Opposition party’s YouTube is a hit with netizens

The Electric New Paper
February 22, 2008

JUST like in the ongoing race for presidential nominations in the US, Malaysian political parties are taking their campaigning to online video host site YouTube.

The English version of DAP’s video has been viewed more than 15,000 times at press time. The Malay version has been viewed almost 10,000 times.

And it seems the Democratic Action Party (DAP) has made the first inroads with a snazzy promotional video that has been delighting netizens since it was uploaded two weeks ago, reported Guang Ming Daily.

The video shows a relay race, with Malaysians of different races and ages passing the baton as they run or ride taxis along the country’s alleyways and thoroughfares.

The baton finally ends up in the hands of DAP leaders standing on the steps of Parliament.

The one-minute video comes in Malay and English versions.

Its cheeky message, ‘Just change it’, shown at the end, spoofs Nike’s ‘Just do it’ catchphrase. In Malay, the closing message says, ‘Jam ubah (Time to change)’.

DAP said that the relay race is meant to convey the idea that the party carries the hopes and voice of the masses.

Entitled The Voice Of Democracy, Conscience Of Parliament-DAP, the English version of the video has been viewed more than 15,000 times at press time. The Malay version has been viewed almost 10,000 times.

Not to be outdone, Malaysian Indian Congress (MIC), a part of the ruling Barisan Nasional coalition, yesterday launched the country’s first Indian Internet-based political television channel.

Called Putera iTV, the online video-streaming channel will feature the contributions and achievements of MIC and BN, reported New Straits Times.

In a video recording posted on the site, MIC president SSamy Vellu said the channel was a progressive way to reach the younger generation. Content on the site would include coverage of the 28 MIC candidates during the campaign period.

But it is the opposition parties which most appreciate the value of the Internet, reported AFP.

While mainstream media – many partly owned by BN parties – are awash with flattering stories about the government and its achievements, the opposition rates barely a mention.

‘Blogging is one way to get word out and an opportunity to circumvent media control,’ said DAP leader Lim Kit Siang, 67, who runs three blogs which are meticulously updated every day.

1. #1 by HJ Angus on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 10:30 am

Congratulations on the smart use of technology.

Perhaps the ringtones could have been sold for say RM2 each to enable some badly funds to be raised for the campaign.

Change is really a difficult process.
    http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2008/02/making-things-happen-for-future-of.html

2. #2 by maydaysky on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 10:30 am

yup yup.
    compared to the election song, I think this relay race video was really good.

it was like those Petronas festive commercial… inspiring.

Only wish we had fair TV to broadcast on.

3. #3 by Saint on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 10:43 am

Barisan Rakyat must think of a way to constantly play VCD based electoral message in coffee shops and other “strategic” places. For this; one only needs a TV; VCD player and one individual to maintain it.

This is very economical, hassle free and very effective and it can be played 24/7; till campaign period is over. Many BR VCD’s are available.

4. #4 by helpless on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 11:05 am

Where is the video on election campaign and the propaganda?

5. #5 by twistedmind on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 11:06 am

Let me make a suggestion.

Produce VCDs highlighting the issues – there are many videos in Malaysiakini and even Makal Sakti has a brilliant one. Just make these into VCD, and play them all over using VCD players (a cheap VCD/DVD player is only RM80!) Give these players to those Kedai Kopi or Mamak and let them play them over and over again to get the message out.

Also, drop them off into voters postbox, let them watch them. Let all know what Bersih is about – the struggles and the bumbling PM and Ministers who are raping this country.

You don’t need to tell them who to vote for. After watching these video clips (which is blocked by MSM), let them be the judge and vote wisely.

Bersih should take a proactive role in this matter as they are seen to be independent.

My 2 cents worth.

6. #6 by boh-liao on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 11:09 am

‘Jam ubah (Time to change)’
    or is it
    Jom Berubah?

7. #7 by undergrad2 on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 11:34 am

Should be “Jom ubah” which means “Come let’s go change”

8. #8 by A_Malaysian on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 11:58 am

Sorry if this is the wrong site to post it.

Just received it from a friend in Malaysia.

Hope you enjoy listening

http://www.comedycourt.com.my/latesthits_03.html

9. #9 by Short-sleeve on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 12:11 pm

Guys,

Check out this website BetterMalaysia.com!!

