Gerakan somersault and Tsu Koon in sackcloth

After dropping a bombshell proposing that Gerakan quit the Barisan Nasional as UMNO had not learnt from the lessons of the March 8 “political tsunami” in continuing with its racist and communal politicking, Gerakan Wanita chief and deputy information minister Datuk Tan Lian Ho has done a somersault.

She was front-page Chinese newspaper headline banner news yesterday but within hours, she backtracked and clarified that the “quit BN’ call was not her suggestion but that of some Gerakan delegates.

Never mind that she had said yesterday that she was prepared to risk her post as deputy minister for speaking up, the question is why the somersault?

Backing her call yesterday, Gerakan national vice chairman and Perak Gerakan chief Datuk Chan Ko Youn said 80 per cent of the Gerakan delegates in Perak support the “quit BN’ call.

Gerakan Youth leaders have also told the press that at least half of the Gerakan Youth members support the party leaving the Barisan Nasional.

The last word yesterday came from the Deputy Umno President. As reported by Star “No truth to Gerakan pullout move, says Najib”, the Deputy Prime Minister said that Gerakan acting president Tan Sri Dr. Koh Tsu Koon had confirmed that Gerakan has no plan to leave the BN coalition.

Tsu Koon is wearing the sackcloth but are there no more Dr. Toh Kin Woons in Gerakan, Wanita Gerakan and Gerakan Youth?

1. #1 by taiking on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 9:08 am

Not a simple somersault. She will still end up facing the same direction. She has done a somersault and a half twist. That is harder to do.

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 9:08 am

Anyone notice that while MCA leaders have turn up a notch on ‘speaking up for’ their constitutencies that Gerakan especially KTK has been more subdued?

But delegates of Gerakan and certaintly a few key members have been much more vocal. The truth is Gerakan is more a grassroot organization while MCA is still very much a towkay organization (which explains why Chua Soi Lek can still garner so much support and speaks really badly of the morals of Chinese towkays..)

The big question for ALL BN component party is whether UMNO can change. They already know that Badawi cannot lead the change. Their problem is whether can Najib or anyone else do it? Gerakan has basically say well no and it won’t help if they themselves don’t change.

Gerakan members are seeing they are part of dysfunctional family of which they are in the middle of the mess. Its the worst situation to be in. If you are a fringe member like MIC or Sabah parties, it does not matter because you can’t change much by leading change within our without the party. If you are a distance cousin like Sarawak or even MCA, you just keep at arms length while the mess is being sorted.

But for Gerakan, they are right in the middle of the mess. They have no choice but to lead change. They must its not an option otherwise.

3. #3 by Libra2 on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 9:12 am

This is the prayer of the Catholic Church of Malaysia.
    I invite Malaysians of all religions to also pray in your own way, using your own words and rituals to The Almighty for Anwar’s victory. To pray that the forces of Evil (BN/UMNO of course) will be defeated.
    As for me I will add my own words here to pray for PKR’s and Anwar’s victory)
    http://mrsmith2.blogspot.com
    =================================================================================

O God, we acknowledge You today as Lord,
    not only of individuals but also of nations and governments.
    We thank You for the graces you have given us to exerise our political charity in Malaysia.

We also thank You for the opportunities of free choice offered to the people of the constituency of Permatang Pauh for electing a leader.
    Lord God, give them the courage to exercise their solemn duty as citizens of Malaysia to vote on behalf of the whole nation!
    Guide those voters with the wisdom of the Holy Spirit so that they may choose a suitable and trustworthy candidate to become the next Member of Parliament for Permatang Pauh.

We ask this through Jesus Christ, Our Lord. Amen.

4. #4 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 9:13 am

Well, at least nothing serious happened to Tan Lian Ho. At least she is still around to make a somersault, rather than disappearing from the surface of Malaysia like Bala and the doctor who first examined the sai hole.

5. #5 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 9:13 am

Bottom line, the bomb exploded and the message is clear.

6. #6 by malaysia-united on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 9:19 am

As long as they are still in BN, they must practise what BN always did. Flip Flop… Today say this, tomorrow said another things and deny deny deny… misinterprete, bla bla bla…

Sure Tan Lian Ho kena hentam by UMNO why talk suka suka! Then she apit her tail and move away loh…

7. #7 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 9:44 am

Will ACA be going after Toh Kin Woon and Tan Lian Ho soon? Satu lagi projek kerajaan BN!

