An Open Letter to UiTM Vice Chancellor

by Dr. Chen Man Hin

AN OPEN LETTER TO UiTM VICE CHANCELLOR , DATUK SERI PROF IBRAHIM ABU SHAH

UiTM VICE CHANCELLOR SHOULD THANK MB KHALID FOR GIVING HONEST, SINCERE ADVICE TO IMPROVE STANDARDS.

The whole country is aware that the standards of institutions of higher studies are quite low when compared to international universities in developed countries.

Thousands graduate every year, but not all can find jobs because prospective employers are not impressed by the quality of the graduates, and they are passed over. Not many have the qualification to go for post-graduate studies.

If it is any comfort to UiTM vice chancellor, well established universities like Universiti Malaya, UKM, USM have also been found wanting by world ranking bodies like the Times Higher Education Supplement (THES) and Shanghai Jiao Tong University.

In an examination of the world ranking of Malaysian universities by Times Higher Education Supplement Top Universities 2007, Universiti Malaya was ranked 246 and Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM) ranked 364.

In the academic ranking of World Universities 2008 by Shanghai Jiao Tong University, not a single Malaysian university achieved ranking among the survey of 503 universities.

For the Asia Pacific Universities ranking of top 100 universities, no Malaysian university was listed

A ranking of South East Asia universities by CYBERMETRICS LAB (2008) ranked Universiti Sains Malaysia 15; Multimedia University 17; Universiti Putra Malaysia 18; Universiti Kebangsan 21; Universiti Malaya 22; Universiti Utara Malaysia 35; Universiti Teknologi Mara 39; Universiti Malaysia Sabah 66; Universiti Tenaga Nasional 67; Universiti Teknologi Petronas 76; Universiti Malaysia Sarawak 79.

GLOBAL RANKING (CYBERMETRICS LAB) 2008. Universiti Sains Malaysia 1065; Universiti Teknologi Malaysia 1087; Multimedia Universiti 1155; Universiti Kebangsan 1357; University of Malaya 1381; International Islamic Universiti Malaysia 1709; Universiti Utara 1997; UNIVERSITI TEKNOLOGI MARA 2022; Universiti Malaysia Sabah 3316;Universiti Teknologi Petronas 3636; Universiti Malaysia Sarawak 3721;Universiti Malaysia Perlis 3968.

It is obvious that universities in malaysia are ranked poorly when compared with other universities in other countries. There is no argument about this.

Under such circumstances sniping between the MB of Selangor and UiTM is not constructive. Advice and criticisms should be received with open arms, as the objective is the same – to raise academic standards in the universities including UiTM. It would be in the interest of UiTM to adopt an open policy. The more friends you have, the better

Tan Sri Khalid’s suggestion to have an intake of 10% of non-bumiputras by UiTM is a sound proposal, as Malaysia is a multiracial country. it is in line with government policy of having different races in an educational institution to promote harmony and unity.

1. #1 by Godfather on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 7:22 am

I don’t think that these people are interested in globalisation and in the pursuit of excellence. These people are the typical “jaguh kampung” where limited competition is all that they can handle.

Forget the 10 pct non-bumi intake. They know not that we are trying to help them.

2. #2 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 7:24 am

A university should not be a reclusive, inward looking kind of cocoon institution as that is against the very principle of a university, which is a place where brains of different races/nationalities meet to discuss and exchange views on social issues and scientific discoveries.

A cocoon university, which confines itself to one race or one nationality, is unlikely to be able to upgrade its standards as it fails to learn from intelligent people of other races and nationalities and open itself to inter-race and international competition.

3. #3 by Freddy on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 7:27 am

Does UMNO really care? All they do care is to cling on to power. Shame! Shame! Shame!

4. #4 by Freddy on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 7:36 am

hahaha talk about UiTM … perhaps Arif Shah, brother of Amin Shah, can enlighten on this …..

An Old Timer: I read in one of the local papers that the BN candidate for Permatang Pauh, Arif Shah has a diploma in civil engineering from Grabel International and is currently pursuing a Ph.d from Edison University of Technology.

I did a quick Internet search and could not find any information on either of the institutions.

Could it be that Grabel International is one of those unaccredited private colleges located in one those shophouses in Chow Kit Road and could it be that Edison University of Technology one of those many diploma mills churning out Bachelors, Masters and Phd degrees at prices ranging from US$100 to US$1,000?

I believe Permatang Pauh voters want to know the truth about this guy’s real academic qualifications for they want their MP to be honest with himself and the public. If one does not have any real diploma or degree, just honestly say so.

http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/87995

5. #5 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 7:47 am

This is an important issue but perhaps the timing may not be right; given the sensitivities of the misled crowd.
    It may be construed as the DAP throwing a spanner in the PKR election works.

Read my blog on
    “Education at its WORST – the UiTM Saga”

6. #6 by BoycottLocalPapers on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 7:47 am

Dear Dr. Chen Man Hin,

Please forget about UITM. I bellieve we non-Malays are either not interested or no longer interesed to send our children to study at a racist university which is also the worst university in the world.

A racist like UITM Vice Chancellor is not someone we could use reason to reason with. Let them have it. We do not want our children to be bullied by these racist Mat Rempits. Just ensure that our tax money is not used to fund this racist university.

What the students of UITM did is beneficial for us non-Malays especially for someone like me who did not have the chance to study at the university even though my SPM & STPM results were better than my Malay classmates. After what happened, I am sure many employers in the public sector would prefer to hire me instead of those from UITMat Rempits.

Anyway, I would like to thank Tan Sri Khalid for trying to help.

7. #7 by musyu99 on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 7:57 am

UiTM tak sedar atau sengaja buat-buat tak sedar betapa pentingnya penglibatan pelajar berbilang kaum di institusi mereka.. Tapi sayang bagi pelajar-pelajar yang berdemo yang tidak tahu hujung pangkal yang di pengaruhi oleh cerdik bodoh pemimpin UMNO yang mengapi-apikan sentimen perkauman..

