A New Malaysia

by Dr. Chen Man Hin

MARCH 8TH 2008 was a defining day for Malaysia. The voting results clearly sent out messages by the voters.

The first message indicated that the people want

A NEW MALAYSIA WITH GOOD GOVERNANCE AND A NEW SOCIETY OF RACIAL EQUALITY, FREEDOM OF SPEECH, RELIGIOUS FREEDOM WITH EQUAL OPPORTUNITIES IN EDUCATION , EMPLOYMENT AND IMBUED WITH A VISION TO TURN MALAYSIA TO BE A LIBERAL MODERN GLOBAL NATION.

Since March 8th there has been a noticeable difference in society. The people are happier and more optimistic because they feel that change is in the air. They see the changes happening.

The political map has changed. There are now five new states under opposition rule, This is the beginning of a two party system of government, as in advanced countries like Australia, Canada and USA. it is accepted practice in these countries to have states controlled by opposition parties.

The new opposition states have immediately implemented new populist policies like stopping waste of public funds, simple lifestyle for chief minister and mentris besar, ban on application of land by elected DAP MPs and SAs, weeding out corruption.and an amnesty of fines for humble traders and hawkers.

THE SECOND MESSAGE message which is fundamental and show a radical change in the thinking of Malaysians on politics.

This change was voiced out aptly by Malaysia think-tank director-general Wan Saiful Wam Jian. He said

“The results indicated the voters had broken the ethnic and religious barriers. Voting no longer based on ethnicity or religion any more.

“Voting also shows we are heading more towards a Malaysia that is suitable for all Malaysians regardless of race and creed as in Perak where the Malays had voted for the DAP and Chinese for PAS…”

This is one message which PM Dato Abdullah and UMNO should take note. Umno should reform and initiate party reforms and take a multiracial approach in future. instead of sticking to its Malay agenda, reform and change to a policy of Malaysian agenda which would serve the interests of all Malaysians.

Wan Saiful Wam Jian also hinted that the challenge for political parties was to offer alternative policies which were no longer based on ‘defending Malay rights’ or ‘we’re an islamic country’. The debate should be on who can promote Malaysian rights best and on issues such as improving the school system and hospitals.

Political debates must revolve arouind policy issues rather than sentiments.

These are the messages of the people who want a change, and from the director general of Malaysia think tank, which UMNO should take heed.

UMNO must be aware that the popular votes of the opposition in peninsular Malaysia is 52% for the opposition whereas only 48% supported Barisan National

UMNO is no more the top dog in parliament, as it has only 79 MPs compared with the figure of 82 for the opposition coalition of DAP, PKR and PAS. Its old partners MCA and MIC are in tatters. UMNO should eat humble pie and accept the new political reality. It must be prepared to reform its old ‘Rip Van Winkle’ policies.

The people want a “Malaysian Agenda” not a Malay Agenda to lead the nation to peace, unity and prosperity.

1. #1 by Short-sleeve on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 5:32 pm

This time in Parliament there will be 82 Opposition MPs. UMNO-BN can no longer resort to their usual bullying tactics. The 82 MPs will tear them apart.

Anyway, it wont be long before the entire BN goes under.

2. #2 by lakilompat on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 5:42 pm

Even with that, UMNO are still proud to hold the Hindraf 5 despite numerous call for Pak Lah by Karpal Singh, YB LKS, and other opposition leader to release them unconditionally.

3. #3 by mendela on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 5:42 pm

Kit, pls read the comments in

http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/5037/84/

Pls ask Petronas to open its books. Too much secrecy in Petronas.
    Is all the money still available?
    How much is left in its accounts?

Pls start an enquiry to demand Petronas to be transparent!
    No other petrol company in the world is so secretive as compare to Petronas!

4. #4 by drngsc on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 5:45 pm

Yes Man Hin,
    8th March 08, certainly is a landmark day. I am certain that the ruling party can see the signals of the need to change. Whether it can or not, depends on their “leaders “. In the same vein, it is equally important to state that there is a very heavy responsibility placed on the shoulders of the opposition leaders, including yourself. Here again, we need “leaders” to help guide us into a more matured democracy, away from communal politics. I must say that the obstacles facing the national opposition parties is substantial. Is 5 years enough to rid ourselves of the culture of corruption and also to return to the rule of law? Well, I suppose a good start would be for the national opposition parties to make a difference in the states that they rule so that they can make a difference for all to see. Show us, one and all that DAP, PKR, PAS can all work together to bring about a Malaysian Malaysia, free of corruption and respect for the rule of law. DAP, PKR, PAS, work had to clean out the system in the states that you govern, and place them on a firm footing towards a Bangsa Malaysia. Please stop the politicking and start leading. If the states that you all rule can show a good example, that message will be so much stronger for the BN and the 8th of March, would then indeed be a landmark. 5 years is not too long. I sure hope that it is enough.

5. #5 by lakilompat on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 5:47 pm

mendela unless the govt is topple tomorrow, else don’t even hope so.

Pak Lah now shows his prowess, warns guan eng, pretend never know Hindraf 5, boycott against Sultan on MB appointment, and merge mainboard & 2ndboard so that his son and son in law can enjoy the shares conversion.

6. #6 by saubing on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 6:13 pm

7. #7 by ric23_my on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 6:15 pm

lakilompat,

please be rational and know wat is the actual problem lah.

Abdulah has a good personality actually among the others in UMMNO. Have u ever see he raises weapon threaten non-bumi or make any harmful statement against non-bumi throughout his political background? No right?

The dilemma of Abdulah is he facing a human nature issue. A GOOD PERSON IS USUALLY POWERLESS. And unluckly, he don’t have a good ADVISOR.

When he is positioned in a corrupted institution, he is surrounded by corrupted ppl. Even if he has a good intention and he wanted to do it, he will be pulled down immediately. This is the reality of politic. And he is not strong enough and join this corrupted groups …

When this powerless ppl is in place, there is other parties that trying to gain and spread their power with this opportunity. To do that, they need money. That’s why corruption become serious if compare to Dr.M as DR.M play a more dictator roles and these small powers have to behave themselves ..

It is not good to attack or scold their family. Coz during the opposition ceramah that i went, i can heard personal attack to his wife …. this is not good …

We are against corruption, cronysm and discrimination …. and our target is to against corruption institution … even if next time DAP is in power and implement corruption, cronysm and discrimination … i will total agaisnt it as well …

8. #8 by controlnation1 on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 6:15 pm

Yet UMNO doesnt seem to get the message.Still harping on quotas,malay agendas,DEB and so on.I so[really] want to see them toppled as soon as possible.
    Shame on its fellow party component still want to stick to the racist coalition.UMNO dont deserve 22 ministery post.

9. #9 by saubing on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 6:39 pm

sometimes i pity our PM. he is trying to make everybody happy. he has failed as a leader. too weak

10. #10 by lakilompat on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 6:50 pm

he tried to be strong, but that strong was always rejected. He warns Guan Eng but Guan Eng shut him up with facts & supports from grassroots. He try to go against Perlis & Terengganu Royal MB appointment, but Royal shut hum up with facts & supports from royal & opposition. Whatever mean he struggle he got slap badly, don’t tell me he can’t differentiate between a kitten and tiger.

11. #11 by ric23_my on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 6:54 pm

that’s y as i said … good person is usually powerless … he will be more suitable to become a house husband …

if guan eng join UMMNO and become president, do you think he able to change the mindset of the entire UMMNO party?

We against for corrupted party, regardless of BN or opposition … this have to make it clear

and be rational … dun implement heronism … this is not american idol show …

12. #12 by limkamput on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 7:02 pm

What changes? I think we have to wait for another few months to see whether these changes will take root. Right now I have an inkling that the more we talk about change, the more they will stay the same. If one analyses the press interview of Khalid, the “watering down” process may have just begun. I hope all these talks are not just initial euphoria or spring cleaning.

Other than Sdr Lim writing a bit here and there calling for the release of Hindraf five, may I know what about others – like those in PKR and PAS and also among the Hindraf supporters themselves? The silence is deafening.

13. #13 by pjboy on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 7:03 pm

For once there will be competition for attending parliament & state assemblies. This is healthy for a developing country. How can we claim to be in the ranks of the developed nations when we have people in parliament who can’t express themselves intelligently, other than making animal noises & gender remarks. Those MPs should remain in the jungle. Parliament is to air national issues, political policies, issues that will effect the rakyat. Ok, some juicy facts on corruption would also be nice once in awhile. Abolish ISA, increase freedom of speech, review the positions of the EC, ACA, judiciary, military & Police.