I am printing the leaflets and distributing it in my neighbourhood. If we all here can say print out 500 and distribute it around our areas, we can spread the message far and wide.

Lets help change Malaysia for better.

10. #10 by Godson on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 12:32 pm

Hi A_Malaysian,
    That was a good one. I enjoy it. Hope semi value will watch it :)

Go Go Go DAP to VICTORY.

GOD BLESS YOU.

11. #11 by justice_fighter on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 12:44 pm

TRY THIS!

1) Got to: http://daftarj.spr.gov.my/

2) Enter 7803314 in the box

3) Click SEMAK

AND YOU WILL GET THE RESULT BELOW (Is this a 12 year old or 112 year-old voter?)

Can we sue to EC chairman?!

12. #12 by grace on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 12:53 pm

TOGETHER WE SHALL PREVAIL!
    SAVE MALAYSIA FROM SINKING INTO QUICK SAND!
    IF THOSE LEECHES ARE LEFT UNCHECKED, THERE IS VERY LITTLE HOPE LEFT FOR YOUR CHILDREN GRAND CHILDREN AND GREAT GRAND CHILDREN!

TIME TO ACT! ACT NOW!
    VOTE DAP! VOTE DAP!VOTE DAP!

13. #13 by k1980 on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 1:11 pm

14. #14 by Tickler on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 1:15 pm

Kawan-kawan, this time the BN is really up a creek without a paddle. The problem with the BN is that they do not need to lose the election before they panic. Even if they lose an extra 50 Parliamentary seats, they know they are getting the chop-chop.

For example, it is true that after the 1999 general elections many people were telling Dr Mahathir that it was time for him to retire. If Dr Mahathir had stayed, the BN could have lost big in 2004. That was why Dr Mahathir stepped down too, despite preserving the 2/3 majority in the 1999 elections. The BN had lost Terengganu and almost lost Kedah. Those were enough signals that it was time for a change. That is why, when Badawi came in, he won the 2004 GE with such a large mandate. People had great hopes for the new Mr Clean. Little did we know that he would turn out to be such a…..

http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/3212/1/

15. #15 by k1980 on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 1:15 pm

Dollah’s real meaning of claiming to be fair to all Malaysians
    http://www.maysbeautyhouse.com/site/1389281/page/559167

16. #16 by Tickler on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 1:16 pm

The story is that Na-jib is outshining Badawi in this coming general election. Na-jib may win big in Pahang but Pak Lah may win small or even lose his seat in Kepala Batas.

http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/3149/84/

17. #17 by Tickler on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 1:23 pm

The “Oriental Daily” editor has reportedly issued a set of guidelines on election coverage, which includes no frontpage coverage for the opposition. They are to black out the opposition’s mission to deny the incumbent government a two-third majority rule, contentious issues of the ethnic Chinese, and “inflamatory” speeches by the opposition, reports the independent web-based daily “Malaysiakini” on 15 February 2008.

CIJ, which is monitoring the media’s election coverage, observes that “Makkal Osai” has started to publish news favouring the incumbent government, joining the usual clamour of mainstream newspapers.

http://www.seapabkk.org/newdesign/newsdetail.php?No=825

18. #18 by Libra2 on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 1:30 pm

Tony Pua just blogged that Po Kuan is coming back to defend her seat. is this true?

19. #19 by Tickler on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 1:40 pm

Multiracial Gerakan?
    Posted on February 21st, 2008 by nat

I just perused their candidate list, and even I was shocked not to find a single non-Chinese candidate. Multiracial my foot!

http://jelas.info/2008/02/21/multiracial-gerakan/

20. #20 by grace on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 1:41 pm

Yes. Libra2
    That would be good news!!!

GOD BLESS THEM ALL!!!

WEED OUT THE CORRUPTED DESPICABLE LEECHES !!!
    BG VOTE FPK TO ACCOMPLISH THAT!!!
    VOTE DAP TO CLEAN UP THOSE LEECHES!!!

21. #21 by a-malaysian on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 1:52 pm

YB Kit,

Please take note of this release by the EC.

Declaration stamp a must, says EC PUTRAJAYA: For the first time, all candidates submitting their nomination papers must have the accompanying statutory declaration stamped, or risk having the papers rejected.

Today is Friday and tomorrow is Saturday, it is best to have them stamped by today. You may already know it, just a reminder and to all DAP candidates.