Anak saya juga salah seorang pelajar di UiTM, saya tidak menyesal menghantar dia ke sana untuk menuntut ilmu dan peluang untuk belajar tetapi pada masa pelajar-pelajar ini memulakan adegan demo bodoh, saya telah berpesan kepada anak saya, jangan jadi bodoh, jangan jadi kerbau bajak UMNO dan jangan sama sekali terlibat dengan demo bodoh yang dibuat oleh pelajar yang kononnya pintar, yang kononnya untuk menjaga hak melayu.

Golongan Melayu mana yang di war-warkan tersinggung dengan kenyataan MB Selangor ini. Saya Melayu dan ramai lagi melayu-melayu lain tidak tersinggung malah kita memandang saranan MB Selangor adalah satu kebaikan untuk menaikkan martabat bangsa melayu sendiri. Oleh kerana ada propaganda dari puak yang tewas dan yang lemah tetapi tidak mahu mengaku kelemahan mereka sebaliknya sanggup mengapi-apikan pelajar ini dengan sentimen perkauman atas dasar ketuanan melayu, dengan harapan melayu lain akan turut masuk campur akhirnya membawa malu kepada diri sendiri.

Hidup Pakatan Rakyat…………..

8. #8 by cheng on on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 8:01 am

Why waste time, wrting, he may sue you for insult, ill advice, disturbance to his works etc.

9. #9 by k1980 on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 8:17 am

While the poor are required to tighten their belts and starve, the govt spends RM81,965.75 for dinner for 630 people ==> PM130 pax

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Tuesday/National/2325422/Article/index_html

10. #10 by UzMiNoOnist on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 8:18 am

Why should they share their national loots with other races

11. #11 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 8:20 am

Actually the question should not even be 10% non-bumi be allowed into UiTM. The issue should be is even 10% non-bumi/foreign intake be sufficient. I say no.

Even if 10% non-bumi take up all the top spots in every choice area of UiTM, my sense is that the change would be significant but not in enough.

Look at the UiTM vice chancellor, a MARA lifer who actually has been exposed a bit to the outside world, his brainless statements speaks of one that does not even know fundamentally what can or cannot be done.

No 10%, it does some thing but its no real fix of what ails a Never Ending Policy that is past its expiry date…

12. #12 by Freddy on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 8:23 am

Angus,

UMNO is racist to the core and 308 has proven the people’s anger and disgust.

I don’t think this is throwing a spanner in the PP by-election. Rather, if we don’t speak out on this, then I’m afraid DAP might be likened to the ball-less MCA. Even many Gerakan ppl have shown displeasure over UMNO’s racism.

Dr Azly Rahman: “Let us dismantle racist institutions.”

13. #13 by malaysia-united on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 8:39 am

I bet the Ibrahim Abushah can’t understand the ranking shown above.

Ibrahim Abushah: “I don’t know what are all this, I don’t care! I don’t bother! Sorry I don’t have brain to analyze so all UMNO ideas are good and opposition ideas are terible! That’s all I know…” Rekaan semata-mata…

14. #14 by pulau_sibu on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 8:41 am

racist universities or colleges are against national interest, and should be closed down.

why are the government universities trying to recruit students from china to study there? they want to improve themselves by raising the standard. UiTM should do the same

15. #15 by taiking on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 9:02 am

Thank you Tan Sri Khalid for being so kind and thoughtful of us non-malays. But no thank you. The people in UiTM dont want us and we dont want UiTM.

Instead of demonstrating, UiTM students and lecturers and administrators and UMNO should really channel all their energy towards organising an Olympic UiTM themed as One College One Dream.

I am sure they could produce true olympians and maybe even win permatang pauh by election.

16. #16 by melurian on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 9:04 am

u must be joking to say uitm is low standard university – the univ is internationally recongized and managed to win several award:

http://www.researchsea.com/html/article.php/aid/1727/cid/2/research/uitm_excelled_at_i-tex_2007_with_44_medals_and_awards.html

and why should uitm to compare with um and usm, uitm is in different goal over here, that is “committed to producing a significant number of Bumiputera professionals who are skilled in a broad spectrum of industry who contribute to increasing the national productivity and improving the livelihood and standard of living of the people of Malaysia.” (src: http://www.uitm.edu.my/uitm/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=20&Itemid=138)

17. #17 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 9:27 am

Ibrahim Abu Shah’s reaction to the above article would be: Wow, fantastic, we are on the right track! Universiti Teknologi Mara is better than Universiti Malaysia Sabah, Universiti Tenaga Nasional, Universiti Teknologi Petronas, and Universiti Malaysia Sarawak, and just slightly behind Universiti Malaya. Soon UiTM will overtake Universiti Sains Malaysia, Multimedia University, Universiti Putra Malaysia, Universiti Kebangsan Malaysia, Universiti Malaya, and Universiti Utara Malaysia. Who needs non-bumiputra undergraduates to contaminate the campus with 100% bumiputra undergraduates?

18. #18 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 9:37 am

Ibrahim Abu Shah should hang racist, communal and chauvinist banners like “MELAYU DITINDAS – mesti kekalkan 100% mahasiswa-mahasiswi Melayu” in all UiTM campuses throughout Malaysia.

19. #19 by swipenter on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 9:45 am

Start looking from the beginning ie from primary school education right thru tertairy education. Is our education system producing students whose skills are relevant in this age of globalisation and a knowledge based world? Education institutions are ideally open centres of learning,knowledge and experimentation not indoctrination centres on race supremacy,religion and breeding grounds for closed minds and tunnel visions. Nuture, harvest and keep our talents and dont waste them.

20. #20 by limkamput on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 9:46 am

Tan Sri Khalid said the right thing and made the most appropriate proposal, given Malaysia’s current stage of development. But see what did he get? All the brickbat and insult almost from all quarters. Supports for his proposal are few and far in between. It shows most Malaysian politicians; whether Malays or non Malays are essentially just interested in watching their own back. At best, they will avoid all hot potatoes and controversial issues. At worse, they will join the bandwagon of condemnation to gain some parochial support. Why is there not a single UMNO leader see the aptness of this proposal? Have they really become fascists? Why are there so few non Malay BN component parties voicing their support for Tan Sri Khalid in a clear and forceful manner? Have they truly become eunuchs?

