The Malaysian revolution of 2008!

by Dr. Azly Rahman

“We’ve lost, we’ve lost”
–Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, quoted in Malaysiakini, March 9 2008

Kesilapan besar Abdullah antaranya walaupun beliau mempunyai anggota Majlis Tertinggi Umno dan Kabinet sebagai penasihat utamanya, namun beliau tidak mengambil pandangan mereka kerana dilaporkan beliau pernah berkata I trust the young one.

— Harakah Daily.Net, March 9, 2008

Are you surprised by (ISA detainee) M Manoharan’s victory?
This has happened before in 1959 or is it 1964, when PAS used to go from village to village carrying the candidate’s shoes and he won….

Has Umno become irrelevant?
For the moment, yes. It’s not always so. If Umno serves the country well, and looks after all the different races, then Umno will be relevant again.

— Dr. Mahathir Mohamad, Malaysikini interview, March 9, 2008

Malaysia’s 12th. General Election must now be a possible topic of a hundred Ph.D dissertations. It is about a revolution of a country trapped in the excesses of hypermodernity. The revolution was aided by the power of cybernetics and the daulat of the rakyat. It was fueled by the ruling regime’s abuse of the ideological state apparatuses. It was also a rude awakening for a leader snoozing in Sleepy Hollow. While one slept, the rakyat engineered a usurpation—a quiet and unique revolution.

On March 9, 2008 many must have exclaimed these: “What a tsunami of a win”. “Malaysians did the Obama!”, “We have taken the giant leap forward.” “Thirteen days that shook Malaya” the headline should be. “Secure the state documents.” “We need to begin a chapter in which transparency and accountability rules.” “This is a victory of Radical Marhaenism – and ethnogenesis (birth of a new culture) of hopefully a more sober and sensible Malaysia ready to work together regardless of race, color, creed, national origin.”

What next?

There is a lot of work to be done in the area of social justice, education for multiculturalism, and development for the people, by the people, of the people. There is also a lot of people that must be brought to justice – those who have been for decades protected by a corrupt regime. The rakyat is demanding to see such process of justice executed. We have seen so much violation of the UN Declaration and Charter of Human Rights of 1946 of which Malaysia is one of the signatories. We have seen many who voiced their opinion on matters of social justice and freedom thrown into jail and detained without trial for as along as the old regime likes. We have seen, especially since the Abdullah administration the rise of Malay politicians whose leit motif is arrogance and perpetuation of dangerous divisive politics.

Back to the Malaysian Revolution of 2008. It is like the storming of the Bastille. Malaysians saw the fall of the four states and the rise of a new ‘cybernetic’ fourth estate. The broadcast media of the old regime gave way to the new, subaltern media of the revolutionary forces. There was no need to storm and take over Angkasapuri. Revolutionary ideals and notions of social justice were disseminated far fast, far, and wide through the Internet. Bloggers, columnists, members of MUD (Multiuser Domains), street artists, intellectuals, social activists, and the man and woman on the street were the revolutionary soldiers. The process began since the beginning of the last General Election – the one that saw the old regime’s landslide win. Now, we have a tsunami. A specter haunted Malaya.

The hegemony of the ruling party have made many skeptical of such a miraculous win. “Materials, machinery, and media”, as the eminent anthropologist turned politician Syed Husin Ali would say, ‘is the foundation of authoritarianism and hegemony’. But I would add another one ‘mind’ and how it is controlled as a both a disabling and enabling factor in the tsunami of a win in this decisive election. The mind of Malaysians have quietly processed what constitutes truth and justice. Silently the revolution was already underway; revolution of the mind aided by digital communication technologies spearheaded by bloggers that evolved into “blogo-ticians” inclusive. The victory of Jeff Ooi and Elizabeth Wong attested to the rise of the ‘blogotician’

What an analysis to made in Malaysia’s most exciting and mind-boggling general election. We are tasting a mandate of heaven and seeing truth and justice allying with those that patiently seeks. We saw virtue, instead of vultures being voted in.

Newer paradigm

The people of Penang, Kedah, Perak, and Selangor will now be shifting to a new paradigm. Tanjung II is now a reality. Lim Kit Siang’s dream has come true. Kedah, home of Universiti Utara Malaysia will need to be in smart partnership and make intellectual adjustments to a new paradigm as well. The university faculty will need to read The Blue Ocean Strategy to exist in harmony with the new Kedah’s ruling party. This is exciting for many. Any progressive change is exciting, as long as the revolution is a peaceful one. Any effort to free the universities from the shackles of political domination is good. Selangor, the advanced state will move a new level of sophistication but one founded upon sustainable development the meets the needs of the people. The same goes with the paradigm of development in Perak.

We are seeing a new dawn of changes if we continue to work for the total alleviation of poverty, improving the intellectual climate of the universities, and working towards true religious and racial harmony. Kelantan’s prayers against the takeover of Barisan Nasional was answered. Some say that truth and justice will always be allies of the righteous. Essentially, Man proposes, God disposes.

Not even a regime’s control of the mind, machinery, media, and materials could stop a “mandate of heaven” from running its natural course. Not even phantom voters nor candidates yelling “when “Qiamat’/Armageddon comes only the Dacing/scales of the Barisan Nasional remains standing” can win. For Muslims this is a blasphemous statement to the max; blasphemy even to the roughest and foul-mouthed of all the Mat Rempits!

Who would imagine that Nurrul Izah would beat Shahrizat Jalil, Zainuddin Maidin would lose, bloggers Jeff Ooi, Elizabeth Wong, and Tony Phua would have a field day. What is amazing—who would believe that even an ISA detainee would also win! Or check this out—the amateur videographer of the famed ‘correct.. correct.. correct’ soap opera, would also win. PKR de facto leader Anwar Ibrahim managed to successfully get the progressive parties and interest groups to harness their energy into making this giant leap. It is hard work. It is a mind game. It was an endgame for the old regime. The old regime made a wrong move.

Full credit goes to Malaysians of all walks of life. They are the real winners and they are not to be betrayed. Their children need a better life, through education as a means for social, economic, moral, ethical, and intellectual progress. The are much more intelligent now after fifty years of independence. But for the National Front in this fateful revolution, what is its lesson before dying?

Divine intervention?