8. #8 by vincentwee on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 9:45 am

Dear Libra2,

We dont know who is the right party?Therefore,it is not right we pray Anwar is good and (BN/UMNO) is bad.

As christian, we should pray God reveal his righteous and truth in Malaysia.May his will in heaven also happen in Malaysia.

As we pray everyday
    ‘Our Father in heaven,
    hallowed be your name,
    your kingdom come,
    your will be done
    on earth as it is in heaven.’

9. #9 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 9:52 am

In Malaysia, can we expect something like what happened to the Chen family in Taiwan and to Musharraf in Pakistan?

Can we get Swiss banks to show us the accounts of our ex- and current BN politicians and their families?

Will AAB ever face impeachment charges?

10. #10 by limkamput on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 9:53 am

Like posted yesterday, it is called “there is a position for him/her to protect”. Read what i have posted earlier.

“Dr. Toh Kin Woon may be the “conscience of Gerakan”, but my contention is he is too late to realise the government he served has been practising racism and indulging in corruption for so long. It is not good enough for him to say that he is no longer interested in electoral politics. Why only those out of power or positions are showing conscience and wanting to do the right thing now? What about those presently holding positions and power? Are they as eager in expressing their desire to do the right things?”

“I think most politicians are scumbags and we the people must be very discerning and be constantly vigilant. We must be quick to pick up self serving politicians and kick them out as soon as possible be they from BN or PR. Otherwise, I think if given a few years, the PR will behave exactly like those in BN. It is our national ethos – most Malaysians join politics to make money and enjoy power first, to serve the people last. I know I can’t prove this, but you can not prove that I am wrong either.”

11. #11 by lhslhv on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 10:04 am

As long as the whole populace of Malaysia is not matured to boot this UMNO-led government out, there is no hope of any fair treatment, one of the basic needs of human.

UMNO will use all kind of threats within their disposal whether legally or cowardly.

Just imagine how shameful these people can be?

12. #12 by PHUAKL on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 10:25 am

Hi All

I propose the following

“First Law of Malaysian Politics”

i.e. Whenever there is a controversial political declaration which is followed by a retraction, always believe in the first declaration and reject the subsequent retraction.

P.S. Apologies to Sir Isaac Newton

Phua Kai Lit

13. #13 by milduser on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 10:34 am

Well the hornet’s nest is stirred. The boat is rocked. Let the games begin!

14. #14 by Patek 1472 on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 10:38 am

Malaysian’s Sensitivities. A Foreigner’s Guide?
    Sensitiviti rakyat Malaysia? Panduan untuk Pelawat Asing?

Malaysians are sensitive like the plant called Mimosa. They curled and closed up so fast the moment something touches them.

Malaysians are also sensitive like a woman scorned. Say anything right or wrong and wait for her to unleash the storm.

So, if you are a foreign visitor to Malaysia, please be aware of the following, else you may be charged under the Internal Security Act or Sedition Act or maybe get whacked or maybe get a cold reception.

1. Do not talk anything about Pigs or Dogs or Cows or Snakes.
    2. Do not talk anything about Mongolia, Israel or Singapore.
    3. Do not talk anything about C4.
    4. Do not talk anything about Sodomy.
    5. Do not talk anything about Religion.
    6. Do not talk anything about God.
    7. Do not talk anything about Bumiputera or Race.
    8. Do not talk anything about ISA or Sedition Act.
    9. Do not talk anything about sleeping.
    10. Do not talk anything about oil.
    11. Do not talk anything about any sound or prayers you hear.
    12. Do not talk anything about the Bar Council.
    13. Do not talk anything about the latest world fashions.
    14. Do not talk anything about the latest world singers.
    15. Do not talk anything about the latest novels.
    16. Do not talk anything about the latest music.
    17. Do not talk anything about the best universities.
    18. Do not talk anything about local universities.
    19. Do not talk anything about keris or songkok.
    20. Do not talk anything about Mat Rempits, Ah Longs or Transvestites.
    21. Do not talk anything about tolls, electricity or water.
    22. Do not talk anything about prices of cars, education, sin or not sin taxes.

In short, when visiting Malaysia, pretend to be Malaysians, be dumb and deaf and don’t even think because a lot of people can read your mind and know ahead what you are thinking or planning to do.

