Malaysia – an abnormal country

The heading of one blog today, “BN’s Credibility to Rule Disappearing by the day!”, reflects the feelings of increasing number of Malaysians that although the Barisan Nasional had survived the political tsunami in the March general election, it has not learnt any lesson at all.
The post-general election claim by the Prime Minister that he has finally heard the voice of the people is not true at all.

This is best reflected by the first 100 days after the March 8 general election, where at the state level, the five state governments under the Pakatan Rakyat becomes more stronger and more consolidated while in contrast, at the national level, the second Abdullah premiership seems to be tottering from Day One, under siege in Umno and Barisan Nasional internally as well as externally.

Although the March 8 general election suffered a historic defeat in losing its hitherto unbroken two-thirds parliamentary majority, it still enjoys a strong 58-seat majority with its 140 MPs against 82 from Pakatan Rakyat.

In other democracies, a ruling coalition with a 58-seat majority in Parliament would be as safe and fit as a fiddle. Why is this not the case in Malaysia?

This highlights the abnormality of the Malaysian democratic process, the importance of the political tsunami of March 8 general election to start the long and hard process to make Malaysia a normal democratic country with the end of two-thirds parliamentary majority for the ruling coalition and the dismantling of the arsenal of draconian and undemocratic laws, unaccountable and corrupt governance and the creation of a united and forward-looking Bangsa Malaysia by returning to Malaysians their fundamental democratic rights and freedoms as enshrined in the Merdeka Constitution of 1957.

(Opening speech in the Ninth Malaysia Plan Mid-Term Review debate five minutes before lunch-break in Parliament)

1. #1 by Godfather on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 3:29 pm

An AB Normal country with an AB Normal person at the helm.

2. #2 by johan_my on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 3:30 pm

I think while the more mature democracies would have accepted the election results and start working for the new term, we in Malaysia are still talking about crossovers and the govt toppling. All these are destabilising the economy and is reflected in our stock market. Can we get on with the job at hand, please? You have now till the next election to change the mindset of more people to get enough votes to form the next govt. You already have 50% of the seats in Peninsula Malaysia.

Cheers.

3. #3 by a-malaysian on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 3:34 pm

Malaysia as a country is not abnormal. It is seen to be abnormal because we have abnormal half past six leaders running this country.

What more to say, if you have an idiot running a show, you have an idiotic show, period.

Blood-Suckers

GE 13 – No matter what, we must ensure that racist umno bn do not regain the power like they had for the past fifty years.

4. #4 by penang308 on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 3:44 pm

It is ABNORMAL because Malaysia is ruled by RACIST GOVERNMENT who connot think OUT OF THE BOX, they are a bunch of ‘FROG LIVING INSIDE A WELL” and refuse to come out!

They refuse to acknowledge that we are now living in a “BORDERLESS” WORLD…WHAT EVER HAPPEN OUTSIDE THE COUNTRY WILL EVENTUALLY EFFECT ALL OF US.

They refuse to acknowledge that ALL MALAYSIAN ARE MALAYSIAN, and see that what is good for one will eventually benefit the other as well!

IF ANYONE OF YOU HAVE WATCH THE RECENT “EURO 2008″….THEY MESSAGE IS VERY VERY CLEAR….””SAY NO TO RACISM”.

5. #5 by Jong on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 3:54 pm

This latest mischief by the members of the ruling party has backfired, and angered their many supporters and fence sitters to say “ENOUGH IS ENOUGH”!!!!!!!!!

The Altantuya Sharriibuu C4 murder by VVIPs is also not forgotten.

6. #6 by sickandtired on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 4:01 pm

I hear you loud and clear as stated by Abdullah Badawi, my foot he have!!

7. #7 by sickandtired on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 4:02 pm

BN/UMNO will never learn. They still back to their old ways rule like a dictator and do whatever he pleases.

8. #8 by sickandtired on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 4:05 pm

The latest episode Anwar on sodomy charge, is totally out of line and out of ideas. A person in the right frame of mind will never ever believes it.

