Another instance of rise of Little Napoleons and Little Mullah Napoleons

Malaysians regardless of race or religion must vote in 12th general election to send a loud and clear message against the alarming rise of Little Napoleons and Little Mullah Napoleons (LMN) who are totally insensitive that Malaysia is a plural society and who are more powerful than Ministers and Deputy Ministers.

In the past four years of Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s Islam Hadhari, there have been a deluge of insensitive occurrences totally heedless of Malaysia’s boast to the world of the country as “Truly Asia” where all races, languages, cultures and religions can flower with freedom and be a model to a conflict-ridden world.

This is illustrated not only by a spate of body-snatchings, bible-banning, temple demolition, stoppage of construction of world’s tallest Mazu statue in Kudat, Sabah, but also by very polarizing incidents created by Little Napoleons and Little Mullah Napoleons (LMNs) in schools, universities and the public service.

I will give the latest incident from a complaint which I have just received by a liberal and broad-minded Malay woman:

I am representing the Indian parents from SK Sungai Puyu, Butterworth. Being a true Malaysian I don’t differentiate anybody based on their religion, race or culture.

This school has been conducting extra classes absolutely free of charge to all UPSR students since many-many years ago. The extra classes were carried out voluntary without any payments mostly by Indian teachers who were dedicated lots and realise that their students especially the Malay students need extra attention after school hours and also on Saturdays, They even teach during school holidays.

But recently the extra class for UPSR has been politicised and the government started to give payments to all teacher who teach those classes BUT there is a condition. The teacher who is to be paid must be MALAY and the extra classes are open ONLY for the MALAY students.

What once use to be something very much disliked by the Malay teachers because they have to stay back or come on Saturdays is very much sought after by these very same teachers because now they are paid on hourly basis. They get RM40 for one day’s lesson yet their teaching and dedication during those extra classes is very much questionable because they never liked it in the first place and some of them are just plain lazy and never even fulfill the minimum teaching requirement.

I came to know that this programme is being carried out not only in this school but in many Sekolah Kebangsaan schools throughout Penang. In extreme cases where they can’t find a MALAY teacher to teach English Language in certain schools the schools will secretly ask an Indian teacher to teach but claims are made under a MALAY teachers name as to follow the strict rules imposed by JPN. (Ali Baba)

What disheartened the Indian parents in SK Sungai Puyu is the marginalisation of their children in this school. The “Program Didik Cemerlang Akademik” or PDCA (last year known as JKP) has totally replaced the normal extra class which use to be carried out by volunteer teacher of the school and the Indian children are NOT included in it at all now. They are treated as second class citizen in a Malaysian school.

To make things worst during the Pendidikan Moral lesson they are not taught at all and are just isolated in a classroom by their Pendidikan Moral teachers whereas for the Malay student they have all sort of religious activities even during the non Agama teaching time and this usually rob of the precious time for most of other important subjects like English language and Mathematics.

I am attaching a letter* from the school headmaster which is self explanatory of the marginalisation of the Indian students. This letter was given only to the “Waris BUKAN Bumiputera”. The reason which prompted me to write to you is when my friend’s daughter innocently asked her father after reading the letter about the REASON why the Malay students don’t have to pay and NON MALAYS must pay for it and why it is not compulsory for the non Malay. Tears dropped from my eyes after hearing that because these are the future generation which we are moulding from now to be true Malaysian.

I’ll stop here now for the time being. There are actually many more such issues where Indians are being marginalised in this school but I’ll stick to one first.”

The complainant in her letter said that what the Indian parents is clarification from the Education Mister once and for all because the Indian parents have decided that they are NOT paying the money as a matter of principle and they want their children included in the extra class without any conditions whatsoever and NOT to separate them from Malay students.
All this while the worksheets were photostated and given free of charge to all students BUT now ONLY the INDIANS have to pay for it and that also if they want to join the class which is NOT compulsory for them. They are asked to pay just because some parents requested to include the Indians as well.

I call on Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein, who should be the “caretaker” Education Minister in an hour’s time when the Prime Minister announces the dissolution of Parliament, what he is doing to end this injustice.

Letter

(Media Conference Statement by Lim Kit Siang at DAP PJ Hqrs on Wednesday, 13th February 2008 at 11.30 am – an hour before announcement of dissolution of Parliament)

1. #1 by Libra2 on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 1:17 pm

Let me assure Kit, that this happening all over the country, not only in Penang.

2. #2 by optimuz on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 1:21 pm

couldn’t agree more Libra2. It is for this very reason I pulled my kid out from the national school into a private one(which I can ill afford, but I’d rather go hungry than see them discriminated and treated like rubbish!)

But seriously, even if they get to attend the classes for free, the discrimination will continue. The racist behavior of some of these teachers leads me to believe that it is indoctrinated at the highest level.

