Walkout by some 80 PR MPs

Some 80 Pakatan Rakyat Members of PKR, PAS and DAP staged a “walk out” of the Dewan Rakyat this morning in protest against the reckless disregard of parliamentary practices, procedures and rules when despite strong opposition protests, Deputy Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak was allowed to misuse Standing Order 14 (1)(i) to make a “ministerial statement” on his support of the Report of the Mid-Term Review of the Ninth Malaysia Plan.

The “ministerial statement” by Najib should be made by the Deputy Prime Minister when he seconded the motion of the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi on the Ninth Malaysia Plan Mid-Term Review in the Dewan Rakyat last Thursday.

For reasons best known to Najib, the Deputy Prime Minister did not say anything when he stood up to second the Prime Minister’s speech.

Having missed the opportunity to present his views on the Ninth Malaysia Plan Mid-Term Review when seconding the Prime Minister’s motion, Najib is trying to have a second bite of the cherry by giving a Ministerial statement on the Mid-Term Review, through a gross abuse of the parliamentary standing orders.

It sets a most dangerous precedent that the government front-benchers can abuse the standing orders at their whim and fancy.

The purpose of a “ministerial statement” is not to allow a Minister to have a second bite of the cherry when he missed the opportunity to give a speech when seconding the Prime Minister’s motion last Thursday but to state the government position on various policies, proposals or developments.

A proper subject for ministerial statement today would be the government’s position on Anwar Ibrahim’s plight, where a former Deputy Prime Minister had to seek sanctuary in the Turkish Embassy in Malaysia for fear of his personal safety.

Earlier, during question time, the DAP MP for Puchong, Gobind Singh Deo was suspended from Parliament for two days by the Speaker, Tan Sri Pandikar Amin over his supplementary question to his own question on “build-and-sell” housing proposal.

Substantive motions will be submitted to Parliament to review the Speaker’s decision on the Chair’s allowing Najib to misuse Standing Orders to make a ministerial statement on the Ninth Malaysia Plan Mid-Term Review when he should have given the speech when seconding the motion and the two-day suspension from Parliament of Gobind.

1. #1 by old dad on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 1:13 pm

“It sets a most dangerous precedent that the government front-benchers can abuse the standing orders at their whim and fancy.”

Com’n please set a good example please respect the standing orders. Or are the leaders of the country showing to the rakyat to example to follow?

2. #2 by old dad on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 1:15 pm

the example to follow . typo, oops i’m old,,

3. #3 by bentoh on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 1:19 pm

So what does the “Deputy Prime Ministerial statement” about? To justify the PORR and Penang Monorail being scrapped?

I think like what you said… such measure will further dishonor the motion tabling in the house… How do you expect the people who prepare the report will do their job carefully and thoroughly when you can always go back and change by a ministerial statement…

and By the way… WHY DPM is the one who issue the “ministerial statement”? aren’t DPM also part of the Prime Minister Office, which was the main department that tabled the 9MP mid term review last thursday?

Or was he tabling the statement under the Ministry of Defense?

4. #4 by Elwin Heng on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 1:23 pm

See, it happened again!

Talk about changes, what had been done? Mis-use power authority, redundantly show nationwide how good are you, current admin!

Show us, is there anyone of current admin was suspended? Who or when? Major of those higher-to-highest level, almost 0% will be suspend or action against them?

For this type of administration that without CAT, what is his/her contribution and performance grade ~F9? What are you waiting for, why not just quit? If change to me, I will automatically resign and discharge myself from my company.

TQ.
    Warmest regards.

5. #5 by Sagaladoola on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 1:53 pm

Maybe it is high time to change this Federal Government to a new one already….

6. #6 by yhsiew on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 2:04 pm

Blatant abuse of power by UMNO is not new. Perhaps Najis thinks that since he is the Deputy PM he can skip proper rules and procedures.

7. #7 by pjboy on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 2:12 pm

What is new from BN-Baru? It’s the same old abuse, misuse & re-use attitude since. Abuse=do whatever they want & get away with it. Misuse=do whenever they want & get away with it. Re-use=recycle tactics to lock up political foes (ISA, Sodomy) when all else fails. Rakyat is crying for a better gov. We heading back to 4th world & we are barely out of 3rd world.

The last tactic was Ezam’s defection…which led to nowhere. The latest incident may not be the last, although a desperate draw. Not surprise, there are many more moles in the hole. PR-PKR must be more careful. BN has a new budget of over RM 50B, after managing to con-vince the rakyat. The RM 50B will be used as political-$ to try overpower any attempts by PR to takeover. No matter the cost. Sadly, the cost will be at the rakyat’s expense :(. Too many worms in the can for PR to open, so BN using all the money & power to make sure it does not happen.

8. #8 by riversandlakes on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 2:14 pm

Bravo, PR!

9. #9 by lovemalaysiaforever on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 2:16 pm

Najib already feel that himself the PM now….Malaysia is My Oyster…hahahaha

10. #10 by pjboy on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 2:18 pm

Since when BN play by the rules? This is typical spoilt brat attitude of BN. Cry when nobody serve them milk.

