IGP Musa – play hardball with murderers, robbers, rapists, Ah Longs and gangsters but not with teenagers and peaceful, patriotic advocates for abolition of ISA

The four-day remand of 16-year-old Faizudin Hamzah who was arrested in yesterday’s anti-Internal Security Act (ISA) for four days is outrageous, deplorable and underlines the biggest human rights problem in Malaysia – that the greatest violaters of human rights are often the police and the law enforcement agencies.

It is very clear from yesterday’s proceedings that it was the police and not the peaceful and patriotic advocates for abolition of ISA who provoked breaches of peace and created disorder, precipitated by the indiscriminate police firing of tear gas and chemically-laced water cannon on all and sundry.

The Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan must be told in no uncertain terms by the Cabinet on Wednesday – play hardball with murderers, robbers, rapists, Ah Longs and gangsters but not with teenagers and peaceful, patriotic advocates for abolition of ISA.

Otherwise, the entire Cabinet must bear responsibility for the IGP playing hardball with teenagers and patriotic Malaysians who peacefully advocated removal of draconian laws like the ISA instead of with hard-core criminals.

There can be no justification for the arrest and another four-day remand for Faizudin Hamzah or the indiscriminate mass arrest of 589 persons including 44 women and 40 underaged in yesterday’s peaceful gathering in Kuala Lumpur of tens of thousands of Malaysians for the abolition of ISA.

The Home Minister, Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein should see to it that all those arrested, including all women and underaged, are released today or he would be failing in his duty as Police Minister.

Suhakam – the Human Rights Commission – should convene an emergency meeting to hold a public inquiry into the gross human rights abuses by IGP Musa in orchestrating the latest blot on the human rights record of the Malaysian police, with 5,000-police personnel mobilized against defenceless, peaceful and patriotic Malaysians who want a better, safer and more democratic Malaysia instead of being used to fight and arrest criminals to keep the streets, public places and the privacy of homes safe for Malaysians, tourists and investors.

The Suhakam Commissioners should not fail in their statutory duty to protect and promote human rights. They cannot remain mute and blind to the blatant and systematic police violation of human rights in the Kuala Lumpur streets yesterday – in the full sight of the world!

1. #1 by Joshua on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 4:20 pm

It is also timely the Suhakam bring whatever disputes unresolved for so long to the Courts for decisions and implementation.

Sad, it is just another show piece in Suhakam of whatever people.

pw: Times clouted

2. #2 by yhsiew on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 4:43 pm

The IGP has done great damage to Najib’s image. I am not surprised if Najib is ousted in the 13th General Election.

3. #3 by k1980 on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 4:49 pm

Najib ousted in the 13th General Election? Not if he plays the Ahmedinejad card, where the opposition candidates who get the most votes are declared the losers. And send the Basij militia to beat up the opposition protesters.

4. #4 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 5:00 pm

I wonder who the h3ck was the Magistrate. Also, does the court sit on Saturdays???!!! Amazing this Daing Terpateh Khairi fella. Malaysia Boleh la …

By the way where are the human rights lawyers? Will they file a habeas corpus for the minors on Monday? Did PR not call for minors to stay at home and not join in?

Many forumers were disgusted by HINDRAF always using children, so what does PR do about minors in its own protests?

Maybe you really need to be a member of PR or an assistant to some PR MP or ADUN before there is a huge outcry and call for RCI.

Also, stop blaming the police, we ALL KNOW they are dirty and lapdogs of BN. BUT you also KNOW that they would come down harshly and you know it well so stop blaming them.

Both DSAI and you allowed the people to be sacrificed, why were both of you not in the thick of it? Facing the water canons and chemical spray? Interesting la … very interesting …

Where were the PAS leaders when they called for 1 million members to come out?

5. #5 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 5:03 pm

And can he get all his ‘men’ a uniform? It is vital that persons obstructing and assaulting members of the public in those situations be easily identifiable as police officers.

6. #6 by Richardqed on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 5:11 pm

YB Lim,

Please ensure the young people of Malaysia are all aware of police brutality, and go on a drive to have them register as voters in time to vote out Barisan Nazi and its dogs called the police. Please ensure all members of PKR, Pas and DAP go all out to register voters to fight against Barisan’s phantom voters and voter bribery.

7. #7 by blablowbla on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 5:38 pm

i was at sogo about 12.30pm yesterday,i guess the blue-flers are more than the crowds there,and i notice,quite many of them wearing plain-clothes too!

the blue-flers were really scary,the way they acted was like 911 is hapenning to SOGO!

and the saddest thing is,they are paid by us for their salary and perks!