They are going to introduce last minute requirements to disqualified as many oppositions as possible during nomination day. So be on the look out.

50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition
    Give Them A Chance To Change For A Better Malaysia
    Remember bn Is A Useless Grouping Of Self Serving, Corrupt, Dictator, Power Crazy, Racist, Kris waving, etc, etc type of parties.

22. #22 by g2geetoo on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 2:06 pm

Just Change!

Just sent out to 50 and the 50 just sent out to another 500 and hopefully that 500 will send out to another 5000 potential voters.

Just do it!

DAP is going for big kill this time, 101% sure!

23. #23 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 2:16 pm

Chinese online news portal, merdekareviews.com also mentioned she is likely to come back.

Some postings in Cari.com chinese forum did mention Po Kuan is back to contest announced in a media conference chaired by YB Lim in Ipoh.

24. #24 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 2:18 pm

Tickler Says:

Today at 13: 40.28 (35 minutes ago)
    Multiracial Gerakan?
    Posted on February 21st, 2008 by nat

I just perused their candidate list, and even I was shocked not to find a single non-Chinese candidate. Multiracial my foot!

http://jelas.info/2008/02/21/multiracial-gerakan/

===

Damn excuse given by Tan Sri Koh is no suitable Indian candidates. I thought many Hindraf members are capable to represent Gerakan.

25. #25 by iyamwhoiyam on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 3:11 pm

twistedmind Says:

Today at 11: 06.35 (4 hours ago)
    Let me make a suggestion.

Produce VCDs highlighting the issues – there are many videos in Malaysiakini and even Makal Sakti has a brilliant one. Just make these into VCD, and play them all over using VCD players (a cheap VCD/DVD player is only RM80!) Give these players to those Kedai Kopi or Mamak and let them play them over and over again to get the message out.

Also, drop them off into voters postbox, let them watch them. Let all know what Bersih is about – the struggles and the bumbling PM and Ministers who are raping this country.

Twisted, there are already fellows who are dropping in VCDs into people’s postal boxes with similar anti BN sentiments and pictures, the one i got in the middle of the night when my dog was barking ridiculously was titled “Barang Naik”

hah, good idea nevertheless, never knew the sender though

26. #26 by k1980 on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 4:14 pm

http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/3077/84/

Lapan dalil akhiri cengkaman Umno-BN

1. Sebuah pemerintahan yang mengguna kuasa selama 50 tahun secara mutlak tanpa dapat dibendung akan membahayakan negara.

2. Penyalahgunaan kuasa oleh sebuah pemerintah yang tidak menghormati undang-undang perlu ditolak.

3. Pemerintah yang memberi peluang yang lebih kepada golongan elit hendaklah ditolak.

4. Pemimpin-pemimpin yang hanya memperkayakan diri dan sanak saudara tidak boleh diberi mandat untuk memerintah.

5. Pemerintah yang mewujudkan sistem, yang menyuburkan korupsi dan dengan itu berlaku pembaziran berleluasa tidak boleh diterima sebagai pilihan kepada rakyat.

6. Rakyat perlu benar-benar faham bahawa sebuah parti politik yang akan membentuk kerajaan melalui bilangan wakil rakyat yang terlalu besar majoritinya akan terdedah kepada manipulasi kuasa yang tidak sihat.

7. Parti politik yang bersikap liberal terhadap kerosakan akhlak tidak boleh diberi mandat untuk memerintah.

8. Pemerintah yang berkuasa selama 50 tahun dan menunjukkan tanda kelemahan dalam menjamin system kehakiman yang telus dan adil perlu ditolak rakyat.

27. #27 by helpless on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 4:44 pm

Calling everyone,

May I suggest a propaganda here.

Set up Royal Inquiry Commission for all the suspicious corruption case.

Bingo! If you like it. vote your support for the motion.

28. #28 by Tickler on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 7:09 pm

# malaysiatoday.com Says:
    Damn excuse given by Tan Sri Koh is no suitable Indian candidates. I thought many Hindraf members are capable to represent Gerakan.

Gerakan is manifestly anti Indian. It is just that they are afraid to show it. Look at their own Youth vice-chief S Paranjothy who has been forwarded to the Disciplinary Committe for accusing UMNO of racism:

“They incite racial sentiments among their community in a petty attempt to further their political career,” Gerakan Youth vice-chief S Paranjothy .