We need no more proof when it is so evident that the Jabatan itself is encouraging and supporting such racist/discriminatory actions!

3. #3 by k1980 on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 1:34 pm

the extra classes are open ONLY for the MALAY students— does this mean that non-Malay students are too smart to need extra classes? The NEP is now being applied to the schools whereby non-Malay students are excluded from the benefits of free primary education

4. #4 by kafkalee on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 1:39 pm

not only happens in primary or secondary schools, this thing is happening at local university too. Malay students are ‘invited’ to attend additional class before semester examinations, late at night….

5. #5 by smeagroo on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 1:46 pm

YUp this is but the tip of the iceberg. You expect HIsssshamuddin to react? Haha, they purposely create problem and then rectify it and said it is all becos we are BN we can work things out to the benefit of all races. And do the HMs get the noose around their necks? No! No! Maybe more bonus also “secretly” from their masters. WIthout man-made social issues you think the Bigger Napoleans can show their powers and win the hearts of the rakyat? So maybe HIsssshamuddin also wanted flowers this Valentine’s day form the INdians. I dont mind giving him flowers but it wont be the fresh kind la.

6. #6 by Thegame on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 1:48 pm

THis is a sure vote buyer article.All those who read please get a copy and hand out to as many rakyat as possible.Here is the chance to kick the BN out and teach them a leasson they will remmeber for ever.Anyone who vote for BN this election is guilty of the highest sin to their fellow malaysians and our future generation.The time is now or never.If we dont do it now.We must not blame Them arrogant BN blood suckers

7. #7 by HB Lim on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 1:51 pm

We have to clean up this mess and reverse the trend towards further polarisation. Parliament has been dissolved. Let’s us all go out and tell the people to end this discrimination, disrespect, injustice…this shit.

8. #8 by dharen2000 on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 1:53 pm

I experienced this when i was a student at SMK La Salle Klang. The teacher who was suppossed to teach us english(or something else, i dont remember) did not turn up, nor the substitute teacher turned up. So we were all minding our own business (like chatting, or reading books or magazines). The adjacent class, had our class teacher attending it, (she who happens to be Malay, and teaches Biology). She heard the ruckus in our class, came in to my class, pointed at all the malay students to join the biology class going on in the nearby class. I saw this and i asked her why did you not ask me to join in as well since i am doing nothing, she said i was reading a book so she did not want to disturb me.(she looked pretty angry when i asked her this). Ok, now the question is why she did not ask the other students who were chatting and doing nothing and of non bumiputera origin?

9. #9 by max2811 on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 1:53 pm

Time to kick asses. But I hope Kit will investigate before making any decisions. It doesn’t happen in my school(Chinese). Anyone who qualifies gets a place.

There are instances whereby a Malay teacher slapped a Chinese boy on the back for getting the highest marks and for being the top sutdent in a Malay sec school(SMGR Ipoh). He also said something like this,”Apa pasal banyak pandai? Kenapa selalu markah banyak tinggi?”or words to that effect.

It is now a trend for bright Chinese pupils to go to Chinese Independent Sec Schools. Just to get away from this sort of discrimination and bigots.

I have never heard or read of MOE giving any such instructions to Malay teachers to act as such. It could be an act by an individual but there are so many of such individuals in schools nowadays.

Who takes the bill?

10. #10 by hkh on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 2:03 pm

The school is named and the headmaster’s circular is attached. What’s more is required for the krisminister to promote this “little moron” to higher office?

11. #11 by oknyua on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 2:08 pm

It was just 2 days ago when PM AAB reminded Sarawakians not to tolerate racial discrimination – and here stands out another damning case of the head being separated from the body. Or is it the case of another hoodwink lying? YB Lim, please print the letter and distribute it. I am at a loss on how to describe the administration of Abdullah Ahmad Badawi (JPN). This is his homestate!

I can understand their concern about the poor performances of Malay students – we are concerned too. But emphasising one at the expense of the other is NOT the answer. Furthermore, it is time to look into the root cause of poor performances.

12. #12 by hotsync on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 2:23 pm

This is nothing new, my time in the 80’s already faced racial discrimination in school. Being Malays have many benefits e.g. special/secret classes to prep for exams (ponteng also can scored A1??), better allocation of seats in popular schools etc… Just take a look at Victoria Institution, St Johns etc schooling standards drop drasticly, no teachers in classes, teachers cannot speak English, lack social and race integration etc…

Plenty of my frens already to remove their kids from this school and decided on home schooling.

13. #13 by a-malaysian on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 2:23 pm

We must squash these little napoleons to pulp. Vote them out.

I hope YB Kit can have a topic posting on the 12th GE to enable us to highlights all the wrong doing of umno and its running dogs. To recall what the liar bodohwi have being doing all these while and the racist umno and their little napoleons.

Remember “Lion Dance Without the drums”? There are so many things we can highlight and bring them to the public by personal contacts.

