Nomination Night Ceramah at Chin Woo Hall, Ipoh

I will be defending the Ipoh Timur parliamentary constituency in the 12th general election.

Tomorrow is Nomination Day and Polling is Saturday, March 8, 2008.

On Nomination Night (i.e. Sunday 24th February), the first ceramah will be held at Chin Woo Hall, Jalan C.M. Yusuf, Ipoh starting at 7.30 p.m.

The DAP candidates for the 12th general election in the Kinta Valley will be introduced to the public for the first time.

Other major speakers at the Nomination Night ceramah include two incumbent parliamentary candidates M. Kulasegaran (Ipoh Barat) and Fong Po Kuan (Batu Gajah).

All are welcome to the Nomination Night ceramah, which starts at 7.30 pm.

Inquiries can be made to DAP Ipoh Timur Election Operations Centre, Jalan Kampar, tel: 05 – 2533096.

I will need help in the defence of Ipoh Timur – financial, manpower, publicity, etc.

Details for the rendering of such assistance will be announced shortly.

1. #1 by lengleng on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 9:24 pm

Thank you for this ceramah. Hope will get more info from this ceramah. Support DAP!

2. #2 by Godson on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 10:24 pm

GO FOR IT UNCLE KIT.
    GO GO GO DAP TO VICTORY.
    MAY GOD BLESS YOU, YOUR GROUP AND DAP.
    And PO KUAN, thanks for coming back.
    GOD BLESS YOU TOO and give you strength to fight this battle.

Hey! BN a$$ “fight this battle” has nothing to do with terrorist. OK!
    So keep your BN a$$ mouth shut. OK! Especially semi value. OK!

3. #3 by damianyeow on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 10:31 pm

Best of luck saudara LKS, I’ve followed & support u keenly when u’were in Penang, but also lent a hand as a polling agent during last ’04 elections although not in Ipoh but PJ HQ. Alas this time I can’t contribute coz as thousands if not hundred thousands of us looking for better opportunity accross the causeway, we cannot walk the talk. But be rest assured that I’ll come back to add +1 to the DAP count in Cheras. There are 2 issues I like to hilite here. 1)
    Previously our parliament area was Bukit Bintang but was suddenly chg in ’04 w/o prior notice to Cheras. I wonder if the BN & EC are in cahoots, might use the same trick to reduce the peoples support for u by changing election boundries to their advantage?
    This is crucial as in 50-50% chance in seats like BBintang….
    2) There are many potential DAP supporters in the thousands of us
    who work in S’pore , I don’t see anything in your blogs, correct me
    if I’m wrong, to call for their support, to go back to their respective
    hometowns to join DAP’s rally for “Change”, IF not I fear many more of us will eventually be PR & citizens in a foreign land. We want to come back to a free, equal, just & democratic M’sia. I lament my fellow M’sian worker’s total empathy towards exercising their voting rights. One main reason is most if not all, have all but given up hope that M’sia is a ‘lost caused’, things will never change
    as long as the racist UMNO is holding power & continue in their
    mis-managing the country. Please Mr. LKS prove them wrong, that u will ‘come-out’ with the “Killer Manifesto” , that u can make the “Change” to work, which will moved the most stubborn of hearts, the pessimist, the fence-seaters, us ‘outstation voters’, to come back to back-you-up at all cost…………

4. #4 by Mr.Glokal s/o Global on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 10:42 pm

The Buddha is known to have spent time at this place in contemplation and 2,000 years after Buddha’s time, another philosopher-saint came to live and meditate by the peaceful lake.

I think Mr. Karpal Singh and his sons belongs to this kind of universal believe. Malaysians need people like them…… just click and find out yourself

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/2/17/sundaymetro/20319360&sec=sundaymetro

5. #5 by Mr.Glokal s/o Global on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 10:58 pm

Can we learn something from this….Next to the temple complex are enormous pilgrim dormitories and dining halls where all persons, irrespective of race, religion, or gender, are lodged and fed for free. Another thing that moves me is that the temple is operated through a voluntary service and although thousands of devotees and tourists visit the ground every hour, all movements are done in an orderly manner with discipline.

And we will need all the power of prayer we can get for the coming general elections from all true Malaysians.

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/2/17/sundaymetro/20319360&sec=sundaymetro

6. #6 by mendela on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 11:00 pm

Kit, probably the greatest Malaysian politician of all time must be protected from election cheats by UMO and its running dogs!

With Kit in Parliament, there will be no peaceful days for BN.

Let’s make sure Kit is winning again by putting whatever we could to win this “mother of all election”.

7. #7 by a-malaysian on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 11:00 pm

To DAP and Barisan Rakyat candidates:

The WAR officially starts tomorrow. I wish to thank you all for your fighting spirit, your love for the country and its rakyat. You all go to WAR as underdogs without the weapons that the enemy have.

May GOD Bless you all and we will all be praying and standing side by side with you all the way.

Fellow Malaysian,
    There is still time to lend your support in the form of volunteers for the campaign, donations and all helps that our warrrior needs.

