Gerakan leaders – take a stand against Umno’s racist politics in the Permatang Pauh by-election and not wait until October

Both the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and Gerakan acting President Tan Sri Dr. Koh Tsu Koon were greatly embarrassed yesterday when they were asked questions about the call by the Gerakan Wanita chief Datuk Tan Lian Hoe that Gerakan quit the Barisan Nasional.

Speaking at the Perak Gerakan annual delegates conference in Ipoh, Tan, who is also Deputy Information Minister, said the party should pull out from the BN due to Umno’s unabated and unabashed racial politics that had hurt the sentiments of non-Malays and non-Muslims.

She whacked Umno for continuing to play racial politics and not learning from the harsh lessons meted out by voters in the recent March general election.

Another Gerakan leader, national vice chairman and Perak Gerakan chief Datuk Chan Ko Youn is quoted in the media as saying that 80% of the Gerakan delegates in Perak supported Gerakan’s pull-out from the BN.

Both Tan and Chan are right and Koh wrong – as Umno has clearly not learnt the lessons of the March 8 “political tsunami”, when Malaysian voters transcended their racial, religious and even political differences to vote as one Malaysian people for unity, freedom, justice and democracy in Malaysia.

Unfortunately, the Umno leaders have proved to be even more racist, communal and chauvinist than in the past, as evident from one Umno Youth banner displayed during the Permatang Pauh by-election Nomination Day,which screamed:

MELAYU DITINDAS – MANA KEADILAN???

UMNO : Melayu Ditindas - Mana Keadilan

Is this one of the Barisan Nasional campaign themes in the Permatang Puah by-election?

How can the Gerakan, MCA and MIC leaders, members and supporters support such a racist, communal and chauvinist campaign theme in the by-election?

Gerakan leaders cannot wait until October but must take a stand against Umno’s racist politics in the Permatang Pauh by-election!

In two weeks’ time, Malaysians will be celebrating our 51s National Day.

However, the 51st Merdeka anniversary on August 31 has been made quite meaningless with the obsession with “Malay Unity” instead of “Malaysian Unity” in the past five months by Umno leaders who form the backbone of Barisan Nasional government – to the extent that UMNO Youth could so blatantly display a racist, communal and chauvinist banner like “MELAYU DITINDAS – MANA KEADILAN???”.

Who had suppressed and oppressed the Malays? If the Umno Youth banner refers to the Malays in Penang, is it a condemnation of the 18 years of Chief Ministership of Tan Sri Dr. Koh Tsu Koon?

If the banner refers to the Malays in Malaysia, is it a condemnation of the failure of the Umno leadership, in particular Abdullah’s premiership in the past five years?

Gerakan leaders, and those from the MCA, MIC and other BN component parties, should take a leaf from Dr. Toh Kin Woon, the “conscience of Gerakan” and take a clear-cut stand for the interests of all Malaysians against the racist and communal politicking of UMNO, which had gone from bad to worse in the past five-and-a-half months since the March 8 “political tsunami”.

(Media Conference Statement in Parliament at 3 pm)

1. #1 by PureMalaysian on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 6:22 pm

Melayu Ditindas, Mana Keadilan – actually they mean where is “PKR”, we need PKR (Keadilan)’s help!!

it’s a hidden message!

2. #2 by just a moment on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 6:27 pm

There, racist politics is DEAD!! We told you so!! Never too late MCA, MIC, Gerakan!! Do the Right Thing Man!
    Surely the truth will surface.
    Good show Umno, shows us what you really are.
    The entire BN, unveil ur Mask now. Let the world
    see your true colours or forever be doomed.
    Tsunami sweeping inland and BN will be there to greet it.
    What a show!!

3. #3 by patriotic1994 on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 6:29 pm

PureMalaysian, spot on!

You think those 5,000 BN supporters actually vote BN? Hehe.

4. #4 by Godfather on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 6:36 pm

They hide behind race and religion and steal in broad daylight. Fortunately the rakyat’s eyes are now opened.

Najis screamed yesterday that PKR members show no respect for the BN leadership. Respect has to be earned, not forced. If you steal from the country’s coffers, how can anyone in their right mind show any respect for you ?

Carry on stealing, and soon BN will go the way of the Dodo.

5. #5 by Godfather on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 6:39 pm

They complain that we show no respect for Badawi. How can we when we keep seeing Mr Bean in real life ? The market isn’t wrong – the lawyers laugh at Badawi, the bankers laugh at Badawi, the accountants laugh at Badawi, and even the civil servants laugh at Badawi.

6. #6 by k1980 on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 6:42 pm

As SAPP’s Yong TL had found out, Deputy Information Minister Tan Lian Hoe is going to wake up tomorrow to find Dollah’s ACA commencing corruption charges against her.

7. #7 by MPSPK on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 6:44 pm

Yes Melayu DITINDAS OLEH UMNO….

It’s neither chinese nor Indians who has been oppressing the Malays… It’s UMNO!!!

8. #8 by devilmaster on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 7:05 pm

Expect a bunch of Umno Youth thugs to demonstrate against Tan Lian Hoe and threaten to burn down her service centre; probably after this Permatang Pauh by-election is over.

9. #9 by riversandlakes on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 7:12 pm

Well said, Uncle Lim. Well said.

10. #10 by numbee on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 7:20 pm

What is mister DrM doing commenting instead of retiring?

how about asking him to swear on the quran as well that he is not involved in the 1988 judiary crisis and for fabricating evidence to frame Anwar?

