UMNO Ultras Defanged

by M. Bakri Musa

One least noted but most consequential impact of this last election is that those rabidly racist UMNO ultras have been effectively defanged. Malaysians can now be assured that the next UMNO General Assembly will not see the likes of Hishammuddin Hussein or Khairy Jamaluddin putting on their race-taunting, kris-wielding stunts.

These hitherto UMNO young bulls have been, as we say here on the ranch, “cut off.” Yes, castrated! They are now reduced to sterile steers destined for the slaughterhouse; they are not worthy to propagate the herd.

Khairy Jamaluddin in particular had a near-death political experience in Rembau, his father’s village and a previously safe UMNO constituency. Unknown PKR’s candidate Badrul Hisham Shaharin, or Chegu Bard, a product of the local kampong school and the nearby Raja Melewar Teachers’ College, proved a formidable opponent for Khairy, the self-puffed ego and product of Oxford University via Singapore’s World United College.

Khairy is smart enough to realize that had it not been for the timely “rescue” in the form of postal votes, together with the earlier last minute cancellation by the Elections Commission on the use of indelible ink that would have prevented fraudulent voting, Chegu Bard would have easily humbled Khairy. How else to explain an initial hundred-vote victory for Chegu Bard would turn out to be a massive 5,000-vote victory for Khairy on “recount”?

As I wrote elsewhere, even UMNO morons are teachable. That is not a surprise, for the ability to learn is an attribute of all living things. The only variable is the slope of the learning curve and of course the timing.

UMNO operatives may have learned their lesson with this election, but it is already too late. The implosion of UMNO has begun.

That said though, there are still some slow learners within UMNO; the lesson has yet to sink into Abdullah Badawi, for example. He still thinks he had a thunderous victory and vows to carry on with business as usual. Unfortunately his ministers and UMNO Supreme Council members are all lembik. To them, their naked emperor is still immaculately attired in fine embroidery. There is no jantan left in UMNO to disabuse Abdullah of his delusion. That is, until now.

Enter Mukhriz Mahathir

Enter Mukhriz Mahathir, yes the scion of that Mahathir. Abdullah had earlier selected Mukhriz to contest the “iffy” seat of Jerlun instead of the more predictable Langkawi. Much to the surprise of his detractors, in particular the hierarchy of UMNO Youth, Mukhriz won handily, and without resorting to a recount!

In a letter to Prime Minister Abdullah immediately following the election, with convenient copies to top UMNO leaders who were too chicken to convey the blunt message directly to Abdullah, Mukhriz called for Abdullah to resign for the greater honor of the party and “bangsa, agama dan negara” (race, religion, and nation).

Surprisingly, the mainstream media carried this item. Perhaps those editors have also learned their lesion in this election. It would not have mattered anyway as that letter is widely circulated on the Internet and foreign press.

Many would think that Mukhriz is a chip off the old block, recalling that nearly forty years ago his father, then a defeated candidate in the parliamentary election, also sent a similar letter to Prime Minister Tunku Abdul Rahman asking him to resign following the 1969 election mess and the ensuing horrendous race riot.

Nothing could be further from the truth. Unlike Mahathir’s letter which was written in traditional Malay form filled with self humiliating terms like patek and hamba (slaves), and was excessively deferential as a peasant would in addressing his lord and master, Mukhriz’s was direct and with the minimal of formality. It was to be sure polite, but there was no mistaking his blunt message.

One would think that Mukhriz would shy away from such a bold move. For one, he is a relative newcomer to politics. Mahathir had expressly forbidden his children to be active in politics while he was in power, a lesson he unfortunately did not impress upon his successor. Mukhriz should therefore be a “good” and “obedient” Malay; meaning, he should “know his place.”

For another, Mukhriz should at least be terhutang budi (indebted) to Abdullah for having selected Mukhriz to contest this election. Clearly this young man saw his duties beyond that of personal loyalty or gratitude. Instead he saw his loyalty extends beyond any one personality or leader. He clearly saw the greater cause for his party and country.

Obviously Mukhriz is not your grandfather’s Malay. He is a true modern-day Hang Jebat, loyal to institutions and principles, not personalities and titles. He is a worthy and necessary adversary to the hordes of latter day Hang Tuahs who surround Abdullah these days.

As an added measure, Mukhriz let it be known in his letter that he was prepared to face the consequences of his action, as if daring Abdullah to, “Go ahead! Make my day!” Mukhriz was challenging Abdullah mano a mano, man to man, a gauntlet that could only have been thrown down by an assured jantan.

Abdullah’s reaction? He deferred to UMNO Youth leaders to “take the necessary action.” Lembik leader! As for UMNO Youth’s task-baring, nose-flaring, and kris-wielding Hishammuddin, his muted response was simply to assure the public that Mukhriz was speaking in his personal capacity.

Earlier on party veteran Tengku Razaleigh also called on Abdullah to “take full responsibility” for the rout. The Tengku was too genteel and indirect that Abdullah missed the sendir (subtlety). Ku Li should have been more frontal like Tun Mahathir, who also called on Abdullah to quit. Rest assured that there will be many more and louder such voices coming soon.

I do not see Abdullah giving up voluntarily much less gracefully. He has to be literally dragged out and figuratively hit on the head with a two-by-four.

In Mukhriz we finally have a true “young Mahathir” in UMNO. All along we had been duped by that other pretender, that Kurang ‘Jar (K‘J) character who had been publicly fancying himself as UMNO’s “young Mahathir.”

We all know the fate of Hang Jebat in that story. Before today’s Hang Tuahs in UMNO gloat however, they should remember the fate that befell the more important Malacca sultanate.

1. #1 by Tickler on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 9:00 am

`Khairy Jamaluddin in particular had a near-death political experience in Rembau,..`

Going by this there should be fresh elections in Rembau:

PKR may challenge Khairy’s Rembau win
    On Saturday night, the initial count for the Rembau parliament constituency in Negri Sembilan showed that PKR had taken the seat by a razor-thin majority of 141 votes.
    http://antikhairy.blogspot.com/2008/03/pkr-may-challenge-khairys-rembau-win.html

If there is a re-election there, would Anwar take on Khary?

2. #2 by vwfs68 on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 9:07 am

How is that a surprise that AAB will not resign? Well most of the BN disgraced leaders will hang on with their dear life onto that seat. There’s no honor in them accept for Koh. Everyone should take a lession from him, lose gracefully so that there will be another day they can come back and fight. No, but not one of the UMNO MP I have seen so far that has been in a scandal ever resigned voluntarily. They have the attitude that its their right, and we have to pry it from their cold dead fingers.

vwfs68.blogspot.com

3. #3 by mickey01 on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 9:14 am

Badrul must petition to High Court for a review of every voting slip to determine whether EC is conducting a fair election in Rembau. If recent election is conducted fairly and squarely, many ultra Umno evil heads will roll. If you can murder a person and get it covered up, what is forging and cheating.

4. #4 by Tickler on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 9:18 am

If you believe that Mukhriz Mahathir did the right thing to write to the PM and ask him to step down, not for doing badly in the GE but for daring the People to defy him when they took on the streets to express their unhappiness [read Mukhriz’s letter here], click the link below and put down your name and numbers.

Petition Against Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.
    http://rockybru.blogspot.com/2008/03/petition-in-support-of-mukhriz-mahathir.html

5. #5 by yhsiew on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 9:21 am

There are other people benefited from the “postal votes rescue” in the just concluded election. You and I know who they are – there is no need to mention names!!!

6. #6 by Tickler on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 9:30 am

Badawi too would have lost his seat if not for postal votes. His tailor/ Advisor SIL (of `Emperor`s New Clothes`) too was saved by the EC boss.

7. #7 by sotong on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 9:42 am

If the previous administration of 22 years had done the right thing to lay down a strong foundation of good governanace of responsibility, accountability and transparency, the change over to Pak Lah would be just a formality.

The present mess in the country is created by decades of bad leadership and governanace of the country.

8. #8 by DAPPKR on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 9:48 am

Well atleast the voice of other races will be heard
    with this flip in the recent GE

not just the UMNO being pro-malays.

Now we will have change for “MALAYSIANS”

9. #9 by k1980 on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 9:49 am

Haiya, time for my afternoon nap… my anak-in-law will take over now
    http://sg.yimg.com/xp/afp/20080316/13/772533872.jpg

10. #10 by limkamput on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 9:56 am

Yes, those UMNO ultras have been defanged, but I am not too sure they are capable of learning and changing. Some have shown conciliatory gesture probably to placate the tsunami change in sentiment among the people. But I guess when opportunities avail and when circumstances dictate, many of these ultras will be ever willing to resort to familiar racist card again.