If you are the type who just need to talk, just talk about the weather only in Malaysia and anything else critical of any other country except Malaysia. Don’t even wish anybody, else you may be seen offending someone’s religion.

Just enjoy the scenery and pay as you go along. Better still, get an Electronic Payment Toll Card and you don’t even have to talk to anyone.

http://patek1472.wordpress.com

15. #15 by pulau_sibu on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 10:39 am

Ha, I always feel like Koh’s head is not stable, hanging over his long neck. This neck can easily be caught by UMNO. He lost his political career, yet he did not learn from the lesson. He will be eliminated by the people in Penang.

16. #16 by Jimm on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 10:40 am

To me, I believe these politician rather faces the truth of the wave of changes that rakyat have demanded than create newer lies which mostly been used through out the 51 years in power.
    We, rakyat waited this long to asked for changes that can bring better future to all rather than that fewer that never bother about this country welfare.
    Changes is a must ….. BN have to go ..
    It’s up to the Malays to decide UMNO fate which seems to be totallly well abused by those in power.
    I am longing to see more politician and senior law enforcer officers to have a clear mind abouttheir mistakes and should make a firmer stand as to what the rakyat wants for the betterment of Malaysia.
    They should not forget tha theri children too are part of this country future and people are them must things easier then.
    The longer they take to make up a simple deicsion. the worst Allah will set the punishment to them and their childrens. You know what, that’s the truth from Allah.

17. #17 by pulau_sibu on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 10:42 am

Koh probably knows the best why he could not continue to lecture in the boleh university. He would not get equal treatment in promotion because of his race and religion. His capability is unimportant

18. #18 by newchief on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 10:42 am

To Dtk Tan Lian Ho who still insists that BN is the best, answer me in simple way. If not, it means BN is the worst we ever has under bodowi’s rule .

1) bn has ‘secret meetings’ & open meetings with PAS. why MCA which claim to represent chinese or MIC for indians not invited? U think it is none of your business or you r SLEEPING???

2) Uitm demo protest without police permits CONDEMNING other races for 10% quota. Why MCA keeps numb & don’t say at least no permit meaning straight away arrest on these students who act illegally as they wish instead of concentrating on their studies to beacome better people of tomorrow ??

3) Why National Training is still on with its objective to understand & respect each other irrespective of races . Should shut it down since so many BN & students shouting like mad & un-educated ppl about malay rights & NOT MALAYSIAN RIGHTS !! Its just a waste of rakyat’s funding when it can actually be used to off-set the fuel cost of this country !!

4) Barging into Bar Council discussion. Why no MCA barking that this is truely illegal also & verbal shouts like ‘you chinese, go back to China & Pigs’ been used? Is MCA willingly to accept that the chinese race happy to being called pigs? Maybe only u do but not me for sure.

MCA if really sink their hearts into analysing BN, u may find out that u r just the waiting in line pigs to be slaughtered away. they will use u only when they need you & aren’t u ashamed of being used ? better change MCA to MPA (p stands for pigs). Same goes for MIC to MPC.

Reply me. If not , i still believe the best government will be PKR which is truely multi-racial & not at the expense of the Malays as claimed by u MPA or MPC.

19. #19 by bentoh on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 10:50 am

Hmmm…

It should be Datuk Tan Lian Hoe… ;)

Dr Koh as an acting president should understand that whether or not Gerakan quits BN is decided by the Gerakan’s grassroots, not he himself… The problem with most of the political parties is that the leader has too much power that irked the grassroots from time to time…

DAP must learn the lessons from Gerakan…

20. #20 by digard on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 10:55 am

There is a huge spectrum of tools to somersault people: From the offer of a tour through secondary jungle in Shah Alam with fireworks, through ACA to problems for family and kids.

21. #21 by Jong on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 11:08 am

I strongly feel YB Lim Guan Eng should cancell the Debate, no point wasting time on this scumbag. The people of Penang have had enough of him with his style of crony politics.

He only knew how to kiss the floor that his UMNO political masters walk. He is not fit and does not qualify to represent the community he had claimed to represent, not any one.

When Koh Tsu Koon was Chief Minister of Penang, he had no time for you and I, so why should you give him any attention now esp so when the people of Penang have rejected him, clearly showed in results of GE-12 on 8 March 2008?