He should reflect on his own family members before making such comment in local media.

Even if anwar is gay, I do not care as this has got nothing to do with his credibility as a person who can fight against corruption.

Why saiful only swear on the quran on the day before the by election nomination? and someone has proof of him meeting Njb.

http://www.mrsmith2.blogspot.com

You’ll see DrM’s true colours if you visit this blog and watch all 7 videos.

The world is watching. and malaysian politics is like a circus and joke around the world.

can someone please step up and do something? the first step to go about is to VOTE for pakatan rakyat and ensure they keep the parliment permatang pauh sit.

The reason why drM is still making comments is cos he is soooo afraid that Anwar will be prime minister and put him behind bars. If he has got nothing to hide, why is he telling people that if anwar bcomes the next PM he will migrate? is he THAT afraid of anwar????

tsk tsk tsk

11. #11 by DontPlayGod on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 7:23 pm

UMNO’s response to the March 8 tsunami is by resorting to more racist chants,”ketuanan” reinforcing, harping on the NEP, and khas istimewa, and of course putting fear into the Malays that they will lose political power. As if only UMNO Malays are the real Malays!!!

What else can UMNO come up with?

12. #12 by RKP on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 7:30 pm

They are desperate.Very desperate now.

Have you ever seen an ant looking desperate, they would run wild aimlessly in circles until they are crushed and then all activity stops.

Lets crush that ‘pest of our society’ that is trying wickedly to disunite Malaysians again and again. Crush them flat this time.

13. #13 by Godfather on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 7:34 pm

Kasim:

Are you bosses going to swear on the Koran that they never put the rakyat’s money into their own pockets ? Or are you going to defend them by saying that the money conveniently fell into their pockets ?

14. #14 by Godfather on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 7:35 pm

We will have to review the stupid “no-value-added” concessions such as APs, labelling of medicine, labelling of cigarettes and alcohol.

15. #15 by Patek 1472 on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 7:37 pm

Nostrdamus Predictions on Possibilities In Malaysia.
    Ramalan Nostradamus atas Kemungkinan-kemungkinan di Malaysia.

1. Is it possible that DSAI wins the Permatang Pauh elections and become the next Chief Minister of Penang as a stepping stone to becoming Prime Minister?
    Adakah mungkinnya DSAI memenangi pilihan raya Permatang Pauh dan menjadi Ketua Menteri Pulau Pinang sebelum menjadi Perdana Menteri?

2. Is it possible that DSAB resign as PM of Malaysia after the Permatang Pauh elections and handover to DSNTR earlier than expected?
    Adakah mungkinnya DSAB meletak jawatan sebagai PM Malaysia selepas pilihan raya Permatang Pauh dan menyerahkannya kepada DSNTR lebih awal dari jangkaan?

3. Is it possible that UMNO and PKR will combine to form a new party?
    Adakah mungkinnya UMNO dan PKR akan bergabung untuk membentuk sebuah parti baru?

4. Is it possible that all other component parties of BN without UMNO will combine with PKR to form a new party?
    Adakah mungkinnya parti-parti komponen BN lain kecuali UMNO akan bergabung dengan PKR untuk membentuk sebuah parti baru?

5. Is it possible that PKR and PAS will combine to form a new party?
    Adakah mungkinnya PKR dan PAS akan bergabung untuk membentuk sebuah parti baru?

6. Is it possible that PKR, DAP and HINDRAF will combine to form a new party?
    Adakah mungkinnya PKR,DAP dan HINDRAF akan bergabung untuk membentuk sebuah parti baru?

7. Is it possible that TDM and all other Little Napoleons knows of these possibilities and are preparing to migrate?
    Adakah mungkinnya TDM dan semua “Little Napoleons” mengetahui kemungkinan-kemungkinan ini dan sedang bersedia untuk berhijrah?

8. Is it possible that DSAI is charged and disqualified as Member of Parliament after winning the Permatang Pauh election?
    Adakah mungkinnya DSAI didakwa dan tidak layak sebagai Ahli Parlimen selepas memenangi pilihan raya Permatang Pauh?

9. Is it possible that there will be another by election in Selangor or Perak?
    Adakah mungkinnya ada pilihan raya kecil semula di Selangor atau Perak?

10. Is it possible that there will be new religious parties formed besides PAS eg. Christian, Buddhist, Confucianism, Hindu, Bahai, Sikhism, Judaism or other beliefs?
    Adakah mungkinnya akan tertubuhnya parti berugama baru selain PAS seperti Kristian, Buddha, Konfusius, Hindu, Bahai, Sikh, Yahudi atau lain-lain kepercayaan?

To be continued…….
    Akan disambung……

http://patek1472.wordpress.com

16. #16 by malaysia-united on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 7:38 pm

Really, MCA, MIC, Gerakan, SAPP or any other begger party, please do something lah, for your own good, for our children’s good, and for our country. Please don’t keep quiet anymore, money can’t take into hell, but reputation can kept in people’s mind forever. Please do something big, something everyone proud, something eveyone is waiting for, something good for everything! Still remember the 1st day joining political party? What were you plan to do? What were you try to achieve at that moment? And now is the time, please use it wisely… Now or Never…

17. #17 by k1980 on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 7:40 pm

11. Is it possible that the Brits will return to this land and wipe the slate clean so that this country can start all over again, as the Jews did in their Promised Land?