14. #14 by saubing on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 7:07 pm

when Dr M was PM, I hardly see their “Koncoh-Koncoh” misbehaved in the public When the parents are strict, the children dare not talk much Over the yearsafter pak lah took over, many of the leaders trying to outwit each other by making statements (sometimes very damaging) to the media Mat Said (one eye jack) incident, Bocor incident, the late Zakaria istana and many more Problem is those leaders got away without any punishment! How can Sexists gain the support of women? I am still very surprised why one of the “bocor” MP still can contest in GE12?

15. #15 by k1980 on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 7:37 pm

Who will ithdraw the datukships of these conspirators?
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Thursday/Frontpage/20080327173240/Article/index_html
    Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah held a meeting of his own with representatives from 51 Umno divisions at his palatial home here off Jalan Tun Razak. Among those who attended were former Information Minister Datuk Abdul Kadir Sheikh Fadzir, Datuk Dr Ibrahim Saad and Datuk Malek Hanafiah.

16. #16 by a-malaysian on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 7:48 pm

YB Kit,

May I suggest something.

Now the coorporation of DAP, PAS and PKR is underway in running the five states, a coordination center should be set up. This center is to be run by selected personal of the three parties and the main function is to coordinate the running of the five states on Federal and National matters.

All rakyat comments, suggestions, opinions or complains can be directed to this center. The input or feedback by the rakyat is very important, so that you all can monitor the sentiment of the rakyat while you all are busy running the states.

I present here as an example of an issue affecting us Nationally.

The medias are now reverting to their bias reporting and there are calls to boycott them. Instead of boycotting can we practice like what bn is doing previously.

When foreign journals or magazines printed what is not to the liking of bn, they ban them or restrict their circulations.

Likewise, as ruling Government of the five states, you can first warn them about the bias report, and if they persist then follow by restriction of their circulation, say they can only sell 5,000 copies to each state.

So the center which I mention above can view all suggestions or opinions and select those that they think are worth for consideration to be brought up to the coliation leaders for further action.

GE 13 – We must ensure that umno bn do not regain the strength like they do for the past fifty years.

17. #17 by controlnation1 on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 7:52 pm

“”How can Sexists gain the support of women? I am still very surprised why one of the “bocor” MP still can contest in GE12?””

Bung Mokhtar live in the jungle.

18. #18 by P.O.T.S on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 7:55 pm

Change is gradual.

Change has not arrived or taking full pace yet.

For most of us, we’re happier not because change was felt but because we have a valid reason to anticipate change now.

Otherwise, Malaysia is still UMNO’s Tanah Melayu.

http://unwantedcitizen.blogspot.com/2008/03/just-changed.html

19. #19 by baoqingtian on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 8:58 pm

Those UMNO fellows till now are still in the UMNO Supreme Council meeting to find out the cause of the tsunami. They haven’t gone back yet , probably because those bunch of idiots still can’t figure out the cause of the 8th March Tsunami.

20. #20 by tourman53 on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 9:04 pm

Will Muhd Muhd Taib declare Aussie properties?
    Chu | Mar 24, 08 4:02pm
    I refer to the Malaysiakini report PM: Assets declaration will be made public.
    Newly-appointed Rural and Regional Development Minister Senator Muhammad Muhd Taib will now have to explain how he could afford to buy six properties in New Zealand under his wife’s name.
    Allow me to quote a report dated June 28, 1997 which appeared in the Brisbane Courier Mail under the heading ‘Politician’s property empire still growing’:
    ‘The international property empire of an embattled Malaysian politician continues to grow despite concerns over how he funds the massive land purchases. Tan Sri Muhammad Muhammad Taib, a vice president of the ruling United Malays National Organisation, resigned as chief minister of Selangor in April citing The Courier-Mail’s reporting of his activities as a reason for his decision.”
    On December 22 last year, Mr Muhammad was detained at Brisbane International Airport as he was about to board a plane to New Zealand with the equivalent of A$1.26 million in Singapore, Malaysian and New Zealand currency in his luggage.”
    Customs officials have alleged that they were not told about the cash, and Mr Muhammad will appear in committal proceedings in Brisbane’s Federal Court on August 19 on charges of failing to declare cash above A$5,000 and making a false declaration.”
    The Courier-Mail has revealed Mr Muhammad and his wife spent a week in Australia – checking on a luxury house being built on the Gold Coast and a 4,500ha property in western Queensland – then flew to New Zealand for two weeks after Mr Muhammad had appeared in court.”
    The properties – registered to his wife in her maiden name of Asnan – were purchased last year for more than $3 million.”
    It has been discovered more than $3 million of property has been purchased in New Zealand over the past year and registered to Ms Asnan…”
    Land title searches have revealed six properties on New Zealand’s north island – in total more than 140 ha – registered to Ms Asnan.”
    Documents show a 4573 sq m property in Pakurunga was purchased on June 18 last year; a 1713 sq m property in Otahuhu was bought on November 27 last year for $550,000; and four properties in Mataitai, totalling 144ha, were bought between November 29 last year and March 11 this year.”
    Purchase price for the Pakurunga and Mataitai properties were not disclosed on transfer documents, although stamp duty payments indicate a total transaction for the Mataitai properties of about $2.1 million.”
    The Pakurunga property was purchased from Hasan BM Taib of Singapore, who is Mr. Muhammad’s younger brother. Hasan purchased the property in 1990 for $520,000.’
    Please note that the figures quoted in the report are in Australian dollars. Most likely Muhammad paid for the properties in cash as he is a foreigner and unlikely to have been be able to take a loan.
    Where did he get the money from? Is he going to declare these properties if he still has them? Most likely not if they are still under his wife’s name.

21. #21 by cemerlang on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 9:14 pm

So what is the best solution ? If you want Tun Mahathir or the likes of Tun Mahathir to be in, then you will want corruption to be in too. Without corruption of a certain degree, we would not have the Putrajaya, for one. How much does Putrajaya cost ? If you still want Datuk Badawi and if you still think that the good should triumph over evil, then you must push for the good.

There is a piece of statement saying that these days, you cannot be too good. Should I interpret this as I have to do something bad in order to benefit the country or some people I know or myself ? Or should I turn this around and say I have to be cruel in order to be good. For example, if someone were to complain about some hanky panky business going on in some federal government organization somewhere out in the jungle, in the long run it is meant to save the money of the government and of the citizens’s. So it is something good.

Manage money wisely. Don’t be a miser. At the same time don’t be too generous. The United States has gone beyond the solar system in her space programme. But back home, there are still homeless people sleeping on card boxes. I do not want this sort of scene in Malaysia. I want neglected people to have centres to go to if their families have rejected them. I want everyone to know what is going on in space. There is no need to send another hero into space. Not yet. Not until we have taken care of our home and our people. Not until we see and make sure that everyone is comfortable. Everyone.

22. #22 by Loh on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 9:40 pm

///Other than Sdr Lim writing a bit here and there calling for the release of Hindraf five, may I know what about others – like those in PKR and PAS and also among the Hindraf supporters themselves? The silence is deafening.///

In a few months they will be released, not by BN though. There is no point calling for the BN governemnt to do what it would not. Let the new governemnt do it at the right time

23. #23 by Libra2 on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 9:40 pm

Kit,
    Could you instruct all DAP reps to start a blog and make known their contact numbers/email addresses so that people can reach them.
    Without this connection the reps will not be able to get the feel on the ground – one of the reasons why BN reps who stayed on their ivory towers, were rejected.

24. #24 by cfcluvdap on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 9:55 pm

Hi Dr Chen,
    Thks for keeping in touch through occasional news release through the blog. Your soul and heart with DAP has not change — a strong and ever-loving guy of DAP
    Keep up the good work

25. #25 by novice101 on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 10:09 pm

The Malaysian political scene has certainly changed, the emergence of the 2-party system of government is the reward which the nation has serendipitously received.

The nation should not be casual about this, it should treasure this golden reward and nurture it with utmost care. It should tend to the small democratic flame and let it to burst into a full-blown democratic fire.

In the present scenario, to allow the 2-party system work, the UMNO-BN coalition and the BR coalition should be of about equal strength. If either one of the party becomes too weak, then, this golden reward/opportunity would weaken the process and render it useless.