8. #8 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 5:44 pm

9. #9 by bennylohstocks on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 6:00 pm

10. #10 by wesuffer on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 6:02 pm

cant blame the men in blue, they only obey instructions from top man in blue..
    and the top man in blue is get instruction from somebody too.
    yes, their salary is paid by people tax fund.
    but thats not enough for them to listen to rakyat.
    nasi cant compare to daging ma..

11. #11 by wesuffer on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 6:04 pm

why why why dont want be rally on 31 of august..
    sure no police force interrupted ma.
    cant let rakyat celebrate meh..

12. #12 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 6:05 pm

Its called PEOPLE OF NO CONSCIENCE … if anyone from any side had any we would not be a nation divided.

13. #13 by seaturtle on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 6:35 pm

I have no word to describe except Malaysia is full of NAJIS…

NAJIS is every where… Aiya, busuk! busuk!

They are son of NAJIS…

14. #14 by Callum on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 7:26 pm

Honarable Mr Lim KS, the video clip evidently showed that TBH is beaten to dead. Someone got to be charged and hanged !!

http://advocateviews.blogspot.com/2009/07/replace-macc-with-truly-independent-one.html

15. #15 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 7:34 pm

Callum … of course the authorities will says there are no such police officers, the people are actors and all done on a set. Sigh …

16. #16 by a2a on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 7:36 pm

17. #17 by Callum on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 7:42 pm

If video clip cannot even used it as evidence (just like Lingam case), then what else can be served as evidence ?

The above websites is exploded, cannot access now…..hope that it will not be deleted so soon…..

18. #18 by PureMalaysian on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 7:52 pm

The police cannot come down hard on those Ah Longs and hardcore criminals, simply because

1. they are the the police force’s informers – for all you know!

2. they are the ones who give them big angpows each and every year – do you think the police can survive with their petty payroll?

3. they are just too hard to eradicate – because many big shots are behind those dark forces.

So it is still easier to put their attention on peaceful protesters and those opposition politicians!

19. #19 by ReformMalaysia on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 8:00 pm

THERE GOES THE TAXPAYERS’ MONEY …..

TAXPAYERS do want not pay MACC to murder ‘witness’

TAXPAYERs do not want to pay THE POLICE to be the tool of UMNO -to get rough with people who wanted to have their voice heard in this ‘supposed to be a democratic country’

There are many criminals out there…
    and
    there are many corrupter out there

are the MACC and POLICE doing their jobs competently?

20. #20 by Callum on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 8:10 pm

Citing what Chua Chui Meng said ” A barrel of crude oil supposedly is able to sell at US$100, but the PM can decide how much it can sell it to the local trading company”. This directly telling us the country’s wealth is diverted to their own cronies.

When the government is launching the Amanah Saham Nasional recently, they will suck all the monies out from the public, when the next election comes, even they lose, they already swindled enough money and say bye bye…..only wise people will not consider to invest on this scheme.

21. #22 by freehand68 on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 8:58 pm

Mr. Lim i am worry of your wellbeing seems you go all way out to challenge your nemesis.

22. #23 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 11:02 pm

If that video is real HEADS MUST ROLL!

Trust Chua Jui Men? Oh wow … a man who came out of the store room after GE12 seeing an opportunity, says he will not contest the MCA elections and then does it and loses? Sorry la … he jumped ship because he was promised things by DSAI for sure. Hence, the confidence to say, I prefer to be a Senator.

PKR is taking in all the rubbish from BN. Remember issues with PKR after GE12? ex UMNO members were asking for positions for braving the tear gas and water canons? Leopards do not change their spots.

23. #24 by tenaciousB on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 11:13 pm

chua jui meng is the same as any other, eg:chua soi lek same bunch, once a politician always a politician with an agenda for personal wellbeing, it’s an addiction just like a drug addict.

anyways, the events during the recent peaceful protest doesn’t come as a surpise to me. What can anyone expect of this government, it’s afterall the same BN, just a different penghulu, and the best part is all the misfits, oklah i’ll be more specific the clowns or should i say those who lost and underperformed during the last elections and must i also mention, ‘not popular. booed and were not elected by the majority…guess what got chosen by the PM to head the cabinet..people like sharizat, the ‘keris’ holder(u know who), and many more jokers are in the cabinet..so what can this country expect from a circus…a circus la. Good luck or Migrate or just stay put mind your own business and cari makanla boss. teh tarik satu!