“Umno leaders are very found of picking on component parties and use them astheir punching bag or stepping-stone to gain popularity in their community,” Paranjothy said in a hard-hitting four-page statement entitled ‘Discrimination from Womb to Tomb’.

He singled out Umno Youth chief Hishammuddin Hussien’s *keris waving* and his deputy Khairy Jamaluddin’s claim that non-Malays would take advantage of a weak Umno leadership, as prime examples of racial posturing.

He also cited Khairy’s speech at the Umno general assembly last month, during which he* blamed* newspaper vendors for not wanting to work on Deepavali day. He made a pointed reference to the fact that the sector is predominated by Indian Malaysians.

“Umno is fond of playing up sensitive issues among Malaysians. Statements and decisions made by Umno politicians have been (discriminatory) and contain a lot of racial slurs. So who is playing racial politics in Malaysia?… So who is causing racial disunity?” asked Paranjothy.
    http://lookattrue.wordpress.com/2007/12/22/gerakan-leader-paranjothy-attacks-umno/

Until today, their Disciplinary Committe has not been able to decide what to do with their Indian. How on earth can they expect to govern a state, when they can`t even do a simple thing like Paranjothy.

29. #29 by mysn1st on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 7:52 pm

Sir,
    We know the distant of Internet to compete with major media in Malaysia still far, but I believe in one day, the internet will reach the sky high. Finally we can say bye bye to those RM BN media.

I shall suggest to you to urge our fellows to set as compulsory, standardize and make goods use of the internet.

30. #30 by choonchoy on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 1:21 am

Samy & K.Toyo diserang rakyat
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4XXUeaQY6b0

31. #31 by mendela on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 3:18 am

Heard rumors that many NGOs from Sweden, Norway, Germany, France, Holland, the UK, Australia, NZ, Canada, Japan and the USA will be here to monitor the “fairness” of this GE.

Their numbers could be in hundreds.

Any serious cheating by UMO and the gangs, UMO names will be all over in the world media in no time!

32. #32 by k1980 on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 8:32 am

Let’s all move to Selangor… In 5 years time it’ll be as rich as Singapore(!!!)
    http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/2/19/nation/20080219123007&sec=nation

33. #33 by mickey01 on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 11:10 am

Only way to end NEP and the evils of BN is to vote for DAP or PKR with Anwar to champion the cause of the poor, marginalised and fight against abuses of BN. Thousands upon thosands non-bumi have to seek jobs in Spore and eslewhere. Let abolish this evil son of soil policy and free the people of this bondage!

34. #34 by k1980 on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 11:48 am

Refresh your thoughts by perusing the following photos and then decide who you wish to be voted back to power…..
    http://scottthong.files.wordpress.com/2008/02/bnmod02.jpg

35. #35 by harrisonbinhansome on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 12:27 pm

Now that almost every urbanites have access to the internet, I am sure that this e-commercial campaign will counter BN’s controlled media propaganda.

36. #36 by shamshul anuar on Saturday, 23 February 2008 - 10:52 pm

Dear Mendela,

I take a beating on what you said. If election is not fair, why on earth PAS can still maintain its hold in Kelantan for 3 terms. Why Kit Siang can still win?

Can you answer that? If election is not fair, why opposition members can still win? More importantly, they themselves still believe in the election process. If not, Kit siang would not bother top contest.

Just because people reject these politicians does not mean that UMNO is cheating. It simply shows that despite the gung ho atttitude, KIt siang, Hadi, or Anwar have yet manage to convince Malaysians that they are the best . The reason is quite simple. None of the leader above can match the time tested formula of BN: power sharing. One party, DAP, maintains a very anti-Malay attitude , PAS is still unable to show how good its Islamic model is. It is unable to beat UMNO’s view on Islam. While PKR’s sole goal is a personal ambition of Anwar.

Despite its wart and all, BN has been delivering. As for mIckey01, I am afraid you are a little bit naive. Not only non Malay work in foreign countries . A sizable Malay professionals also find that their credentials are highly sought after.

If that is your rationale, then I can also blast many governments in this world. Singapore, for example has thousands of its citizens in USA, UK, and other parts of Europe.

