When can we say the same to tourists in Malaysia?

What struck me most in my first night of visit to Xiamen, Fujian is the confident assurance given by the local guide that visitors can go about the town at night as it is very safe from crime.

When can we say the same to tourists in Malaysia?

Dare we tell the same thing to visitors in Kuala Lumpur, Johor Baru, Penang or even in the main towns in the country?

Unfortunately, there is no sense of shame or failure whether among the Home Minister, the Deputy Minister or the Inspector-General of Police at the galloping crime index in the country in the past five years of Abdullah premiership that it is even being criticised by former Prime Minister, Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad when Abdullah had started his administration trying to demonstrate the big difference with his predecessor by establishing a Royal Police Commission to create an efficient, incorruptible, professional and world-class police service to keep crime low.

Now, all these Abdullah promises have turned to ashes – and the greatest indictment of the failure of the Abdullah premiership in meaningful police reforms is his lack of political will and courage to set up the Independent Police Complaints and Misconduct Commission (IPCMC) as a sole legacy of reform for his ill-fated sixth premiership.l

1. #1 by waterfrontcoolie on Thursday, 27 November 2008 - 2:38 pm

Very soon, Malaysians would have to employ their own ‘police’ force for safety; as the central force is ‘paid’ by the Gomen, hence only they will be given protection! If they have been doing their job to take of the country, what happens to-day would have never occurred in the first instance.
    Would the Gomen allow us to deduct a portion of our tax for security purpose? I think this is fair, let the raayat employ their own security guards. With it, we never need to complain to the Gomen for lack of security. Likewise, allow us to deduct other related cost from our income tax so that we would never complain again! Hey, this is a kind of PRIVATIZATION albeit on smaller scale.
    Surely, TDM would agree in the name of privatization! Give us an option!

2. #2 by melurian on Thursday, 27 November 2008 - 2:39 pm

selangor and perak and penang are under p-r rule. and since these 3 states have most alarming crime rate, i wonder what p-r will do to avoid this besides “tai-chi” the blame to bn. if p-r cannot do anything except sharing its shoulder to cry on, i rather cross my ballot for bn next term, at least bn-bn corperation is much better than pr-bn relationship. imagine when mp/exco complain to polis/pm and they turn their deaf ears, whereas swift action for bn mp when they complained….. ini memang tak boleh ni…

3. #3 by melurian on Thursday, 27 November 2008 - 2:44 pm

oledi most residential are turning to “paid” security service (you highlighted that the residential is harassed until they agree to put on gating system). this security service suppose to be polis or gov job (be it state or federal), a service that taxpayers should get in return for paying their tax. heck, banks in foreign countries used polis as their security guards, banks in malaysia engage “private” security force, as if they are better trained like dat.

4. #4 by k1980 on Thursday, 27 November 2008 - 2:49 pm

Deduct a portion of our tax for security?

Much better let the govt pay us a monthly allowance of say RM1,000 to hire our own security guard. The PDRM can be disbanded or delegated to umno as private bodyguards

5. #5 by hiro on Thursday, 27 November 2008 - 2:52 pm

IPCMC is a dream of the Police Commission shared by Malaysians, cynically used by Badawi to trick us into believing that he will reform the police. It won’t happen. Badawi already said he’s trying to push forward the Special Complaints Commission which is nothing but a secretariate to channel complains, and Najib has been keeping mum about these reforms – which can only mean that he wants to have the liberty to reverse this as unnecessary once he takes over the premiership.

The way the Malaysian government treats public safety lightly is perhaps reflected in their conduct in relations to the attacks in Mumbai. Spore and Phillippines have already issued statements condemning the attacks and yet Rais Yatim is sitting pat not saying much. How can this be? India is where a large segment of our population is from, and is a potentially important global trading ally. Not to make a statement of support towards the Indian government is a reflection of UMNO led BN government’s attitude towards India and Indians including those in Malaysia.

6. #6 by melurian on Thursday, 27 November 2008 - 3:03 pm

i wonder rais would say “if india din harass pakistan and their muslims in their country, such tragedy won happen”…

remember a minister (cannot remember which portfolio) mentioned to ex-thai pm that if he din harass muslim in the southern province, all this bombing and beheading won happen….

7. #7 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Thursday, 27 November 2008 - 3:22 pm

/// What struck me most in my first night of visit to Xiamen, Fujian is the confident assurance given by the local guide that visitors can go about the town at night as it is very safe from crime. ///

Aiyah, Uncle Kit, you don’t have to go all the way to Xia Men to find this out. All you have to do is go Xia Mian (? ?), that is, go down south to the Little Red Dot and you can go to any part of the city or country in the middle of the night and still be safe.

8. #8 by homeblogger on Thursday, 27 November 2008 - 3:42 pm

It will just get worse. The fat and fed UMNOites have top notch security for their homes and family paid for by 51 years of building a corrupt system that condones “side income”. As they sit in their comfy guarded homes, enjoying their 60 inch plasma in their customized home theather room while being served by an army of maid, do you really think they give a damn that our daughters can’t walk to the sundry shop 200 metres away safely?

9. #9 by tohca1 on Thursday, 27 November 2008 - 3:47 pm

While the situation of safety has deteriorated badly over the last couple of years, and still getting worser, I have to say that it has not come to the point where we cannot say the say thing to our visitors.