9. #9 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 4:27 pm

Malaysia – an abnormal country? Sure which other country in this world has murder by C4 and then sodomy (twice) allegedly linked or connected one way or another to national politicians on opposite sides of the political divide in rapid succession or a head of state who needs to cat nap quite frequently to make up for sleep disorder or a director of Anti Corruption who himself is a subject of allegations and investigations or an ex premier quarrelling openly with anointed successor saying he made mistake in appointment – or even a secular pluralistic opposition party like DAP in uneasy collaboration with Islamic theocratic party like PAS to come to a point of neck to neck with ruling coalition separated by only 30 seats bridgeable by cross overs???

10. #10 by ahkok1982 on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 4:38 pm

It is abnormal because BN did not win the election through a fair process… Postal Votes + re-drawing borders + Vote buying + Phantom Voters + one-sided EC + many more…
    How would you consider this as an actual win with a safe 58-seat majority? They lost the election and they know it.
    There is no democracy in this country. There is only demon-cracy.

11. #11 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 4:54 pm

A democracy that is built on corrupt governance, racial supremacy, draconian, repressive and undemocratic laws will not withstand the test of time. Its people will be disillusioned over time and yearn for liberation and freedom of a higher dimension.

The so-called democracy currently practiced in this country, at best, is only a fake replica of true democracy.

Malaysia under BN will NOT attain true democracy. True democracy can only be achieved when the country’s leaders have the political will, courage and determination to reform, modernize and remodel the current system, which is plagued with corruption, discrimination and manipulation (of the judicial system, police force etc), and devoid of transparency and accountability.

12. #12 by cheng on soo on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 5:37 pm

Just wonder, is there any other country that use C4 to dispose dead body? or to kill a person?
    So, is this country normal or abnormal?

13. #13 by badak on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 6:19 pm

Things will never change as long as the other component parties in the UMNO LED BN Goverment just raise their hands and shouts
    “” KAMI SOKONG “” All this for the table scraps that UMNO throw at them.
    MIC,MCA , PPP ,GERAKAN are surviving not because of UMNO.But it is the other way round.UMNO is surviving because of MIC MCA PPP GERAKAN.

14. #14 by cancan on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 8:26 pm

Pakatan Rakyat must solidify before fragility sets in.

Link: http://www.kingsmary.blogspot.com/

15. #15 by Jong on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 9:15 pm

“Abnormal” – I can’t agree more! While our neighbours are choked in laughter seeing how silly this Umno-led BN govt has made the country look, Malaysians back home are red-faced, even at kopitiams and mamak joints everyone think it’s not that funny anymore!

We have had enough of these mischief, there are much more urgent matters to attend to. When you call “wolf wolf wolf” too many times, no one is going to believe you. It will just backfire in your face!

This latest mischief has made us look a very sick society, whose favourite past time is to sodomise each other, very soon even lamp-posts won’t be spared! So guys, do something, your reputation at risk.

The Altantuya Shaariibuu C4 murder is another classic case for the world to see. No one is ever safe in this country anymore, at risks of C4 thrown at you if ever those in power/VVIP are unnecessarily offended.

16. #16 by firefox on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 9:19 pm

To:penang308

Not “SAY NO TO RACISM”. It’s “UNITE AGAIST RACISM”

17. #17 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 9:41 pm

Malaysia is an abnormal country because Malaysians made it so. Stop paying taxes to the government.

18. #18 by wtf2 on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 10:02 pm

not to mention halving of traffic offence fines…hahahaha

next time we will see stuffs like sentenced to half death for murder!

19. #19 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 10:24 pm

The country is definitely heading for disaster! Is AAB and the other government officials blind? They know very well that things which ought not to have happened have actually taken place in Malaysia! This proves that “MALAYSIA PASTI BOLEH (MATI)!!!!!!

20. #20 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 10:47 pm

PR and DSAI we bank on you to make “abnormal” Malaysia a normal country!

