Swearing-in ceremony for new Perak Mentri Besar tomorrow morning

Flash

The swearing-in for the new Perak Menteri Besar, Mohamad Nizar Jamaludin (PAS) of the DAP/PKR/PAS Perak state coalition government will be held tomorrow, Monday 17th March 2008 at 11.30 am.

1. #1 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 12:39 pm

Please stop the party politics. Do it in a different way compared to BN. Make all of the elected members the coalition members instead of PAS members or PKR members or DAP members. It is not healthy to have the party politics while talking about coalition. That will bring along little progress

2. #2 by Wise Voter on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 12:40 pm

Great! All teething problems have been amicably resolved.

3. #3 by atlk on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 12:49 pm

Uncle Kit, Just to inform you something. Please be aware of this @#$$%^&* in PAS (kickdefella.wordpress.com). He seems to be an UMNO member disguising himself as a PAS member and he has been stoking up the racial tension between PAS members, or the Malays and the Chinese. We think he is a burden to the PKR/PAS/DAP coalition. But he seems to be the right hand man of Husam Musa, but again, Husam Musa doesn’t seems to be like him. So please be aware of this person and inform PAS of his antics if possible because he manage to stoke up the racial tension and break the PKR/PAS/DAP coalition. All Malaysians regardless of race should come together and reject such an extremist and hypocrite.

4. #4 by billgates on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 1:12 pm

That’s good news to all Perakian. I hope the PKR-DAP-PAS coalition will make right this time and set to spur Perak to become the leading state towards the formation of a Bangsa Malaysia.

Time to review the following:

1. DAP is not a chinese based party
    2. DAP is not anti Islam
    3. DAP is fighting for the rights of everyone irrespective of race. religion and culture
    4. PAS is not Taliban
    5. PAS is not anti chinese
    6. PAS is more moderate than UMNO

Congratulation to one and all.

5. #5 by Tickler on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 1:21 pm

atlk: Haha that is going to make that infamous `monsterball` very angry, when you talk of his buddy/brudder that-a-way.

6. #6 by kyw87 on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 1:22 pm

that’s a great news!!~ hope the swearing-in will be smooth and successful!~

7. #7 by Short-sleeve on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 1:25 pm

Please tell Teng to take down his gigantic banner in Klang lobbying the people to support his move for the Deputy MB post. It is so no class and poor taste.

Teng, please grow up.

8. #8 by SammyVelu on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 1:38 pm

congratulations to your so-called “loose coalition state government” – The biggest joke to Malaysia Chinese community to co-op with PAS! Being the supporter of DAP for the past three elections, Uncle Lim Kit Siang, i can tell you that you will never get our votes anymore, you can be a great speaker and excellent politician ( cause you’re truly good in playing tricks and tactics! ) you are just trying to divert the attention of the voters. Poltical tsunami? This is only the pre-alert alarm, the true tsunami is coming soon, let’s see!

9. #9 by Wisdom above on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 1:44 pm

Syabas, to the new Perak State Government.

Think as a State Government.

..What I voted for is Barisan Rakyat.

..Divine Intervention to describe the unfolding of events.

..The collective voices of everybody has to continue

Yes , you are right.

I also cast my ballot for Barisan Rakyat.

Syabas. Barisan Rakyat.

10. #10 by Tickler on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 1:48 pm

Raja Petra made scathing remarks on me in Malaysia-Today. Although I am in the rush to go to Penang now, I have to respond immediately.

Firstly, I did not organize any demonstration to pressurize the DAP into making me the Deputy Menteri Besar of Selangor. I do not know how did Raja Petra gather the information that I had done that. If he likes rumours and then to rumour, then that is what he is worth.

http://tengchangkhim.blogspot.com/2008/03/raja-petra-must-learn-how-to-get-facts.html

11. #11 by 1971 on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 1:50 pm

If you think deep about all this happening lately, either BR or BN, it’s actually a bless in disguise to everyone of us. With the election aftermath issues cropping up, ie. Perak, Selangor, Terengganu, Perlis appointed MB issue & Penang NEP issue, these all really make us RAKYAT think deeply of what we really want in the next 50-100 years to come for our children & grand-grandchildren. All this unexpected tsunami aftermath also makes all political parties & royalties have a deep thought of what best for the parties concerning the future policy, royal families decision concerning what best for RAKYAT in mind. Basically everybody involved starts thinking aloud & have only ONE goal in our mind, be it negative or positive comments…we MALAYSIANs just want the best for our people. We have come a long way since Merdeka and all these tough issues concerning our COUNTRY & RAKYAT will not only make us ponder in deep thoughts, deep debacle, making constructive critism & suggestions, and the most importantly we have all grow up & maturing ourselves in looking at the issue in a broader perspective and not only selfishly judge the issue based on one particular race only. That’s what I see as a positive sign towards CHANGE…HIDUP RAKYAT!

12. #12 by virgin rose on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 2:19 pm

Bravo… to DAP !!! Proud of there leaders that make me remember of UNCLE LEE KUAN YEW….. We always support the true smart leaders that fight for our rights and justice…. not only for my race but for BANGSA MALAYSIA….. let ENCIK NIZAR JAMALUDDIN TO SWEAR AND TAKE THE OATH….. HOPE HE WONT FORGET ALL THE VOTERS FROM THE ADUN PASIR PANJANG THAT PAVE AND CRAFT HIS VICTORY….. MAY GOD BLESS DAP-PKR-PAS………………
    APART OF THAT, WE ALSO HAVE A SPECIAL PRAYERS FOR OUR NEW MENTERI BESAR TOMORROW …IN SITIAWAN AND AYER TAWAR’S TEMPLE…….. THANK YOU AGAIN TO BARISAN RAKYAT !!!!!!!!!!!!!

HOPE WE……WE WILL WORK TOGETHER TO FORM A NEW TRANSPARENT STATE AND NATION LIKE SINGAPORE THAT EQUAL TO BANGSA MALAYSIA………. FOR MY BROTHERS MALAYS…DONT WORRY…WE WONT ABOLISH YOUR BUMIPUTERA PRIVILEGE BUT…….. BE PRACTICAL…. THERE SHOULD BE A LIMIT THAT WONT MAKE THE OTHER RACES TO FEEL OR HURT THEM…….
    LETS LIVE TOGETHER………………..

—BANGSA MALAYSIA TOWARDS VISION 2020—

13. #13 by stevchew on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 2:22 pm

Congratulations!! finally we are seeing a PKR/DAP/PAS govt in sight. Hope everything will be smooth. Good work, Kit Siang

14. #14 by voice on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 2:23 pm

Congratulations on the sucess of forming the Perak state government here to DAP/PKR/PAS, god bless you all, but 4-5 years is not long for the new government to develop Perak, so please get the works started.
    Hope to see more development in Taiping and please hold the local government election, Taiping Municipal Council already messed everything up ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W77EGUUUxZs ).

15. #15 by Independent View on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 2:27 pm

Short-sleeve please learn how to grow up yourself before asking any one to do so. I’m neither a supporter of Teng nor any one in DAP Selangor. But I live in Selangor and my office is nearby Sg. Pinang DAP office. I was passing by there when they put up the banner and I’m sure it was not under Teng’s instruction. He wasn’t even there when that occur. They just voiced their opinion as Rakyat to get DAP’s attention that that’s what most Rakyat in Selangor wanted. The chinese associations even supported Teng to be DCM. There were polls showing that Teng got >80% support from people in Selangor (look for sinchew news few days back).
    Teng has stressed numerously that it was not important whether he become the DCM of Selangor. He just want to serve the Rakyat. The problem is some “gang” inside DAP just went all out to Anti-Teng. So it’s not fair to Teng. The Rakyat of Selangor, all we want, is to have DAP to choose a capable leader to be DCM. We don’t want some one who plays politics inside DAP to become DCM, that’s not at Rakyat’s will. I hope Uncle Lim will listen to this and make sure the DAP Selangor get along with each other. Short-Sleeve, at the meantime, please show some respect to YB Teng, he’s elected by the people of Sg Pinang.

16. #16 by NotProudToBeMalaysian on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 2:30 pm

To the DAP!
    Remember one thing for sure.
    This is Malaysia and forever, it will be Malaysia!
    If you think you could win the people’s vote, then do your job as a representative in the parliament and forget about any MB issue.
    Even if we will to win all, we never will ever be the PM too and that’s for sure.
    Just remember, we’re still a “tumpang” here even though we’re born here. Talking about being leader of certain states or this country, just dream of it only.
    Arrgh! Forget it!!!

17. #17 by Hurricane on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 2:31 pm

we have made the history in this election. Malaysia is moving towards a democratic country with a healthier political condition.

lets not let all this side issue disturb the rakyat.

Opposition parties, please show us that you are worth our votes, by putting aside all this nonsense and concentrate on creating a better country, for ALL MALAYSIAN. or else we will know what to expect in next election.

We are counting on you. dont let us down.

18. #18 by teejay on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 2:33 pm

Aiyoh ! Short sleeve says Teng got gigantic banner in Klang trying to get support for his deputy MB bid. How shameless ! First he says in his blog he will submit to the “wisdom” of the DAP leadership and now this. I had a good laugh yesterday , in the midst of reading replies to Kit’s blog about the Perak , suddenly there was a plaintive plea to pick Teng as Deputy MB by one of them. Come on man, we are dealing with Perak and this guy is jostling for power by demonstrations,banners,blogging, etc. I am looking out of my window for the hotair baloon now …. Some of them says he is the most qualified to have the post. My question is most qualified for what ? My guess is that any candidate will be severely examined in the following areas. Whether the person is a team player, whether he commands the respect of his peers and not only his supporters, his attendance at CEC & State DAP meetings, contribution of his DUN allowance to National DAP,etc. I am sure the leadership will access to all this information and make the proper choice. Last time got 2 opposition members in Selangor DUN – now got 13 members, times change and leaders should also change according to the sitiuation. Meanwhile let us watch carefully to see who puts party interest above selfish ambition. Meanwhile pls take down the banner lah, it is too embarassing. True leaders don’t have to advertise their qualities …..imagine Kit Siang putting up a banner saying he is most qualified to be Parliamentary Opposition leader. Unthinkable !

19. #19 by max2811 on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 2:39 pm

Let’s pray for a smooth swearing-in ceremony tomorrow. BERNAMA is still blank on why the roads leading to the Perak SUK are blocked. Maybe there some sore losers trying to cause trouble.

20. #20 by Godfather on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 2:49 pm

Well done, DAP/PKR/PAS. You have to prove your detractors wrong about your ability to administer – and administer wisely. There are still so-called Opposition supporters out there who would rather see you collapse and administration handed back to BN, than see DAP collaborate with PAS. Luckily these morons are in the minority, and you should simply ignore their rantings.

21. #21 by llb_gan on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 2:54 pm

Much of the brouhaha that emanated from this episode, at least in the minds of the members of the public, was contributed to by the reports that have appeared, and still continue to appear, in The Star newspaper.

The Star has been anti-DAP since the dubious days of Lee San Choon. It descended into unparalleled depths of editorial debauchery during the reign of Ling Liong Sik; and now it is simply miserable in the desperate hours of Ong Ka Ting.

Each and every report covering the Barisan Alternatif, especially if it involves the DAP, is calculated and skewed to inflict the heaviest possible PR-damage to those parties concerned.

This is journalism at its most insidious height. A national newspaper is an institution of power; and there is a most sacred and onerous responsibility and duty that comes with that power. The duty to be just and equitable to all; to be fair and right in its reporting; and to be that beacon of light when all hope of vindication has been shrouded by the darkness of corruption.

And above all, it is the duty to report with dignity. Human dignity.

22. #22 by chanjoe on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 3:00 pm

I am keeping my fingers crossed that all will be fine and the swearing in of the PAS MB will be without any hiccups.
    The main point now is to get down to work immediately with the appointment of EXCOs and then formulate how to work for a better Perak for the next 4 years to show BR Bolih and the following GEs will see BR returned to power with bigger majority.
    Syabas….. Alls Well Ends Well….Hooray…

23. #23 by penang308 on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 3:00 pm

Oh YESSSSSSSSSSS! LETS GET IN OVER WITH.

THANK YOU TUANKU SULTAN PERAK.

24. #24 by Godfather on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 3:03 pm

Human dignity ? The Star is run by human scum. I wrote a nasty email to Wong Chun Wai and Joceline Tan, and of course they did not reply. What the Opposition needs is the right to publish a new newspaper that is truly objective. Of course it is an uphill task as the KDN licences are controlled by the federal government and the last thing they want is to have an objective newspaper that reports as much BN failings as Opposition failings. I think PKR/DAP/PAS legal advisors should come together and see if there is a way to publish a newspaper and distribute only in the Opposition controlled states.

25. #25 by badak on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 3:03 pm

Someone once told me
    BRAINS MUST BE ENGAGE, BEFORE MOUTH IS OPEN,So to all BR MPS.please remember now not only the UMNO LED BN GOVERMENT ARE WATCHING YOU.We who had voted for all of you are also watching.
    Do not behave like opposition ,cause now you are ruling 5 states.Now all politics must stop.GET DOWN TO WORK.Remember BN GOVERMENT can call for a snap election in 3 half years time.If you guys don,t prove yourself now,come next election all back to square one……

26. #26 by antz on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 3:07 pm

This is only the beginning.There is still hurdles to overcome ahead.

27. #27 by jyc on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 3:10 pm

finally.. this is what we have been waiting for.. all the best to the new mb and the new gov..

28. #28 by ncysan on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 3:12 pm

congratulation.. move forward.. many people watch your pkr-dap-pass government specially opposite party.

please do in best within next 5 yrs.

29. #29 by therising on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 3:15 pm

# Short-sleeve Says:
    Today at 13: 25.41 (1 hour ago)

Please tell Teng to take down his gigantic banner in Klang lobbying the people to support his move for the Deputy MB post. It is so no class and poor taste.

Teng, please grow up.