The PM, UMNO and the rest of the BN coalition should embark on reforming themselves so that they can play an effective role.

So too, must the people in the BR coalition, they should break away from their old mindset. They should also refrain from playing the racial cards and playing to the gallery.

THE BN, THE BR and THE RAKYAT, ALL HAS A PART TO PLAY TO BRING DEMOCRACY TO ANOTHER LEVEL!

26. #26 by shaolin on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 10:14 pm

Thank you tourman53,

You are Great! You do the homework very diligently and
    it pays to uncover so much fraud cases of Muhd Muhd
    Taib and his CORRUPTION…!!

Land properties and assets in Aussie worth Millions of
    Australian Dollars is undeclared by former Selangor MB!!

This is unacceptable!! Nail him down! Worst still he is our
    New Cabinet Minister now!!

The cronies and nepotism prevailing winds still exist and
    continue to blow even stronger at times… Nail all of them
    down… without Fear or Favour!!!

What is AAB doing??!! He is still sleepy…!!??

27. #27 by limkamput on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 10:18 pm

Loh,
    The issue is not whether BN will listen or not to the call for releasing the five under ISA . The issue is also not whether the new government (if there is a change in government) will release them or not. The issue is PAS, PKR and DAP must do the right and honourable thing. They were voted in on the basis of their promises. I just want to remind them – DON’T EVER HARBOUR A SECOND THOUGHT OF YOUR PROMISES.

28. #28 by alphoti on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 10:30 pm

March 8 2008 was indeed a defining day for Malaysia. But sadly, it was not for Sabah & Sarawak.

I am from Sarawak & is very happy to see & feel the changes taking place in our beloved country. For the first time in my life, I feel the hope of being a truly Malaysian in my country, Malaysia. We are still waiting for the WIND OF CHANGE to blow to our shore. I strongly believe that it will come soon & definitely the people of Sarawak will welcome it with open arms.

BN won all but 1 seat (DAP) for the March 8 election. Does that implies Sarawakians are happy with the present Government? Far from it. We lack of strong opposition, except for DAP, which has make real progress during the last State election. But DAP in Sarawak is almost a pure Chinese party. We badly need an opposition party which the natives in Sarawak will find it more accomodating to them.

We hope to see more changes in our next State Election in about 2 years time.

29. #29 by leealex24 on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 10:32 pm

I think Pak Lah is a people’s person. He is good listener and I could tell he tries his best to solve the issues at hand. I believe he’s a valuable asset in any government but, not as a leader. Having said that, I’m also not suggesting that a leader should be autocratic, but more importantly striking a balance between taking into account views of the people but also decisive in his/her stand. Is there a leader out there that’s in between Mahathir and Pak Lah? That would be just perfect…

30. #30 by ipohites on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 10:51 pm

I am looking forward for a new Malaysia…

31. #31 by vinodx on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 10:53 pm

change that what we need!!!

32. #32 by kickbutt on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 11:03 pm

“The issue is PAS, PKR and DAP must do the right and honourable thing. They were voted in on the basis of their promises. I just want to remind them – DON’T EVER HARBOUR A SECOND THOUGHT OF YOUR PROMISES.” limkamput

DAP leaders along with those in PKR and PAS are now shaking at their knees and some peeing in their pants, just reading this warning by he who must be obeyed or else everything would come crumbling down! Once that happens even Kit could not put Humpty Dumpty back together!

33. #33 by chiakchua on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 11:17 pm

Thanks Dr.Chen for his posting. It is true indeed the 38 tsunami has given all Malaysian a freshened landscape, a new Malaysia to look forward to. Thanks for your encouragement!
    Well done to Penang state government’s decision to cancel order of 6 new Perdana that saves RM600000+. Surely this money could be well utilised for more beneficial thing to the rakyat. Hoping that such good deeds will force BN state government to practice the same.

Wish to suggest the open tender system in Penang or other BR states later for RM50000 to say, not exceeding RM200000 class F contractor projects will give 10 – 20% bidding sum premium to genuine Bumiputra contractors. This will calm the Bumi contractors of this sudden change. We have to be considerate of our these fellow Bumi contractors so that they could see for themselves how the BR is practicing good governance yet realistic. This premium system was practiced during early days of the NEP but was later abused to totally no non-Bumis are allowed to bid!

34. #34 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 11:46 pm

Now why have the 10-20% bidding premium?

If they are competent enough, perhaps they can be allowed to match the price of other contractors who have already been successful with other projects that are ongoing.

Contractors with no track records should be requested to team up with experienced contractors.

Maybe the tender body can also try to match contractors so that some people can upgrade and bid for larger projects.

35. #35 by Tim Sng on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 11:57 pm

Good to hear from Uncle Chen. Can someone refresh my memory…when was Uncle Chen Chairman of DAP? Wasn’t the Chairman, the chief then? Who was DAP’s first Chairman…..Dr Chen? What position did Goh Hock Guan hold, and our YB from Bk Bintang Tan Sri Lee Lam Thye.
    DAP has come a long way.

I still feel that it is time for DAP to metamorphosize into a Malaysian party, and shed its Chinese image.

36. #36 by digard on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 12:05 am

Is that me only? I can feel the change, people are different. There is more openness, including private discussions. Not is everyone any longer staring to the top like during the times of Politburo of Soviet style.
    Many simple fail to notice their own changed mindset: Many simply fail to be aware that the country runs on what they do, and what they do not do; instead of thinking it was run by those ‘on the top’. Only those relying on the mainstream media still get the projection that ‘those at the top’ are busy, daily, to run the business of the country, of the rakyat. And many, unfortunately, still believe so.

37. #37 by P.O.T.S on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 12:11 am

PLEASE UPDATE THE DAP WEBSITE.

IT STILL SHOWS THE PREVIOUS ELECTED REPS AND YEAR-OLD PHOTOS.

IF DAP CAN’T MAINTAIN ITS OWN WEBSITE, HOW IS THE DAP GOVERNMENT GOING TO UPDATE ALL OUR OUTDATED, NEGLECTED, ROTTING GOVERNMENT SITES?

CHARITY BEGINS AT HOME.

38. #38 by Menang atau mati on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 12:50 am

ON THE DETENTION OF THE HINDRAF LEADERS

The longer BN keeps the Hindraf detainees in Kamunting, the greater the damage to BN.

BN is still in slumberland. They have yet to realize that it is to BN’s detriment to continue holding the Hindraf’s leaders in detention. Let them be if they so wish.

However, the Barisan Rakyat parties and the rakyat should continue to pressure BN to release the Hindraf leaders.

So long as the detainees are held in prison, the resentment of the Rakyat, especially our Indian brothers will remain and grow.

If and when BN wakes up, BN will release the detainees, however, the damage cannot be totally undone but it will lessen the anger and resentment of the people.

BN will eventually wake up and release the detainees.
    It is a question of when.

ON THE JURISDICTION OF THE MAINSTREAM MEDIA

The control and regulation of the mainstream media is under the jurisdiction of the federal government.

The state governments cannot do anything to limit or prevent the printing or circulation of the mainstream media.

There should be an organized boycott of the mainstream media to teach them a lesson so that they will become more responsible in reporting news.

A boycott is not against the law. It is our money.We decide what we want to do with our money.We can decide to use our money to buy newspaper or toilet paper.

Nobody can tell us what to do with our money so long as we operate within the confines of the law.

Victory or Death

39. #39 by Jamesy on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 12:54 am

UMNO is a sore-loser in that many of its members and supporters are still living in the days of pre-independence; with demonstrations in Komtar, calling to uphold the NEP and the concept of Ketuanan Melayu.

Others are calling for boycott this and boycott & threat of this and threat of that under the new state government of DAP-PKR-PAS in Perak and Selangor.

Wake up, UMNO! Don’t live under the coconut shell. It’s the dawn of a new era in Malaysia. Wake up from your fantasy dream!

40. #40 by cto on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 1:48 am

kickbutt Says:

Yesterday at 23: 03.35
    “The issue is PAS, PKR and DAP must do the right and honourable thing. They were voted in on the basis of their promises. I just want to remind them – DON’T EVER HARBOUR A SECOND THOUGHT OF YOUR PROMISES.” limkamput

DAP leaders along with those in PKR and PAS are now shaking at their knees and some peeing in their pants, just reading this warning by he who must be obeyed or else everything would come crumbling down! Once that happens even Kit could not put Humpty Dumpty back together!