21. #21 by harrisonbinhansome on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 10:48 pm

Malaysian Government view of President Robert Mugabe as a tyrant and the Military Junta of Myanmar as uncivilized. The same is of the view of the 1st World countries on the BN Government.

22. #22 by KennyGan on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 11:02 pm

Umno is obsessed with the fear of losing power so it got a shock when it did not get its usual 2/3 majority.

All the oppressive laws and subjugated democratic institutions is a reflection of that fear. A popular govt. does not all that to keep itself in power.

So now that Umno has lost its 2/3 imajority, its fear has increased. What chance now for genuine social reforms?

23. #23 by choonchoy on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 11:08 pm

Abnormal leaders = abnormal country. Can’t expect it to come out any other way.

24. #24 by Godfather on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 11:30 pm

Anwar has made a police report against the IGP and the AG. Of course he doesn’t expect anything to be done since these clowns won’t investigate themselves but it sends a strong message to the world that Bolehland is a sick place, a place where the Police and the AG’s Chambers are beholden to the executive, and that transparency and integrity are mere pipedreams.

25. #25 by cemerlang on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 11:52 pm

They say that it is abnormal not to be abnormal. Somehow we all possess some form of abnormality. But in the case of Malaysia, the country is not abnormal. Rather, some of the people managing her is a bunch of oxymorons. ah ! That’s the word some internet users like to use. It simply means contradiction. Example the government allows its’ own workers to have side businesses. But if this side business involves making money out of the government’s money, it means that the government is losing its’ money. Another example is some big shot claims that there is a freedom of press. But if there is a limit, this is not called freedom. It is call control. Then, the government says petrol price is increased. But you are given rebates. Instead of rebates, why not just don’t increase the petrol price ? All these contradictions. If you are in Hospital Bahagia, they will most probably diagnose you as schizophrenic. A splitting of minds. Uncertainty. Unsure. I don’t know.

26. #26 by tuanku british on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 12:03 am

” An AB Normal country with an AB Normal person at the helm” said GODFather…..BRAVO !!

MALAYSIA APA PUN AB NORMAL BOLEH !

THE DONKEY MIND VOTERS VOTED BARANG NAIK (BN ) AB NORMAL PARTY !!

KJ SHOUTED BABI NEGARA (BN) IN AB NORMAL PARLIAMENT !!!

BIG FOOT VERSUS BIG MONKET IN AB NORMAL STANDING AND SITTING SANDIWARA PLAYED IN FIRST DAY IN THE HOUSE DEBATE.

NO WONDER WASHINGTON PROTEST AB NORMAL BN GOVERNMENT USING POLITICAL LAWS ON DSAI SODOMY REPORT !!!

END OF THE DAY…MALAYSIANS WANT AB NORMAL LEADER STEP DOWN SOONEST POSSIBLE !!!!!

WE LOVE GODFATHER FOR HIS NORMAL THINKING !!

27. #27 by dapforever on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 12:29 am

Anwar has made a police report against the IGP and the AG.
    again, do you think the police force UNDER IGP dare to investigate their own boss? haha…

Not scared kena fired?

A police report is made just to show how they(police) going to investigate the claim made by anwar….The whole world is watching….prove it’s a FAIR one…dun think they able to do it…

28. #28 by peterchiang on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 12:32 am

How is it possible to go against

(1) Top Policeman (control use of pistols, water cannons, permits)
    (2) Top legal person representing Govt (court matters)
    (3) Top Military man (commanding armforces, use of c4)
    (4) Top man in present Govt (commanding speakers & dewan)
    (5) Top man in Finance ministry ($)
    (6) Top man in past Govt (commanding eyeballs of bloggers)

all at the same time? Abnormal.

29. #29 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 12:54 am

New invention by Malaysia Boleh – using C4 to dispose of dead body; save land, save space, clean & save cost!!!