It is all these, that Divine Justice intervened, amongst many factors, against:

* Massive corruption
* Rampant abuse of power
* Creation of arrogant leaders
* Alleged Lies and deceit by the Election commission
* Outdated abuse of racist arguments
* Inability to engineer equitable and sustainable development programs
* Cronyism and nepotism
* Creation of alienated and disposed generation
* Conspicuous consumption
* Failure to control rising prices
* Rampant abuse of the Ideological State apparatus
* Inefficient management of resources
* Blatant disregard for human rights
* Suppression of the rights of the individual
* The exploitation of the dangerous concept of “ketuanan Melayu”
* The protection of corrupt leaders
* The overstaying of leaders and the continuation of the syndrome of the 22-year political itch

The next step for the four new states is to work phase out the vestiges of the old regime and to document what did not work during the reign of the old regime. How did the process of underdevelopment of the rakyat happen in those decades? Documents need to be secured and analyzed to prove what went wrong and how we must move forward based on the principles of total accountability.

The new states

Each state run by the new order of governance must showcase what an ethical just system look like and how the creativity and problem solving skills of the rakyat ought to be developed in order to teach us what development based on needs relative comfort means instead of one based on greed and conspicuous consumption. The latter has destroyed this nation. The latter was the trademark of the old regime – one that need to be destroyed.

The new regime need to bring power abusers to justice! That would be an honor to the rakyat who voted them into power. The universities need to be freed, the education system need to radically improved, good health care plans made affordable, the Mat Rempits and Alongs stopped from being reproduced, cultural pride restored through schooling that improves higher-order thinking skills, poverty eliminated, the independence of the judiciary restored. Each child is a Harvard, Columbia, Cambridge, or even Oxford material. Each child is a gift—not a utility to be cleverly abused in the form of Mat and Minah Rempits.

The party’s over but The revolution continues. Malaysians must make Malaysian Malaysia a reality.

This revolution is made possible by the daulat of the rakyat — the Makkal Shakti of Malaysia’s Radical Marhaenism, conceived by many Shao Lin masters and one whose zeal transmitted through cyberspace!

1. #1 by lopez on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 9:19 am

Please talk the sleepy head to resign, he is not only still sleeping but a stubborn.
    There is nothing to be a shame anymore, already a shameful state only unable to be told until now.

GOOD MORNING MALAYSIA

2. #2 by Saint on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 9:42 am

The loss was written everywhere at the ground level, Bersih, Hindraf, Lawyers and the silent protesters coupled with the supporters of PAS, DAP and PKR along with those not happy with the UMNO government policies – only the political parties did not understand this; and we have to include even DAP; as it was also not prepared for it, let alone BN, with its vast network.

The people have seen their victory (this is the victory of the people) not the B Alternative; so expect more of it in the future, if “Divine Justice” is not adhered to.

Yes our future generation needs a better Malaysia “for all of us”, including the people of Sabah and Sarawak.

3. #3 by sammyvellu on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 9:44 am

As long as the most hated person in Malaysia (hint : the son-in-law) is still in UMNO, Fark Lah’s days in politics will be numbered

4. #4 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:06 am

Mukhriz’s action is best seen as an attempted coup de’tat which could not have been carried out without the support and encouragement of some senior leaders within the Party!

5. #5 by max2811 on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:17 am

UMNO should not be let to rise again. It is missioned to destroy the country. The leaders and the people from the 5 fortunate states should tune their minds to develope the states based on democracy, meritocracy and with the well-being of the people in mind. We must gear towards a Malaysian Malaysia not an UMNO Malay Malaysian.

I believe after 5 years of BR’s rule, the whole of Malaysia will rise up and catch up with Spore. Just give us ten years and we will overtake them. I’m advising my children who are studying in Spore to return and to serve the country when they graduate.

Cleaning up the corrupted Gov agencies under the UMNO administration has to be done in the 4 states, especially Perak and Selangor. They are burning or have burnt documents which shows their corrupt practices.

Look at the CM of Penang. He has nothing to hide and was gracious enough to hand over power like a statesman would. But on the other hand, the corrupted UMNO MBs went into hiding, sending their goons to destroy evidence, creating diversions to distract the people’s attention.

The chief editors of the mainstream papers should be removed for they are also goons and are out to destroy the country by instigating the people against each other. There is so much work to be done, Mr. Lim. But do not rush things. The people’s minds need to be reengineered.

Let the BN supporters see the fairness, the integrity and the abilities of the BR leaders. Come next election, UMNO will be the opposition in Parliment and MCA will join BR!!

6. #6 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:22 am

>Malaysians did the Obama!

why using obama as an example?
    obama will disappear after this. then we all should cry?

7. #7 by whitecoffee on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:48 am

UMNO’ strategy on instilling fear has back fired. They are arrogant, and will not change. It will make sense that they might capitalise on violence to grasp an opportunity to ignite the emergency ordinance.
    It will be sad for the nation if the rakyat submit themselves to threats and fear of losing their rights. Until now, we have not seen the PM asking the rakyat to work will all winners. Have we?

8. #8 by k1980 on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:50 am

9. #9 by LittleBird on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 11:07 am

Not to mentioned the curse of the family of loved ones bodies snatched and the silence by the people who could right the srong including the judiciary.

10. #10 by chanjoe on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 11:30 am

This 2008 Malaysian Revolution that happened on 8 March shows that religion, race, creed and colour did not hampered the people from giving the pampered overstayed BN a thrashing they never foresee coming.
    From the results, we can see Malays, Chinese, Indians and other races going to vote with just ONE aim…that is to throw out the RUBBISH in form of BN. We see Chinses voting for PAS, Malays voting for DAP, Indians voting for all……this shows we are of ONE AIM.
    Why the fear of whether PAS is the MB or DAP or PKR is the MB? We give and take… ALL we ask are that we let you govern without fear or favour and show transparency and full committment in serving the people of all races and showing respect of individual religion and traditions.
    Please throw out the old sick stigma of racial and religious fear of each other.
    We are MALAYSIAN aren’t we? Lets work together and if we still want to go back to our old suspicious ways, then please allow BN to govern again all states…..
    Its sickening to see BR leaders fighting even when the govt is just being formed. I see no difference in BR and BN.
    The people has given you the BREAKTHROUGH so make full use of it and when you govern well…we will once again vote for you and BR shall be here forever.
    There are bound to be people who are not too happy but the majority of us want to see BR form the Govt to show us how well you can govern.
    JUST GO FOR IT…

11. #11 by ahluck on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 11:33 am

have the sleeping PM. so next we(DAP) can win more states. sleeping PM is better then murdering PM. What say you?

heard umno malays going to be the beruk beruk on the street trying to demo to bring down PM. This maybe a tactic to creat racial disorder. non umno malays, indians and chinese be careful, don’t get involved.