—————————————-

When an imaginary hammer is the only tool in his posession, everything looks like a nail to him. :)

41. #41 by lakilompat on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 1:48 am

To cemerlang, I agreed certain degree of corruptions should be tolerated. Here’s why, but first i do hope all the ill gotten money must be reinvested back into the country. The problem now, they all did not reinvested back but instead robe for more by stealing from govt.
    subsidies, implementing quotas, implementing billions of state project which only benefit certain individuals.

Look at Maybank investing in Indonesia bank? Look at BN up its stake in Johor to RM 9.2 billion, they keep that state as Singapore is a good land buyer, and Johore has vast land to sell to those foreigner.

Do you mind if e.g. I’m one of the crony i take RM 1 billion from you, i give you a piece of state land, with this RM 1 billion, i reinvested to another project for the state? e.g. 2nd bridge or industry zone or monorail or subway or create more jobs, or turn into loan to help small & medium industry, or convert to scholarship. Well, ask yourself, additional of RM 1 billion of ppl who are filthy rich (earned from previous govt. corruptions practice) will this corruptions money benefit the current govt? Have u guys study “108 Lian Shang Hao Han” it’s like a novel, abt 108 a group of people who turn against the govt. they robe the govt. money and pump back to the poor ppl. Something like that.

Therefore, we should establish some kind of transparent so that if the state P&L is good, then automatically, pay rise & bonus should be awarded to the leader just like in Singapore. The state govt. must function well to control the inflow and outflow. Also, if corruptions money inflow come in, should it be reported? the corruptions money are mainly from syndicate. You definitely can’t report it as it is again the principle. If the water is too clean, you will live without immune, it will become unhealthy. Certain degree of corruptions is allowed, but we shouldn’t call it corruptions, we should call it sponsor which will be clearly stated then justify where it will goes.

If the sponsor is meant to achieve something in return this is so call corruption, but if the sponsor is for the good of the state then it is a legit one.

42. #42 by controlnation1 on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 2:46 am

Pak Lah is such a mouse.He backs down on the Terengganu MB issue after all the fuss.Cant even argue with the Agong huh?despite his(Agong) action is unconstitutional.

This really proves Abdullahs administration is weak.Such thing would never be tolerated during DR M days…

43. #43 by Malaysian For Equality on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 3:25 am

Mendela Said:

Pls ask Petronas to open its books. Too much secrecy in Petronas.
    Is all the money still available?
    How much is left in its accounts?

Much as we like to encourage appreciation of Western Music in Malaysia why is it that Petronas sees it fit to finance the ‘Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra’ which is a misnomer because 95% of its 105 musicians are foreign and mainly European. Each musician is paid between Rm 16,000- RM28,000 per month. They are given 2 months paid holiday and working conditions which are second to none in the world. They have not one but 3 European conductors ! The Chief Conductor is paid RM130,000 per month and the Associate Conductor gets paid RM 50,000 per month. The total Monthly budget for this orchestra is RM 3.5 million.

The Malaysian Conductor Ooi Chean See resigned because it was widely known she was being undermined and not allowed to develop in her career. During her time with the orchestra, her concert scehdule decreased gradually to the point she was doing only a couple ‘Children’s Concerts’ per year.

The orchestra has been in existence for 10 years now and the total amount spent on this orchestra has been a staggering RM 500 million.

Yes, Petronas does not have money for bridges for Malaysians but it has money to splash on foreign musicians. Petronas does not appear to have real desire to train or give opportunity to locals musicians. They promised to set up an Academy of Music to train local musicians with the tutors drawn from the orchestra but this sadly has not materialised.

Since its inception, the Malaysian Philharmonic orchestra has not increased its Malaysian participation which still stands at a shameful 4%. They have cosmetic programs like ‘outreach’ to supposedly encourage the love of western classical music to local Malaysians but these are essentially self serving publicity stunts. Even the newly formed ‘Malaysian Philharmonic Youth Orchestra’ is a publicity stunt with no serious commitment to develop Malaysian talent. It is poorly organised and its musicians meet about twice a year only! The previous founding CEO of the orchestra Mr Hamid Abu Bakar was clueless about music and left the artistic decisions to IMG, an international music agency who have successfully milked Petronas for tens of millions of dollars.

The current CEO Juniwati Hussin is a chemist by training and is a slight improvement because she does actually attend the concerts and is not averse to learning to appreciate western classical music. But the overall artisitc planning and direction in controlled by the Europeans who have a vested interest telling Petronas that there is no talent in Malaysia and the ignorant management of Petronas are happy to maintain the status quo. It would appear that they prefer foreign participation in this ‘Malaysian Orchestra’ then to have Malaysians. What a pathetic mindset.

I hope issues like this will be brought up in parliament. Why can’t Petronas train local musicians, provide scholarships for locals to study abroad if need be, and then employ them in the orchestra. In a matter of a few years we can have an orchestra consisting of Malaysians true to the name Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra and good enough to rival the Singapore Symphony Orchestra.There is an abundance of talent in Malaysia. The sad fact is, Malaysian talent is usually recognised overseas.

44. #44 by mendela on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 5:07 am

“The Malaysian Conductor Ooi Chean See resigned “, Malaysian for equality

I attended her show twice few years back and she was good.
    ———————————————

If Petronas can tolerate such loose management style of MPO, how can we trust them to handle the billions of rinngit of our good money?

Kit, go get Petronas to open their books!

45. #45 by sotong on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 6:29 am

For playing along with UMNO’s narrow, divisive and damaging politics for decades, MCA & MIC had totally lost respect, intergrity and credibility as a political party to represent their community and the multi racial and religious country as a whole.

Nothing could save them now.

46. #46 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 6:29 am

someone posted that abdullah badawi is a peoples’ person. ABSOLUTELY WRONG. abdullah badawi is a GREAT PRETENDER.

Mother Theresa of Calculta is TRULY A PEOPLES’ SAINT. a peoples’ person should be working and living among the people. the sick, the dying, the poor,the hungry and be part of the family of the depressed and marginalised.

abdullah badawi is just a GREAT PRETENDER.

it is a not a weakness to be able to pretend , but it is strength to able to keep on pretending.

abdullah pretended :-

that by a speedy return to Malaysia after days of flooding and cuddling a little baby, we are impressed and unaware that he was in australia for good times to officiate the opening of nasi kandar al -abdullah’s brother.

that having bought a millionS ringgit executive jet for the use of the premier family , while he asked the raayat to spend wisely, with the increase in all basic goods prices, we will be fooled.

that when Bersih organise a peaceful gathering to call for a fair and just election, he stated ” saya pantang di cabar “, that we were intimidated by the fru and water cannon. when 300,000 dares turned up, he saw only 300. he just pretended.

that when the demolition of hindu temples and chinese were done without any considerations to other races sensitivity and especially so, the destruction of a hindu temple three days to deepavali, he pretended not to know . btw the umno assembly was held during deepavali 2007.

that when, the second hindraf assembly of women and children offered flowers to abdullah as a sign of peace though the indians were upset , he knew that the children are not registered voters so he pretended that nothing can affect the general election.

that when the march of the lawyers are dead serious to demand to restore the independence of judiciary, abdullah decided to hear out nazri’s view , that one hundred lawyers doesnt make a counsel.he pretended that this is not an issue.

that ,when we made reports on corruptions, and the increasing indext on corruption shows . that we wonder how zakaria istana could be build and by any account, quite impossible to acquire incomes with all zakaria’s pay and salaries. abdullah made NO effort to even bother. he stated ” raayats’ perception”. its merely an illusion .

that even, when he announced that parliament was dissolved on wednesday, he pretended that only on tuesday, he had publicly on all national media,print or otherwise stated that parliament will not be bubar .abdullah thought the raayat have very very short memory . he pretended we know,but forgot.

so please do not called abdullah a peoples’ person.

he is NOT A CAPABLE LEADER FOR MALAYSIA.
    he is NOT TRUTHFUL TO HIS RAAYAT.
    he did not kept his many promises.

unless and unless, umno and the wagons of mca .mic and others in barisan wakes up and sincerely look inwards to their own follies, the next general election is NOT ONLY TO DENY BN , A 2/3 MAJORITY, IT IS A CHANGE OF A GOVERNMENT THAT IS A PEOPLES’ GOVERNMENT.

47. #47 by sotong on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 6:48 am

There would increasing spread of accurate and meaningful information to empower the people to protect their basic rights as individuals and their future.

BN cannot defend the mess created by them….their days in government are numbered.