30. #30 by The Enforcer on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 12:56 am

Can you calll this country a normal country where the former DPM himself has to resort to seeking refuge in another country’s consulate for his safety? He has been there and he knows damn well that the jurisdiciary and the police in this country cannot be relied upon cos’ they are the puppets of the PM ( whoever it can be ) The sound minded RAKYAT knows that the time has come for a change of government and not change of PM cos’ how to replace a monkey with a baboon. They are of the same species. It’s better to take a chance with the PR and DSAI then living in this GOD forsaken country where there is only the law of the jungle here.
    Someone above rightly say it that they know they actually lost in the last GE. Take away all the ‘forced’ votes and EM and they are a gonna. So come on RAKYAT from EM, join the band wagon and wipe these GOONS from the face of this beautiful country!
    The country should be like a big family where the HEAD and senior members takes care of the family and not wash it’s DIRTY LINEN IN PUBLIC.
    We are now the laughing stock of the whole wide world and we the RAKYAT of the NEW MALAYSIA condons this. Do we want to wait another four years to make the change or do we take action now to make it sooner.
    MP’s of BN, have you no conscience in your heart? Do you think that your children are proud of you? Do you know that behind your back and their’s that people are talking bad and cursing you? Can you eat and sleep peacefully without watching your back? Money is not everything and there are so many humble and honest way of earning a living, why leech? The body is only a temporary medium in our short life. When we die, don’t we want to leave behind a good name and legacy where our family will be proud of? The RAKYAT knows that there are some of you among the 140 that want to jump ship. Have the courage and do it now for the sake of your future generations!

31. #31 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 1:47 am

Wisma Putra has warned the U.S. against interfering in the domestic affairs of Malaysia! What?? Just by making a statement? These people are like nincompoops. Their Kg. Attap mentality apparently has got to them.

32. #32 by isahbiazhar on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 5:26 am

When UMNO/BN lost their 2/3 majority they do not know how to rule.They had lived with that far too long.Now they are helpless and swimming in shallow waters.Amending and repealing the laws as they liked to satisfy them has resulted in this situation.We have to make sure no government will be give a 2/3 majority.

33. #33 by k1980 on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 8:23 am

As Edu Minister in the 1980s, Anwar eradicated world history from the syllabus of secondary schools. If not, he would have learnt from the mistakes of others such as the 1940 murder of Leon Trotsky by his aide who was a mole planted by Stalin. By intending to make fools who do not know history out of Malaysians, Anwar himself ends up as the biggest fool of all, brought down by a mole.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ramon_Mercader

34. #34 by pjboy on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 8:32 am

I disagree. Malaysia is & still a beautiful (nature, etc) & rich country (resources, diverse people, etc). Also with rich culture, history & normal-civilised-citizens. It is the ruling leaders (a.k.a BN) that have ruined it for their personal & vested interest. Rubbish In = Rubbish Out. The way the ruling leaders run their organisation is like the Mafia – No. 1 rule “Do not oppose me”.

As far as I have heard & understood, the British did not allow independence when our honorary late TAR asked for it, alone. The British, being smart & all that, know that they cannot leave Malaya to TAR alone to run the country. At the end, TAR had to strike a deal with the Indians & Chinese leaders (plus others). Hence, I guess, the social contract – whatever it means today.

So, without the support of the Indian & Chinese leaders to convince the British that they will work together to run the country with the Malay leaders, we would still be singing God Save The Queen.

Why the British did not simply give in to TAR request? Why did they insist the Indian & Chinese be included? There is good reason for that at that time & quite obvious. The British want all the races to work together. This was going well until 1969. All you need is one rotten durian to spoil the basket.

Look at Malaysia now. We have fallen behind. We have ruling leaders who over-promised & under-delivered (otherwise none-delivered). The latest statement by the US-Gov on Anwar shows that they are watching us. So are the rest of the civilised world. We can only be proud of our roads & housing. Other than that, we are no better than Myanmar & Zimbabwe in terms of ruling government.

35. #35 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 8:49 am

The term ‘abnormal’ in this context is meant to say we do not meet necessary standards. But ‘abnormal’ also means other thing including just being different which is not a necessary a bad thing.

