CNY message – “Mother” of all ang pows to nation and future generations

This is my 42nd year in politics and the tenth and probably last general election which I will be contesting when Parliament is dissolved some time this month.

I have only one wish for the Year of the Rat – let Malaysian Chinese and all Malaysians give the biggest ang pow of all – the “mother” of all ang pows – to the nation and future generations by voting for change in the 12th general election so that Malaysians can stand united and tall to face the challenges of globalization.

Let us make the 2008 Chinese New Year the most significant of all Chinese New Years in the country particularly as it coincides with the nation’s 50th Merdeka anniversary to mark a political coming-of-age with a political will and commitment by Malaysian Chinese together with all Malaysians to usher in real change after 50 years of failure to fulfill the great potentials of Malaysian nationhood.

Let all Malaysian Chinese and Malaysians ponder long and hard what were the factors which had held back Malaysia in the past five decades from being a world-class nation whether in terms of parliamentary democracy, rule of law, educational excellence, international competitiveness, efficient and incorruptible public service, low crime, quality of life – allowing other countries like Singapore, Taiwan and South Korea to overtake us and presently in peril of being left behind by others like Thailand, Vietnam and even Indonesia.

The Prime Minister and Deputy Prime Minister are very confident that the Barisan Nasional will be returned as the government in the 12th general election. They are right. But if they can be proven wrong in being assured that the Barisan Nasional could be returned with a parliamentary two-thirds majority, then Malaysia is set for far-reaching changes which can release hitherto untapped energies and forces which had kept Malaysia mediocre in the league of nations.

Denial of two-thirds parliamentary majority to the Barisan Nasional in the next general election is not going to be easy – as it must ensure that Barisan Nasional is defeated in at least 75 out of 222 parliamentary seats.

Neither the Prime Minister nor the Deputy Prime Minister can make any convincing case that in losing 75 parliamentary seats and deprived of parliamentary two-thirds majority, the Barisan Nasional would not have sufficient majority to govern – as Barisan Nasional would still have 147 parliamentary seats enjoying a substantial majority of 72 seats which would be the envy of all governments in first-world developed democracies.

The 2008 Chinese New Year will be the most memorable of 50 years of Chinese New Year since Merdeka as well as all 50th Merdeka anniversary celebrations if on this occasion, the Malaysian Chinese together with all Malaysians resolve that the denial of two-thirds parliamentary majority to the ruling coalition in the next general election is the first step to the goal of “excellence, glory and distinction” for Malaysia.

This will indeed be the biggest ang pow that Malaysian Chinese and all Malaysians can give to the nation and future generations to commemorate 50th Merdeka anniversary!

1. #1 by Short-sleeve on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 2:31 pm

To all my fellow Malaysian chinese,

Lets not sell out the future of our children by voting for UMNO-BN.

Lets not take the usual pre-election UMNO-BN carrot by voting for BN.

2. #2 by Toyol on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 2:37 pm

Yes, if we want to compete globally, we need changes to the current administration. No more mediocre people in power to lead us. They have been given 50 years and what did we get? Their kind of leadership is a non-sustaining one.

Let’s face it…by the time any changes to the new administration (God willing) takes effect, we will be long gone. What we are looking for is a sustainable administration devoid of racists sentiments and are geared together for a brighter future. A better Malaysia for ALL Malaysians.

3. #3 by gofortruth on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 2:38 pm

E mail this message to all our friends & relatives in m’sia.

4. #4 by Ah Hong on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 2:55 pm

time to change! Let me start from Penang! my 3rd try to change!

5. #5 by KanNinNeh on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 3:14 pm

If MCA and Gerakan are sincere and caring enough for our future, they should leave BN and join DAP !

Their marriage with UMNO has given rise to a corrupted BN !

6. #6 by max2811 on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 3:40 pm

Unless DAP offers a reliable and good candidate in DUN-Simpang Pulai and Parliament Gopeng, I’m not coming out to vote. I have voted BN in the last 5 elections, helped in MCA’s ops room, canvassed for MCA. But I will sit at home and enjoy my coffee on election day.
    Happy Chinese New Year to Mr. Lim and family.