50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition
    Give Them A Chance To Change For A Better Malaysia
    Remember bn Is A Useless Grouping Of Self Serving, Corrupt, Dictator, Power Crazy, Racist, Kris waving, etc, etc type of parties.

8. #8 by alaneth on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 11:02 pm

The problem of those who work in S’pore (DAP supporters), you know how to get leave on Sat to vote & Fri to travel home???

I also fed-up with Malaysia’s Ketuanan Melayu & gradual transition to Islamic State – so I myself thinking of moving to S’pore for good!!!

at least in S’pore we got People’s Action Party (PAP), which is DAP’s big brother to vote. And they are the Govt there! See how successful PAP is in the efficient S’pore Govt? DAP should learn from PAP.

However, I pray that the non-Malay votes in Malay-majority split areas will swing to PKR & cause a big shock to BN. It will teach Khairy & Hishamuddin a lesson. A kiss on his keris may lose him 80% of Chinese votes for BN in Malay-majority area.

If :
    DAP-MCA = Vote DAP
    DAP-Gerakan = Vote DAP
    UMNO-PKR = Vote PKR
    UMNO-PAS = Make Undi Rosak

2 parties never to vote for over my dead body = UMNO & PAS

9. #9 by mendela on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 11:02 pm

10. #10 by cheng on soo on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 11:18 pm

Do not agree with alaneth, even PAS is better than BN (MCA Gerakan or UMNO etc), my area BN Vs PKR, my choice is obvious Non malay do not be afraid of PAS, even if PAS win all their seats (75 or so) , PAS alone, cannot form the govt!

11. #11 by I Malaysian on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 11:29 pm

All is well for now and I see DAP is very prepared with right strategies. Even Po Kuan is back reflecting the unity in DAP is very intact. But something that I read earlier today pertaining stamp duty is disturbing my thoughts a bit. It looks like this is a deliberate attempt by BN to disrupt nomination process for Opposition parties.
    My sincere hope, all our hopefuls are well prepared and proactive for all tactics of BN.

Good Luck to all our fighters

12. #12 by assamlaksa on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 11:30 pm

Blatant abuse of power just happened near my house at Pandan Indah, (Selangor DUN Cempaka):
    1. Just before CNY circulars were issued to houses by Lembaga Urusan Tanah Selangor that a gathering will be held on 10 Feb for incumbent ADUN the mad Aris to meet the voters. Fortunately i heard he had been dropped.
    2. The venue of the above gathering was a building that was just built in the middle of the play ground. I thought the building which was recently built was for the public but i was wrong, umno banners were hunged there indicating the building is for umno. Public land had been robbed for a political party.
    3. The rukun tetangga hut across the road now has umno flag hung and for the first time i see the lights are switched on.

Vote for the opposition, even though it is PAS. Remember, Islamic Law is only for Muslim, only umno can make non-muslim subject to Islamic Law (such as body snatching cases).

13. #13 by assamlaksa on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 11:31 pm

correction : “only umno is making non-muslim subject to Islamic Law”

14. #14 by bentoh on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 11:46 pm

Pardon me for disagreeing alaneth…

DEMOCRATIC Action Party is meant to embrace Democracy… and unfortunately…

I don’t see any Democracy in Singapore’s PAP and neither in Singapore…

Unfortunately I believe in Democracy rather than whatever doing good or bad or blah… :)

15. #15 by bentoh on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 11:47 pm

and yes… I totally can’t agree on the “UMNO-PAS = Make Undi Rosak”… :)

16. #16 by yuking on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 11:51 pm

The erosion of Umno leadership credibility has become more apparent after the two historic rallies by Bersih and Hindraf. The impact of these two mammoth peaceful rallies by the Malaysian public, despite draconian and barbaric threats by the Umno-regulated police force, clearly indicates the progressive degeneration of Umno and its effeminate coalition member parties.

Shocked and dumbfounded, the arrogant Umno leaders whose minds are obscured by political egocentrism, did not know what struck them. It is just the beginning. Justice and fairness cannot be contained by mortal power forever.

These are the definite signs of Umno impending fall and decline. Umno is not challenged by Malaysians alone. The entire fair-minded and civilised world has joined in to expose its political crimes committed in the guise of democracy. The power of truth is fast devastating Umno and its coalition partners.

We thank God for letting this happen. Umno’s heydays are numbered. It is getting weaker and becoming more of a parasite than a respected political party with genuine dignity. At last, the road map for the corrupt Umno’s final collapse has been charted. The people, propelled by the power of truth, has finally decided to rid the nation of a party that has forsaken its duty to safeguard the interests of the people.

May God bless the people of Malaysia for their great spirit in upholding truth, justice and fairness. Let us Malaysians, irrespective of race or creed, bring greatness to our beloved nation.