But in our context, only a bad connotation of ‘abnormal’ means anything. So I would think it better to describe as ‘malignant’ not just abnormal.

36. #36 by taiking on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 8:56 am

I thought the ground movement in favour of the opposition before the recent election was merely a natural pre-election sentiment build-up and it will go away later.

The government will take then advantage of the lull to gain back some grounds. That was usual. It has happen many times before. It will be back to old ways and back to business for UMNO and BN.

This time, things are not the same. I am surprised. Perhaps, more happy than surprised. The pre-election issues and sentiments refuse to go away. In fact, it has grown in size and substance. If the growth continues, their impact and repercussions would surely increase too.

This is certainly a favourable development for common good and for the nation. Certainly a development which we should all embrace.

37. #37 by k1980 on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 9:05 am

To pjboy @Today at 08: 32.55

If we are still be singing God Save The Queen today, we would be among the top 10 richest countries in the world, the richest in asean with a per capita GDP higher than Singapore and Brunei combined, and in the same league as Canada and Australia

38. #38 by megaman on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 9:41 am

Although the British are colonial powers and often regarded as greedy and selfish in protecting in their own interests but credits have to be given to them as they are excellent governors or at least better than our current batch of leaders.

They leave behind a legacy of established learning institutions such Victoria Institute, Malay College Kuala Kangsar and even University Malaya …

They created well-run and equipped hospitals.

They helped built a respected police force and army.

And they sow the seeds for a working and prosperous economy.

And well what have we leave behind for OUR OWN COUNTRY !!!

NOTHING except the decay and rotting of everything that matters …

I am honestly aghast and ashamed of our current generation of leaders. Nothing but the worst lot of thugs and robbers.

39. #39 by lupus on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 9:46 am

Malaysia IS a beautiful country, nice people, great food and great culture. Pity about the people running the country. Abnormal ? Well, depends, after a while, it becomes normal. Afterall, which other Government makes headlines about anal sex ? That is pretty abnormal but seems to be normal with the PM and DPM to discuss this to the media.

Other Government would have avoided this topic until the police have finish investigation.

40. #40 by k1980 on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 10:18 am

Which is the best title for the political thriller coming to the cinemas?
    A. Saya Pantang Diliwat
    B. The Coffeeboy and I
    C. Lee What? What’s That?
    D. The Man Who Would Have Been PM
    http://bp1.blogger.com/_KUD2BqHya4M/SGj3hh9JR1I/AAAAAAAAH5Y/XsPQZWsutgg/s1600-h/LIWATTHEMOVIE.jpg

41. #41 by Jong on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 10:37 am

Where’s Musa Hassan, isn’t carting soiled mattresses his speciality?

42. #42 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 12:24 pm

Is this a Malay drama?
    1) Rosmah “It wasn’t me”
    2) Sodomize
    3) Corruptions
    4) Police brutality
    5) Lies

Where is all the capable Malay leader today? extinct?

43. #43 by wizzerd on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 1:08 pm

Not forgetting
    Abnormal DPM with an abnormal wife who help him run the country.

44. #44 by k1980 on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 1:25 pm

Blimey, am I lucky I didn’t take that Saifool as my personal aide…
    http://themalaysianinsider.com/images/stories/2008june2/yongtecklee2_june20.jpg

45. #45 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 2:09 pm

In Malaysia, anyone can walk in freely to police station and claim they have been sodomize by Anwar? Will u believe a guy who lived in a RM 7K per month condo? is he a manager? or what?

46. #46 by Jong on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 2:39 pm

He’s a C4 spy.

47. #47 by stnaaron on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 2:59 pm

yes! indeed malaysia are at the lost now. We are abnormal living in fears over escalating cost of living, un directional leader ,rising crime rates , rising unemployment,closure of foreign investor interest ,

I hope that PR will lead thier states well enough to secure public trust , confidentality, smarts rulling.etc.