For a start, let me quote you another fast emerging Keris waving potential within the UMNO ultras rank. This is none other than Ali Rustam, the CM of mosquito state, Melaka. I think it is not too early to identify him with Kerismudin. This Rustam fellow thinks the Federal projects in Penang belong to his grandfather. Let me remind him that Penang People pay more taxes than Melaka. What right has he got to stop federal projects in Penang after BN lost the election? Don’t be a racist and don’t play politics at the expense of people’s fundamental right to choose the government of their choice. For his information, there are more people in Peninsula Malaysia voted for the oppositions than BN in the recent election. Ali Rustam, I strong suggest you mend your way; otherwise, by next election you too will be part of Sultanate Melaka.

May I suggest to all the bloggers here: From now on we shall systematically single out racists, sexists and religious bigots from ALL political parties, isolate them, humiliate them, and give them hell till they capitulate?

11. #11 by pwcheng on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:04 am

To say that the election commission is free and fair is naive. It is definitely still far away from there and all modus operandi of the commission points to this direction. For the fact that the constitution was changed to prolong the stay of the chairman is already a testimony to it. And in today’s comment by VK Chin in the Star, I totally disagree with him that there is no bias in their work and citing that the opposition is able to win seats and takeover some states are the thinking of someone who is naive.

Yes it is true that the opposition had won some seats and to an extent winning some states. Remember if the bush-fire are raging everywhere it is impossible for even the best firemen to put it out so easily. Every form of cheating has its limitation too. Nobody unless he is awkwardly stupid will want to cheat if it is too obvious. We know the bags and bags of postal votes are there ready for emergency for some selected few in every Gen Election and obviously not enough for ever body. This is the final stage of cheating if everything fails. We can affirmatively say that biasness in favor of the BN is in the blood of Commission. Even during Datuk Harun Din’s time and if you can remember clearly,how do you explain that when Kua Kia Song of PJU did not sign a form in the 1995 election, he was disqualified but when Rafidah Aziz did not sign two forms she was not disqualified and subsequently won the election in 2008.

Can VK Chin please explain this if he thinks that there is no biasness?

12. #12 by limkamput on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:07 am

With regard to Mukhriz’s challenge to PM to resign, I think we should not give him too much credit for this. Is he seeking opportunity just like his father 40 years ago? If he sensed things were not right, why didn’t he highlight it before the election? Why only now when the BN had suffered massive defeat. Besides what is his agenda of calling PM to resign? Is because UMNO is not racist or rightist enough?

As I see it, the decision to call him to resign is a right one, but I don’t think he has a good reason or motivation. I think Mukhriz has to make clear what will be UMNO’s agenda after the change in leadership – toward a more inclusive Malaysia or toward a more ultras, a more racist and a more bigotry and exclusive Malaysia?

To me, no matter how benevolent a person is, he/she can’t be doing the right thing in an ultras rightist and racist party.

13. #13 by badak on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:12 am

UMNO is blaming everyone for the bad showing in this resent GE, from its component parties and even the people for not being patriotic,by voting for the opposition,I am yet to see UMNO especialy KJ and that kriss guy taking the blame.

14. #14 by Tickler on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:13 am

KUALA LUMPUR, March 15 – Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah has fired a broadside against Umno president Abdullah Ahmad Badawi , writing a letter to all 193 party division chiefs calling for a special meeting to discuss the reverses suffered at the polls.

Ku Li, as Razaleigh is known in the party, is viewed by some of Abdullah’s critics as someone who can unite the party and reach out to Chinese and Indians.

His letter will add further pressure on Abdullah who is being blamed for Barisan Nasional’s lacklustre performance in Election 2008, and could cause a split in a party that is struggling to come to terms with the loss of 5 states.

His letter reached the division heads yesterday and was measured in its tone. The elder statesman of Umno said that the recent election results was not only surprising, but frightening.

He wrote: “In the first general election in 1955, Umno controlled two-thirds seats in Parliament. Today, we are a minority voice in Parliament. At the federal level, Umno is no longer a strong political power. I nearly shed tears thinking about this scenario.

“We should not point fingers at anyone and absolve ourselves. In fact, we should have not allowed the leadership to make the mistake before it happened.‘’

Ku Li urged party members to call a meeting on May 11 to discuss the election results and the future of Malays.
    “I’m suggesting this date because it is the anniversary of (the founding of) Umno,” he wrote.
    http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/4425/84/

15. #15 by limkamput on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:14 am

haiyo,,,yo, PWCheng, I cannot even tahan Wong Chun Wai lah, how to tahan this VKChin? I think LGE and Khalid should not grant chun wai the interview at least for a time being. Just to teach all these fellows a lesson.

16. #16 by Tickler on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:16 am

skilgannon1066 said…

Did anyone watch the PM being interviewed by Martin Soong of CNBC on the CNBC channel this evening, Mar 16?

Soong put the PM on the spot when he asked about Najib and Anwar. The PM, who was grim-faced throughout the interview, said he and Najib have full confidence in each other.

All in all, not a good interview for the PM. Soong was courteous, but firm in putting his questions across. One could sense the PM’s discomfort.

Seems to me that the PM is turning to the foreign media. There was his op-ed piece in the Asian Wall Street Journal. Now this CNBC interview. What next – an appearance on the BBC “Hard Talk” programme? Or an interview with Spore’s Channel NewsAsia TV channel?

8:42 PM
    http://rockybru.blogspot.com/2008/03/petition-in-support-of-mukhriz-mahathir.html

17. #17 by Toyol on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:17 am

More investigation must be carried out in Rembau. Smells of trickery.

The BN people will not vacate their posts no matter what. They preach that they serve their people, yet when their people no longer want them, they refuse to budge. Too much money to make, I guess.

18. #18 by drmaharajahrk on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:28 am

Mukhriz asked Bodowi to take action ” Go ahead, make my day “. Bodowi chicked out and asked Kerismuddin to do the dirty job for him.

Kerismuddin after all his keris antics and ” Don’t dare me ” slogan.
    [ Boy I’m so scared i’m pissing in my pants ], wants to wait after the cabinet is formed.

Why Keris ? you are afraid that if you make the wrong move now you wont be included in the cabinet ?

Or are you waiting for Bodowi to make his move regarding your cabinet position before you decide if you should join Mukhriz and press for AAB’s resignation ?

19. #19 by RocketDAP on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:28 am

Mukhriz’s is just a puppet being used.

20. #20 by dawsheng on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:31 am

“Many would think that Mukhriz is a chip off the old block, recalling that nearly forty years ago his father, then a defeated candidate in the parliamentary election, also sent a similar letter to Prime Minister Tunku Abdul Rahman asking him to resign following the 1969 election mess and the ensuing horrendous race riot.” Bakri Musa

I would like to think that Mukhriz is slightly more than a chip off the old block, but who is Mukhriz if he is not bin Mahathir? Calling for Abdullah resignation certainly do not need ballz bigger than others, growing calls from ordinary Malaysians calling for Abdullah’s resignation started at least two years back, during these time Mukhriz did nothing but hide behind that old block. Like his father, he also makes his move after Abdullah’s position weakened, like his Mahathir, Mukhriz is also an opportunist. The only reason I saw in Mukhriz where he is slightly more than a chip off the old bloxk is that he loses his hair faster than Mahathir.

21. #21 by twistedmind on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:34 am

I do not see Abdullah giving up voluntarily much less gracefully. He has to be literally dragged out and figuratively hit on the head with a two-by-four.
    ——————————

Hitting the donkey repeatedly on his head till he retreat………..that is the only way UMNO got to do it. Sadly, only Mukriz has the guts to pick up the stick!

22. #22 by Tickler on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:35 am

Maybe Kerismuddin 8is waiting for PKR to file petition on Rembau which would much weaken Badawi further.

23. #23 by cheng on soo on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:38 am

Pls DON’T sat UMNO is pro Malay, WRONG! UMNO is pro UMNOputra only!

24. #24 by dawsheng on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:40 am

“Obviously Mukhriz is not your grandfather’s Malay. He is a true modern-day Hang Jebat, loyal to institutions and principles, not personalities and titles. He is a worthy and necessary adversary to the hordes of latter day Hang Tuahs who surround Abdullah these days.” Bakri Musa

The fact that Mukhriz took the opportunity of Abdullah’s weakened position to stab the ailing Prime Minister in his back says it all, I wasn’t sure what to call Mukhriz then, now I know it is called modern-day Hang Jebat.

25. #25 by novice101 on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:42 am

In life, ‘ultras’ come and they go. What is more important now, for us the rakyat, who want to have a united and harmonious nation, is to protect the young democratic shoot that has just sprouted on March 8!

For all those who care, stay vigilant! Anytime we see or read extreme, racist or divisive statements being made, take action. Let our voice be heard. Let us be the moderating force.

Do not lose what we have gained, be heard and be counted. Stand up for our Nation’s future!