Time to start our work, fellow Malaysians. We must not fail this time. Change gomen or deny at least their two thirds majority.

50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition
    Give Them A Chance To Change For A Better Malaysia
    Remember bn Is A Useless Grouping Of Self Serving, Corrupt, Dictator, Power Crazy, Racist, Kris waving, etc, etc type of parties.

14. #14 by swee_ann_tweety on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 2:31 pm

yes 50 years is enough. but those Napoleons really err in their ways. This makes the deprived more hardworking and smarter. Have these Napoleons ever wonder why there are so many bloggers against them now? Ha ha…..

I am going to vote for DAP. Can’t wait for election.

15. #15 by chrishan on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 2:33 pm

Dear YB LKS,

You have being exposing alot of racial discriminations on the non-malay Malaysians by the Little Napolean and Little Mullah Napolean and yet the BN still got support during the elections in the past especially the MCA, MIC, Gerakan etc.

Education for our children is a very important matter for all parents and I am sure the parents and the people would put an end to such discrimation by voting against the BN. I was thinking whether such discriminating information was sent to reach the people correctly. It seems by having the blogging sites may not be very effective as it may not reach the common people wide enough.

YB, you need an effective strategy to reach the right masses very quickly and urgentlyand for this coming election.

I have some ideas, are you interested?

16. #16 by Malaysian on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 2:38 pm

What so difficult issue and Black and White directive to all schools, stop those racist practice? Then based on these directives take disciplinary action on those who violate it.

Unless this is indeed what the govt wants and practiced it?

17. #17 by Malaysian on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 2:43 pm

Wow, issue such a racist letter, at the end of it still need to add “Berkhidmat untuk Negara”.
    He is actually “Berkhidmant untuk Negara”. Fantastic!

18. #18 by ong603 on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 2:47 pm

50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition

19. #19 by Malaysian on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 2:49 pm

kafkalee Says:
    “not only happens in primary or secondary schools, this thing is happening at local university too. Malay students are ‘invited’ to attend additional class before semester examinations, late at night….”
    This is generally known as “Tips giving session” amongst all other non-bumi. Standard can still be maintained (via Exam question), but to give tips before hand so that they know what area to study.

Sometimes one gain more (increase Quantity of graduates) but lose some as well (generally perception of Quality and Dignity graduates of specific race)

20. #20 by ihavesomethingtosay on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 2:54 pm

50 years is 50 years too looooooooooong.

vote this racist regime out. vote out these useless bodek kakis like MCA, Gerakan and PPP

Note MIC not mentioned as MIS is dead.

21. #21 by Malaysian on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 2:55 pm

on “special class in university for specific race only”
    and it is not surprising for me why one wants to introduce matriculation course when local university starts to take student based on “merits”/”results”.

I hv no doubt on standard of matriculation course but i have serious doubt on possible subjectivity on marking here. (Just look at the race composition of those who took of matriculation course).

22. #22 by wizzerd on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 3:02 pm

Holy cow.. this is undoubtedly a state discrimination for the whole world to see. I don’t know how the BN government is going to cover this.
    Whatever it is, now that the Parliament is dissolved. Those fence sitters should make up their mind and put a cross for the Opposition, any Opposition will do.

Enough is enough!!!

23. #23 by ngahc on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 3:17 pm

Racial discrimination is too rampant in this country. I wish for one day whereby we do not have to identify races when filling up any forms, just Malaysian.

24. #24 by grace on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 3:20 pm

I MUST COMMEND THIS GOOD MALAY PARENT WHO UNSELFISHLY EXPOSED THE WRONG DOING OF THE SCHOOL. TO HER, GOD BLESS YOU AND THE COUNTRY NEEDS VERY MUCH A PERSON LIKE HER.

To the HM, your place is not there but at the pasar malam hawjer stall.
    Yes, as some one has pointed out, this is happening all over the country.
    The parents or teachers are fed up of complaining. Reason:
    The complainant will be branded as racist. (2) No action willbe taken against the officers concerned with the rason that they are all friends.

25. #25 by jus legitimum on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 3:53 pm

YB,please publicise this discriminatory act by the idiotic guru besar bodoh in the chinese press.True,this is just the tip of the iceberg.Discrimination against non Malays is everywhere.Even road signs in certain parts of Old Klang Road,KL have used Jawi for road naming.Then why not also accept Chinese and Tamil as well in doing so.

26. #26 by bukanbumi on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 3:56 pm

If Hishamuddin dare to order the sacking of such Guru Besar, and detain him under ISA for inciting racial hatred to show his sincerity towards all communities, then I will vote for Barisan or else my whole family will vote for who ever be it PAS, DAP, PKR or any body that stand against Barisan.

27. #27 by sotong on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 4:07 pm

There are discrimination in schools and government depts. with permanent, long term and damaging consequence to the country.