22. #22 by cemerlang on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 11:25 am

Who’s for the next Prime Minister of Malaysia ? Datuk Najib Tun Razak ? Datuk Anwar Ibrahim ? Dato’ Seri Tuan Haji Abd Hadi Awang ? Hello Gerakan/MCA or even MIC ? Still sleeping ?

23. #23 by Yee Siew Wah on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 11:32 am

Hey, this is not Olympics la. If one want to do somersault, please go to Beijing. In Malaysia we only have a flipflop event which our “u know who” has a gold medal.
    Its time for Gerakan to get out of BN. Koh is no longer relevant heading the party. Look at the Umno banner racialistic remarks in Permatang. No comments and reactions from the so rakyat parties of MCA/MIC/Gerakan etc… Maybe they are scare stiff that their Umno masters will wack them like a small child. I do agree with one who proposed that they better put their arse ooops… their face in the toilet bowl for a real cleanup.

24. #24 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 11:44 am

Datuk Tan Lian Ho should emulate the courage of Dr. Tan Yee Kew of MCA – quit BN and bring the 80% of the Gerakan delegates in Perak to join PR.

25. #25 by grace on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 11:45 am

Whether Gerakan leave BN or not, it is obsolete already. In one yr from now, it is history.
    GOODBYE GERAKAN!
    GOODBYE KOH TSU KHOON

26. #26 by wanderer on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 11:48 am

These few leaders are desperately trying to seal the leaks in this sinking Gerakan ship. The middle order and grass root members should now jump ship and not wait for the ship to sink. There is nothing left in Gerakan except, a few leaders hanging for their self-interests at the members’ expense. Members of Gerakan, you do not owe these few leaders anything.

27. #27 by i_love_malaysia on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 11:56 am

Gerakan will become irrelevant in Malaysian political scene very soon if it just continue to be inside BN as it cant even change from within the party itself and dont talk about change from within BN. Its failure to capture many Parliamentary and State seats in the last GE is another indication that the Rakyat had rejected its subservient attitude to BN-UMNO.
    The only way out for Gerakan is to join DAP or PKR or to dissolve itself and let its members to join which ever party that they please. Those ex-Gerakan leaders that quit the party earlier really had the foresight in seeing in advance the diminishing of the party. Read my lips, Gerakan will not be around for the next GE if it continues to be in BN!!!

28. #28 by i_love_malaysia on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 12:07 pm

KTK is still in denial state of mind, he still fails to see that he cant change BN if he ever tried or he already convinced and accepted the BN-UMNO ways of corruption as part and parcel of “good” governance!!! No wonder Penang was in such a bad stage when PR took over!!!

29. #29 by richard.wong8 on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 12:21 pm

Sent Datuk Tan Lian Ho to Beijing Olympics better, at least can win a medal for somersault.

30. #30 by pathfinder on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 12:31 pm

You know why KTK is so subdued? He got this keris pointing up his ass. He knows his days are numbered. He must get his act together and tell UNMO their partner/ I mean his Boss that they are racists, pure racist and incompatible with the aspirations of Gerakan. Gerakans multiracial malaysian mission are being ignored, trampled, kicked, massacred, lied to, …….YES…the time is NOW. It time to say goodbye to those racist scoundrels, The great bully.

KTK, wake up, All Gerakan members must not stand behind those racist banners put up during nomination day. It is like being slapped by your boss and practically telling the public that you are supporting the racist platform of the racist party. An insult against yourselves and the aspiration of the party. Gerakan must standup and say no. Perak Gerakan has woken up 80% is saying no. Some Penang Gerakan leaders have woken up. Say no to racism, say no to UITM, say no to UMNO and say no to all who trample on Gerakan’s mutiracial platform. If you CAN”T say NO…then its time to LEAVE. YES LEAVE BN.

31. #31 by ybk on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 12:35 pm

“No truth to Gerakan pullout move, says Najib”

Najib, are you the president of Gerakan? Come October, Koh Tsu Koon will be out, so what guarantee Gerakan will not pullout from BN. Koh Tsu Koon’s guarantee does not carry weigh now. Very soon all will pullout. They are playing with time only. BN & you will collapse together and you as Prime Minister will never exist. Stop day dreaming.

32. #32 by bumi-non-malay on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 12:44 pm

Is MCA and Gerakan and MIC also given a dateline of September 16 to cross over to Barisan Rakayt Malaysia UNNITED??