12. #12 by kenmanly on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 11:35 am

LKS and LGE:
    Just a friendly reminder, both the father and son need to think and speak like a polished and cultured politician,, NOT those shouting blurting opposition of yesteryear.. That is your statement has to be clear and thus CANNOT be manipulated or twisted by scrooge reporter… GET a professional political speech writer to vet your wording before you issue any statement. Do not think of it as hindering your expression, rather that it is necessry to prevent backlash to your loose coaliation of BR. Remember BN is like a crouching tiger to jump at any oppoturnity to dismantle BR.
    Both of you shouted to the victory at ballot box,, Do NOT let your mouth continue shouting to the downfall… Think before you open mouth… You are NO longer opposition in the eyes of many many many Bangsa Malaysia.. But are now Leader…

13. #13 by AhPek on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 11:39 am

Now the toughest part in effecting a change has just begun and I think the top of your agenda should be in the eradication of poverty,make NEP poverty- based instead of race-based.
    Give immediate priority towards establishing transparency and good governance.One of your important steps towards arriving at this is to bring highly corrupt UMNOPUTRAS as well as outright abusers of power to justice.As max2811 pointed out,we can immediately see how corrupt a person is just by watching how they accept defeat, Tsu Koon handed over power graciously whilst Toyo spent his dying minutes busy shredding evidence!Same way as what Tan Sri Haniff says about the police officers ‘ Without investigation I can safely say 40% of our police officers are corrupt by looking at their lifestyles!’.

14. #14 by skyquest2000 on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 11:48 am

Dear Kit Siang,
    Please do something to eradicate the infighting betwen the DAPs in Selangor. can you please ensure that DAPs are genuine in serving the people and not for their own agenda.
    Come on, do not fight for own benefits. It seems to me DAPs in Selangor are now fighting each other for inportant posts. They should have courtesy to give the best man the job.

We do not want to see them act like monleys.

15. #15 by AhPek on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 11:50 am

Just take a look at John Howard. If you look into his track record one would say he has done well for Australia.When the public rejected him, he just rode into the sunset without creating any fuss.That’s a true gentleman, a rare one at that.

16. #16 by I am Rakyat Malaysia on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 11:52 am

Very dissapointed with those people who gathering to show their disagree with the new government in Penang.

Anyway, i will support you MB penang and keep do something right.

Rumour said that”The head of guy make this gathering in penang because he will lose the opportunity to gain more project”. Last time, he gets almost 70% project in Penang. Because, now every project is open, then he sure lose to get one…. That is what he fight… FIGHT FOR HIMSELF AND NOT FIGHT FOR PEOPLE IN PENANG. ALL PENANG RESIDENT… DONT INFLUENCE BY THEM!

17. #17 by AhPek on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 11:54 am

Mukhriz certainly is no chip of the old block hasn’t got that particular mamak gene ([deleted]).He is committing harikiri!!

18. #18 by Tickler on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 12:00 pm

malayamuda said…

Bro Mahaguru,

The people calling for Bodowi to resign are the people who have no interest in cabinet or senate positions. They have no interest in contracts probably because they are genuine or probably their fathers have filled their accounts enough for 7 generations.

Anyway those are the ones who are speaking.

Those who are expressing their support for the PM are those with vested interest, hoping to be appointed as Ministers, Deputy Ministers or parliamentary secretaries. Others want to in state EXCOs and senate. The bottom line is, these positions bring money, so who cares if the country goes down the drain under Bodowi.

However in 2 weeks time when all the Wayang Kulit is over the , Ramayana will start.

All those left out will join Tun Mahathir and Mukhriz and demand Bodowi be thrown out and Khairy castrated and thrown into oblivion.

The longer Bodowi takes to form the Government and appointments the better for him.

The Rakyat can assess for themselves the greed power can bring. No body will be bothered about Penang and Perak after that.

What think you ?
    http://mahaguru58.blogspot.com/2008/03/mukhrizs-letter-to-abdullah-badawi.html

19. #19 by Tickler on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 12:02 pm

And it looks like Khairy is not safe in Rembau:

PKR may challenge Khairy’s Rembau win

On Saturday night, the initial count for the Rembau parliament constituency in Negri Sembilan showed that PKR had taken the seat by a razor-thin majority of 141 votes.

A recount however saw a complete reversal – Khairy Jamaluddin, son-in-law of premier Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, won by a staggering difference of 5,000 votes.
    http://antikhairy.blogspot.com/2008/03/pkr-may-challenge-khairys-rembau-win.html

20. #20 by k1980 on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 12:12 pm

“He’s a lame duck prime minister,” said Bridget Welsh, a Southeast Asia expert from Johns Hopkins University who observed the elections.
    “The reality is the business community is looking at him and thinking, how long will he stay there, and the longer he stays it’s going to introduce more uncertainty.”

“I strongly suspect that moves will be made at the upcoming UMNO general assembly to force Abdullah to step down.”

“The minute he removes older faces he weakens himself further with more infighting and leadership challenges,”
    http://malaysia.news.yahoo.com/afp/20080316/tap-malaysia-politics-pm-0193655_1.html

21. #21 by skyquest2000 on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 12:20 pm

Speak up for Chinese rights, Chua tells MCA
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Sunday/National/2187709/Article/index_html

Another lame duck excuses by Scandal Chua. Who knows he was no the one who wanted Kong Choy to step down.

22. #22 by Tickler on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 12:24 pm

MCA candidates themselves were telling their close supporters to vote anti-BN. I know of one at least.

23. #23 by showsomemercy on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 12:27 pm

Please don’t ask Abdullah to step down please… :)
    We “love” him

24. #24 by Tickler on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 12:32 pm

Video Link : Ex-MCA veep Chua Jui Meng asks MCA President Ong Ka Ting to do the right thing
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S-vFZVRdVEs

25. #25 by ZhouYu on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 12:34 pm

Now that the election is over, do we have any status on Dr Basmullah Yusom? Do we remember him?