The government and senior Ministers are always in the denial to cover gross mismanagement and incompetent of government staff.

Childrens are basically innocent and to have school environment encouraging discrimination and racism is shocking……no wonder race relationship in the country is at its worst.

The Education Minister is more interested in playing narrow politics and his kris than the proper and effective running of the schools.

28. #28 by fm2 on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 4:09 pm

That is too much lah,
    Without chinese, the whole malaysia will collapse.

29. #29 by Cinapek on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 4:10 pm

The recent proliferation of these Little Napoleons and Little Mullah Napoleons can be traced directly to AAB himself. He has maintained a perfect record of “elegant silence” on each and every one of these racially discriminatory acts by the LNs and LMNs. By doing so, the message he has sent is he either agrees with these discriminatory acts, he supports them or he is closing one eye to them – hence the blatant nature of these acts.

What disgusts me further is the silence of the MCA and Gerakan eunuchs and MIC pariahs who are too afraid to speak up. It is even more disgusting when the Deputy Education minister is from the MCA. He has betrayed not only his own race but also all Malaysians with his inaction and silence.

30. #30 by BoycottLocalPapers on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 4:10 pm

Read the letter carefully and it says:

“bahan untuk pelajar Islam sahaja”

This is no longer about racial discrimination but religious discrimination. But in Malaysia you will get both as Malay = Muslim. That is buy one free one.

This is no longer about “Little Napoleons” or “Little Mullah Napoleons” at work but LITTLE MULLAH OSAMAS at work.

More than two decades ago, my private Chinese tuition teacher said “Chinese and Indians should work much harder than the Malays in school because of racial discrimination. You will get no where in this country if you are slightly better than the Malays. ”

I found out that his advice was so true after my application to local universities were rejected while Malay students who were worse than me in my class (I used to finished top 3 in my class) and other classes were accepted. Getting mediocre result in the exams can get you nowhere in this country as we are not only competing with the lousy Malays in our school but also the lousy Malays and the best of non-Malays in Malaysia for entrance into local universities.

Poor students like me could not afford to go to overseas to study. Furthermore, back then there were not many (or no private colleges at all) like we see in Malaysia now. Even if there were many private colleges two decades ago, my mother could not afford as we were very poor.

Poor people like me have no choice but to work. Can’t find job in Malaysia? Migrate to Singapore to work in factories or hotels.

Non-Malays and Non-Muslims in this country should work harder and be better than the Malays and the Muslims in all aspects NOT because we are racists BUT because we are discriminated. The only way for us to survive is to work harder and be better than the Malays/Muslims.

Dear non-Muslim Malaysian parents,

Please teach this simple fact of life in Malaysia that my tuition teacher taught me more than 2 decades ago that I learned a bit too late to your children.

WORK HARDER & BE SMARTER THAN THE MALAYS/MUSLIMS.

31. #31 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 4:17 pm

I didn’t know I belong to “WBB” – Warisan Bukan Bumiputra class. Should we all wear an armband to identify ourselves?

32. #32 by dranony on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 4:19 pm

And the superiors to the LMNs kick up a fuss when Hindraf claims apartheid is practiced in Malaysia…

33. #33 by megaman on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 4:36 pm

Our forefathers have a chance to nip this problem in its bud before it managed to deteriorate to the current state. Unfortunately, the short term gains available then blinded their eyes to the dangers of the future.

Now, the apathy remains because the non-malays are afraid of losing what little left and the malays afraid of losing the status quo.
    Even if we have nothing left, we would still be afraid. Afraid of taking the bitter pill and doing the right thing because it would mean pain and hardship.

Malaysians are always afraid of changes !!! Not trivial changes like our ever-changing road systems but deep impact changes to our societies and our mindset.

34. #34 by BobSam on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 4:40 pm

Any lawyers out there. Please opine…
    Isnt this directive from the Ministry and the School a incident of attempting to incite racial & religious intolerance?
    Multiple police reports should be made in Penang and throughout the country stating that this Government Department (State Education Department & Federal Education Department) as well as the School & its management are attempting to incite racial and religious intolerance.

Another thing is to obtain the authority required to do a forensic audit to find out who paid for the paperwork (was there any Intellectual Property violations?), who paid for the salary, etc. If the salary came from the Government and was not reimbursed by the Pusat Zakat, then there are fiduciary violations.

Lawyers, please speak up?

35. #35 by PSM on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 4:46 pm

Bro Kit,

This is something that has been going on for years & years. Even when I was in Secondary School & University (more than 20 years ago!). However, the difference is that a true Malaysian has come forth to tell it. Note I do not state any race here.
    We cannot go forward the way we have been going in the past! The only way to move forward is by having a true “Bangsa Malaysia”.
    The Aussies kicked Howard out recently. We can do the same here! Let’s show what “Malaysia Boleh” really means!
    However, Malaysians will have to decide. If nothing changes after this Elections, you can be sure the Brain Drain will go on as usual.
    Allah guide us & protect us from these Racists & Intolerant Fools.
    Best of Luck!

