Now see what happens when you play around with the keris?

By Farish A. Noor

As the broken remnants of the Barisan Nasional recuperate and recover what is left of their shattered pride, it would be prudent to take a step back and look at some of the factors that have certainly contributed to the dismal showing the BN component parties and the UMNO party in particular.

It is clear to many that this election was, in some ways, a singularly unique event in the same way that the 2004 elections were special. 2004’s election results could be read as a collective sigh of relief on the part of the Malaysian electorate after twenty years of rule under the Mahathir government, which witnessed a host of controversial incidents ranging from the BMF scandal of the early 1980s all the way up to Ops Lalang in 1987. The enormous mandate given to the Badawi government was a sign that the public was thirsting for change and that they were no longer willing to live with the modes of governance and politics that we have all grown sadly accustomed to for lack of a choice…

This time round, the electorate has once again spoken to signal their utter disillusionment after it became painfully evident that none of the reform policies foregrounded by the Badawi team were ever going to come true. Instead this had been an administration long on gimmicks and novelties, but short on substance and delivery. Was it necessary to send a Malaysian astronaut to space on a Russian craft, to make the vain boast that a Malaysian citizen had been there and done that? If this was meant to assuage the anger and frustration of Malaysians who lived in estates and poorly-run low-cost urban housing, it certainly had the opposite effect of driving home the point that this administration was out of touch with reality and totally disconnected with the needs and wants of the people.

But vain boasts notwithstanding, the Badawi government suffered its long-overdue shock due to the vain boasts of some of its leaders and spokesmen. Here is it worth noting the effect that UMNO’s own overheated pyrotechnics had on the sentiments and sensibilities of a significant section of the Malaysian public; namely the non-Malays and non-Muslims of the country. In particular we are referring to the repeated assertion on the part of some hot-headed UMNO leaders who continued to harp on about the notion of Malay dominance in a racially and religiously diverse and plural society.

The abandonment of the MCA, Gerakan and MIC by the Malaysian electorate would suggest that the non-Malay voters have grown fed up with the toothless apologia of the non-Malay leaders and representatives of the BN when faced with the antics of UMNO demagogues and soap-box orators. In particular we will recall the incidents when the leader of UMNO’s Youth Wing Hishamuddin Onn, brandished the keris in public, on stage, and pontificated at some length about Malay pride and the place of the Malays in Malaysia.

The use of the keris as a symbol of racial unity and identity was and is in itself problematic, considering that the keris in Malaysia today is such a politically loaded symbol that is pregnant with meaning and historical connotations. Hishamuddin’s brandishing of the keris did not take place in a historical vacuum, even if the politician had no sense of history (which is unlikely to be the case.)

As we all know, the keris has been transformed into a marker for a particular sort of right-wing ethno-nationalist ideology that serves the agenda of Malay racial and cultural supremacists since 1969 and all the way up to 1987 and beyond. Need we remind the leaders of UMNO that some of them were also present at the Malay nationalists’ rally in Kampung Baru in 1987, when once again the keris was identified with Malay pride as well as the threat of violence? UMNO leaders like Najib Razak were present when their supporters chanted and carried banners with slogans like ‘This keris will drink Chinese blood’.

It is against that specific historical context – that was fully engineered by UMNO, mind you – that Hishamuddin’s raising of the keris on several occasions aroused both the fear and anger of many non-Malays and Malays as well. Was this not an act of provocation, where once again UMNO was brandishing its muscle in defiance of the other communities in the country?

Compounding the problem was the MCA, Gerakan and MIC’s relative impotence and quietism when Hisham gave us this theatrical display of misplaced ethnic pride and muscular nationalism. Despite the plaintive appeals of the leaders of MCA, Gerakan and MIC to desist from such soapbox pyrotechnics, neither Hisham, nor UMNO Youth, nor the Prime Minister himself altered course: UMNO Youth was allowed a free hand to make such outrageous ethnic-communitarian demands at a time when MCA, Gerakan and MIC wished to assert their identity as equal partners of the BN. It seemed almost as if by raising the keris in the way that he did, Hisham was indicating that UMNO Youth was more important than the other non-Malay component parties, and this repeated act of defiance drove in the nails in the coffins of the MCA, Gerakan and MIC respectively.

Crucially the one person who could have said and done something to stop the erosion of the MCA, Gerakan and MIC’s credibility was Prime Minister Badawi; who could simply have pulled the reins on the hot-heats and chest-thumpers of UMNO Youth. Yet even Badawi stood paralysed, allowing them to raise the ante further. This apparent paralysis on the part of Prime Minister Badawi rendered null and void his now-vacuous claim that he was the ‘Prime Minister of all Malaysians’. If he was indeed such a universal leader-figure, then why did this ‘Prime Minister of all Malaysians’ do nothing and say nothing when the younger leaders of his own party were raising the spectre of racial supremacy before his very eyes?