7. #7 by optimuz on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 4:36 pm

max2811,

Unless you give it a chance, how will you know the DAP candidate will be good and reliable?? If MCA is as bad as you paint it, then the DAP fella cannot do worse, right?

And if he did, at least you will know neither BN nor Opposition or worth your vote..

To the Chinese online community: Gong Xi Fa Cai!

Vote not with your pockets in mind, but your conscience!

8. #8 by penangboy on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 4:37 pm

YB Lim
    I have grown to know you over the years and continue to admire your steadfast commitment and courage to make Malaysia a better place to live. Many of my friends have either given up and left. I am sure what you wrote is true. 42 years in politics clearly shows your total commitment to listen to the people and drive your undivided attention to things that matter most – freedom and justice.

I met you in many occassions and today, after reading your latest write-up, I can sense the curtains drawing down on many of DAP leaders who could have left the party and joined the other side and gained famed and fortune. For me, DAP is truly a party to be reckon with. I am totally indebted by your courage. Like my late father use to say, “Always sick and swim with the party. Never give up your principles”. I know he was right then and he is still right today. Whether DAP wins 50 or 5 seats in the next coming election, your contribution is greatly appreciated always.

9. #9 by optimuz on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 4:37 pm

correction: …are worth your vote

10. #10 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 4:42 pm

My support is definitely in!

11. #11 by lakshy on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 4:55 pm

YB,

The greatest Ang Pow we Malaysians can give ourselves and future generations is to VOTE out BN!

My hats off to you YB! For your being able to sustain yourself and fight the good fight! Many of us hide behind our computers and write brave words. You are someone many of us should emulate.

And we can all do so in a small way by voting out BN candidates. Najib, Nazri, Hisham, Khairy, JJ, Rafidah, Azalina, Shahrizat, One Eyed MP, Bocor MPs, Zam, LKY, OKT, SV and the whole MIC gang, and many more should all go. In fact we should record our disgust by voting out each and everyone of the members of the current bloated cabinet, with the exception of the PM. Let him be the opposition leader in Parliament!

This is the only way to start the ball rolling for changes to happen in Malaysia. The change starts with us.

12. #12 by bystander on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 4:57 pm

Well said penangboy. i share your view and thought completely. For all that he has done, YB Lim is the most patriotic malaysian and a malaysian hero to me.

13. #13 by limkamput on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 5:17 pm

max2811, We all share frustration and disappointment. But the change is from each of us, despite whatever odds. The change is now. We can’t wait for others and for another time to bring about change. This was what Obama said this morning over CNN.

As Sdr Lim said, this is probably his last general election. Let him see that his more than 40 years of sacrifice was not in vain. He deserves better from among Malaysians. His contribution to government governance is beyond doubt. Imagine a Parliament without him. Those who steal from us, those who abuse and those who corrupt and mismanage will be doing it arrogantly and blatantly. At least now, they have to cover to their back from time to time. The country must honour him and the King should confer him a Tunship. We the people must honour him to vote wisely and ensure DAP wins big.

14. #14 by Evenmind on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 5:18 pm

It’s about time all Malaysians understand the the word equality and oneness., and the enormous benefits it’ll bring to the country.Stop the segregation of races, render assistance to whoever in need , and rest is assured Malaysia will not be left behind., the world is so much globalised today, and yet the present govt is still talking bumi and non bumi (langit), they sound so stupid and ridculous, Uncle Lim , keep up your good work . pls get rid of these ( ——-) I’ve got no more words to describe them. I’m a well travelled person , and i know the present govt is a laughing stock in the eyes of most of the world.
    For eg. it was in the news in NZ that someone ( in the govt) in Malaysia said that it us not right for the muslims to wish Happpy Deepavali to thier Hindu couterparts (sometime ago )
    People in the govt are doing all these things because they have the tacit support from the UmNOputeras
    There are so many other examples that i can give., but it will not serve any purpose. I’m waiting for the day that i can call Malaysia , my true home .Perhaps you ‘ll be able to make that happen , Good luck for the Election, have a happy and prosperous New Year

15. #15 by limkamput on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 5:19 pm

As penangboy said, many of the DAP leaders are so aged now. Perhaps this is what BN wish and want to see. The younger generations have either through apathy or intimidation by BN not really coming in. We must let the DAP win big this time, to bring a sense of rejuvenation to the party and of course the most important of all the hope of Malaysians Malaysia alive. Yes, Malaysians Malaysia Alive for the next 500 years.