48. #48 by kingandcountry on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 6:57 am

Aya, Dr Chen, why you waste so much of saliva go and advice UMNO what to do. better still DAP PKR PAS do can already… then ma can form government next time lo.

49. #49 by Godfather on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 7:24 am

I have only one question for Dr Chen:

Immediately after the elections, you issued a statement calling for vigilance in dealing with PAS, and explaining that working with PAS could turn out to be a disaster for DAP due to PAS’ purported Islamic agenda. What has changed now ? If you have come around to working with PAS in the current coalition, what has changed to make you promote the coalition as the best thing since sliced bread ?

50. #50 by billgates on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 7:27 am

The signs are there where people are longing for change. Malays voted for DAP and Chinese voted for PAS. Hope this is not a protest vote or a cleverly designed strategy where a “Vote for Any against UMNO” or “Smash UMNO’s political hegemony”.

The recent boycott on mamak restaurant by Penangites is another proof and soon I hope M2M especially STAR, NST, Utusan Malaysia will suffer the same fate.

The frequent bias reporting has put the DAP-PKR-PAS coalition at a disadvantage. Thus this coalition must come up with alternative reporting. Please check it on http://www.harakahdaily.net and you will know how updated are they in their reporting. Pas even have their own PAS TV which sometimes show live reporting. And I am sure PKR and DAP have their own way BUT sad to say the websites are not updated and do not carry up to date news.

Any change introduced must bring the greatest good to the greatest number of people. This efforts by the DAP-PKR-PAS must be reported and updated through the websites regularly. Blog such as this is not enough to reach out to people. Yes, I agree with some of the posting here about not being able to reach out to their elected reps. There is no email addresses or contact number of them. Emails sent to [email protected] have never been responded. I understand that the email has been flooded with some many mails especially after DAP’s recent victory. But wasn’t some of the speakers during DAP’s ceramah hammered on Bodohwi’s last minute setting up of the warkah untuk perdana website to hear out suggestions from Malaysians just before the 12th GE?

Also the coalition should also practice what it preaches. “Don’t do things that you don’t want others do unto you”. Look at the instance in the new Selangor state government where it was reported in Malaysiakini yesterday that some of the reps refused to declare their assets. And now Toyol is capitalizing on it by asking all reps to declare their assets and liabilities as well.

I hope YB Kit will remember also the story of a frog in the boiling water. Any change must only be introduced gradually so as not to create a cultural shock.

I hope the new coalition with their new found power will serve the rakyat better and take the opportunity to push for a Bangsa Malaysia.

51. #51 by kickbutt on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 7:50 am

52. #52 by kickbutt on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 8:18 am

53. #53 by k1980 on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 8:47 am

Cassius and Brutus are sharpening their daggers for use on Caesar
    http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/5067/84/

54. #54 by limkamput on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 9:01 am

the vigilance in dealing with PAS remains, [deleted]

55. #55 by Jeffrey on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 9:34 am

It had been those in power and holding public positions should declare assets, and that If they do not declare their assets, this means that there will be no transparency.

Under a “New Malaysia” Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi said he wanted all ministers in the new Cabinet and deputy ministers to declare their assets publicly. ACA would come out with the form.

PKR’s Khalid Ibrahim, now Selangor MB was reported to have said that some of his (opposition) state executive councillors had reservations on the matter.

This is the butt of criticism by former Selangor menteri besar Dr Mohd Khir Toyo who has challenged his successor Khalid Ibrahim and his state executive councillors to declare their assets.
    How do the Opposition Selangor state executive councilors justify their reservations under “New Malaysia??

56. #56 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 9:50 am

Sir Jeffrey.

Lets be honest about a few issues here.

khalid ibrahim, anwar ibrahim ,zaid ibrahim were products of the Nep.

That includes many of the former and present umno elite club members. and notwithstanding that former and present mca and mic leaders have a bite too .

I certainly pray and hope that saudara anwar ibrahim is a changed man, for pkr does not need public support of election fundings during this general election . while dap, goes for ” support dap fund for the ge “. Where do you think that anwar would have such amount of money to provided for the x numbers of seats contested and the campaign materials?

I am very happy that bn is taught a lesson, that the raayat rules the day. BUT, i have fear that pkr is not as poor as dap or pas.
    Hope you get my reasonings Sir Jeffry. no offence intended. just pondering where pkr campaign funds come from ?

thank you.

57. #57 by pulau_sibu on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 9:55 am

this is a very good one:

Headche – Another Deputy Minister Quits
    http://yippeego.com/ypwordpress/?p=441

58. #58 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 9:58 am

btw Sir Jeffrey, many responded to dap call for funds . i like reading books by Sir Jeffrey Archer.

BERITA TERKINI.
    anybody knows what happened to those inks that were parallel imported to “sabotage ” the election as reported ?

anybody charged for the offence committed ?

where are the ink now ? surely it has an expiry date. millions of ringgit gone again. sakit hati.

59. #59 by BlackEye on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 10:07 am

“Under a “New Malaysia” Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi said he wanted all ministers in the new Cabinet and deputy ministers to declare their assets publicly. ACA would come out with the form.” Jeffrey

Mahathir had a sinister motive in forcing his Ministers to sign such declarations. It was not that he wanted his Ministers to be clean and not corrupt or had public interest in mind. He wanted to know how corrupt they were so he could them in check. He could then have complete control over them.

Aren’t you required to file your income tax? You are required to declare your assets and sources of income and pay your taxes. Isn’t tax evasion a crime? A Malay school teacher turned politician and through a short period of a few years accumulated such wealth that raises issues as to how those assets were acquired – isn’t this not prima facie proof of corruption if that politician holds a cabinet post?

Why is there a need to make separate declaration of your assets?

60. #60 by limkamput on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 10:51 am

“When an imaginary hammer is the only tool in his posession, everything looks like a nail to him. ”

I still see lots of loose nails around, it is time to get rid of them.

61. #61 by lakilompat on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 10:56 am

Penang state govt. Sabotaged again by Federal Govt. Anyone feel yesterday news pertaining Rapid Penang cancelling route to Komtar, and that a parang wielding man threatened the driver (this clearly indicate Penang island is not a safe place and that these ppl roam the street). As a responsible citizen (Malaysian) why the Star did not report whether the Rapid Penang driver report to the Penang Police station or whether the man was caught? What are they trying to do, it has become very clear that they want to mess things up and keep the DAP govt. busy to attend and clean up their mess. Watch out they will be more big time crime happening, already yesterday or earlier, a goldsmith at Perak Giant store has been robed. Things like this, will be reported from now onwards, to indicate that the opposition state is not safe for tourist.

62. #62 by lakilompat on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 11:03 am

I hope YB LGE can come up with some measures to counter the sabotage, don’t forget Khairy is leader of the UMNO Scorpion (a group originated from mat rempit promoted become senior, their roles mainly to protect VIP or at demolishing scene) These ppl. are well funded, and might create further mess in Penang. According to some source the leader has already been despatched and is driving a sportcar not Penang number plate, pls scrutinize these ppl. Then every weekend at Penang largest roundabout there will be Mat Rempit meeting, i hope the police can capture and check those mat rempit with IC not origin from Penang. Among them might be the “orang upahan” from UMNO scorpion. I also urged DAP can sent some needles into the UMNO scorpion to spy their timetables.

63. #63 by Warrior of Cookies on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 11:29 am

Typical sore loser of BN. Creating havoc to regain control…!!! Their Fuel of survival for doing so…!!!

64. #64 by lakilompat on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 11:39 am

In Russia we have the gestapo, this is a secret police agent something like our plainclothes police, in HK they called it CID, do we have those plainclothes police to observe on crowded area. Normally, these Scorpion UMNO will create mess at crowded area. I don’t know whether it is wise to work with local triads as they are familiar with their territory. But i believe in Penang the triads are cooperative, during 5 13, the triads are defending the chinese in Penang, my parents told me some uncle died due to the attack on Penang cinema, they then rushed to find the local triads for shelter. So you see, in Penang the local triads still inherited some principle that’s to protect the Rakyat. I don’t mean those triads who do bad things, in fact, those who are highly discipline, like the HK movie “Hung Hing.” Sry, i think im watching too much movie well, i hope this will work.

65. #65 by cto on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 11:57 am

limkamput Says:

Today at 10: 51.09 (56 minutes ago)
    “When an imaginary hammer is the only tool in his posession, everything looks like a nail to him. ”

I still see lots of loose nails around, it is time to get rid of them.