Thus it can perhaps be said that the election results of 2008 are an indicator of the extent to which MCA, Gerakan and MIC have been seen as the running dogs of UMNO in a BN coalition that has grown more and more unbalanced in the eyes of so many. Playing around with kerises is something you do in old movies about silat warriors, but not in the context of modern-day Malaysian politics where respect for cultural diversity and the equal pride and status of all communities should be paramount. The hot-heads in UMNO Youth may have been playing to the Malay gallery when they pulled the stunt of drawing the keris in public, but the catastrophic damage they did to the image and standing of their component BN partners was beyond calculation. In the end, however, it is not the keris, but rather the clumsy hand that wields it that is to be blamed. UMNO’s two-faced management of race-relations, which was flawed from the outset, has undone itself and the BN. To quote the popular refrain: “Padan Muka”.

1. #2 by badak on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 9:28 am

Now that the opposition had won big in this G.E,UMNO is trying to rock the boat.UMNO is now organizing demonstration in PENANG and SELANGOR.Where is the police,Are they waiting for things to get out of hand.It is made even worse when local TV stations and news papers .play the issuses.

TV3 and RTM reporters should be thrown in ISA ,For the way they report the news.Every night before i sleep i always pray that there will be no repeat of MAY 13, All over again.

2. #3 by sammyvellu on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 9:47 am

I like the first paragraph of this article.

Being a much more straight to the point person, I would have started with “As Barisan National ‘leaders’ limp down the streets of Putrajaya licking their wounds ……..”

3. #4 by alancheah on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 9:59 am

He is lucky that he could win this round.
    Just DON’T vote for this guy in
    the next election!

4. #5 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:09 am

As the belief goes, once the keris is unsheathed with so much anger, it has to ‘taste’ human blood. If it is not your enemy’s it has to be your own!

5. #6 by jus legitimum on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:20 am

The Umno demonstrations in Penang and Selangor simply manifested the mentality of refusal to admit loss.Coupled with that is the display of political rascalism and racism.It also put foot into the mouth of BN leader who said demonstration is not their culture.So now it is whose culture?If they still continue with their
    vicious acts (arousing hatred of one community towards another and thereby causing social unrest),the public will not just remain silent because they are aware the demonstrations were started by some selfish and self serving hypocrites of the old regime.The MSM including tv should change and be responsible by giving fair and balanced reporting.The Prime Minister (if he really fulfills his claim that he is the PM of all races) should step forward and stop the nonsence put forth by his party members in the two states.If he fails to do so,he will further lose the credibility of the electorate.Moreover it is quite disgraceful and humiliating to a certain community in the eyes of other communities.

6. #7 by Cinapek on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:26 am

“…..Prime Minister Badawi; who could simply have pulled the reins on the hot-heats and chest-thumpers of UMNO Youth….”

AAB also maintained elegant silence and failed to pull the reins on his Little Mullah Napoleons when they:

1) Body snatching
    2) Ban use of “Allah” by non muslims
    3) Confiscate Christian books
    4) Demolish temples
    5) Racist statements by his SIL
    6) Conversion controversies
    7) Article 11 and Interfaith discussions
    8) etc

Including the purchase of the luxury plane and holidaying in Western Australia with the jet set while the people of Southern Malaysian Peninsula was flooded plus the frequent overseas trips instead of attending to his three ministerial portfolios explains why he is sent th strong message to get out.

7. #8 by Windchime on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:29 am

The arrogance from Hishamuddin was apparent when he wielded the Keris in the UMNO general assembly, egging on those stupid, bigot UMNOputras on with so much racial slant.

And you are right, there is nothing wrong with the Keris, it was the hand that held it. You are also spot on about the feelings of the non-Malays which we have shown quite clearly how they felt this time through the ballot boxes.

I also agree with you on that the other component parties had become irrelevant to represent the minorities as they had let the UMNO charade continue. They were virtually “toothless”. The same can be said of our Prime Minister whose slogan “Cemerlang, Gemilang, Terbilang” is nothing more than a marketing hype – no substance at all.

Over the last few days, there is hardly any sign of Khairy, the Bollywood copycat. He must have realised by now that his arrogance and the seemingly “untouchable” attitude has suddenly sunk in and that he too has contributed much to the BN’s poor performance. What stupid “Gerak Gempur” and all that. So, it is wise of him to just shut up.

But Hishamuddin is still raging on and singing the same old tune – “JANGAN this and JANGAN that….”. He also wants to find out the root cause with his other “not-so-youthful”, YOUTH partners from other component parties, why the BN has performed so badly.

Hello? Stupid or what?

HIshamuddin just need to replay the video recordings from the last two UMNO general assembly. From there he will be able to find out quite easily one of the most significant cause of the problem and how he had single handedly, manage to inflict so much damage to the BN that had led to its dismal performance this time around.

Such hyprocrites should not still be in government.

8. #9 by antiBN08 on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:36 am

haha.. it’s pity that the hot-headed Kerismuddin is still clueless that he’s one of the main factor that bn lose

9. #10 by jus legitimum on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:39 am

BN thought the electorate including the non Malays and non Muslims are fools all the time.They thought they still could bulldoze their way by forever keeping their arrogant stance.Serve them right this time anyway.

10. #11 by max2811 on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:41 am

I always get agitated when I read about the keris issue. To me as a teacher, it not only shows the stupidity of the MOE, but I condemned the act as a show of arrogance and as an act of provocation.