26. #26 by baoqingtian on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:42 am

if Badawi step down, Najib will take over. Hey! This man is dangerous too. He can be worse. Remember! The Mongolian case is not settled yet!

27. #27 by showsomemercy on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:42 am

You think Mukhriz got so much balls? I guess his daddy has calculated all the risk of what is the outcome…

He knows what are the things UMNO will and will not do to his son…

Calculated Risk!!! :)

Oh yeah, Mahatir once cried on the stage when he said he wanted to resign… He also calculated the risk already… He knows people will pull him back and ask him to stay on one more year to clear the mess he did…

All this are calculated risks… :)

28. #28 by cheng on soo on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:43 am

The word ‘OPPOSITION’ must be used more precise now, as in those 5 states, NOW, ‘OPPOSITION’ should mean BN

29. #29 by lakshy on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:45 am

Mukhriz should have asked for both AAb and his deputy to step down. Both have enough scandals to make them lose their credentials as good leaders.

Then the question that begs an answer, is who next? umno does not have any capable leaders left. Of course you have the wannabe’s such as Muhyiddin, Rustam, Mohamad2, and of course Keris-din and Harry J from Rembau, but would you ahve them as your pm? Not me. I would prefer to leave it to AAB.

And I would call on the rakyat to taunt and torment and tease Keris-din and Harry, so that they do wield the Keris in the name of ketuanan melayu. Lets see what that will get them.

30. #30 by alexx on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:45 am

When we are with another barisan ……

~ Anything decided by Um will become the decision of the barisan…

~ All others parties within the barisan will never have a fair foundation to deal, to discuss, to debate with Um…

~ Yet they turn out to tell you, they are really for all..cos we have our (so-call)representative parties (Which in fact always being muted) in the barisan…

~ And they tell Malay as long as they are with them, they will always be ‘cared’ (In fact with their way… only richer getting richer. still many others lower class Bumi facing problems around even after nearly 40yrs)

~ And they tell non-Muslim as well, as long as with them. They will free us from Islamic administration (In fact this country had being declared as Islamic Country, decade ago even PAS has not yet take over the whole country)

~ Yet some like to play ‘knife’ out of his kitchen, and the leader said no nid worry cos he will care all of us…( In fact the person who playing the ‘knife’ now will be the leader… leading the party as well as the barisan in next generation)

~ Something even funny.. A major party inside dat barisan being ‘chased out’ of the barisan simply by a guy, who not the leader of another party , but just a leader of the youth subordinate of dat party.. (And this shown totally imbalance of the members parties power).

~ Still we have (so-call) our representative party selected a funny head for all of us.. (Not being a Minister means you are not intending to work hard for all Chinese’s welfare, after you had been voted out to take this responsibility… The way to take the responsible of your party’s result in election is to quit your position inside your party… Simply like this also dunno… and what is your logic mind? As I do really wish to know)

This country is with 70% (and keeps counting…) of Muslim. We need to hear their voices, if we want to form a GOV which is really for all… It doesn’t matter a coalition including PAS or not…

A coalition for all means that we have all voices (voices from all races and all religions –including Muslim and non-Muslim) being discussing, debating in a ‘fair-manner’ and conclude a solution this is really for all of us… This can really be done only when all the participated parties inside the coalitions know how to respect each others and not totally leaded by only 1 party! (Just like another barisan)

BR is more multi-racial, and multi-religion as we have not race-based party within the BR.. Anyone can join DAP as well as PKR and even for PAS its not just for Malays also.. There are still with a number of Chinese- Muslim, Indian- Muslim, etc)…
    Unless we have PAS become the ruler of this coalition and totally ignoring voices from DAP and PKR…Otherwise BR still is the better choice, just because of all 3 parties within the coalition will always have ‘equal chance’ to voices out and to discuss as well as to produce the solution together..

31. #31 by RealWorld on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:50 am

Yes you guys in the Opposition have beaten us.

I hope you now run the 5 states efficiently for the rakyat.

All the best.

32. #32 by limkamput on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:58 am

Fighting like dogs and cats so as to give them the opportunity to “serve” the rakyat and the country. Give me the break! That is about the most oxy-moron notion ever – fight to get the opportunity to serve! If the genuine intention is to serve, you need not fight very hard. If the genuine intention is to serve, you will voluntarily vacant the position when there is slightest indication that you are no longer needed.

What I see is everybody fighting for position and serving themselves! I think we should be wary of those in PKR, DAP and PAS too, if they fight too hard among themselves to get the opportunity to “serve” the rakyat. I don’t buy it and I will never be.

33. #33 by dawsheng on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:59 am

“As an added measure, Mukhriz let it be known in his letter that he was prepared to face the consequences of his action, as if daring Abdullah to, “Go ahead! Make my day!” Mukhriz was challenging Abdullah mano a mano, man to man, a gauntlet that could only have been thrown down by an assured jantan.” Bakri Musa

What are the consequences if Abdullah insist on staying on as Prime Minister? What are the basis of Mukhriz’s action calling for Abdullah’s to resign?

Abdullah, although a weak Prime Minister but he is still a legitimate Prime Minister because BN won a simple majority in the recent election to form the government. It was Abdullah’s weakness, the opposition has the chance to deny BN’s 2/3 majority in the parliament, is what we called a blessing in disguise for a healthy democratic system. Malaysians in general should gives Abdullah Badawi a big thank you and let him has his time to step down when he is ready. In my opinion, Mukhriz’s action is not in the interest of all Malaysians, in that case, what is the big deal if he is prepared to face the consequences of his own action when he deserves it? Malaysia needs stabilty after the general election and Mukhriz fails to see that.

34. #34 by Wisdom above on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:00 am

To, YB LGE , CM Penang.

Why West Malaysians are still dreaming ?

Someone from Sabah talk sense.

1)…Sabah Progressive Party president Datuk Yong Teck Lee said he was puzzled why the NEP was still an issue when it had been replaced by the

>’National Development Policy'(NDP)…

> TUN DR M launched the “NDP” which year ?

2)…“so called cancellation of the NEP” was completely redundant because it no longer existed and it was equally disappointing that Penang Umno was still harping on a non-existent policy.

3)…no wonder that some politicians both from ruling and opposition have lost focus on which policy to talk about,”

Look like Sabahans know what is the ” Truth”.

Sabahans dare to speak out.

Syabas. Barisan Rakyat.

35. #35 by sotong on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:00 am

If the ordinary people want real, prompt and effective change…..stay away from BN UMNO leadership.

They had 50 years to do something good like S’pore. Don’t waste your time and gamble your future with bad, grossly outdated and selfish leaders, they will never change.

If they could change….it will be too little too late!

36. #36 by k1980 on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:05 am

This is a fine example of a caring government
    http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/4532/84/

37. #37 by dawsheng on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:08 am

“We all know the fate of Hang Jebat in that story. Before today’s Hang Tuahs in UMNO gloat however, they should remember the fate that befell the more important Malacca sultanate.” Bakri Musa

Afonso de Albuquerque is history. There is no needs for a Hang Tuah and Hang Jebat scene in UMNO. That’s the whole problem about UMNO, they only think about themselves.

38. #38 by alexx on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:13 am

[ limkamput Says:
    Today at 10: 58.32 (14 seconds ago)
    What I see is everybody fighting for position and serving themselves! I think we should be wary of those in PKR, DAP and PAS too, if they fight too hard among themselves to get the opportunity to “serve” the rakyat. I don’t buy it and I will never be. ]

What actually happened is that we are now formatted 2 Barisan for this country…
    No one right here can say that BR will always be the better choice FOREVER…
    Personally (and I believe many else as well) will vote the Barisan (either BN or BR) which we feel is good for us.. Please remember it’s the so-call ‘leaders ‘in BN, whom should be responsible for their lost. Same thing might be happening in BR as well, if we have ‘emotional, narrow- eyes’ leaders controlling BR in future.
    And now we have 2 coalition formed successfully and both of them got to be ‘more competitive’ than another for us to vote. This is good for the country, especially younger generation..
    Whose better whose Up.. Whose worse who down.. And we need no to stick to only 1 Baarisan as we have no choice at all.

39. #39 by limkamput on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:16 am

RealWorld Says: “Yes you guys in the Opposition have beaten us.
    I hope you now run the 5 states efficiently for the rakyat. All the best.”

Sure we will try our best provided you fellows don’t keep destabilising the oppositions (now in government in five states) to do their job. Of course we must also monitor their performance to make sure they behave and really serve the people and not themselves. It is going to be a difficult task, but I think this BLOG will help. I think there are many here who do not have vested interest in any particular personality or position. So, we will serve as the impartial watchdog against BN and PKR-DAP-PAS.

It would be separate matter if Sdr Lim shuts down this blog or chooses to censor the postings. If such things happen, then I am sure PKR-DAP-PAS will be no difference from BN.