37. #37 by blablowbla on Sunday, 24 February 2008 - 3:11 pm

shamshul,keep your mouth shut,you are the protected species under NEP!
    hundred of thousands of chinese for the past 30 years,bcos of the discriminating NEP,went abroad just to be a service assistant at restaurant or construction worker,all illegals(the BN -led gomen never recognises this,infact,they were being punished by Immigration,IRD,SSM,JPN,despite billion of foreign funds were sent back to local bank);as for Singapore,ppl went abroad as an expatriates or invetments,dude!
    If you think you guys are better off,why not demolish the NEP,open competition,not handicap match all the time,en.Shamshul!

38. #38 by helpless on Monday, 25 February 2008 - 3:31 pm

It lead me to ponder for a while after reading the last 2 comments.

Yes, the opposition did won but just a few seats. This is very small majority even with true support.

Let see from the other side.The BN won majority seat but with dirty trick. Control over media, announcing project using government fund to blindfold the people during GE campaign.

BN is doing better than others. It is real bullshit. Look at the report card listed in the Malaysiakini. The fact is given the amount of revenue collected from tax and petrol sales by Petronas, any Tom & Harry can pay a contractor to carry out any mega project. The questions are surronding the corrupted practice.

One do not need to be scholar, or infact even a small boy can tell there are obvious malice practices at the popular Lingam’s ” correct, correct, correct ” and ” I don’t remember ” case.
    The case has demostrate how BN cultivated a corruption society. One will be naive enough if cannot see the damage done by BN.

In fact, hope more people are enlighten after deep contemplation over those facts highlighted at Malaysiakini, Malaysia Bar , this website except the newspapers.

Just ask simple question is how much a normal screwdriver cost?

BN is possibly still win with the postal vote, an unfair election.

I wish more RCI be conducted to reveal the truth and make a changes in Malaysia. One step at a time.

39. #39 by shamshul anuar on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 8:01 pm

Dear Blablowbla,

Wow. What a hostile attitude. For your info, there are thousands of Malays also work in restaurants , delivering newpapers, janitors, receptions in USA, or UK.

Malays, besides reciving also gives a lot. They tolerate pig farming in their midst. They are able to accept a Chinese CEO in banks owned by Malay shareholders. They are willing to fund vernacular schools. They are also willig to share their political powers with others.

40. #40 by The_patriot on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 12:55 am

Mr Lim,i think you should think about the teenagers vote in the future. Try to calculate how many people turn 21 year old and can vote in 4 years time. Let BN deal with the DEAD people and non human. We can plant the new seeds.

41. #41 by The_patriot on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 1:09 am

To Mr Shamsul Anuar, do you mind to let go your Bumiputra’s right? 2/3 of parliament sit? If You do so please ask your friends and relative. If they say yes, I’ll support BN and convert to Islam. I just want a powerful Malaysia. I don’t mind who’s the government. As long as bring Malaysia to first world country and not just talk about race issue, plantation problem,haze or pig farm problem. Why don’t we talk about technology and future? If calculate the oil that produce and the size of the country Malaysia is almost same like US or Dubai.But where is all the money and development gors? Develop the Minister’s Swiss bank account? Think it. Remember i’ll convert to Islam is Bumiputra right is off.

42. #42 by The_patriot on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 1:16 am

I’ll name after you if i convert ok? Stay good Malaysia’s baby don’t cry and your Mummy(UMNO) will feed you milk. Which side would you like? Left or right? Not enough try bottom. Mr Shamsul anuar.

43. #43 by The_patriot on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 7:34 am

To Mr Najib deputy PM of Malaysia, the earth wont stop turning if BN go down. Australia change the PM but Australia Dollar still going UP. Learn from it our Malaysia minister.

44. #44 by shamshul anuar on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 10:36 pm

Dear the_patriot,

Yes, I do not mind UMNO renouncing Malay rights PROVIDED the right accorded to non Malays stripped:that is citizenship.

As for the 2/3 majority in Parliament, well the rights of rakyat must be respected. Nobody is stopping your beloved DAP from contesting in election. They just need to convince the rakyat that they are a better alternatives to BN and not just strange bedfellows for convenience sake.

I strongly suggest you learn about Islam if you want to convert. Make sure the reason is right.

And actually pity you. You seems to forget something that is a character of a civilized person. What a pity. Really. what a pity.