To Short-sleeve,

Pls hear the other side of the story b4 you make any comment on Teng. Just don’t believe the news in Thestar or NST or other BN controlled media!
    http://tengchangkhim.blogspot.com/

I am not in the fight
    I have been keeping a low profile in the past few days in the midst of various speculations.
    My fellow Malaysian, Wan, whom I do not know personally, emailed me and said he needed to hear my side of story. I agree with him that I should say something to clear the air.
    It has been reported in the local media that Ronnie Liu (Selangor DAP State Assemblyman for Pandamaran), Teresa Kok (Selangor DAP State Assemblyperson for Kinrara) and I have been fighting for the position of Deputy Chief Minister (Timbalan Menteri Besar) in the new Selangor state government.
    I just want to state categorically that, as far as I am concerned, I am not in the fight, if there is one. I did not make even a call to the party leadership to lobby or to offer myself for the position. I leave it entirely to the wisdom of the party leadership.
    Some comrades in the party feel that I am qualified for the job. They are entitled to have their own opinions. Some local leaders have expressed support for me to hold the post. They are also entitled to their opinions. Some opinion makers opined that I am eligible for the job. They are also equally entitled to hold that opinion. Nevertheless, that does not necessary mean that I am involved in the fight for the post.
    I have made myself clear to the public that I uphold the Confusian teaching, “?????????“, that literally means “do not worry about having no position, do worry about having no capability”. If I am offered, I will take up the job. If I am not offered, so be it. Nothing more and nothing less.
    I did not intend to join the DAP for an official appointment 18 years ago. Otherwise, I would not have had joined the DAP.
    However, I must also express my gratitute to all friends, known and unknown, for their good words and support for me.
    I will do my best for whatever entrusted unto me. I am not invloved in any fight for the post.

30. #30 by llb_gan on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 3:20 pm

Godfather,

Bless u for writing that letter to them.

What do u think of the idea of banning them from covering all Barisan Alternatif functions in those five respective States. NST is so much more neutral, why?

And pardon my ignorance, why can’t they pick a PKR chap as the Perak MB? That would have solved many potential problems of perception. My only fear with the PAS MB is that the Chinese and Indians might not be so easily persuaded to deliver 18 seats to the DAP in five years’ time.

31. #31 by drmaharajahrk on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 3:26 pm

Uncle Kit,

In Hinduism they teach us that we should be good and do good. All living being on the surface of this earth is the creation of God and we should not look down upon each other.

Sorry, just wanted to know what it sounds to be an UMNO politician……….cos everything starts with ” In Islam we ……………” even when they speak to a largely non muslim crowd.

32. #32 by Godfather on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 3:28 pm

llb_gan:

The Perak issue is settled and let’s not bring up the never-ending issue of who is better than whom. We have to stand behind the decision made by the leadership and by the Perak Sultan, otherwise the administration will start off on the wrong footing.
    The Opposition coalition will live or die on its performance in the state, so let’s not talk about how many seats might go to this party or that party in the next elections.

As to the boycotting of the Star, we must not repeat the unfair and divisive policies of the very people we displaced. We should be magnanimous – but we should also have our own paper for circulation within the Opposition controlled states. A paper with good quality reporting can be a serious threat to the Star in the Klang Valley and Penang, and that’s probably the best “insurance policy” we have of keeping the editors of the Star under control.

On another small point, you should all see the picture of the MCA central committee in its recent meeting. All dressed in black and white – very apt for the party that is in mourning.

33. #33 by A true Malaysian on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 3:36 pm

Mr Lim,

To me, you are the most mis-understood politician among Malaysians of all races, especially the Malays. Many people see you a ‘racist’, but not me. I sincerely DAP will put in efforts to correct such wrong perceptions.

On the points on who to be appointed as MB or state exco, I hope the criteria of selection is not based on race, but solely on ‘capability, integrity and impartiality of each candidates. If not, then the new opposition coalition governments are not better than the BN.

There is one article by Farida Jivamala Ibrahim posted in Haris Ibrahim’s blog titled ‘How bosses behave badly’. Everyone of you here should read it. http://harismibrahim.wordpress.com/2008/03/14/how-bosses-behave-badly/

34. #34 by firstMalaysian on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 3:37 pm

Congratulations to the coalition government! Please stay focus to serve the people.

The coalition government is Perak, Penang and Selangor must prove that they can do a better job than BN.

Be sensitive to the aspirations of all races irrespective of religion and do not let UMNO exploit on every opportunity to play the race card and cause instability that will invoke a state of emergency in all these states.

Respect the state constitution and the choice by the palace.

35. #35 by Wise1 on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 3:45 pm

Suggest that DAP should upgrade its website. Just look at PAS’s, they are more informative and provide up-to-date information. They provide timely messages to correct distorted reports.

DAP should engage professional public relation company to manage its press releases and image. Wrong words can bring serious impact. Example – instead of using words like ” improving on the NEP” words like “abolishing NEP” can have serious impact.

Professional public relation company can advise on the right choice of words to use.

Guan Eng should have his own website to put his views directly to the people (when comments are misquoted) instead of depending on MSM. Professional public relation company can help him handle this.

36. #36 by mendela on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 3:49 pm

One critical issue is how to make all the elected assembly men (DUNs) from DAP/PKR/PAS uncorruptable!

There will be lots of seductions out there especially from all the UMO cronies.

Making all DUNS from DAP/PKR/PAS to compulsory declare yearly their assets (includes spouse’s) might be a good start.

37. #37 by gofortruth on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 3:56 pm

The score is 8 – 5, BN is still leading. So, BR work together, work hard & work smart & work tactfully and you will prevail.

All the best to uncle Lim & BR!

38. #38 by lakshy on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 4:02 pm

Just imagine, it could have been higher for opposition if not for the antics of all msm. And the postal votes. Am sure Sabahans and Sarawakians are kicking themselves for not having felt the winds of change coming and voted like the rest in W Malaysia. But that change shall come too!

39. #39 by mybangsamalaysia on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 4:07 pm

Dear YB

I am not a politician in profession, but i see (in fact all of us know it) conflicting value and belief within the coalition espcecially with PAS.

DAP leaders started to show symtom of double personalities. DAP/PKR/PAS need to resolve their differences as soon as they can, it takes time and require a lot of hardwork. Perhaps we can learn from those married couples with different religion background.

Anyway, all the best… overall it is a good start with a warning sign.

40. #40 by EdChoo on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 4:16 pm

Fantastic news! People shouldn’t doubt and underestimate the process. There will always be order in chaos.

Aiyoh, RPK and MT jumping to conclusions again on the Teng Chang Khim issue through his “Small Things Please Small Minds”. I don’t really know if they verify with any of the DAP guys regarding the actual happenings on the ground. We should read both sides of the story and make our own judgements. RPK and MT seem to be jumping all over DAP. Same goes for the earlier piece on LKS. I felt a bit put off. And now “A Storm in a Songkok”. See the guy worm his way out of the issue….after some tongue lashing from readers. Fantastic Tai Chi skills surpassed only by Cheong Sam Fung (founder of Tai Chi).

So guys, we should not only be weary of our MSM, we should also sit down and evaluate carefully and sometimes question the credibility of our alternative media.

41. #41 by Wisdom above on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 4:30 pm

Food for thought.

To YB LGE, Penang CM,

Positive view given …. learn to be refined..

Meanwhile, Malaysiakini quotes Zaid Ibrahim, the former Umno MP for Kota Bharu as saying that Guan Eng should not have been too hasty:

“I find it very shocking to see today that DAP is being very arrogant too. First day in office – Lim Guan Eng (Penang chief minister) made this statement about NEP,” he said.

“This is not the time to stir everyone’s feelings. Our race relations are still fragile and those elected should just stop talking and get on with the job.”…

“A good leader should be able to say the good part of NEP, which is to help the marginalised group, should be continued. The NEP which helps selected individuals to enrich themselves will be stopped. That’s all he should have said, not provocative statements,” said Zaid.

42. #42 by jaMz on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 4:43 pm

Congratulation may the force be with you…

43. #43 by highhand on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 5:16 pm

BUAT KERJA

BUKAN KENDURI

44. #44 by gofortruth on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 5:21 pm

45. #45 by RocketDAP on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 5:22 pm

Bravo to the Coalition of DAP-PKR-PAS. Maybe this be the beginning of a great history in Malaysia.

46. #46 by highhand on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 5:24 pm

the flowers sure did wonders………..

47. #47 by petestop on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 5:26 pm

Glad that the dust has finally settled and we can get back to work.

Still the challenges are many….. there will be no doubt that
    the Barang Naik government will seek all opportunities to break
    the DAP-PKR-PAS alliance, given the relatively slim majority.

We hope that each and everyone of the coalition will be steadfast
    in their goal of delivering a better governance than BN ever could.

Barisan Rakyat is really more of an aspiration by most voters,
    the loose coalition still have many political differences that needs
    to be resolved…. but hope all do not lose sight of the bigger
    goal of dislodging the BN hegemony and bringing transparency
    and equality to the govt.

It’s time for PAS to show their progressive and moderate side,
    that they will be able to be fair to the 55% non-muslims in the
    state.

It’s also time for DAP and PKR to get down from the Opposition
    mantle and show that they can walk the talk.

Remember the power is always at the hands of the voters and
    at the end of the day, the voters will review the report card.

48. #48 by grace on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 5:37 pm

I think the vast majority od DAP supporters, be they Malay, chinese or Indians do not mind a PAS MB as long as he can perform. I think HRH choice is a wise one in view that the candidate has a good resume.
    Yes, I am very pleased that Mohamad Nizar is at last going to be sworn in as MB. God bless him all the way.
    Let us all work together for the betterment of Malaysia. I believe we could with blessing from the Lord.

49. #49 by alberttye on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 5:38 pm

Whatever happens, DAP must maintain its founding ideals of a demoncratic, free and secular Malaysian Malaysia where all citizens are equal and the poor and weak are given special assistance regardless of race and religion.
    With this beacon of light, DAP will grow from strenght to strenght and not suffer the fate of Gerakan.
    If any DAP legislator deviates from this principle because of selfishness and greed, he must be sacked.

50. #50 by Windchime on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 5:38 pm

Congratulations for making this very bold step!

Now, folks at PAS, PKR and DAP. I think you should know by now who put you there, so please do the right thing. I also hope that PAS which in my personal view scored the best deal out of this arrangement and should emulate this very difficult but generous stance by your fellow comrades in the other two coalition parties, namely DAP and PKR.

Let’s get down to work and see that fair play prevails, that the people of Perak are well looked after irrespective of race and even for the people from the opposite end of the political spectrum. The stand and steps to wipe out corruption has to be intensified.

Syabas and Good luck to the new Barisan Rakyat government for the opening of a historic chapter in Perak!

51. #51 by highhand on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 5:41 pm

WILL THE BN reps turn up ?

might not since too busy demo here and there…….

52. #52 by dap-for-pj on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 5:47 pm

i am responding to a call to refrain from buying mainstream media …star, nst, …………to teach them a lesson………anybody with me? I am subscribing to Malaysiakini!

53. #53 by a-malaysian on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 5:59 pm

Write, comment, argue or fight within this blog and let off steam. Some may agree some may not but the conclusion is that all the parties (BA) and us the Rakyat who have voted for change must join forces to work for the betterment for all the Rakyat and Country.

All being said and done we must ensure:

Never allow umno bn to gain strength again like they used too for the past fifty years.

54. #54 by arthur on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 6:05 pm

After reading today’s newspaper about the demonstration against the matter of NEP in penang, i was so upset and irritated by those “people”.

Masked with all kind of excuses for it to exist, the NEP is one of the most obvious, evident and unmistakable form of discrimination.
    I give 110% support for guan eng to end the NEP system in Penang. I believe this is to neutralize the unbalance system in society. Reports have shown that NEP is ineffective and leads to society problem such as corruption.

As stated by Tun Dr Maharthir, Malay should not depend on NEP anymore. They should get up and work themselves! They have been given enough of opportunities and privilege during the existence of NEP for 37 Years! But they didn’t make use of this opportunity and have even misused the privilege of NEP. The NEP which was supposed to end in year 1969 did NOT and got a second life which was supposed to end in year 1990 also did NOT. They have been given so much of opportunities, but they still screw it up. This NEP system is totally flawed. Isn’t this enough to answer for our prime minister’s question about why penang should run the administration free of NEP? Because it implies unfairness and discrimination.

NEP has helped many people? yes, definitely… and also has left many among chinese and indian poorer. NEP objective to achieve 30% of bumiputra economy has definitely already been exceeded! No wonder so many chinese and indian felt being marginalized and leaving Malaysia for another country.

We fought together in war, you give us citizenship and we endorse the NEP privilege. But the privilege should be enjoyed enough already by today! All races should be treated fairly. The Chinese particularly has been working so hard for what they’ve achieved today, and have never asked for any special privilege no matter in which country they’re at.

NEP should be abolished nationwide. Otherwise and it will only create more parasite people…

55. #55 by bhasker on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 6:10 pm

congrats to uncle Lim and the trios-DAP/PKR/PAS.
    hope cooperation among the trios maintained for a better Malaysia.

56. #56 by verbal-lash on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 6:15 pm

I am sad that we did not see much of a WINDS OF CHANGE in Johor, which is badly needed. Our MB here has been arrogant and racist here for too long. The only positive thing that happened here is that the opposition has made inroads by winning 6 state seats and 1 parliamentary seat into this UMNO stronghold of a state. I wonder how much clout these people will have to deliver their promise of change. So many public projects are delayed causing massive jams and inconvenience to Johoreans. So much business lost due to the much-reduced inflow of Singaporean shoppers. The crime rate is still a deterrent to our neighbouring visitors. The IDR project? Hah! We Johoreans are still waiting to see if it will happen. So much apprehension when the rainy season comes as the poor drainage will bring repeated floods to the low-lying areas. So much pot-holes on the roads. Johor is in a sad state of affair. All we have is a lot of empty promises and plenty of gungho projections (which fail to meet datelines or realisation) from this highly-incompetent MB. Statistics showed that most Chinese and Indians have voted for the opposition, however, BN managed to retain power because of Malay votes. Even then their majority have much reduced. The next election, if there is no change from this lethargic MB (and who is still in a state of denial that he is doing well), will see Johor being ceded to the opposition. I dare to dream!

57. #57 by k1980 on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 6:21 pm

Clean, transparent and efficient by the PKR-DAP-PAS governments will encourage the remaining 8 states to dump umno within the next 5 years. However, the reverse would come true should the PKR-DAP-PAS coalition let the people down by infighting and self-interests.

58. #58 by Demon on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 6:29 pm

Congratulation to the new governments of Penang,Perak,Kedah and Selangor.May they rule these states for another 100 years!