I am really upset with the police, but as a tour guide, I will still have to say that Malaysia is a safe place, relative to many other neighbouring countries, baring Singapore, of course. And certainly safer than many in Africa.

But many times I do have to pray that nothing untoward happens to them when they are here.

I pray the day will come when I can proudly say to my tourist that we are one of the safest country to visit without any reservation or feeling deep inside that I’m not twisting it a little.

Cheers!
    Visit http://malaysian-explorer.com
    for interesting information about Malaysia.

10. #10 by zak_hammaad on Thursday, 27 November 2008 - 3:52 pm

Violent crime involving tourists and expatriates in Malaysia is relatively uncommon. Petty theft, particularly purse snatching and pick-pocketing, and residential burglaries are the most common criminal activity directed against foreigners. Other types of non-violent criminal activity include credit card fraud and automobile theft.

The above report from the US dept of state (http://travel.state.gov) paints a realistic picture from what DAP would want people to believe. I, along with many of my ex-pat community have never experienced any level of street crime. Call it fortunate, but many of our friends and colleagues who visit often would also tell you the same thing.

Malaysia is safe for tourists and one of the safest Asean members and within Asia as a whole. True that crime against tourists does exist as it does in almost all other countries, but let’s be realistic and keep it in context and proportion.

11. #11 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 27 November 2008 - 3:58 pm

I always thought Uncle Lim’s ancestors belonged to Cantonese

12. #12 by Mr Smith on Thursday, 27 November 2008 - 3:58 pm

We have to install an alarm in our houses. We have gated communities all over the country and the bills all borne by us.
    I have to install an immobilizer in my new car after the old one got stolen.
    Now I even have 2 dogs, which cost me a bomb every year, in food and veterinarian bills.
    Yet I live in fear for the safety of my family all because we have the lousiest police force in the world.

13. #13 by AhPek on Thursday, 27 November 2008 - 4:02 pm

Melurian knows that the police are paid by us the taxpayers and therefore the police should work for the public’s security.Here he has unwittingly let the cat out of the bag by pointing to the fact that the police only respond swiftly to BN MP’s complain and not PR MP’s.That according to him is the reason for the alarming crime rates in states controlled by PR.Melurian,we already know about the police being an appendage to UMNO and not to their real boss,the Joe Public.

14. #14 by melurian on Thursday, 27 November 2008 - 4:14 pm

“….the fact that the police only respond swiftly to BN MP’s complain and not PR MP”.

so, let’s vote bn for next ge. the pr is so full of banning this and that or barking here and there that have zero result only. we need an “effective” mp/exco, not a barking mp/exco.

15. #15 by Damocles on Thursday, 27 November 2008 - 4:33 pm

Uncle Lim, we cannot even say the same thing to our own citizens, let alone tourists!
    And the worst thing is that our police is controlled by the Federal government instead of the individual State government.
    If the states governed by the PR have control the police, I’m sure that there will be a very thorough revamp, starting right at the top.

16. #16 by OrangRojak on Thursday, 27 November 2008 - 4:44 pm

“When can we say the same to tourists in Malaysia?”
    During Visit Malaysia Year, of course, that’s what it’s for!

I take it it’s still going to be VMY next year, is it? Something tells me I’m still going to be meeting my South East Asian-touring friends in Bangkok, Hanoi and Siem Reap. And I live 40 minutes from KLIA. Perhaps “Transit Malaysia Year” would have been a more credible project.

17. #17 by i_love_malaysia on Thursday, 27 November 2008 - 5:05 pm

AAB – Why YB LKS is still going after me??? I’m handling over to Najis!!! please go after Najis!!!

Najis – Why YB LKS is going after me??? I’m not responsible for things that happened and promises that were made by my predecessor!!!

YB – ????

18. #18 by i_love_malaysia on Thursday, 27 November 2008 - 5:12 pm

k1980 Says:

Today at 14: 49.10 (2 hours ago)
    Deduct a portion of our tax for security?

Much better let the govt pay us a monthly allowance of say RM1,000 to hire our own security guard. The PDRM can be disbanded or delegated to umno as private bodyguards
    ———————–
    Fully agreed with you!!! Let’s get one step further, let’s arm ourselves with pistols etc!!! If they cannot protect us, we should have all the rights to protect ourselves!!! Don’t forget that all the BN guys have all the protection that they need, but not the ordinary guys like you and me!!!

19. #19 by i_love_malaysia on Thursday, 27 November 2008 - 5:17 pm

High Crime Rate – No comment!!!

Yoga practice – Many comments!!! even by the PM

Which is more important???

Polygamy – lagi banyak comments!!!

Sex – tak habis comments!!!

20. #20 by khairi ali on Thursday, 27 November 2008 - 5:27 pm

I want to add to i love malaysia.

MPs – bukan lagi komen, tapi hoo-hah hoo-hah. So what can we expect? a safe haven call malaysia?

21. #21 by waterfrontcoolie on Thursday, 27 November 2008 - 5:35 pm

YB., talking about public complaints. May I suggest, for a start to PR Gomen in the 5 States to take exemplary action. Currently, when we call the given phone numbers at most pejabat there are seldom quick responses; because nobody knows you did call.
    Can we have 60″ LCD screens hang at all public complaint stations so that all SMS will continue to stay at the screens until the staff concerned take action by signing his/her name to answer the call? With this both his/her boss knows and so does the ADUN.
    The action by the Gomen staff shall also be recorded sent automatically to the boss and the ADUN concerned.
    The current problem allows many to hide behind the screen of anonymity and with it, ta kesah!!