18. #18 by justice_fighter on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 7:42 pm

Koh Tsu Koon is a spineless …of UMNO with no conscience!! What a SHAME!!

19. #19 by drmaharajahrk on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 7:46 pm

BN /UMNO supporters only come if u give them free food/drinks, free T shirt, free caps, free hand fans………

Pakatan supporters come just to listen to the speeches of the leaders. They get wet in the rain [ some also by water cannons ], they get sprayed with dyes, they are beaten, they are arrested……..

At Pakatan ceramahs people hold umbrellas in the rain to listen….

Now who is fooling who ?

20. #20 by Tulip Crescent on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 8:23 pm

If you guys will recall, Koh Tsu Koon was the one who told Malaysians that he was joining the Gerakan to change the Barisan Nasional or National Front from within.

Assuming that he was truly sincere, it seems that in the result, he was changed. He never changed anything. He was changed.

Today, assuming again that Koh is sincere, that caricature is beyond all recognition.

Koh is the antethesis of Abdul Razak Ahmad, the Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) Johor Liaison Chairman and one of Johor’s most famous opposition figures, who died on Aug 12 last year at the age of 68.

According to Press reports, Abdul Razak, who turned down the offer of the job of political secretary to Datuk Seri (now Tun) Musa Hitam, was wise enough to know that the system was stronger than the man.

The late Abdul Razak knew that he could never change the system from within. The system needed a total overhaul.

That is why we now see people like Toh Kin Woon calling the Gerakan to leave the BN. Toh sees the writing on the wall. Koh is blinded by worldly wealth and fleeting fortune. Indeed, his fortune has fled him.

21. #21 by yhsiew on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 8:27 pm

After the March 8 “political tsunami” MCA, Gerakan and MIC have been RELEGATED to mere spectator status instead of participants within the BN coalition. They should quit UMNO to join PR – better late than never!

22. #22 by justice_fighter on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 8:29 pm

Latest News:
    Barely a day after expressing his support for Anwar in the Permatang Pauh by-election, Dr Toh Kin Woon has resigned from Gerakan.

23. #23 by Loyal Malaysian on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 8:30 pm

The fact that there are Gerakan leaders willing to speak up against the UMNOputras is indicative there are still pockets of principled leaders there.
    NOt like the MCA running dogs still waiting to be petted by their masters.
    If the Malays are ‘ditindas’ here then all non Malays are persecuted!

24. #24 by undergrad2 on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 8:33 pm

Gerakan leaders, and those from the MCA, MIC and other BN component parties, should take a leaf from Dr. Toh Kin Woon, the “conscience of Gerakan” and take a clear-cut stand for the interests of all Malaysians against the racist and communal politicking of UMNO…” Kit

It is time we abandon the politics of communalism.

It is too divisive and the politicians who advocate it in some form or another are polarising figures. Their demise from politics is an acknowledgment that we have come to the point when we as Malaysians need to look afresh, at a new beginning, a new dawn. We have no choice if we want to survive as a nation state.

Today some five decades later we have achieved statehood but the idea of nationhood appears lost on our present crop of self-interested and corrupt leaders. The protection of their vested interests requires that we remain a state rather than a nation. The only way to break that stranglehold is for the constituents of Permatang Pauh to correct the direction the country has been going for decades.

It is only right and fitting that the honor be given to a little known constituency (but for Anwar) Permatang Pauh in the political backwaters of Malaysian politics.

25. #25 by grace on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 8:44 pm

A man of principles like DR Toh cannot stick with BN la.In fact the rest og Gerakan, MCA and MIC should followDR. Toh.
    Well done DR. Toh. We know that you are humble, honest and very helpful to the poor.

26. #26 by I Malaysian on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 9:08 pm

Gerakkan leaders should ask their conscience not the Umno to make wise decision. This is the time. If we fail now we may not get another opportunity to make Malaysia better.

Harris Ibrahim has written a beautiful piece that could make you cry. Please guys read it at :-

http://harismibrahim.wordpress.com/2008/08/18/dear-anwar/#comments

27. #27 by undergrad2 on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 9:20 pm

When a guy writes to another guy and begins with “Dearest so-and-so” it makes me want to cry though I cannot say what for.

28. #28 by cancan on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 9:36 pm

Wise man says,only fools do not follow

Link: http://www.kingsmary.blogspot.com/

29. #29 by Tulip Crescent on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 10:00 pm

Dr Toh Kin Woon, who I know of but do not know personally, drank the water, survived and is now warning his fellow Malaysians of the toxicity of the liquid.

He is telling us that the Umno-led National Front is not a solution (no pun intended). It is a poisoned chalice.

But the MCA leaders are still leading their following into the drugfest. Why?

Check and re-check MCA’s history from 1959. It is a story of betrayals from the time of Tun Dr Lim Chong Eu who was the first MCA president sacrificed by the elite on the altar of their ambition.

This is the same group that worked “successfully” for the eviction of Singapore. Check and re-check MCA’s history of betrayals – from the benevolent societies scandals in the 1960s to the deposit-taking cooperatives scandals of the 1980s.

30. #30 by Anba on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 10:09 pm

Malaysians,
    The decision of Gerakan Wanita chief Datuk Tan Lian Hoe that Gerakan quit the Barisan Nasional, I believe, if Gerakan really quits BN, will be a historical moments for Malaysia. The founding fathers of MCA and MIC and the respective MIC & MCA presidents when the NEP was continued in 1990 ( when it should have been discontinued) should be ashamed of themselves ( I apologize that some of them have passed away), as it takes a brave lady to challenge BN. If Gerakan really quits BN, shame on Samy Velu and the current MCA presidents for not quittng mch earlier.