40. #40 by pwcheng on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:17 am

limkamput .
    Think it is ok to grant this Wong Chun Wai fellow an interview with LGE and Khalid. Only thing is everything must be recorded so that they will not twist and turn which they had been doing better than an acrobat all these while. We all know the Star reporters and editors are all trained to be biased and all precaution has to be taken.

Just give them one more chance to see whether they have improved their angle of slant.

41. #41 by novice101 on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:19 am

Azhar Ibrahim (the newly appointed opposition head of Penang) and Ali Rastam (the CM of Melaka) are the new self-appointed ‘ultras’.

Azhar asks the PM to withdraw all projects that had been approved for Penang just to punish his fellow-Penangites. The Governor should consider expelling this turncoat from the state, make him a “Penang Reject!.

Ali Rastam, also a sore loser, like Azhar Ibrahim, threathens the Melaka Rakyat. He says he will not consider any big developments for these constituiencies.

Know what, the rakyat does not believe him! They know he has not the will power to withstand the temptation of what big developments can offer!

42. #42 by alexx on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:21 am

[
    Wisdom above Says:

Today at 11: 00.06 (13 minutes ago)
    To, YB LGE , CM Penang.

Why West Malaysians are still dreaming ?

Someone from Sabah talk sense.

1)…Sabah Progressive Party president Datuk Yong Teck Lee said he was puzzled why the NEP was still an issue when it had been replaced by the

>’National Development Policy’(NDP)…

> TUN DR M launched the “NDP” which year ?

2)…“so called cancellation of the NEP” was completely redundant because it no longer existed and it was equally disappointing that Penang Umno was still harping on a non-existent policy.

3)…no wonder that some politicians both from ruling and opposition have lost focus on which policy to talk about,”

]

The National Development Policy replaced the Malaysian New Economic Policy in 1990 but continued to pursue most of NEP policies. The Malay share of the economy, though substantially larger, was not near the 30% target according to government figures. In its review of the NEP, the government found that although income inequality had been reduced, some important targets related to overall Malay corporate ownership had not been met. Both Mahathir and the Tunku had expressed concern that the Malays remained too reliant on the Chinese economically.

And both of them are nearly same.. Just name different..

[
    Look like Sabahans know what is the ” Truth”.

Sabahans dare to speak out.
    ]

You should ask them to analyse the ‘Containing Rules’, indeed just the ‘Name’ of both policies… ( So, Sabahans satified with just the changing of ‘Name’ indeed of ‘policies’? lol)

43. #43 by Tickler on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:23 am

Worst of all, Badawi indicated that, Quote: “He did indicate, however, that he would not do away with the remnants of the New Economic Policy (NEP), which many had deemed pro-Malay”.
    [Quoted from the Straits Times of Singapore, March 11 2008]
    http://politika-malaysia.blogspot.com/2008/03/badawi-not-keen-to-drop-nep.html

That Sabah Progressive Party president Datuk Yong Teck Lee must be living on a different planet. Or could these be signs that Sabah may soon see some BN `winners` crossing over.

44. #44 by limkamput on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:29 am

Wisdom above says: “Look like Sabahans know what is the ” Truth”.
    Sabahans dare to speak out.”

Wisdom above,
    I think you are talking or believing in nonsense. The reason why most people don’t realise that NEP has been replaced by NDP is because the two are completely the same, got it? Why are you following that idiot Yong Teck Lee? He is out to confuse. Why don’t you write to him, asking him to explain to you the difference between NEP and NDP in substantive (implementation) terms and not in policy pronouncement?

45. #45 by limkamput on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:44 am

novice101 Says:
    “Azhar Ibrahim (the newly appointed opposition head of Penang) and Ali Rastam (the CM of Melaka) are the new self-appointed ‘ultras’.”

Yes, novice101, we must seek them out, humiliate them, hassle them, and give them hell till they capitulate. From now on, for every statement these racists make, we must highlight, confront, challenge and belittle them. I hope all the bloggers here will do the same. I think this is one effective way to contain racism, bigotry and right wing fascism. I must say, the bloggers here have to some extent put Kerismudin and KJ in bad light because of our constant harassment.

I think we should also remember that “bocor MP” from Sabah. Bung something, forget his name. We must get even with him – to see that his role in the new Parliament be completely neutralised and reduced him to an eunuch.

46. #46 by drmaharajahrk on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:49 am

Wisdom ,

Like to correct you on something.

It’s not YB Lim Guan Eng but YAB Lim Guan Eng

47. #47 by Tickler on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:53 am

137 comments:
    And don’t call me ‘YB’ please March 10, 2008

In our meeting last night, Anwar Ibrahim brought us down to earth.

First – we have to change this ‘bodek’ feudal culture of Umno. ‘Yang Berhormat’ or YB is only appropriate in the halls of the state assembly or Parliament. Do the Brits or Australians go around calling their MPs or state legislators ‘Right Honourable’ in public? Nope.

So please don’t call us YBs. It gives me a strange icky feeling if you do.

http://elizabethwong.wordpress.com/2008/03/10/and-dont-call-me-yb-please/#comments

48. #48 by sotong on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 12:01 pm

With the serious blow inflicted on BN and as long as the Opposition parties work in the best interest of the ordinary people in a multi racial and religious country until the next election……BN days in government are numbered!

49. #49 by Tickler on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 12:04 pm

If 30 MPs from BN, ten each from Peninsular Malaysia, Sabah and Sarawak cross over to the Opposition Alliance, they would take over the reins of the Federal Government if the King refuses to consent to
    fresh elections.

50. #50 by dawsheng on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 12:21 pm

I wish to see a new government but I do not wish to see a new government because there is crossovers from UMNO due to infighting in the party, or because new door is open for PKR’s de facto leader Anwar Ibrahim to rejoin UMNO, this type of new government consisting of UMNOputras is the last thing we want to see. But Malaysians will have to suffer first before this type of government can be put in place as it will have to go through a period uncertainties and the thing we fear most may come true.

Abdullah should be given one or two years to be at helm if he survived this UMNO GA, but here is a chance for him to step down gracefully, without crying. But if Abdullah chose not to pass the baton that doesn’t mean Najib’s fate is not decided as Najib’s fate is sealed and his fate is not going to be any better than Abdullah’s, UMNO also know this.

I don’t know what Abdullah should do, but I would give him a period of two years to get himself ready, step down and pass the baton to the best person and pave the way for an early general election in 2010 so the Rakyat can decide again.

51. #51 by dawsheng on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 12:25 pm

Anwar must not accept crossovers.

52. #52 by dawsheng on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 12:30 pm

Is the name of Najib a sensitive one for this blog?

53. #53 by dawsheng on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 12:31 pm

Can I use the term Deputy Prime Minister then?

54. #54 by sotong on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 12:31 pm

To help BN UMNO becoming grossly unattractive and irrelevant….you should encourage their racist and religious ultras to continue making damaging remarks….let them keep their fangs for the time being!

55. #55 by justice_fighter on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 12:39 pm

# RocketDAP Says:
    Mukhriz’s is just a puppet being used.
    ————————————————–

Najib is the true winner in this GE12.
    Mukhriz’s is just a puppet being used by Najib. Obviously Mukhriz has a strong backing from Najib, else he would not have the guts to challenge Badawi to resign.

The game between (Badawi + Khairy) vs (Najib + Hisapputin Karis + Mukhriz) is getting more interesting now!!

The only way (Badawi + Khairy) can win this game is by dragging Najib into the Atantuya murder case. We will see the real war within the next 12 months!

God bless Malaysia!

56. #56 by showsomemercy on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 12:48 pm

Wow Ali Gostan lagi lama lagi too much. My friend told me he said in Sin Chew that the government should stop all projects in Penang.

The reason? Let the rakyat know the akibat of voting opposition.

I was like… wtf? Isn’t it a little too much ? You melaka fella go and kepo penang for what?

57. #57 by showsomemercy on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 12:51 pm

Gostan said want to let the rakyat feel the consequences of voting opposition.

Gostan, the consequences of voting opposition is that you will loose power soon. That’s what i can tell you. Make more such remarks and we are loving every second of it. :)

I will still continue voting DAP. Choy ah? :)

58. #58 by Tickler on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 1:01 pm

Throw the bugger in that smelly Malacca River. At least it`ll be food for chincharu and fish.

59. #59 by alexx on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 1:01 pm

If BN decided to stop or postpone development on those losing states, yet they are really not a coalition for Malaysia…

When you said that being a gov for Malaysia , but not going to take care on Selangor, (central of Malaysia) Penang Perak (where can consider developed states in Malaysia ), as well as North economy region ( which is one of yourself declared giant project)… Yet you are really not a GOV for all Malaysian, but you’re just for some Malaysian…

Until the day when those narrow-eyes, racist, emotional, tut-tut politicians being took out from BN, else it is still not the choice of I myself.
    Nothing wrong with BN so far, Just ppl inside who made the coalition went wrong side and keep going to be wrong..