The ex-MOE, the SIL, and the UMNO leaders, are all out to destroy the country. Their cries of Malay supremacy will only bring the country down on its knees. I strongly believe their rhetorics are not genuine but as something which they think will protect their positions so that they are in a position of power to plunder the country’s riches.

BA should have a talk to the Police and editors and owners of the medias. If they continue with what they are doing, with their biased and inflamatory editorials and reports, the country would be in chaos. No person of sane mind would want the country to be in such a position.

They must be stopped!!

11. #12 by lopez on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:42 am

In English laws as in the commonwealth nations,
    we learn the meaning of THREAT and ASSAULT

The main BN tribal cheftains has no such knowledge and dont bother to find out either.

So you get these crowns brandishing his iron and pointing here and there as if he is the greatest on top of a mole hill.
    And the ants being having only servant mentality yelling in support to their hero.

The result their pea size brain leader got motivated and continue doing so, their so called allies also with similar pea size brain sat in awe and silence as the iron the waves and even pointed at them, but still do nothing….in silent objection ? only and only they knew, they were in location.

I know 5000 years culture would not just be silent but would turn their backs in objection and leave in silence.

In english laws drawing the sword is both threat and an assault.
    Either way it is not acceptable even in the feudal societies of yesteryears.

MALAYSIA BOLEH—huh?

12. #13 by bolehlandor on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:51 am

HeHeHeh

Great & most accurate in its contents. Congrats to Sdr Farish for the profound analyses portrayed. But will the MIGHTY BN goons & samsengs know anything about truths esp when it is unfavourable to them?

Come on rakyat of Malaysia, let us all kick these buffoons clean out of the federal govt the next round! Well maybe the sore losers may pretend to be angels and make some improvements to their wayang but we the rakyat knows better than to believe them, right?.

13. #14 by k1980 on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:53 am

Muddin should follow Kim Jong Il and start playing with an Atomic Bomb… the problem is, he does not even know how to make a fart bomb

14. #15 by fight4justice8 on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:54 am

I hate UMNO and hardline Islamist who never ever try to respect other race and religion. See what they did to our temples?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j8o12E7ejlY

15. #16 by alaneth on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:56 am

The pencil is mightier than the Keris.

Don’t draw the blood, just cross the right box.

Serves Hishamuddin right (also Khairy) for brandishing & kissing his keris. But he haven’t learnt his lesson yet & can still talk loud against the opposition after the GE… see what he has said so far! Lucky for him to contest in Johor or he will join the annals of Sharizat. By the way, what is the update on PKR trying to annul Khairy’s Rembau seat?

16. #17 by ranger on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 11:52 am

I really hope he keeps on playing with his Keris. He said he wants to desensitise the Nons about his Keris playing antics. The results BN achieved is a stark reminder about this lunatic racist. He still wants to know why the BN performed badly, look at the mirror, Kerismuddin! Those castrated eunuchs in MCA and Gerakan, could not do a thing about it. Kononnya, they were representing the Nons, they had no cojones. I hope he continues playing in the next UMNO assembly. I wonder he would have won without the postal votes at Semborong? Keep the pics of him in your archives, use it for the next GE, plus pay attention to his runaway mouth, archive that too. Kudos for the Keris posters, good thinking.

17. #18 by max2811 on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 12:23 pm

Mr. Lim, just came back from Ipoh town. Some roads leading to the SUK are blocked off. Is there any trouble? What’s the situation in Penang and Selangor?

18. #19 by FairToAll on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 12:44 pm

Don’t forget that the Polis & the Attorney General also contributed to the downfall on BN.

Dear PDRM , Please use more force & tear gas on peaceful assemblies except for those organise by UMNO!!!!!

Dear AG, Please charge more innocent people for attempt murder!!!!!!

19. #20 by alhafar on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 12:50 pm

Well done Farish.

The whole idea of BN is flawed from the beginning. The leading party as a “United Malay” organisation contradicts the multicultural position. The idea that it leads two other ethnically based parties the MCA and MIC equally reinforce this idea of division by race, and the role model of a race that will naturally be led by the United Malays. In other words, the entire foundation of BN is polarised. This was already evident way back in the 90s when Dr Mahathir on the one hand talked about multiracialism and called for Malay Unity against outside threats at the very same time. What were the outside threats? What did he stand for as Prime Minister, Malay Unity or Malaysian Unity? How can the two be reconciled?

How do the BN expect to transform the rakyat into a tolerant multiracial cohesive society that celebrates its differences? The only way forward has to be a dismantling of BN and what it stands for. The new BR has great potential to give Malaysians what we long deserved, a truly multiracial government that focuses on public service to all rakyat.

That’s why when the quetion of whether UMNO is still relevant was asked, the answer should have been an obvious NO! All of BN, MCA, MIC, are no longer relevant today. They are dinosaurs of a historic age.

Regards
    Al

20. #21 by melurian on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 1:01 pm

so ? hisammudin still win what …..