59. #59 by ahluck on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 6:32 pm

Happy birthday tomorrow to the new Perak Menteri Besar, Mohamad Nizar Jamaludin (PAS) of the DAP/PKR/PAS Perak state coalition government. 51 birthday you a MB. Congratulations!
    make sure no corruption like BN.

good luck!

60. #60 by kklee63 on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 6:34 pm

lao da,
    can we go together? but not with the AFM 1, but BGS 2225.

61. #61 by saubing on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 6:52 pm

To Short Sleeve,

I don’t think Mr Teng wants to gain any publicity. He has been into politics for 18 years. I have not seen him making any “emotional” or “racists” statement. correct me if I am wrong. I really feel that he is very hardworking especially in the late Zakaria scandal. Anyway, congratulations to Perak new government. One week wait is very miserable for me, I believe not only me but all BR supporter. The incident in Sabah many years back still haunt me. Sometimes I feel that BN is really despicable by buying over opposition members. Just hope after tomorrow everything will go smooth for BR.

P.S. Please make sure all Perak BR ADUN don’t go anywhere especially tonight. Cheers!

62. #62 by gofortruth on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 7:01 pm

verbal-lash Says:

Today at 18: 15.36 (41 minutes ago)
    I am sad that we did not see much of a WINDS OF CHANGE in Johor, which is badly needed. Our MB here has been arrogant and racist here for too long…….
    —————–

They say Singaporians ‘kiasu’
    Johorian ‘Kiasi” – so just sit on the fence this 12th GE. Give them a little encouragement, they will come out in the next election.
    Get ready to rock Johor!

63. #63 by saubing on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 7:01 pm

to dap-for-pj,

I support your call to boycott mainstream newspaper. When hindraf and Bersih hold demonstration, not much were written but when Umno organised a demonstration, they is much coverage and even boast the number of demonstratorsto 3000 (NST) where it is only around 1000 or less. I have also subscribed to malaysiakini. Bernama can even misquote our beloved LGE by inciting hatred and fear for May 13 incident. I supoort your call to BOYCOTT!!!! anyone with us??

64. #64 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 7:24 pm

resit resmi ro dap election fund. : 474947 and 475158.

kit siang why, you cannot accept views differed from yours.

65. #65 by I Malaysian on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 7:27 pm

Congrats on your about to be formed Perak government.

As I see it the MSM have taken a rather crucial role to turn Malaysia’s politic into turmoil. If the coalition fails to rebut them properly racial disharmony could be a real thing in Malaysia.

All of need to watch out for these perpetrators.

66. #66 by blacksheep on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 7:27 pm

Good…thanx YB LKS…

Kat ipoh bila YB first kata taknak attend even titah YM Raja Nazrin..kita cakap Yb dah “BIADAP”…coz even dgn Sultan pun YB boleh buat cam tu inikan pulak nanti org biasa macam kami yg sokong pembangkang…come on lah belum lagi buat kerajaan dah “BIADAP ke?….

BN sentiasa perhatikan insiden ini then now BN slowly giving “racun” to IPoh people to dislike you all…so becareful next time.

So after the ceremony..please lah buat “KERJA”!!!!!!….TUNAIKAN JANJI JANJI !!!….coz BN dah jadi pembangkang yg sangat2 bahaya if u all silap langkah!!!

Terima kasih coz di kawasan Bercham sekarang telah membangun begitu pesat sekarang…..pub sana pub sini…karaok sana karaok sini….rumah urut sana rumah urut sini….good for bussiness…
    After this area Pengkalan pulak kena bangunkan….lets put all the pub, karaok n rumah urut di sana….really needed.

Lets work together and don’t hate Malay too much…

Congratulations.

67. #67 by smeagroo on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 7:36 pm

Put the rakyat first and nothing will go wrong for 51% fo the rakyat will be with you.

Perhaps Uncle Kit can go give PAs and PKR dude a hug esok.

68. #68 by RealWorld on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 8:15 pm

Firstly, I congratulate PKR PAS DAP for capturing Perak. I hope they will run the state fairly for all races.

We will be back in 5 years.
    Hidup BN!

69. #69 by alimi on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 8:32 pm

Tahniah to DAP, PKR dan PAS.
    Show to Malaysian that you’re able settle all discrepency and go to administer Perak soon.
    Bravo….

70. #70 by cg on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 8:50 pm

Congratulations to the new Perak state government!

All the best wishes to the new government(DAP-PKR-PAS coalition) and hope the new coalition will continue to gain support from the people and make further advancement towards the country’s governance.

71. #71 by cg on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 8:52 pm

saubing:
    I support your call to boycott mainstream news paper and in fact many of my acquaintances are already boycotting them due to their 1-sided reports.

72. #72 by teejay on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 8:55 pm

I refer to shortsleeve and saubing posting about Teng. Saubing mentions that Teng does not want any pibblicity becauseof his involvement in politics for 18 years. Actually length of service is no garaunte of loyalty to party and country. A good example ppl like Teoh Teik Huat,Gooi Hock Seng, Sim Kwang Yang who were all comrades in arms to Kit Siang for many years. However they were later involved in efforts to undermine Kit Siang and the DAP. Later they went their own ways and the DAP emerged stronger.
    There is no question that there is a concerted effort to direct an extra party campaign to influence the public opinion to pressure the DAP leadership to appoint him. He may protest but facts says otherwise. This is through demonstrations,friendly postings,banners,etc. What next ? A van with loud speakers ala “Paper lama” ? Is Teng so insecure in his position that he needs to do all these things ?
    As for the demonstrations – which underling would demonstrate support for a particular person without first informing him that ” Hei ! We are doing this to support you.” why didn’t Teng stop it in the first place. I believe that only team players should be appointed. A shining example is Sdr Lim Hock Seng who gave up his Parliament seat of Bagan to CM Lim Guan Eng . Hock Seng gave up his seat to stand in the DUN of Bagan Jermal and won handsomely. He took this ” demotion” without behaving like a spoilt brat.

73. #73 by RealWorld on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 8:56 pm

BN will be back in 5 years.

But now, lets see how the Opposition run the state.

74. #74 by Godfather on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 9:07 pm

RealWorld the Bentley-owning UMNOputra:

There won’t be a BN in 5 years. All the BN parties are imploding, including your beloved U Must Not Object party.

75. #75 by chanjoe on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 9:13 pm

I have known Teng for some years and though not close….I find him a very straight forward and no nonsense guy….thats why he can’t really blend in well with most of the apple polishing guys in DAP.
    Even though he is not much of a team player…sort of like Ong Tee Kiat in MCA….he has performed well for the people of Klang & Sg Pinang…..
    He will make a very GOOD Deputy MB and a very GOOD EXCO too.
    The reason that there are people who are willing to come out and do something to help push for his inclusion in the DAP EXCO and DMB list shows he is an extra ordinary ADUN who does his legislative work well.
    Lets be fair….we voted BR and wanted a change but we don’t want a blind change do we?
    Teng is the right guy for EXCO and Deputy MB of Selangor….
    I am saying this without fear or favour….

76. #76 by babique on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 9:18 pm

I got a feeling that DAP/PKR/PAS would not last long as two or more will cross over to BN especially Ngeh and Nga. Remember the cousin brothers were the cause of Fong Po Kuan who “run away” ….
    God bless Barison Rakyat!

77. #77 by kslaw70 on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 9:25 pm

Teng for EXCO and DMB of Selangor. No doubt about it.

Teresa u r to tight up dun be greed.

Ronnie, serve Pandamaran well as u r not Klang guy. One vote can put u in this time, one vote can pull u down next term so be careful with what u do and say. We r smart enough to differentiate good or bad, black or white.

Representing a group of Pandamaran voters.

78. #78 by teejay on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 9:26 pm

I refer to chanjoe posting about Teng will be a GOOD deputy MB. I rest my case about “friendly” postings to bolster his case.I am glad that he agrees with me that Teng is not much of a team player. I also help Teng when he was standing in Bukit Gasing DUN in 1990’s. I gave out leaflets and strung out posters for him and supported him 110% , however in this matter of MB I don’t support him.

79. #79 by gofortruth on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 9:29 pm

DAP, PKR & PAS
    Please don’t charge in and try to change every thing over night. Rome was not built in a day.

Put up a good coalition structure like a shadow cabinet and clearly table out all the monumental tasks to plough through. Tackle those easy ones like Corruption, crimes, helping the poor irrespective of race & religion & open tenders,bringing in foreign investments & tourists etc etc. In fact these alone will take up the bulk of your 1st term in state government. Show the results to the rakyat and they will reward you with the Federal government.

BTW, keep a tight watch over Lingam saga (we really detest to be treated like a group of monkeys in the zoo) and help our Indian brothers who are still locked up in ISA camp and our Malay doctor brother who is still in jail.

All the best to BR!

80. #80 by alberttye on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 9:32 pm

It will be stupid for DAP Aduns to fight among themselves for Exco post. In fact, this will be the good time to test these guys’ integrity as the guardians of people’s trust.
    All DAP must remember to struggle for a just society, regardless of race, religion and language!

81. #81 by chanjoe on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 9:38 pm

I am not a “friendly” posting to bolster Teng’s case.
    In terms of seniority and experience, he is the most suitable person.
    His relations with the other BR parties speaks well on his cooperation with PAS & PKR.
    I strongly believe DAP will be making the right choice in picking Teng.

82. #82 by gofortruth on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 9:43 pm

One attack has just come in:-

“NST Online » Frontpage
    2008/03/16

Women NGOs urge Sultan to delay MB swearing-in, consider BN minority government
    By : Newsdesk ”

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Sunday/Frontpage/20080316210935/Article/index_html

83. #83 by Ryan-W on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 9:44 pm

The mainstream media must be taught a lesson. For a start they should not be allowed to cover any BR official functions. After having subscribed to The Star for almost 30 years, I have now switched to Malaysiakini and it’s a lot cheaper – RM80 for 6 months. The news are faster, impartial and more accurate.

Congratulations to PAS-DAP-PKR for coming together with an agreement. I am sure the state will prosper with the new government under the leadership and wisdom of HRH the Sultan of Perak

84. #84 by Good Spirit on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 9:49 pm

At least the first stage will be in place with the swearing in tomorrow. Great! We can still see some light at the end of the tunnel.

Hope the uncertainty ends very soon. No more remarks of the cuff. Use some wisdom and tread carefully.

One for democracy!!

85. #85 by nadzri on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 9:50 pm

terima kasih uncle lim…
    harap uncle jgn di tipu sekali lagi oleh BN…biarkan BN jadi be end.ok

86. #86 by limkamput on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 9:53 pm

May I suggest to all the bloggers here: From now on we shall systematically single out racists, sexists and religious bigots from ALL political parties, isolate them, humiliate them, and give them hell till they capitulate?

For a start, I think another fast emerging Keris waving potential is Ali Rustam, the CM of mosquito state, Melaka. I think it is not too early to identify him with Kerismudin. This Rustam fellow thinks the Federal projects in Penang belong to his grandfather. Hello, the Penang People pay more taxes than Melaka. What right have you got to stop federal projects in Penang? Don’t be a racist and don’t play politics at the expense of people’s fundamental right to choose the government of their choice. By next election, you too will be history if you don’t mend your arrogant way.

87. #87 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 9:54 pm

atlk and the rest.

whenever someone does not follow the nerd mentality , you brand them umno agents / kafir and all sort.

where were you,when marina was questioned by the police at dang wangi.
    beside ronnie from dap, kickdefella and marina mahatir and rockybru. where were you atlk. I WAS THERE. so shut up atlk.

this day. if dap forgets what raja petra and malaysia today had done and organise the mt car stickers , bersih , and even the guts and balls to face the bn intimidation and threats. which included marina , dap willnot have the issues to raise nor the malays to understand the truth. dont ever forget those who play a role in what you are now.

now,atlk talks big. but when bn was in absolute power. when we called for a blogger meet, and special branch were watching. where were you.?

so dont be arrogant and insult “kickdefella’

88. #88 by Godfather on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 9:56 pm

Limkamput:

I agree that we should do more to wipe the smirk off the faces of people like Ali Rustam, Noh Omar, Ghani Othman. These are the people who hasn’t accepted reality, and we should work hard to ensure that they take the long road to oblivion like Khir Toyo and Tajol Rosli.

89. #89 by Godfather on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 9:57 pm

But we should also worry about our enemies within. If you recall, we have a number of so-called DAP supporters who are calling for DAP to quit the state governments in Perak and Selangor and hand these states back to BN administration. With friends like these, we don’t need enemies.

90. #90 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 9:58 pm

moderator seems to be moderating even the word moderate.

91. #91 by teejay on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 9:59 pm

Hi chanjoe, this is my posting earlier today.
    “Some of them says he is the most qualified to have the post. My question is most qualified for what ? My guess is that any candidate will be severely examined in the following areas. Whether the person is a team player, whether he commands the respect of his peers and not only his supporters, his attendance at CEC & State DAP meetings, contribution of his DUN allowance to National DAP,etc. I am sure the leadership will access to all this information and make the proper choice. Last time got 2 opposition members in Selangor DUN – now got 13 members, times change and leaders should also change according to the sitiuation. Meanwhile let us watch carefully to see who puts party interest above selfish ambition. Meanwhile pls take down the banner lah, it is too embarassing. True leaders don’t have to advertise their qualities …..imagine Kit Siang putting up a banner saying he is most qualified to be Parliamentary Opposition leader. Unthinkable !”

Anyway Teng has mentioned in his blog that will submit to the leadership ‘wisdom” as regards the Deputy MB. The leadership is in better position is make the choice as they have access to more info than us.

92. #92 by chanjoe on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:02 pm

There are sabotage work in PeraK to turn over the swearing in ceremony tomorrow.
    First there is a demo in Ipoh padang agst LKS even though LKS had publicly apologise to Regent of Perak.
    Then there are NGOs calling on Sultan not to swear in the BR MB.
    I hope DAP, PAS & PKR will ensure that their ADUNs are not going to be turncoats becuz I believe BN is still rtying to lure some of then to join them.

93. #94 by gofortruth on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:04 pm

Found the photo here:-
    http://pm1.blogspot.com/

94. #95 by wkhuan on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:06 pm

To Chanjoe:

I have posted a similar message regarding Teng’s issue, I am glad that we think alike.

Some people can say that he is not a team player etc etc, but to most of the ordinary people like you and me (no offence to Teejay, you can ask any people – Not DAP members, that have voted and supported DAP in Selangor), he is the most suitable person, as an EXCO.