Who is this VC of UiTM? Can he make national policy with regard to university admission? University admission is for the national leaders to decide and for him to implement. He should shut up. At best he can only say is “he is implementing the existing policy”. It is not his job to vehemently defend the existing policy and starting telling others why the proposed policy by Tan Sri Khalid is inappropriate. Why has no one censure him yet? Talking about the neutrality of public service, my big foot!

21. #21 by year of snake on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 10:00 am

What sort of mentality these students of UiTM has! The said that it will be over their dead body if 10% non-malays are allowed into their university. It is as if they are talking to Invaders who are taking over their homes but they should realise that they are talking to fellow Malaysians who are indirectly paying for their studies. If these people are not Racist, I don’t know what to call them.

22. #22 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 10:00 am

Ibrahim Abu Shah is the guardian angel who who protects and guides Malay undergraduates. Yes, his job is to implement the existing policy of the BN government. In fact he is doing a very important job – to prevent one of the ministers from dying, because the minister had openly said that nonMalay students will be admitted into UiTM over his dead body. So, if one nonMalay student gets into UiTM, matilah the minister!

23. #23 by Evenmind on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 10:06 am

Uitm is as stupid and moronic as the Umnoputeras and as backward as the NEP ., so much so that they are afraid of the competition from the ‘other” Malaysians, well with that we can keep on producing ‘professionals’ like ghani patail and Zulklifli ( pkr ) , the lawyer who is saying that the Bar council is’ anti islamic ‘ , maju lah malaysia. , we ‘re heading to becxome a 4th class country , forget development , , majulah RACISM. for the 2012 OLYMPICS send only the Malays., and by 2020, we ‘ll be on track (to be 5th world ).

24. #24 by Jimm on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 10:29 am

this is how they were brought up from young. These Malays are UMNO future weapons to defend the party stronghold in politics.
    We are matured to undestand why UMNO uses quota all these years , right ? Do you really believe that they care for their own Malays ….. I don’t think so .. they have the intend to use them as their human capital in all sectors and control their presence in the organization. Most of these Malays that given a dynamic academic results will be serving the government as officer … look at them.
    How many of them really work to serve … I can only say that only when they are serve then probably they onyl think of working.
    Government offices have been used by UMNO to control their voters result. And where else to start the control, if not from universities…. Wake up my felllow Malays , strive with your real might and determination, Allah will guide and bless you forever. Your sincere effort will be noticed.

25. #25 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 10:36 am

From “ITM” to its present UiTM, has these people ever taken a look at the name of the institution they are talking about? MARA is the name and it stands for MAJLIS AMANAH RAKYAT. Just like to know if only Malays in Malaysia are considered rakyat so as to gain them recognition in admission to UiTM that Malaysians of other races have been excluded so far as they are not considered RAKYAT?????

26. #26 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 10:39 am

Because Ibrahim Abu Shah’s job is to implement the existing policy of the BN government, he is getting UiTM to take legal action against Khalid to safeguard the maruah of Malays.

BTW, where was Ibrahim Abu Shah educated? What did he do to deserve to be a professor? Any website link to his cv? Just asking – hope he does not go into another ‘taking legal action’ mood.

27. #27 by hadi on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 10:41 am

Real problem in Malaysia in all departments. Too many morons and kaki bodek running the organization. Dont belief me YB kit, let make a study on who is running this nation. You will be in for surprise of their background. We lost Pedra Branca and we may lose everything in future if no one is going to check what is going on now, CHANGE is the only way or I am sorry we might as well ignore everything and go to hell. Come on YB this is people’s WAR.

28. #28 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 10:45 am

Is it true that when ITM became UiTM a while ago, all former ITM non-degree (diploma) graduates were automatically converted to degree graduates? Or is this just another urban legend?

29. #29 by milduser on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 10:50 am

The powers that be within the establishment knows for a fact that the standards are low. But instead of taking proactive steps to upgrade them, they have chosen the easy way out by legislate laws in many professional practice to recognize the sub-standard “degrees” or “diplomas” and made them equivalents to the more establish universities. Look at Law and Accountancy as examples. What a cheat and what a shame.

30. #30 by noohceekeel on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 10:50 am

when pakatan rakyat becomes the government in future, education sytem in malaysia should be reconsider whether is’t capable to produce competitive student or not..
    quality students came from the root..produce quality students will produce quality university student n eventually quality workers n leaders ==> quality country….then only can say malaysia boleh…

31. #31 by newchief on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 10:53 am

Vice chancellor daring to sue??? maybe in books & theories , he is good but when it comes to common sense & intellegience, i’m far ahead of him.

Khalid ONLY PROPOSED & tis vice goes crazy like like the protesters morons!! He should has advise or condemn the demo as it is DONE ILLEGALLY WITHOUT A PERMIT & slogans held by his morons can fuse up raciem hatred !! As the vice, he should has used his wisdom to tell the morons that NO-ONE ( other than malays) can enrol into tis so called UiTM as the law is chopped terang terang !!! & that he & his morons should feel very proud that khalid has chosen tis UiTM because of its performances.

Really, vice is bodoh. Maybe too much money has gone to his pocket & he spends it like mad ppl & in turn, he becomes insane & stupid intead of the old sayings ‘ the older u are, the wiser you become ‘ .

32. #32 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 11:15 am

Khalid said: “I feel Malays and Malaysians as a whole are more mature and they know that such efforts (to open the intake to the non-bumiputras) are needed as we head towards globalisation.”

Does it mean that Ibrahim Abu Shah is not mature? Wow, Ibrahim has to have sushi again – sue, sue, sue!

33. #33 by cemerlang on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 11:18 am

Again, another true colour is showing. This time, it is very very obvious and not just hearsay. Instead of a curriculum that opens the mind of students without any limits put to it, it opens the minds of students selectively. Uitm is practising apartheid without realizing it. What the students, the lecturers and the staff fail to see is that in Malaysia, all universities and colleges accept the admission of Bumiputras. The apartheid policy is practised when it comes to non Bumiputra students. Did Allah authorize Islam followers to exalt only their believers and to put down other non believers in Islam ? In Malaysia, the terms Bumiputra and Islam can be used interchangably, regardless whether the Bumiputra is a Christian or a Pagan or a person who does not believe in the existence of Allah. So if you say Malaysia boleh, just how boleh is she ? So if you say dare to fail, how daring are you all ? You don’t even dare to compete with more intelligent non Bumiputra student and you go all around boasting how great you all are. You are slapping yourself in the face without knowing it even. But anyway, it is good for Uitm to express its’ dissatisfaction because if it does not, we will never know its’ true motive in educating their students. Cry Malaysia because you have the next generation of people who do not know how to think.

