Gobind Singh Deo – two day suspension from Parliament (video)

This is the video clip of the parliamentary proceeding on the two-day suspension of DAP MP for Puchong, Gobind Singh Deo. Gobind was suspended in an altercation with the Speaker, Tan Sri Pandikar Amin during question time today.

I had said subsequently in Parliament that Gobind’s suspension is unfair and wrong and that I would be moving a substantive motion to review the Speaker’s decision.

As only two days’ notice is required for such a substantive motion, I hope there could be a debate and vote on it in Parliament on Monday.

Part 1

Part 2

1. #1 by Dr. W on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 8:43 pm

Please, let us just flush these dirts down the pipes!!!

ARROGANCE!!!! [deleted]

2. #2 by kentutoyol on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 8:44 pm

His voters had elected him to parliament to be heard. Gobind promised to come back despite being suspended. Let see what will happen next!

3. #3 by Dr. W on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 8:51 pm

I hope in the very near future, we the rakyat could use kuasa kita to halau these out of the parliment!!!!!!

Furious!!!

4. #4 by Jameswong on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:01 pm

the time the Yang Dipertua used to interfer Puchong MP is sufficient to let him raise the question that concerning the Rakyat’s problem, i wonder why and what is the motive behind.

It’s is indeed sad to see the elected MP being treated like this.

5. #5 by budak on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:23 pm

I personally feel that Gobind also at wrong…

WRONG for not using RAKYAT common wording in asking questions…
    commoner words such as F-word, S-words should be use to illustrate the real burden on Rakyat shoulders which Tuan Speaker never tasted b4…

allow me to Parliament, let me use F-word …

6. #6 by tourman53 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:39 pm

Where the hell those jokers get the speaker from?
    Hell of a bad listener,the speaker needs to learn some manners .

7. #7 by pinkdolphin on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:43 pm

Why did the Speaker make such a fuss!! He is obviously bias. I’m furious!!!

8. #8 by PureMalaysian on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:49 pm

…is the best word to describe the Speaker.

9. #9 by Jameswong on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:49 pm

Let’s send the speaker back to school to learn some basic manners, he just doesn’t respect the PR MP.

So, don’t expect fairness from this guy.

10. #10 by cemerlang on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 9:59 pm

Go Gobind go ! He is doing the work of a real Parliamentarian. He is bringing the problems that he sees in Puchong to the Parliament. The Speaker and some Barisan Nasional politicians are just like people who put their hands to their ears and refuse to listen. How can you help the rakyat if you do not want to listen ? Why are you chosen if you do not want to listen ? If you do not want to listen, you should not be who you are today.

11. #11 by yhsiew on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 10:09 pm

When Gobind comes back and is asked to leave parliamentary proceeding, he should challenge the Speaker to ask Najis to leave as well as Najis has also fouled the rules.

The Speaker cannot practice double standards.

12. #12 by pinkdolphin on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 10:12 pm

What future do Malaysians have based on this kind of rubbish?? PR, we need you to march on and never back off – you are the voice of the Rakyat and we are with you. Good luck!

13. #13 by disapointed86 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 10:16 pm

this speaker [deleted] speaker..double standard?..[deleted]speaker [deleted] parliment proceeding is just wasting of time [deleted] haih..sad lah..see

14. #14 by Johnny Cheah on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 10:17 pm

What can we expect from them. The opposition say something and they are suspended. Sure, the Speaker is definitely bias. Don’t expect fairness from them. The only thing they know is to be arrogant. He have yet to wake up. Don’t tell me he don’t know his State have been side-lined by the BN government for so long. If he do not conduct himself in Parliament he should give up his post. He should be thinking seriously of resigning to join Pakatan Rakyat and fight for his State

15. #15 by Godson on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 10:33 pm

Hey…umNO-BN….looks like your last days is at your doorstep. Bodohwi is still sleeping….how to lead the country. Your monkeys are all over the place now dragging you down.

Too much….really too much..
    BN is nearing The End.

Goodbye BN in advance.
    As your supporter for 50 years, you make me very disappointed.
    So i guess ( I live, suffer and die for umNO-BN ) didnt work anyway.
    Its just a stupid … dream as your supporter.

May you umNO-BN sink to the deepest pit and never to resurface again and please do this for the rakyat- DONT COME BACK AGAIN.

16. #16 by yhsiew on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 10:36 pm

When Gobind comes back and is being thrown out; all PKR MPs stage a walk out to support Gobind – unity is strength!

Now PKR has a new weapon to counter the Speaker’s threat – WALK OUT en masse.

17. #17 by riversandlakes on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 11:14 pm

The BN government is still behaving like there is no people power. Mr Badawi said “the people have spoken” and he will be listening. But he isn’t.