16. #16 by max2811 on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 6:03 pm

I have been in politics for about 30 years. During this period of time, DAP had nominated ppl who are not even graduates, not well-versed in English, not well-informed of the law. I know of a DAP candidate(personally) a few elections back, he was a despatch rider who had only Form 3 education!Candidates like Lok SC, Lim MK from the DAP are of very poor quality. But that was about 20 years back.

DAP can win anyway in certain places like here in Ipoh. My DUN is Simpang Pulai. Mixed area. I want a change in Gov. But I won’t vote for somebody who can’t articulate in the State Assembly or Parliament. Bring in lawyers, doctors or retired teachers but not cloth salesman or an unemployed seat warmer in a coffeeshop.

I have made up my mind to vote for DAP but it all depends on the quality of the candidate. It’s just a 5 minute walk to the polling station for me.(I carry 3 votes)

17. #17 by ahkok1982 on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 6:11 pm

Uncle Lim has given his life to improve the lives of Malaysians but it just seems like Malaysians do not reciprocate in return. It is sad to see that so many Malaysians still vote for their current pocket rather than for the future.
    One this is definite, vote for BN now will mean that your lives and your children’s lives will be gone. Just remember that what we have in our pocket right now will be gone very soon. Double digit percentage price increase is expected and zero increase in salary.
    Uncle Lim is to be saluted for his unwavering fighting spirit to improve our livelihood.

18. #18 by HJ Angus on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 6:24 pm

LKS is a rare breed of Malaysians who live by their principles.
    Even when he retires I am sure his views will be well received but before he leaves the scene I hope he has put in place a new generation of capable leaders.

Change is INEVITABLE and governments too can be changed. Just look at recent history where totalitarian regimes have been toppled. The BN regime too can be put into the library as a historical nightmare when the people were lulled into a deep malaise.

But just listen to Obama in the USA where CHANGE is his major theme. YES we can do it.
    YES we MUST do it for the sake of Malaysia.
    http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2008/02/can-malaysians-change.html

19. #19 by MAJULAHMALAYSIA on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 6:30 pm

No matter what level education you are, I’m going to support any DAP candidate fight for Malaysian people and right. Even if you are a lawyer, doctor or Minister, Sorry you won’t have my vote if you practised corruption, race descrimination, and gangsterism. I will judge the candidate from his heart and not his mask.

20. #20 by observer on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 6:41 pm

Uncle Kit, we salutes you for your persistence in fighting for a Malaysian Malaysia., your comrades the like of Fan Fah Teng , Goh Hock Guan , Hu Sepang and others had left the scene. Even though the odd of DAP becoming part of the Government is slim, yet you and your colleagues had continue this vision of seeing a better future for Malaysian .We hope one day DAP can succeed in your passion .

21. #21 by kanthanboy on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 6:46 pm

“…the King should confer him a Tunship…” limkamput

It is difficult to draw a line between honor and dishonor in a Tunship. I don’t think it is honorable to be associated with people like TDM, Ling Liong Saik, Eusoff Chin, Ahmad Fairuz. The last 2 names are now being dragged through mud and shit at the RCI. Samy Velu and VK Lingam are on the waiting list of Tunship.

22. #22 by LittleBird on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 7:17 pm

Saudara Lim,

After 42 years plus several years in detention..too bad you do not have a S class or 7series to show for. Nor you became a dato without your children’s children. I am not sure where you stay or how big is your house but being what you are I expect another middle class home.

Being a Malaysian who most of my life spent under Mahathirs BN rule. I feel sorry for you. If only Mlaysian united when you took up UEM case to protest the manner the highway was awarded there wouldn’t be so many tolls. If only the Malaysian listened to you and deny BN2/3 majority there wouldn’t be cases like Moorthy, Ngiam, Subashini etc etc.

If only Mlaysian believed in you irrespective your colour, we wouldn’t have AP scumbags.

There list goes on..forever…

23. #23 by Pocket on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 7:22 pm

Happy Chinese New Year to all!