22. #22 by ahkok1982 on Thursday, 27 November 2008 - 5:58 pm

Frankly speaking, when I look at the PDRM in Malaysia, somehow, I see samseng in police uniform.
    I guess the rotten has taken the shine out of the righteous.

23. #23 by ahkok1982 on Thursday, 27 November 2008 - 6:02 pm

actually it is very true that the things that matter most such as rising crime, failing economy, white elephants and scandals, nobody in BN wants to talk or comment about it. At most it is, “we will get to the bottom of this”. Then end of story. Let the people forget.

If it is about sex, anything at all about sex, every single person would want to talk about it and get involved. Gives new meaning to the word D**kHead because that is what they think about all the time.

24. #24 by monsterball on Thursday, 27 November 2008 - 6:39 pm

Tour guides can be honest and say…..”Folks…have a nice evening. Stay in your hotel and enjoy all the facilities given.
    If no facilities…watch TV or read a book in your room.
    Be sure your room is properly lock…before..going to sleep.
    Do not venture out. There are lots of pick pockets….bag snappers kidnappers of children …rapists…around. Thousands of cases…only few solved by police.
    Our country is peaceful…..buy managed by corrupted rogues.
    Most crooks are let loose…if they swear by a holy book…saying ..he is innocent. That seems to be our latest law.
    So be careful.
    Enjoy your stay…and go out in groups.if you need to.
    Thanks..goodnight!”

25. #25 by bc on Thursday, 27 November 2008 - 7:12 pm

If the government is corrupted how can they stop the police being corrupted leh.

We need an anti-corrupted goverment for administration.

26. #26 by shortie kiasu on Thursday, 27 November 2008 - 7:52 pm

With all these negative crime problems, malaysia tourism in the international backwater.

Besides the law enforcement deficiency by the police & home ministry, we also have too many foreign workers here, both legal and illegal, to the tune of 2.6 million or could be more, more than the total population of ethnic Indian citizens in the country.

27. #27 by katdog on Thursday, 27 November 2008 - 8:24 pm

Ha ha. Melurian mentioned about Penang, Perak and Selangor. But forgot about Johor. How convenient.

28. #28 by mohrafael on Thursday, 27 November 2008 - 8:41 pm

the crime rates in Malaysia, speak for the hypocrisy, corruption, non-performance and ugliness of the chief of police force and the government/its leaders. What they (BN led government plus police chiefs) said have been wrong and misleading….shameful and wrongful….

29. #29 by rubini on Thursday, 27 November 2008 - 8:53 pm

No need to ask the tourist, just ask your next door neighbour, whether he feels safe or not. I will relate my situation. My mother was victim of snatch in front of her house, my elder brother was knifed robbed in a bus, my sister was robbed of her jewellery, purse & handbag after getting off her car @ pasar malam, my house was broken into, my brother’s motocycle was stolen, my brother & sister in laws had their condominium broken into. I had another brother in law whose family was robbed with knives held @ their throat. All this occured in last 15 years.

Imagine an entire family being victims of criminals. I forgot mention, all members of my family stay in Klang. This is the situation in Klang.

I am currently working in UK, and have worked in Italy & Switzerland. I feel very safe walking in middle of the night here. The people, the local authorities and police & other law enforcement agency make u feel safe.

Back home, i have completely lost faith in our police force to combat crime. Crime & no of criminals has been rising. The Home Ministry & IGP claim that our crime rate is still low compared to HK, Australia, Japan. He also claims that crime rate is still tolerable.

This is most pathetic answer an IGP can answer. How can anyone tolerate crime? Does he means its okay if a few thousand M’sians become victims of crimes.

30. #30 by parameswara on Thursday, 27 November 2008 - 9:11 pm

melorian, the police force comes under the home ministry of the federal gomen, not the state gomen. so don’t simply blame the state gomen for the appalling crime situation that was already there even before P-R took over the states.

direct your blame to the home ministry.

31. #31 by ALtPJK on Thursday, 27 November 2008 - 10:27 pm

YB, in the last paragraph you mentioned ‘IPCMC as a sole legacy of reform for his ill-fated sixth premiership’, which I believe you meant ‘fifth’ referring to Abdullah’s premiership. Nevertheless, even if it were a slip, leaving it as it is remains valid too.

It is very highly unlikely that Mr. PinkLips as the 6th has any more political will and courage than the 5th to institute such reforms. What is very likely though is that it will be ill-fated premiership too but probably for other reasons.

32. #32 by swipenter on Thursday, 27 November 2008 - 10:53 pm

I was mugged in Brussels not far from the hotel I was staying in. I went back to the hotel and they helped me call the police. The police came shortly, took me into their van and “toured” the streets of Brussels hoping to bump into the muggers! No luck though so off I went to the police station to look at mugshots of known muggers hoping I might identify them. The police also took the trouble to get an English speaking policeman to help me through the ordeal. Can we say the same of our men in blue?

Here when you go to the police station to make a report you even get laughed at or they try to persuade not to make a report at times bcos it is such a small/biasa matter. No point wasting your time they reason. Ofcos not all mata is like that.