21. #22 by manonthestreet on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 1:22 pm

It’s time kerismuddin respect the rights of other races to coexist in our pluralist country. By unsheathing the keris and kissing it does not symbolise any good for BN or for Malaysia. Are the chinese such a big threat to the fundamentals of Malay culture or his political survival? After 39 year, BN is still inflicting fear and threats about May 13, is there no other agenda in their minds that will get them support?

22. #23 by bukanbumi on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 1:34 pm

Hishammudin wanted to know why most Chinese vote for any opposition, we suspect he already knew the answer but just want to blame others for it.

If he is humble enough, he should kneel down in front of TV cameras and seek forgiveness from all minorities for what he did two years ago, no doubt that he did not draw any Chinese blood, but his rhetoric hurt the Chinese like hell. Most Chniese of this generation will remember this episode for life just like the previous generation of Chinese who remember Najib and Ghafa Baba who wanted to organise a long march by UMNO members from Alor Star to K.L. to show their power and perhaps to destroy some Chinese own properties.

23. #24 by msian_msia on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 2:05 pm

To UMNO, MCA, Gerakan, MIC and others:

You can fool some of the rakyat some of the time.
    You can also fool some of the rakyat all of the time.
    You can even fool all of the rakyat some of the time.
    But you can never fool ALL of the rakyat ALL of the time.

Think about it.

24. #25 by Evenmind on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 2:09 pm

Well said Farish., but the thing is this hissakuddin is an outright MORON, for he know the consequences of his actions., even today he will say he did the right thing., and now the fanatics in UMNO are even creating more trouble for the opposition, for they are all out to play racial politics all over again and henceforth stoke racial hatred., Badawi is simply a lame duck , all the shots are now called by the likes of Hissakuddin.

25. #26 by Evenmind on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 2:38 pm

oops, he know not the consequences of …..

26. #27 by DAPPKR on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 2:55 pm

Like Windchime said

its the hand that held the keris…he is the culprit of all the necessary tensions…boot him out

They do things that benefits themselves…

just imagine if they had won the election with the 2/3 majority they needed…celebrations would be held and no police order will be release to cancel bn celebrations…

and now that they lost…coverage of them protesting on the street is shameful and the media has been lenient with them.

look how they tarnished the image of indians during the first hindraf rally…see how the whole thing contradicts?

F*ing apes

27. #28 by kerishamuddinitis on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 3:04 pm

Thank you Farish, thank you. I am Chinese. I was a little boy when the fires broke out in 1969. I will never forget how terrified everyone was, regardless of race. At the place where I lived, the residents were predominantly Chinese, and no-one may believe this, but the Chinese residents got together with the Malay residents and together made a solemn pact to protect each other! We lived at the now demolished Pekeliling Flats – it wasn’t that hard to blockade the access routes. The amazing thing was the Chinese and Malays got together to commit to protecting each other even as the fires and destruction of human lives and property raged all round. As I grew up, I hoped and prayed that there would never be a repeat of such a catastrophe.

Fast forward almost 40 years. The nightmare is still being used as threats by both UMNO and MCA – shame on all of you who resort to this. And to those who were not even born yet and to those who do not know what being terrified is, shame on you for manipulating something the evil of which you cannot even start to imagine. Enough! No more! We, the people, will not accept any more attempts to use this to terrorise both Chinese and Malays. Enough!

As I once posted, the man Kerishamuddin, who brandished the keris is really, on all counts and on the count of his current continuing quest to project himself as champion of his ‘race,’ in issuing his string of warnings, he is to me simply an Unsheated Phallic Imbecile.

The RAKYAT must now close ranks to ensure that Kerishamuddin, UMNO, and the BN component running dogs are DESENSITISED to losing their 2/3 majority in Parliament, as well as the loss of 5 States. The new BR forces representing the RAKYAT must deliver on their promises and perform in the interests of the RAKYAT regardless of race or religion. We must keep up the battle-cry of DENY 2/3 at evey occasion we can so that the BN cronies are DENSENSITISED to the idea of losing 2/3 and accept the domino collapse of control of government and the rest of the States, if not in the immediate future then in the next GE13 – that fateful number 13 that will see a total CHANGE in federal and remaining state governments not yet won by BR.

DESENSITISE BN TO LOSING 2/3!

28. #29 by dap-for-pj on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 3:11 pm

I think we should make sure badawi stays in office, at least for the time being to keep these goons from surfacing to the top!

29. #30 by kanasai on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 3:12 pm

I really wish that Pak Lah will wake up this time to sideline him completely from any ministry portfolio-waiting anxiously for this Monday’s announcement?This super racist must be stopped now. Otherwise, try to imagine if what will happen next if he becomes the next premier.

30. #31 by dap-for-pj on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 3:31 pm

Let’s give our support to Pak Lah to weed out these egoistic goons!

31. #32 by drmaharajahrk on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 3:38 pm

thats the best part about BN. They say all the rediculous racist statements and their President will point fingers at others with a straight face.

Look at Hishamuddin, he says now that BN must study why the people ditched BN this time. Well Keris , mainly it’s because of you. You childish play with the Keris was nauseating and many had only that image in their minds when they cast their Vote.

I hope you stay out of the cabinet

32. #33 by lakshy on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 3:56 pm

AAB wont drop him from the cabinet. They will keep him as Edu minister.