17. #17 by chuchueey on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 11:58 pm

I used to choose between MCA and DAP until in 1999 our area was redelineated and now my choices are UMNO and PAS. But no fear, my family’s 3 votes will be for PAS. There would have been 5 votes from this family, but unfortunately 2 of my children are overseas and cannot vote, but, however, one of them is definitely flying back on 8th Mar to throw his lot with the opposition.
    I would like to urge non-Muslims not to fear PAS anymore; how worst can this party do compared with the rot that is brought upon us by BN. PAS has removed the call for an Islamic state from its 2008 manifesto. Moreover, it will never ever form a government on its own as it will not be able to muster enough parliament seats to form one. So please do not spoil or waste your votes.

18. #18 by cth1268 on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 12:25 am

Dear Uncle Kit Siang & Other DAP Candidates,

Firstly, I wish you all the best in this coming 12th general election in which all candidates to be elected as “YB”. Sincerely hope DAP able to achieve the best result in the record. I try to convince my surrounding voter to support or vote DAP & the feedback is well accepted. Hope this will motivate all the future DAP “YB”.

“Ya” & “butul” doesn’t help the nation in terms of development but creation of wealth to a syndicate.Let us vote for the opposition party to fight for our rights, school, development, sharing of power & etc.

Please vote for DAP , Undilah DAP, ??????????

19. #19 by pakpandil on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 12:58 am

I’m seeing a united DAP, and cordial relationship between DAP and Keadilan. Even Pas didn’t make any ‘stupid’ statement such as all women must wear ‘tudang’ (headscarf). All these will translate into bigger winnings for the opposition parties!!!

In contrast I saw internal fightings among BN members to get nominated. Just look at Perlis and Trengganu states. Shahidan Kassim got to fight for his survival. Sixty UMNO members in the election machineryin Perlis threaten to resign and etc. What a joke?

BN members are fighting for their personal interests and their own political survival. If they can get nominated, they will put their sons, son or daughter-in-laws in.

Opposition party members on the other hand are there for the rakyat’s interest. They have to appeal for public donation and digging into the own pockets for election fund. (Have you ever seen BN appealing for donation for election?)

In conclusion, opposition parties (esp. DAP) are expected to do better this time (since Pak Lah is sleeping most of the time. When he is awake he only worry about his son-in-law and his cronies). All we need to do is to remain united and work hard. We can deny BN’s 2/3 majority!

20. #20 by Wisdom above on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 12:59 am

To, YB L K Siang,

Please post a video of the ceramah for all to see,ok

Let outstation supporters view yr ceramah.

Can Chin Woo Hall accomodate 200,000 people ?

Thanks

21. #21 by devilmaster on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 1:10 am

Pls play the DAP theme song before the ceramah starts. And have it played again during any interval(if any), but using another language.

22. #22 by dawsheng on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 1:18 am

KUALA LUMPUR, Malaysia – The Associated Press: The Election Commission in Malaysia needs more power to prevent one-sided campaign coverage in local media or the entire electoral system will become a “laughingstock,” the commission’s chairman said Friday.

Top election official Abdul Rashid Abdul Rahim’s comments appeared to lend rare support to opposition complaints of pro-government bias in the press.

“If you want free and fair elections, if you want a level playground … you must be able to have that power to level that playground,” Abdul Rahim, head of the Election Commission, said in an interview ahead of the March 8 general elections.

“Without that power, then the whole system becomes a laughingstock,” he said. The commission must be able “to control the media when they take sides.”

It is rare for any official connected with the electoral process to speak so candidly about the media bias. The comments are even more surprising coming from Abdul Rashid, who has been criticized by opposition parties for refusing to acknowledge that voting irregularities occur in the country.

“In an election you have to produce what is called an informed choice. That’s the principle. People must know who is contesting so publicity must be given to all, not just one section. And there are media bodies that take only one side,” he told The Associated Press.

The mainstream media in Malaysia are either government-owned or controlled by the parties in the ruling coalition. They also need annually renewable government licenses to operate. This has ensured that virtually every newspaper and television station broadcasts flattering reports of the government. The opposition rarely gets a good mention in the papers.

The Election Commission is supposed to be an independent body, whose members are appointed by the constitutional monarch. But it is largely seen as a pro-government panel that has done little to promote electoral fairness.

Abdul Rashid indicated his hands are tied, saying the commission is in charge only of the electoral rolls and the polling process and has no power to control other irregularities, including vote-buying.

The laws need to be changed to give the commission more muscle, he said.

“Our (electoral) laws have been there for 50 years. After 50 years, I feel there must be some kind of review,” he said. “There must be a law … put in place where the EC is seen to be in full control.”

Despite his frank comments that will likely be welcomed by the opposition, Abdul Rashid insisted that the electoral process itself is free, fair and transparent.

He dismissed allegations that electoral rolls, which are vetted by the Election Commission, are filled with names of dead people and people living in other constituencies. These names are used by bogus voters deployed by the ruling party, critics say.

“That never happens here. It cannot happen because the process — the polling, the counting and so on — is so transparent,” he said.