60. #60 by Tickler on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 1:09 pm

Good comment this:

Ong Kok Seng: I agree with Azhar Ibrahim. So what’s the problem? If you think this is what Umno wants, please go ahead. Does he knows who gets hurt? All these projects were awarded to Umno cronies in Penang – the Penang Monorail will go to Scomi; the Penang 2nd Bridge is given to UEM, the RapidPenang is Umno-owned, and the PGCC is Patrick Badawi’s. Please go ahead Umno!

A good government never needs federal government financial assistance. They can get investors if they can generate confidence that investors will derive value and benefits. For example, Singapore had nothing when they left Malaysia. But now Singapore GLCs have few hundred billions invested in so many countries.

All what Penang needs is a clean, efficient and honest government leaders with a strong human capital base. The rest will fall in place by natural process.
    http://malaysiakini.com/news/79927

Like I said earlier that M`cca Ali Raskol is only good as fish food.

61. #61 by highhand on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 1:18 pm

mb paklah should consider having a ministry of losers and ministry of keris

62. #62 by drmaharajahrk on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 1:27 pm

what UMNO is trying to do is to go back in history and form a new Federated Malay States and Un Federated Malay States like what we learned in history in school. Negeri Melayu Bersekutu dan Negeri Melayu tidak Bersekutu.

Now the UnFederated ones are the Political Pariahs of the neocolonists UMNO i.e Penang, Selangor, Perak, Kedah and Kelantan. The rest are Federated states cos they belong to the Federal Government.

What Penang UMNO is trying to do it, increase the number of Un Federated Malay States and unify to form a NEW MALAYSIA !

MERDEKA ! MERDEKA ! MERDEKA !

63. #63 by Tickler on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 1:30 pm

MOL: Ministry Of Losers
    MOLL: A street term for women, sometimes prostitutes, but not necessarily, who congregate around and interact socially with crime figures or gangsters.

64. #64 by alaneth on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 1:32 pm

Follow S’pore style lah – step down but don’t resign;

become Senior Minister,
    then become Minister Mentor… :)

65. #65 by highhand on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 1:38 pm

dont think the kris issue will end. now many will lift his own kris n backstab each other and others

not sure about the history . did the GREAT malacca empayar once fall bcause of all the Hangs or something else?

66. #66 by drmaharajahrk on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 1:43 pm

remember what Nazri Aziz said some time back ?

” Dont forget who coined the term AMOK “.

Now everyone in UMNO is going to run amok, because they coined the term right Nazri ?

67. #67 by highhand on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 1:45 pm

that will be the suitable fellow to head the two ministry combined

68. #68 by sotong on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 1:55 pm

You will not find great leaders in BN…….most had grossly sacrified their principles and neglected their responsibility to defend democracy, social justice and a fair and decent society to protect the basic rights of ordinary people and the working poor.

There are potentially great leader/s in the Opposition parties who could deliver the important short and long term change in the government administration essential to the progress and development of the country in a globalised and competitive world.

69. #69 by highhand on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 1:57 pm

so did the bn reps attend the perak mb swear in? or just too busy swearing………….?

70. #70 by devilmaster on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 2:12 pm

71. #71 by wag-the-dog on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 2:20 pm

To Hear and To Listen
    The last ten days has been a merry go round for most of us. We are unable to come to terms with the 12th electoral results and we grapple with the news and analysis. There have been some good comments and analysis and others just for the sake of making them.

Let me introduce myself. I am a new blogger but have been following the local political scene. You could say I have been the silent majority until after the last general election. Please visit my blog http://www.wagthedog-malaysia.blogspot.com to understand the meaning of my nick/username.

We know the various reasons for the fantastic performance of the Barisan Rakyat and the dismal showing of BN. Why was there so much anger irrespective of race, religion, creed etc. ? I believe all the parties heard the reasons be it BR or BN. So why the swing? Simply because BN heard and BR listened. Few week ago Pak Lah said he heard us loud and clear but he did not listen. The arrogance is even worst in some like the former MB of Selangor who said that the state will be without any opposition just a few days before election day.

When the results became clear on the day of election, except for a couple like Tan Sri Kho Shu Khoon most just walked out without addressing their supporters. Some like Samy Vellu did not appear until a few days later. Because they heard and did not want to listen.

So why did they hear and not listen? The answer is the title of my blog, Wag the Dog. They listened to what they wanted to hear. They listened to the Forth Floor. All BN component parties had their their own forth floor. The forth floor only told what they wanted to hear. The forth floor made their bosses feel good with fantastic news from the ground with great rhetoric.
    They all had the FFS (Forth Floor Syndrome) or Shiok Sindiri Syndrome (SSS).

The thousands spent on the print and electronic media by BN and MIC just prior to the election was SSS. This is not new this has been going on for donkey years. So the leaders hear but they never listen to us Rakyat.

When the Crimea University issue came up and an MIC MP voiced his concern in parliament and he was suspended. Same case with Hindraf, an MIC MP was disciplined by the so called WHIP because they do not want to listen. Lingam case was also the same they took such a long time to create the royal commission which then had such a narrow term of reference. The list goes on and on, be it in relation to the Malays, Chinese, Indian, Kadazan, Iban or any other rakyat of Malaysia.

My main concern to Barisan Rakyat is please do not repeat what BN had done. Please listen. Please do nor use rhetorics. Think before making statement. Stop discussing NEP. Talk about abolishing corruption and cronyism and efficient implementation and equal distribution. Stay committed to the coalitions and do not give the BN opportunities to fan the race card. Humble yourselves and listen.

Barisan Rakyat you are the one who should reinvent your self now so that you do not become irrelevant by the next election. Stay true to the the spirit of “Of the People, By the People and For the People” and not for yourselves.

Pleaase click link above to access my blog.

72. #72 by jbozz on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 2:23 pm

Is there any possibility that Pak Lah will appoint Khairy into the smaller cabinet to be announced tomorrow! Pls vote 1. Yes 2. No

Click here to see some interesting & creative banners prepared by the nation.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XAnWJLhMOeQ

It is foolish that Hishammudin wanted to take action on Mukhriz? use ISA on own UMNO members? Sacked him from UMNO? Fine him? use keris to castrate him? Any idea what kind of punishment for been honest to UMNO leader?

73. #73 by beankadok on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 2:27 pm

Head the Kera Jahat and his samsengs behind attempts to create disruption!

74. #74 by oster on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 2:27 pm

Are these two articles related?

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Monday/Frontpage/2188527/Article/index_html
    http://www.harakahdaily.net/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=13317&Itemid=28

NST has said PAS made an alleged proposal, but did not cite where they got this proposal from. Can someone enlighten us?

cheers

75. #75 by beankadok on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 2:29 pm

Shld read : “heard”

sorry.

76. #76 by helpless on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 2:31 pm

Ali Gostan… very interesting name.

Melaka is far underdeveloped and less populated.

Land was abundant and could possibly given away.This “Ghost-an” is feeling ill when developed state not with BN.

77. #77 by jennifer cheong on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 2:33 pm

Dear leader Lim Kit Siang, Guan Eng and all,
    Pls refuse any interview by UMNO’s newspaper eg : Utusan Melayu. they will only twise and turn the facts into horrific racist issue which does not exist. Deny them!don’t trust them anymore to protect Malaysia from racist disasters created by UMNO,MCA and MIC. Well done leaders!don’t give way, just stop them!

78. #78 by alancheah on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 2:38 pm

They will NOT learn the lesson…
    see what has happened to those
    who protested last few days and those who
    hu-ha around against the new state govt….
    We already know… they will just NEVER learn!

They will KALAH even a BIG Time
    in the next election!

79. #79 by Godfather on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 3:04 pm

Calling for Badawi’s resignation isn’t going to change the equation. It has been Mahathir’s desire all along to “promote” Najib, but we all know that Najib has a much bigger appetite than Badawi. Najib will simply perpetuate the status quo by reappointing old friends, and relatives into UMNO. Don’t forget that he and Kerismuddin are cousins.

UMNO is like a football team with no reserves left, and of all the players on the field, the captain has been useless the whole match but there are no substitutes available. You take the captain off, and the remaining 10 players are still the same. So it might be better to just let him wander around the pitch or run aimlessly until full time, whereupon the next team – a completely new team – comes in.

80. #80 by Godfather on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 3:06 pm

Mukhriz is just trying to implement his father’s agenda, so we must be wary. There are good people in UMNO who understand the problems and who can initiate change – people like Zaid Ibrahim and Astaman Aziz – but who have been left out in the cold because of KJ’s shenanigans.