Must we wait so long…can it be done sooner.?…Anything to rid Malaysia of UMNO-BN rule must be done and after that….we make the judicial, law and order system clean, remove ISA, Sedition, Printing Acts……and above ALL A Freedom of Religion Agenda, Freedom of Press and From ISA……..nothing else matter.

A Free Press means Boycott Star, Berita, Utusan, Nanyang, NSTP….etc….and RTM rubbish to go!!…Keep up the Boycott of Petronas Stuff…Forever!!

33. #33 by voice on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 12:51 pm

Now we can see more and more people with principle from BN are coming out!

34. #34 by drmaharajahrk on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 12:53 pm

what happened to Gerakan’s Vice Youth Chief S Paranchothy who caused a stir just before the March 8th elections by accusing UMNO of being too racist ?

Hishamuddin warned Gerakan that action should be taken against paranchothy. But all has been forgotted since the March 8th political tsunami

35. #35 by BoycottLocalPapers on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 12:56 pm

How Koh Tsu Koon could tolerate the behavior of racist UMNO leaders like Zahid Hamidi really amaze me.

Why Koh Tsu Koon is still a “pengampu” untuk UMNO after what happened recently/

Koh Tsu Koon,

Where is your good conscience?

Do not let money corrupt you!

Wake up! It is not too late! Disband Gerakan and join DAP or PKR en masse!

36. #36 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 1:35 pm

After Pakatan Rakyat took over the government, we will be seriously in need of credible opposition, it’s a bad idea asking everyone of them to join Pakatan Rakyat. I suggest those younger and untainted politicians in Gerakan, MCA and MIC leave the BN coalition to form a new political party and start as opposition, like it or not that’s the only way to move forward.

37. #37 by Tulip Crescent on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 1:51 pm

Open Letter to All Scouts

Please remember that it was during the watch of Koh Tsu Koon as Chief Minister that the Penang Scouts ended up for the very first time without a viable Scout Camp.

Jubilee Camp in Teluk Bahang went during his watch. As Chief Minister, like his two predecessors Tan Sri Wong Pow Nee and Tun Lim Chong Eu, he was the president of the Penang Boy Scout Association.

The last one was Coronation Camp. That lease was withdrawn almost a year before the general election on March 8, 2007.

We have two more camps, one in Guillemard Reservoir. That camp cannot be used because nearby we have apartments looking down at the site.

The other is in the National Forest Reserve in Teluk Bahang. Money donated by the late Tan Sri Loh Boon Siew totalling RM88,000 was paid to the State Government and the Scouts ended up with a camp within the National Forest Reserve.

Of course, it cannot be used. The State Government led by Koh Tsu Koon treated the Scout movement as a joke.

A few months before the election, I was approached to set up a committee to raise money to buy a piece of land for the use of our young ones. I declined because of the timing.

If Tsu Koon is not embarrassed, I am.

Why am I saying all this now? I was an Assistant State Scout Commissioner for Penang … until the Coronation Camp lease was withdrawn.

38. #38 by drmaharajahrk on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 2:02 pm

Pak Lah is indeed a true reformist.

He let Anwar out and let him reform the country while he zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Pak Lah knows that the ONLY way we can reform this country is if UMNO is destroyed, hence he remains the steward and responsible to sink UMNO by continue to Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz…………….

Pak Lah – Bapa Reformasi Malaysia

39. #39 by www on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 2:20 pm

Koh is useless.have to step down.

40. #40 by shortie kiasu on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 3:18 pm

The somersault had landed her and the Gerakan in a hard place. Gerakan is at the cross road, anyway they were at the cross road years ago. They are neither here nor there. They are just nuisance to split the votes of Chinese all along. Malays and Indians will not support them anyway. They have their respective parties to support their cause..

With Penang support gone, Gerakan with little to champion about. Now the members are flip flopping everywhere. 3 of their stalwarts have their change of hearts and deserted Gerakan.

Their fate is abvious.

41. #41 by i_love_malaysia on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 4:15 pm

Tulip Crescent Says:

Today at 13: 51.05 (2 hours ago)
    Open Letter to All Scouts

Please remember that it was during the watch of Koh Tsu Koon as Chief Minister that the Penang Scouts ended up for the very first time without a viable Scout Camp.