36. #36 by pputeh on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 4:49 pm

I wish to relate my experience as a student in an English-medium primary school about 45 years ago.

Since the school was located in a Chinese neighborhood, most of the students were Chinese and I was one of the few Malay students. All the teachers, except for two, were non-Malays and most were Brinsford Lodge or Kirby trained. One of the Malay teachers was teaching Bahasa Melayu and the other was teaching Ugama Islam.

Yes, I did experience discrimination but of a pleasant kind.

My class teacher from std. 1 until std. 6 was Mrs. Hew. She was a totally dedicated teacher and she instilled in me the love for knowledge. Every year after the final exams, she would ask me what I would like for a present and on the last day of each school- year, her husband would come to the class and gave me the present.

The teacher in charge of the library was Madam Chow. Every term holidays, she would pick me up from my house and together with her two daugthers, we would update the school library. She would then give me all the discarded books.

Mr. Chan was the teacher in charge of the football and hockey teams. At every away game, he would take me in his car to watch the match.

Mrs. Chong never taught me, not even as a relief teacher but after every exam, she would call me and together we would go through my answer papers.

During recess, the teachers would take turn to give me a dollar. I would then buy him/her food from the school canteen. The balance was for me.

At the end of the std. 6 exams, I panicked when I found out that I was not registered to a secondary school. I went to see the headmaster, Mr. Bhagwan Singh to enquire. He told me that I was not registered to a local secondary school because he was confident that I was going to The Malay College. He was right.

The nett effect of such an experience during my formative years is that I regard all Malaysians, irrespective of race, colour or creed as my fellow country men.

37. #37 by ChinNA on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 5:02 pm

Things have changed a lot since that fateful day, which is 14155 days ago (note: today’s date is 13 Feb 2008).

14155 days is almost 39 years.

Maybe someone will buy 4D and strike it rich.

That’s Bolehland, always look for the positive side.

38. #38 by Rocky on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 5:41 pm

what a load BS!!!! LMN are bloody idoits…they think only they pay taxes and others don’t. Bodoh!!!

So Education Minister what are you going to do about it…where is your keris??? Feel like swearing….

the strongest survive in the jungle…..

39. #39 by somaris on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 5:47 pm

LETS ALL GET TOGETHER NOW.
    GO ALL OUT INFORM THE PEOPLE
    SAY NO MCA-UMNO
    SAY NO MIC-UMNO
    SAY NO GERAKAN -UMNO
    SAY NO PPP-UMNO
    AND YES YES YES VOTE DAP FOR OUR CHILDREN FUTURE
    GOD BLESS US

40. #40 by optimuz on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 6:15 pm

one thing we might need to consider here, although I still think its irrelevant, is that this initiative seems to be coming from ‘ Bahagian Penyelarasan Bumiputera & Pusat Urus Zakat’…perhaps to justify the need to charge non-malays…

but then, if its bumiputera, then it shouldn’t read ‘pelajar Islam sahaja’, right?

And why is this initiative coming from this unit anyway??

41. #41 by Kan Chan on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 6:44 pm

Did you notice where they put the signature… below “BERKHIDMAT UNTUK NEGARA” !!!!! We are living in the same “NEGARA”?

Perintah siapa yang Guru Besar ini turuti??? Pak Liar??? Krishammuddin???

42. #42 by VanPersie_11 on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 7:23 pm

This remind me of the incident that happen to me in the primary school, which i still remember till these day. One of my school teacher scold me, she said you all chinese is communist. Do nothing, but bringing choas to the country.

43. #43 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 8:09 pm

This is, among many other reasons, why we are throwing money away by having the Malaysian National Service or Program Latihan Khidmat Negara (PLKN).

With all these racially and religiously segregating activities happening in our schools and universities, how does the racist government expect the Malaysian National Service to bond the youths of Malaysia together and create a Malaysian nation?

Lee Lam Thye should explain the charade going on. Who are pocketing all the money pumped into the Malaysian National Service?

44. #44 by HB Lim on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 8:34 pm

It was in the year 1977 when I sat for 8 subjects in the MCE and got eight distinctions. Many of my friends had plans to go overseas and many of my Malay friends who did much worse than me were being given scholarships to continue their studies here or overseas. I came from a poor family. My father was a lorry driver earning 30 sen a trip and less than RM400 a month and had to take care of 8 children of whom I am the second eldest. Pak Jamal (may his soul rest in peace), my father’s best friend, thought he could get me a scholarship and brought me to KL to stay with his brother for three days. We went to the LLN (Lembaga Letrik Negara at that time) to meet Pak Jamal’s friend and I waited for 2 days there and was finally told that they could not do anything because their scholarships were only for Malays. My young heart was shattered. Racism had reared its ugly head and face for me to clearly see.

