?

66. #66 by ekompute on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 7:19 am

Onlooker Politics says: “The ISA is the protection umbrella for Umnoputra to rob the Malaysian people of their equal share of the national wealth.”

I was wondering why the Malays never request for a full accounting of the performance of the NEP. Looking back at the Mahathir era, it seems that the redistribution of wealth is not so much for the Malays but IN THE NAME of the Malays! There is seemingly a deep disparity in wealth between the Malays who are members of UMNO and those who are not. Well, one may say, “You deserve it then because you don’t join us.” But stop saying you fight for the Malays then. Say you only fight for UMNO members, if that is truly the case. For to fight for the Malays means just that… all Malays, irrespective of whether they are UMNO members or not. But even then, UMNO members have lamented to me… the top guys eat all the meat and left us the bones, LOL. Very soon, we will need an exercise to redistribute the wealth within the Malay community. What is achieving the target, or 20% as claimed (although I doubt the figure), when the wealth goes into the pockets of a handful of individuals. We can start with the Mahathir family’s billions and then on to Tun Daim, and the rest of the gunghos.

67. #67 by taiking on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 8:55 am

ISA under review so why protest? This is the question. But the purpose of the protest is to bring home the point that voters do not want the isa at all. Voters want the act abolished altogether. If the Act still exist albeit after review and amendments, it would be susceptible to abuse and misuse by the umno gobermen. Even adding an all embracing qualification to the Act (by way of amendment) to the effect that “Political dissent in any manner or form shall be excluded from the operation of this Act” will not prevent misuse and abuse by the umno gobermen.

ekompute said above: “There is seemingly a deep disparity in wealth between the Malays who are members of UMNO and those who are not.” Umno has a membership of 3 million. And not all of them are wealthy. The wealth disparity exist even inside umno and among its 3m members. Really, only those who made it to the rank of umnoputras are wealthy. And the door to that rank is as good as shut. It is now a truly super elite club where its members interbreed. Therefore the rest of umno members are still as poor as they come.

68. #68 by Jaswant on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 10:04 am

“There is seemingly a deep disparity in wealth between the Malays who are members of UMNO and those who are not.”

That cannot be true.

Limkamput himself a Malay now retired from government service after serving some twenty plus years, has his education in the U.S. at a community college funded by taxpayer money. He is not even an UMNO member – at least that’s what he says.

69. #69 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 10:30 am

/// #1 by Jeffrey on August 2nd, 2009 20:39
    Those in live in glass houses don’t throw stones. ///

Jeff – just to add to the saying – they should not make love without drawing the curtain…

70. #70 by SpeakUp on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 10:46 am

TheWrathOfGrapes :
    /// #1 by Jeffrey on August 2nd, 2009 20:39
    Those in live in glass houses don’t throw stones. ///
    Jeff – just to add to the saying – they should not make love without drawing the curtain…

HAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAAAAA … BUT maybe he is an EXHIBITIONIST!

71. #71 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 11:47 am

No body will fight for anything when Malaysia is a bankrupt country!!!

72. #72 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 11:52 am

Musa Hassan and Krismudin will justify for buying bigger and better water cannon and tear gas and to increase the no. of FRU personnels as they failed to arrest all the demonstrators!!! The ratio will be 1 police personel to 1 demostrator!!! More money more money!!!

73. #73 by Jeffrey on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 12:08 pm

“HAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAAAAA … BUT maybe he is an EXHIBITIONIST!” – SpeakUp on August 3rd, 2009 10:46

Or maybe he makes love to himself and is ashamed of “self-love”!

74. #74 by Jeffrey on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 12:09 pm

Or shall I say proud of self love – whichever.

75. #75 by OrangRojak on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 1:27 pm

Lately he has seemed far too angry to be enjoying self love worthy of pride. Perhaps this is an ideal easy first problem for a PR public information leaflet to tackle? ‘Low hanging fruit’ as it were.

76. #76 by zheng on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 7:03 pm

I think the police forces and many of government agency nowadays are become weapons of Umno. The police are not belongs to malaysian whos’ main task is keep the country safe and peaceful for all malaysian. Rather, the police had been used frequently by UMNO and other BN parties to fight the political enenemies. Not just the IGP should changed. The BN government should changed in the coming general election too. all brothers and sisters here……let us all stay unite together to topple this hopeless government in the coming general election.If succeed…..I hope our honorable YB Lim Kit Siang can become our very 1st chinese DPM in Malaysia.