26. #27 by ZhouYu on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 1:00 pm

That’s Jan 31

27. #28 by merlin on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 1:03 pm

Points taken Dr Azly,
    May I humbly say you missed out a number of things that has to be corrected.
    The most important is to revert back to the Merdeka Charter. At that time we were true Malayans when as a people we fought for independence. There was no Malays, Chinese, Indians and Eurasians.
    We were Malayans who overcame the Japanese and then the communists and then the British.
    Come independence the charter mandated without questions from any race.
    That Islam is to be the National Religion.
    That the status of the Royalties would never be questioned.
    That the national language would be Bahasa Malaysia.
    That the special rights of the Bumiputras would be honoured.
    That land belonging to the Malays would never be traded/sold
    to non Malays.
    In exchange citizenship of those born in the Straits settlements be
    automatic and those of the other states had to familiar with the national language on top of being born here before obtaining theirs.
    That other races would be free to practice their religion.
    Now all these were respected until a mamak became prime minister.
    He dismantled nearly all these and for 20 years ruled this country like his very own private playground. Domestically and internationally he played havoc and caused many to suffer. Even the Sultans and Agong did not dare go against him. One example is Zimbawe. I wont go into the others for now.
    Abdullah could not dismantle the corrupt legacy he left behind and I seriously doubt any future PM could unless he is given the full mandate by the people. The Umnoputras and their business cronies will plot to get back their power even if it mean choas in Malaysia.
    Today anyone could become a Bumiputra as long as he marries a Malay man or lady and their kids automatically gains BUMI status.
    Obviously the one who is non Muslim has to convert. Now is this policy fair to the True Blue Muslim Malay?
    I can understand if a Malaysian Malay man marries a foreigner and his kids enjoy the status. But, for a Malay women who marries a foreigner and their kids be given BUMI status is outright cheating the true blue Muslim Malays. I say this because the cake becomes smaller to share.
    Mahatier,s father is Indian and he enjoys privileges under the Indian government, so why is he and his kids enjoy BUMI priviledges. If a French or German or Arab man marries a malay lady, even if he converts do we automatically gives them BUMI status? First the husband benefits from what ever his country
    gives him and now he gets to take a shrare of the TRUE BLUE Malay Bumi priviledges.
    Imagine if a million Malay ladies marries out side their race, what is left for our Own Malay Families. Additionally Malay land will end up in foriegn hands. Why do foriegn man choose to marry Malay ladies, it is because they get to enjoy two cakes.
    This has to be revamped if we seriously want the Bumis to retain their share.
    Read this UMNO youth and you tell me if the NEP is fair . Who is stealing from you. The chinese, Indians Eurasians or the foriegners?
    I rests my case.
    Next will be be the Sultans, when I am in the mood.

28. #29 by Tickler on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 1:06 pm

Waiting for update.

29. #30 by Short-sleeve on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 1:08 pm

Kit,

We, the rakyat want a true Barisan Rakyat.

30. #31 by Tickler on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 1:11 pm

Sime Darby Watch:

Friday, March 14, 2008
    Who ordered Hindu Temple demolition at Limsum Estate?

A Hindu temple at Limsum Estate in Negeri Sembilan which is owned by Sime Darby Berhad, was demolished on the eve of polling day. About 500 Indian workers were left without a temple. And surely the action did not help the Barisan Nasional candidate. All fingers are pointing at the Estate Manager now. But would the Estate Manager dare resort to such drastic action without consent from the higher-ups at Sime Darby?

Shouldn’t the Head of Plantations take responsibility for a politically-insensitive action such as this?
    http://simedarbywatch.blogspot.com/2008/03/who-ordered-hindu-temple-demolition-at.html

31. #32 by Evenmind on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 1:43 pm

Malaysians by large did an Obama, but the radical UMNO is still doing its Osama, again they want to play racial politics , by demonstarting in Penang., what a bunch of MORONS , and the lawyer who made a police report against Guan Eng , I bet the SOB is the product of NEP, another MORON.

32. #33 by Wisdom above on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 2:03 pm

Syabas, to the new Perak State Government.

Think as a State Government.

..What I voted for is Barisan Rakyat.

..Divine Intervention to describe the unfolding of events.

..The collective voices of everybody has to continue

Yes , you are right.

I also cast my ballot for Barisan Rakyat.

Syabas. Barisan Rakyat.

33. #34 by NotProudToBeMalaysian on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 2:14 pm

It’s not the problem of whether Pak Lah wishes to resign or not.
    It’s the problem with the rest of the leaders and its supreme council members.
    Up till now, most of them are still giving him full support even if he’s the one that causes the defeat of BN.
    Even a dumb,dumb knows that.
    I think they must have some hidden agenda or someone out there must be blackmailing someone to support him.
    Or maybe he just outsmart them like what he did to Tun.
    Politics are very dirty indeed!!!
    Whether he can outsmart the rest???
    Let’s wait and see after the Supreme council election.

34. #35 by DAPPKR on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 2:46 pm

U know what the new government should do in this 5 states?

they should work out a simple restructing to benefit people economicaly and socially.

regardin the NEP mentioned by penang cm, about being more transparent will be great. damn straight it will be…atleast the people will know wat the heck is the NEP al about

Speacial rights for the bumiputras??…i see it as non-sense…instead generalize this speacial rights for people who are from low income family no matter wat race. that way poverty can be controlled or abolished

this coalition government shoudl work together to bring necessary success in order to reign their seats in the next election.

If this coalition benefits the people and the country, the change our community is looking for will happen. And i’m very optimistic about it :)

35. #36 by NotProudToBeMalaysian on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 2:49 pm

Don’t judge a person by his look!
    You think Mukhriz is commiting harikiri?
    You probably will be wrong.
    If he has the guts to speak out certain things, he must have the true backing and the future leadership quality.
    Unlike others, who’ve lost their “marbles “.
    He’s really great and I do respect him the most.
    Just like the 2008 GE, who knows whether he’ll become one hero or not???

36. #37 by Godfather on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 2:58 pm

The UMNO presidency is built upon the president’s ability to dish out goodies to his cronies and relatives in the party. The ability to dish out goodies determine the level of his support within the party. The moment this ability disappears, the knives (or kerises) will come out and the president is likely to have a hard time fending off the assassins.

Badawi’s problem was that when he had the 92 pct mandate, he started dishing goodies as directed by the 4th floor boys, and virtually everything had to go through KJ and his goons, or directly to Kamaluddin. The rest of UMNO was stitched together by the hope that there would be goodies overflowing from the president’s bag, which of course did not happen for the past 4 years. Now there is the rubbing of hands within UMNO at Badawi’s predicament.

Of course we would prefer Badawi to remain in power – he has helped the Opposition come to power with his incompetence, indecision, and practise of nepotism and cronyism. Another 4 years of Badawi as PM would surely see the Opposition win the federal government !