I am a Malaysian through and through. I have only one country to which I give my whole hearted allegiance. Why, after 50 years, there are still this shit going around? When Badawi came to power, I thought that finally we have an enlightened man to lead the country along the right path. It has gotten worse.

The Malays and the Muslims after so many years of misguidance and mis-education that they are superior are now acting as if and thinking that they are superior to Malaysians not of their own kind. The discrimination is worse than when I was a teenager. At that time, there was discrimination in government affirmative policies for the Malays and against the non-Malays. Personally and socially we could still get and be happy together. Now there is discrimination openly by Malays and Muslims especially low rung government officers and teachers against non-Malays.

A Malay-Muslim employee once came to my house and my wife offered her a cup of coffee and she would not touch the cup at all. I asked and she told me that it is against her religion and she asked for a canned drink. What future do we have if we persist in tolerating a trend which is dividing Malaysians further? What long term end is the present BN government looking at for Malaysians? To see all Malaysians become Muslims? To force the non-Malays or non-Muslims out of the country?

It is getting sicker this country of mine. It has to change. And the MCA and the MIC and other component parties in the BN are not doing anything about this deterioration in racial and religious divides. And UMNO is fuelling the acceleration of the unhealthy trend to cheat the Malays and stay in power. They are taking full advantage of and perpetuating this divisiveness to shamelessly stay in power. The long term future of Malaysia and Malaysians do not seem urgent or important to them.

This trend will lead to national devastation, suicide. We owe it to our future generations to change and arrest this deterioration. Future generations of all races, including the Malays. For if this country degenerates into disaster, no one will be spared of its agony.

How do we change? I think the DAP and the PKR have to sit down and formulate a new path. A new national reconciliation plan. A new revival plan. A new national consciousness, identity and responsibility. A new concept of brotherhood, not just tolerance of each other. Tolerance is but just one step from a collision. There must be a new attitude, a renewed relationship, an acceptance of each other’s differences.

The present path of Islam Hadhari and mutual tolerance would lead us nowhere but towards further national conflict, pain and suffering. State matters and Religion cannot be mixed especially in a multi-racial, multi-cultural, multi-religious country. Religion is too personal a matter between the person and God that the State cannot interfere. My relationship with my God is too personal and intimate for me to even tell you about it, let alone be regulated by the State.

Uncle Kit, lay out a new path to inspire the people to yearn for a new beginning. We need a renewed soul. We need to talk and think positively, not in a negative confrontational manner. For the sake of every Malaysian who has only this country to call home.

45. #45 by kritikus on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 9:30 pm

what can you expect from these ‘ SONS OF SOILS ‘ when an Indian lawyer can write judgements for Malay Judges………..

Probably this is what is expected of Indians for years to come…..
    to write judgements for Malay Chief Judges etc etc etc…..

Be patient my Indian Brothers, the suppressed will always fair well in life and career………….and you will have these guys (you know who) coming to us crying for help…………

46. #46 by toyolbuster on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 10:09 pm

I think this bumiputra crapp has gone way too far and we have to put a full stop to such nonsense, hishamuddin, you are responsible for this and you shall have to answer to this. And we shall make sure you don’t get to be PM, so don;t have to pull out your stupid keris next year. you make me sick.

47. #47 by negarawan on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 10:57 pm

Hishamuddin, the Education Minister of Malaysia, sends all his children to international schools. He himself does not have confidence in the Sekolah Kebangsaan! What is there more to say?

48. #48 by Joshua Tan Kok Hauw on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 11:25 pm

A royal commission of inquiry should be set up to settle once and for all this kind of problem and the whole education system should be overhauled so that everyone will be treated equally.

49. #49 by HB Lim on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 11:56 pm

After the poor showing of the Lingam Royal Commission, I don’t think a Royal Commission is going to change anything. Only a complete overhaul of the government will help.

50. #50 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 14 February 2008 - 12:05 am

I can’t see how these Little Napoleons and Little Mullah Nalopleons can ever avoid going to hell for all these fiascoes!

51. #51 by ALtPJK on Thursday, 14 February 2008 - 12:33 am

The Lingam Royal Circus (I mean Commission) is only a small manifestation of the malignant cancer inside. Indeed a complete overhaul is necessary. Just as ‘chemotherapy’ has its toll on the body the worry is that the collective fear of this toll might lead to a passive and terminal acceptance of the rot. We would expect Malaysians to be mindful of this come voting time if we are to have any chance to survive.