“Cheating has never been proven anywhere in this country,” he said, adding that the few incidents of fraud that may have taken place have been so minor that they didn’t affect election results.

23. #23 by waterfrontcoolie on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 1:30 am

alaneth, please don’t be so conclusive on your decision on PAS, check with those who are living in Kelantan. One must respect others who want to follow their own thinking and practices, so long that yours are not infringed upon. Do remember PAS do represent a whole group of people who had dare to challenge the UMNO! and had beaten them once in a while. Based on your approach, the main opponent, BN would still control 67% of the seats; given that ALL the non-Bumis voted for DAP. Be realistic! We just don’t understand what is your motive?

24. #24 by dawsheng on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 1:46 am

There’s still time to boycott the general election, But I wonder if all parties in the Barisan Rakyat can agree to the boycott? Allow me to re-post Jeffrey’s posting on February 17th, 2008 (1 weeks ago) at 18: 00.48 which I think is very valid. Here it goes;

If you say that the Electoral Roll is tainted with phantom dead voters; if postal votes are manipulated to dislodge Opposition leaders; if electoral bountaries are gerrymandered to ensure incumbent ruling coalition wins – if the Election Commission is not impartial and if amendment laws have been passed with regards to the Election Act 1954 to make sure that the electoral roll once certified by EC is “deemed to be final and binding”, then all these, if true, will only show that the party in power has no heed for democratic principles and merely using the so called ‘will of the people’ evinced from a “manipulated” ballot box to legitimise their remaining in power and that no matter what and under whatever circumstances, whether by hook or by crook, they will ensure that they are enscounced in power….

If this be so why do Opposition parties participate in the General Election to give the Coalition in power the legitimacy of a General Election vindication of its so called “popularity” that it obviously does not deserve?

Why not boycott? Why not agree to participate only if certain conditions ensuring a fraud free election are prior met? Why Do you participate in the game when the rules of engagement are fraudulent, unfair and stacked against you, where the playing field is tilted against you? What do you to gain by engaging in such a game? Do you serve the Cause of Democracy or the People? I don’t think so. You’re just lending legitimacy and credibility to fraud!

25. #25 by babique on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 1:46 am

Evil BN has already hung up the banners, posters, leaflets, flags, etc at Kelana Jaya area since Friday (22/2) I thought it can only do them from Sunday midnight. It’s time to throw them out!!

26. #26 by dawsheng on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 1:47 am

After the Bersih rally, this is one thing you must do first.

27. #27 by Wisdom above on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 2:13 am

Extract…. too late … ?

PUTRAJAYA, Feb 22 (Bernama) — Election candidates submitting nomination papers for parliamentary and state seats on Sunday can have their statutory declarations stamped by commissioners for oaths, Election Commission (EC) secretary Datuk Kamaruzaman Mohd Noor said.

The EC had announced yesterday that election candidates would be required to submit stamp duty-paid statutory declarations with their nomination papers.

The RM10 stamp and can be bought at post offices nationwide and can be stamped at any Inland Revenue Board (IRB) stamp duty branch offices or IRB service centres as well as at the 128 district offices nationwide, he said in a statement.

To accommodate this requirement, the IRB stamp duty branch offices and service centres will be open up to 6pm on Saturday.

— BERNAMA

28. #28 by dawsheng on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 2:15 am

[deleted – please be mindful of the existence of the Sedition Act and the liability of everyone under this law, however undemocratic and draconian, including the blogowner. – Adm]

29. #29 by mycroft on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 2:28 am

Woah.. dawsheng is venturing way too close to sedition here.

30. #30 by laifoong on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 2:34 am

Selangor DAP vice-chairman Peter Tan resigned …

Tan, who is also the state DAP Public Complaints deputy chief and Klang Pasar Branch chairman, cited the party’s unfair treatment…

“I had no idea when the candidates list was changed. I was only informed by Guan Eng at about 11.50pm yesterday that I’m not in,” he said.

“I’ve been with the party for 19 years, I’ve done everything including sacrificing my own time to serve the people and the party and this is what I get.”

He added that he would return the money totalling RM75,000 that his friends and supporters contributed for his election campaign.

================================

Whither goes DAP…..?

31. #31 by laifoong on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 2:37 am

The Cat Woman returns …..but Batman got booted out!

32. #32 by mycroft on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 2:41 am

Oh my god!! Someone resigned from the DAP?! CALL ALL THE MEDIA! TV3, RTM, NTV7, TV8, TV9, TV343, ASTRO, NST, STAR, SUN, BERITA HARIAN, TAMIL NESAN! CALL THEM ALL! BIGGEST NEWS OF THE CENTURY!

Oh sheesh, the way some people go on, it is as if one person not contesting or resigning from the Party is going to be a big problem. laifoong, you ask “Whiter goes DAP…?” Well, the answer is simple – the DAP goes forward. People should remember one thing. No one is bigger than the Party. NO ONE!

33. #33 by Wisdom above on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 2:49 am

I contacted one Commissioner for Oath & he was slightlty confused.