37. #38 by Wisdom above on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 3:40 pm

PAS Youth Defends Guan Eng Over NEP

Posted by Raja Petra
    Sunday, 16 March 2008,MT

PAS Youth said Thursday (13 Mar) that they treat seriously the warning the Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi gave on the New Economic Policy (NEP) statement by the Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng.

However, PAS Youth thinks that Penang state government has the power to decide its own policies and do not think that Lim’s speech would stoke any racial tensions.

The PAS Youth chief Salehuddin Ayub pointed out in a statement that the NEP was to reduce the racial divide between the rich and the poor, however it is disappointing that the policy has also become a political tool for BN to oppress and exploit the people.

He said that the purpose DAP refused to comply with the NEP is to suit the party’s ideology. However, it can’t be linked with racial sentiments, because the party has no intention to marginalise Malays. They want to allow all races to have equal opportunities.

“The country leaders should not transfer this issue to PAS, PKR or the people who voted for DAP.”

He added that the NEP do not benefit the Malays in Penang because UMNO, who share power with MCA and Gerakan, could not defend their fate. He said the people saw the failure of the NEP, because this policy has led to corruption, cronyism and nepotism. There is no way for the Malays to compete in the market with their own performance.

He said that not only the NEP affects other races, but the Malays have also been affected. The UMNO leaders do not need to feel injured if the NEP were to be abolished. (Sin Chew Daily)

38. #39 by lakshy on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 3:57 pm

No, let Badawi remain the PM. Better him than Najib.

39. #40 by ktteokt on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 4:26 pm

After implementing the NEP for nearly 40 years, how much have the bumiputras gained? The NEP was just utilized to make the rich richer! Abolishing the NEP would only help the bumiputras to stand on their own feet and be truly independent! The NEP was in fact a great barrier set up by the BN government to hinder development of the Malays!

40. #41 by Wisdom above on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 4:27 pm

Food for thought.

Positive view given ….

Meanwhile, Malaysiakini quotes Zaid Ibrahim, the former Umno MP for Kota Bharu as saying that Guan Eng should not have been too hasty:

“I find it very shocking to see today that DAP is being very arrogant too. First day in office – Lim Guan Eng (Penang chief minister) made this statement about NEP,” he said.

“This is not the time to stir everyone’s feelings. Our race relations are still fragile and those elected should just stop talking and get on with the job.”…

“A good leader should be able to say the good part of NEP, which is to help the marginalised group, should be continued. The NEP which helps selected individuals to enrich themselves will be stopped. That’s all he should have said, not provocative statements,” said Zaid.

41. #42 by jus legitimum on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 5:35 pm

Even TDM had on many occasions advised bumis to discard the ‘tongkat’ ( meaning NEP?),so why the big huha now? Why did the Penang UMNO pick on LGE? Why didn’t they whack the exPM for making statements like that in the past?This is all because these idiots are like the kampung rascal gamblers who turned the table out of sheer anger and refused to admit defeat.

42. #43 by AhPek on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 6:53 pm

The huha created is because NEP is not going UMNOPUTRA”S way, it is now going to the marginalised Malay, the marginalised Indians and the marginalised Chinese.It has got to do with this thing called self interest.

43. #44 by Godfather on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 7:07 pm

Anwar is right. The leaders of last Friday’s protest are non-other than the parasites in UMNO who have gotten rich through contracts and handouts. Look at the list of Penang UMNO leaders – they drive Mercedeses, Porches, and even a Bentley. Yes, Reezal Merican drives a Bentley and he is political secretary to Badawi. He is also a leader of UMNO Youth.

When Badawi warns LGE against making racially-sensitive statements, the warning didn’t come from him – it came from his son-in-law. Badawi doesn’t know what is a racially-sensitive comment if it bit him on the nose.

44. #45 by Godfather on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 7:17 pm

Badawi has to try hard to hang on to his position. Otherwise, who will pay for his overseas jaunts with Jeanne ?

45. #46 by pwth888 on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 8:31 pm

Isn’t is NEP has lapsed in 1990s and replaced with NDP? Why protest something which dosen’t exist now?

46. #47 by puakangkang on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 9:34 pm

wooa brader Kit,
    I still donno maa.. why after the silent and not so silent people have spoken their mind, these UMNO warlords still can’t get it to their head. It looks like the entire UMNOputras are Pak Lah”s sleeping partner. Oppss… that’s vulgar meeeh

47. #48 by lopez on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 9:41 pm

There has not been so much work for the BN clubbers for 50 years, , they must be swearing from morning to dawn.

What happens now when the peninsula cake is smaller, luckily Sabah and Sarawak is BN, otherwise terrible lah, how to cover the woks.

SAbah and Sarawak here comes BN, many development coming your way,
    There nothing much to do in N sembilan, Johore, Pahang, Trengganu, Melaka already developed economies as claimed lah.

Immediate beneficiaries would be town folks, House rental sure goes up, many officials need to be posted there to help plan and manage the developments. Dont worry jobs for East Malaysians will also be given first priority.

Cheers fellow malaysians, it would help BN cronies maintain their life styles.

As for other fellow malaysians, just wish you were here.

Makkal sakhti,

48. #49 by alberttye on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 9:51 pm

The GE12 results can have 2 effects on BN-Umno.
    It may become more non-racial in its approach in the next 4-5 years or it may turn more radical in its Malay agenda.
    If it takes a former approach, every one including the opposition will welcome it for it will be good for the country.
    However if it takes the more racial line, which is very likely from the events of the last few days in Penang, god bless tanahair ku.

49. #50 by ckloh on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 11:01 pm

Isn’t is NEP has lapsed in 1990s and replaced with NDP? Why protest something which dosen’t exist now?

New Economic Policy (NEP) is officialy ended on 1990 and was succeeded by National Development Policy (NDP). And Yong Teck Lee which stated in New Straits Times today, that we are in NDP now is wrong, because NDP also ended at 2000.

And it supposed to be replaced by National Vision Policy (NVP), however UMNO did call for NEP to be reinstated on 2005. In 2006, NEP reinstated under the Ninth Malaysia Plan, five years plan.

No matter what name you call it NEP, NDP or NVP or Ninth Malaysia Plan, it is a plan where the objective is to give bumiputra a non-equal advantages to bumiputra for economy and education. The Malaysian govenment feel that if the economic pie is not distributed fairly, it will create social and tension among multi races nation. The NEP targeted a 30% share of economy for the Bumiputra.

Don’t think this plan is a bad plan, if it implemented properly. However, BN abuse the implementations, and all the advantages gained in economy, are distributed only to their cronies. Due to vast impact of the cronies and nepotism, the 30% share of economy for Bumiputra will never be achieved logically and the economy plan will be prolonged to whatever name when it is due on 2010.