95. #96 by alancheah on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:08 pm

Days ago, LKY of Gerakan said that he and his son
    will quit politic forever, if rakyat of Perak supports
    PAS candidate to be the MB of Perak. So, LKY & son,
    please REALLY DO so!!!

96. #97 by highhand on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:18 pm

some people think they own the people, n the people owe them

97. #98 by sungaisiput on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:19 pm

Interesting developments are taking place even as i write and i hope and pray LKS will not become a obstacle to the changes that will be unfolding in the weeks and months ahead.He must act as a honourable chairman and leave the running of the DAP to LIM Guan Eng,the secretarial general of DAP.Please dont make any statement that can have serious repercusions and reflect badly on the new coalition.This is the time to unite and sail as a team.You have done the hard work now sit relax and let the young one soldier on from now on.This is gonna be totally uncharted territory.

98. #99 by alberttye on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:24 pm

Umno Ultras has the history and tradition of resorting to radical racial stunts to win back Malay support.
    The rakyat must be vigilant and wise in countering these anti-national moves.

99. #100 by Tantech on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:29 pm

Could LKS enlighten us why the tussle over the past week about MB? Tell us what had actually traspired. Did sultan wanted DAP to be MB? And PKR and PAS kept on saying Malay, Muslim? Did sultan give in to PKR and PAS?

100. #101 by catharsis on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:29 pm

JUST TAKE THE CENTRAL PATH- NOT TO THE LEFT OR TO THE RIGHT………………….BN WILL BE ROUTED IN THE NEXT ELECTION

PUBLIC POLICIES SHOULD BE FORMULATED WITHOUT THE PRISM GLASSES ON, SO THAT POLICIES OF THE PEOPLE FOR THE PEOPLE AND BY THE PEOPLE CAN BE FOSTERED. THOUGH IT IS EASILY SAID THAN DONE

101. #102 by novice101 on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:30 pm

Tomorrow the 3 BR parties will embark on an unprecedented journey into unexplored territories. This journey will surely be arduous and be full of unexpected events.

Though you will be the ones, physically, travelling on the journey but emotionally, you have hundreds of thousand souls of your countrymen travelling along side you. We want you to see you succeed. The days ahead will call for tenacity, persistency, sensitivity and restraint. Negative actions like posturing, trying to outshine each other, running down each other, bickering will tempt you along the way, wisdom and discipline to resist need to be the armour.

Remember there are also hundreds of thousand other souls who want to see you fail.

102. #103 by gitf701 on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:32 pm

Uncle Kit,

I am continually amazed by your commitment and zeal to fight for the least of society and the under privileged regardless of race. Do continue to keep this in mind now that you are the Government. Never compromise your past principles even though it would cost you votes and even power. End of the day, thats the most honorable thing in life.

However, given the circumstances, you have also learn to be practical. Pick the right battles to fight. Sometimes we might need to lose the battle but win the war. Think of it, sometimes if we cannot be the head, why not be the neck that twist the head. Also, PLAN well ahead of time. In Singapore, the Government is planning 10, 20, 30 years ahead!! What about about a 5 year plan at least.

Now that, my good friend Koo Ham would be the Perak Government. I hope that he too would stick to his principles. Hope that all the voices of the underpriviledged would be heard and action taken to manage things differently in Perak. Let Meritocracy and Efficiency rules the day.

Also, I observed the are huge amount of Malaysians overseas. Like in Singapore, most of the people I spoke to supported but do not vote because its too inconvevient. Is there a possibility to have Oversea Voting like what the Singapore Government have? What is the process of getting it done? Parliament?

Finally, looking at the results, interesting to see how irrelevant the MSM like Star, NST and RTM has become. Also, thank them for making the Rakyak even more angry with the mismanagement around us. Is it possible to urge people to switch to Malaysia Kini. Also what about building up alternative news like DAP or Barisan Rakyak TV etc??

Long Live Kit Siang and DAP!

103. #104 by nahoda on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:49 pm

Is another history chapter in malaysia politic history, I guess the coalition of PKR DAP & PAS was not in anyone thought before. But today it happened due to voice of people. Hope this new coalition will work in one agreed obejctive.

Well done PKR, DAP & PAS

104. #105 by GradUnion on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:53 pm

Dear YB Lim Kit Siang & YAB Lim Guan Eng,

Firstly, we congratulate DAP, PKR & PAS (herein called Tiga Sekawan of Barisan Rakyat) for capturing four key economic states in Penang, Perak Selangor and Kedah (including retaining Kelantan by PAS).

We hope they will run these states fairly for all races and serve the people well for the next 50 years beyond to break BN history record. Tiga Sekawan has broke the 50th Merdeka history when BN was badly bruised in 2008. Now our BN federal government needs to work closely with Tiga Sekawan here in order to bring prosperous for all people of Northern States cum Kelantan.

We, Perakians are dam angry and sad when the Tiga Sekawan actors from DAP, PKR and PAS started playing “Sandiwara” fighting show during the pre-selection and pre-swearing ceremony of Perak MB. Such silly acts were not acceptable by all Malaysians especially Perakians. We and BN Opposition component parties laughed when “Tiga Sekawan” created “Cat Wars” and caused our beloved the Regent of Perak to cancel the swearing ceremony show. Yes, finally Tiga Sekawan is to be rewarded for the forthcoming swearing in of Perak MB soon when all parties are happy with the nomination of the best PAS actor in this show. Bravo !!

We believed that it is time all Tiga Sekawan should be serious in carrying our their duties to serve their people honestly and hard working. Dont be too arrogant and lazy like BN Opposition member who was sacked by the people now. Kindly reminded that your Opposition BN is watching cum monitoring your performances in this 5 years. You must proof them that your are the Best State Assembly man is ever ready to serve the people daily (not only during election time to shake his/her hands ).

Please remember a good noble advise from GANDHI quoted : “from PROMISE to POWER, WIN with Humble, DEFEAT with Grace, TRUST and NON-Violence are as old as all HILLS ”

Malaysians voted Barisan Rakyat of DAP, PKR & DAP to POWER from your PROMISES to them. It is time Winner should be humble serving the people and let Defeat BN lose gracefully in your Opposition shoes. We believed that TRUST & Non-Violence among Barisan Rakyat representatives will be the next Federal Government if you have proof them at state govt level in this 5 years. It takes DAP for 30 years or more to fight it out as Opposition party to become State Goverment, please just dont lose it in a small cat fight over a Sandiwara show in Perak.

Please establised a solid “BARISAN RAKYAT” today.

Finally, God and Allah blessing to Tiga Sekawan.
    Once again, Tahniah !!

Best regards,
    Perakians cum DAP Loyal supporters.

105. #106 by alberttye on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:53 pm

Mr LKS is a tested and experienced leader since the day when he involved in the great cultural debate with Gerakan in 1968.
    He has proven that he has the strategy and wit to sail through troubled waters.
    The rakyat shall do their part by giving him and DAP all the support they need to face the gigantous onslaught of Umno racial hotheads including the Utusan

106. #107 by nus on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 10:54 pm

BR, Bravo, ALLS WELL THAT ENDS WELL.

GREAT

Let us forget the recent unhappiness. Just teething problems.

But do remember your manifesto to fulfil your promises and we the rakyat would return you again in the next GE.

107. #108 by fuad on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 11:08 pm

Mr Lim Kit Siang, you and your dear son has diappointed us over the last one week.

You have no respect for the Sultan [You do not insult the sultan in your blog then apologise over the blog. That is not on!!].Learn PROTOCOL PROTOCOL PROTOCOL!!! Poorly handled the Perak coalision. Given chance of a life time but blew it because of greed amongst DAP ADUN

Similar Greed is happening in Selangor. BN is laughing quietly in the backgroung .Pl solve it!!!

You Dear son is handling the NEP issue in a too arrogant manner.He blew it.

Hey , the malays voted for DAP too that is why DAP is where ut is today. Golden opportunity to prove to the Malays that DAP is a party for all races! Wake up!!!

To know how most people felt about how DAP fare over the past week , read what Raja Petra has to say in –
    http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/

Good Luck and pl do not blow it again ! Look at the longer term, if not DAP will be out for the next 50 years come next general election

108. #109 by Independent View on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 11:09 pm

Uncle Lim,
    What had happened to Selangor, Penang and Perak? First of all, Perak’s problem considered solved. I’m satisfy that you apologize to Sultan and though I’m a chinese, I accepted the decision and hopefully people of Perak and Malaysia can be open minded enough to change the constitution for Mentri Besar post be appointed based on capability not on race.
    As for Penang, I would like to ask Lim Guan Eng to stop speaking like he’s debating on Parliament. We don’t need him to bring out the NEP issues, he just need to walk the action, not the talk so that the UMNO in Penang will shut up. He doesn’t need to talk about supporting Anwar to be the next PM, having Abdullah’s name on 2nd bridge of Penang, and so on…that’s all bolony. That doesn’t attact my attention, nor the Malays nor Indians friends’ attention. We just want to see your plan and action for the next 5 years. So, just move on and do it Lim Guan Eng, stop giving too much speaking on the press conference.
    And for Selangor, we hope that the party’s internal politics will be solved with mutual understanding. I do felt that at certain point capable leaders in DAP was not appreciated. But it’s up to the rest to judge whether what I’m saying is right. I felt that due to the internal conflict in DAP resulting a postponement of the DCM post in Selangor. So shame on DAP…you all need to solve the internal conflicts and start getting along with each other before the Rakyat can accept the Mentri Besar post to be given to DAP in the future.

Finally I’m asking Uncle Lim to consider his retirement in the next few years. You’ve done a lot for the party and you’ve helped the party to achieved its dream this election. Denying BN’s 2/3 and won Penang. So I think it’s time for you to pass the baton to new stars in DAP.

109. #110 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 11:31 pm

12 more hours to go for the swearing in ceremony.

12 hours for further bargaining. Who knows? Some ADUNs might still switch camps. Not too late. Price gone up sharply like the price of gold.

Its going to be a very long night. Sleep well.

110. #111 by leealex24 on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 11:42 pm

Good to hear that it’s finally resolved. But, the journey has just started and the opposition coalition will now need to walk the talk by genuinely and effectively implement all the necessary steps in ensuring the successful implementation of the policies be it open tender, coordinated efforts to lure foreign direct investment which is especially scarce as we face greater competition from our neighbors and of course, continue to help the people regardless of race. Thus, having said that, we need to ensure Perak or even the states that the opposition coalition controls (PKR/DAP/PAS) are liberal, progressive, efficient and secular. We can’t afford to implement “backward” policies in the face of adverse and globalized challenges ahead of us.

111. #112 by Old Geezer on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 11:50 pm

Looking forward to see this sorry episode quickly settled and out of the way. There appears to be a storm brewing with the Perak women ngos petitioning the Sultan for a minority UMNO govt.

Ngeh Koo Ham should wear something to cover his balding head and unkemp hair. Obviously a baseball cap is not going to work; so a songkok would be nice and neat, and show some respect to the Sultan as well.

But wait. Lau Weng San of Selangor DAP was criticised by some DAP members for wearing a songkok claiming that he was ‘trying to become a Malay’ and ‘selling out the Chinese’.

So, what to do?

Ngeh should shave his head then because that would be clean looking and neat. Then the Chinese can say proudly that he was protesting the appointment of the PAS MB. That should cover DAP’s arse when talking to the Chinese voters in Perak.

Hey guys, that was a tongue-in-cheek comment because it is annoying to see Ngeh on Youtube constantly sweeping aside his hair.

112. #113 by cto on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 11:58 pm

chanjoe Says:

Today at 21: 38.05 (2 hours ago)
    I am not a “friendly” posting to bolster Teng’s case.
    In terms of seniority and experience, he is the most suitable person.
    His relations with the other BR parties speaks well on his cooperation with PAS & PKR.
    I strongly believe DAP will be making the right choice in picking Teng.

———————-

You gotta to be kidding me. :)

Please read some of the comments in the “uncharted waters” thread. May be it is just a matter of personal style but I seriously cannot see how one can establish good cooperation and relationship with one’s partner but publicly criticizing the partner.

113. #114 by Old Geezer on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 12:01 am

(Moderator, my previous comment does not have the f-word but anyway, this version is sanitised. My apologies.)

Looking forward to see this sorry episode quickly settled and out of the way. There appears to be a storm brewing with the Perak women ngos petitioning the Sultan for a minority UMNO govt.

Ngeh Koo Ham should wear something to cover his balding head and unkemp hair. Obviously a baseball cap is not going to work; so a songkok would be nice and neat, and show some respect to the Sultan as well.

But wait. Lau Weng San of Selangor DAP was criticised by some DAP members for wearing a songkok claiming that he was ‘trying to become a Malay’ and ’selling out the Chinese’.

So, what to do?

Ngeh should shave his head then because that would be clean looking and neat. Then the Chinese can say proudly that he was protesting the appointment of the PAS MB. That should appease the Chinese voters in Perak.

Hey guys, that was a tongue-in-cheek comment because it is annoying to see Ngeh on Youtube constantly sweeping aside his hair.

114. #115 by cto on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 12:07 am

RealWorld Says:

Today at 20: 15.03 (3 hours ago)
    Firstly, I congratulate PKR PAS DAP for capturing Perak. I hope they will run the state fairly for all races.

We will be back in 5 years.
    Hidup BN!

———————————–

Ah, my friend RealWorld.

I like your sporting spirit as much as I like your fighting spirit. We should go out and celebrate the GE. :)

Take care, brother and may BN rule wisely, fairly and cleanly.

115. #116 by Old Geezer on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 12:11 am

Seriously speaking, I think DAP would get some political mileage with the Malays and the Sultan by wearing songkok to atone for the hiccup. Just discard the old mentality and grow up. There is nothing wrong with the songkok.

116. #117 by observer on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 12:19 am

Am glad, that this issue has been resolved finally. My advise to DAP/PKR and PAS is that you guys have come a long way to where you are today. Your strategy to place just one candidate in one seat instead of having one each was great and this made BN suffer. You now have this opportunity to prove yourselves. Cut the bikering and do what has to be done. If you realise, you guys have done very well against BN’s strong machinery, the media, manpower, the huge sum of money at their disposal, the outnumbered banners and posters and some many things put together. They had everything but you had the peoples attention and desire to have a diferrent set of representatives in the parliament. You pointed out the facts, they were threatening us with a possible repeat of 0513.