>He said,’ Dunno, it’s under Election Commission Act ‘.

…. excepts below worth reading..

LittleBird Says:

Today at 20: 05.07 (2 hours ago)
    I am repeating what I posted in the other blogs.

Re: Outrage over new stamp duty rule http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/78450

Isn’t duties exempted for statutory declaration made pursuant to 1st
    Schedule Para 2(ix) of the Stamp Act?

Just my two sens
    […]

34. #34 by Wisdom above on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 2:50 am

2nd extract … too late…

Friday February 22, 2008
    Declaration stamp a must, says EC PUTRAJAYA: For the first time, all candidates submitting their nomination papers must have the accompanying statutory declaration stamped, or risk having the papers rejected.

Election Commission (EC) secretary Datuk Kamaruzaman Mohd Noor advised candidates to comply with this regulation, as statutory declarations are not exempt from stamp duty under the Stamp Act and the Election Regulations.

“The Election Commission wishes to announce that under Regulation 6(2A)(c) of the Election Regulation (Conduct of Elections) 1981, the returning officer can reject the nomination papers of a candidate if the statutory declaration (Form 5 or 5A) that is attached to it does not adhere to Regulation 4(7) Election Regulation (Conduct of Elections) 1981,” he said.

Kamaruzaman said the duty stamp can be purchased at any Pos Malaysia counter for RM10, or they could get the form franked at any Inland Revenue Board office or service centre.

He said duty stamps purchased from Pos Malaysia could be validated at any of the 128 district offices nationwide.

“The Inland Revenue Board has agreed to cooperate with the Election Commission by keeping its offices and service centres nationwide open till 6pm on Saturday to facilitate the franking of candidates’ forms before nomination day,” he said.

Kamaruzaman said this was the first time the EC was imposing this regulation even though it has been in existence since 1981.

35. #35 by Wisdom above on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 3:04 am

For cross reference …

Isn’t duties exempted for statutory declaration made pursuant
    to 1st Schedule Para 2(ix) of the Stamp Act?

Who got copy of Stamp Act ?

Can someone refer to th Stamp Act on ‘exemptions’.

Seek lawyers’s help at this last hours is chasing after the wind ?

36. #36 by pilihanrayaexpert on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 3:51 am

WE WANT TO WATCH THE CERAMAH VIDEO !!!!

PLEASE RECORD IT AND UPLOAD TO YOUTUBE WEBSITE

SO EVERYBODY CAN WATCH IT !!!!

THANK YOU IN ADVANCE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

37. #37 by ChinNA on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 6:49 am

alaneth – I just wanted to say that I agree with you and this is my opinion. Of course others can disagree but let’s not argue here, this is not about PAP. This is about the coming elections and DAP.

bentoh – would you rather have PAP-type or BN-type of government to rule in the country, (assuming that you need to choose one or the other and you cannot abstain)?

38. #38 by dawsheng on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 8:00 am

“I’ve been with the party for 19 years, I’ve done everything including sacrificing my own time to serve the people and the party and this is what I get.”

Yet, of all things he had done for the party and the people for 19 years he did not have they patience an perseverance to stay on, he cannot understand why it was unfair to him because all along in that 19 years, he and hoped for rewards and returns and among those, fame, wealth and positions. How many people like that were disappointed this election, what is the big deal?

39. #39 by dawsheng on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 8:04 am

“He added that he would return the money totalling RM75,000 that his friends and supporters contributed for his election campaign.”

Yes, money is not everything. Please take it back.

40. #40 by grace on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 8:06 am

chen on soo,
    Correct, correct, correct!
    PAS is only contesting 60 Parliamentary seats. Assuming PAS wins all 60 seats, it could not form the government , let alone forming an Islam State.
    NO FEAR OF PAS FORMING ISLAMIC STATE! GO FOR IT! VOTE FOR PAS IF YOUR CHOICE IS ONLY PAS! MY FAMILY(CHINESE) IN KEDAH WILL DEFINITELY BE VOTING PAS! NEIGHBOURS TOO WILL VOTE FOR PAS! REDUCE BN MAJORITY!

GO! DAP!GO!
    BRING BN ON! VOTE DAP!

41. #41 by js on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 8:29 am

In order to deny 2/3 majority, we have no choice MUST vote for PAS as well.

42. #42 by js on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 8:38 am

DAP please provide ceramah schedule for Penang. We can get more people to support.

Jom Ubah!

43. #43 by budak on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 9:09 am

will give my vote to any opposition…
    this is FINAL… :-)

44. #44 by KanNinNeh on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 9:22 am

See what the Chinese said about PAS Government in Kelantan, watch this …….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=64sgOkvIo5I

45. #45 by k1980 on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 9:27 am

The 13-day campaign period, from Feb 24, nominations day, to March 8, the day before polling day, is the longest campaign period in recent memory….the longer campaign period will allow the EC more time to distribute and then collect postal ballots, many of which were unreturned in 2004. It was reported that as many as 67,000 postal ballots at the parliamentary and state level were unreturned in the 2004 general elections.

http://politics101malaysia.blogsome.com/2008/02/23/who-gains-most-from-longer-campaign-period/#more-1895

46. #46 by stk on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 9:30 am

To Peter Tan of DAP Kelang,you are no cili padi,or have any track record to prove.Pathetic to see your face on the TV cutting your memebership card.I ‘m sure you will return all the money collected but in returns BN definately pays you more than that.
    Want to be like Pok Kuan ? Forget it.YB FPK has proven FEARLESS and MP with guts has the respect from all of us.