Whilst, it is unfair to the non-Bumiputra because of the unefficiency of the government to achieve the objective which is supposed to start at 1971 and end at 1990, the non-Bumiputra is equally hit on the non-equal treatment in education.

How do you feel, if a non-Bumiputra students that gained 13As and not getting scholoarship from government and have to obtained scholarship from other countries like Singapore and work in the country for the bond, and there are Bumiputra students that gained 3As and get the scholarship.

It really defeat the purpose of the NEP initiated by Tun Razak, in terms of education it don’t really helps the Bumiputra, as those that get worst result will sure struggle in university. The fact is this NEP plans makes alot of talents from Malaysia lose to other countries because they are not recognised by Malaysia government, and have to work in other countries to repay their governments scholarship and thrust. We all sure have friends and relatives that are non-bumiputra, work and study in overseas, and decided to migrate there for greener pastures.

How do you feel when you see a few Malaysians, non-Bumiputra running Singapore MNCs and even some bigger companies around the globe, where in Malaysia they are not allowed to run the 60 plus GLC (Government Link Companies), companies like Petronas, MAS, Sime Darby and etc. Those are important companies to Malaysia, and it is only right the most talented Malaysian given the chances to run it for the benefit of all. Isn’t it the waste of talents? If you said, the economic is bad because of global effects, you must ask first, whether you run the economy with the best available resource?

The NEP theoritically, is a good plan to promote racial harmony in paper, because anything that is not balance will be a trouble. However, due to the implementation, only small percentage, maybe 1% get all the benefits, and it creates bigger tension among the non-bumiputras because of the unfairness mentioned above.

Whatever name it is called, it is a plan that solve 1 or 2 problems, but creates far more problems from it. And Badawi, which endorse this implementation of NEP in Ninth Malaysia Plan on 2006, will have to answer on his failure to see what the bad effect of the plan. He uses this plans to gain votes for the election and serve his interest, he is not fair to Malaysian to serve Malaysian interest. And it is right, that he is stunted with the election results, not many non-Bumiputra sees that NEP will convert to votes.

It is right to say that most of our National issues/problems that make BN loses its 2/3 majority like inflation, racial unity and weak economy due to not fully utilise the resources, corruptions and cronisym are directly and indirectly caused by NEP, or whatever name we want to call it.

And I truely believe if BN does not handle this NEP and racial politics by the next elections, they will be the opposition after the next election. Leaders like Ng Yen Yen and Nazri, highligted that NEP is the root cause for the 2008 elections. There are also leaders like Kayveas and Chang Ko Youn that highlighted racial politics are the root cause. But is Mr. Badawi, also known as Mr. Big Ear, listen??

50. #51 by ckloh on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 11:48 pm

If the NEP issues are not addressed, logically non-Bumiputra should not votes for the government that support NEP in next GE.

PKR has openly agree to scrap the NEP and replace it with Malaysian Economic Agenda (MEA).

MEA aspires to:

1. Institute and implement fair, just and equitable redistribution of wealth
    2. Combat corruption, cronyism and nepotism
    3. Needs-based positive discrimination towards the poor
    4. Channel national wealth into better education, healthcare and housing
    5. Improving economic competitiveness

Whilst MEA does not state that the abolishment of Bumiputra and non-Bumiputra which is in the constitution, however, it did address alot of problems that created by NEP mentioned above.

My opinion is it is absolute correct that Malaysian votes for the Barisan Rakyat in the next election. The government now is seriously looking to derive an economic plan that can compete with MEA or they will be obselete and non-relevant in the next GE. Just ensure, without the scrap of NEP or vast improvement of it, continue voting for Barisan Rakyat no matter what goodies the government offers you. NEP is the plan that will brings the countries down, in order to ensure racial harmony, it creates more racial disharmony and alot of socio-economic impact, and it is unfair for all races inclusive of Bumiputra of course.

A government that does not see this, is a non-perform government, and it is only there to serve their interest, not the rakyat interest.

51. #52 by scorpian6666 on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 12:30 am

Any chance of getting all MP to declare all their assets ! Soon we have state election in Sarawak. Please come and free our people and break the “spell” cursed on the people of Sarawak and help them see again !!!!!!!!

52. #53 by One4All4One on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 12:45 am

Malaysians never had it so good before!! Or rather so best lah!

What a feast the just concluded 12th GE presented to Malaysians. From the smallest of kampungs to the cities, everyone suddenly woke up to a new dawn that Malaysia has indeed come of age.

Fifty years of Malaysia. Surely there must be some growing up going on, else the nation would have died a premature death much earlier. And growing up has its pain and pleasure. Everyone can attest to it. THe first crawl. The first walking steps. The first words uttered. The first school days. The first outing. The first sweetheart. THe first heart-break. The first child.

The first political parties. The first election. The first cabinet. The first victory. The first defeat. THe first street demonstration. The first highway. The first telephone line. THe first radio station. The first transmission. THe first television telecast. The first colour TV. The first computer. The first motorcycle. The first car. THe first song over the air-waves. THe first visit to Chow Kit Road. The first visit to Petaling Street. THe first visit to Batu Caves.

Indeed. we have fond and sorrowful memories to carry with us. We have our very own historical baggage. No one can take it away from us. No one can take away our perceptions and historical perspectives, be they real or perceived.

Malaysia is indeed a nation in progress, a nation trying out certain policies to engineer a plural society born out of the previous colonial outpost of the British empire and to a certain extent, the Portugese and Dutch encroachments. It has to contend with its multi-ethnic and multi-religious populace. THe government of the day indeed has its hands full, forever the juggernaut, trying to balance this and that to satisfy the lot.

Indeed the role of the royalty, since they still have a say in the administration of individual states, sometimes overpowering and over-ruling federal policies, as can be seen in the appointment of the menteris besar, should also come into scrutinity because the people under their ‘patronage’ should also have their rights and opinions heard. How the royalty come into being should be revealed to the people, so that their roles and place in the nation could be placed in the right perspective. Surely we are all equal before God. Also ,as attested by the Regent of Perak in his numerous public statements, “all groups in society must participate in making decisions that affect their lives”.

The Raja Muda of Perak said this in his speech at the First Student Leaders Summit 2007, which ended here yesterday.

He said the Constitution clearly provided for adequate checks and balances against excesses through the separation of powers between the executive, legislative and judicial branches, with each protected from encroachment from each other.