Jubilee Camp in Teluk Bahang went during his watch. As Chief Minister, like his two predecessors Tan Sri Wong Pow Nee and Tun Lim Chong Eu, he was the president of the Penang Boy Scout Association.

The last one was Coronation Camp. That lease was withdrawn almost a year before the general election on March 8, 2007.

We have two more camps, one in Guillemard Reservoir. That camp cannot be used because nearby we have apartments looking down at the site.

The other is in the National Forest Reserve in Teluk Bahang. Money donated by the late Tan Sri Loh Boon Siew totalling RM88,000 was paid to the State Government and the Scouts ended up with a camp within the National Forest Reserve.

Of course, it cannot be used. The State Government led by Koh Tsu Koon treated the Scout movement as a joke.

A few months before the election, I was approached to set up a committee to raise money to buy a piece of land for the use of our young ones. I declined because of the timing.

If Tsu Koon is not embarrassed, I am.

Why am I saying all this now? I was an Assistant State Scout Commissioner for Penang … until the Coronation Camp lease was withdrawn.

————————

Good good, come come go and see the new CM and see whether he can help in anyway, I believe YB LGE will be able to find a piece of govt land for Scout.

By the way, since you brought this up, now I know why the former CM withdraw the Coronation Camp lease, I believe it was because they are after that piece of land, too!!!

42. #42 by i_love_malaysia on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 4:42 pm

Since the National Day is around the corner, I just want to relate an incident many years back. I was in a uniform group then and was asked to practice for many weekends under the sun for National Day parade around KL, I was so proud that I could participate in the National Day parade, but the most discouraging and demoralising thing was that we were informed last minute that our group was no longer required to be there on National Day parade!!! No reason was given why we were not allowed to participate and why only to be informed last minute!!! Thinking back, it was most likely due to race and religion of the uniform group!!!

43. #43 by Tulip Crescent on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 4:56 pm

i_love_malaysia Says:

I do not know what LGE will do, but ending the lease on the last viable Scout Camp in Penang virtually meant that we sacrifice the future as represented by the boys in Scout uniform for the present.

The last Exco was so very insensitive, despite strenuous representations to the contrary. We celebrated the first one hundred years of Scouting in Penang without a viable camp.

And Penang, as a former Straits Settlement, saw the first Scout troop in the entire Golden Chersonese. It also held the first Malaysian Jaboree way back in 1966.

Maybe, i_love_malaysia will care to suggest a path forward?

44. #44 by winterman05 on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 4:58 pm

A swimmer can do several somersaults before hitting the water while a politician can do one somersault!It is the RIGHT time for the GRASSROOTS to leave Gerakan; and the leaders will be left WITHOUT followers !The same goes for the GRASSROOTS of MCA . Ditto MIC grassroots and PPP grassroots and PBS grassroots. Without the grassroots, the leaders are helpless!!!

Help is on the way for all the GRASSROOTS in the charismatic and dynamic leader in ANWAR IBRAHIM. Those leaders in BN are in the PAST while ANWAR is the leader for the FUTURE of ALL Malaysians.

Of course, the leaders of BN will be the last to jump ship because they OWE the UMNO leader for their positions; and must at least show some GRATITUDE by being present in the campaign trail. On 26th August, a NEW ERA will begin for ALL Malaysians; and those leaders in BN who jump first will get the GOLD medal while those who come second will get silver and the third group will get bronze. But it is the EARLY bird that catches the worm; the last bird will have no worms!And BIRDS can do several somersaults and swoop away!

Why waste time in the same nest !

S.H. Huang

45. #45 by Jong on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 6:32 pm

Koh Tsu Koon, a self appointed Commander of his army soon to be without soilders? How pathetic! Politics is not for him, this guy’s a total let-down.

Many have said he’s one smart ass but what do you call a smart ass who is prepared to act stupid and be used?

Did he stand up against his political masters on issues he definitely knew too well had not been fair towards the ordinary rakyat, eg Bersih’s stand on EC and Hindraff?

As supporters of Pakatan Rakyat, let’s not get too excited over those “froggies” or “to-be froggies”.

I hope Pakatan Rakyat will be more selective in their choice of new members and not be a jumbo garbage bin for those “rejects” we definitely don’t need!

46. #46 by lhslhv on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 6:35 pm

If we look at Chinese history, there seem to be so many traitors in Chinese civilisation.

How come!

Is this human nature?