47. #47 by Bill Gates on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 10:03 am

I thought the back stabbing only happens in BN. Time to do cleansing in DAP after the GE. We now know who are the real opportunist in the party. They have no place in the society.

To all DAP candidates, wish you every success.

48. #48 by k1980 on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 11:43 am

Why the PM is so scared of street protests… might turn out to be the same as in a neighbouring country
    http://asiasentinel.com/images/stories/smoothgallery/JAN2008/phil-arroy3.jpg

49. #49 by cheng on soo on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 11:46 am

Non Malay (Non Muslim) should visit Kelantan, talk to non Malay there, before forming yr opinion abt PAS, Most negative news abt PAS we get is from BN, or BN controlled main mass media.
    In Kelantan, they allow u to build new temple, no snatch body of your love one, give you problems bcos of your converted (to Islam) love one, allow u to erect at least, 3 big buddha statues
    Here, we hv problem with Mazu statue, snatch body, haram christian cross, waving kris, new temple building?? (wait til maybe 2020) etc

50. #50 by shortie kiasu on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 1:44 pm

Now the real battle for votes begins as the nominationis completed.

51. #51 by Wisdom above on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 4:23 pm

…SPR telah memansuhkan bayaran tersebut tanpa memaklumkan kepada calon-calon PAS.

>> “SPR berbuat demikian untuk membantu calon BN khususnya Umno Terengganu yang menghadapi masalah pemilihan calon,” katanya.

>>> “Kami (PAS) hanya mendapat tahu pemansuhan bayaran tersebut kira-kira jam 5 pagi tadi,” katanya, dalam sidang media selepas proses penamaan calon di Pejabat Tanah dan Daerah Marang hari ini.

52. #52 by Wisdom above on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 5:40 pm

To YB L K Siang,

>>Please help Pas to file ‘writ of motion’ in Election High Court.

Extracts from Jed Yoong,

Food for thoughts….

>… Husam said something about the BN calon not signing the nomination form.

>If the BN calon is disqualified, then PAS will win a seat — not sure if it’s Husam’s seat.

>> Same thing with Nik Aziz’s opponent in Pengkalan Pasir.
    But his press secretary said that the SPR (Elections Commission) overruled that and Nik Aziz has to “lawan (fight)”.

…SPR double standard ?

…So obvious SPR dirty trick seen by all on 24-2-2008.

>>To help & beg & remind BN calon “to sign later” unto the earlier blank nomination forms after nominations closed at 10am ?

>>Pas Legal advisers should remember to file a ‘writ of motion’ in Election High court tomorrow to disqualify these 2 BN calons.

“the SPR (Elections Commission) overruled that ” should be punished under the Election ACT.

53. #53 by boh-liao on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 6:18 pm

People like Peter Tan have no business to be in politics. They are opportunists and self-centred individuals (a very polite term indeed), hoping to glorify themselves.

How can Peter Tan, who claimed all this while to be committed to the cause and a political party, immediately curse the party just because he was not selected as a candidate? Now he is selling his soul to the devils.

The devils will indeed swallow and possess his soul.

54. #54 by boh-liao on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 6:25 pm

We sincerely hope that Peter Tan returns the money totalling RM75,000 that his friends and supporters contributed for his election campaign.

Peter Tan must remember that people gave money for his election campaign not because of him but because of DAP, since he was a member of DAP.

We sincerely hope that Peter Tan’s friends and supporters will in turn re-donate the money to DAP’s election fund.

55. #55 by Wisdom above on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 6:35 pm

Is this ‘Parliamentart Democracy?

1) >> …the issue cropped up when an agent for PAS candidate, Dr Khairudin Abd Malik, noticed that Rafidah failed to sign one of the nomination forms.

2)>>> “She signed on the forms that she submitted to me but she forgot to sign the form that was put on display during objection period,” he said on nomination day Sunday.

>> To help & beg & remind BN calon “to sign later” unto the earlier blank nomination forms on display after nominations closed at 10am ?

>>PAS “Legal advisers” should remember to file a ‘writ of motion’ in Election High court tomorrow to disqualify this Kuala Kangsar Datuk Seri Rafidah Aziz BN calon.

“the SPR (Elections Commission) overruled that ” should be punished under the Election ACT.

>>…SPR double standard ?

…So obvious SPR dirty trick seen by all on 24-2-2008.

56. #56 by Wisdom above on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 6:36 pm

Is this ‘Parliamentary Democracy’ ?