If you noticed, they never touched on issues relating to the what more can be done. They touched on security- which is currently at a pathetically rotten state, they touched on economic stability-to which they did not give any statistics, they avoided corruption as there is so much to talk, they avoided current issues like-correct! correct! correct! to which the rakyat was keen to see solutions.

So, just do what you had promised the people to ensure you sapu more states in the next election.

KODOS! to all of you and happy governing the states under your control. For starters, pls check on the DBKL fellows. They are not doing their job. Also pls attend all parliament sessions unlike the BN boys who normally don’t.

117. #118 by pgsilai on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 12:23 am

When majority of Penang voters chose DAP-PKR-PAS on 8th Mar, we are ready to face Change. Well, you think the idea of removing Federal projects will scare us? Sore losers out there please accept reality, otherwise by the next election you will be the one begging us if you are the minority.

118. #119 by cmbss on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 12:29 am

119. #120 by sebol on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 12:32 am

Soalan Ringkas:

Dah beli Songkok?

120. #121 by showsomemercy on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 12:33 am

Aiyoh, songkok matters again? You all got nothing else better to say meh? Long story liow leh this one…

121. #122 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 12:35 am

DAP proposes Iban deputy prime minister

Proper for an Iban to be made DPM as he will represent the majority of ethnic group: Wong

KUCHING: Chief Ministers of Sarawak and Sabah should recommend to the Prime Minister to have deputy prime ministers from the Iban and Kadazandusun communities as the two communities represent the majority of ethnic groups in both states.

Sarawak Democratic Action Party (DAP) chairman Wong Ho Leng said he saw no harm to have a few deputy prime ministers representing the Chinese, Indian and ethnic groups from Sarawak and Sabah.

“It augurs well with the 1963 Malaysia Agreement and Cobbold Commission which reported that both states were lagging behind and therefore special treatment should be given to Sabah and Sarawak,” he told reporters here yesterday when asked to comment on a new website aimed at collecting petitions to have a Chinese deputy prime minister in the cabinet.

Wong who is Bukit Assek assemblyman said he agreed with the website but felt that the proposed new post should not be limited to the Chinese.

“We should have Indian, Iban and Kadazandusun deputy prime ministers as well,” he said.

He said it would not be difficult to have the posts as the prime minister could appoint ministers from the cabinet as extra portfolio would not incur additional expenditure.

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is expected to announce his new cabinet tomorrow and the line-up is expected to reflect the power-sharing concept of the Barisan Nasional (BN) which includes all communities.

Previous federal cabinets had one deputy prime minister only and the post has been held by a Malay from the United Malays National Organisation (Umno).

Earlier, Wong chaired a meeting attended by all DAP candidates in the state who contested in the just concluded election.

Out of the seven seats contested, DAP won only in Bandar Kuching.

He said during the meeting, all candidates submitted their post mortem reports.

DAP would seriously consider filing election petitions for Sibu, Lanang and Sarikei following alleged irregularities and suspected corrupt practices discovered by opposing candidates and their election agents and machinery, he said.

Citing examples, he said BN/Sarawak United People’s Party (SUPP) candidates in Sibu and Lanang held eight unity dinners to treat the masses, while in Sarikei, its candidate promised to build a college if elected – which was an inducement under the election laws.

“We’ve formed a legal panel comprising seven members to study the petition headed by (founder and vice chairman) Chong Siew Chiang, myself, Chong Chieng Jen, Stephen Lu, Violet Yong, Alvin Yong and Wong King Wei,” he said.

He said the party would file the petitions if it was confident with the cases, claiming that money politics and Parti Keadilan Rakyat’s (PKR) uncooperative mode also led to DAP’s losses.

Wong said he had rated three seats, Sibu, Lanang and Sarikei as winnable while Stampin as having a winning chance but PKR blew DAP’s chances.

Quality of candidates was not a contributing factor, he pointed out.

He said Chieng Jen had a better edge than other candidates as the latter had served one term, thus voters knew he had been speaking without fear or favour in parliament and had been working for the people.

To a question, Wong said he would not quit as DAP state chairman as yet but he would let go of the post if there was a suitable candidate to take over the helm in the next party convention.

He said he was “willing to let go” after eight years so that there would be fresher ideas and direction for the party. “But I don’t quit. Quitting is not on the card,” he added.

Last Sunday (March 9), Wong wrote on his blog that 2008 could be the last year for him leading DAP in the state.

He wrote: “I have to take full responsibility for the failure of DAP Sarawak in this election. If the party, in the next convention, is able to find someone willing to helm the state party, I’m too willing to let go.”

“It has been a pleasure to have served DAP Sarawak for eight years as chairman.

“Perhaps, time to let go so that there will be fresher ideas and direction. The party has to decide, not me,” he added.

122. #123 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 12:41 am

PLEASE TAKE NOTE
    THE FEDERAL CAPITAL WILL BE MOVED TO MUKAH, SARAWAK (home town of Taib Mahmud, who has a Pehin[pronounced as pay him] Title, above Tun title)

Bigger Sarawak representation in federal cabinet?
    By Raynore Mering

PEHIN Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud is coy about whether the Sarawak BN will request for more seats in the federal cabinet after he led the coalition to a thumping victory in the just-concluded parliamentary election.

The Chief Minister told reporters recently: “No, I don’t normally lobby for things like this. We leave it to the Prime Minister to consider. He knows the feelings in Sarawak and so I think he will take note of it.”

Many political observers, including prominent political commentators in the peninsula, also agree that Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi should take note of it.

So tomorrow, they will all know if Abdullah, who was sworn in for a second term as the PM on March 10, agrees with them when he announces his new cabinet line-up.

A stronger representation in the federal cabinet for Sarawak and indeed, Sabah is not without reason.

In the just concluded polls, the coalition had won more than a quarter of its seats in East Malaysia.

Sarawak delivered the most seats with 30 out of 31 contested seats, while Sabah delivered 24 out of 25 seats.

The final tally was BN 140, opposition 82. Having lost five states in the peninsula, the BN was denied the two-third majority.

As the dust settled, Sarawak proved that it is the bastion of the BN and the talk was that the state as well as Sabah should get more posts in the federal cabinet.

In the last federal cabinet reshuffle on Feb 15, 2006, Abdullah appointed two full ministers, five deputy ministers and two parliamentary secretaries from Sarawak.

The whole cabinet has 32 ministers, 39 deputy ministers and 19 parliamentary secretaries.

Some of its members, including full ministers, were among the casualties in the election.

While appointments to the cabinet are the prerogative of the prime minister, it seems to follow the representation or size of each party in parliament and given the results of the polls, some changes can only be expected.

Among the Sarawak BN parties, Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) presently has a full minister (Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Dato Sri Effendi Norwawi), a deputy minister (Deputy Transport Minister Datuk Douglas Uggah Embas) and a parliamentary secretary (Datuk Rohani Karim, Rural and Regional Development Ministry).

The Sarawak United People’s Party (SUPP) also has the same number of portfolios — Plantation Industries and Commodities Minister Datuk Peter Chin, Deputy Housing and Local Government Minister Datuk Robert Lau and Works Ministry Parliamentary Secretary Datuk Yong Khoon Seng.

Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) has two deputy ministers — Joseph Entulu Belaun (Prime Minister’s Department) and Datuk Joseph Salang Gandum (Foreign Ministry).

And the Sarawak Progressive Democratic Party (SPDP) only has Deputy Rural and Regional Development Minister Datuk Dr Tiki Lafe.

PBB won all the 14 contested seats in the concluded polls, SUPP won six out of seven, PRS won all six contested seats and SPDP won all four contested seats.

PBB had increased its representation in parliament after it won three new seats — Igan, Sibuti and Limbang.

Although the state BN leaders have been generally tight-lipped about their expectations, some sources claimed that the state coalition is making their request for additional posts as a unit.

It is believed that the state coalition is requesting for five full ministers post.

PBB could be asking for an additional full minister’s and deputy minister’s post; SUPP, an additional deputy minister’s post; and PRS and SPDP are said to be each requesting for an additional minister’s and parliamentary secretary’s post.

As Effendi had announced that he is retiring and with possibly one additional post to fill, PBB could have considered three names based on their seniority and experience.

Some sources in the party say Uggah, the Betong MP, could move up the ranks and become a full minister and Mukah MP Dato Sri Dr Mohd Leo Michael Toyad could make a comeback in the federal cabinet.

Dr Leo was the Tourism Minister before the February 2006 reshuffle.

The dark horse is said to be Datuk Wahab Dolah, Igan’s unopposed MP and a former assistant state minister.

For the deputy minister’s posts, the candidates could be Rohani, the Batang Lupar MP, and PBB youth chief and Petra Jaya MP, Fadillah Yusof.

As for the parliamentary secretary’s post, some PBB sources say first term MP for Tanjong Manis, Norah Abdul Rahman, could be a candidate.

In SUPP, Miri MP Chin and Sibu MP Lau are expected to retain their positions as a minister and deputy minister respectively.

An additional deputy minister’s post could go to Stampin MP Datuk Yong Khoon Seng, who has served as a parliamentary secretary for more than 10 years. If indeed Yong is appointed a deputy minister, rumour has it that the name of Serian MP, Datuk Richard Riot Jaem, is in the cards.

As for PRS, a full minister’s post would be a toss between Selangau MP Entulu and Julau MP Salang, while the deputy minister’s post could go to either Kanowit MP Aaron Ago Dagang or Hulu Rajang MP Billy Abit Joo.

One of PRS two new faces, Masir Kujat (Sri Aman) and William Nyallau (Lubok Antu), might also be proposed, maybe for the parliamentary secretary’s post.

And in SPDP, there are speculations that Mas Gading MP Dr Tiki could move up but then again, there are rumours that he could be dropped.

Whatever it is, SPDP has four MPs and it would be interesting to see if it gets a full minister’s, a deputy minister’s and parliamentary secretary’s posts. One of the names bandied about a lot of late for a federal appointment is Baram MP Datuk Jacob Dungau Sagan.

When appointing members of the cabinet, it is only natural that Abdullah would also be looking at the qualifications of the candidates and the needs of the states from where the candidates are from.

Looking at the current cabinet, portfolios like Effendi’s which was mainly in economic planning, works, rural and regional development, agriculture or plantation industries, and science and technology could be beneficial for Sarawak given the state’s objectives.

It is really anybody’s guess who Abdullah will appoint to the cabinet and how many seats Sarawak could get.

He could even decide not to give Sarawak more since he had reportedly told BN leaders in Putrajaya on Thursday that he wanted to reduce the number of cabinet members.

A political observer opined that in reducing the number of cabinet members, Abdullah is trying – as much as possible – to maintain the quota for Umno and the other peninsula-based coalition parties, all of which are still reeling from their defeats, until the next general election in the belief that the coalition can win over the protest votes.

However, the best way to turn the tide might be for Abdullah to announce a stronger cabinet, strengthen the government and enhance its service to the people in the next five years or until the next parliamentary election.

And hopefully, Sarawak too will get to play a greater part in that.

123. #124 by gofortruth on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 12:50 am

Lim kY was trying to turn Chinese against DAP in Perak, if you read Chinese, this article is a good one to shut his mouth:-

http://www.malaysiakini.com/letters/79892

124. #125 by Menang atau mati on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 12:52 am

I am with CG, saubing, dap-for- pj and anybodyelse who cares:

:1. cg Says:
    Today at 20: 52.52 (2 hours ago)
    saubing:
    I support your call to boycott mainstream news paper and in fact many of my acquaintances are already boycotting them due to their 1-sided reports

1. saubing Says:
    Today at 19: 01.39 (4 hours ago)
    to dap-for-pj,
    I support your call to boycott mainstream newspaper. When hindraf and Bersih hold demonstration, not much were written but when Umno organised a demonstration, they is much coverage and even boast the number of demonstratorsto 3000 (NST) where it is only around 1000 or less. I have also subscribed to malaysiakini. Bernama can even misquote our beloved LGE by inciting hatred and fear for May 13 incident. I supoort your call to BOYCOTT!!!! anyone with us??

1. dap-for-pj Says:
    Today at 17: 47.13 (5 hours ago)
    i am responding to a call to refrain from buying mainstream media …star, nst, …………to teach them a lesson………anybody with me? I am subscribing to Malaysiakini!

Dear cg, saubing,dap-for-pj and like-minded people out here,

Organising a Boycott of the Star

The Star has been very partial all this while and was trying its level best to inflict maximum damage to the Barisan rakyat during the run-up to the 12th GE.It has been highly irresponsible in the discharge of its journalistic duties ,

A)Large Scale Hit and Run Strategy

To be effective a boycott has to be widespread enough.There is no point having a few people boycotting it her and there ,now and then.

I believe I have posted here before on the issue of boycotting the Sar.I will repeat it here again.

Many people will not be able to boycott the star on a long term basis without an alternative internet or mainstream media that covers all aspects of what a newspaper will cover.

Currently ,political news is well covered by Malaysiakini .Business and other related news is not.
    Many people and companies buy the newspapers for non- political news and cannot do with a long term boycott of the newspaper.However ,they can do with a short term boycott for a specific period of say a few days to a week.

Who do you think provides the most revenues to the mainstream media?Not the ordinary individual readers.It is the businesses who pays for the advertisements in the media .

Revenue from sales of the newspaper itself is pittance compared to revenues from adverts.

So to be successful we need the businesses to co- operate.But businesses cannot do without the MSM permanently currently due lack of alternatives.

I am one of those in the same category and will wholeheartedly support a short term concerted boycott of the newspapers concerned for a period of say a few days.

This boycott can be repeated intermittently to inflict regular and heavy damage to the MSM concerned until they repent.

The specified days should be made known in advance to the public.On these days if the Rakyat are working as one in the same way they did during the 12th General election ,the circulation of the newspaper concerned will drop dramatically.

Businesses will not advertise in the paper concerned once they know that the papers will not be read on certain dates.

Imagine the amount of loss in advertising revenues the paper concerned will experience.

B) Strategy of Alternating between MSMs

Since the MSM market is basically monopolized by 2 papers namely, The Star and The Straits Times, we can adopt another strategy ,this time by alternating long term boycotts of these 2 papers.

We can start with,say a 6 month boycott of The Star where everybody switches to The Straits Times if they need to buy at least one paper.