Now where I am staying we are in the process of gating our community due to frequent handbag/ necklace snatchings, car jacking, house break-ins and other crimes. All of the thugs are armed with parangs and some with handguns. Shots were even fired when victims screamed or resisted. So far nobody is hurt seriously or killed in these robberies. Recently I witnessed two victims of snatch thieves in a hospital and I can tell you it is not a pretty sight.

I think we all have a feeling of lawlessness creeping in our society and the mata mata cannot do the job well for whatever reasons so we do self help by gating our community and employ private security firms to patrol our residential streets.

33. #33 by melurian on Thursday, 27 November 2008 - 11:24 pm

“the police force comes under the home ministry of the federal gomen, not the state gomen.”

===
    who in charge home ministry? who elect home minister? if the polis answer to home ministry who answer to bn, why not electing mp/exco from bn so that the state at least of 1% of cooperation from polis rather than 0% like selangor, penang with crime getting worse and worse! and what does oppos like dap do – barking, complaining, for over 20 yrs and now even selangor and penang oledi in oppos grip! what can oppos like dap do beside barking and making hollow speech?

34. #34 by monsterball on Friday, 28 November 2008 - 3:23 am

Mulurian ..an UMNO commentator…cannot differentiate the limited power of State government won by People’s Party and the overall..UMNO Ministers responsibilities..with UMNO as the government of the day.. for Malaysia.
    Those States won by oppositions have limited powers. They are like faithful loyal non corrupted managers of those State..with UMNO..still the boss.
    This is just to explain it simply….but we are talking about politics…and UMNO will go all out…to make life difficult for People’s Party managers…letting Malaysians suffer. They could not care less….as long as ..at the end of the day..they have reasons to let Malaysians feel…they voted wrongly. That’s their dirty mission.
    Mulurian is just a low class..ignorant messenger of UMNO….with a big mouth..doing exactly..what I have said.
    Outwardly..you will hear any UMNO PM saying….UMNO will co-operate. Can Malaysians trust Dollah’s words?
    As long as UMNO thinks….they own Malaysia….doing as they like….those cunning and totally corrupted law makers are actually lawless and jarkuns.

35. #35 by passerby on Friday, 28 November 2008 - 4:52 am

Mulurian,

Who pay the police salary and who control the police? Don’t open your mouth and make every body laugh at you for your stupidity. Please get into your head that crime and corruption did not start on the day PR won the the five states. I am sure if they kick out the bn, there will be less crime and corruption in the country. The murder of Atantuya will not have happened.

36. #36 by taiking on Friday, 28 November 2008 - 8:51 am

Zak hamaad the englishman is not wrong with his observation. Yes strangely, criminals here do not target caucasian foreigners. Perhaps they are hounded by some imaginary colonial pits. But that is not a reason for them, the caucasian foreigners, not to take care and to be alert.

And Melurian. Oh he is just a plain fool and idiot rolled into one. Obviously a fine product of (-)meritocracy. Remember the scene where Johnny English was gibbering away with a bad guy when both of them were under the effect of some super strength muscle relaxant? Yeah, Melurian should really blog with bloggers of his calibre.

Hei, the two anti spam words generated by CAPTCHA for my entry here read:

“death purchased”

Wow. Cool!

37. #37 by sizzerpac on Friday, 28 November 2008 - 10:39 am

To Zak Hammaad who said Malaysia was safe. Tell that to your daughter. Tell her its safe to walk around at night in the city of KL.

I’ve been working in Shenzhen for 4 years, and its so much safer than malaysia. No one needs to worry about snatch thieves, rapist and robbers lurking around. People walk around anytime they want. Only crime happening are pickpockets, which you also have in countries like Britain and France.

38. #38 by Godfather on Friday, 28 November 2008 - 10:54 am

melurian:

Don’t talk nonsense about the security situation in Bolehland. BN compromised our security long ago through mat rempits, jobless graduates and selective prosecution.

I take it that you talk but you don’t listen simply because your mouth is in front of your ears ?

39. #39 by Godfather on Friday, 28 November 2008 - 10:58 am

Zak Hammaad the foreigner comes from a place where molestations and rape of women in the middle of the night do not constitute crimes. He comes from a place where it serves women right to be raped or molested because they “asked for it”.

He fled his country to live in Bolehland so that he can be close to his idol, the mamakthir.

40. #40 by HJ Angus on Friday, 28 November 2008 - 11:14 am

I think the security situation can be improved if the PDRM upgraded their skills and became more prepared to combat crime rather than harrass peaceful protestors.
    Of course having the IPCMC would help but we all know the government has buckled down from the opposition by the police themselves and that speaks volumes.

With the population having a negative view of the police, their job also becomes harder.

41. #41 by frankyapp on Friday, 28 November 2008 - 2:08 pm

You know guys,sometime,much as I want to get angry or mad with our mata mata (Police ) but can’t help feeling sorry for them. Why.well let me tell you guys . It’s very simple.All mata mata I know,those who take and those who don’t.Okay those who take said A to Z take including my boss and boss’s boss,so why not us. Okay fair answer.Those who don’t take said they work very hard but all been ingored for promotion and thus when anything happened during their watch,they just simply don’t bother much a kind of ” tidak apa mentality/attitudes.So with these two groups of police watch,how can you guys expect the police to catch thief,robber,mat rempit,Along etc etc etc ?. In short, how can you guys expect these mata mata,police to solve any criminal matters.And finally it’s this problem,why we are facing increasing numbers of crime everyday.