24. #25 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 11:28 pm

“chua jui meng is the same as any other, eg:chua soi lek same bunch, once a politician always a politician with an agenda for personal wellbeing, it’s an addiction just like a drug addict.” – how true how true … once a politician always one.

tenaciousB … many people like Sharizat, she has done a fair amount to be frank. Even with the recent drink & be whipped issue she made her stand clearly, unlike Dr Lo Lo who was too cowardly to. Hahahahaaa …

25. #26 by tenaciousB on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 11:37 pm

Good point ‘speakup’ – many people like Sharizat, she has done a fair amount to be frank. Even with the recent drink and be whipped issue she made her stand clearly.

The fact is, lucky for our friends who are currently overseas, drink as much no officers around or else ken whip! No wonder they tak mahu balik sini, they prefer to pay up their scholarship loans. LOL

26. #27 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 2 August 2009 - 11:45 pm

Don’t start me on scholarship loans and high profile Muslims who drink! I can tell you many many many stories! Sat with them in the same room. Some royalty kids from a certain state are very well known to club and get tipsy in publicly accessible clubs. Nothing new.

For the high profile ones its done openly at events. They are socialites who are always at all the Malaysian Tattler event, room is never kept too bright and camera person knows the drill … never take the wrong picture!

27. #28 by kerishamuddinitis on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 12:27 am

UMNO will never change, ever! And MCA will be as useless as it is now. 1Malaysia is simply UMNOMalaysia. UMNO is simply tightening their stranglehold on this country. They use the police now to suppress and beat down peaceful expressions of discontent. At this rate, they will not hesitate to use the army if they have to. And they continue to lie, using the MSM to spin lies about the abolish-ISA march on Sat. They did the same for the Bersih march. The tsunami 308 has done nothing for change in UNMO. Unless Malays in this country soundly reject UMNO, there’s nothing that can be done to better the future of Malays in this country. They will get what they always got!

28. #29 by gv on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 12:43 am

Uncle Lim,

People has spoken once again that they’re rejecting brutal force and draconian law in malaysia. The change is coming soon and we’re in the transition phase———–selfless + sacrifice is the matra of the day.

29. #30 by Sagaladoola on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 1:50 am

My writing on this issue :

Bernama News on Losses Due to Anti-ISA Protests

http://sagaladoola.blogspot.com/2009/08/bernama-news-on-losses-due-to-anti-isa.html

30. #31 by Onlooker Politics on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 2:34 am

“And can he get all his ‘men’ a uniform? It is vital that persons obstructing and assaulting members of the public in those situations be easily identifiable as police officers.” (OrangRojak)

OrangRojak,
    Your suggestion sounds like a legend which I have heard from my high school teachers many years’ ago. The Police rules and regulations which required the police officers to wear uniform when performing the official duty had ever been implemented in Malaya during the British Colonial Rule. After Malaysia became an independent country from British rule, such wearing uniform requirement rules and regulations had already been abolished. Therefore, your suggestion really sounds like a legend to the young generations of Malaysia.

Can you please elaborate further on the rationale for the Police Officers to wear uniform when carrying out their official duty as the security enforcement officers?

31. #32 by boh-liao on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 2:36 am

During the GE, just during that brief window of fishing or buying of votes, Umno and BN pretended to be humble and asked or threatened for votes
    After the GE, Umno and BN are king and king makers
    Power corrupts; absolute power corrupts absolutely
    The vicious attacks on innocent people and peaceful protesters last Saturday were the masterpiece of Umno and BN – the FRU were their roitweilers, attacked to injure and possibly kill
    How is it that in Malaysia, aspiring to be a developed nation by 2020, its citizens cannot have legal peaceful procession/rally in the 21st Century?
    People in Hong Kong (even Filipino maids working there), Thailand, Taiwan, South Korea, Indonesia, and the Philippines have their rights to hold peaceful procession/rally!
    They have their human rights. What do we have?

32. #33 by ekompute on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 2:47 am

“The Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan must be told in no uncertain terms by the Cabinet on Wednesday – play hardball with murderers, robbers, rapists, Ah Longs and gangsters but not with teenagers and peaceful, patriotic advocates for abolition of ISA.”

Hahaha… talking about our police… they can’t handle murderers, robbers, rapists, Ah Longs and gangsters. So what else can they do but arrest the easier ones, LOL.