These are the people who need to come in, and change the top echelon in UMNO once and for all.

81. #81 by Godfather on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 3:07 pm

UMNO is like a football team with no reserves left, and of all the players on the field, the captain has been useless the whole match but there are no substitutes available. You take the captain off, and the remaining 10 players are still the same. So it might be better to just let him wander around the pitch or run aimlessly until full time, whereupon the next team – a completely new team – comes in.

82. #82 by Godfather on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 3:12 pm

RealWorld the UMNOputra is magnanimous at the defeat of the BN. He might be one of the right persons to reform UMNO – if he can give up his Bentley and drive a more modest vehicle to UMNO meetings.

83. #83 by Jong on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 3:16 pm

A wholebunch of dimwits! I nearly fell of my chair when one Din Ahmad at DinMerican Blog said:

“Leave the Malays in UMNO and the only light they will see in the tunnel is ‘THE ONCOMING TRAIN’. :D

84. #84 by Jong on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 3:17 pm

Sorry “I nearly fell off..”

85. #85 by max2811 on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 3:20 pm

I don’t think the UMNO bigots have been defanged. They had a demontration in Ipoh Padang yesterday. Even went on prime time news with moron reporters interviewing them. If they were from PAS, they would have been met by live bullets. If from PKR, truckloads of FRU and riot police.

A few days back in Komtar, a worse situation happened. UMNO still have their supporters in the GOV, media and the Police machinery. Don’t even relax. Be on your toes at all times. Any wrong word uttered will be magnified and twisted.

I prayed for victory. Now I pray for a by-election in Rembau. As for the new MB of Perak, all the best.

86. #86 by Godfather on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 3:21 pm

We should let Badawi be where he is – if we believe that there is no chance of reform within UMNO. Badawi is the Opposition’s best friend. He will come up with more ingenious slogans over the next four to five years, he will continue to put his foot in his mouth, KJ and the 4th floor boys will continue to pull the strings on who gets what, and all the frustrated Malays will end up joining PAS and PKR.

Folks, we should look forward to the next GE to form the federal government !

87. #87 by limkamput on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 3:43 pm

Tickler Says:”A good government never needs federal government financial assistance. They can get investors if they can generate confidence that investors will derive value and benefits. For example, Singapore had nothing when they left Malaysia. But now Singapore GLCs have few hundred billions invested in so many countries.”

It is not so simple. Although the state can do much more if it is efficient and professional, the reality is the state only has limited jurisdictions and resources. Most taxes, both direct and indirect, such as personal, corporate, petroleum, sales, service taxes and excise are under federal government. Most important services such as education, health, inland revenue, police and customs and excise are also under the federal government. It is only fair that federal government provides the necessary allocations and projects at the state. The federal government itself has limited territories – only KL, Putrajaya, and Labuan. Federal projects must be implemented in one state or another. We should fight on the basis that each state within the federation contributes all the taxes to the federal govt. The federal government must always remember that.

We can’t compare Penang with Singapore. When Singapore left, she left as a sovereign nation with full authority to collect revenue, plan and implement projects and formulate policies for the whole country. You must realize that under the existing constitutional arrangement, the state governments can not even borrow money except from the federal government or with expressed authority from the federal government. Besides, international trade and commerce including tax incentives to entice foreign investment are within the jurisdiction of the federal government. That is why from day one after the election, I have been saying it is better to just talk less and tries to get whatever cooperation from the federal government to get the job done. Between federal and state government, the federal government has more power, period. No point keeps harping and arguing because it only serves to sidetrack the more important issues to develop the state.

88. #88 by Wise1 on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 3:48 pm

Uncle Lim

You have taught your son well and today he made all Malaysian proud. Thank you.

Guan Eng enggan keluar RM100 ribu
    Posted by labisman
    Monday, 17 March 2008
    Abdul Halim Mohd Rashid

KUALA LUMPUR, 17 Mac (Hrkh) – Kerana enggan membelanjakan RM100 ribu, Ketua Menteri Pulau Pinang, Lim Guan Eng lebih rela tinggal di sebuah rumah berusia milik bapanya.

Naib Presiden PAS, Haji Mohamad Sabu menceritakan perkara itu selepas bertemu dengan Setiausaha Agung DAP itu di Pulau Pinang baru-baru ini.

Beliau ke pulau itu baru-baru ini kerana hendak bertemu Lim untuk berbincang beberapa perkara mengenai kepentingan bersama kedua-dua pihak.

“Oleh kerana beliau sibuk, beliau meminta saya menemuinya kira-kira pukul 10.00 malam hari itu.

“Tahu di mana Guan Eng nak jumpa saya? Di restoran McDonald,” kata Mohamad Sabu yang mula mengenali Lim dengan lebih dekat ketika sama-sama di tahan dalam Operasi Lallang 1987 lalu.

Naib Presiden PAS itu juga lebih selesa bertemu di tempat terbuka kerana “tidak ada apa yang hendak dirahsiakan”.

Bagaimanapun, katanya, Ketua Menteri Pulau Pinang itu kemudiannya memberitahu pertemuan itu tidak dapat diadakan di tempat terbuka itu atas nasihat pihak keselamatan.

Memahami perkara tersebut, beliau terus menuju ke rumah di mana Lim tinggal.

“Di rumah, dia biasa sahaja dengan “seluaq katok” (seluar pendek). Bila saya tengok keadaan rumah yang berusia tempat dia tinggal, saya tanya dia, kenapa tak pindah ke rumah rasmi Ketua Menteri?

“Dia (Lim) jawab: ‘Susahlah, kalau nak pindah kena perbaiki. Terpaksa belanja sampai RM100 ribu. Takkan saya nak belanja duit rakyat sampai RM100 ribu untuk kepentingan saya’

“Saya rasa sangat terharu mempunyai kawan seperti itu,” kata Mohamad Sabu.

Walaupun perkara itu bukanlah perkara baru baginya, memandangkan Mursyidul Am, Tuan Guru Datuk Nik Abdul Aziz Nik Mat yang menjadi Menteri Besar Kelantan sejak 1990 memilih kehidupan yang sederhana, begitu juga Presiden PAS Tuan Guru Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang ketika menjadi Menteri Besar Terengganu dahulu, Naib Presiden PAS itu tetap merasa bangga dengan sikap sederhana dan rendah diri Lim itu.

“Saya bangga kerana dia takut nak belanja wang rakyat RM100 ribu sedangkan Perdana Menteri gasak sehingga RM15.81 juta untuk ubahsuai kediaman rasminya Seri Perdana di Putrajaya.

“Saya yakin, Menteri-Menteri Besar kita yang lain (dari PAS dan KeADILan) juag akan memilih jalan kehidupan yang sederhana yang sama seperti dua Tok Guru kita, jauh lagilah menyalahgunakan harta kerajaan,” katanya.

Sementara itu, Bernama melaporkan, kata-kata pertama Lim semasa mengadakan sidang media di Pejabat Ketua Menteri di Tingkat 28 Komtar ialah: “Saya rasa seperti melangkah masuk ke kandang singa”.

“Saya tidak menyangka dapat duduk di kerusi ketua menteri ini kerana pernah dipenjarakan. Ia merupakan transformasi sebenarnya dan pengalaman baru bagi saya,” Bernama memetik Lim.

Sebelum mengangkat sumpah, Lim berkata beliau dapati lebih ramai pemberita menghadiri sidang akhbarnya sekarang dan “saya diterangi lampu-lampu kamera”.

Dalam kenyataan kemenangannya, Lim berkata, “Kami gembira dengan kemenangan ini dan berjanji tidak akan mengecewakan penduduk Pulau Pinang.

“Kami mahu menegaskan bahawa kerajaan baru adalah untuk rakyat Malaysia daripada semua kaum. Kami ada bersikap adil, saksama dan tidak mendiskriminasikan mana-mana kumpulan – memberi bantuan kepada semua yang memerlukan.

“Penduduk Pulau Pinang yang berbakat akan mendapat peluang saksama daripada gabungan parti pembangkang itu yang disatukan menerusi kecintaan terhadap demokrasi dan menghormati hak asasi manusia, kekaksamaan politik dan keadilan sosioekonomi,” katanya sambil mengesa orang ramai supaya “menghormati hasrat rakyat”.

89. #89 by pwcheng on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 3:50 pm

I think the opposition or Barisan Rakyat trump card of winning handsomely in his election is the existence of our sleepy head Ahmad Badawi and they must be grateful to him. Needless to say if the BR wants to take over the Federal Government in the next election or possibly in the near future, they must do everything possible to keep him there. You will not have a better chance if he is out as it is not easy to find another comparable to him.