—————————

Confirms my hypothesis exactly.

66. #66 by Jeffrey on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 12:08 pm

“Lets be honest about a few issues here…Khalid Ibrahim, Anwar Ibrahim ,Zaid Ibrahim were products of the NEP…” – ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH. You asked, “where do you think that Anwar would have such amount of money to provided for the x numbers of seats contested and the campaign materials?” It is interesting question because is corollary to another question why are those amenable to crossing over talking to him – and not (say) YB Kit or PAS’s spiritual advisor Nik Aziz??

However Anwar Ibrahim (the PM in waiting) and Selangor state MB campaigned on and now talk of “New Deal” as opposed to BN’s “Old Order”.

The New Deal says that “the Battle is against Class Warfare, not across Racial lines”; that “under the New Deal, affirmative action must be needs-based, not race-based. The New Deal will feature a strict adherence to the doctrine of separation of powers, namely between the executive, legal and judiciary functions”…

ADAM YONG (assuming that you said is true), then the question is what is likelihood of those like Anwar Ibrahim and Khalid Ibrahim, who benefited substantially from the Old Older will sincerely push for the New Deal in replacement of the Old Order??? Will they not use New Deal to gain support and power to perpetuate the workings of the Old Older, albeit through different and perhaps more sophisticated guises???

If the argument is that they have “reformed”, then why can’t be equally said that Tan Sri Muhammad “Mike Tyson” Muhammad Taib who in 1998 was charged in Australian Court for non declaration of foreign cash worth A$1.3 million in breach of Australian currency law has by now been reformed and deserving of being appointed a minister in charge of Rural Development in Pak Lah’s cabinet – in defence against detractors’ charges that he is not fit to hold the post???

As a matter of interest, in what way (other than the mere singular act of just leaving BN due more to ‘push factors’ than the pull factor of moral consceince and thereafter criticising their former patron’s policies and leading the Opposition’s charge against BN) have Anwar Ibrahim and Khalid Ibrahim shown by act and conduct that they have “reformed” more than (say) ‘Mike Tyson’ for the former to be heroes of New Malaysia whilst the latter is still viewed a contradiction to it???

67. #67 by Damocles on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 12:15 pm

“If you have come around to working with PAS in the current coalition, what has changed to make you promote the coalition as the best thing since sliced bread ?” – Godfather

I think that the DAP has no choice whatsoever in the matter.
    The DAP has been adamant in its view of not working with PAS because its Islamic ideology has prove fatal to the top two stalwarts in the 1999 general elections.
    However, events have made them reluctant bedfellows!
    It must be clear that the PAS together with PKR have swung a lot of Malay votes to the opposition, including the DAP. Without which it would be impossible to trounce the BN to such an extent.
    So, Uncle Lim was caught between a rock and a hard place by pure circumstances.
    To make the best use of the situation he had to work with them; I believe that he had issued a caution to PAS that an Islamic state is not an option.
    The rest is history.
    Hopefully, we can oust the BN at the next election or even earlier if there are party hoppers from the BN.
    The earlier the BN is consigned to the dustbin the less damage it can do to the country!

68. #68 by wag-the-dog on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 12:28 pm

Tony Pua (MP PJU) – Even A Cow Could Have Won

The US sub-prime crisis in graphics – Part 2

The US sub-prime crisis in graphics – Part 1

The Malay Struggle – Please Explain

The AUDACITY of HOPE

To Hear and To Listen

Please visit my blog http://www.wagthedog-malaysia.blogspot.com

69. #69 by shortie kiasu on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 2:02 pm

Humble pie is hard & distasteful to eat.

UMNO will not eat humble pie and accept the new political reality. It must be prepared to reform its old ‘Rip Van Winkle’ policies.

They are still in a state of denial and vengeful. We can witness how UMNO stirred up their emotion by demonstrations and protests under all sorts of nonsensical pretexts.

UMNO needs more and hearder blow to their head before they will ever awake for the slumber. The blow of 12th election is hard but not hard enough to UMNO.

The 13th election in another few years’ time may deliver a blow hard enough to admit the reality and wake up from self denial.

70. #70 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 2:38 pm

Sir Jeffrey.

If you read para (4) of my comments, i wrote ” i certainly pray and hope that saudara anwar is a changed man “.

i am sure you would agreed with me, that the election cost for pkr is massive, in view of the number of seats contested. all these deposits surely comes from the party, and not the candidate. ( correct me if i am wrong ).

as to why, YB LIM and TOK GURU NIK AZIZ are not the ears for the crossover, it is obvious that one is secular and the other islamic . as oil and water will never mix, NEVER can it be mixed.

and that is where saudara anwar played the king maker and peace maker among the three parties. dap,pkr,pas. “an enemy of my enemy is my friend ” and all three are bonded by this common cause to unite for this CAUSE. there is no moral wrong in this fight against a common stand to eradicate corruption, to end croynism, to be fair and to uphold justice . Just as pas and dap are in the barisan raayat- but the truth remains to be seen when the enemy is defeated and each divide the bounty.!!

as per to “mike tyson” , has he changed, has he repented.? God knows. BUT THE DIFFERENT LIES IN :- anwar ibrahim have served his jail sentence and fell sky high to disgrace, but mohamad taib has been sheltered from any legal prosecution and have been enjoying his ill gain fruits with TOTAL IMMUNITY.

I stand firm that khalid , anwar , zaid are products of Nep, and whether they could have the courage to move forward for changes will be known earlier than the next election. nevertheless, there are forever people like you and me, who would like to see REAL CHANGES AND PROMISES KEPT.

71. #71 by Jimm on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 2:47 pm

All Changes comes with a price.
    Are we all ready to pay for that ?

72. #72 by mraman on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 3:05 pm

Will the mindset of the Malays change? The new Menteri Besar of Perak is talking the language of UMNO. The Sun reported that he said that Malay supremacy will be upheld. This is typical of UMNO. The same fate will befall PAS. There can never be unity if the Malays think they are superior to the non-Malays. The concept of Ketuanan Melayu has to be eradicated.

73. #73 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 3:12 pm

to jimm

51% of Malaysians were readied for change ( malays, indians,chinese, orang asli, and other minority races ).

the price we paid for : we have an alternative choice of government that cuts across race and religion.

the reward : petrol price remains , tenaga tariff remains, bloggers are no longer goblok.

the effect : pandora box opened for the barisan nasional. what we dont see and read and hear before ARE coming out from non other than bn members .

the satisfaction : check and balance , and hopefully the raayat gains from this.

ok.

74. #74 by wag-the-dog on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 3:16 pm

Malaysia’s Beauty only Skin Deep – A Nomad

This article was written by a traveller and an expat who had lived in Malaysia.

Malaysia is a great country! Unspoiled beaches, excellent diving spots, mountains surrounded by misty fog, exotic fauna and flora and a healthy, vast rain forest are attracting plenty of visitors. Islands like Pulau Langkawi, Tioman, Penang, the Perhentians or locations like Genting Highlands have a legendary reputation with travelers.

The country embraced tourism already many years ago and the slogan “Malaysia – truly Asia” will ring in your ears forever; once you saw the mesmerizing advertising campaigns on CNN, BBC or other global TV stations.

However, Malaysia’s politics were never that idyllic and recent years were no exception:

What happened so far?

Visit http://www.wagthedog-malaysia.blogspot.com for details.

75. #75 by lakilompat on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 3:24 pm

76. #76 by k1980 on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 5:07 pm

77. #77 by LadyGodiva on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 7:48 pm

Hi boys! I’m bacckk!

78. #78 by limkamput on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 8:02 pm

79. #79 by undergrad2 on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 9:13 pm

80. #80 by undergrad2 on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 9:15 pm

81. #81 by limkamput on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 10:17 pm

82. #82 by kickbutt on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 10:30 pm

83. #83 by kickbutt on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 10:33 pm

84. #84 by limkamput on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 10:40 pm

Undergrad2,
    If you want to read my comment, please go read: “Public inquiry into several billions of ringgit of Wang Ehsan “black gold” expenditures in Terengganu” in the previous thread and tell me what you think.

My view is DAP, PKR and PAS must get down to serious thinking on how to govern the states rather than just keep highlighting the deficiency of BN. To me, this is a distraction strategy. We know already BN is hopeless. What we want to see now is that DAP, PAS and PKR are not ended hopeless like BN. So far I only see ad hoc and piecemeal policy pronouncements which are “populist” in nature. An effective government must take the bull by its horns and dare to take unpopular measures for the long term good of the people. Just look at Singapore in the initial years and even now.