The Defence Ministry is not even answerable when C4 explosives are being used for personal use, other than Defence of Nation purpose. So, our Look-East policy then should be Look-East-Only, not follow.

11. #11 by k1980 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 2:20 pm

The 2 SAPP MPs did not join the walkout? Botak Yong has been bought over by BN!

12. #12 by PureMalaysian on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 2:23 pm

This is another laughing stock for the world looking at Malaysian political arena. It seems like BN has lately run out of new ideas to plot up something to nail down the opposition. And with the Rakyat’s full support for DSAI and opposition as a whole, the BN is counting down days to retreat from their thrones. So such dirty trick the BN is using (or rather recycling) reflects how weak the current BN govt is. It is high time we all stood up and bring a new dawn to Malaysia.

13. #13 by Bigjoe on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 2:24 pm

Well, its about time we admit we are not that different than Mugabe’s Zimbabwe.

14. #14 by yhsiew on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 2:27 pm

Why Gobind Singh Deo was suspended from Parliament and Najis was not since both had fouled the rules? What kind of Speaker was Tan Sri Pandikar Amin?

Kit, pursue the matter to the end to get Najis suspended.

15. #15 by monsterball on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 2:33 pm

This shows their mentalities and attitudes have not change….do thing as they like….with the Mr.Speaker at their side.
    I am not surprised!!
    What makes me happy is hearing Anwar suing Saiful….instead of talking. Why not Najib or Rosmah sue RPK?

16. #16 by ktteokt on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 2:36 pm

BN still thinks it runs the “whole show” in Parliament? Are their MPs still sleeping? Can’t they see Parliament is “flooded” with PR MPs? Or do they take PR MPs as invisible???

17. #17 by alancheah on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 2:37 pm

Good Luck to M’sia!

We all want a better future from
    Pakatan Rakyat.

18. #18 by yog7948 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 2:47 pm

Never mind.. Let the BN goons have their day.. pity them.. they have enjoyed their so called supremacy for long.. the habit very hard to break now.
    Another few months time, they will be walking out of the parliament for good.. on protest.

The MSM head lines will be ” MPs from opposition party BN walked out of parliament today accusing the ruling Pakatan Rakyat government for treating all Malaysian fairly. The opposition assemblyman will be meeting their party leaders in Kamunting to discuss further action”

The future of malaysia lies on our hand now. The present BN government will do anything to prevent these.. by any mean.. we must unite first then show these …(decent swearing) BN government who the real boss. the RAKYAT..

19. #19 by ShiokGuy on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 2:47 pm

This is going to be abused of Power everywhere.

I hope Sodomy Part 2 is not going to be one of them! Frankly speaking I am not against any sexual act in anyway as long as both parties consent to it.. If anyone of us involve in Oral Sex before, So we are also a Sodomite?

http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/2008/06/sodomy-series-part-2.html

Shiok Guy
    P/S: I am not a Gay! But will defense their right to exist..

20. #20 by Allan818 on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 3:06 pm

Gay… again? Is this for real?

21. #21 by Jong on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 3:17 pm

To all Pakatan Rakyat MPs, you did the right thing by staging a “Walkout”!

Keep it up, we are very proud of you in the manner inwhich you perform your duty with great awareness and responsibility! Thank you ALL.

22. #22 by badak on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 3:35 pm

Read earlier ..This Amin guy said,As the speaker he will be fair and unbias.But as usual when can a BN MP be fair..towards the opposition.Even if they are the WHIP will be waiting ..

23. #23 by Mr Smith on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 4:28 pm

When UMNO is the law, they can do anything with impunity.

24. #24 by devilmaster on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 4:31 pm

+1 for Pakatan Rakyat MPs. Bravo!

25. #25 by devilmaster on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 4:37 pm

Syed Hamid Albar said

“I guarantee that his life will not be in danger when police carry out their investigation. We have a legal system here and everyone, including Anwar, must respect that.”

Since when did we have a proper legal system. Everything is totally [deleted] up after Mahathir took over, and it has become worse with the sleepyhead running the country now.

26. #26 by wizzerd on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 4:44 pm

Well I am not surprised.

When Najib abuse his DPM position to bulldoze his way through, what the Speaker Pandikar Amin Mulia did : Close one eye.

When the PR MPs do the same, he exercise his might and power to the fullest.

What a hypocritical Parliament, what a hypocritical ruling party!

What else is new???

27. #27 by old dad on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 4:44 pm

” We have a legal system here and everyone, including Anwar, must respect that.”

Yaa after a black eye don’t blame DASAI. Even a small kid know that, after a small smarting slap the kid won’t even want to come near you.

28. #28 by smeagroo on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 4:51 pm

in the first place how many of these MPs and even PM n DPM know abt the rules?

All they know could just be A…B…C…4…

29. #29 by Rajesh on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 5:17 pm

I’m really proud of what happend in Parliament-Dewan Rakyat today. Hats off for Mr. Lim Kit Siang & Gobind. This has to continue….

30. #30 by milduser on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 7:48 pm

WHY ARE WE LETTING ALL THESE FOOLS RUN THE COUNTRY? I BE A FOOL TO UNDERSTAND!