Let give the “Ang Pow” to ourselves, our children and our future generations.

Let us make the changes! Just like what Australian, Taiwanese, and even Americans does! If they can do it, we can do it too!!!

VOTE FOR BETTER MALAYSIA!

24. #24 by k1980 on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 8:17 pm

This year’s Rat is represented by earth sitting on top of water. The earth represents stability, but since it is sitting on water that stability is weak and the two elements are in conflict. So watch out: the foundation of this next year is shaky, creating a degree of unpredictability. This could mean anything from a bold surprise in the US presidential election to a global economic meltdown.

http://www.atimes.com/atimes/China/JB07Ad01.html

25. #25 by Saint on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 8:28 pm

Wishing all Chinese friends a Happy Chinese New Year.
    And to Saudara Lim, a special greetings and may your wish come true.
    This time, the Indians will not let you down. You have our votes.

26. #26 by JimmyNg on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 8:54 pm

Mr. Lim, 42 years is a long time. I thank you for all that you have done for Malaysia. We need leaders like you. All we actually want is a good future for our kids where they can live in peace and have equal opportunities in all fields. You have have my vote.

27. #27 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 8:58 pm

Happy New Year Uncle Kit! Happy New Year to all of you! :)

28. #28 by alaneth on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 9:18 pm

Happy New Year to all members of DAP.

29. #29 by Short-sleeve on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 9:34 pm

This is it folks. If we, the rakyat dont swing it for the Opposition our Malaysia is gone forever.

30. #30 by hiro on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 9:54 pm

max2811 is one of many people I meet who think that even though BN is leading the country to the dumps, there are no better alternative, yet, I have learnt a long time ago that politicians are not bureaucrats. Politicians make policies, and bureaucrats implement them. If there is a problem with good governance, it is the failure of political leadership where the message did not reach down to the bureaucrats. If you are finding that the civil service today is a pale and sick shadow of its former glory, it is because they are disillusioned. How could the politicians make so much money and take all the credit, when the civil servants slog it out and only make a little? Then come election and they are given a little bit of bonus.

We need inspired leadership and we need leaders who can inspire us today. The nation has been drifting for the past 4 years without a good captain and there’s no way the captain is going to change because of how election is carried out in UMNO. So change must come from without.

max2811 may not think much of DAP, but I would urge him/her to spend more time combing through rich literature coming out from DAP leaders, starting with Uncle Lim’s at the forefront. Every article written by Uncle Lim can match, any day, any lame utterances made by the likes of Badawi, Najib etc… It is this kind of sound reasoning and keeness of intellect that we need in our leaders. DAP don’t take idiots into its fold. And every person who joined DAP certainly did not join for money, but out of conviction for a better Malaysia. Who would want to be in a minority, having to scream your lungs out in Parliament to avoid being drowned out by monkey antics of BN Parliamentarians? Why would a DAP representative want to speak for tens of thousands of Malaysians when on the other side, they have anywhere between 2-5 MPs calling you idiot but who’s collective votes merely add up to the same number of voters as the DAP rep’s constituency? It’s conviction, and for me, that’s reason enough to vote for DAP.

Truly, Badawi administration cannot give any good justification why they need 2/3 majority. The most important and controversial amendment they have made is to extend the tenure of the EC Chairman, which is clearly an abuse of Parliamentary majority. Do you want to give them the same right to willy nilly amend the Constitution again?

If Uncle Lim is retiring in about 5 years (which I seriously hope he does not), then I think Malaysians should give him a memorable send-off by creating history in this coming elections.

31. #31 by ALtPJK on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 10:03 pm

YB Lim,

May the Year of the Rat bring fulfilment to your dreams and wishes and that of the aspirations of DAP as a whole.

I must say I am glad to have been one of those in Melaka 1969 to have listened to you in your rallies and voted for a young DAP party and a young Mr. Lim then and even joined in the rather shortlived euphoria after the elections. I have always fervently supported and voted DAP in every election since then; though sometimes it was very disheartening to see the DAP candidate in my constituency not succeeding. How I now wish to be in a constituency to vote for you again in what you said might probably be the last GE you are contesting.