Are we in the transistion of governance power and over the press DSAI talking about the fantastic four who are they ? do they really exist ? if yes please do it fast !!! someone needs to take the leads .

We should launch a mass protest over a ” NO CONFIDENCE TO BN ”
    in public . I should suggested that 5 million of the nation will do to
    conducts this mass rally.

48. #48 by Jong on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 3:55 pm

Did anyone notice the arrogant abnormal wife sceaming her innocence “live” on tv? I thought I saw a Michaeljacko double – that botox eyes, and nose job made her look so weird!

49. #49 by joshua81 on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 5:49 pm

From what i read the other day, the BN MPs have got guts to laugh at the contributions of Pakatan Rakyat for the first 100 days. What have they done since Abdullah taken over the office in 2003???? Sending a tourist to space, buying outdated jets and invisible submarines, detaining HINDRAF leaders, reducing the fuel subsidy, increasing prices for staple food etc… The Rakyat are not stupid! Lets hope for another tsunami in the next GE and let us wipe out Abdullah and Co.

50. #50 by lopez on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 9:20 pm

what is a legalist…..what is a liberal….what is democrazy

You dont support me , i give you hard times

It is okay, as long as you dont and dont question my actions

It is for the rag yat, with some inherent conditions.

51. #51 by ALtPJK on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 10:01 pm

“…abnormality of the Malaysian democratic process…” YB Lim KS.

Abnormality? Indeed it is but I would suggest it is the psyche of the ruling elite more than anything else. Is there any other democratically elected government that is suffering from such an inferiority complex to the extent of feeling inadequate and paralysingly incapable of governing the country, despite having 63% control of the country’s legislative body?

Perhaps this abnormality had developed from the ‘fat’ of decades of untrammelled 2/3 parliamentary majority made worse by a megalomaniac possessing abnormal views on separation of powers and harbouring abnormal ambitions.

52. #52 by pjboy on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 10:26 pm

Wow. I haven’t read all the contributions but it does seem like everyone agrees to this ‘abnormality’ – with added salt & sugar. Wonder now who are the ones ab-normal.

To k1980: I wouldn’t mind singing God Save The Queen either. Our parliament wouldn’t be what it is if it was the case. But it was too late, our former leaders pursued independence to what became a so called “perjuangan”…even until today still using this word.

Wonder what perjuangan is there to do when we already gained independence since >50 years. Does that mean >50 years nothing was achieved out of the perjuangan? After perjuangan comes reformasi. Like I said, all was well until 1969. Thereafter it was engineered for disaster for next 39 years.

At least Malaysia can be proud of being the world’s most abnormal country in the world. There’s nothing else to be proud of at the moment. The ruling gov is obviously punishing & sodomising the rakyat.

A good example: I was told, while we collect our so called rebates at the post-office, the post-office (Pos M’sia Bhd – PMB) may also reap somewhere close to RM 100M in commissions or “service charge”. Ever wondered why the JPJ can’t perform this task & why PMB? Great isn’t it.

53. #53 by ReformMalaysia on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 11:30 pm

“# peterchiang Says:
    Today at 00: 32.23 (22 hours ago)

How is it possible to go against

(1) Top Policeman (control use of pistols, water cannons, permits)
    (2) Top legal person representing Govt (court matters)
    (3) Top Military man (commanding armforces, use of c4)
    (4) Top man in present Govt (commanding speakers & dewan)
    (5) Top man in Finance ministry ($)
    (6) Top man in past Govt (commanding eyeballs of bloggers)

all at the same time? Abnormal.”

The reality is (from many incidences -such as Linggam Scandal, and cases below:

1.When Karpal Singh question the power of Perak Sultan interfering the MB decision to transfer a religious officer, Pak Lah ordered the Police to carry out the investigation on Karpal Singh speedily.
    -But the act of Pak Lah questioning the rights of Trengganu’s Sultan cum Agong on Menteri Besar appointment, was treated differentlt -The investigation on Pak Lah has never statred.