34. #34 by ShiokGuy on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 11:20 am

Dear Prof,

What is the point of having an University without the competitive edge? I am not 100% sure about your intake criteria but based on Malaysian Boleh kind of mentality, I have doubt if you have the best Malaysian in your University.

Giving 10% for those who have achieve the best but noway given a PSD will help bring up the standard of the Uni. No person is an island, you can think you are the best, but only among yourself. what is the point.

I remember one guy said this in CommunicationAsia 2007.

“I need to provide the best solution among all the rest of the competitors from all around the world in order to get a business in Hong Kong and Singapore. In Malaysia, I just need to work with the best Malay”

Sad isn’t if you still don’t see the logic behind this.

This is a story about my niece from Penang..
    http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/2008/06/psd-scholarship.html

Shiok Guy

35. #35 by kwmark on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 11:27 am

VC is more like a politician to me rather than an academian when he showed off his might on the news.

Kalau semua VC macam tu dlm negara kita….Lingkup dan kesian budak-budak nie semua jadi boneka demonstrasi mereka.

Does he look like a VC or gangster? More like gangster to me…

Shame on you.You are destroying the Malays!!!

36. #36 by aje on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 11:54 am

I believe after the emotional statements made by The VC of UiTM and some of our ministers including the Higher Education minister from Johore about not opening up UiTM to other Malaysians, even if they were to offer my child to study there for FREE I won’t dare to allow him/her to go coz they will be victimised for sure.Besides their mindsets will be narrow and actually they are being used to motivate others.Actually when people are not sincere in their intake like matriculation colleges,MRSM,etc why bother to study there?Even IIU and MMU are opened to other Malaysians and foreigners.I really SALUTE these two universities.I can’t find any university in the world which is exclusively reserved for one particular race except in Malaysia.Pls correct me if I am wrong.Soon we will be celebrating our 51st year of independence.By right we should be moving forward but instead we are reversing.I am really worried for my children future in this so called ‘ makuo’.

37. #37 by Yee Siew Wah on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 12:03 pm

What is so great about UITM. I believe we non-Malays are not interested to send our children to study at a racist university.

A racist like UITM Vice Chancellor is not someone we should waste our time talking to, because he is not fit to be there in the first place. Moreover he maybe also one of the by-products from our so called GREAT local bumi only university. Great on Khalid to dare them to sue him. I bet my last dollar, these idiots do not have any guts or integrity to face any challenges. They have to rely on the Umno politicians and judges if they dare.
    Anyway, I would like to thank Tan Sri Khalid for trying to help. Why dont these scumbags wake up and open their mind that Tan Sri was trying to help the rakyat especially the Malays to improve and compete on an even level in this globalised environment. Not dependents and waiting for help and handouts from BN. Hope that the Malays can one day proudly proclaim that what we are here today was we did it all by ourselves. Dont get me wrong, I know a lot of malays who are now able to compete and succesful in jobs or businesses was because of their own hard work. They do not need any bumiputrs privileges. I for one will be proud of them. I dont care if any company be it government or private can be run efficiently and with integrity with just one race. Be it malays, chinese, indians etc…After all we r alll malaysians.

38. #38 by AhPek on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 12:08 pm

Ibrahim Abu Shah,

First you notice I don’t even address you as Professor and that’s done on purpose for such prestigious title ought to be given to those genuinely endowed with knowledge,intellectual capacity and wisdom.The utter filth coming from you over television depicts the true ‘you’, the picture of a gutter politician rather than a person from the learned community.

And how the hell you come to occupy the vice chancellorship?In a real university, you wouldn’t be employed as a lecturer!

39. #39 by AhPek on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 12:26 pm

The utter filth mentioned came from you,Ibrahim,the other day over television protesting against Khalid over his suggestion of admitting 10% non bumiputra and most of all asking Khalid to apologise to students.You come across as a mobster trying to instigate hatred and violence.You simply look exactly like an ar..h..e!

40. #40 by i_love_malaysia on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 12:30 pm

The VC together with BN govt is racist to the core!!! they would rather take in foreign students (5%) than to take in Malaysian non-bumiputras for UiTM!!! MB of Johore was talking nonsense that there’s no 2nd class citizens in Malaysia while Malaysian non-bumiputras were treated like dirts when compared to foreign students in their own country !!! We pay taxes and yet we were treated worst than those who dont pay tax in this country!!! Bottom line is that they just hate those who can perform much better than them!!! The Germans did the same to the Jews, what is the difference between Nazi Germans and BN-UMNO when both talked about their race as being the Supreme Race???

41. #41 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 12:30 pm

The sad thing is that all the other Us like MU have also been afflicted by the NEP syndrome – I am sure people like Prof Ramasamy can tell some horror stories.

Lecturers being told to upgrade students’ marks etc and good lecturers being side-lined for promotions while others with connections get on the fast track.

It is a guaranteed way to downgrade any university.

42. #42 by AhPek on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 12:48 pm

When Yang Chen Ning (a Nobel Prize in Physics who has returned to China from America) was asked about America and why he thought America was so successful.His reply was ‘America is wealthy precisely because people are free to achieve greatness,unencumbered by primitive rules of behaviour.’.
    You, Ibrahim are advocating as well as promoting primitive rules of behaviour just like what your political masters are doing.It is not befitting of a vice chancellor.

43. #43 by Emily Pratt on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 12:49 pm

UiTM is a LOL!JOKE! IPTA.

If it is not open to Non-Bumi… it is an insignificant lost. In the first place it is not like the non-Bumi are lining up by the thousands to join that LOL!JOKE! IPTA anyway.

I for one do not feel any sense of lost if that LOL!JOKE! IPTA remain a closed institution.

EP

44. #44 by bananachinese on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 12:53 pm

45. #45 by drmaharajahrk on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 12:59 pm

drop it Lim Kit Siang

The Chinese and Indians dont want to sent their kids to racist National Schools these days……….what more racist National Universities.