Having served Malaysians for 42 years, battled through 10 GEs, faced all 5 Malaysian Prime Ministers in Parliament and having been subject to cruel and unjustified detentions, your record far exceeds that of any Opposition leader of any country in the whole wide world. However, you would not have had this record as Opposition leader if only this country had conducted elections in a truely transparent and principled manner as practised in most democratic countries and as envisaged in our 1957 Constitution.

Your courage and tenacity can only be described as exemplary and should be the benchmark for future DAP leaders. Obviously you and your family have sacrificed immeasurably over the many years and for this we can only offer our most sincere thanks and the least we can do to repay the gratitude now is to ensure that we vote DAP candidates and elsewhere we should NOT vote BN. In a way, this very act is ironically a selfish one for each and everyone of us because we have always been clamouring for justice, fairness, freedom and most of all an assurance of a future for our children and theirs especially with the trend of the last 35 odd years or so portending to ever more gloomier prospects.

So we cannot let this, possibly, last opportunity to change our destiny slip by.

And as we are about to usher in the New Year, I take this opportunity to wish YB and family and all of my fellow companions here in this community a Happy New Year and wishing you Health, Peace and Prosperity.

32. #32 by langitputra on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 10:08 pm

What i can say is DONT VOTE for umnopultras.they r der 2 enrich demselfs.human beings screwing human beings. its a dog eat dog world.i only wish aliens invade dis planet.sick n tired. anyway, GONG ZHI FATT CHAI.

33. #33 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 10:56 pm

“The change is now. We can’t wait for others and for another time to bring about change. This was what Obama said this morning over CNN.” limkamput

So we have a new convert to the Obama’s concept of ‘change’ i.e. change we can believe in.

Obama was relatively unknown outside his state of Illinois, have problems with the Latino vote, went on to win despite the odds in more than half of the 24 states up for grabs on Super Tuesday. They are saying, “Barack Obama is not a candidate but a movement. How could you stop a movement?”

In Germany he is called the black JFK.

“How would Barack Obama as the next U.S. President affect the lives of Malaysians” is a question some of us are now asking. Or would it be better for Malaysia if Hilary Clinton is U.S. President?

34. #34 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 11:06 pm

The lesson our politicians should and can learn from Barack Obama’s campaign, is in order to break the hold BN has, they need to appeal to a broad cross section of Malaysian society irrespective of race and gender, religion etc. How well is the DAP and for that matter PKR doing when measured against this yardstick if you will?

Not very well. Sadly in DAP and PKR, what we have is more of the same.

35. #35 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 11:09 pm

YB Kit, your eventual exit from active politics will not leave the nation the poorer for your contribution to the ideals of democracy is one that history will look back with nostalgia if nothing else.

36. #36 by mendela on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 11:23 pm

Probably the greatest guys Malaysia ever produced is Kit.

Malaysians should go all out to make Kit a candidate for this year Nobel Peace Prize.

Malaysia owes Kit too much.

May the year of Rat brings lots of happiness to Kit and DAP.

37. #37 by raven77 on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 11:29 pm

Only the DAP has the vision to make Malaysians see the folly of our ways in not facing up to the realities of globalisation. The UMNO government destroyed a talented nation by cocooning it for 50 years……if we dont change now…we are doomed….

38. #38 by Michael Sun on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 11:36 pm

No words can ever describe your love and devotion for this country which we call Malaysia. Inspite of being detained twice under ISA, you persevered on and even earned a LLB law degree while in jail. That separates you from the men and the BN boys.

Of course, it is easy to succumb to the temptation of high office rather to suffer from the agony of seeing your son detained under ISA and went to jail to defend a Malay girl raped by a UMNO leader.

People accused you of creating a political dynasty. Only insane people could make such remarks. Who in his sane mind would like a dynasty to spend time in jail? Definitely not BN leaders.

Because of your steadfastness, I and my family have been your supporters since the day we were entitled to vote.

Our only hope that through God’s divine intervention, BN will be defeated. Guan Eng has commented in a dialogue with the Christians recently in PJ that the walls of Jericho can fall through prayers and God’s intervention, so what more the wall of BN deceit and corruption.

May the good Lord continue to protect and bless you, Guan Eng and the whole family as you continue to bring light to the darkness.