2.When Pakatan Rakyat/Bersih organised a peaceful protest, the leaders were arrested.
    *When UMNO organised an illegal demonstration in Penang/KOmtar, nobody arrested. When Idris Jusoh’s supporters(UMNO) staged a nasty protest against the Sultan’s choice of MB (even called the Royal Highness ‘Natang’, no action taken, everyone walked away as a free man. When LKS mildly protested on Perak MB appointment, he was condemned…

it seems that :

the way that Malaysian Police, ACA & Judiciary system carry out their functions befit
    a Chinese proverb:

“Before you beat a dog, find out who its master is”

54. #54 by freedom to speak on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 11:41 pm

We trully are AB-NORMAL.

We have in our country eager citizens who crave for equality.
    It is just within our grasp but a small number of narrow minded individuals have chosen to clout that hope.
    It is high time we listen to our hearts and go for it. After all, 50 years of “slave-ing” ourselves have not got us anywhere.
    Do we have the guts for “CHANGE”?

“Dream the dream, and make it a reality”.

55. #55 by ReformMalaysia on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 11:44 pm

“excerpt from NST online / 2/7/08

ACA starts full-scale probe on Anwar’s report
    By : Hamidah Atan
    PUTRAJAYA:

The Anti-Corruption Agency has started a full-scale investigation into the report by Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, alleging abuse of power by Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan and Attorney-General, Tan Sri Abdul Gani Patail. ”

Comment : to ensure the impartiality, the IGP Musa and AG Abd Ghani were suspended from their post. But this is not done. An abnormal version of ‘justice’ in the country indeed!

56. #56 by ReformMalaysia on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 11:46 pm

….Typing error:

should be

……to ensure impartiality. the IGP Musa and AG Abd Ghani Patail should be suspended from their respective posts!

57. #57 by strupper2003 on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 8:16 am

How do I know the BN Govt has abdicated on its responsibility to the Rakyat?
    When I looked at the shirts of my colleagues. Its all brownish. They didn’t use poor quality washing detergent. They used bleach for white garments and they sure scrub hard.
    The reason their clothes are brownish is because the water they used to wash their clothes is brownish.
    I live in non-tropical Australia (with less rain) now and notice how whiter my clothes are, even those brownish ones I brought from Malaysia a year ago.
    I use the same detergent and wash it the same way.
    If the BN Govt cant manage a natural resource we have in abundance of, how are they going to manage limited resources?
    The BN Govt is incompetant in almost all areas of its Key Performance Index. The only area they have proven good at is to divide and rule the rakyat (through stoking racial and religious tension).

58. #58 by Godfather on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 11:40 am

Talking about KPIs, do you folks remember that when Badawi came to power, he made a big point (together with Nor Mohamed Yakcop) on the issue of imposing KPIs for all GLCs ? Well, like all things in Bolehland, this was conveniently swept under the carpet. Now the GLCs are going to reward their CEOs with hefty increases in pay.

“We are not in the business of cheating the people.” AAB, 2005.

59. #59 by Neobanchuan on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 2:44 pm

The fault is not with Abdullah. Instead, we should thank him for not being able to keep any of these craps, which have been the accumulated sins of Mahatir’s era from being unfolded. If Mahatir is still the PM, I wonder when are all these corrupted practices going to be unearthed. We must thank Abdullah for giving Malaysian another choice. But as Chinese, if we can have a government who is willing to see all races in equality, we should also change our attitude. There must be reasons why some Malays hate us so much. We must change also if the government changes.

60. #60 by ahkok1982 on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 2:48 pm

the BN goons may be rotten to the core but I for one will not trust DSAI either. I would not believe that he could have been the DPM of Malaysia without being corrupt himself.
    So he may (or may not) have realized that what he did was wrong, but that does not absolve him from his past sins. I have not seen him coming out in the open about his past corrupt practices nor has he returned all that was ill gained.
    Although I would prefer to see someone replace BN but I still do not trust DSAI at all.