42. #42 by waterfrontcoolie on Friday, 28 November 2008 - 2:13 pm

Yes, Zak, try it out by asking either your wife or daughter to walk around your own housing estate during any of the off-peak hours and then tell us the result!! Try for a couple of days so that they can study your movements.

43. #43 by waterfrontcoolie on Friday, 28 November 2008 - 2:30 pm

By the way, we have discussed so much about corruption. It all boils down to the ROTTEN FISH HEAD theory. You can never ask your subordinates to walk straight when you yourself is walking side way!
    Yes, indeed they are prepared to tell you why it is more beneficial to compromise than to file a report. After all, all the reports will only fill up the cabinet, creating the need to fell more trees to get the paper!! An environmental issue ensues!! Hence, they are not as simple as many of you would like to think. If you settle with me, it is definitely cheaper and faster. At the court you will be fined heavier plus the money will go to those are more corrupted than me! See the logic they could spell it out so clearly!
    Of course, you would find Zak pleading ignorant over such an issue. He lives so far away that every thing appears above board.Just read the news, those caught for corruption are now talking about the negative impacts of money politics!! I really wonder how HIS GOD is going to judge him!! Maybe he could buy his way through !!!

44. #44 by melurian on Friday, 28 November 2008 - 3:32 pm

“Those States won by oppositions have limited powers. “

selangor/perak/penang – richest state in malaysia and yet “limited” power????? better don win lar at first place…

“Who pay the police salary and who control the police? Don’t open your mouth and make every body laugh at you for your stupidity.”

yes, bn aka federal paid polis salary, so that’s why we should cross for bn. i’m just being practical here, not dreamer or idealist. i bet those practical ceos of big company would cross bn instead of oppos! so how oppos get selangor/penang – crimes are getting even worse!

45. #45 by taiking on Friday, 28 November 2008 - 5:50 pm

Hei guys. I made an interesting discovery. Removing meritocracy would give birth to a new language – the gibberish language. Refer to melurian’s blog entries for evidence of the new language.

46. #46 by no on Friday, 28 November 2008 - 7:19 pm

melurian

yeah practical..you are so pratical…

you may sell you back side if the BN MP want it for power, Right?

47. #47 by AhPek on Friday, 28 November 2008 - 8:54 pm

melurian
    You are a god-sent to all of us who all along suspected that UMNO has made all civil service departments including the police department their appendages,and all through out this thread you have kept on confirming and confirming our suspicion.Your bosses must be kicking their asses for instead of employing you to work for them you are working for the opposition!

48. #48 by katdog on Friday, 28 November 2008 - 9:35 pm

Ha ha! Melurian sure is a funny guy! His comments here serves to remind us that, out there in Malaysia there are still hundreds of thousands of rakyat just like him who knows absolutely nothing about honour and responsibility.

As a responsible citizen, i pay my taxes. In return the federal government that collects this taxes shall provide the basic necessities such as security.

Melurian says that since we did not vote BN it is OK for the BN government to ignore our needs and ignore its responsibilities to us. If that is the case, then i should not need to carry out my responsiblity to pay taxes to BN since according to Melurian, the government is only the government for the people who vote for it.

To Melurian, here is a huge concept in democratic governments, that i am sure your tiny brain is incapable of comprehending:

The responsibility of the federal government is to ALL citizens of Malaysia and not only the select few that support them. Just because i did not vote for BN does not mean I should not receive anything from the federal government.

The federal government is not Kings, Lords or Tuans. Collecting taxes from the people is NOT a privilege by birthright nor is it a power given by god. Taxpayers money is NOT BN’s money. BN as the federal government merely manages the money NOT own it.

The salaries of the police are being paid for by the taxes paid by the ALL people of Malaysia. Therefore, it is dishonourable for BN people to claim that it is THEIR money that is being used to pay the police and that the police has no responsibility towards non BN supporters.

49. #49 by katdog on Friday, 28 November 2008 - 9:50 pm

Zak the foreigner probably lives in an up market trendy area of the country. Probably in a gated community or high class private apartments with 24 hour private security guards.

Zak then, lifts his hands up in bewilderment wondering whats the big fuss about safety and security in this country since he has never had any complaints about it.

To Zak the foreigner. Please have some pity on us poor local Malaysians. We the local populace earn a paltry monthly salary and can’t afford to be like you and the UMNOputra’s living in rich well protected areas.

50. #50 by cemerlang on Friday, 28 November 2008 - 10:41 pm

Between our PDRM and Mao’s Red Guards, the latter is the more efficient one. No doubt about it. Few obvious reasons which everyone would know. The cops should take care of their own citizens as good as they take care of the 1st class people. Remember that tourists are not only those coming in from the Caucasian countries. Tourists are from all over the world including the local Malaysian tourists. If I go to your state, I am a tourist in your state. If one can walk the street at night or the very early hours of morning without anyone suspicious hanging around, then that is a very safe city. All praise should go to the gomen and the police force there for doing a perfect job. In Malaysia, one should be back at home by 12 midnight because suspicious people make their living ususally at that time when it is all dark and nobody can see them. No even the CCTV. PDRM is helped by many other groups like RELA and your own neighbourhood watch group. If crimes are still on the increase, then there is something wrong somewhere. If the criminal organizations are advised to take care of their own members, then law enforcement will be meaningless.