Or we can continue as long as necessary until we they mend their ways.If they do but the Straits Times do not, then we start boycotting the Straits Times.

Anytime ,they go wayward,we can repeat the formula.
    It is like voting for a two party system:

“If mummy is good to me ,run to mummy. If not – run to daddy”.

All these require organization,so I am just waiting for somebody or organization to lead the way. What say you you guys out there?

What say Raja Petra and the leaders of the Barisan Rakyat parties and the bloggers here?

BTW, I have been subscribing to Malaysiakini for sometime now as my personal paper.

125. #126 by gofortruth on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 1:01 am

This is a must read for all DAP people and will keep LWY of UK quiet:-

http://www.malaysiakini.com/letters/79906

126. #127 by Godfather on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 1:10 am

Hahaha…it won’t keep him quiet. He will start regurgitating all the anti-PAS articles soon, especially those from the early years of this decade.

127. #128 by Menang atau mati on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 1:14 am

Correct!Correct!Correct!

It won’t keep him quiet.

He will keep babbling away.

However,at least ,we know that few if any of us here , buys his “sale”.

128. #129 by St0rmFury on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 1:21 am

YB, I didn’t jump into the bash-lim-kit-siang bandwagon because I prefer to look at both sides of the coin before I make any judgments. Thinking back, I believe I understand why you did it. While it was a very risky move which could have destroyed all your hard work, I believe it is also your responsibility to the less informed Chinese voters who are still wary of PAS.

To those fickle minded people whose faith in DAP crumbled because of this single episode, you should be ashamed of yourselves.

129. #130 by One4All4One on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 1:27 am

Cafe latte with LGE and Khalid Ibrahim…the honour of interviewing these two personalities should go to a neutral party, certainly not The Star as this tabloid had been lopsided in their reporting of the opposition all these while. Would The Star ever gave them space before the GE2008? Dream on.

Time to tarik harga a little. Not that it is ungentlemanly, it is just that the paper has no moral ground to do so at the moment. Let them do more fair reporting over a certain period first before granting them any such priveleges as to interview the new Cm and MB.

It is a ploy to make their paper ‘laku’ ..think about it…more people would nuy the paper with the interviews!

130. #131 by One4All4One on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 1:28 am

It is a ploy to make their paper ‘laku’ ..think about it…more people would buy the paper with the interviews!

131. #132 by Godfather on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 1:37 am

No, I think we should be magnanimous and not get into isolationist mode. I have personally warned Wong Chun Wai about his brown-nosed tactics, and he may or may not respond to public pressure, but we should give him a chance and see what happens to the reporting.

Until we get our own subjective licence to start a new paper, we should continue to engage the mainstream press.

132. #133 by gofortruth on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 1:39 am

By all mean go for the interview but politely & gentlemenly drop the biggest bomb there that they will never forget that we the rakyat deserves the TRUTH and not spinned lies. Go smash them!

133. #134 by gofortruth on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 1:40 am

Godfather you are so gracious and tactful. Thanks!

134. #135 by Concern citizen on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 1:45 am

I believe the Penang DAP Exco Member Mr. Loh Heng Jiang who incharge of tourism portfolio should observe and familirize with state administration and procedure before claim GERAKAN ex-exco member for “stealing” the file. In fact, I read through the news reported in chinese daily where “Teng Chang Yeow” reorganize the file and ready to past it to state sectretary,

Please, please. show your political maturity, you are no longer in opposition whereas you are part of the state cabinet member. Please don’t simply issue statement before do a thorough investigation. Do adjust your position, and don’t let us down by continue issue statements and condemn now and then.

Penangites who attended the DAP ceramah in Hanjiang.

135. #136 by One4All4One on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 2:05 am

I was talking about moral grounds. It is not about being gracious / tactful. Why should the Star be given such honour instead of another paper which gave fair views n good times or bad? It is just a cheap publicity stunt that The Star is going after and in the process sell more copies of their paper.

It is not about being vengeful, it is to put across the message that they have to be fair then and now.

Let them be side-lined for some time before granting them the honour of interviewing LGE and Khalid. Give the honour to a more deserving paper first.

136. #137 by Godfather on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 2:06 am

There is no other “deserving” paper. They all serve the den of thieves.

137. #138 by cucu adam on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 2:06 am

Congratulation. At last and hopefully there will be no more delays or postponements. And it is high time, the three parties no longer think as DAP-PKR-PAS lose coalition but as one front or barisan (appropriately call it Barisan Rakyat). Can this principle of government be applied to the other four states, including Kelantan. And please, please no statement will be made to hurt the other partners otherwise it will be a laughing stock and be manipulated by BN/UMNO and the media

Imagine if the coalition lasts until the next election, and govern in a more effective manner than those states governed by BN/UMNO, not only other states will be taken over by the Barisan Rakyat, the Federal Government of Malaysia will also be ruled by the Barisan Rakyat.

Let be serious about this and make it works. The world is watching, and please do not let us down.

138. #139 by One4All4One on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 2:15 am

WEll, then don’t Cafe latte yet.

Let the elected representatives get down to work and chat with the press later. Any contact with the press would better be used to make official announcements and to report work progress..not small talk at this sensitive times..cos opportunists are around to pounce on any statements which they deem not related to their work..

139. #140 by Menang atau mati on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 2:24 am

I agree with one4All4one.
    The Star is owned by MCA.

That Datuk Wong guy is a schoolmate of mine.
    He and The Star needs to be taught some journalistic morals.

No response on my boycott issue?

140. #141 by Menang atau mati on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 2:37 am

Surprise! Surprise! Surprise!

On the night of election day,the tv channels were extremely slow wth the results.So we tried Malaysiakini, DAP election website,as well as Raja Petra’s blog.But these site were heavy with traffic , getting in was next to impossible.

So we tried NST on line,to our surprise their posting of the results were almost uptodate as from the website we already knew that Selangor,Perak and Penang had already fallen on that night.

141. #142 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 3:38 am

there will be a chaos when Mukhriz is punished. how can a party become better when you act as a dictator, to stop any one from voicing out their view?

Mukhriz to know fate soon

KUALA LUMPUR: Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir’s fate will be known after the Umno Youth executive council meets soon to discuss the action to be taken against him for urging the Prime Minister to step down.

The movement’s chief, Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Tun Hussein, said the executive council, of which Mukhriz is a member, would discuss his unsanctioned action after the Cabinet line-up was formed.

142. #143 by gofortruth on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 4:26 am

very good advice:-

“Finally, opposition politicians must put their collective fate above personal needs. Yes, some have been lone voices in the previous state governments but they must show the people that they are different from BN. Any form of bickering, no matter how small, even over a potted plant, will be used against them.”

http://www.malaysiakini.com/letters/79842
    ——————–
    Uncle Lim
    Is it a good idea to get the young coalition to organise a special internal audit unit to go through matters of the previous state governments? In a stipulated time frame from department to department, systematically expose & clean up any hanky panky irregularities & abuses. Gather the audited results and bring to book any offenders.
    Ultimately using that audit report as a basis to root out/ deter any source of future hanky panky stuff / corrupt temptation that may creep in.

143. #144 by undergrad2 on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 5:14 am

I could swear my posting went up. Then some time later it disappeared!! LOL.

144. #145 by undergrad2 on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 5:16 am

…and just as it disappeared it appeared! But no one else could see it. What a waste of time!

145. #146 by jetaime.f on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 6:01 am

undergrad2: I was skimming through your write-up on the other blog and before I could finished, poof, it just vanished into thin air…. LOL!!! May be I have change gear to express skimming next time….. :)

146. #147 by jetaime.f on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 6:05 am

undergrad2: Whilst I was skimming through your write-up in the other blog, poof it vanished into thin air. Perhaps, I need to shift to express skimming gear next time. LOL……:)

147. #148 by Jimm on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 8:09 am

I believe that BR will be a much better government than BN as all their members are allow to voiced out their feelings as they are the eyes and ears to all grassroot level and people.
    We are in Malaysia and all Malaysian normally needed to be heard.
    Giver them enough time and support and we will proudly see enough changes daily even there are still room for improvement.
    Overall, it’s better than BN government.
    080308 have also brought about massive changes to those BN dogs and gods, today they don’t talk without thinking like those old days.
    We, rakyat have decided and we have send a direct clear message to both government about our welfare and livinghood.
    We also do not want any development that causes our livinghood to be tied down and living beyond our means.
    The world may be changing at a faster pace, however, we need to know our own pace and respect all Malaysian rights.
    We do not need to chase after our own shadows each day and hide under a mask to be a Malaysian.

148. #149 by richard.wong8 on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 8:33 am

I would like to congratulate DAP, PKR & PAS for winning. Also, to this fellow “SAMMY VELU” who wrote to say he’s disappointed that Perak’s MB is from PAS and will not vote for DAP anymore, please be a mature person. Even though Mohamad Nizar Jamaludin is from PAS, at least let him have a chance to proof his worth. How can this “SAMMY VELU” fellow just write him off?
    Also, if he were to ban 4Ds, horse racing, I will agree with him even though I’m a Chinese. At least this will help those who loose money and borrowing from “Ah Longs”, if not rob.
    So please bear in mind that DAP, PKR or PAS is for all races, all religion.

149. #150 by undergrad2 on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 8:34 am

Rumor has it that the price of songkok has gone up! Anybody knows why??

150. #151 by yhsiew on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 9:02 am

I notice in the newspapers that only Chinese faces appeared in the photos in most of the DAP gatherings.

Perhaps DAP can consider organizing some multi-racial activities such as Marathon and charity fund raising to dispel people’s perception that DAP is a party meant only for the Chinese.

151. #152 by Orang_Kite on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 9:08 am

See what happen in Perlis and Terenganu… they UMNO more rude, imrespect Malay Rulers Contituency…
    “Dulang Paku Serpih, Cakap Orang Sendiri Lebih”

152. #153 by SammyVelu on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 9:19 am

Till date, do we still believe that DAP had “successfullly” evolved from Chinese-only party to a multi-racial party? If yes, among the “loose-coalition” parties, who is representing Chineses community? I’m sorry to say that i may be too conservative or old-fashioned, my faith in BR is still only DAP, not PKR and never be PAS!
    http://www.sammyvelu.blogspot.com

153. #154 by RealWorld on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 9:38 am

“There won’t be a BN in 5 years. All the BN parties are imploding, including your beloved U Must Not Object party.” – Godfather

Well, you got your wish. The rakyat have decided. Lets try out the Opposition for 5 years.

But do note, 5 years will come pretty soon enough. Dont deliver, the rakyat can sure enough throw you lot out just like what they did to us.

So, all the best.

154. #155 by Toyol on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:28 am

Yes, boycott the mainstream newspapers. The STAR and NST has become a party newspaper for MCA and UMNO respectively, instead of a national media.

LKS/RPK should check if it is possible to translate the information in their blogs to a newsletter and distribute to the areas where internet is not available. Let the people decide what is truth or lie by having access to both types of information.

155. #156 by azam on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:56 am

Congratulation to coalition goverment. This is the time for you to show your superiority compare to BN goverment. Please deliver your election promise for clean and good government. I hope the coalition goverment will get the new mandate in next election to confirm our aspiration of Barisan Rakyat.
    Kit, Please ignore some tiny mosquito that would like to see the coalition goverment broke apart.
    Life goes on Kit. We will togather with you for our new Malaysia.

Azam

156. #157 by lakshy on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:01 am

Real,

Good concession from you. So the rakyat threw out the BN in the 5 states and also reduced the parliamentary majority because Bn did not deliver. Hope you take that point of yours back to the BN. They still dont seem to know what hit them.

Or are they still wondering about the extent to which the rakyat is aware of their wrong doings? That seems to be the more plausible answer here.

157. #158 by Wisdom above on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:04 am

To, YB LKS , MP

Why West Malaysians are still dreaming ?

Someone from Sabah talk sense.

1)…Sabah Progressive Party president Datuk Yong Teck Lee said he was puzzled why the NEP was still an issue when it had been replaced by the

>’National Development Policy’(NDP)…

> TUN DR M launched the “NDP” which year ?

2)…“so called cancellation of the NEP” was completely redundant because it no longer existed and it was equally disappointing that Penang Umno was still harping on a non-existent policy.

3)…no wonder that some politicians both from ruling and opposition have lost focus on which policy to talk about,”

Look like Sabahans know what is the ” Truth”.

Sabahans dare to speak out.

Syabas. Barisan Rakyat.

158. #159 by lakshy on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:05 am

Actually, one should make sure that BN offices only read and rely on MSM. That way, they can be sure to get apple polishing news and fail to deliver to the rakyat yet again. They are totally out of touch. How can that be I wonder?

I stopped my subscription to the Star months ago. And I dont buy the NST/Utusan/BH etc either.

More of us should do so, and we should do so suddenly so that they feel the impact of reduced sales, without prior notice. That would be the way to treat these papers. Like someone suggested, if we all dont buy for a week or two they would have made their production run, and will be caught with all the extra copies printed. Let them sustain losses in this manner.

The way we voted against BN, we should also use this opportunity to cast our vote against the MSM.

Only then can they wake upm from their stupor.

159. #160 by Old Geezer on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:08 am

“..But do note, 5 years will come pretty soon enough. Dont deliver, the rakyat can sure enough throw you lot out just like what they did to us.” RealWorld

According to RPK, BN can call an early election as early as 8 March 2011, which is only 3 years away. There is really not much time. Global economy is going to be bad this couple of years.
    That is why it is important not to have so many public relation mistakes such as call for boycotts, fighting for exco seats, etc., that would only make matter worst.

160. #161 by kkchong on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:12 am

YB LKS
    You are the most senior politician still around on the new malaysian
    New BR IS BORN
    You are the Malaysian Malaysia : THE SPECIAL ONE
    We solute YOU

161. #162 by RealWorld on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:13 am

Dear lakshy,

We have screwed up big time. And I guess that 92% mandate in 2004 got to our heads. We forgot who voted us in. And we paid dearly for it in the 12 GE.

I hope the Opposition dont let the rakyat down and serve their interests well. For the love of our country, I hope you lot learn from us and not repeat our mistakes.

Time has also come for change in UMNO and BN as a whole.

162. #163 by Wisdom above on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:19 am

To, YB LGE, CM Penang.

Why PKR,DAP,PAS & West Malaysians are still dreaming ? ….Lost focus ?