85. #85 by limkamput on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 10:46 pm

[General Notice – Administrator takes liberty to place on moderation list anyone whose comments are DELETED repeatedly.]

86. #86 by kickbutt on Saturday, 29 March 2008 - 12:33 am

How is weather read over on TV these days in Malaysia?? Is it still “hujan disana disini”??

87. #87 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 29 March 2008 - 12:45 am

Wow…!! Even my posting calling for comments to be limited on the issues raised by our Dr Chen also was not spared!

88. #88 by controlnation1 on Saturday, 29 March 2008 - 2:39 am

All those deleted post are pretty funny….being deleted….in fullscale.

I think a new agenda had emerged,the Sultan agenda.I think come next election,most MB’s are hand picked by the Sultan.

89. #89 by catharsis on Saturday, 29 March 2008 - 6:54 am

………………………….The new opposition states have immediately implemented new populist policies like stopping waste of public funds, simple lifestyle for chief minister and mentris besar, ban on application of land by elected DAP MPs and SAs, weeding out corruption………………………………………………………………….

***WHICH EVALUATING MECHANISM ARE WE GOING TO ADOPT?

Source: Monash Uni 2008

Introduced in 1992, by Robert Kaplan and David Norton, The BALANCED SCORE CARD is the most commonly used framework for ensuring that agencies execute their strategies. Today, about 70% of the Fortune 1000 companies utilize the Balance Scorecard to help manage performance

BALANCED SCORECARD is used as the roadmap for creating the “Strategic Management System” or our IRPS. And this will drive overall organisational performance for our entire agency

Mik Wisniewski and Snjólfur Olafssson (2004) “Developing balanced scorecards in local authorities: a comparison of experience”

Mik Wisniewski is from Department of Management Science, Strathclyde Business School, Glasgow, UK

and Snjólfur Olafssson is Faculty of Economics and Business Administration, University of Iceland, Reykjavik

90. #90 by pulau_sibu on Saturday, 29 March 2008 - 7:55 am

Are we sure that Agong will not pick another person as prime minister? I think he should. I think Agong could have pardoned Anwar and all other political victims. Yes, the Sultans are no longer BN puppets

91. #91 by LadyGodiva on Saturday, 29 March 2008 - 9:46 am

Weather’s fine this side of the Atlantic, kickbutt.

92. #92 by ypmeng on Saturday, 29 March 2008 - 10:41 am

It never will be a new Malaysia if Kerismuddinis and his donkeys are not brought down in the next GE. I just hate this donkey. I will never forget the day when the banner that was shown in public to “Basahkan Keris dengan darah cina”. This must be made known to the Chinese in JB.

93. #93 by lopez on Saturday, 29 March 2008 - 11:03 am

Tera tera tera

The pathfinder shouted “tera”, “tera”,” tera” , both tears and laughter spurted out from his unwashed mouth.

For moment he peer through the skyline and abruptly in quick stern hand movement he motioned his hands over his head- asig of trouble ahead and silence came just a quickly as the jeers and joys from the deckhands below.

The Captain shouted ” battle stations”

The jeers had turn into curses from the deck hands.

The ship has just been swept into straits of Malacca, a haven of pirates, liars, crooks, thieves, backstabbers, fiery jealous minds, rapist and all alike.

Quite successfully the lands in these area maintains their infamous traits as haven of pirates….blah blah and blah
    but only now their tribal chiefs drives merz and exotic cars, go yacht cruising, enjoys philharmonic orchestras and soparanos, smoke cigars, go abroad for nightclubbing, enjoys military exposition. their women enjoys spas and saunas, cosmetic surgery, grooming, shopping in boutiques , jewelery and chandeliers and furniture abroad. Many of their children goes boarding schools in English schools abroad…..You also know …lah

Down on the streets their deckhands satisfied themselves with tehtarik and roti canai and live Fa cup soccer matches…dreaming away. Buys furniture in ma_roth stores, some goes to “smart” schools in good old traditional sampans unsheltered and all.
    Some Gets modern living in the cities in cute cubical units c/w narrow staircase, regular breakdown lifts, blocked drains and leaky roofs.
    Pays a proud and burden for a nationmade car c/w short change parts and workmanship and quick reply complain telephone number.

And they still have to listen and read all the shit their chiefs draft out over their night out in the orchestras.

Dream on …….

Change …huh what for when there enough FA Cup and teh tarik -roti canai maybe make the furniture at ma roth stores cheaper lah.

HA HA HA….malaysian expextaxion

You ask for change but still expextsion same?????
    DAP show the way

94. #94 by limkamput on Saturday, 29 March 2008 - 11:27 am

Dear moderator,
    Please take note that there is only one blogger (or may be they colluded in a private chat room) who uses different IDs to give an impression that they are different people attacking me.

I just want to seek your clarification – when a blogger is subjected to constant personal attacks and uncalled for remarks, can that blogger retaliate? I notice when I did not respond to those attacks, you as the moderator, has done nothing and continue to allow those attacks to stand. However, I when started to retaliate (and I believe rightly so), you will start to give warning and deleting as if the problem was started by me.

I think many of us come here because we feel that we have the knowledge and experience to contribute something which we hope can bring betterment to Malaysia. We would like to think that some of the ideas and suggestions we made here were actually taken up by politicians and political parties to win election and to run the government. So be fair, and please don’t treat me like I have nowhere else to go. You are welcome to give a rejoinder.

You have a good day, bye.

95. #95 by wag-the-dog on Saturday, 29 March 2008 - 2:39 pm

Malaysia’s Beauty only Skin Deep – A Nomad

This article was written by a traveller and an expat who had lived in Malaysia.

Malaysia is a great country! Unspoiled beaches, excellent diving spots, mountains surrounded by misty fog, exotic fauna and flora and a healthy, vast rain forest are attracting plenty of visitors. Islands like Pulau Langkawi, Tioman, Penang, the Perhentians or locations like Genting Highlands have a legendary reputation with travelers.

The country embraced tourism already many years ago and the slogan “Malaysia – truly Asia” will ring in your ears forever; once you saw the mesmerizing advertising campaigns on CNN, BBC or other global TV stations.

However, Malaysia’s politics were never that idyllic and recent years were no exception:

What happened so far?

For details visit my blog http://www.wagthedog-malaysia.blogspot.com

Also in my blog:

Tony Pua (MP PJU) – Even A Cow Could Have Won

The US sub-prime crisis in graphics – Part 2

The US sub-prime crisis in graphics – Part 1

The Malay Struggle – Please Explain

The AUDACITY of HOPE

To Hear and To Listen

96. #96 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 29 March 2008 - 10:58 pm

This being a unique political blog and one led by a senior politician known to all as the leader of the opposition in the country’s highest legislative body, readers would agree that comments should as far as possible be limited to issues which are affecting our country presently in the throes of political socio-economic change the scale of which we have never seen before – humor and friendly banter included and less than friendly but relevant exchanges excepted.

It may at times be visited and read by readers of different political leanings, strains and beliefs who are just as passionate in their views, and sparks may fly in the face of the exchange. Occasionally, we have visitors who visit this blog solely to provoke and mock regular readers of this blog with their personal views. However, obnoxious these characters may be, it is important that we understand that while we look forward to reading comments made by those who share our views, we would be making a mockery of the freedom of speech if we limit the same to those who do not.

Then we may get a regular contributor who behaves like the typical school headmaster taking to task or chiding his students who to him have the audacity to challenge him and his views on the issues as if he alone has the monopoly to the truth. Should we fault readers who choose to show their annoyance? That too is freedom of speech.

When such exchanges get out control and the parties resort to ‘un-civil’ behavior to solve civil issues, the moderator is placed in the unenviable position of having to do what he or she is supposed to do i.e. moderate. But you can only moderate views and not behavior.

Factor into the equation the fact that there are serving politicians who would not hesitate to quote postings by his supporters made on this blog in order to ridicule the leader of the opposition, then the challenges represented by the use of unfettered free speech unrestrained by the norms of civil behavior, take on a certain urgency which can only be resolved by the administrator having to resort to blocking the IP address of those who persist in this less than civil behavior to preserve the integrity of this blog.

My 2-cents.