39. #39 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 7 February 2008 - 12:01 am

As usual, PM’s disconnect between his brains and the people! This message should not be addressed to the Chinese during CNY. It should be a message directed at UMNO memebers during the UMNO General Assembly or Hari RAya. The Chinese have always wanted to be a part of the Malaysian Malaysia and have always been solidly behind the concept of justice and the Rule of law, the bedrock of unity. I can’t say the same for UMNO

Malaysiakini Reports: “CNY 2008: PM calls for racial unity”
    AFP | Feb 6, 08 5:05pm

Malaysia does not belong to any one individual or race, but belongs to all Malaysians, reminded the premier.MORE

40. #40 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 7 February 2008 - 12:05 am

Heartiest greetings to all Malaysian Chinese.

May the Year of the Rat bring an end to the political rats of Malaysia and spell the end of gutter politics by BArisan NAsional. And may the Opposition win – and win BIG!

God bless Malaysia. ANd God bless all Malaysian Chinese.

41. #41 by Not spoon fed on Thursday, 7 February 2008 - 1:11 am

This year is a revival year. 2007 is resting year. There would be political changes this year….

42. #42 by freedom to speak on Thursday, 7 February 2008 - 1:12 am

YB

Happy New Year to you and family.
    Keep that idea for the mother of all Ang Pows.
    Positive thinking, dear Sir.
    Come election time….. Whopee!!!

43. #43 by Not spoon fed on Thursday, 7 February 2008 - 1:19 am

We must pray for our Hon. MP Lim Kit Siang. He is a truly human fellow who exposed and still loves Malaysia. He loves clean and uncorrupted government. He is the voice of the righteous and honest people.

May the Mighty God bless Mr Lim Kit Siang and his family members and all his DAP members in this coming election.

God says: “Ask you shall be given”. You have nothing to lose to just believe and ask the Mighty One. We ask the Mighty God to bless DAP members who would contest in this coming general election so that this country would be free of scandels and corruption.

We ask for justice from the Mighty God. We ask for protection from the Mighty God to be the Judge for the weaker people.

For nothing is impossible with the Mighty God. If you do not do believe in God. please see this scientific proof of Creation of this universe, human, etc. by “Someone”:
    http://www.thercg.org/books/dge.pdf

44. #44 by DarkHorse on Thursday, 7 February 2008 - 1:44 am

The problem with personality cult is that it ends when it ends.

45. #45 by scorpian6666 on Thursday, 7 February 2008 - 1:45 am

thanks Lim for doing what you are doing without Angpow …May the force be with you.

46. #46 by DarkHorse on Thursday, 7 February 2008 - 1:46 am

May the Year of the Rats bring forth rats from within the national coalition, to rat on their own and expedite their demise.

47. #47 by DarkHorse on Thursday, 7 February 2008 - 1:51 am

May God in His wisdom open up the sea (the Johor Straits?) to let His people out and bring a end to the tyranny of the majority over the minority.

48. #48 by techie on Thursday, 7 February 2008 - 3:01 am

Join politics and you’ll be rich! Who doesn’t know that? This is of course only applicable if it’s BN that you joined.

Only in BN can one become a millionaire in just a year or less of being a YB. This is a true test for all the politicians we have in Malaysia. I see opposition members leaving to join BN on the news all the time and I’ll say to myself: “You’ll never get my vote; you’ve just shown that you love money more than the people you’re suppose to represent!”

Kit, you’ve shown me that it’s the people you love with your steadfast believe and perseverance in what democracy really stands for. Politics is not about getting rich; it’s about fighting for the rights of the people. It’s a job that’s not suppose to be glamorous or financially fulfilling. It is after all, a heavy task to shoulder the responsibility entrusted by the people.

Kit, no normal person would have stayed this long in politics with all that you’ve been through. You’re the last hope… Malaysia will never see a leader like you again.

People! Wake up… it’s now or never!!