51. #51 by imranj78 on Friday, 28 November 2008 - 11:43 pm

While I agree that the crime rate in Malaysia is on the rise, I totally disagree with those who consider Malaysia as an unsafe country. This is a blatant exaggeration of the facts and LKS as always is trying to gain cheap political mileage by attacking anything that is linked to the federal government.

I am not saying that the police force is doing a wonderful job. On the contrary there is much room for improvement. But to say that Malaysia is an unsafe country is not right!

52. #52 by ryan123 on Saturday, 29 November 2008 - 12:21 am

Imranj78, don’t be so ignorant. I have a fren’s aunt just died coz she was assaulted in Johore. One of my friends went missing in the midde of the day in a shopping complex till now. My fren’s mum was attacked by a snatch-thief last time as well. There were burglurs trying to break into my house in the middle of the night. Do not make subjective, moronic, idiotic statement if you yourself havn’t encountered such incidents. And given the imcompetency of the police forces, they just do not bother solving these cases as they regard these as mundane “kacang” cases which they have been seeing everyday.

while staying in singapore here, my fren and I (even females) can jog in the middle of the night safely. SO????????

Enough of blind defence of BN. You can’t admit the truths, just be it then, be contented with your own world!

53. #53 by ryan123 on Saturday, 29 November 2008 - 12:26 am

blatant exaggeration of the facts? We have statistics to prove, and we have first-hand experience encountering the corrupted parties. So, where are your facts? any concrete citation or references? Gaining cheap political mileage? I thought the UMNOputras are the one flaming racist issues. If bringing up the issues of safety and crimes are considered as such, then tell us, what should we do when the crime rate is rising so BLATANTLY?

So, what is not right here, and what is right about your comment? Being critical is not equivalent to “betraying” the country. Your mind set of never-ever criticizing the governing regime is totally wrong and disgusting. How many people like you we have to endure? Tell me.

Being tolerant to evils will only make the country worse off. Can’t you see that?

54. #54 by imranj78 on Saturday, 29 November 2008 - 1:48 am

ryan123,
    I regret to hear your negative experiences with crime. No one should have to face such situations. There is a saying that a persons view on a matter depends on their personal experiences and not on the average statistics. On this matter the crime stats will be of no relevance to you as you personally have gone through it.

But that in itself should not be a reason for you to make oversimplifications of the crime stats themselves.

You want to know my facts? I have done some research albeit only a quick one before posting. However, the principle of law and justice states the burden of proof lies with the prosecution (a.k.a you). And since you are in a sense `prosecuting’ Malaysia as being a country with high crime rates, I challenge you, LKS and the rest of you to show me statistics comparing us with other countries in the world in terms of crime stats. And please don’t be oversimplistic and just compare us with a single country a.k.a. Singapore. I will be more then happy to see factual rebuttals, if you have that is.

Remember, I am not saying that Malaysia is crime free nor has good or the best crime stats in the world. I am simply saying that it is not right to potray Malaysia as being an unsafe country.

Over to you.

55. #55 by AhPek on Saturday, 29 November 2008 - 1:54 am

Many in the public,imranj78, have the perception that the police are interested first in fulfilling their quotas and after that proceed to do theirbusiness.Catching
    petty thieves,robbers and murderers are just too tough a job.Rightly or wrongly who can blame them?These perceptions are everywhere and yet you think that YB is exaggerating interested only to score political points.Why do you think gated communities are sprouting out, and those that are not gated are now erecting bar gates into their areas? Are you saying that the country has to come to the stage where Somalia or Sudan is before we term the country unsafe?

56. #56 by monsterball on Saturday, 29 November 2008 - 2:18 am

imranj78….challenge us to prove terrible crime on the rise?
    Dare he walk at any K.L. lanes…after midnight alone?
    I suggest he goes to the Subang Jaya Police Station..opposite Taipan.
    Subang Jaya…SS15…the center of all Subang Jaya businesses…all three story shop lots…broken .in..daylight robberies…burglaries……snatch thieves by motor cyclists…thousands of cases…and not even 1% solved.
    Few murder cases….unsolved and untold.
    There is an average…30 vehicles stolen….every week.
    Again almost all…unsolved.
    Blaming mostly foreigners…is a bunch of [deleted].
    It’s drug addicts and a large portion of them…Muslims and very few Indians…and are sons of police officers…or their relatives.
    Chinese have a trade mark to rob goldsmith and do big huge robberies…like robbing banks too….and Subang Jaya had it all.
    Go..check how many hundreds and thousands of crime files….only from Subang Jaya…unsolved.
    Again ….besides those night birds……looking for food…in a small group…dare anyone…walk alone in lanes?
    I recalled..I put this out…sometime ago….and another put out….the terrors in Bangsar.
    imranj78 is like so many good Muslims…pray 5 times a day..seldom go out to socialize….talking the usual nonsense..in defending the government.

57. #57 by monsterball on Saturday, 29 November 2008 - 2:25 am

My long first response to imranj78 is under moderations.
    Maybe due…to too many details given on crimes in Subang Jaya.
    I suggest he goes to the Subang Jaya Police Station…..opposite Taipan…and ask…how many thousands of robberies…burglaries…..done to all shop lots…to goldsmith shops…and banks..snatch thieves..rapes…and what race did all these things.
    Go out and socialize …to get first hand news.