Why MCA, Gerakan, MIC, PPP, PBB,PRS still hiding the ‘Truth’ ?

Look like Sabahans know what is the ” Truth”.

> Someone from Sabah talk sense….. Repeat for reference only.

1)…Sabah Progressive Party president Datuk Yong Teck Lee said he was puzzled why the NEP was still an issue when it had been replaced by the

>’National Development Policy’(NDP)…

> TUN DR M launched the “NDP” which year ? I forgot the year ,do you remember ?

2)…“so called cancellation of the NEP” was completely redundant because it no longer existed and it was equally disappointing that Penang Umno was still harping on a non-existent policy.

3)…no wonder that some politicians both from ruling and opposition have lost focus on which policy to talk about,”

Bravo, Sabahans dare to speak out.

Syabas. Barisan Rakyat.

163. #164 by petestop on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 1:06 pm

It is funny how certain group jumps at DAP initial protest on the selection of MB from the party with least democratic vote.

However, there has been nary a comment on the direct head-on collision between UMNO top echelon versus the Perlis and Terengganu Sultanates.

At least Uncle Kit has the grace to appologise for it.

When can we ever expect a Royal apology from UMNO.
    Who is the one going against the Royal rights now ?

The conveniently double-standard UMNO, that is.

164. #165 by billgates on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 1:07 pm

Long live the coalition. At last the 10th Perak MB was sworn in at 11.45am.

Time to look at the RM4.5 million building in Gerik which has collapsed last year, deserted Sultan Azlan Shah airport, the award of government tenders to only bumiputera owned companies, unfair promotion of civil servants especially the very few non bumi, take control of the inefficient services provided by MBI and other local councils, replace all councillors appointed by previous BN government, review the corporatisation of Lembaga Air Perak, the award logging contract to a few UMNO cronies, investigate the wealth obtained by Sultan Chew Wai Khoon and Sultan Chang Ko Youn, and most importantly look forward towards the formation of a Bangsa Malaysia.

Congratulation on the formation of the coalition government.

165. #166 by billgates on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 1:20 pm

This is impeccable and most honorable decision made by Guan Eng:

Guan Eng enggan keluar RM100 ribu
    Abdul Halim Mohd Rashid
    Mon | Mar 17, 08 | 5:59:13 am MYT
    KUALA LUMPUR, 17 Mac (Hrkh) – Kerana enggan membelanjakan RM100 ribu, Ketua Menteri Pulau Pinang, Lim Guan Eng lebih rela tinggal di sebuah rumah berusia milik bapanya.

Naib Presiden PAS, Haji Mohamad Sabu menceritakan perkara itu selepas bertemu dengan Setiausaha Agung DAP itu di Pulau Pinang baru-baru ini.

Beliau ke pulau itu baru-baru ini kerana hendak bertemu Lim untuk berbincang beberapa perkara mengenai kepentingan bersama kedua-dua pihak.

“Oleh kerana beliau sibuk, beliau meminta saya menemuinya kira-kira pukul 10.00 malam hari itu.

“Tahu di mana Guan Eng nak jumpa saya? Di restoran McDonald,” kata Mohamad Sabu yang mula mengenali Lim dengan lebih dekat ketika sama-sama di tahan dalam Operasi Lallang 1987 lalu.

Naib Presiden PAS itu juga lebih selesa bertemu di tempat terbuka kerana “tidak ada apa yang hendak dirahsiakan”.

Bagaimanapun, katanya, Ketua Menteri Pulau Pinang itu kemudiannya memberitahu pertemuan itu tidak dapat diadakan di tempat terbuka itu atas nasihat pihak keselamatan.

Memahami perkara tersebut, beliau terus menuju ke rumah di mana Lim tinggal.

“Di rumah, dia biasa sahaja dengan “seluaq katok” (seluar pendek). Bila saya tengok keadaan rumah yang berusia tempat dia tinggal, saya tanya dia, kenapa tak pindah ke rumah rasmi Ketua Menteri?

“Dia (Lim) jawab: ‘Susahlah, kalau nak pindah kena perbaiki. Terpaksa belanja sampai RM100 ribu. Takkan saya nak belanja duit rakyat sampai RM100 ribu untuk kepentingan saya’

“Saya rasa sangat terharu mempunyai kawan seperti itu,” kata Mohamad Sabu.

Walaupun perkara itu bukanlah perkara baru baginya, memandangkan Mursyidul Am, Tuan Guru Datuk Nik Abdul Aziz Nik Mat yang menjadi Menteri Besar Kelantan sejak 1990 memilih kehidupan yang sederhana, begitu juga Presiden PAS Tuan Guru Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang ketika menjadi Menteri Besar Terengganu dahulu, Naib Presiden PAS itu tetap merasa bangga dengan sikap sederhana dan rendah diri Lim itu.

“Saya bangga kerana dia takut nak belanja wang rakyat RM100 ribu sedangkan Perdana Menteri gasak sehingga RM15.81 juta untuk ubahsuai kediaman rasminya Seri Perdana di Putrajaya.

“Saya yakin, Menteri-Menteri Besar kita yang lain (dari PAS dan KeADILan) juag akan memilih jalan kehidupan yang sederhana yang sama seperti dua Tok Guru kita, jauh lagilah menyalahgunakan harta kerajaan,” katanya.

Sementara itu, Bernama melaporkan, kata-kata pertama Lim semasa mengadakan sidang media di Pejabat Ketua Menteri di Tingkat 28 Komtar ialah: “Saya rasa seperti melangkah masuk ke kandang singa”.

“Saya tidak menyangka dapat duduk di kerusi ketua menteri ini kerana pernah dipenjarakan. Ia merupakan transformasi sebenarnya dan pengalaman baru bagi saya,” Bernama memetik Lim.

Sebelum mengangkat sumpah, Lim berkata beliau dapati lebih ramai pemberita menghadiri sidang akhbarnya sekarang dan “saya diterangi lampu-lampu kamera”.

Dalam kenyataan kemenangannya, Lim berkata, “Kami gembira dengan kemenangan ini dan berjanji tidak akan mengecewakan penduduk Pulau Pinang.

“Kami mahu menegaskan bahawa kerajaan baru adalah untuk rakyat Malaysia daripada semua kaum. Kami ada bersikap adil, saksama dan tidak mendiskriminasikan mana-mana kumpulan – memberi bantuan kepada semua yang memerlukan.

“Penduduk Pulau Pinang yang berbakat akan mendapat peluang saksama daripada gabungan parti pembangkang itu yang disatukan menerusi kecintaan terhadap demokrasi dan menghormati hak asasi manusia, kekaksamaan politik dan keadilan sosioekonomi,” katanya sambil mengesa orang ramai supaya “menghormati hasrat rakyat”.

166. #168 by dawsheng on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 1:24 pm

I hope the newly formed Perak state government take serious measures to protect the mountains in the state.

167. #169 by Democrats on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 1:31 pm

Menang atau Mati,

I’ve posted several comments on boycotting MSM since before the election. I’ve already move my company vacancy ads out of the star. Like the saying goes for animal rights people “when the buying stop, so does the killing”.

Same case here. If Star distribution drop to 50,000 copies daily from their current 500,000 or more, trust me, Maxis, DIGI, HSBC and the rest of the BIG GUNs would really start pondering their 10k per page/day monthly advertisement. then all the classified on selling house and cars, etc.. will dropped too. Their selling cost of RM1.20 can’t cover the printing cost. they can then raise the price. Maybe start charging RM4.50 like the EDGE, but who wants to buy 4.50 for “bullS**t” compared to the useful news and information of the EDGE?

I’ve always suggested the SUN to be the new mainstream media. Whether there is a loophole to get printing permits for state local distribution, then the 5 opposition state can give them the permit as backup…hence no worry of losing its permit from KDN by printing the “TRUTH”. No more nonsense of GDP at 7% and inflation at 2%, yet nobody I know says times are good. (Ooopsss, forgot about “certain” people).

The way I see it, 50% of West malaysia voted for Opposition. These are the enlightened, the educated and the proffessionals people. I believe 70% of STARs distribution are read by these 50%. In urban area, 70% of popular votes went to opposition, yet 70% of STAR’s distribution is within these areas.

The sudden change of tone in STAR the past two days (I never bought, read free at mamak) shows they know the numbers. Suddenly, WCW is trying to be “journalistic”. Phoooi….

I think all readers and supporters of STAR deserves an apologies, a decleration for years of deciet and propaganda publishing…..if not their remaining buyers would be of those who the government is tries so hard to protect them from being conned to ink their finger before voting….

I’m pleading the leaders in the opposition to press forward this motion. I meant no disrespect or ill will against the hundreds of innocent employees there. I’ve got some friends working in the star. But the grassroots hiding behind these innocent workers must be dealt with. It seems the most well read paper is a joke internationally….

168. #170 by Lee Wang Yen on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 1:32 pm

PAS’ PROPOSAL FOR ISLAMIC GOVT IRKS DAP VETERAN
    17/3/2008

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Monday/Frontpage/2188527/Article/index_html

GEORGE TOWN: The DAP has expressed shock and anger over Pas’ proposal to form an Islamic federal government.

DAP life adviser Dr Chen Man Hin said the party would not agree or co-operate with Pas should they insist on forming an Islamic government at the federal level.

“This is not part of our understanding. It will be no-go for the DAP if they do that. We will surely not accept it.

“Their proposal has left a big question mark over our future co-operation,” a visibly upset Dr Chen said while angrily pushing aside a newspaper article on the Pas proposal.

Dr Chen, who was at the day-long DAP national leadership convention, said the party decided to co-operate with Pas because of its intention to convert Malaysia into a welfare state.

“But look at what they are saying now,” he said when asked to comment on Pas vice-president Datuk Husam Musa’s statement that Pas was confident it could soon set up an Islamic form of government at the federal level.

Husam had said there was growing support among the Chinese and Indians for the party’s political struggle.

Dr Chen said the DAP would be discussing the matter soon.

“While I would like to leave this matter alone at this moment, I think the party will need to seek clarification on this.

“Right now, we do not know whether it is Husam’s personal view or the party’s.”

Parti Keadilan Rakyat vice-president Sivarasa Rasia also expressed surprise at Husam’s statement.

“I have looked at the latest manifesto of Pas and there is nothing stated about an Islamic government.”

169. #171 by billgates on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 1:37 pm

March 17, 2008 13:23 PM

Mohammad Nizar Sworn In As Perak MB

KUALA KANGSAR, March 17 (Bernama) — State Pas secretary Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin was sworn in as the new Menteri Besar of Perak at Istana Iskandariah in this royal town here today.

He took the oath of office, pledge of loyalty and secrecy before the Regent of Perak, Raja Dr Nazrin Shah.

Earlier, Mohammad Nizar, 51, an English-trained mechanical engineer, received his instrument of appointment from the Regent.

After the swearing in, Mohammad Nizar signed his letter of appointment witnessed by Ipoh High Court Judge Datuk V. T. Singham.

Present were the Raja di-hilir Perak, Raja Jaafar Raja Muda Musa; the Raja Puan Muda of Perak, Raja Nor Mahani Raja Shahar Shah; State Secretary Datuk Dr Abdul Rahman Hashim and Perak Mufti Datuk Seri Harussani Zakaria.

Former Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Tajol Rosli Ghazali and state assemblymen from the DAP-PKR-PAS coalition state government also attended the ceremony which began at 11.40am.

–BERNAMA

170. #172 by dawsheng on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 1:52 pm

“Their proposal has left a big question mark over our future co-operation,” a visibly upset Dr Chen said while angrily pushing aside a newspaper article on the Pas proposal.” NST, 17/3/2008

Wang Yen, maybe NST is spinning lies again?

171. #173 by dawsheng on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 2:07 pm

The Star Deliberately Misquoted Husam Musa (PAS), on PAS Setting Up An Islamic Federal Government!

Don’t believe the rumours flying around via sms, word of mouth & emails! A few bloggers are already trying to reach Husam & / or his PA on what he actually said.

I for one, do not believe he actually said that & even if he did, this is probably not the general consensus of the PAS leaders. If he was misquoted, we are going to take action!

Read the article below carefully & see for yourself. He never said “PAS is now confident that it can soon set up an Islamic form of government at the federal level, which it claims is gaining more acceptance, especially with non-Muslims, following the good showing of the Opposition coalition in last weekend’s elections.”

You reporters & editors (whom are responsible) are truly heartless bastards without a conscience! How do you sleep at night?! Every dog has his day!

http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/4486/84/

172. #174 by dawsheng on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 2:19 pm

Johari Jaafar

IPOH, 17 Mac (Hrkh) – Rakyat di negeri ini khususnya warga Ipoh dinasihati agar tidak terpengaruh dengan provokasi pihak tertentu yang mengedarkan risalah menggunakan logo PAS dan kenyataan PAS Negeri Perak.

Risalah yang diedar di merata-rata tempat itu khususnya di taman-taman cuba membuat provokasi dengan meminta orang ramai menyokong kerajaan Islam yang bakal dibentuk nanti.

Risalah `haram’ menyatakan Kerajaan Islam yang dibentuk nanti akan melaksanakan empat perkara, menghapuskan pusat hiburan di seluruh negeri Perak, menghapuskan pusat perjudian, menghapuskan penjualan arak di semua premis perniagaan dan melaksanakan hukum hudud apabila suasana politik benar-benar stabil.

Risalah itu juga dilihat sebagai provokasi yang boleh menjejaskan perpaduan kaum di negeri ini, malah orang yang menentang kerajaan PAS di Perak disifatjkan sebagai kafir.

“Risalah yang tersibar ini amat bahaya, ia boleh menggugat keharmonian kaum di negara ini, sedangkan kerajaan yang dibentuk nanti adalah kerajaan campuran bukan Kerajaan PAS,” ujar Setiausaha Kerja PAS Perak, Khalilul Rahman Abdul Samad.

“Jelas sekali risalah arahan PAS Perak tidak ada tanda tangan pimpinan PAS Negeri, ini menunjukkan risalah `haram’ itu sengaja dibuat oleh pihak-pihak tertentu yang tidak senang dan iri hati dengan kemenangan Barisan Alternatif dan DAP,” katanya.

http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/4549/84/

173. #175 by vtws2000 on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 2:27 pm

To all those who oppose the idea of DAP co-operate with PAS (esp. Keng yeik from Gerakan),
    I think PAS is definitely better then UMNO. UMNO only concerns about chronysm, corruption, etc.
    Why are we so afraid of PAS? Mainly is due to the false image forming by our mainstream media.