“It has often been said that many a misunderstanding may be avoided if the principles embodied in the Constitution are adhered to strictly,” he said in his address on which was attended by about 500 university students here yesterday.

On economic and social justice for all Raja Dr Nazrin said all groups in the society must participate in making decisions that affect their lives.

On good governance and a thriving civil society, Raja Dr Nazrin said institutions of governance must demonstrate norms that are fundamentally efficient, productive and just.

“It’s also very important that we have leaders who are earnest in maintaining unity, never re-sorting to religious or ethnic posturing to further their political careers at the expense of peace and security,” he added.

Religions, especially Islam, should not come under the control of any party as they are

53. #54 by One4All4One on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 12:51 am

“The Raja Muda of Perak said this in his speech at the First Student Leaders Summit 2007, which ended here yesterday.”
    AUgust 4th – 5th , 2007

54. #55 by One4All4One on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 12:58 am

cont’d
    Religions, Islam and all others, should not come under the control of any party as they are universal and belong to no one and should not be invoked in speeches and political forum. As such religion should be separated from the administrative body and politics. People would be misled into believing or misunderstood that government policies are also religious decrees.

55. #56 by One4All4One on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 2:49 am

Raja Dr Nazrin Shah is a well-loved prince and commands much respect. It is hoped that when all the dust has settled, His Highness would comment on the relevant issues which are of importance to all Malaysians so as to give a fresh perspectives on the current situation in the country.

The aftermath of the so-called political tsunami has much impact and implications on the journey of the nation. In fact, the country is journeying into uncharted territory. THe leaders, from ruling and opposition alike, need to sit down together to discuss policies and actions which are of importance to the rakyat.

It makes sense that we see ourselves as Malaysians first and put the nation before self. Afterall, didn’t both sides of the divide pledged to serve the country and rakyat in all of their speeches? This should serve as the common ground for them to sit down and see eye to eye.

56. #57 by Jimm on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 8:21 am

AAB will not resign now as he got another 20 months to go in finding wealth from remaining as PM before AFTA fully become a big challenge to Malaysia. There are enough wealth to ‘roped’ daily and that counts in his cronies group.
    Lately, the Palace also are creating enough ‘sound’ the federal government about their state intention and choices. It’s a grand opportunities for the Palace to (at least) have their voices heard too.
    Our local national media have been very ‘unhealthy’ and causing enough tension to common public that rely on the information provide by them.
    I have been watching those TV channels and also browsing through a few newspaper and truly disappointed by their presentation. They are constantly highlighting ‘disharmonisation’ and instigated unrest.
    We, rakyat are the decider and we have decided.
    Now, we will continue with our prayers to our respective beliefs and good changes will be brought about to all Malaysian.
    Those involved in producing and editing news in all the national mass media will ‘wake up’, stop being greedy and selfish, face the truth and learn to hear what Malaysian says.
    We, rakyat would like to remind all these culprits that their punishment and judgement day are very near and they should make the right choice for their own next generation.
    We, rakyat are learning everyday and continue to do so for the sake of this beloved country, Malaysia.

57. #58 by k1980 on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 8:27 am

By the same reasoning, the 82-seat opposition coalition can also be installed as minority govt of the country.
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Sunday/Frontpage/20080316210935/Article

58. #59 by rakyatmalaysia07 on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:11 am

Here is something positive : Mat Sabu reporting on Lim Guan Eng.
    I also know from a doctor who used to work in Hospiial Melaka and used to treat Lim GUan Eng for bruise etc sustained when he was actively protesting . He told me LGE is a humble and very likeable person.
    …………………………………………………………………….
    Guan Eng enggan keluar RM100 ribu
    Abdul Halim Mohd Rashid
    Mon | Mar 17, 08 | 5:59:13 am MYT

KUALA LUMPUR, 17 Mac (Hrkh) – Kerana enggan membelanjakan RM100 ribu, Ketua Menteri Pulau Pinang, Lim Guan Eng lebih rela tinggal di sebuah rumah berusia milik bapanya.

Naib Presiden PAS, Haji Mohamad Sabu menceritakan perkara itu selepas bertemu dengan Setiausaha Agung DAP itu di Pulau Pinang baru-baru ini.

Beliau ke pulau itu baru-baru ini kerana hendak bertemu Lim untuk berbincang beberapa perkara mengenai kepentingan bersama kedua-dua pihak.

“Oleh kerana beliau sibuk, beliau meminta saya menemuinya kira-kira pukul 10.00 malam hari itu.

“Tahu di mana Guan Eng nak jumpa saya? Di restoran McDonald,” kata Mohamad Sabu yang mula mengenali Lim dengan lebih dekat ketika sama-sama di tahan dalam Operasi Lallang 1987 lalu.

Naib Presiden PAS itu juga lebih selesa bertemu di tempat terbuka kerana “tidak ada apa yang hendak dirahsiakan”.

Bagaimanapun, katanya, Ketua Menteri Pulau Pinang itu kemudiannya memberitahu pertemuan itu tidak dapat diadakan di tempat terbuka itu atas nasihat pihak keselamatan.

Memahami perkara tersebut, beliau terus menuju ke rumah di mana Lim tinggal.

“Di rumah, dia biasa sahaja dengan “seluaq katok” (seluar pendek). Bila saya tengok keadaan rumah yang berusia tempat dia tinggal, saya tanya dia, kenapa tak pindah ke rumah rasmi Ketua Menteri?

“Dia (Lim) jawab: ‘Susahlah, kalau nak pindah kena perbaiki. Terpaksa belanja sampai RM100 ribu. Takkan saya nak belanja duit rakyat sampai RM100 ribu untuk kepentingan saya’

“Saya rasa sangat terharu mempunyai kawan seperti itu,” kata Mohamad Sabu.

Walaupun perkara itu bukanlah perkara baru baginya, memandangkan Mursyidul Am, Tuan Guru Datuk Nik Abdul Aziz Nik Mat yang menjadi Menteri Besar Kelantan sejak 1990 memilih kehidupan yang sederhana, begitu juga Presiden PAS Tuan Guru Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang ketika menjadi Menteri Besar Terengganu dahulu, Naib Presiden PAS itu tetap merasa bangga dengan sikap sederhana dan rendah diri Lim itu.

“Saya bangga kerana dia takut nak belanja wang rakyat RM100 ribu sedangkan Perdana Menteri gasak sehingga RM15.81 juta untuk ubahsuai kediaman rasminya Seri Perdana di Putrajaya.