IQ: below average
    Leadership quality: below average
    Showmanship: Good in slogan, bad in implementation
    Craftiness and strategy: definitely not up to the mark and in a habit of doing the wrong thing at the right.
    Personality:below average. A good match only for a chambermaid. Not a PM material.
    Habits: bad. Always sleeping and honeymooning too much. Taking too much time warming up; probably still warming up when game is over. Too much caught up in the denial syndrome.
    Overall performance: Failed

90. #90 by pwcheng on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 3:52 pm

Craftiness and strategy: definitely not up to the mark and in a habit of doing the wrong thing at the right. should read as “doing the wrong thing at the right time”

91. #91 by Godfather on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 3:56 pm

Badawi looks at the mirror on the wall and asks: Mirror Mirror on the wall, who is the fairest of us all ? KJ on the other side of the wall replies: Badawi is the fairest of us all.

Badawi is so happy and satisfied and he plans the next trip overseas with Jeanne in the country’s new jet.

92. #92 by limkamput on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 4:00 pm

sotong Says: “There are potentially great leader/s in the Opposition parties who could deliver the important short and long term change in the government administration essential to the progress and development of the country in a globalised and competitive world.”

Yes, there are potentially great leaders in the oppositions. But our views ought not be so blind or bias. Running a government does not involve skill and knowledge alone. My greatest concern is government or public sector governance. We not only need cleaver people, but we need cleaver people with integrity and honesty, a rare combination if we care to look at the development experience of many countries. Yes, Singapore has the best brains to run the country, but I think what make it works so well is that it has built up an impeccable governance system second to none. If you are senior minister in Singapore and if you try to take money or abuse your power, chances are you will get caught, charged and punished very quickly. I don’t think they retire corrupted leaders gracefully. I think we ought to do the same thing here. All leaders, past, present and future must be called to account for whatever they do.

93. #93 by Godfather on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 4:06 pm

Investors look at a third world country like Bolehland and realise that state governments can change tomorrow – all it takes in Perak and Selangor is for a few PKR/DAP/PAS state assemblymen to cross over and the state governments there will change. Who is going to invest upon the promises of state governments ?

94. #94 by Menang atau mati on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 4:08 pm

Whether BN is going to undertake big projects in Penang or not,with or without the urging of Ali Rustan,you know what?

Penangites will continue to vote for Bariasan Rakyat!!!!!

Penangites have lots of balls!!!!

They do not succumb easily to threats!

Victory or Death

95. #95 by helpless on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 4:17 pm

“Seperti katak dibawak tempurung” This is how I can described those leader who continue to be racist and defend for the NEP. These people will be like Melaka ” Ghost-an” without deep contemplation which will feel guilty in future for not build a strong economic foundation.

As we are living in 21 century yet these people are still dream about the stone-age culture. We are now living in the world where the law of fairness shall prevail and anything contradict will create uneasiness though it is subject to interpretation.

When globalisation has remove the border for business dealing, a reasonable person will do business only if there is fairness.

Unless one who open his mind and be awared of how to create economic for better living ( More FDI, positive balance of payment), he or she is nothing but live in the fantasy. These people must study how those country survive without natural resources.

These people were never been exposed to reality and just continue to believe Malaysia can continue to rely on the income from the Petronas or they are selfish people who do not bother above their descendent.

96. #96 by gofortruth on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 4:25 pm

“Anwar says BN members want to defect
    He promises to play clean, no offer of bribes
    KUALA LUMPUR, March 17 — Opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim claimed today that many lawmakers in the ruling Barisan Nasional coalition want to defect to his camp after their election debacle.”……..

http://themalaysianinsider.com/mni/anwar-says-bn-members-willing-to-defect.html
    ———————————-
    Is something cooking?

97. #97 by highhand on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 4:35 pm

cannot simply katak katak.

the keris wil be use to stab the katak katak

98. #98 by jbozz on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 4:38 pm

I would like to praise YB Nizar, it shows that DAP-PKR-PAS are having a common goal that’s to look after the well fare of the Rakyat. It is a good move by YB Nizar, as people in Perak will be grateful to you.

These UMNO leader has created a mess in Penang Komtar on Friday. In the beginning PG UMNO members leader told govt. to stop all mega projects this include the Rapid penang, which according to some source Khairy owned 20% stake in it, then the next day, see them protesting in the street begging the state govt. to continue with NEP. On on hand they wanted to stop development, on the other hand, they want govt to continue the NEP. Not sure they read or understand the content of NEP? But anyhow, It’s pretty contradicting drama performed by them.

A few interesting stories i would like to follow up
    1) Tengku Razaleigh call for UMNO EGM? seems there’s already a protest by the Selangor UMNO youth division, will it succeed?
    2) What sort of UMNO party punishment will Mukhriz face?
    3) Will Manoharan be freezed from ISA detention?
    4) Water contract signed by Khir Toyo will it be deemed valid.

I’m expecting more news and agendas coming up.

99. #99 by js on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 4:47 pm

[deleted by request]

100. #100 by matterofchoice2008 on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 4:48 pm

PAS vice-president Datuk Husam Musa has clarified that his statement on
    the party taking over the Government at the federal level was taken out
    of context.

“I mentioned that we are hopeful of taking 30 more parliamentary seats to
    win power and not about forming an Islamic Government,” he said.

Someone is trying to put words into other people’s mouth? Lets do
    justice.

101. #101 by gofortruth on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 4:51 pm

Instead of attending MSM interviews ( is this the right time? there is a time for everything), why not invite MSM heads over to your office and interview them and show them in you tube?

102. #102 by gofortruth on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 4:58 pm

The last draw of a fading man – stirring racial havoc?
    If the Royal police ( or is it still BN’c police) has some common sense, they should reject any such gathering especially during this sensitive period when bad losers can turn so ugly.( KJ is without a doubt, one of the biggest losers in this election)

This DAP,PKR & PAS must be mindful & take precautionary measures.

103. #103 by DarkJustice on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 5:11 pm

Now, Who is biadap?? Ask yourself UMno ,ex-MB Perlis, Shahidan is also more biadap to the Sulatn of Perlis if compare with Uncle Kit’s case which is not intentionally.

Why dont you UMNO demonstrate against Shahidan?? What double standard you are practicisng?? I understand Khairy has got permit to have another gathering at the Penang State Mosque at Green Lane this Thursday. I think Pak Lah sudah stop all these nonense in Penang and moreover it’s your home state, Be gentleman and act like one as a loser. I want to ask the police why grant them the permit this Thursday???

BN previously ‘hentam’ opposition’ taking to street demo but now they are behaving worst than that like last week demo by UMNO at Komtar where we understand, supporters were paid RM80 each to participate in the demo and police also one-sided compared to their action against on Hindraft and Bersih. They even make friends with them in one of the video in youtube .

104. #104 by Godfather on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 5:14 pm

Should remember to take videos or pictures of the monkeys and post them on Youtube for all to see.

105. #105 by Caribenar on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 5:20 pm

I am sure that Mukhriz has not acted alone. He has support.

106. #106 by malaysiantruly on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 5:22 pm

My dear ALL UMNO members:

“PLS DUN LET THE WHOLE FOREST VARNISH BECOZ OF A SICKED TREE”.

Wake up! Malaysians have voiced and shown clearly the exit sign to him and yet he still claimed he has your support and stay on. Now, we Malaysians will leave it to you all to show us UMNO is serious in changing….not only in saying but in action. Our supports will remain with you if it happens. Or sad to say, whole BN becomes history after yr 2011. Your choice….

107. #107 by Mydeen Aboo Backer on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 5:27 pm

By the same token, let not the combined DAP-PKR-PAS be lulled into complacency, for the reason for the swing in the 12th General Elections could be that the voters voted against the BN, as opposed to voting for DAP-PKR-PAS. The 13th GE is but 5 years away, and Malaysians have short memories.

108. #108 by Democrats on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 5:33 pm

Could anybody figure out why there are more than 100% of voter turn up for Putrajaya seat? or have the SPR given an explanation?

109. #109 by Democrats on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 5:39 pm

Plus the fact of fatal errors made by the EC, where Chong Eng of Bukit Mertajam initially won with 5700+ majority,(many begin to doubt his popularity) but ended with nearly 26000 majority. See the article in :
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Tuesday/NewsBreak/20080311163107/Article/index_html

According to the article, results from 7 polling centres were put into BN’s Ong Tang Chuans count when it should have gone to Chong Eng. These put KJ’s rembau seat highly suspicious too? Have the EC checked it properly?

110. #110 by js on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 5:39 pm

Moderator, Please delete my the above comment at 16.47pm

111. #111 by pgsilai on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 6:06 pm

I wonder how long they can continue paying RM80? From clips, and tv news I could see that most of them are Mamak, I don’t understand why they are so “kepo”, they are not pure Bumi!