>> at 5.15pm that the nomination paper of two other candidates – Danny Anthony Andipai of PKR and Saineh Usau, an independent – were rejected by Returning Officer Bubudan O.T. Majalu because they were submitted after 10am.

>> However police reports have been lodged in Keningau by the rejected candidates claiming they were blocked from going to the nomination centre.

>Another SPR double standard ? ” after a mistake was made by the returning officer at the nomination centre. “

57. #57 by Wisdom above on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 8:05 pm

>>Since when SPR can legally allow payment of Deposit with a personal cheque?

PAS legal advisers must file ‘election writ’ to disqualify BN candidate.

More technicalities..

>>Mind you, in a number of other cases where the BN candidates were alleged to have balls-ed up with their registration forms, ‘twas only the ‘returning officers’ who saved them, in many cases not even providing any reason to the opposition why their objections were overruled and the BN candidates’ forms accepted. The Boleh-decisions ;-)

In one case Malaysiakini reported that PAS candidate Dr Lo’ Lo’ Mohd Ghazali (for Titiwangsa) objected to the nomination of BN’s Aziz Jamaluddin Mohd Tahir on the ’suspicion’ that Aziz’ statutory declaration did not contain the required stamp duty payment.

hahaha – EC chairman Abdul Rashid has been too clever by half.

It seems Aziz Jamaluddin also contravened election laws when he allegedly “paid his deposit with a personal cheque”. Cek calon BN di sahkan Bolehwan lah! hahaha

But the Election Commission officers – led by returning officer Che Yahya Che Soh – refused to allow the PAS team to go through Aziz’s nomination papers to verify the claims.

Che Yahya said he received directions from his superiors to the effect neither candidate are allowed look through the other’s nomination papers. What he probably meant was PAS couldn’t look at BN’s papers to see if there were indeed errors, like no stamp duty being paid ;-)

Very dodgy lah. But mind you, this is BN Boleh Land.

>> Please at all costs traced what personal cheque nos. for ‘election Writ’ to disqualify BN candidate. Later replaced with a ‘backdated bank draft’ or by ‘Cash deposit’ with ‘backdated KEW38 resit’?

58. #58 by Wisdom above on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 10:18 pm

A real brave ‘Patriot’.

An 89-year-old grandmother … , an independent candidate for the Kuala Terengganu parliamentary seat.

Possibly the oldest candidate in the 12th general election, Maimun Yusuf .

The divorced grandmother of seven said she had attempted to stand for elections four times previously, but didn’t qualify because of technicalities and a lack of documentation.

>> “I want to right the wrongs and bring down the price of essentials,” she said in her thick Terengganu Malay accent.

I believe she can be a better MP than the BN Umno MPs .

She talk sense, straight to the point , from rakyat’s hearts.

How about vote her into Parliament.

59. #59 by leongwk15 on Monday, 25 February 2008 - 12:58 am

Uncle Lim,

I have missed this ceramah. Wasn’t being told. Looks like I have to drop by your operation center quite often to get more up coming events. Is there any other ways to inform the public fast & easily?

Keep up the fighting spirits. I will be voting for you in Ipoh Timur & Tebing Tinggi.

Lets make a change and deny 2/3 BN majority in this coming 12th GE.

60. #60 by Wisdom above on Monday, 25 February 2008 - 10:50 am

….How can Peter Tan, who claimed all this while to be committed to the cause and a political party, immediately curse the party just because he was not selected as a candidate?…

>>It is human to be angry when not selected.

Let go your frustration by all means.

>>But I urge you Peter Tan, to come back and serve DAP.

<Barisan Rakyat need you to campaign for (BR)DAP.

<Your 19 years dedication is appreciated & admired.

Let national leaders pick young face to fight the tough race for a better Malaysia.

Please continue to serve the people.

I urge you to reconsider & come back to serve your people.

61. #61 by PK Wong on Monday, 25 February 2008 - 5:32 pm

To all comrades of Opposition

I work in Singapore and I have started campaigning in Singapore urging the Malaysians working in Singapore to return home to vote for the OPPOSITION irrespective which party be it DAP, PKR or PAS.

I am very sick of the corrupted BN and all the Datuks and Tan Sris pocketing the nation’s money into their pockets. Non-bumis are just second class citizens.

This time we must stand united and fight the rotten BN at all fronts. I am from Ipoh and I will return home much earlier to help DAP in whatever ways I can.

Just to let you know that most Malaysians working in Singapore they are pro-opposition, I can safely say over 90%. If we can convince them to return home to vote on 0803 the opposition will definetly fare much better in the election.

YB LKS, what is the account of the donation fund? I wish to donate some money to the fund. PLease take care of your health and do not forget to take nutritional food supplements regularly. Your health is very important. A commander-in -Chief like you cannot afford to fall sick at this crucial time.

Thank you to Fong Po Kuan who has returned to the battle front. Your return will definetly boost the morale of the DAP army. You are a fearless 3-star general who must not abandon ship when the war against BN is drumming up hotly.