“Saya yakin, Menteri-Menteri Besar kita yang lain (dari PAS dan KeADILan) juag akan memilih jalan kehidupan yang sederhana yang sama seperti dua Tok Guru kita, jauh lagilah menyalahgunakan harta kerajaan,” katanya.

Sementara itu, Bernama melaporkan, kata-kata pertama Lim semasa mengadakan sidang media di Pejabat Ketua Menteri di Tingkat 28 Komtar ialah: “Saya rasa seperti melangkah masuk ke kandang singa”.

“Saya tidak menyangka dapat duduk di kerusi ketua menteri ini kerana pernah dipenjarakan. Ia merupakan transformasi sebenarnya dan pengalaman baru bagi saya,” Bernama memetik Lim.

Sebelum mengangkat sumpah, Lim berkata beliau dapati lebih ramai pemberita menghadiri sidang akhbarnya sekarang dan “saya diterangi lampu-lampu kamera”.

Dalam kenyataan kemenangannya, Lim berkata, “Kami gembira dengan kemenangan ini dan berjanji tidak akan mengecewakan penduduk Pulau Pinang.

“Kami mahu menegaskan bahawa kerajaan baru adalah untuk rakyat Malaysia daripada semua kaum. Kami ada bersikap adil, saksama dan tidak mendiskriminasikan mana-mana kumpulan – memberi bantuan kepada semua yang memerlukan.

“Penduduk Pulau Pinang yang berbakat akan mendapat peluang saksama daripada gabungan parti pembangkang itu yang disatukan menerusi kecintaan terhadap demokrasi dan menghormati hak asasi manusia, kekaksamaan politik dan keadilan sosioekonomi,” katanya sambil mengesa orang ramai supaya “menghormati hasrat rakya

59. #60 by Wisdom above on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:18 am

To, YB LGE, CM Penang.

Why PKR,DAP,PAS & West Malaysians are still dreaming ? ….Lost focus ?

Why MCA, Gerakan, MIC, PPP, PBB,PRS still hiding the ‘Truth’ ?

Look like Sabahans know what is the ” Truth”.

> Someone from Sabah talk sense….. Repeat for reference only.

1)…Sabah Progressive Party president Datuk Yong Teck Lee said he was puzzled why the NEP was still an issue when it had been replaced by the

>’National Development Policy'(NDP)…

> TUN DR M launched the “NDP” which year ? I forgot the year ,do you remember ?

2)…“so called cancellation of the NEP” was completely redundant because it no longer existed and it was equally disappointing that Penang Umno was still harping on a non-existent policy.

3)…no wonder that some politicians both from ruling and opposition have lost focus on which policy to talk about,”

Bravo, Sabahans dare to speak out.

Syabas. Barisan Rakyat.

60. #61 by rakyatmalaysia07 on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:24 am

Betul laaa where got NEP anymore??? Was replaced by NCP , national crony policy!!!

61. #62 by malaysianindian007 on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 12:25 pm

MIC is irrelevant, Samy “Botak” Velu is irrelevant.Uncle Lim please urge parliament to reopen MAIKA case n prosecute all the cronies and bring back dignity and respect to the cheated indian community.So say all the Indians that voted for the opposition.Race is irrelevant.

62. #63 by no_bs on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 2:04 pm

Hello Mr Lim,

I’m writing to you to congratulate you on BA’s recent success in the GE. I’m proud that Malaysia has spoken.

Now comes the task of staying in power and putting things right.

I represent a group of seasoned advertising, marketing and PR professionals (all Malaysians based overseas) who would like to assist BA’s efforts.

You will need a cohesive positioning strategy, coupled with extensive brand marketing, media training for all your reps. While you have to come across as being real, you also must have an umbrella marketing strategy to counter the millions of dollars that UMNO have at their disposal to unseat your team.

Trust me when I say, those nuts on the 4th floor of Putrajaya are not all that.

With a bit of marketing guile, you will be able to:
    -outwit
    -outhink
    -outlast

them.

We are here to serve.

Tks.

63. #64 by alexx on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 4:16 pm

<<’National Development Policy’(NDP)…

> TUN DR M launched the “NDP” which year ?

2)…“so called cancellation of the NEP” was completely redundant because it no longer existed and it was equally disappointing that Penang Umno was still harping on a non-existent policy.

3)…no wonder that some politicians both from ruling and opposition have lost focus on which policy to talk about,”

]>>>

The National Development Policy replaced the Malaysian New Economic Policy in 1990 but continued to pursue most of NEP policies.

And both of them are nearly same.. Just name different..

<<>>

You should ask them to analyze the ‘Rules’, indeed of just the ‘Name’ of both policies… In fact both are nearly same! Just different in Name!
    And after revealing … knew that the policy was not effective after so many years… Still decided to use back it, with the change by only the Name… Not even consider to work out with better solution…lol

And you came here and tell us that Sabahans satified with just the changing of ‘Name’ indeed of ‘ better policies’? lol

64. #65 by happyguy on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 2:47 pm

Stop buying and reading one-sided newspapers.
    Stop watching one-sided TV news.

With the right tools, you all elected representatives go all out to pull out all the decaying teeth which are deep-rooted.

65. #66 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 5:32 pm

DAP’s abolition of the NEP in Penang should be adopted by the other four states under the opposition. This would provide true opportunities for bumiputras in these states to show their worth, without the “tongkat”, that they really can do it. And if they become successful, then perhaps it will become the focus of the other states still under BN rule. Show them that Malays Boleh! not only Malaysia Boleh! However, to accomplish this rather difficult task, they have to shed their old ways of living and emerge from their “cocoons”. This is the real “emergence of the beautiful butterfly from the ugly caterpillar” – a total metamorphosis.

66. #67 by joejoe on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 3:55 pm

DID BODOWI FIRE HIS FENG SHUI MASTER WHO PICKED THE DATE? WHO IS HIS FENG SHUI MASTER? I MUST REMEMBER NEVER TO BUY HIS/HER BOOK.

I WONDER HOW A YOUNGISH FENG SHUI MASTER LIKE JOEY YAP GOT HIS DATUKSHIP … MUST BE A FENG SHUI MASTER TO THE RICH AND FAMOUS.

67. #68 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 8:46 pm

Now is the chance for GRASSHOPPERS to transform themselves into ANTS! If the privileged group really think what the NEP has done to them and realize it was a plan by BN to “disable” them in the competitive world, then they should turn over a new leaf and work hard just like the other non-privileged groups. Grasshoppers can become ants!