Yuuchh, that Azhar Ibrahim barks like a mad dog, I wonder the Umnos ever feel ashamed to have such a leader. Keep on talking about NEP, NEP and NEP which I think they are even worst than beggars on the street. Yes, whoever gets to take pics or videos of these monkeys on Thurs please put them on youtube. If it is true that police grant them permit,this is really not fair! Catch all of them including the police force who grants the permit.

Next, I think CM should not spare his time for the interview with Wong Chun Wai. What is that to ask, is he genuine or going to be one sided again or worry that all of us going to stop buying STAR?
    I could still recalled one day before we had our ceramah at Han Chiang they had theirs at Rifle Range, tomorrow the STAR, 1st Page big pictures of them gathering, but the next day how come our pictures at Han Chiang none at all?

112. #112 by Noor Aza Othman on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 6:25 pm

Brilliant article Bakri! But all I want is UMNO bulldozed completely! It’s a racist, sexist and fascist party right from the beginning. To think that I wasted almost my whole life defending the sickos from this party;should have listen to my father long time ago! Didn’t realize my father was so wise after all; despite of only finishing school at primary six. And was forced to join the army out of poverty. Whilst the Umno ultra-nationalists and elite-capitalist class were sitting comfortably amidst their stolen-from-the-poor’s (of all Malaysians) wealth and glory; busily brainwashing ordinary Malays. The only hard job that they ever do!

113. #113 by jetaime.f on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 6:29 pm

Hi, can anyone advise whether the Deputy MB is still on the agenda of appointment?

114. #114 by showsomemercy on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 7:20 pm

Menang Atau Mati, that’s what my friends told me, wah Malaccan town people really got balls ar… Not scare at all of BN… All vote DAP! :)

And today i was having lunch i heard a few aunties talking, Wah Can’t let opposition win too much… wait Luan… As u know, we as kids we shouldn’t interfere to aunties point of view. Wait they said we Biadap! :) In my heart i say, aiyoh aunty… If opposition win all also, nothing will happen… If luan also, who is the biggest looser? UMNO themselved! wakakaka….

Ali Gostan… I fear you NOT! I will vote for opposition because i got BALLS! :) Choy ar… ^^

115. #115 by jetaime.f on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 7:30 pm

Funny, how people need to feel afraid for not voting for a certain party……isn’t voting about choice and prerogative…….

116. #116 by EddieTheHead on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 7:33 pm

“…Surprisingly, the mainstream media carried this item. Perhaps those editors have also learned their lesion in this election….”

Freudian slip?

117. #117 by chanjoe on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 7:57 pm

Orang Melaka….WAKE UP…UP…UP…
    The Chinese had shown him they despise him for making the pig rearers suffer.
    My relatives in Melaka prayed and took action to vote out MCA & Gerakan candidates but unfortunately…Ali Rustam still managed to conned Malay voters.
    Koh Nai Kwong & others were hated by the Chinese….
    Now Ali R threatened Historical Melaka that no development for city…so what…its a historical city so not much development shld be done to protect its history…..who will suffer most?
    The cronies in MCA, Gerakan, MIC and UMNO will actually syffer as they are the people behind and stand to get mega bucks if the development goes on time…look what happen to Padang Merdeka?
    Now a concrete shopping center…what a shame….people come to Melaka for the history but now its being turned into concrete everywhere……
    sad…sad…Ali to hell wit u …don’t play…play…with the intelligence of orang melaka….

118. #118 by showsomemercy on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 8:17 pm

wah… i got a strong supporter here by the name of chanjoe! :) I am 100% with you brother… He should be shipped out…

I heard he load his Bukit Baru seat but postal votes saved him! Come on orang Melaka… Don’t sleep no more… This time we win 5 only, make sure next round win 25!!! Let Ali Gostan eat his own words…

Enough is Enough!!! :)

Ship him out like the big Portuguese ship! :)

119. #119 by Menang atau mati on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 9:01 pm

Since “balls” has become so popular.

The next GE, let’s have a competition to see which state has the most “balls”!

Hard to beat Penangites,leh?

120. #120 by drngsc on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 9:10 pm

Friends,
    Let us not indulge in name calling. It would mean that we are stooping to their level. Let us by our deeds, not our words, show that they are wrong. Otherwise, the gloating will be shortlived and they will have more to gloat in 5 years time.
    This is the time to work hard, so that they will never have any chance to ever do what they did, again.

121. #121 by ilikeit on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:01 pm

work ahead is hard I see
    steady yourself you must

122. #122 by year of snake on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:09 pm

At last, I do not have to read in the papers the statement which the extremist loudmouths keep on reminding us that UMNO CAN FORM THE GOVERNMENT BY THEMSELVES. I am so happy that they are eating their words now, if fact if there are cross overs to the opposition by their MPs they will be in the Opposition. Even with 140 MPs the UMNOPUTRAS are feeling shaky not knowing from where and when some of their MPs will jump ship.

123. #123 by showsomemercy on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 10:23 pm

Menang atau Mati, i would agree with you that Penangites really show their balls this time around. Lolz! Malacca will sure be the next one with the balls! :)

Come on Malaccan… Show the Penang people that they can do it, we at Malacca also can do it! Oh yeah baby! :)

124. #124 by Menang atau mati on Monday, 17 March 2008 - 11:59 pm

Showsomemercy,

Just as a wushu master would say,

“if I am beaten by practioner with a higher mastery of wushu(ball) skills, I am indeed highly honoured.

125. #125 by showsomemercy on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 12:28 am

lolz… Agree Agree! :) Don’t worry no matter rain or shine, earthquake or tornado, my vote still goes to DAP! :)

126. #126 by Menang atau mati on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 12:50 am

No No No!

If DAP goes wayward,we cannot support them ,although I don’t think they would.

127. #127 by GradUnion on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 2:00 am

Dear All Tiga Sekawan – DAP/PKR/PAS,

Please remember the good advice from GANDHI about politic life, he quoted :

” from Promise to Power, Win with humble, Defeat with grace, TRUTH and Non-Violence are as old as the Hills, People TRUST is priceless, Serve them well”

We, Malaysians hope that Barisan Rakyat is able to learn and practice good governance with clean minds to serve the Rakyat.

Bravo ! Barisan Rakyat deserves to Win. Please serve all Malaysians well and keep your words too.

Congratulations !

128. #128 by Bobster on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 2:31 pm

Abdullah pls don’t come down. Stay put. Let DPP build up its strength, take over and clean up the country in the next election.

Anyone want Mongolian suspect to ruin the nation with commission and C4? At least AAB is less evil. No oppressive force like ISA last yr besides some Hindraf leaders are still in the locked up. If Tun his AAB shoes Operasi Lalang II would have sent many including patriotic bloggers into ISA. People might one day be more grateful to AAB compare to TDM and award AAB with the title Bapa Demokrasi. Still think people should be grateful to AAB (though with all the blunders) for allowing freedom of speech in the cyberspace at least.

Like the formal USSR President Mr Gobachov who allowed moderate ideology and democratic process to develop in Russia. Well he destroyed communist ideology in Russia, causing collapse of USSR, but at least the world was free cold wars which might result in 3rd World War. China prospers today as they gave away the wrong communist idealogy that became the stumbling block to the nation growth since end of WWII. Just see how much China has developed as they open up the economy 10 yrs ago and adopt moderate and democratic policies.

Same for this country, if the rakyat see the truth and reject the wrong ideology and policies, very soon it will be a major break through that will propel the nation and people to a great high.

I still see some good in AAB though many condemn him. No better candidates in BN at this moment so let AAB carries out his duty.

129. #129 by Bobster on Tuesday, 18 March 2008 - 5:33 pm

By the way, sorry for the typo errors.

130. #130 by robbinlee777 on Wednesday, 19 March 2008 - 12:41 am

I do not know weather it is right to have postal votes after a count. This is the mistakes done several times in past election and byelection. Does it takes the last minute for additional postal votes to arrived or should arrive before the count? Imagine postal votes even arrived at night and vote on Bn only.
    Hope some one can find the answer for it.
    It should be fair. Every dog has it’s day.

131. #131 by samarlin on Thursday, 20 March 2008 - 10:16 pm

Lets just let those dirty fellas roll in their own shit and soon enough we will see them drown in it.Just keep on digging out their
    skeletons from their closets,BR!

132. #132 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 11:13 am

Postal vote are a cheat, a soldiers will be able to vote twice! Because postal votes does not use Identity Card to identify themselves.
    Try it yourself go to
    http://daftarj.spr.gov.my/
    Then key in the below ID, notice both individual are the same person but one is postal the other is individual, mean same person can vote twice, that’s why they are paying RM 200 and buses to cater for these ppl to vote for BN.

and key in the following IC nos:-T715511 and 670104075529

Not convinced? Try T719756 and 750909035727