52. #52 by k1980 on Thursday, 14 February 2008 - 8:59 am

Abdullah, whose popularity has fallen sharply in recent months as ethnic tensions have worsened, said Wednesday he hoped for a two-thirds majority. With anything less he might face pressure from his party to step down, analysts say.
    http://www.iht.com/articles/2008/02/13/asia/malay.php

53. #53 by pohwatchdog on Thursday, 14 February 2008 - 9:27 am

Hi Kit,
    It happen in front of your Ipoh Timur Parliamentary constituency. Teachers in so called premier school not entering classes especially Form 1 and Form 2 classes. Luckily this students came from middle classss family have their own tuition classes. No point shooting upright. Are you running away from Ipoh Timur?

54. #54 by tedteh on Thursday, 14 February 2008 - 9:33 am

Candu rakyat… the British used opium to control the Ching dynasty China.. UMNO uses racist policies to keep the Malays with them. Be honest wouldn’t you like all those “rights”. these are the bread crumbs given to them so the big boys can go on robbing our country.
    We must be bigger than that to see this country rise again, don’t put down our Malay/Bumiputera brethren, you would alienate them, and this country cannot work without them.
    Instead don’t be racist yourself(we all are to certain extent, why wouldn’t the Malays be the same), be understanding and upstanding,
    vote for the future of Malaysia, we surely cannot continue like this.

55. #55 by shaolin on Thursday, 14 February 2008 - 5:34 pm

Holy Shit!! Hishammudin and his Little Mullah Napoleons
    with weilding kris in one hand and the other hand tries
    to calm down all Non Malays to believe him that he is
    the Minister of All Races…!! All Little Mullah Napoleons
    will also echo him and says the same words!!

Then Pak Lah will say, I am the PM of All Races too..!!
    Do you still believe and trust him??

No way!!

Please Vote All Opposition Parties.

56. #56 by The True Malaysian on Thursday, 14 February 2008 - 6:44 pm

“..To make things worst during the Pendidikan Moral lesson the Indians are not taught at all and are just isolated in a classroom by their Pendidikan Moral teachers..” Probably because these Indians are considered as kafirs and untouchables… I would say Malay teachers shouldn’t be allowed to teach Moral to non-malay students. After all what do they know about true moral values and what good values can they instill into them other than their own limited Islamic knowledge. Moreover these are the people with the most limited moral values in their lives. They don’t even know, understand or recognise or even respect their student’s religion what else to know their student’s background. The only thing they know is to label them as kafirs, agama syaitan etc, etc which everybody knows very well like what happen in Ipoh recently.If non malay teachers are not trusted by these headmasters to instill good values in malay students for fear of contradicting Islam then I say a malay teacher shouldn’t be teaching moral too. They will hurt the feelings and sensitivity of the non malays if they were to teach. You think only the malay are sensitive and the Indians are not?? If you want other to respect you, you must first learn to respect others too and not treat them like rubbish. You can’t demand people to respect you and your religion if you do just the opposite.

57. #57 by The True Malaysian on Thursday, 14 February 2008 - 7:08 pm

“….their teaching and dedication during those extra classes is very much questionable because they never liked it in the first place and some of them are just plain lazy and never even fulfill the minimum teaching requirement”

Mark my words, these plain lazy teachers are the ones who will become headmasters and senior assistants in future just because they are malays.
    And by the way what is the stupid moron headmaster and his senior assistants are doing about it. arents they suppose to do a routine check on their their own staffs as per their job requirement ? aren’t they suppose to take action against those non performing lazy teachers? I bet they themselves must be sitting quitely in their fully air-conditioned rooms and reading newspapers and chit-chatting or sleeping the whole day because that’s how they started off in the first place as teacher’s themselves!!! And at the end of the day they will still get their very undeserved promotions no matter what they do. You can check this out in any education department. Our education system is in the ruins!!!

58. #58 by Little Red Rat on Thursday, 14 February 2008 - 11:23 pm

Hei, It is SK sungai Puyu. I heard a lot about this school. I have a few friends there and also know many parents who send their children to that school because I was formerly staying in Sungai Puyu few years ago…. and frankly speaking I KNOW a LOT of things about this school…..mostly negative things as I still keep in touch with my friends there…Interested to know ? Well to be fair I think I’ll keep the judgement to myself as it is all hear-say from friends and parents. The JPN officers and PPD must be real nuts not to realise anything about what the parents already know about this school. I guess all of them are friends after all and they take care of each other. Don’t they?

59. #59 by ChinNA on Friday, 15 February 2008 - 7:21 am

Does DAP has teeth? I am sure it has a few.

Can DAP list out the good that it has done for Malaysia? For me personally, what has DAP done for Ipoh Timur and Pasir Pinji?

I have seen no improvement at all. Enlighten me, pls.

60. #60 by limkamput on Saturday, 16 February 2008 - 2:07 am

ChinNA, what can you expect the oppositions to do when they have no allocations and resources? But I am sure you know who are the MPs for Ipoh Timur and Barat. Just imagine a Parliament with Sdr Lim. Lots of scandals and abuse would have gone unnoticed.