Will Gerakan gain momentum by Tan Lian Hoe or will she be threatened by the government that will eventualy make her to be quiet?

Let’s pray that the truth prevail and that we could witness a miracle if Gerakan really quits BN.

God bless
    Anba

31. #31 by hadi on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 10:16 pm

more urgent yb kit Malaysian must be made aware that DNA BILL is blatant disregard of our rights. It is a dangerous bill. Come on NGO and all MALAYSIANS something need to be done and MCA, MIC and GERAKAN voice now. Sabahan and Sarawakian be aware of this BILL. In GOD we trust not in any human being that is around us. Thank You.

32. #32 by StevePCH on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 10:16 pm

MIC, PPP and Gerakan is already warded by Rakyat to the ICU. with Gerakan slowly recovering expect the head beyond repair, need to change.

MCA to the HDU ( High Dependency Unit ) by Rakyat. Very soon, will be sent to ICU if not realise how critical their situation is.
    Ameno ? got AIDS so no hope. That’s why always play batu api.
    Rest in Sabah n Sarawak, they are like headless cow, don’t know what to do !!!

33. #33 by StevePCH on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 10:20 pm

Three cheers for these brave leaders …. Toh , Tan and Yong. Many thanks to YB Kit, LGE , KS for standing up for Malaysia throughout these difficult years.

34. #34 by Yee Siew Wah on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 10:20 pm

Koh Tsu Koon is out of touch with the rakyat. Trying to portray himself as cool… and educated. After what he has done to Penang, I have lost respect for him completely. The writing is on the wall already with some leaders leaving the party. Either he get Gerakan out of BN NOW or he go fly kite.
    Another issue, when US mentioned something with regard to Anwar, our government IMMEDIATELY jumped in and protested. Malaysia was made a laughing stock as a result. But when our Indonesian Gur support Anwar, how come the government was so quiet…..??? Where are all the religious so called experts?? What is our Home and Foreign Ministry doing?? They must be acting like running chickens not knowing what to do. Another stupid double standard scenario. Anyway, our PM must be deep in slumber now zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.
    When woke up, as usual, “nobody tell me, I got from the MSM…”

35. #35 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 10:30 pm

Those who have good heart (liangxin per Arif Shah’s word) should know what to do. Gerakan should not keep cooperating with people having bad heart to kill the people with good heart.

36. #36 by KennyGan on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 10:41 pm

How can Malays be oppressed? They make up 65% of the population, hold the real political power in the country and form the backbone of the civil service. So who’s oppressing the Malays? The Umno government?

Umno has been and always will be a party which plays up racial sentiment to gain votes. This is the only game in town for them. The toll on the nation is enormous but nothing is too great to sacrifice for the sake of maintaining their hold on political power. Not even national unity.

MCA, MIC and Gerakan should be ashamed to play along with Umno in their racial mongering as willing accomplices. Did any of them propose that the one race UiTM be opened to all races? Do they imagine that they are representing their communities when they hold no real power in the government and are totally out of the decision making loop?

Shame on Koh Tsu Koon, the Ong brothers and Samy Vellu. Shame on you for being willing to be eunuch leaders of your communities and dance to Umno’s racial drumbeat.

As a result of these eunuch leaders, a slew of racist laws exist in Malaysia to govern every fabric of our society from education to employment to economics opportunities. See what you’ve done!

Continue to stay in BN if you like and win your seats in Malay majority areas but please don’t claim to represent Chinese and Indians; you represent yourselves.

37. #37 by AA234567 on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 10:44 pm

Rumours had been spreading certain politicians are using bookies to accept bettings in PP by-election.
    Latest odds Anwar handicap as high as 15k-20k votes!

Please appeal to all especially the Chinese in Penang not bet in this by-election.
    If everyone is betting with odds favouring Anwar then the reverse would be true!
    Spread the news and advise your friends and family members not to bet our future away.

Thank you.

38. #38 by rocketintoparliment on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 10:44 pm

Merdeka.. what merdeka when the country under UMNO is promoting divison among the races. It a waste of time and money to celebrate Merdeka when we the malaysian is now under threat from the UMNO racists. Koh Tsu koon has already loss the respect of all when he just follows UMNO and supports their racists remarks. Dato seri Anwar & Tun Lim Kit Siang must save us , the Malaysian from all this racists ( put them all under ISA ) as UMNO is now a bigger threat to Malaysia than Iran is to the world. UMNO should be deregistered as its has no right to lead the country and who the hell gives only a selected few to choose sleepy racist bodowi as PM for Malaysia? The position of PM should be voted by all Malaysian and not just from a few racist guys ( supreme councils aka Klu Klax klan )

39. #39 by peterchiang on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 10:59 pm

Gerakan as a party will never be free of BN lap dogs. KTK has to play the balancing role being the fishhead of the party. Given the right environment (namely independent ACA body, Men in Blue, Korek-full-stop), the fishhead can potentially make a decisive move.

40. #40 by Jimm on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 11:03 pm

Well, I do recalled that our late 1st PM did commented some negative about our 4th PM back then and was label as old and talking nonsense …. that was when S46 was formed.
    So, look like UMNO are facing with the truth path again.
    See…politic are normal business world game .. it’s the politician that self bought their way into BN are the concern as most of them are proxies for some ganglords or landowners.
    They named it Big Boys Game ….