61. #61 by Godfather on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 2:53 pm

ahkok1982:

I worked with DSAI fairly closely in the early 90s. The guy doesn’t take for himself, but he had his favourites to award certain contracts like Mahathir and Daim then. Like Badawi now. He was part of the UMNO system and he tried to change from within, but he was sent to jail because of this. He tried to put a stop to the blatant abuse of Mahathir and Daim, and they set him up for the fall.

DSAI will not tolerate the way UMNO has done business in the past 30 years – believe me.

62. #62 by Godfather on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 2:55 pm

Frankly, the IGP, the AG and the DPM will all have to go to jail, and there will not be tears shed for them. Question is: who is brave enough to do it ?

63. #63 by pjboy on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 12:00 am

Someone in DAP should dig from the archives to do a chronology of PM AAB’s famous words since 2003/2004. List them out & see if any of those were ever achieved or saw the daylight again. I am sure there were over 50 meaningless slogans or statements.

Referring to Godfather today at 11.40. 12 hours ago.

64. #64 by boh-liao on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 9:56 am

Yes, Malaysia is truly an abnormal country where abnormal things occur and are manipulated and forced to become normal.

Lots of people elected by the rakyat as public servants to serve the people instead become dictator-like bosses who suppress the rakyat, enrich themselves and their cronies in the name of affirmative actions, and control the police, AG chambers, judiciary, and civil service to work for their benefits and to twist black to white and white to black. Macam-macam pun boleh. No shame.

Just look at the ongoing Altantuya Shaariibuu trial and we can see the blatant abnormal procedures imposed before and during the trial. The authorities just treated the rakyat as flaccid imbeciles, a legacy of MM’s rule.

If the rakyat remain flaccid and don’t voice out to change, they well deserve to remain in this land of abnormal-becoming-normal phenomena!

65. #65 by lopez on Sunday, 6 July 2008 - 8:36 am

I think the most ab normal of all in boilihlang is the education mini,story.

Each time a new fool gets the helm he makes changes , you can reminiscence and it will lead you to 1970s, their alibi is to please some elders of some part of society.

for the last 20 odd years under those same thoughfulless lines the ministry has successfulfooly churned out many great boilihland personalities, some are in today’s parlimen too, you can easily identify them, those quiet ones and ever ready to increase sound volume when it is call for.

If we look at those who holds the helm strings and the heirarchy within them, man it is another success. Those who are locally elusively educated from local schools will stays at the lower ranks, unless he is a violent and extreme character, the other ones stays at the top.

What is troubling for boilhland common people those days was that many laws and regulations were implemented without their understanding and deliberations and approval but was rested on the so called repre$entathieves. And after 50 yeaRS , THAT guilt in some of them has made them repent , BUT subject to acceptance.
    wHAT IS MOST INTERESTING question is “who are these script writers, drafters, secretaries who concoct their bosses speeches.
    Those speeches of lies and threat and air of fear and fabricated statistics to confused and twists in use of words to escape that we see in the media and it has so far successfully tainted our blurred mind of what is good for our future.

Already that recent 20 years of the nation children are up and about dressed in all tie and blazer but cant speak that language enjoys the foolball over teh tarik.

One thing for sure, the current clowns has proved to the name, great clowns nad we had a good laugh and a Very Very costly one at our selves.

Are we going to laugh at ourselves again?

66. #66 by blablowbla on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 9:11 am

the education monster is incompetent,small matter like children school bags over-weight ,he cant even deliver!

my son is standard 5,35kg,he ought to carry 3 bags,altogether 22 kg!i was thinking can my son grow taller?

the monster only interested to wield his ‘keris’ and quote racist sentiment,wat the f*ck is he doing in the ministry?

not long ago,after receiving big commisions from handphone vendors,he immediately announce tat student are allowed to use handphones in school!

see,tat’s the trouble for bolehland,most of the leaders are morons,thy disguise tis,thy disguise tat,stupid ppl like SAIFUL type are the followers!really pathetic!!!