97. #97 by lakilompat on Sunday, 30 March 2008 - 2:25 am

“UMNO should eat humble pie and accept the new political reality”

As a matter of fact, they don’t and they are going to spank the 5 states govern by the opposition coalition. Constant sabotage, and don’t bother to release the Hindraf 5 despites call by various opposition leader.

We will never have a new Malaysia, that is a NO, Pak Lah will be chosen again end of this year, why, becos if other leader within UMNO is chosen, he might not be as stupid, ignorance, deaf, sleepy, arrogant as Pak Lah. Many will still prefer him, because he will continue to deny the Opposition state since his coalition has been denied by the Rakyat from this 5 states and Royal family.

98. #98 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 30 March 2008 - 3:30 pm

Under “New Malaysia” inernational media watchdogs like Centre for Independent Journalism (CIJ) have warned our MSM (Mainstream Media) to go ‘back to basics’ in terms of journalistic and professional ethics (ie give balance coverage including t critical of government of the day) if they are to remain relevant in Malaysian society today.

So far there are some signs that things are changing.

One recalls in August 2007, New Straits Times (NST) withdrew the column of social activist Zainah Anwar. Zainah’s writing last appeared in the paper on July 27, 2007 on which she wrote about the futility of censorship with the advancement of information technology. She said that the “new media”, such as blogs and news portals, had made obsolete the regulation of public opinion and ideas. This is absolutely vindicated by March 8th 2008 election results.

Now the Star has seized the initiative and gave Zainah Anwar a new column “Sharing the Nation” in which she wrote abouit “How the Tables Have Turned” (against the BN) on page 31 of Sunday Star 30th March.

We also observe how Double Datuk Group Chief Editor of The Star, Wong Chun Wai was busy engaging and interviewing the new Chief Minister of Penang, Lim Guan Eng, and the new Mentri Besar of Selangor, Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim in his Cafe Latte series.

The Sun that had even before the election dedicated more space to “neutral stories’ (than NST & THe Star) has on 27th March published Dr Mahathir’s views on “ Rulers and politicians” touching on the Wang Ehsan issue.

Even TV 3 gave quite a coverage to an interview of Dr Mahathir critical of the government.

I hope these initiatives concerning self directed internal reforms of MSM would continue for greater non partisan ship and professionalism to our journalistic profession and industry under the “New Malaysia”.

99. #99 by LadyGodiva on Sunday, 30 March 2008 - 7:06 pm

Ohh….! It is good that we could once again smell the fresh air. You have no idea how refreshing it is to be able to enter the room and be able to smell the freshly brewed Sumatran coffee and breathe the fresh air!

Hallelujah!

100. #100 by catharsis on Sunday, 30 March 2008 - 7:23 pm

My 2-cents………………

Even Pauline Hansen was given her “two cents”worth of her extreme rightish views in the OZ free press and media would only suggest how matured is the audience in developed democracy………..are you suggesting our Malaysian audience are not matured enough to differentiate between good speech and flawed speech and do not possess that intellectual ability to chastise one that is not universally right

I beg to differ

101. #101 by kickbutt on Sunday, 30 March 2008 - 9:11 pm

It is not good to beg.

102. #102 by catharsis on Monday, 31 March 2008 - 7:21 am

kickbutt …that is a good one- even if it is slightly below the belt- it is just a minor tickle not so much of an ouch yet

Cheers

103. #103 by lextcs on Monday, 31 March 2008 - 12:21 pm

a new malaysia should have a non malay prime minister if he is qualified enough and having the support from all malaysians alike. Just like Obama, he should be given a chance to effect a change in our plural society. Can we see this happening in the immediate future? To be totally honest, I cant see it as long as we are playing along the coloured lines. Then there is the royalty lines too. Nobody would dare to point a dart at someone above the law would they? So Mr. Chen, im afraid you and me may not see the NEW malaysia.

104. #104 by lextcs on Monday, 31 March 2008 - 12:32 pm

This change was voiced out aptly by Malaysia think-tank director-general Wan Saiful Wam Jian. He said

“The results indicated the voters had broken the ethnic and religious barriers. Voting no longer based on ethnicity or religion any more.

“Voting also shows we are heading more towards a Malaysia that is suitable for all Malaysians regardless of race and creed as in Perak where the Malays had voted for the DAP and Chinese for PAS…”

Yes, we the voters broke ethnic barriers in our choice of candidates. But when will the choice of our leaders based on ethnicity be broken down? Have not the Rulers in those states got the guts to choose his mb based on a different race and religion for the best of his state? The question we all must ask ourselves is if there is a malaysian version of Lee Kuan Yew in our midst can he be the next prime minister? If not why?

105. #105 by One4All4One on Monday, 31 March 2008 - 9:16 pm

Our Constitution didn not give preferential treatment to UMNO, did it?

SO, why should UMNO being treated as if it is above all others?

Just like any political parties in the country, it has to work as hard and as fairly.

Throw some lights here.

106. #106 by lextcs on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 11:49 am

Mr Kit, will u, are u, could u be LKS to Malaysia what LKY is to spore, what DengSP is to China ?

107. #107 by kickbutt on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 7:41 pm

“…please don’t treat me like I have nowhere else to go.”

Who does?? That’s your freedom of speech. Exercise it!

108. #108 by limkamput on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 11:44 pm

how do you describe a person who continues to talk to himself – mentally challenged. Can not use mad, because that will be politically incorrect, which will make him even more mad.

109. #109 by limkamput on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 11:48 pm

I have to take leave to replenish my oxygen. The world will be a better place if we can get rid of some wasters of oxygen.

110. #110 by limkamput on Tuesday, 1 April 2008 - 11:56 pm

Most paradoxical and most ironical! Those who label others for being invective, weasel and know all are themselves guilty of all these. Tell me, who is humble here. What I see here is the seas of self indulged know all personalities who think whatever they said are beyond reproach and criticism. And when criticised, one just has to see the venom in their attack on others. Yet, they are here talking like saint – so paradoxical and so ironical.

If one of the blogger here can be labelled as a headmaster, then I would like to label one of the frequent visitor here as the Supreme Court judge. At least I think the headmaster was doing his/her job if he/she was able to point out views that are factually wrong or illogical.

What about this Supreme Court judge? To him, he must have the final say in everything. Take for example his perverted view on ISA. To him, there is nothing wrong with the ISA; it is the abuse and arbitrary use of ISA. He just can’t see his own illogic. How can he say there is nothing wrong with the ISA when the act itself has provided for abuse and arbitrary use of power by the executive branch? Because of 9/11 and because of US Patriot Act, he sees nothing wrong with ISA. He just can’t see the abuse and arbitrary use of power is part and parcel of that legislation.

111. #111 by LadyGodiva on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 4:34 am

I smell the foul ordor of a dead rat in the room!

112. #112 by catharsis on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 7:12 am

There is no RIGHT and no WRONG when we look at the context it was made in……………………

113. #113 by catharsis on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 7:14 am

I also smell some bad breath from a kettle

114. #114 by lakilompat on Monday, 21 April 2008 - 2:48 pm

How to reinvent a new Malaysia. Now, BN or federal govt. is campaigning the make Malay fight for the Malays rights. Malaysia is made up of Malays, if all Malays unite and decided to genocide all the chinese and indians, well that’s what UMNo is trying to do.

A New Race based Malaysia by UMNO?

115. #115 by kokhaw on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 11:57 pm

When everyone is so fancy about democracy, has anyone really realise about the weaknesses about democracy?

The same goes to parliamentary government. Is parliamentary government the best government model?

No, they are not. There are still many weaknesses that need to be improved. Generally, democracy is majority say. This is only good when majority is good and has high wisdom.

If majority likes war, then, democarcy constitutes to war, a case like US.

Another example such as Indonesia is majority malays. In case if majority is one sided and put other people as slave, is democracy still good?

While for parliamentary government. What is the qualification of someone who doesn’t know about engineering and doesn’t have engineering background to handle and control an engineering department? If someone who doesn’t know well on certain industry, but play role in deciding the rules and regulations for that industry, is this the right or effective way of doing work?

In view of all these weaknesses, shall we pull ourselves out of the circle and consider something which is more convincing for a better tomorrow?

Well, I have thought about these some time ago and I wish to share with all the buddy here on my opinion. I have named the new ideology as the ‘Wisdomism’, which I think it is a newer ideology which is better than democracy. I have posted it onto my website as follow:-
    http://www.greatians.com/wisdomism.htm

Please do feel free to put your comments here. TQ.