33. #34 by boh-liao on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 4:11 pm

All thinking Malaysians should say a big “Thank You” to ‘The keris is here to stay’ keris-wielding HHO for unsheathing the keris and threatening to bathe it with Chinese blood during the UMNO Annual General Assembly (twice in recent years).

For every action, there is a reaction. HHO had managed to stir the emotion of voters who dared to vote against the BN in the 12th GE. Wonderful! Thank you, HHO.

HHO, please do it again and again in every UMNO Annual General Assembly from 2008 to 2012 to get more Malaysians, especially newly registered voters, really fired up to vote BN out of the parliament in the 13th GE!

Makkal Shakti! People’s power!

34. #35 by alberttye on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 4:31 pm

With Umno demonstrations in Penang and Selangor, it is worrying that Pak Lah may not have the resolve to rein in these hotheads.
    The most ridiculous is that RTM even gave these illegal Umnoputras broad coverage including interviews !
    What’s going to happen to our tanahair ?

35. #36 by dap-for-pj on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 4:33 pm

Wheter AAB will survive or not depends on his new cabinet line up. If it is the same old faces again, man……….he is not just signing his death sentence, but the BN’s as well. This is the opportunity for component parties such as MCA, Gerakan, MIC etc who has all along remain quiet at the sideline because of the anthics of these goons to be more vocal in demanding equal rights for all Malaysians, OngKT, KOHSK, SAMY(?!!) SPEEEEAK UP, are you all still denying or remaining quiet about what the rakyat wants? You all still have the ‘connection’ to the gov., use it wisely, affect change in BN! Kowtow to what Chua Jui Ming, Yap Piow Hon and even what Chua Soi Lik (have said in NSTOnline), standup and be counted! OngKT I think is more preoccupied with his own political survival (and his brothers’) than paying attention to these issues……,and I salute to KohSK in his sincerity in helping to ensure a stable government to form in Penang, even to the extend of speaking for the ‘right’ (not wrong) side of the fence.

36. #37 by ktteokt on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 4:37 pm

As I have mentioned early in this blog as well as others, the keris is now a symbol of royalty in Malaysia (as indicated by the five kerises on the Malaysian Coat of Arms) and it is not for any “monkey” to simply pull it out and kiss it! Had this been done in ancient China, Kerisamuddin would have been beheaded for treason together with the family of all his 9 close relatives!!!

37. #38 by dap-for-pj on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 4:44 pm

See how people will react if someone in MCA were to wield a ‘dai guan dow’ in their EGM!

38. #39 by lakshy on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 4:45 pm

Hey, by the way, if the keris issue was one of the reasons for their losses, we should poke fun at him so that he has no choice but to brandish the keris again in the name of ketuanan melayu. Otherwise say umno got no face and umno youth got no ba __s. That should put him in a fix, whether to do or not to do. We win either way!

Should be a good strategy to help make them lose even more votes.

39. #40 by Puan Sri on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 4:56 pm

Ask any teacher in Malaysia…for that matter ask any Malay teacher and they will tell you that they really hate him but dare not speak out. We really hope that he won’t be appointed again as the Education Minister or else things will really change from bad to worst in the Eduaction system. Believe me it will…

40. #41 by Puan Sri on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 5:00 pm

I really hope Mr Lim Kit Siang and Mr Lim Guan Eng will do something about this as you have won the elections and have the authority and power to act now. Don’t dissapoint us as we have faith on you….

http://blog.limkitsiang.com/2008/02/23/little-napoleon-at-sk-sungai-puyu-utterly-unrepentant/

41. #42 by Transparent on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 5:14 pm

Farish commentary is spot on. That waving of the keris and the arrogance of it really put a lot of people off. If our MCA, Gerakan and MIC don’t know how to protest, we did our own protest in the last GE.

The result of the GE was unexpected but it really gave me hope that there is still hope for Malaysia. Please do a good job PKR-DAP-PAS in the area of fairness, transparency. equality and accountability and you can be sure we will vote for you again next round.

Keep down your ego LKS and work for our future, be tolerant and think fairly. DO not shoot (shout) first like an Opposition. You are now the Government. Keep up the good work.

42. #43 by dap-for-pj on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 5:18 pm

Come when the new parliament session convene we expect Mr. LKS, LGE, Teresa, and all the 28 chilli padis and big cannons to do their stuff. We will be watching on line on youtube, you are our voice that has been missing from MCA and Gerakan….my daughters and sons future depends on you all. I don’t want to hear this year our 5A student cannot get into local university for the course of their choice!

43. #44 by highhand on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 5:20 pm

yeah… the pemuda guys stood behind pm, now some one play with keris n stabs pm’s back n hisham’s back side too

44. #45 by drmaharajahrk on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 5:25 pm

Uncle Kit please tell this message to YAB Lim Guan Eng.

He’s the hero who went to prison for protecting a Malay girl who was raped by a Malay Chief Minister.

So how can the bloody racist UMNO Penang say that YAB Lim Guan Eng is pro chinese and does not want to protect Malay rights ?

Who protects Malay rights ? UMNO ? you must be joking !!!