41. #41 by The Enforcer on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 11:14 pm

To the remaining MPs of BN, do what you have to do now, ABANDON ship while you still can!
    You are not doing it for yourselves cos’ you’re all GOONS and GONNAS!
    DO IT FOR THE SAKE OF YOUR FUTURE GENERATIONS!
    Remember the ancient saying that ‘ill gotten gains will never surpass the THIRD generation.’!
    If you’ve awoken and realize all the wrongs you’ve done, then repent now and do more GOOD so that GOOD BLESSINGS will be upon your FUTURE GENERATIONS!

The banner by UMeNO, must be the stupidest idea from Kera Jantan and Kerismudin!
    “Melayu di tindas”, who dares to tindas YOU. It’s from UMeNO that you are tindas. Your GOONS in there are acting like the country belongs to THEM and THEY CAN DO AS THEY WANT!
    BANGUN LAH, SUDAH 50 TAHUN MASIH BEGINI DAN SEMAKIN TERUK!
    BIAR DSAI DAN PAKATAN RAKYAT MEMBAWA NEGARA YANG DICINTAI INI KEARAH YANG LEBIH CEMERLANG! KITA SEBAGAI RAKYAT MESTI MEMBERI PELUANG KEPADA PAKATAN YANG BARU INI. DI TANGAN MEREKA KITA MASIH ADA PELUANG.
    DI TANGAN BN DAN UMeNO, KITA HANYA AKAN MEROSOT LEBIH TERUK LAGI. MEREKA TELAH MENUNJUKKAN WAJAH SEBENAR SEKARANG.!

42. #42 by tchin8080 on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 11:18 pm

Did anyone notice that the UMNO Putras can’t even spell their own Malay Language word properly?

Notice the two “L”s in their banner for the term “Keadilan”.

What an embarrassment. How can they seek to represent their own race if they can’t even spell in their own language.

43. #43 by Johnny Cheah on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 11:21 pm

Datuk Tan, it’s good to see that you are a lady with conscience. You did what you know is right even though you may lose your deputy minister post. For your action, I take my hat off to you. I can only hope that more from MCA, MIC, PPP, SAPP, Gerakan and the other component parties in Sabah and Sarawak will follow your shining example.

44. #44 by nahoda on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 11:31 pm

I hope all are awaken now…..which party is the racist since day 1 till 51 years merdeka

45. #45 by budak on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 11:33 pm

Toh quits Gerakan
    Barely 24 hours after he voiced his support for opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim in the Permatang Puah by-election, Gerakan leader Dr Toh Kin Woon has quit his party.
    MCPX

The Gerakan central committee member turned in his resignation today, addressed to secretary-general Chia Kwang Chye.

In a telephone interview, Toh said he has quit the party to concentrate on NGO work – particularly in the field of Chinese education and with reform movement Aliran.

Source: MalaysiaKini
    —————————————————————-
    Dr. Toh bravely dare to resign for the better Malaysian…
    Dr. KTK still wait for windfall kua…??? :-)

shits are falling, better cabut….!

46. #46 by Blue.kinetic on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 11:45 pm

Mana Keadilan?

I thought this is what we, rakyat should ask UMNO cronies, but not the other way round. UMNO has been fair to Malaysian? History has just told the truth. UMNO is helpless as they are still play racism even GE12 had voiced out. Now, it is the time for Permatang folk to voice theirs, with a louder speaker.

Hi Permatang folk, pls help the rakyat to convey the msg. Thanks!

47. #47 by m.hwang on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 11:56 pm

I really pity Gerakan members for having Koh as a leader. The way Arif looked through him at the announcement of the PP candidate for BN it’s as if Koh is inexistent. If I were him I wouldn’t want to hang around.

48. #48 by katdog on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 12:02 am

Gerakan now dare to talk about leaving BN because they are now irrelevant. They only hold 2 parliament seats. Without their power base in Penang they are like the homeless. No one wants them and no one cares about them. What have they done in the past 20 years?

Now they talk about multi-racialism. Before elections they were warning the chinese that if they voted opposition, the chinese will end up as losers. Never did i hear them talk about multi racialism and unity. Just chinese this and chinese that. Beware of these chinese racists in disguise.

49. #49 by lhslhv on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 12:04 am

Most of the MCA members that I know of talks about getting contracts for their companies or cronies. Their first goal of joining MCA is to get business but not for the benefits of the Chinese community.

That is why MCA leaders cannot object to anything that UMNO says as they will carry out the threat of using ACA to shut up their mouths like what they are doing to Yong Tek Lee of Sabah.

With these kinds of people in MCA what can you expect out of them? The ex-MCA leader Tan Khoon Suan was jailed in Singapore. What a disgrace to MCA. Can you still trust them? Of course there are good MCA members. But how many?

Look at education policy. Look at the economic opportunity for non-Bumi in Malaysia.

Most of us were taught the virtue of unity at primary school through the simile of breaking an arrow against breaking a bunch of arrows.

Yet when we grew up and getting old we practice division and disunity. With this policy around can Malaysia achieve greatness. Based on the simile of the lone arrow, I don’t think so. What has happened to us as human being?

If we do not unite and pool our multi-racial resources, Malaysia will slowly and surely evolve into oblivion comparable to Africa.