Racism and apartheid all the way from primary school to University will be just too much for the kids

46. #46 by AhPek on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 1:20 pm

HJ Angus,

I don’t know whether you know, the much touted Ungku Aziz is the first vice chancellor who pursued relentlessly ‘the affirmative action’ resulting in putting predominantly Malays into positions of lecturer,assistant professors and professors.The deanships are all Malay.And when Professor Syed Hussein Alatas,a towering thinker with great sense of fairness and integrity became VC of MU he tried to correct the situation in MU pertaining to promotion and staffing.He is a man befitting the status of an academician, very much interested in scholarship and educational excellence.Well he didn’t last long (1988-1991) and the rest is history!
    MU will never get the likes of people like Alexander Oppenheim,Rayson Huang,Chin Fung Kee,John Thumbo Danaraj,Wang Gungwu,Ho Peng Yoke who have once graced the lecture halls of the university, not unless UMNO is booted out!

47. #47 by i_love_malaysia on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 1:34 pm

Dr Chen,

I wonder whether there’s any kind of drug to heal a person like the VC who is a racist??? If there’s non, I think you are wasting your time trying to show him all the benefits in granting 10% of the seats to non-bumi (I dont like to use this term, but this is a cruel fact that BN govt had come out with, with the blessing of MCA, MIC, Gerakan and all other BN component parties)!!!

Why write to the VC instead of Minister of Education who is also another racist??? AAB and Najis etc who can decide on the UiTM’s intake of non-bumi???

48. #48 by i_love_malaysia on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 1:39 pm

AhPek,

Ungku Aziz is another real racist to the core!!! LKY of Singapore was so angry with him during his student life, please read LKY’s book on his encounter with UA!!!

49. #49 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 1:49 pm

The whole world to some is as they see it – beneath the coconut shell.

Universiti Tempurung Malaysia.

50. #50 by AhPek on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 2:21 pm

Yeah, i_love_malaysia, didn’t that impression come thro in my comment!

51. #51 by Toyol on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 2:53 pm

Why is it that the demonstrators have not been charged for illegal assembly without police permit? Why so quite? Is it because the demonstration was organised by UMNO to play the racial card again?

What about the storming of the Bar Council? Where is the police action? Again also organised by UMNO. There is indeed 2 sets of laws…one for UMNO and one for the “dan lain lain”

52. #52 by sirrganass on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 3:02 pm

Guys! take it easy. UiTM is the worst university in the world – nothing is so good about it. It is handled and owned by BODOWI-Group-of-Companies for the benefit for Malay Only (assobbiyyah) but those Malay students here are not realised that they are not in a good university – and they shouldn’t be proud of it.

And UMNO has nothing better to do now except to prove that they have the power. They even have the veto power to go against AUUK (Akta University) that they created themselves. They are trying to say that “IF STUDENTS WANT TO SUPPORT UMNO – STUDENTS CAN DEMONSTRATE. But if the students want to go against the GOVERNMENT? They will be jailed and sacked.

If the vice chancellor’s way of thinking is a bit funny and non-Malays are forbidden to step in that university… oh, guys.., that’s fine! What’s so good about sending your kids to study there? Purposely want you kids to be ashamed of themselves? C’mon, go to UM and UIA etc… You are not welcomed to the University “Tempurung” Malaysia.

53. #53 by trublumsian on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 3:11 pm

ah….melurian, i see u hv not been exposed to UiTM’s REAL goals:

54. #54 by NewDAP on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 3:13 pm

Tan Sri Khalid should continues to fight for his proposal.
    he is only proposing to open up 10% only. Why they so scare? Only those who are very racist are not willing to share with other races.
    Only those who always pretend but deep inisde their heart, they have real hatred, jealous and distrust towards other races cannot accept such proposal by Tan Sri.

55. #55 by trublumsian on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 3:14 pm

replayed from another posting…

umno recruits people with 2 grades, D’s and F’s (A’s-C’s are too smart). In standardized tests, the D’s and F’s directly maps to the A’s and B’s in UiTM. the F’s get to help run the country or be groomed to run the country. the D’s are smarter, so they’re assigned to this blog to mutter crap in the guise of melurian, kasim, et al.

56. #56 by shortie kiasu on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 3:30 pm

In namesake, it is referred to an tertiary institution, university, to show that malaysia boleh.

In essence, it is just the same old mara institute of yore, a substandard college built on tax payers money or public fund, so called.

If it prefers to continue doing the same things 30 years ago, so be it, that is their wish.

Who would employ those self-acclaimed graduates of mara college?

57. #57 by NewDAP on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 3:41 pm

Tan Sri Khalid’s proposal is wrong and unfair.
    It is not fair to allow those non-bumi who are mostly more intelligent, brighter and more hardworking than the bumi, to get 10% of the UiTM’s places as the UiTM was set up for those who are not so bright, slow and lazy. according to our country NEP,
    we need to protect them and please don’t let those who are better, brighter and smarter to bully them.

58. #58 by cina on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 4:03 pm

chinese school = racist school
    UiTM = racist uni
    UMNO = racist party
    State owned Corporation = racist corporation

Malaysia has too many racist people

59. #59 by AhPek on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 4:11 pm

Guys,I think you’ve got it all wrong.We mustn’t have that attitude that if only Malays are allowed, we say never mind, after all what’s so good about sending our kids to study there or response like ‘If it prefers to continue doing the same things 30 years ago, so be it, that is their wish.’. This would only be appropriate if this institution is built entirely by private Malay funds,I would then completely agreebut not if the institution is built,funded and financed operationally by public fund ie taxpayer’s money.The first thing that ought to be done is to revamp the set up,sack the present VC and get one to run it professionally, admitting all those who qualify academically (according toentrancequalification).I
    may be amendable to,maybe on a temporary basis, that 40% to be given to Bumiputras and the rest of the 60% seats based solely on competetion.After say an interim period of 5 years or so then all places are to be on a competitive basis.THIS MUST BE THE DEMAND OF TAXPAYERS LIKE US who have every legimate right to demand that! I am aware that as long as UMNO is there this would not happen but we have to boot them out if we want this nation to join the nations that are developed and dignified and not descend to the likes of Zimbabwe,Nigeria,Somalia,Sierra Leone,Eritrea,Myannmar or Haiti for these are pariah nations.