31. #31 by Loyal Malaysian on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 8:05 pm

The UMNOputras are so used to getting their way whenever they want to.
    So, good for the Pakatan Rakyat MP’s to teach those BN goons a lesson.

32. #32 by kingkenny on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 8:06 pm

You guys heard the speaker last words to PR MPs in Parliament during the walkout?

“Ahli-ahli Parlimen kalau nak keluar, keluar dengan tertib dan senyap lah”

He is being sarcastic and mocking the MPs, from the sound of it!

If the People can still vote for these clowns in the next polls, well, Malaysians are just a bunch of lunatics!

I think Malaysians should have a Plan B right now!

If we can’t change it, DON’T join it, get out and seek pastures anew…and get some decency over being a human!

33. #33 by PSM on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 8:49 pm

These UMNOputras can do whatever they like…does not matter if it’s in Parliment or out of Parliment. They are above the law…they can kill, lie, cheat, slander…the lists goes on & on…& we the Rakyat can do NOTHING!
    God help us!

34. #34 by cancan on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 10:00 pm

Solidify before fragility sets in.

Link: http://www.kingsmary.blogspot.com/

35. #35 by cemerlang on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 10:01 pm

How can Malaysia have first world Parliament if there is no civilized parliamentary system ?

36. #36 by blablowbla on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 10:30 pm

where was the bodohman?i tell u bodohman,dato seri tiong is not an ordinaryman,he is filthy rich!maybe inside malaysia u can shout at him,but once u are out frm here,u r finished!

37. #37 by blablowbla on Monday, 30 June 2008 - 10:39 pm

pandikar is not only a clown,he is a puppet to UMNO too!

38. #38 by k1980 on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 7:26 am

The rakyat is still being sodomised after 51 years!

39. #39 by limkamput on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 9:47 am

It is called third world country exercising raw power. Let’s face it; we are not a nation of the constitution, of rule of law, of democracy. I can see the frustration and anger in in all the MPs particularly from MP from Puchong. So what do we do in such circumstances? May be Undergrad2 can provide better advice.

Do you all see the wonder of power? When DPM and his wife were accused of this and that, they can act cool as if nothing has happened. When DPM wants to give a statement in Parliament, he can do so eventhough it is not according to procedure. In fact, when opposition MPs walked out, he remarked that now he can speak in peace. When DSAI was being accused of even a lesser crime, he has to hide in Turkey Embassy and we, the MPs and the rakyat almost went amok. Police started to comb the apartment concerned almost immediately. BN politicians can coolly said all these are police matters and they have nothing to do with them. This is how the state apparatus are being used and abused.

When PK comes into power one day, I hope and pray that we shall never allow state apparatus to abuse and be used as an instrument of politics. We shall never let the police and army to do more than what they are strictly mandated to do. Undergrad2, you better take note before you start talking nonsense again!

40. #40 by i_love_malaysia on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 10:14 am

Opposition must follow the rules & standing orders (But not allowed by the Speaker even if all rules and standing orders are followed), but not for BN guys, especially the big shots like AAB & Najis.
    LKS should forgive Najis for he had too much worry over certain murder case!!!

41. #41 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 7:54 pm

As far as BN are concerned, rules are to be applied to nonBN and rules are to be broken by BN.

Read this: Umno Vice President and Melaka Chief Minister Datuk Seri Mohd Ali Rustam supported the demonstration staged by Umno members in Tawau against SAPP MP Datuk Chua Soon Bui. However, he definitely condemns demonstrations staged by Hindraf, Bersih, and other nonBN organizations.

We are seeing more revelations of BN and their agents breaking all rules. Read the latest police report made by AI.

42. #42 by lopez on Wednesday, 2 July 2008 - 9:38 pm

age old Confucius teachings has worked and still working even now after a couple of thousands years

When you house is not in order……the man of the house will not be able to think straight.

Worse when a person has relatively low i q or guilt or in debt or too much night clubbing or …what the heck you know lah

43. #43 by Allan818 on Thursday, 3 July 2008 - 5:11 pm

http://www.keadilantruth.blogspot.com/

HUBUNGAN DAN KONSPIRASI ANWAR-NAJIB

Nampaknya sejak laporan kes liwat Anwar Ibrahim dibuat 28 Jun lalu, bukan sahaja Anwar yang bersusah payah mempertahankan dirinya malah juga kini Najib dan Rosmah pula yang semakin tidak nyenyak tidur.

Pertembungan diantara Anwar-Najib untuk menjadi Perdana Menteri semakin hebat. Daripada maklumat yang diperolehi, pembantu kepada Anwar Ibrahim, Saiful Bukhari telah ditangkap oleh polis dan dipaksa untuk membuat laporan polis terhadap Anwar di atas tuduhan liwat.

Krisis telah bermula. Najib yang semakin tersepit di atas pengakuan bersumpah yang dibuat oleh Raja Petra Kamarudin terpaksa menggunakan taktik kotor sebegini untuk menjatuhkan maruah Anwar Ibrahim.