Look at Kedah, PAS said they will not banned lottery, butcher, nightlife, etc.

Let’s give them sometime to show us their matured in politics. To me, I believe PAS, PKR or DAP is definitely better then UMNO. look at those ‘BOCOR’, keris pulling (Hisham), Penang marginalize Bumi (Khairx)… Can these culprit be any better then PAS? I don’t think so.

174. #176 by mycroft on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 2:41 pm

And what is the difference between Islamic government and Islamic form of government?

175. #177 by voice on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 2:41 pm

Closer cooperation needed for the 3 parties to avoid these “sabotages” from UMNO, as they are controlling most mainstream media, direct dialog and better understandings among the parties is very much needed.

176. #178 by dawsheng on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 2:51 pm

“Risalah yang tersibar ini amat bahaya, ia boleh menggugat keharmonian kaum di negara ini, sedangkan kerajaan yang dibentuk nanti adalah kerajaan campuran bukan Kerajaan PAS,” ujar Setiausaha Kerja PAS Perak, Khalilul Rahman Abdul Samad.” Harakah, 17/3/2008

It is kind of funny how PAS described the “risalah” distributed in Perak as dangerous. It this the way PAS is telling the non-muslims that the party is now oppose to set up an Islamic State in Perak?

177. #179 by dawsheng on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 2:55 pm

It is in the interest of the coalition state government that PAS clarify where it stands on the issue of Islamic state, now that PAS Perak admitted that it is dangerous and will do more harm than good to peace and security in the country. ;)

178. #180 by Anti_NEP on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 2:57 pm

YB Lim

May i suggest that YAB LGE to vacate his parliament seat in favour of DSAI when he is eligible to contest after April. Since YAB LGE has been appointed as CM of Penang, he should spend more time in Penang in order to run the state gaovenment smoothly. He will not have much time left to attend to the parliament sitting.

179. #181 by vtws2000 on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 3:03 pm

I don’t support the idea of becoming CM and MP at the same time. But, let’s leave this issue behind. Since our PM can become a PM, Home Minister & Finance Minister at the sametime, so why do we need to bother much about this issue?

if YAB LGE were to pass over his MP seats, pls find a suitable candidates at the right timing. Don’t rush over this issue. Now, what more important is to carry out the duty and proper administration system in 5 states first. Pls do it good! treasure this opportunity, so we can have 2 coalition of political forces in future, instead of 1 now.

180. #182 by dawsheng on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 3:04 pm

“Jelas sekali risalah arahan PAS Perak tidak ada tanda tangan pimpinan PAS Negeri, ini menunjukkan risalah `haram’ itu sengaja dibuat oleh pihak-pihak tertentu yang tidak senang dan iri hati dengan kemenangan Barisan Alternatif dan DAP,” katanya.”

I totally understood now why Uncle Kit was hesitated to work with PAS, the Islamist party is easily framed by others.

181. #183 by Godfather on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 4:45 pm

Oh, now you understand that PAS has been framed, and that its mistake is that it is easily framed by others.

What happened to you “thesis” over the past week about PAS’s real motive, Islamisation, etc etc ? Changed your mind that quick ? Can DAP work with PAS and PKR now without your continous whingeing ?

182. #184 by helpless on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 4:45 pm

Stop all those nonsense on MB appointment. It is time to consider for a change of the law. Any direct appointment of those government officer where people interest was vested shall be stopped. They shall subject to change if not performing, irrespective the mechanisme as how the MB be appointed.

Who can deny that one who is sitting too long in the position will expose to unncessary bribery. It is the person dignity, honesty and pride that count.

The outstanding issues shall be given the focus now.
    1. scandal on PKFZ
    2. Exorbitant price of sport equipment
    3. Punishment for brokering judge, brokering away Malaysia judiciary.
    4. Exorbitant commission on military equipment.
    5. Whereabout the Petronas’ income.

These issues shall be not be forgoten. The people support for change simply because we want these people to answer and accept appropriate punishment for robbing people’s hard earned money.

183. #185 by azam on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 4:59 pm

LWY;
    Once again, after so many times I advice you, not to read NST or Star.
    Please go to Marverick Cakap Tak Serupa Bikin to get true statemant by Husam. Please stop using Kit blog for your own interest.

184. #186 by Godfather on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 5:16 pm

Ade juga orang Cina yang bodoh sombong. Dia ingat dia tu penyokong DAP, tapi sebenarnya dia hanya nak buat kecoh diantara DAP dan PAS.

185. #187 by Godfather on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 5:25 pm

Semua orang lain nak hentam pencuri2 BN, dia nak hentam PAS pulak.

186. #188 by Bobster on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 7:23 pm

Bersatu Teguh, Bercerai Roboh.

Ramai croni-croni dan pembelot-pembelot cuba menceraikan pakatan Barisan Rakyat di blog ini dan di MSM.

Harap Barisan Rakyat dapat berpegang teguh menangani unsur-unsur perosak pakatan berbilang bangsa di negara ini.

Syabas kepada pakatan rakyat aka pakatan PKR/DAP/PAS di Perak. Berpegang teguh dan mengutamakan hak rakyat dan negara. Janganlah mengikut langkah BN yang cuma berkhidmat untuk hal pribadi. Langkah yang menyebabkan keruntuhan BN.

Teng’s supporters should not be putting up banners and appeared on tv to show support. Just show how desperate so and so wanting to be the Deputy MB. It does not reflect very good on yourself Mr YB Teng and supporters. RPK hits the bull eye. People are getting tired, pls stop it, beg you guys!

187. #189 by Lee Wang Yen on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 7:57 pm

NOTHING CAN STOP PAS FROM STRIVING FOR ITS ISLAMIC AGENDA
    PAS akan terus mempertahankan prinsipnya
    Roslan SMS
    Sun | Mar 16, 08 | 4:32:16 pm MYT

PAS saya yakin akan terus mempertahankan agenda Islam dalam apa keadaan sekalipun, kerana ia Parti Islam, kekalahan atau kemenangan tidak akan merobah hakikat itu. Sama ada PAS pembangkang, PAS membentuk kerajaan negeri, PAS bersama BN (tahun 70an) atau kini PAS bersama PKR dan DAP, tidak sesiapa pun yang bekuasa mengikis atau mematikan matlamat perjuagan PAS itu.

http://www.harakahdaily.net/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=13310&Itemid=28

188. #190 by Lee Wang Yen on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 8:16 pm

PAS rejects secular democracy (DAP’s ideology). Theocracy is the Only Option:

Pemikir-pemikir politik Barat, sedar akan kemunduran kerana dijajah oleh keagamaan Kristian yang banyak tidak rasional terhadap mereka, menyebabkan negara mundur.

Dari sinilah lahirnya fahaman sekular yang memisahkan penghidupan dengan agama, sekali gus memisahkan agama daripada politik (daripada kalangan Kristian).

Meskipun itu boleh berlaku dalam masyarakat Barat yang berpegang dengan fahaman Kristianiti, ia berbeza dengan agama Islam.
    ….
    Pemikiran politik Islam bertitik tolak daripada kefahaman Islam yang tidak memisahkan Islam daripada pemerintahan.

Ia bersatu dalam satu perkataan di istilahkan sebagai Ad-Din, cara hidup yang lengkap, terungkap seperti firman Allah (mafhumnya): “…Pada hari ini, Aku (Allah) telah menyempurnakan bagi kamu agama kamu, dan Aku telah cukupkan nikmat-Ku terhadap kamu, dan aku reda Islam menjadi ad-Din kamu (cara hidup yang sempurna)…” (Surah al-Maaidah, ayat 3)

Oleh kerana itu, kita umat Islam perlu terima hakikat, Islam adalah agama yang sempurna, termasuk cara berpolitik, memerintah cara Islam.

Jika kita menolak pegangan ini dan memilih yang lain, ia bermakna menolak ketetapan Allah dan merendah-rendahkan agama, seolah-olahnya cara hidup ciptaan manusia, lebih sempurna dari ciptaan Allah.

Merendah-rendahkan agama Allah boleh menyebabkan kerosakan akidah.

Bersama Dr Haron Din: Pilihlah parti untuk kebahagiaan dunia, akhirat
    Dr Haron Din
    Thu | Feb 28, 08 | 10:08:47 am MYT

http://www.harakahdaily.net/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=12793&Itemid=91

[please – limit your posting to ONE thread, multiple posting of the exact same comments = spam]

189. #191 by limkamput on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 9:44 pm

Lee WY, I think you have spoken your piece and I was supportive of your right even though many here have asked you to shut up earlier. But, as many here have said, it is the choice the rakyat have made and we shall all wait and see how the Perak government behaves henceforth. It is time to look at actions and deeds rather than manifestoes and declarations.

I probably can agree with you that as supporters of DAP, we must be truthful with ourselves and say our piece when necessary, otherwise there will be no difference us and BN. However, you are saying this again and again and if it goes beyond tonight on the same subject, I think many here is going to suspect your agenda and intention despite your repeated claims of being a DAP supporter.

190. #192 by Godfather on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:03 pm

He’s either a moron or an agent provocateur. Either way, DAP should be wary.

191. #193 by undergrad2 on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:15 pm

PAS can propose and DAP and PKR can dispose!

192. #194 by Godfather on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:26 pm

It may not be enough for some people !

193. #195 by Bobster on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 1:37 pm

This article taken from The Sun, Updated: 07:34PM Mon, 17 Mar 2008

Cooperation yes, but no hudud law
    Kong See Hoh

PETALING JAYA (March 17, 2008): DAP stalwart Lim Kit Siang has accepted a PAS proposal to cooperate but made it clear the party will not accept the Islamic state professed by PAS and the implementation of hudud law, Sin Chew Daily reported today.

He said DAP is reassessing the proposal and considering renewing its cooperation with PAS, in accordance with the wishes of the people.

However, there is one condition – no Islamic state and no hudud law.

He said the results of the general election reflected the wishes of the people for the two party to cooperate, hence DAP would look at the model of cooperation with PAS.

“This model of cooperation with PAS is not confined to the (forming of) state governments of Selangor and Perak,” Lim told the daily in an interview.

“The people have conveyed their wishes for change, (they) hope to see a new government which is above political party and religion. As such, irrespective of the candidates fielded (by the Opposition), the voters will give their support, to hand the Opposition a victory. This showed the hope the people has in the Opposition.”

Lim said DAP had nothing to do with PAS before the general election, but after March 8, DAP was faced with the political reality of having to forge cooperation with PAS lest the Opposition will not be able to form state governments.

He said now DAP can consider the model of cooperation with PAS but one thing remains unchanged – DAP’s stand against the Islamic state ideology, the implementation of hudud law and any Islamisation policy.

He said DAP would not let the people down in striving for a fair, democratic and just society because the people has asked for change through the ballot box.
    But if DAP, Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) and PAS cannot cooperate, then nothing will change, he said.

YB Lim if anything wrong or edited from the article do let us know. Thanks!

194. #196 by mchoice2008 on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 3:23 pm

PAS vice-president Datuk Husam Musa has clarified that his statement on
    the party taking over the Government at the federal level was taken out
    of context.

“I mentioned that we are hopeful of taking 30 more parliamentary seats to
    win power and not about forming an Islamic Government,” he said

—————————————————————-
    Lee Wang Yen, you happily and selectively took NST and STAR reports to support your arguments.

Our best guess is that you are still a PHD student, possibly doing some research in religion or so.

It looks like you are more concerned with your own arguments and research topics than really thinking of some PRACTICAL and IMPLEMENTABLE ways to move Malaysia to a BETTER Malaysia.

Be more humble, and be more practical. The world is definitely much more diverse than what you could see from your research topics.

195. #197 by AirJ on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 6:51 pm

Assalaamualaikum/Selamat Sejahtera

Have been keenly reading all the comments made in Uncle Kit blog on the Perak MB issue. Fyi, I am a muslim and supporter of PAS. From my point of view I can understand Uncle Kit decision to ask for the boycott though I don’t share the method.

It is heartening to see moderate views aired out by people like Godfather, Lakshy, Old Geezer and others who would like to see the greater good of Malaysia (rather than being governed by BN). It gives you the sense that future shall be bright for Malaysia.

It is also good to hear middle stance made by people such as Democrats, Mycroft, Gofortruth and Chanjoe alikes because this is a democratic (at least it is striving to be…) country whereby we need to listen to all voices and decide which would be best to adhere to. It tells me the concern non-muslims have and that knowledge is priceless.

It is a little sad to hear the views of people such as Lee Wan Yen that went all out to denigrate PAS and its Leaders. Nevertheless, this is a free country and he is entitled to his own opinion. What I hope to say is give it a chance and see how it pans out. A fair society would not judge the book by its cover and I am sure a learned and civilized person would preach for that.

I have to admit I had little knowledge of DAP as I grew up in Terengganu but I’d like to learn. I also read the piece about Uncle Kit history (thank you for that) and I feel proud to have him as a Malaysian who stands for the right of the people. I definitely have a high regard for LGE who had stand up for a malay girl’s right and even went to jail for that. I guess that’s why he also have Mohamad Sabu’s stamp of approval for being Penang CM. I hope all the 5 states to well to prove to people BR is here to stay.

I am neither a politician nor a blogger. I do seek good discussions/muzakarah among fellow malaysians. I am not an ustaz (i consider my knowledge of islam is still shallow) but if you have any questions regarding Islam and Islamic state or hudud laws, I will give my understanding – as a muslim – on them. For a start islam says a true muslim is one who would be willing to die to uphold a just stance. I will be judged and punished the same if I were to do injustice to non-muslims same as I do to muslims. Many islamic views have been severely contorted by UMNO Leaders and to some extend a few PAS Leaders/people. The quest for peace and justice is equally the same as one that is seek by true Christians, Buddhists, Hindus and others.

I would like to wish Perak, Kelantan, Penang, Selangor and Kedah governments Good Luck and May the Almighty bless on this beautiful start. There will be fights, there will be disagreements no doubt but if all is done in the spirit of well beings of rakyat, then insyaAllah we will prevail. Long live BR!

196. #198 by Jong on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 1:26 pm

AirJ, what a lovely start, welcome! Remember we are all faceless and colorless here. Looking forward to reading more from you.