33. #34 by ekompute on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 3:02 am

Ever had a robbery at home? Seems like the Malaysian police will only appear long after it is safe to do so, LOL. Would be a disaster if they accidentally meet the robbers halfway, right? Cari makan laaaa, why risk your life and bring misery to your family for such a miserly pay. Better, work hand-in-hand with the criminals, at least they will give you more monthly allowance than what you can ever hope from the government.

One day, I was at the JB Central Police Station waiting for the Inspector to come in. When he finally did come in after an hour or so of waiting, his Sergeant suddenly rushed in. There was much shouting and banging of tables behind closed door. One of the policemen looked embarrassed and told me, “Private matter, they are fighting over one woman,” LOL.

I was at the Johor Bahru Ministry of Trade to lodge a complaint. They didn’t want to take my complaint because they said, “Let’s settle it amicably. I know the boss.” Then he called the boss and laugh and chat like old friends. End of the day, nothing happens. He fixed an appointment for me to see the crook but the crook was not in his office at the appointed time. Seems like the JB Ministry of Trade looks more like the Customer Service Department of that company, LOL. Public servants providing pubic services, that’s what we taxpayers are paying for.

34. #35 by Onlooker Politics on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 3:49 am

The present Minister of Defence, Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, was the victim of the ISA detention in 1998. I wonder what this man is going to say about the repellation of the ISA!

If this man still has the narrow mindset of worrying about the Federal Government to be dominated by the minority groups of Malaysia in the future because of the close relationship between Anwar Ibrahim and Tian Chua and also because of the political link between PKR and DAP, then the narrow-mindedness of his will surely take him to nowhere by making him stuck in the dead-end of the political doom future. Ahmad Zahid Hamidi should stand tall like a man and should not be deceived by the selfish intent of Najib. Najib will never allow Ahmad Zahid Hamidi a chance to rise up to the seat of Deputy Prime Minister after the retirement of Muhyiddin Yassin in the near future. All smooth paths have already been laid for the cousin of Najib, namely Hishammuddin Hussein, to take over Muhyiddin Yassin as the Deputy Prime Minister. Only Anwar Ibrahim is able to make Ahmad Zahid Hamidi’s dream come true – to become the Prime Minister of Malaysia!

However, Ahmad Zahid Hamidi has to make an important decision by now – two choices are available:

A) Either to choose to uphold the ISA and be submerged by Hishammuddin Hussein’s fast-expanding powerful political influence under the political umbrella of the ISA, or

B) to choose to repeal the ISA and be allowed his political power grip to become bigger and bigger until one day in the future Najib will be gradually and steadily forced out from the seat of Prime Minister in order to give way to Ahmad Zahid Hamidi!

It is high time for Ahmad Zahid Hamidi to choose the best for himself now!

35. #36 by draken001 on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 4:42 am

Anybody read the NST?

36. #37 by taiking on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 8:20 am

Najib said isa will be reviewed substantially.

My foot.

Liberalised sectors of government services for non-umnoputras are shit.

Reduced toll rates is shit.

Removed 30% umnoputra-only equity rights in ipo is shit.

Set up another category of merit-only scholarship is shit.

Review isa? Another shit. Repeal isa is what we want.

About that clip showing police brutality, it makes the US army look mild with their ill-treatment tactics.

Now let me guess what nazri would say. “The fella in the clip paid the police to beat him up. Therefore it was self-inflicted.” Of course some umno supporters would say that the clip was on singapore police who decided to speak in malay when kicking that fella on the floor so as to bring a bad name to malaysia. Possible?

37. #38 by wesuffer on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 8:36 am

march in stadium ? whats country it is ?

38. #39 by k1980 on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 8:37 am

Forget about 1malaysia. Naj should emulate the Brits who call themselves “Great” and change the country’s name to “Great Malaysia”. Wow, we are all Great Malaysians at the stroke of a pen!

The new slogan should be:
    Great Malaysia. Tear-gas first. Tangkap now!

39. #40 by wesuffer on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 8:38 am

street peace protest should be allow.
    HK,KOREAN, TAIWAN. this are developed city country. they also allow to do so.
    why not malaysia ?malaysia is no longer a malaysia. should change name to umno-malaysia.

40. #41 by wesuffer on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 8:43 am

if they dont waste tear gas , spray water canon, how they can claim millions dollar from goverment fund after that..

41. #42 by OrangRojak on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 9:33 am

I like k1980’s idea – but perhaps he doesn’t know where the ‘Great’ comes from. Great Britain is from Grande Bretagne – French for “Greater Brittany” – to distinguish the island from the small part of France ‘Brittany’ with such a long history.