45. #46 by jaMz on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 5:25 pm

HEHEHe… Funny Keris wisdom…
    He can use it as logo but NOT waving it, not wise lol.
    If u want raise something like that chineses had many sword to choose from haha…

46. #47 by limkamput on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 5:30 pm

We are seeing this Kris mentality that UMNO Youth used and abused being played out all over again in the recent demonstrations in Penang and Selangor.

I think UMNO must wake up to the realities: (i) that the Kris mentality has angered the Non-Malays and (ii) that same Kris can no longer excite the Malays anymore. The reason is smple: if the real benefits of NEP have reached the Malays and other deserving Malaysians, I am sure the people wouldn’t mind a little rhetoric here and there. As it is, in the name of NEP, the bulk of the benefits has gone to the cronies, rent-seekers and the well-connected. This is a fact that UMNO can neither defend nor deny.

So, UMNO, you may organise all the demonstrations you want. It is not going to work this time because the rakyat – Malays, Chinese, Indians, Kadazan, Dayak, etc are discerning and mature now. Go ahead, use the main stream media to incite and create crevices among Malaysians. Soon, nobody would want to watch your stupid TVs or read your stupid newspapers.

47. #48 by darren sky on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 5:32 pm

Mr.Prime Minister,gone are the days when your subordinate can blah blah blah their racial ego away in order to win the Malays’ sentiments and offence the Non Malays with the ketuanan Melayu threat AND later the PM will sandiwara to the public by saying he is the PM for all races and expects everybody to be satisfied with that statement.Without punishing the culprits,you expects their support in return when in time of need,well this one you got it right this time as you can see their show of support publicly after the GE.But let me enlighten you if you are still sleeping,they are eager for you stay on is -not everytime they can get a superior that they can pull his nose whenever they want it,they are so comfortable and untouchable becos no one can control them,its a heaven made in earth for them.Will use the racial card when position is treaten by the voters.Thats why DR. M says its a half past six goverment we are having…

48. #49 by highhand on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 5:37 pm

may i suggest a Ministry of Losers.

certainly the ministry can be helpful to the sore losers especially

49. #50 by grace on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 5:49 pm

“The hot-heads in UMNO Youth may have been playing to the Malay gallery ”

To be more exact, it only appeal to UMNOputras.

My Malay friends were disgusted by Hisham’s antics. They were fedup by his Keris raising act. To them he looked like a coward.
    They underestimated the intelligence of the Malays. They forgot that Malays in genweral are better informed and are working very closely with non-Malays. Many of them knew that they are mnipulated by UMNO putras for their own gains. Thus, the GE2008 showed it.

50. #51 by darren sky on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 5:53 pm

When the first parliment session convence , I hope and believe one of the first agenda to fight for before anything else should be the live telecast of the Dewan Rakyat seating.Dont let the BN says that the Malaysian are not mature enough to watch certain sensitive issues,that is their excuse fearing the public can see for themselve the kind of quality the BN assemblyman are made of when debating.(of course what do you expect when they hardly can pass SRP/PMR ). Not forgeting those sleeping(really physically I mean) and snoring away..
    I believe if our parliment is telecast live,and watching the debates our brothers and sisters in N.Sembilan,Melaka,Johor,Terengganu,Sabah and Sarawak will know who to kick out in the next General Election..

51. #52 by dranony on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 7:40 pm

Mohd Khir Toyo seems to have figured out what went wrong.
    He has advised fellow BN leaders Hishamuddin and Khairy
    on how NOT to lose votes for the 2012 General Election.

The two have been advised not to antagonise voters.
    A different approach, targeting instead inefficiency and low productivity, was Khir Toyo’s advice.

If Khir Toyo has his way, KJ and Hishamuddin may not be waving crooked daggers anymore.
    Instead this (click on link) will be what Khir Toyo advises, to ensure a clean sweep of the next elections.
    (Please do not click on link if you are easily offended.)

52. #53 by UzMiNoOnist on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 8:26 pm

Lets wait for the next UMNO Assembly if this guy ‘Hisap Keris’ pulls the same stunt again.

It is not just AAB is keeping silent but all the Veeps too. So, UMNO is condoning him for all his acts.

Truly, Padan Muka

53. #54 by novice101 on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 8:52 pm

The article has highlighted the areas that have caused the collapse of Abdullah Badawi’s government. The issues that instilled fear in the hearts of the non-Malay sections of the community are pointedly stated for him. This fear leads to anger and the pent-up anger erupted on March 8.

What, and more importantly, who, caused this has also been clearly indicated. If the PM wants to stay on in his job and face the electorate again in the next GE it would benefit him to read this article seriously.

He needs to take time out to carefully ponder the actions he intends to take and who he wants to appoint to his cabinet. Many of the people whom he has inherited and many of those whom he, himself, has selected are ones responsible for the BN’s debacle.

They are disrespectful, arrogant, abusive and totally domineering in the eyes of the non-Malay populace. The rakyat has made it very clear that these people are not acceptable in this juncture of our history. If the PM does not take heed, he may suffer an even great defeat than what he has just received.