It will be their fall. His “advisors” are slowly planning for that day to come. He is being used and he knows not.

18. #18 by badak on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 11:46 pm

Double standered…With this kind of speaker mana ada standered.Why Najib was not thrown out as well..Its really sickening when Najib said .. Tak ada opposition lagi senang…When will this bunch of BN MPs be thrown out..

19. #19 by Jong on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 11:53 pm

I watched the Dewan Rakyat proceedings and clips on tv today and was feeling that sense of pride watching our young Pakatan Rakyat MPs so alert and focused. At least we have now managed to get rid of many with expired shelf life dozzing off during Parliament session!

Speaker Tan Sri Pandikar Amin called on MPs today not to get carried away by ’emosi’, yet he himself was so emotional when he slapped the 2 day suspension on Gobind Singh Deo which I think was most unfair and uncalled for. He should have allowed Gobind Singh Deo time to speak his piece on behalf of the rakyat of Malaysia.

20. #20 by kenghuei on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 12:22 am

I realise that Pandikar Amin Mulia is a lousy Speaker..sorry to say this. But he is still no doubt, a BN man..and I do not find him fully independent and fair. Notwithstanding this unjust denial of Gobind of a chance to air his question and the unconstitutional use of his discretionary powers to allow Najib’s speech despite legitimate protests frm Opposition MPs, just look at the press barring incident too. The directive obviously comes from him (and maybe Nazri too) but he just brushed it off finally by saying it was a ‘mix-up’ when it was clear that he has to remove the barricade and the rule due to massive media protest.
    Enough said, change the federal govn and re-appoint a new impartial speaker pls!

21. #21 by walao on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 5:54 am

can Gobind sue the spaeker for discrimination on him? Passing judgement before Gobind finish his question? The speaker really a bunch of crap

22. #22 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 8:23 am

Frankly I do not believe this is solely the idea of Pandikar Amin. I don’t think he is that stupid or got the balls enough. His actions looks like the banning of press from lobby, out of order in having DPM make miniserial statement for PM, from the lobby smells something is going on as if someone or some people have raised the idea of imposing more BN control over Parliament.

If its not something underneath this thing, then it can only mean Pandikar Amin is just dumb because it made the BN looked bad.

23. #23 by limkamput on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 9:43 am

It is called third world country exercising raw power. Let’s face it; we are not a nation of the constitution, of rule of law, of democracy. I can see the frustration and anger in Puchong MP. So what do we do in such circumstances? May be Undergrad2 can provide better advice.

Do you all see the wonder of power? When DPM and his wife were accused of this and that, they can act cool as if nothing has happened. When DSAI was being accused of even a lesser crime, he has to hide in Turkey Embassy and we, the MPs and the rakyat almost went amok. Police started to comb the apartment concerned almost immediately. BN politicians can coolly said all these are police matters and they have nothing to do with them. This is how the state apparatus are being used and abused. When PK comes into power one day, I hope and pray that we shall never allow state apparatus to abuse and be used as an instrument of politics. We shall never let the police and army to do what they are strictly mandated to do. Undergrad2, you better take note before you start talking nonsense again!

24. #24 by Jong on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 10:00 am

We are very proud of you Gobind Singh Deo, you are truly your father’s boy, keep it up! This is the calibre of MPs we need – focused and willing to stand up and be counted.

25. #25 by Damocles on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 10:22 am

Malaysia is becoming Zimbabwe!
    So, what’s the plan Uncle Lim?
    The BN is going to hold on to power come hell or highwater.

26. #26 by nkvk18 on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 11:10 am

Pakatan Rakyat is our only hope. If we continue 2 depend on BN, our country will go into a state of emergency

27. #27 by Margeemar on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 11:44 am

This Scribe has written previously on the bias and ineffectiveness of Dewan Rakyat Speaker Pandikar Amin Mulia, Deputy Speakers Wan Junaidi and Ronald Kiandee.

As far as the BN regime is concerned, anything decided by PM Badawi/ 4th Floor Boys cannot be questioned or over ruled by any BN member. This rule, it appears, also include the Dewan Rakyat Speakers.

When you have a Speaker toeing party line, what chance has any MP whether from BN or Pakatan Rakyat have in raising a motion if it is deemed by the Speaker to be not in the interest of the BN regime even though it is in the interest of the Electorate?

It appears, we have a ‘Rubber Stamp’ Parliament. We can’t expect [deleted] like Ong Ka Ting, Dr. Subramaniam, Richard Riot, Joseph Pairin, Joseph Kurup etc. to stand up against Umno’s hegemony in Parliament. In fact, Deputy Speaker Ronald Kiandee even admitted over RTM1 during a live Parliamentary broadcast that he was confident that all BN MP’s will vote for any Bill put forward by the BN regime in Parliament.