All that Malaysia needs to become “Great Malaysia” is to be vanquished by a smaller country traditionally viewed as an enemy. Translated into the local setting, I think it would be Singapore and its larger northern neighbour “Singapore Boleh”.

42. #43 by tenaciousB on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 9:52 am

i tried writing something truthful about another sore loser in malaysian politics who has the self respect of a skunk, called ‘semi value’ but chedet.cc.co censored it. it wasn’t even crude or vulgar just the facts. howla like this keep censoring the public independent opinions?!!??!

43. #44 by SpeakUp on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 10:35 am

tenaciousB – it happened to be many times in that pathetic YB Wee’s blog too. He will not post when what I wrote is to question him. I asked him where is the proof that he said he will reveal about certain Selangor ADUN using the state assembly for meetings with under world people. That was never posted, I asked a few times.

44. #45 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 10:38 am

1 Greater Malaysia – Tangkap Rakyat First. Tangkap Now!!!

45. #46 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 10:40 am

Before 1Malaysia turned into – Shoot Rakyat First. Shoot Now!!!

46. #47 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 10:42 am

Musa Hassan is trying to please his master krismudin and Najis so that his service will be extended beyond two years, may be for life!!!

47. #48 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 10:49 am

IGP Musa Hassan is like LTL got so much time to play politics but no time to solve real pressing issues that afffect the Rakyat!!!
    More people were killed by robbers, rapist, snatch thefts, Ah Longs, drugs, human trafficking etc than the peaceful demostrations where permit was not given in the first place whenever applied!!! We are having 6 deaths now due to A(H1N1) and expected more as many are fighting for their lives in ICU!!!
    All the wrong priories by the BN-UMNO govt!!!

48. #49 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 11:05 am

Krismudin – Why did your guys asked for 4 days remand for a 16 years old boy and now I’m in trouble!!!

Musa – We should teach him a lesson while he is still young.

Krismudin – You are right. If we dont teach him a lesson now, he wont know even when he is 61 !!! But we are not following the laws!!!

Musa – Only the Rakyat is under the laws, but we are above the laws!!! Remember we can change laws to suit us or to change the name of the law and every thing is still the same!!! ACA and MACC are the same!!!

Krismudin – No wonder you are indispensable!!! I almost forgotten that you are the IGP and I’m the Police Minister!!! I am the head and you are the tail!!! Thank you for reminding me that we are always above the laws!!!

49. #50 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 11:33 am

UMNO-BN 1 Bloody Malaysia – Shoot Rakyat First. Shoot Now!!!

50. #51 by SpeakUp on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 2:31 pm

Krismudin – Why did your guys asked for 4 days remand for a 16 years old boy and now I’m in trouble!!!

Musa – We should teach him a lesson while he is still young.

Krismudin – You are right. If we dont teach him a lesson now, he wont know even when he is 61 !!! But we are not following the laws!!!

Musa – Only the Rakyat is under the laws, but we are above the laws!!! Remember we can change laws to suit us or to change the name of the law and every thing is still the same!!! ACA and MACC are the same!!!

Krismudin – No wonder you are indispensable!!! I almost forgotten that you are the IGP and I’m the Police Minister!!! I am the head and you are the tail!!! Thank you for reminding me that we are always above the laws!!!

Mem.Ya.See.See – Pass him to us, we shall throw him out so he cannot breed any anti-BN children!

Krismudin – that’s an even better solution.

HEheehehehehee … joking only okay!

51. #52 by ekompute on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 5:43 pm

Good one, Speak Up. Honestly, that happens to be the truth. They are above the law. They don’t need to follow the law. They can twist things to their whims and fancies. In fact, you can also called them demigods. But wait till they meet Allah. Then we will have the last laugh.

52. #53 by BoycottLocalPapers on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 6:18 pm

16 year old boy is arrested but the murderer of Altantunya is freed. This is Malaysia Boleh!

53. #54 by Jaswant on Monday, 3 August 2009 - 10:03 pm

“The Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan must be told in no uncertain terms by the Cabinet on Wednesday – play hardball with murderers, robbers, rapists, Ah Longs and gangsters but not with teenagers and peaceful, patriotic advocates for abolition of ISA.” Kit

I agree. We should send a delegation headed by none other than Yang Behormat Limkamput to speak on our behalf and pass a memorandum to the Agong. After all the Agong has given him a long service medal upon his retirement from government service a few years ago.