61. #61 by pohwatchdog on Monday, 18 February 2008 - 8:45 am

ChinNa is right. A touch and go politician like Kit Siang. Want to abandon Ipoh Timur…coming to Penang. Even political secretaries good at giving handphone numbers. Show face during election time. Wait up Ipoh Timur voters. Vote for change… vote for change

62. #62 by osama on Thursday, 21 February 2008 - 8:46 am

Selamat Pagi Malaysia!
    Dalam memperkasakan jati diri bangsa Malaysia, penggunaan bahasa kebangsaan adalah satu kemestian. (tak faham-faham, macam mana kita nak kata kita anak Malaysia)

Kegagalan tuan-tuan memahami bahasa Malaysia adalah punca kecelaruan di atas.
    (rujuk surat dari Guru Besar S.K Sg Puyu)
    Program Didik Cemerlang(PDCA) adalah anjuran Bah. Penyelarasan Bumiputera dan Puzat Urus Zakat (PUZ) P.Pinang.
    Memandangkan dana untuk program ini dikeluarkan oleh PUZ, maka semestinya adalah untuk kegunaan orang Islam.
    Kalau kita teliti surat dai Guru Besar, maka kita akan nampak bagaimana murninya hasrat mereka untuk menawarkan program tersebut kepada pelajar-pelajar bukan Islam agar tidak terpinggir.
    Maka RM 15 dikutip adalah untuk kegunaan penyediaan bahan (buku, kertas dll). (Habis tu kalau tak kutip duit, bahan-bahan tu nak dapat dari mana…..hangpa nak bagi ka….bodoh …tara baca…@maaf kerana menggunakan bahasa kasar keatas warga Malaysia yang sentiasa prejudis.)

* surat yang dikatakan dihantar oleh broad-minded Malay women – sembang hangpa la …..yg hantar tu Cikgu India kat sekolah tu…semua orang Kg dah tahu….

Ikhtibar:
    1. Selidik secara mendalam atau menyeluruh (jangan serkap jarang kerana ia akan menonjolkan kebodohan kita)
    2. Jangan Prejudis (macam mana nak harmoni..kalau tak percaya cuba lihat sekeliling kita….ada beratus ribu atau lebih keluarga bukan Islam yang hidup sejahtera dikelilingi perkampungan/ penempatan orang Islam. Tapi cuba kita cari keluarga Islam yang mampu duduk di dalam kelompok bukan Islam…mesti kena tindas.) Itulah keindahan Islam. Percayalah….Islam adalah untuk semua..contoh paling dekat, cuba kita pergi Kelantan. Betapa makmurnya mereka…Islam dan bukan Islam

sekian, terima kasih
    insaflah wahai anak Malaysia

63. #63 by Little Red Rat on Friday, 22 February 2008 - 2:20 pm

betui! indahnya islam saya setuju sangat-sangat. orang yang menganut islam sahaja yang suka buat hal yang yang bukan-bukan dan kita tak leh salahkan agama itu sendiri. betui hang kata yg hantag surat tu cikgu india kat sekolah tu juga dan hang kata semua orang kampung dah tau…betui….memang hampa hebat sungguh….SEBAB TU LAH CIKGU INDIA TU TELAH DITUKARKAN JAUH JAUH SERTA MERTA SUPAYA TAK BUAT HAL LAGI…. DAN AKU DENGAR SEORANG LAGI CIKGU INDIA CUKUP BAIK DAN BERDEDIKASI TELAH DITUKAR HARI INI (NOTIS 24 JAM) DAN SEORANG LAGI CIKGU INDIA AKAN DITUKAR PADA BILA BILA MASA.AKHIRNYA SEMUA CIKGU INDIA AKAN DITUKARKAN…TINGGAL SEMUA MELAYU SAHAJA…CINA DAH MEMANG TAK DA DAH. INDAH BETUI ISLAM…HARMONI SUNGGUH….MEMANG HAMPA SIASAT DULU SEBELUM BUAT TUDUHAN…..SIAPA YANG BODOH KAT DISINI ?? DAH LAH SEKOLAH TU TAK CUKUP GURU BAHASA INGGERIS YANG KELUAR TU GURU BAHASA INGGERIS JUGA SEMATA MATA KERANA MEREKA BANGSA INDIA….CIKGU MELAYU YANG ADA PUN HABUK SATU APA PUN TAK TAU CAKAP BAHASA INGERIS….ANAK MELAYU YANG RUGI DI SKOLAH TU PASAI DEPA PANDAI SERKAP JARANG…. ADIL SUNGGUH KERAJAAN MALAYSIA

64. #64 by Fairness-seeker on Monday, 25 February 2008 - 7:25 pm

Print out the letter issued by the school and send a copy to the so called “MIC” or “MCA”, the body who supposingly fight for the non-muslims.