47. #47 by k1980 on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 7:26 pm

48. #48 by Godfather on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 7:35 pm

You are wasting your time talking about Gerakan. I have known Koh for over 20 years. In that time, he has consistently …of UMNO Penang to stay in his job. He turned a blind eye to the tactics and antics of Kumpulan Pinang. He turned the other cheek when he was slapped by people like Ibrahim Saad and Sharif. Did Koh stand up to these people ? No. He just kept quiet. Now he will say that he was powerless to intervene, but he is simply a person with no spine.

Let’s move on, and stop harping on a party in its final days.

49. #49 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 8:14 pm

He had a CAT scan done recently and it showed he had no spine!

50. #50 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 8:16 pm

“….but what do you call a smart ass who is prepared to act stupid and be used? ” JOng

A really smart ass??

51. #51 by Loyal Malaysian on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 8:32 pm

If she’s a principled leader, she would have stood her ground.
    But obviously she’s not.
    Not many are willing to give up all the trappings of power, for the unknown.

52. #52 by Jong on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 8:56 pm

It shows, she’s not mentally strong, no leadership material. Tan Lian Hoe is a good dedicated worker, that’s about all.

53. #53 by aiD_kamikuP on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 9:07 pm

Like eunuchs, they have cut off the pair and kept them in little boxes.
    Alas, one of these days when they open up the boxes there ain’t anymore of them pair. All vanished, kaputski, gone…and so too their reputation.
    Alamak, tak boleh gerak..kan lagi.

54. #54 by lhslhv on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 9:13 pm

After all she is no epic Hua Mulan!

Ng Yen Yen is just another stooge!

55. #55 by katdog on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 9:40 pm

Gerakan is ready to fall. Dr. Toh probably realized his time is over. He had his chance to bring about change in Gerakan but he failed. Now its time for him to move on. Let the younger generation have their try now.

PR should not except Gerakan wholesale. PKR and DAP are already multi racial parties. Why do we need a ‘used to be’ multi racial party? If their kataks want to join, they can become members of DAP or PKR. No need for another party like Gerakan. What are their party principles? What are they fighting for? I see none except to enrich themselves.

Remember the history of MCA and Gerakan and their various squabbles over control of Penang. Instead of fighting against the corruption of UMNO they fought among themselves for scraps of power.

56. #56 by Anak Msia on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 9:46 pm

Perak Gerakan chief Datuk Chan Ko Youn said 80 per cent of the Gerakan delegates in Perak support the “quit BN’ call.

KTK, pls listen to your grassroot.

a party is make of grassroot, not the few leaders.

57. #57 by Dr_Albert_Schweitzer on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 9:50 pm

Tan Lian Ho does not have any trappings of power. She has always been under the thumb of the UMNO Putras. She has been bribed by the offer of a deputy minister post. It is her love of money more than sincere principles which has prompted her to do the somersault.

58. #58 by alancheah on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 11:23 pm

Good Luck to Malaysia.

59. #59 by isahbiazhar on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 5:09 am

It is time for MCA,DAP and Gerakan to dissolve and make PKR strong by joing en masse.For once we will have a multiracial party which will lead Malaysia into an era of glory.The present government mutiracial parties cannot stand the pressure of the present thinking.They will die soon.

60. #60 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 6:47 am

news for uncle Lim.
    SUPP is also calling for withdrawn from barisan!

????????????????????????

?????18??????????????????????????????????????????????

?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

??“?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????”

????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

?????????????????????????????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????????????????????“???”????????????????????????????????????????

61. #61 by tenaciousB on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 6:59 am

any dumb ass would know the impending sense of doom in BN and UMNO, time to jump ship y’all!!!!

62. #62 by max2811 on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 8:41 am

As a live member of MCA(who voted PKR), my heart has left BN/UMNO 5 years back. Now, I’m waiting for party leadership to leave UMNO- the racist party. A party that has brought the country down, be it economically, sports, judiciary and well-being of the rakyat.

63. #63 by max2811 on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 8:42 am

oops- life member

64. #64 by tenaciousB on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 9:20 am

Malaysians in general be it the malays and others have been mistreated during the tenure of BN. In the name of good, the government has wrong done the malays. The deception was ‘previlleges’ which have made the race feel inferior psychologically for years.

The other races were labelled as immigrants, therefore not given previlleges they had to work harder to survive as nothing was given to them in a silver platter. This resulted in a more successful race in general.