50. #50 by just a moment on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 12:09 am

Just wanna thank you – I Malaysian Says: for letting me know about Harris Ibrahim. Its sheer inspiring to know there are indeed many more Malays that are open minded and capable but most important willing to step out and be counted.
    Its people like Harris and many more of you here that I received joy and hope for our beloved Malaysia.Make no mistake, this country is yours too. Decide now to make a difference.

Too many have sacrify, too many have be hurt, too much have be given. Its time you take back your country.

I’m feedup and sick of going in circles for the past 51 Yrs.This must stop. I will be in Permatang! See you ppl there. Long lived PR DSAI and family. We shall Rejoice!!!

Suggestion:
    If Permatang folks can take leave during election, There’s no reason why the rest (outside Penang and northern region) cannot also take leave. Do your best, don’t let up this historic moment pass you. You may not live to feel it again! So be there.

51. #51 by Tulip Crescent on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 12:11 am

hadi Says:
    Today at 22: 16.37 (1 hour ago)
    more urgent yb kit Malaysian must be made aware that DNA BILL is blatant disregard of our rights. It is a dangerous bill. Come on NGO and all MALAYSIANS something need to be done and MCA, MIC and GERAKAN voice now. Sabahan and Sarawakian be aware of this BILL. In GOD we trust not in any human being that is around us. Thank You.
    ……….

In principle, all criminal law-related Act must never be retrospective. In other words, the coming into force of the Act must be in the future, never backdated to the past.

We had a retrospective Act, although non-criminal but constitutional, during the Tunku’s time that related to the Stephen Kalong Ningkan episode in Sarawak. That Act, enforced retrospectively, effectively negatived the High Court decision in favour of Stephen Kalong Ningkan. He lost his job as Chief Minister of Sarawak.

What is tempting to ask is whether the Bill, as it is formulated, has any provisions for misuse or abuse by the authorities acting pursuant to the Act?

This is highly relevant in view of our experience some years ago that the DNA of an accused was allegedly misused or abused by certain personnel.

The DNA Act does intrude into every Malaysian’s right to privacy. Of course, under the Act extinguishes such a right once a Malaysian becomes a suspect. There must be safeguards against its abuse or misuse in any form by any one.

Anything less invites abuse or misuse. Therein lies danger.

52. #52 by ahpiow on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 12:17 am

The GE in March had clearly indicated that a significant proportion of supporters of MCA, MIC, Gerakan, and even UMNO had voted for a change. This support will continue to grow as the seeds had been sowed. What is needed is time, as the people slowly begin to grasp the social evils of a race-based govt policy, change will be inevitable.

The recent racialist outbursts on a number of issues from elderly out-dated umnoputras actually have contributed to more members of the public to change their support to the Grand Opposition. Let the umnoputras continue to rant on racial politics with headlines in the media! This is good propaganda for the Opposition!

Time is the essence! The only thing that can go wrong is for PR to make strategic errors in political statements which can reverse the trend of the people’s mood!

So, PR, do what you preach and THINK before you make any public statements!

53. #53 by One4All4One on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 12:19 am

I am again compelled to pen a few words here with the hope that Malaysians who are truly patriotic and are indeed colour-blind as far as race and creed are concerned would come together to fuel the wind of change which is needed to save our country from destruction by the ill-intentions of racists and bigots and hypocrites, and to fan the flame of love and peace for the country.

What has become of our dear country? Wither Malaysia going? As long as there are no clean and clear affirmative answers which could serve the needs of our country and its people, the nation would not be in peace and harmony, essential conditions for the progress and growth of the country.

The perception and prognosis for the nation now is indeed one of doom and gloom. All clear and right thinking Malaysians and observers would agree. It is not the intention to fan racial hatred and to create tension or to run down the country that opinions are given here. On the reverse it is with a sense of duty and love that thoughts are made known so that fellow countrymen could reflect on the current situation and come together as one to do the necessary.

The silent majority simply cannot afford to remain silent any more.
    One cannot be blamed for wanting to right the wrong. There cannot be room for narrow and race based politicking. Not any more. The citizenry cannot be hoodwinked and mislead any more. Enough is enough.

Religious and racial cards cannot be allowed to be played any more. We Malaysians cannot afford to be divided and ruled by policies and approaches which are archaic and obsolete. We have to be open and receptive to equal treatment and fair policies. Don’t be mislead and affected by narrow battle cries that your race and religion and individual rights are going to be drowned and usurped by others other than your own. Come on guys, you cannot be that gullible, can you?

There are more than enough in Malaysia for all to partake in. There are politicians and hypocrites who are always exploiting issues, especially religious and communal ones, to divide the people to perpetuate their own influence, power and control. They always have reasons and ulterior motives, and the citizenry are more often than not the victims. We should demand fairness and transparency from them all the time, so that none is left behind. With that, unnecessary suspicion and prejudice would not stand a chance to rear their ugly heads. And the elected representatives would not have the chance to play dirty cards any more.

Dear friends, we have come a long way since the days of Independence; and an even longer way when our forefathers converged in this frontier to seek out new possibilities and meanings to life. This is the land we all call home. Being the settlers of this nation, we should treat each other as family – indeed the Malaysian family. We are not enemies. We sink or swim together. It only makes sense that we move as one people. United we stand, divided we fall.