To all supporters we must stand up and fight BN to the last drop of blood. The two third majority must achieve. If the opposition can achieve this mission and for the next election the opposition can form the next government.

Good Luck to LKS and Po Kuan.

62. #62 by Wisdom above on Monday, 25 February 2008 - 9:19 pm

To, YB L K Siang,

Food for thought… Barisan Rakyat .

Separation of powers of :

>> ‘Care taker Government’ and ‘BN component political parties’.

Can a ‘Care Taker Government’ utilise “Government Funds” :

1)to advertise & campaign on main Medias for ‘BN component political parties’?

2)to advertise extensively for their behalf on TV1, TV2, TV3, TV7,TV8,TV9 ?

3) can main Media & TVs provide free advertisement & coverage without billings ?

4) was supply bill for Election Expenditures duly passed by Lower House Parliament,
    & was the same bill “duly debated” by Dewan Negara and “passed in situ” ?

5) Was Election supply bills & amount duly passed & gazetted & di wartakan ?

6)Did the last sitting in Parliament passed ” any new or additional Supply Bills” for future & further expenses to help “BN component political parties” to campaign extensively?

Just too many illogical expenses ?

63. #63 by Wisdom above on Monday, 25 February 2008 - 10:31 pm

News extracts.

….Sementara itu, di sidang media hari ini, Kamaruzaman turut menyatakan kini calon-calon boleh menghantar agen tempat mengundi bagi memantau proses pembuangan undi pos.

Langkah baru itu, tambahnya, diambil bagi membolehkan agen-agen calon pembangkang melihat sendiri proses tersebut bagi memastikan ketelusan.

Beliau juga mengingatkan calon-calon tentang peraturan berhubung bahan-bahan kempen. Parti-parti yang tidak bertanding di satu-satu kawasan dilarang menaikkan poster atau bendera daripada parti-part lain.

Peraturan ini pertama kali diperkenalkan pada 2004 selepas pilihanraya terdahulu menyaksikan pakatan tidak rasmi parti-parti utama pembangkang saling meletakkan lambang parti rakan kongsinya.

Beliau menjelas, walaupun calon-calon Barisan Nasional dibenarkan menaikkan bendera Umno di kawasan yang ditandingi calon MCA, pakatan pembangkang tidak diizinkan berbuat perkara yang sama.

Perbezaan ini, jelasnya, kerana pakatan pembangkang tidak berdaftar dengan SPR sedangkan BN sebuah gabungan rasmi yang diiktiraf suruhanjaya itu.

64. #64 by Wisdom above on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 12:22 pm

To, YB L K Siang

1)Only Symbol ” Dacing ” was registered ?

2)Did BN component politicians “register their faces” not nominated for use
    together with & on BN ” Dacing “symbol ?

3)Political parties “cannot put” up any election paraphernalia in parliamentary and state constituencies where they do not have any candidates contesting.

4)EC secretary Datuk Kamaruzaman Mohd Nor said “only” parties with their candidates standing in the constituencies could put up the paraphernalia and distribute election materials.

5)To a question, he said Barisan Nasional and its components could do so as they are a registered coalition.

>> ….So file a complaint against the BN.

> as provided for under Section 24B(10) of the Election Offences Act 1954.

a)BN can use BN election paraphernalia only.

b)only “a Face “of candidate nominated can be displayed, right ?

>> Only Symbol ” Dacing ” was registered only. Right ?

>> Legally, Najib face, other BN faces cannot be displayed at all by Law. Correct?

>> Did BN component politicians “register their faces” not nominated for use
    together with & on BN ” Dacing “symbol ? No ?

Can Barisan Rakyat Legal Advisers check up with Registrar of society & Election Commission on these ?

Since 1984, I doubt they ever ‘register their faces’ for use in all constituencies.

So SPR want to deny us the right to stand together as ‘BARISAN RAKYAT’ ?

Just my 6 sens.

A Legal PARADOX again ?

65. #65 by lanceler on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 1:21 am

DAP go for it !! you can do it !! eventhough i still underage to vote but i wish DAP will win ! I will register myself as soon as Possible once I be able to vote !

DAP forever~

66. #66 by Citizen voice on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 3:21 pm

Come on, Malaysian, wake up & see, listen & feel it….. make the right choice for the sake of our future & next generation …….DAP I 110% support you ……

67. #67 by acex on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 4:25 pm

What is this? Yesteday i have posted the comments and YOU the modelator remove my comments? .. is that so call people voice?
    come on initial you have my full support but right now .. sorry
    i wont support you anymore DAP. I really shame on you shame on the party member and shame on the entire DAP.
    entire is useless … for DAP.
    Please do not reply given me a piece of shit of saying system down or it deleted by itself. I know the system very well.
    DAP forever —> of coz noPe. in my life i wont vote for DAP even my family members nor relative nor friends. I will let them know what is happening between so called people voice out.
    I really hope you loss everything in this election.