58. #58 by AhPek on Saturday, 29 November 2008 - 3:01 am

You have done research albeit only a quick one and yet you have the gall to challenge LKS and the ‘rest of you’ who claim that the country is unsafe.First of all what is unsafe to you?To what extent the statistics given by the police reflects what is truly happenning on the ground.Do you know how many people these days are not even bothered to report on robberies or break-ins because many have felt that it is useless and a waste of time since nothing will come out of it.Imranj,just don’t be so smug throwing challenges to everybody when you don’t have all the facts.Of course you think you know all.

59. #59 by Tonberry on Saturday, 29 November 2008 - 4:04 am

imranj78 Says:
    I am simply saying that it is not right to potray Malaysia as being an unsafe country.

The fact remains that Bolehland is an unsafe country. You must not try to deny this, or even worse, twist the fact. Go and ask the man in the street and let us gauge how many will agree with your denial. This is the problem with the Umnoputra mentality.

60. #60 by ktteokt on Saturday, 29 November 2008 - 9:13 am

Perhaps other than the “DRUG TRAFFICKING IS A DEATH PENALTY IN MALAYSIA”, the Home Minister can consider putting up another sign board at the entrance point to the country – “VISIT MALAYSIA AT YOUR OWN RISK!”

61. #61 by hitokiri641 on Saturday, 29 November 2008 - 12:01 pm

@cemerlang

Whoa,whoa. You are actually suggesting that Mao’s youthful thugs are more efficient than the PDRM?? Hmmm guess thats true, cuz i don’t recall the PDRM dragging upstanding citizens on the street and humiliating them in public. Also your comparison of the PDRM with the Red Guards is flawed, as the PDRM is a national police force while the Red Guards were a movement of students etc that acted with Mao’s blessing. A proper analogy would have been between the PDRM and the police force of an industrialized country. I do understand your need to highlight the inefficiency of the PDRM but to compare them with a movement that helped a tyrant to murder innocent people and cement his rule over a nation is going to far.

62. #62 by imranj78 on Saturday, 29 November 2008 - 2:51 pm

All I hear is all talk but STILL no facts. I guess no one has the facts to backup the claim that Malaysia is an unsafe country after all?

AhPek,
    I never said the police are perfect. As a matter of fact, I agree that the police has a lot of room for improvement in my previous posts didn’t it?
    And at least I did bother to do some research compared with some of you who are talking based on no facts and figures at all?

monsterball,
    Subang Jaya is my backyard so don’t try to insinuate that I don’t know what is happening there. But LKS’ article is about Malaysia and not Subang Jaya mind you and the happenings in Subang Jaya are not necessarily repeated across the country.

Tonberry,
    I think it is you who are twisting the facts. As a matter of fact, what facts do you have to back up your claim that I am the one twisting the facts??? And excuse me, I am far from being an Umnoputra! I wonder where you got that `fact’ from – LKS too?

63. #64 by AhPek on Saturday, 29 November 2008 - 4:22 pm

imranj78,
    I have asked you just tell us what is unsafe to you?Does it have to come to the state of Somalia or Congo or Eritrea or Zimbabwe before you classify this country unsafe.Then what kind of facts that you have that is so telling as to rubbish YB’s contention that this country is unsafe.You got it from the foreigner called zak or something?Do you know more than YB?Is YB known to have a habit of plugging things from the air?Why is there so many gated communities,and those not gated ones are now setting up bar gates in their communities and employing people to man it.And these gated communities and employing securities to jaga their communities are not only happening in PJ or KL mind you.Why is this phenomena occuring over the last 10 years or so?Why do you say that happenings in Subang Jaya not necessarily repeated across the country?Are you saying Ipoh,Penang or Johore Bahru are peaceful?You are trying to be smug if you don’t mind my telling you.

64. #65 by ryan123 on Saturday, 29 November 2008 - 4:59 pm

Ah Pek,

Imranj do have some points actually. Usually incidence of crimes in suburbs is lower compared to city area. This is part of the reason contributing to not-so-high crime rate compared to other countries. Moreover, the criminal hot spots are usually found in big cities in which the population is more heterogenous.

But I couldn’t agree such mentality of mediocracy persists in the ministers and our people. They do not bother about risk-management, and always feel happy with what they have currently..

65. #66 by AhPek on Saturday, 29 November 2008 - 5:23 pm

ryan123,
    Imranj is smug by throwing challenges to eveybody to show proofs whereas YB is saying that it is unsafe and I also think it is unsafe from the changes (if you care to read my last few comments in this thread)that is taking place over the last few years.These happenings are new phenomena which is indicative of a deteriorating situation in the country plus the fact that public perception of the police is at an all time low.Added to this fact is the putting aside the IPCMC and it looks like this recommendation is to end up in some filing shelf for dust to gather.He hasn’t supported his contention against Kit’s position except saying that he has done some cursory research on it basing all his arguments on this assertion.I have also asked him whether his facts reflect the true situation on the ground.He hasn’t made his points till now.

66. #67 by bc on Saturday, 29 November 2008 - 8:27 pm

Simple answer:

As long as high percentage of police is corrupted accept bribe, this country is not consider safe.