I appeal to all to respect one another, irrespective of ethnic origins, religions or political inclinations. Though we can differ in those, our intention would always be for the betterment of the country. Political parties and politics cannot be race based any more as communal and sectarian issues are bound to be raised and played to the detriment of the citizenry. We cannot afford to allow ourselves to be divided by racial and religious sentiments. Let’s transcend those narrow confines and move progressively forward. With mutual respect for one another’s inclination and beliefs. Together let’s move forward to achieve our dreams, individually and collectively.

54. #54 by ahkok1982 on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 12:19 am

now that Gerakan is really a beggar, then they come out and talk about leaving BN… why did they not talk about leaving BN so many years ago? They were still talking about how shit will rain down from the sky if the people voted for the opposition not even half a year ago and then now they talk about how their master ill treated them and the whole nation.
    I will give you two thumbs up for your play acting but it is just up your butt.

55. #55 by dlquill on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 12:24 am

hey guys, dont be in such a hurry to comment. I believe that the crossover must be at one go. If not, anybody from BN side make a slight move will be called to the ACA like SAPP. When they go togeother at one go, all uniformed departments losses their teeth and bow to PR. That’s why nobody seems to move and it looks like the Sept 16 issue looks like a myth. Just wait lah!

56. #56 by wanderer on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 12:44 am

MCA and MIC, quit BN and be appreciated, rather than, forever be known as traitors to your communities. The time is riped, you have reached the end of the road…JUMP NOW!!

57. #57 by Jong on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 1:32 am

There’s good reason for Lim Guan Eng to cancel the Debate with Koh Tsu Koon. No point for Guan Eng to waste time with him. He was rejected by the people and is highly unpopular with Penangites now, and he is not fit to speak for anyone.

58. #58 by limkamput on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 1:39 am

Dr. Toh Kin Woon, may be the “conscience of Gerakan”, but my contention is he is too late to realise the government he served has been practising racism and indulging in corruption for so long. It is not good enough for him to say that he is no longer interested in electoral politics. Why only those out of power or positions are showing conscience and wanting to do the right thing now. What about those presently holding positions and power? Are they as eager in expressing their desire to do the right things.

I think most politicians are scumbags and we the people must be very discerning and be constantly vigilant. We must quick to pick up self serving politicians and kick them as soon as possible be they from BN or PR. Otherwise, I think if given a few years, the PR will behave exactly like those in BN. It is our national ethos – most Malaysians join politics to make money and enjoy power first, to serve people last. I know I can’t prove this, but you can not prove that I am wrong either.

59. #59 by limkamput on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 1:42 am

Jong, i said it long ago that the debate should be cancelled. It is stupid and it does not serve any purpose. If Guan Eng finds anything wrong in the previous state admin, just take action within the law. Why the need to talk further?

60. #60 by Jong on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 1:47 am

Yep, agree with you limkamput. Why the need to talk3 talk4! Lim Guan Eng should just ignore Koh Tsu Koon, don’t give him any face. Penangites are fedup to the teeth with him practising cronism for far too long.

61. #61 by Jong on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 1:48 am

YB Lim Guan Eng, please just ignore the guy. He’s not worth your time. He’s a reject and umno’s No.1 ampu-bodek!

62. #62 by ahpiow on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 1:49 am

The PP by-election – interesting! My prediction is DSAI wins hands down! the so do mee issue, nobody believes it – an UMNO (not BN) strategy.

Saiful 8 times sodoed, but only last one reported after meeting with Najib! Also no damage to arsehole according to medical report and another govt hospital report.

Hey people, you accept this? I think six months time Saifual will be millionaire and open boutique in Besut Trengganu!

According to Sound of Music, so (a needle pulling thread), do (doe a female deer) and me (a name I call myself). The meaning ? – Anwar took a needle and thread and sewed the female deer’s laceration by himself. Where is Saiful? Is he the doe? But does are females. So Saiful must be a female, or ah-pon at worst.

They are both at age of consent! Eight times Saiful sodoed but no report, last one no a-hole damage but still report, after meet Najib! Very very suspicious! If plastic dildo used to insert in his arse, this classed as sodomee? He may have applied it himself! However still no tissue damage? Suspicious!

63. #63 by Jong on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 1:55 am

I hope PK will stop ‘importing’ those rejects from UMNO, Gerakan, MIC and MCA otherwise soon they’ll be no different from BN.

You are right limkamput, when they were successfully voted in and the team-members in government, they were busy kissing the floor their political masters(umno) walked on – eg Koh Tsu Koon.
    They had no time for you and I.

64. #64 by aquaimplotec on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 2:41 am

Does Lee Hing have anything to say?

65. #65 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 2:44 am

Jong,

Wasn’t it Voltaire who said that he’d defend the rights of those who want to ‘kiss the floor’ to the death??

66. #66 by I Malaysian on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 3:14 am

Well said YB!

It’s an open secret of the political developments in Malaysia.

Within the last two weeks we have witnessed two worst protests against non-Malays by UMNO supporters and some ignorant Malays. Malaysians and world at large know this is how UMNO politicizes issues to exploit Malays. Gerakkan and other parties should quit BN and failing to do so would only bring disastrous result for Malaysia.

67. #67 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 6:59 am

Gerakan was the cause of May 13, let it not bring another disaster upon MALAYSIA!

68. #68 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 7:00 am

A party which set out as an Opposition in Malaysia landed up in BN as a “eunuch” party. Can such a party without proper “principles” ever appeal to the Malaysian society?