54. #55 by limkamput on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 9:49 pm

I think another fast emerging Keris waving potential is Ali Rustam, the CM of mosquito state, Melaka. I think it is not too early to identify him with Kerismudin. This Rustam fellow thinks the Federal projects in Penang belong to his grandfather. Hello, the Penang People pay more taxes than Melaka. What right have you got to stop federal projects in Penang? Don’t be a racist and don’t play politics at the expense of people’s fundamental right to choose the government of their choice. By next election, you too will be history if you don’t mend your arrogant way.

May I suggest to all the bloggers here: From now on we shall systematically single out racists, sexists and religious bigots from ALL political parties, isolate them, humiliate them, and give them hell till they capitulate?

55. #56 by PSM on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:05 pm

As usual Farish Noor’s comments are to the point & TRUE.
    However, does anyone think that BN (read:UMNO) has learnt its lesson? A big NO!
    Whne HINDRAF came out & demonstrated, they were blasted with Water Cannons & Tear Gas & their leaders detained under the ISA.
    When UMN O comes out & demonstrates 9in Panang), well…it’s okay. It’s justified because Guan Eng had the cheek to say the NEP (Never Ending policy) was unfair.
    Just look at all the “analysis” done on TV. It has not changed. They blame everyone & everything for thier defeat except themselves. If we are to believe the “Yes Men” on TV, then the Rakyat were justtoo stupid to know better!
    Let’s see waht happens next week when the New Cabinet is announced!

56. #57 by alberttye on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:07 pm

This unsheathing of a symbol of Malay cultural icon at a political gathering needs to be examined and analysed further.
    His purpose is well known to all, including the hotheads.
    However, from the perspective of the Malay culture, one must ask the Education Minister why he used a neutral cultural symbol in a political gathering to convery a message which could be potentially controversial ?
    Had he not had done damage to the image of kris ? Those who are concerned with Malay culture and tradition ought to ask !

57. #58 by GradUnion on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:09 pm

Kelantan Prince, Ku Li is proposing an EGM be held on May 11, the 62nd anniversary of Umno’s formation to address Umno’s weaknesses in the last 12th GE.

Hope the “Little Napolean” KerisMudin MP will not play his hot “Keris” again in this forthcoming EGM to frighten more foreign investors to selldown Bursa shares and to transfer their businesses/factories to other countries like Indonesia, Thailand, Vietnam or Cambodia. Otherwise, more Malaysians ( especially majority Malays) will lose their jobs and also affecting the entire Malaysia economy.

We, Malaysians sincerely appeal to our beloved PM, Pak Lah to give him a peace of mind. He should step down as UMNO Youth Chief for his past keris actions that caused UMNO downfall in GE. All Malaysians still support PAK LAH as a kind. Dont give up Pak Lah, we are behind you always.

Makkal Shakti! People’s power support PM. InsyAllah.

58. #59 by bystander on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:23 pm

For a start all non malays should boycott melaka citing ali rustam being a racist in not welcoming non malays.

59. #60 by bystander on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:30 pm

Dr Farish pls tell Kerimuddin that he is partly to be blamed for UMNO losses and not just Bodowi. He should not be in the cabinet as MOE. How can a racist and idiot like Kerimuddin be a Minister of Education?

60. #61 by citizenbolehland on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:57 pm

wave it again baby…….. and see what will happen :-)

61. #62 by alphoti on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 11:01 pm

‘I really wish Pak Lah will wake up this time…’ Kanasai. Sorry Pal, I don’t think so. He is still in deep sleep. He even slept through the protests by UMNO in Penang & Selangor. Heard anything from him on the events (Not Malaysian culture event)?

I really wish the Paliamen sitting will commence soon. See whether BN MPs dare to skip the sitting this time around or just doze off at the siting. With so many opposition MPs, they can’t even sleep before the sitting, I presume.

Oh Ya, BIG THANK YOU to Hishame for your keris, you realy did a big favour in waking many Malaysian. THANKS AGAIN!

62. #63 by tester on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 11:06 pm

Sir,

Please stop this gloating. It is quite unseemly.

Your thoughtless actions re the swearing-in boycott are bad enough.

Please be humble.

Thank you.

63. #64 by kcb on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 3:58 am

tester, may I ask who are you referring to?

64. #65 by tester on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 7:53 am

kcb, to Sdr. Lim.

65. #66 by Daniel Quah on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 7:58 am

tester,

Sdr Lim have already apologize for his rush decision…by all mean… how would u feel if you were him? think before you talk others…

66. #67 by Jimm on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 8:31 am

Leadership are not purely found in most UMNO (so-called) leaders as they are more interested in power and wealth agenda.
    50 years, UMNO brought in more ‘imported’ Malays to keep up with the 60% populations majority than provide stronger platforms for the orang Melayu to be more competitive and indepent with the rest of Malaysian.
    Instead of pushing for higher capabilities to compete, UMNO have lower most of the standard in education to cater to mass which failed to provide skilled job employee. Most UMNO have done to most of them are enrolled them into the government bodies with minimum wages and allow corruption practises to happen.
    Orang Melayu have to wake up from their sweet slumber which UMNO have been preaching and learning to be accountable for this country future.
    All Malaysian need to keep the ‘imported’ Malaysian check to prevent UMNO from using them for voting victories.