What hope does parliamentary democracy have in this country when a Speaker can have such a view?
    Folks, we have been robbed of our opportunity by these goons dressed as Speakers who prevent our grievances to be heard in Parliament.

This Scribe believes the time has come to do away with the tradition of having individuals from the party with the majority in Parliament from appointing it’s members as speakers. There is clearly a conflict of interest here from what we can see from the conduct of the three goons who call themselves Speaker and Deputy Speaker.

This Scribe suggests that we have a retired member of the Bench, preferably someone who is highly respected and can be trusted by the Rakyat be appointed to sit on the Speaker’s Chair. He or she must be someone who cannot be cowed by the BN thugs led by the likes of Nazri Aziz.

This Scribe calls on all MP’s to seriously think about this less they want our Parliament to be the laughing stock of the so-called Free World.
    http://margeemar.blogspot.com

28. #28 by saiful on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 12:10 pm

hey there…

I seen gobin press conference on the TV………….

what an arrogant MP he is……………………………..sure im regrat voted yor PKR…………..what a stupid person…………..

If you dont respect people,,,,,do u tink you deserve a respect………………….

I tink if he talk like that outside ….surely he derserve a punch on a nose ;)

29. #29 by cheng on soo on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 2:04 pm

If suka suka can suspend, next time when BN want 2/3 to do anything , just suspend enaf MP from PR, the can already lor !

30. #30 by alancheah on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 2:15 pm

If the Speaker is not selected from any political party,
    that will be better. (if there is such rule one day).

31. #31 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 2:18 pm

He speaks like a foreigner doesn’t he?

32. #32 by Jong on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 2:20 pm

Looks like it, and he tells Gobind a 3rd, 4th generation anak Malaysia – “Sit down. You are suspended”!

33. #33 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 3:24 pm

And if Gobind is right as is suggested, then why did he apologise to the Speaker?

34. #34 by xplora on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 10:41 pm

Hi,

The Malaysia Parliament is designed to protect BN, because all the 3 speakers is voted and chosen by them. The speaker should protect BN because they’re UMNO member, even Amin has left UMNO BUT he still consider himself as UMNO.

35. #35 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 8:22 am

So now what is the deal with this a suppose non-existence apology to Speaker that the MSM is so eager to promote? Someone realized how stupid it is and now trying to save face?? Only make things worst…

36. #36 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 1:06 pm

Nincompoop!

I have a confession to make. Out of curiosity and against my better judgment I peeked into your blog just now. There are hardly any visitors who made comments to your blog! There’s just one or two! The rest is you talking to your alter egos – how pathetic!

I’m still waiting for you to provide me with your “bunch of IP adresses” that you claim to belong to the same poster. Otherwise, like I said earlier, feel free to wallow in your own filth.

37. #37 by cross on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 6:37 pm

this stupid gobind behave like a gangster! behave yourself if you want people respect you, a gangster mp? are you represent yourself or your party? he deserve for the suspensions. what a shame!

38. #38 by limkamput on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 7:33 pm

Undergrad2, for a while I actually want to respect you and even harbouring the hope that someday I may even meet you up to chat. But no more, you are not worth a person even to talk to in the blog. You are pathetic, not me. My blog is for me to say and for my friends and visitors to read. It will not discourage me there are few comments. Many well known personalities also have very few comments in their blog.

You may insult me in my blog, but please you don’t have to do it here. I may not be as smart and my English may not be as good as you. But one thing I am quiet sure – I am more honest than you. I deleted 5 comments I believe all came one source aiming to create trouble for me by using all the uncalled racist blurs. I still have those comments with me. But i will not post them again. If you give me your email address, i will be most happy to email to you – all five of them.

If you have blog, please let me know. I will visit and give my two cents worth in a constructive way. You see, not everybody has to be like you. The world has enough of destructive elements already.

39. #39 by shortie kiasu on Tuesday, 8 July 2008 - 3:02 pm

Why can’t the Puchong MP be magnanimously enough to be tolerant to accept the instruction of the speaker? His magnanimity would win more accolades from the masses than the recalcitrancy in the august house. He is definitely not showing a good example to the rakyat who had voted him to be their representative.

No he had proved nothing by his conduct and not winning any points from his electorate.

40. #40 by Kristen Sharon on Wednesday, 18 March 2009 - 1:56 pm

Dear Mr Gobind Singh,

I really wanna be like you someday. You are highly intelligent, fiesty, very giving & everything positive. You truly inspire me to greater heights! Thank you=)

& I hope to read Law someday. I look up to people like you, your dad and a lawyer in my country named Subhas Anandan. Take care and god bless always.