69. #69 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 8:14 am

The BN component parties mode is ‘to be seen to speaking up for’ their constituencies. This was the result of the post-mortem after 308. It is different than before where even ‘seen to be speaking up for’ was not encouraged – disagreement was only allowed in the backrooms. Its basically a PR change not a fundamental change.

The fact of the matter is that BN cannot change fundamentally on their own. Admist all the problems they have, party elections of UMNO, MCA, Gerakan. etc. all see the same issues of money politics, team A/B, etc. as before.

The only mean to change is to kick BN out of power. There is no other way. Its doing them a favour to do so…

70. #71 by tenaciousB on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 10:02 am

Finally the moment that was expected gerakan may well join PKR, if MIC and MCA do not make a decision soon, all it will be remembered as is a crap party with useless leaders, corrupt and selfish and immature. Kudos to gerakan!!!

71. #72 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 10:08 am

Don’t waste time and energy to ask members of MCA, MIC, PPP, SAPP, Gerakan and the other BN component parties to take a stand against Umno’s racist politics. They jolly well know and accept Umno’s racist politics, and they willingly beg and accept the economic crumbs and titles from Umno.

72. #73 by Jimm on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 10:33 am

Tun Air Liur must be crying now all the way in his bed in joy.
    Lucky for him that he gets his TUN in time.
    SV must been crying too in depair and pray that one of the TUNs die early so that his turn will finally arrive before MIC collapse

73. #74 by taiking on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 10:43 am

Dont think that those jokers in MCA, MIC and Gerakan dont know that their true Lord, the almighty UMNO is racist and greedy. They do.

The sad thing is they are not doing anything about it. That makes them worse than UMNOputras. To those who spoke out and those who took active and corrective action like leaving their respective party and joining PR, I salute them.

For the rest they are really smaller than ants, they are dirt.

74. #75 by ShiokGuy on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 11:28 am

Racist game always!

This is how Malaysia is going to sink into the 3rd world country. If all this joker still dream about racist politic and supremacy of race (Like Hitler) soon we will be like some of the South African countries.. No Return!

http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/2008/08/malaysia-vs-zimbabwe.html

Do we want to be another Zimbabwe in the making? If not Kick the A** out of UMNO and vote for PKR (I am not quite sure about PAS since they are another UMNO in the making)

http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/2008/04/pas-another-umno-in-making.html

Get Rid of Race and Religion based politic. So UMNO, MCA, MIC and PAS should be voted out and long gone

Shiok Guy

75. #76 by JeyS on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 4:46 pm

Gerakan really quits BN, shame on Samy Velu and the current MCA presidents for not quittng mch earlier. Anba Says:

Yesterday at 22: 09.06
    ——————————————————–

Samy Velu has NO SHAME. He is a total SHAME for the indians! He and his family…are anyways.

The balls are not in MIC MCA …they are all sissies la. They are all YES MEN/WOMEN…

76. #77 by shadow on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 10:00 pm

MCA, MIC, Gerakkan, PPP and others its NOW OR NEVER!

77. #78 by tenaciousB on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 10:47 pm

MIC is useless, corrupted party with a good for nothing leader like semi value, mahathirs ‘yes’ man. Indians who went on a street protest were demonised by him, does he not remember, once again conviniently forgets his statements, one of his famous ones were ‘ why are these indians going on strike, the government has done so much for them! then when he lost the elections, ‘indians have been marginalised’…what cock from a bull! Do us all a favour, get out of politics for good!

78. #79 by disapointed86 on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 2:16 am

what the HELL is all the BN component doing???..!!!…all so silent??..dont dare to voice out??…why so scare AAB…such banner still exist after 51 year merdeka…then?…all the effort to establish multi racial harmony is like building castle in the sky..wake up wake up!!

79. #81 by shamshul anuar on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 11:19 pm

Dear Dont play God,

UMNO does not respond to March 8 election by chanting “Ketuanan Melayu”. Many Malays becomne defensive for example when Bar Council, perceived as Anti Malay by Malay community, conducted a forum on that issue.

Unfortunately only one of the panelist is a Malay, Farish Noor. Nobody in Malay community ever regards him as capable of telling Malay side of the story. Many Malays considers him having anti Malay attitude. Hence, the remarks on him written in Berita Harian.

Imagine A forum is conducted on vernacular school and no Indian or Chinese on the stage. Instead all the panelists are Malays. What woukd the Chinese or Indian feel?

80. #82 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 6:23 pm

I hope the those racism politician read this…

* Parameswara founded Malacca around 1400. He was a Buddhist Srivijayan prince.
    * Parameswara converted to Islam in 1414 and changed his name to ‘Raja Iskandar Shah’.
    * The prosperity of Malacca attracted the invasion of the Siamese, attempts in 1446 and 1456.
    * The development of relations between Malacca and China was at that time a strategic decision to ward off further Siamese attacks.

Recalling our history, siamese atk was crutial and the chinese had offered help, regardless of we win or lose, we are Malaysian today. “PembelaMelayu.com” should read more their History recalling Ketuanan Melayu. We should work best Interest for our future and Unite as a Nation to be proud of, and stands firm to show the world that we Malaysian are “ONE UNITED PROSPER COUNTRY”.

sincerely,
    Malaysian

81. #83 by ihavesomethingtosay on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 8:57 pm

hahahaha, remember the officiating of KJ and wives’ boutique with the brand —- The Emperor?

Gerakan ——> no balls
    MCA ———> no balls
    MIC ———-> no balls

EUNUCHs will always obey their “EMPEROR”

:D