65. #65 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 8:17 pm

Don’t golat too early – PKR and hence PR is facing a lot of problems. If all ongoing polis or ACA investigations turn out to be correct, then there are bad hats/apples within PKR.

The Perak PR government may fall if the two PKR exco members were found to be guilty of corruption but given protection by the BN and hopped to become Umno members.

Let’s see the ending of this poker match.

66. #66 by shamshul anuar on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 11:02 pm

Dear Dr Albert,

What a name. Anyway what a nasty thing to say. No. Tan Lian Ho is not under UMNO’s thumb. She, like many other Gerakan leaders ( also MCA and MIC) benefited from benign UMNO’s rule. The sense of tolak ansur by UMNO enables her to win in predominantly Malay area, Gunung Semanggul in 2004 and Grik in 2008.

She may not win any seat if not for UMNO’s support. So, naturally feeling some ‘soft spot” to UMNO is understandable.

UMNO earns the “senior partner” status in BN. Why? Simple actually. Mathematics does not lie. It won 79 of 140 seats held by BN. Meaning approximately 60% of BN seat held by UMNO. Hence, the dominance of UMNO in BN.

As for Isahbiazar, it is unlikely that MCA, MIC, Gerakan to leave UMNO. It is suicidal for them. As an example, Datuk Subramaniam, current MIC Minister in BN won in predominantly Malay area, Tapah. Leaving BN means he will lose the seat.

I take it that you are not aware of growing sentiments among Malay community. Many regret choosing PKR.

67. #67 by i_love_malaysia on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 3:34 pm

Tulip Crescent,

Silver and gold I dont have, what I have is a piece of word from the Bible.

Matthew 7:7 TNIV • Read this chapter
    [ Ask, Seek, Knock ] “Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.

You may make an appointment with the CM and present your case and see what will happen. There’s no harm in trying and you will find out how effective is the new CM at the same time (I believe he will try his best to meet the request, but we also have to be realistic in view of so many requests from all over Penang and NGOs).

God bless you in whatever you do for the Scouts.

68. #68 by aquaimplotec on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 7:05 pm

Let me reveal to you a Gerakan brainless pseudo do good for the people of Kg. Simee, Ipoh. They widened the road leading to the market by paving over the roadside grass. They did not bother to shift all the lamp posts to the side of the widened road. These lamp post stood 10 feet into the road and no road lines were drawn in the road center nor the road side.

Less than a week after the brainless feat, a vehicle crashed into the lamp post right in front of the Gerakan office that is situated on this very road. The brainless feat of putting lamp posts right in the path of drunken/unwary drivers has scored. Yes, one up for Gerakan stupidity.

69. #69 by Godfather on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 7:08 pm

Shamshul Anuar:

Your brain is behind your eyes, so look first, then think and comment. Don’t simply shoot your mouth off just because your mouth is in front of your brain. Faham tak ?

70. #70 by shamshul anuar on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 10:13 pm

Dear Godfather,

Now do not get upset. Just because someone does not agree with your racial remark does not mean that he “simply shoot his mouth off”.

Many irresponsible remarks thrown to Gerakan on its long lasting alliance with UMNO. Hiding behind facade of freedom of expression, numerous attempts made to depict Gerakan as “kowtowing” to UMNO simply to raise hatred to UMNO.

UMNO is accused of “bullying” other parties. UMNO is accused of behaving like big brother. The truth is that UMNO is accorded “senior partner” status as UMNO holds the most number of seats in BN.

So, if Gerakan wants to leave BN, well it is actually suicidal(politically) for Gerakan. Considering that Gerakan is almost wiped out in last election. If not for UMNO’s support, it would not have been able to lead Penang for decades.

The truth is that UMNO also needs MCa, MIC or Gerakan. And Gerakan also needs badly the Malay support. Surely, you can think( if you can at least once) that Tan Lian Hoe won in predominantly Malay seats. Not to mention MPs for alor setar, Tapah as examples. So give some credit to UMNO.

Whatever mistakes it made, at least it still allows mind boggling unique phenomenon like vernacular schools to survive and aided by Federal Govt.

As one irate UMNO politician puts it clearly when Uncle Lim played racial card over Wawasn school “If UMNO really want to destroy vernacular school( meaning abolish separate school system), it would have done that 40 years ago .