60. #60 by JeyS on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 4:23 pm

I think we the nons should just write a petition and sign that we decline the proposal of 10% allocation. Reasons being…racist uni, not academical sound, not recognized worldwide..or even by some MNC and mostly WE ARE NOT cHARITY CASE>>>>

I am not denying that we the non-bumis do not need any sort of ‘help’ but not like this la…you (Gov) either give with open heart or don’t at all. Why bicker ???? What have not we done for the country…we are not the ones with international story line of sodomy..or murder/C4ed.

I am also not denying that we too have some bad apples..but hey we are not hard-up la for the 10%. I rather work and pay my college fee to a college at least recognized la!

However thank you MB Selangor for your ernest try (lets even hope it is la!)

61. #61 by democrate on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 4:35 pm

if u translate the institution UITM it becomes This is a Tongkat University for them. No wonder graduates from this institution still require Tongkat after graduation !

62. #62 by AhPek on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 4:46 pm

Jeys,
    What are you talking about? This is a public university,built by publc fund and also operated by public fund and that simply means your money and mine as well.There is no charity case involved at all,I hope you realise that.If it had been a university built and funded entirely by Malay fund, then I’ll completely agree.In fact you should say that public university should be open to all for the children of taxpayers have the right to be there if say qualified and if foreigner’s children are not allowed I can also see the rationale!

63. #63 by i_love_malaysia on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 4:49 pm

Frankly speaking, I wont send any of my children to UiTM even if they allow 10% for non-bumi, you know what, they will become incompetent and racist once coming out from there!!!

64. #64 by JeyS on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 4:55 pm

No offense AhPek

I think they take us for charity case!

As much as agree about the so-called public uni and all but hey would you send your child or children into such a uni?

Sorry la I WOULD NOT. Even if i have to work harder to send my kids to a good uni for a good education..I would do just that.

65. #65 by AhPek on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 4:59 pm

We shouldn’t also stand quietly to watch our money wasted on half-past -six students taught by half-past-six lecturers and professors and headed by a half-past-six VC.WE must ask that the university be revamped and take in a new VC who knows what a VC job entails and not this current mobster!
    Way to do that vote UMNO out and today Permatang Pauh is in a unique postion to respond to the nation’s cry and to the people of PP we hope you will respond to the clarion call of the nation.

66. #66 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 5:23 pm

I wonder what is expected of a PhD candidate? In our country, any PhD can be a VC, if he is politically correct to the Gomen. Grey Substance of higher order is not a consideration. I wonder how such guys really carry themselves in international forum? How many of our VCs have written enough research papers that are published and accepted by their international counterparts?
    With such lop-sided thinking faculty, they could not be proud of what they represent maybe they are not even conscience of their lack of such substance! They don’t seem to be accountable when the graduates from their institutions get rejected by employers and industrial institutions in the country. They just say their graduates are choosy!!
    I sincerely wonder how long such gimmicks will last? One thing we are certain, Bachelor in Sloganeering and Demonstration should be a degree to be offered UiTM !!

67. #67 by AhPek on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 5:24 pm

Jeys,

You have not offended me at all. When I come out so strongly in a case like this,my intention is to try to give awareness that we as citizen must be given equal opportunity to every public facility. The fact that if we start to think
    that the very act of UiTM alloting 10% to non Malays is charity towards non Malays implies that we are 2nd class citizen and we are also happily accepting that fact.
    Whether one takes this opportunity (i am sure there are many outstanding students whose parents cannot afford to send their children to private universities)or not is altogether a different issue.The issue here is do you accept that you have to be 2nd class citizen by virtue of your skin colour?

68. #68 by Jan on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 5:55 pm

Why protest against the proposal?
    I think these MARA students don’t have the b*lls to compete with others. By demonstrating against this proposal they showed themselves to be cowards, do not like to face new challenges, uncharitable, racist and unlikely to be good employees. I think many prospective employers would have taken note of their actions. They are either very foolish in this instance or they have been misled by some politicians.

69. #69 by taiking on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 5:56 pm

Out of touch with reality. That what those clowns are.
    Yes damned out of touch.
    Its the era of reality tv show we are now in.
    And everything is about challenge, about upping the fear factor in order to raise the bar.
    And there they are shielding themselves from challenge and are lowering the fear factor.
    Instead of letting a live tarantula crawl into ones mouth they simply put a piece of canai in.
    Yeah great challenge you hav huh!
    I am really scared coz its canai.
    Heh man you win.
    Coz I cant take no canai man!
    Its really scary!!

70. #70 by Samuel Goh Kim Eng on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 6:23 pm

Careless talking/shouting must give way to critical thinking
    If there’s still any hope for insular ‘university’ students
    Without any universal outlook or linking
    Exposing their unfounded fears by making some miserable dents

Is there any institution of higher learning that you can trust
    Whereby the multiracial lecturers are quickly put to task
    When the sheltered students their yearly examinations do not pass
    The examiners have to change their marks while wearing their masks

(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng – 190808
    http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
    Tue. 19th Aug. 2008.

71. #71 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 7:44 pm

Someone wrote: Non Malays are 2nd class citizens. Really? Not 3rd class ah?

72. #72 by katdog on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 9:08 pm

Ha ha UiTM? What is that? I have been working more than 5 years and interacted with people from various companies, big and small, and i must say i don’t recall having the pleasure of working with anyone from UiTM. Maybe i did meet someone from UiTM but they were probably not outstanding enough for me to remember them.

So, no thanks. I don’t think it matters whether 10% of spaces is opened up. Who would want to have their children educated there? I suggest focusing on improving the standards of our other universities.

For Melurian:
    I hate to rain on your parade but ITEX is not really an internationally recognized show. It is a Technology Expo organized by Malaysian Invention and Design Society (MINDS). 73% of participants are Malaysian, only 27% are non locals. ITEX is more of a local version of CES (Consumer Electronics Show).

Winning awards like that are fine but awards won at such shows are rarely a good measure of the quality of an educational institute. Universities are usually measured by their research work which you can say is a measure of the ‘mental’ output of a university: The number of research papers and publications, and the quality of these research (how many people cites or uses the research).