67. #68 by ryan123 on Saturday, 29 November 2008 - 10:52 pm

lol, he was saying the burden of proof lies at the prosecutor, and thus he doesn’t have the responsibility in presenting his proof. Seems like my previously moderated post will not be posted, aiks. Wasted one hour in arguing the points.

Imranj, to quote Keith Lehrer “….generally arguments about where the burden of proof lies are unproductive. It is more reasonable to suppose that such questions are best left to courts of law where they have suitable application…”.

You have committed a logical fallacy here by blatantly putting away the responsibility when discussing this issue. Since you are accusing LKS for doing publicity stunt by bringing up the safety issue, do you mind to hold the responsibility of proving that 1) LKS is really doing so, 2) Malaysia is safe, thus what others talk here are WRONG.

68. #69 by imranj78 on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 12:13 pm

AhPek,
    `Unsafe’ is a very subjective word. My definition of unsafe is in relation to other countries in the world. Crime rate increase is a global phenomenon and we cannot look at Malaysia alone in isolation and have to view it in relation to how other countries are faring on the same matter.

ryan123,
    Thanks for posting the links to several websites on crime stats. Those are similar to the information that I have seen previously but I wanted to see whether anyone else have seen more conclusive date to support the notion that Malaysia is an unsafe country. Now from those websites alone you can see that Malaysia is relatively NOT considered as one of the more unsafe countries in the world. Of course we are not the safest country in the world but that has never been my argument. My disagreement is against those who label Malaysia as being an `unsafe’ country.

Let me quote your sources again:
    Global Peace Index 2008 indicate Malaysia’s ranking of being #37 safest in the world out of 140 countries. We are above UK, USA and China. We are not even too far off from Singapore if you look at the index numbers.

Nationmaster lists Malaysia as being no. #34 of having the most number or murders out of 62 countries on the list. At 0.02 murders per 1000 people, we are way below the data average throughout all countries of 0.1 per 1000 people.

Remember I am NOT saying Malaysia is the safest country in the world. But what I am saying is that it is not right to label Malaysia as an unsafe country as what LKS have done!

69. #70 by AhPek on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 3:19 pm

imranj78,

You have defined unsafe, clarify your position,and I’ve come to appreciate the stand taken.

70. #71 by katdog on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 8:19 pm

AhPek, i think you are wasting your time arguing with imranj. As imranj has himself pointed out, safe and unsafe are very subjective. Imranj who lives in Subang Jaya feels ‘not unsafe’. The rest of us feels unsafe.

No amount of statistics can change either one’s opinions, as safe and unsafe is very dependent on the state of each persons minds. Statistically Malaysia is safer compared to the likes of Mexico or even US.

But to imranj then the question is, right now you label Malaysia as ‘not unsafe’. Therefore what should our crime level be at before we are justified to label Malaysia as ‘unsafe’?

71. #72 by bc on Sunday, 30 November 2008 - 10:46 pm

Is there any Malaysia standard to compare with current safety situation?

We may go back to our ancestor living safety, during Malay living standard our ancestor home, there is no iron gate and no fence, you can sleep inside your house with all windows open or even open house.

This should be the living safety we should target to achieve.

At current situation safety, all our ancestor will say ‘IT IS UNSAFE AND TERRIBLE, ARE WE A PRISON IN THE HOUSE”

HAHAHAHA….and you say now situation is considered safe…is this a joke?

72. #73 by ryan123 on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 3:47 am

One simple comparison:

Local universities’ administration: we are in top 500 of the THES university ranking. let’s celebrate.

Other regional ASEAN counterparts: Being in the top 100/50 is not enough. We shall strive for the best to be the best among the rest, and to be on par with the prestigious institution in providing education of highest quality.

To be willing to accept that mid-ranking in anything, i.e.. corruption index, education, safety index, competitiveness, etc is fine, at least to them. It is always better to sweep everything under the carpet, then bringing the issues up while seeking for possible resolution.

Imranj, your stats to back you up while Malaysia is neither safe nor unsafe? I am curious on the exact description of current situations.

73. #74 by AhPek on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 7:57 am

ryan123,
    At least imranj78 has put out the reasons for stating that Malaysia is not unsafe,instead of just throwing challenges to everyone nonchalantly.I can understand clearly now his position and as my understanding goes his position is whilst Malaysia is not safe it is also not unsafe..
    But the rest will also asked how that stats relate to what is actually happenning on the ground,why if it is not unsafe gated communities are springing up and also those non-gated will erect bar gates as well as employ guards to man them and patrol their area,public perceptions are so low nobody has any confidence in them and worse still the essence of IPCMC is not going to be implemented only recommendations like building police quarters are taken up the rest can be filed away to gather dust

74. #75 by VampireBS on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 11:04 am

you know in Klang, near jalan kapar where now famous central chain of jams, i’ve seen police directing the traffic every monday-friday ok, but on saturday when i got back from work the road is jam like can’t even move, and no traffic police. saturday where they all went?

75. #76 by Dr.Ken on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 4:43 pm

The bolehland is still a very backward nation , Vision 2020 is just a dream & imagination. A corrupted nation mismanage by few good crooks. How can we live in peace & secure with corrupt police force ? a under train & equip Police force. there is even not enough patrol cars. If a Traffic police stop u , give them even RM 10 he will let u go free.