67. #68 by vwfs68 on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 8:52 am

This is a refeshing article that is spot on. A new law should be enacted to barr political parties from owning the media. I no longer watch TV not even Astro; occasionally I read the newspaper The Star and The Sun to see what more lies and propaganda the BN churns out.

vwfs68.blogspot.com

68. #69 by jus legitimum on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 9:30 am

These days,most news vendors will tell you the sales of papers like The Star,Utusan,Berita Harian and NST have dropped considerably.Sin Chew Daily is an exception.So sorry for people who only read the English and Bahasa Papers.Sin Chew is fair and unbiased in its reporting.Therefore it is popular.If the other papers persist in its one-sided reporting style,soon they will lose a substantial readership and get prepared to ‘gulung tikar’.

69. #70 by Democrats on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:09 am

Don’t blame Hisham or Khairy, they just trying to gain attention and garner support. The problems lies with Pak Lah….. Sitting there without comments means condoning it.

Look at Zakaria’s antics, MP Jasin’s “close one eye” case, Samy exagerating excuses, the “bocor” remarks, etc…. signs of indifference from their leader. Signs of lack of discipline from its members, and this actions without repercussion will cause further detriment in discipline and reduces the respect for their leaders by other members….

Things like this would never happen in Mahathir’s regime. BN members and leaders respect and fear him. Look at Mat Taib, although MB of Selangor, you bring back alot of cash and get caught, he got relinquished of position. Clear signal to his people, “try to cheat, can, but don’t get caught, because i won’t be there to cover you to make me look stupid.”

Pak Lah really need to reaccess his own leadership style. Getting nowhere……. Pak Lah MUST see that the keris was wrong and tell Hishamuddin, “wield that keris again, and I’ll shove it up where the sun doesn’t shine” and get back some pride and respect…..Tell Khairy “you are in-law, not above law”. Tell Zakaria’s family, “thanks for building a world class library or orphanage”.

Pak Lah, Time to get back your mojo, if you ever had one……

70. #71 by Wisdom above on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:50 am

Look like Sabahans know what is the ” Truth”.

> Someone from Sabah talk sense….. Repeat for reference only.

1)…Sabah Progressive Party president Datuk Yong Teck Lee said he was puzzled why the NEP was still an issue when it had been replaced by the

>’National Development Policy'(NDP)…

> TUN DR M launched the “NDP” which year ? I forgot the year ,do you remember ?

2)…“so called cancellation of the NEP” was completely redundant because it no longer existed and it was equally disappointing that Penang Umno was still harping on a non-existent policy.

3)…no wonder that some politicians both from ruling and opposition have lost focus on which policy to talk about,”

Why PKR,DAP,PAS & West Malaysians are still dreaming ? ….Lost focus ?

Why MCA, Gerakan, MIC, PPP, PBB,PRS still hiding the ‘Truth’ ?

Bravo, Sabahans dare to speak out.

Syabas. Barisan Rakyat.

71. #72 by Evenmind on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:57 am

By now , I hope everyone one knows that the country is run by a sleeping prime minister, tha’t why he leave everything to the ‘young ‘ ones, the hotheads morons in UMno youth, the biggest moron being Hissakudis, the greatest SOB ( Son of B*tch)

72. #73 by Evenmind on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 12:34 pm

If and whenever the UM no youth stages further demonstrations in the opposition states for NEP, the CM can give them each a baby’s milk bottle , and keep refilling with milk each time they repeat cos the morons are so used to spoonfeeding, that they think it is right to be spoonfed, bloody MORONS, I curse these B A STards to go to hell. Why can’t they work hard to acheive what the non UMNO’s has been doing a,all they want is easy money. SOBs’

73. #74 by paupei on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 1:46 pm

greetings.
    I presume Pak Lah is very thankful to Malaysians for helping him sweep out the over filthy household of BN which obviuously he cannot handle it himself. Bet he offers silent prayers of thanks daily.

74. #75 by mchoice2008 on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 3:56 pm

Husam clarifies ‘take-over’ statement

By IAN McINTYRE

KOTA BARU: PAS vice-president Datuk Husam Musa has clarified that his statement on the party taking over the Government at the federal level was taken out of context.

“I mentioned that we are hopeful of taking 30 more parliamentary seats to win power and not about forming an Islamic Government,” he said.

Husam urged the mass media to be careful in its reporting to avoid antagonising anyone unnecessarily.

75. #76 by llb_gan on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 8:20 pm

One very much doubts that the keris-wielding grandson will concede that it was his infantile contumacy with an equally twisted dagger that drove the Chinese and the Indians away in droves.

Nor does he have any inkling of the underlying principles that the father and the grandfather stood and fought for. After all, one will recall with much hilarity that this grandson, it seems, was once photographed brandishing a beer can when he was supposed to be burying his hands in his law books.

Oh, why has the ‘ciku’ fallen so very far and astray from the parent tree.

76. #77 by kcb on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:06 pm

Dear tester, but the writer of the above article is Farish A. Noor and not Sdr. Lim.

77. #78 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 8:47 pm

The case of the “kris waver” stabbing his own back! Serve him right!!!