73. #73 by shadow on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 9:53 pm

Since they are claiming UITM is only for Malays, its ok. Why not the non-malays establish a new International standard University in Malaysia opening it to all the non-malays and foriegn students only. We’ll show them how to run a high class university much better ranking then the present ones in this country.

74. #74 by Dr_Albert_Schweitzer on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 10:02 pm

Supreme Racists like Ibrahim Abu Shah & his UMNO Putra bosses are so blinded by racism that their brains don’t function normally anymore. They are so obsessed with discrimination of other races that the suffer from dementia & brain retardation. All of them are in the similar mental state of hysteria as Adolf Hitler and his cohorts such as Josef Goebbels, Henrich Himller & other Nazi Racists.
    The VC if UiTM and the UMNO Putras can’t be saved by Man except only if they were called home by the good Lord.

75. #75 by katdog on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 10:11 pm

For them this is not “discrimination of other races”.

For them it is protecting what is rightfully theirs that the pendatang asing want to steal.

Btw shadow: fight fire with fire and everyone gets burn in the end. No point doing something so petty like that. We don’t need our ego’s stroked.

76. #76 by fish-warezmasterz on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 11:15 pm

For katdog,who says u are pendatang asing? pity you for being soo emotional.relax la no one insulted you and your race so much.emotional pulak.we hate UMNO leaders only,NOT UMNO party,NOT our MALAY FRIENDS! ahh stop being aggressive and overreacted.

To all Malaysians..honestly,im quite amazed seing uitm students protested and demonstrated.at the same time,i was thinking..what had happened? tan sri khalid JUST SUGGESTED.he cant change and wont be able to change any uitm policies.why the hell they became so angry.nothing had happened la.oh it because media.yes! 10% pon angry ka.last time when MRSM to be formed there was suggestion to open 10% to non bumi.small issue but got highlighted by media which is fully controlled by stupid UMNO leaders (read Pak Lah)

Poor uitm students.your action was monitored closely by HR managers from local companies/industries (mostly owned or majority are chinese-except operators)..im pretty sure,trend “yucks” to uitm students will grow bigger.ahh stop it lah..grow up la UITM students..

ps;im not from IPTA,im from private uni.malays-non malays-foreigners are OK there.say no to demonstracy! harhar

77. #77 by pwcheng on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 11:26 pm

MARA was basically set up to cater for the less intelligent Malays whereby they can be twisted to carry on the racist policies of UMNO after graduation and employed only in the government sector or government related companies. You can be sure that no astute companies will ever want them even if it is Bumi owned. They are all bred to be UMNO puppets and mercenaries and being half baked they can be easily manipulated by UMNO. That is the sole purpose of having that so called Institution of higher learning. In fact it should be called Institution of hired learning. These bumps are all being hired by UMNO to learn and later to serve UMNO to carry on their racist policies.

Not surprising the VC fall into the same breed and having 3rd class mentality and intelligence, he is more afraid that the non Bumi students will be a few notches above him in terms of intelligence and this will expose his pea size brains and will make UiTM a laughing stock. That is what is happening to some schools where at times the non Bumi students are telling the BUMI teachers what they are teaching is wrong. Most parents had heard this often from their children.

About 30 years ago, I had a friend , a Chinese lecturer lecturing in MARA in Shah Alam and I used to hear from him that he was often pulled in by the Malay Head of department to reduce the passing marks so that more students can pass and make the institution looks good. That is what UMNO is all about.

Three cheers to UMNO and they are not even aware that they are killing their own people. That is the type of brains they are having. The only unfortunate thing is they are making use of our hard earned tax money to do all this and this is suicide for the country.

78. #78 by lakshy on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 11:35 pm

Can I ask a simple question please? Whose money is UiTM built with? Is it Malay money? If yes, then I say, please build more UiTM’s and keep it only for malay intake. (ah sorry, 95% malay and 5% foreign muslim intake. Dont let any Malaysian Chinese or Indian in. Indonesians and others ok.). Let the ASB’s and other Malay powerhouses such as Syed Bukhairy, Khairy, LTH, etc build universities purely for Malays. Build more. Build one in each state. What the heck, build one in each district!

Then open up UM, USM, UTM, UPM, UKM, UTP etc to all students purely on Merit. Lets see these universities become the breeding grounds for creativity and excellence.

By doing this, we can still ensure that 70% of all seats in Uni is given to Malays!

Lets support the building of more Uitm’s for malays suing malay money. Lets do it!

79. #79 by Malaysian Mummy on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 12:32 am

My employer is a Multi-National Company recently employed few UiTM graduates in various accounting, engineering and finance fields. Unfortunately we noted many weakness shown by UiTM graduates were very disappointed for the MNC.

The major reasons of UiTM graduates are listed below:-

(a) Poor English written and spoken;
    (b) Less Competitive among other talented Uni grads;
    (c) Lazy attitudes to learn and train;
    (d) 4th Class mentality;
    (e) Poor working intiatives and leadership;
    (f) No Credentials and No Quality Standard

You can list down numbers of negative points from UiTM graduates as compared with other local universities, uni-colleges and reputable colleges in Malaysia. UiTM has zero rating in the world class universities status.

Dr Chen suggestions are fallen into deaf ears and closed eyes of UiTM Board of Directors of UiTM. It is also wasting his time to write an Open Letter to UiTM VICE CHANCELLOR , DATUK SERI PROF IBRAHIM ABU SHAH. He is responsible for the standard and quality of UiTM graduates.

Todate Malaysians feel shameful of the less smart Professor Ibrahim to critise a good suggestion from MB Selangor. MALU-LAH

80. #80 by disapointed86 on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 2:13 am

To everyone reading this blog:
    As a chinese i dont see the benefit of letting 10% of the UITM population to the chinese..
    WHY AM I SAYING THIS
    Whats the point if chinese going in only to be bullied by those malays??
    and i dont think chinese will be interested to study in UITM(damn low standard)
    TO be honest, i dont see why Malay can compete with chinese in all different aspects…WHY??..what is Form 6 and matriculation for?
    Can someone out THERE tell me how many BUMI completed form 6 with flying colour???…PLS??…As what i know form 6 (Lower 6 + Upper 6) are dominate by the Non-BUMI..
    The Question now..Where are all the BUMI going??…For sure it is going to be Matriculation (SPECIAL route for the BUMI)…i dont see any other reason why matrix is to be established if not to help the BUMIS…
    I understand certain quarter think that by letting the chinese(10%) will boost racial harmony..but..i dont think so..if we can really boost that kind of “harmony”..will it need to be now??…after 51 years merdeka??..or it gonna take forever ..??..

81. #81 by isahbiazhar on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 5:20 am

Mara university will soon open up.The government will think that it has nothing to lose because it will still be dominated by the Malays.The vice chancellor can become emotional as he has to defend the Malays but in his heart he knows it is in the best interest of the Malays to open up to non Bumiputras to get the university international recognition.Quality will never come and the university students will only be absorbed by the government.The private sector has its doubts and they always take in Malay foreign graduates thus avoiding government wrath.One day the situation will become worse when students become unemployed because of the name.Before that happens it time to rethink.Do not forget the once invincible UMNO/BN had been slain!

82. #82 by Dr_Albert_Schweitzer on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 6:38 am

The VC of UiTM is not of third class material. He doen’t have any class at all. His level of intelligence & intellectual capabilities is even lower than many of the Form 6 students.
    He is there as a VC because of kulifications & political patronage.
    He is too afraid of admitting non-Bumi students into UiTM because they would expose his retarded brain power & crass stupidity.

83. #83 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 8:29 am

Time to change the meaning of the word “RAKYAT” in our Bahasa Malaysia dictionaries! Since MARA means MAJLIS AMANAH RAKYAT, doesn’t UiTM belong to all RAKYAT MALAYSIA rather than one single race??? Then why the hell are they claiming monopoly as RAKYAT??? Perhaps it’s time for DBP to propose tabling an act of Parliament to change the meaning of the word “RAKYAT”!!!

84. #84 by cheng on on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 10:50 am

Can bet, for the next 6 years, for any non bumi, UiTM will be the last choice, even if it take non bumi. now.
    Unless that non is offered scholarship by UiTM, got rejected by all other local Uni. (govt n private) or cannot afford to go other Uni.
    So, don’t bother lah, let it be a 100% bumi there til 2020, n see how good it become?

85. #85 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 12:57 pm

Another “MALAYSIA BOLEH (mati)” project by the BN Government!!!!!!

86. #86 by taiking on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 6:32 pm

ktteokt

Spot on my friend.

But I would like to suggest a slight modification.

You see actually,

Rakyat = umnoputra.

That leaves us with this question,

Melayu + Cina + india + d.l.l. = ???

Let ??? be bangsa malaysia.

That would be nice. Wouldnt it?

Melayu + Cina + india + d.l.l. = bangsa malaysia.

Umnoputra = rakyat.

Wow, those rakyats are in minority arent they?

87. #87 by ihavesomethingtosay on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 8:55 pm

Word of advice.

Don’t employ these UITM graduates, leave them alone high up in their coconut tree.

:D

88. #88 by lopez on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 6:42 am

You ei tee $, soorry case lah, biggest joke of education fraternalty
    Pushing, stamping , pressing robotical curriculum , churning out half past six nkp and accreditating them as para professionals,

even the professional bodies are infested with them now.
    don talk about the municipals and regulating bodies of the nation.

the worst is that more money used to further retrain these kg degree holders as they lack the essentials except to in return pledge loyalty to BN who incessantly reminded them where they are now is because of them who gave them the opportunity but did not give them their future.

89. #89 by coconut on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 12:58 pm

to ihavesomethingtosay,

your advice is sooo not unfair to the students of uitm. it’s not their fault when their leaders are like that. please think thrice before you put on comment like that.

try to ponder these:

when umno (united MALAY nation organisation) was opened to non-malays, nobody said a thing.

when mjsc (MARA junior science college) or mrsm (maktab rendah sains MARA) was opened to non-malays, still nobody raised objections

when a non-government leader talk about opening 10% quota of uitm (universiti teknologi MARA), wow!!!u can see what’s happening.

please la leaders..jangan mempolitikkan nasib dan masa depan generasi muda kita.

90. #90 by akarmalaysian on Friday, 29 August 2008 - 2:49 pm

and yet our government can cry out loud abt the brain drain situation.thats whr we get brain dead and bird brain leaders of todays government.all are taught to be blinded by greed.these leaders cant stand up to any criticism or humiliation cos they hv too long been too thick skinned to admit their faults most of the times.look at the ministers they hv appointed in the government.they cant even feel ashamed of themselves.and worst of all they dun even knw wat they are talking abt in the 1st place the moment they open their mouth.to me….they are full load of pariahs.

91. #91 by kimmy on Saturday, 6 September 2008 - 11:18 pm

i would like to say that not all uitm student is against the tan sri khalid proposal…i as a uitm student which is non malay..im sarawakian..agree with the proposal..but not all know that uitm also have non bumi student in intec section 17 shah alam..chinese and indian also accepted into uitm..non-bumiputras such as Chinese and Indians are accepted into INTEC and they are recognized as UiTM students..unfair for all uitm graduate to be treated like..maybe they label us as a uitm student is racist…but it actually not like that..im totally devastated with the accuses to all of uitm student…

92. #92 by leangle on Saturday, 29 November 2008 - 2:54 am

i agreed with kimmy, not all uitm students is against the tan sri. I’m one of d students in uitm and i am malay. i also agreed with tan sri about the 10% quota. some of my lecturers and friends also agreed on it. In fact, on the demonstration day, it is not us that ‘really’ wanna do it. d uitm’s admin told us so. it’s just some of crazy minded students that do all the crapy thing and they didnt know what the purpose of doing it. for me it’s unfair to blame all uitm students because of the quota thing and banned us because of not letting non-bumi to get into our univ. we ourselves know that competition is important. but dont blame us because of someone else doings. and pls dont labeled us as racist univ and racist students. like coconut said, dont blame us because of our leaders doings. we know what happened out there but we just cant do anything.

93. #93 by grinlif17 on Friday, 29 May 2009 - 3:52 pm

right…right..
    hidup uitm!!!!!!!!!!!!