49. #49 by kanthanboy on Thursday, 7 February 2008 - 3:37 am

“…I have been in politics for about 30 years. During this period of time, DAP had nominated people who are not even graduates, not well-versed in English, not well-informed of the law…….Bring in lawyers, doctors or retired teachers but not cloth salesman…” max 2811
    ————————————————————
    The quality of a candidate does not depend on his or her academic or professional qualifications alone. Correct me if I am wrong, YB Lim Kit Siang was not even a graduate when he entered politics 42 years ago. Similarly, Cheng Peng former leader of the Communist Party of Malaya was never a graduate. We need candidates who are honest and dedicated to the cause of the party, for DAP it is Malaysian Malaysia. What’s wrong with a cloth salesman if he is dedicated to serve the people and fight for their rights? Would you rather vote for a person who has no principle like Dr. Lee Chong Meng (doctor ayam) MCA Chairman of Bukit Bintang or Ling Hee Leong the son of Tun Ling Liong Saik who has yet to explain how he became the youngest billionaire at the age of 27.

50. #50 by bennylohstocks on Thursday, 7 February 2008 - 3:41 am

Boot them out while they are still searching for Innovative and Capable leaders…
    http://malaysiancartoons.blogspot.com/2008/02/new-candidates-innovative-and-capable.html

51. #51 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 7 February 2008 - 4:47 am

“What’s wrong with a cloth salesman if he is dedicated to serve the people and fight for their rights?”

Who is this cloth salesman?

52. #52 by kanthanboy on Thursday, 7 February 2008 - 6:04 am

Who is this cloth salesman?

I believe max2811 was referring to the DAP state assemblyman for Ipoh area who was elected in 1974 by defeating then the Major of Ipoh the late SP Senivasagam. If I remember correctly, he was returned for 2 more terms. He was a cloth salesman before his election as state assemblyman. He was not outstanding but he served his constituency diligently.

53. #53 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 7 February 2008 - 8:24 am

It is worth noting that just when this country is ready for change, Sdr. Lim and those that have been fighting for it for decades is coming to the end of their careers. At least Sdr. Lim has paved the way for real change in DAP although he has been accused of being autocratic and dynastic in the past. DAP next generation may not be up to par with Sdr. Lim and his cohorts like Karpal Singh but there is hope better opposition leaders can arise from DAP.

This is why political systems need dynamism. Because without dynamism, you will come to a state of stagnancy that is all too evident in the BN. Even when the leaders change, nothing change and in fact gets worst.

Compare that to the US where absolute revolution like Obama, Clinton, Ron Paul and Dennis Kucinich can arise and gain legitimacy. Compare that to Samy Vellu who still old argument about what others have not done or that he is still relevant. BTW, anyone ask him what would he have done for Malaysia if he was not an UMNO pawn?

The current issues on judicial system is so critical, it really bothers me that it has not angered people. Our apathy and ignorance is inexcusable given our stage of development.

After Sdr. Lim, will DAP be able to enlightened the people?

54. #54 by oct on Thursday, 7 February 2008 - 8:24 am

If we all look at the US election, both Clinton and Obama said that they are ready on day 1 to start work not like our sleepy PM who needs 15 years to complete all his promises. This shows our sleepy PM is not ready at all to execute his promises. Look at all BN candidates, most of them don’t even have a degree and yet they can be ministers to lead the country. No wonder we are all screwed up. Their failure to plan means plan to fail. If we continue to let the HP6 govt to govern we are doomed. VOTE FOR THE CHANGE OR LIVE FOR NOTHING

55. #55 by cemerlang on Thursday, 7 February 2008 - 9:24 am

Chinese New Year greetings to all !

An e-ovation to YB Lim Kit Siang for showing a relentless commitment to serve all Malaysians. Your courage, determination and perseverance will never be forgotten. This is the same spirit shown by all members and supporters who stay with the Democratic Action Party in Malaysia through thick and thin.

Whatever happens, I hope that Mr. Lim Kit Siang, you will continue to be with us in your blogs.

A change will definitely come because it is a human nature to change. From the time a human had nothing but to walk on two feet to this present moment when a human can travel to space, you all see that there is a need to change for the better. A scientist will tell you all that the capacity of human brain is underdeveloped. As time moves on, surely but gradually, the physical brain will be more and more developed and will think further, wider and deeper.

Last night where I am, the firecrackers went off like as if all hell has broken lose. Many Chineses will say that this is to chase away the evil spirits. Yes, including the evils of Barisan Nasional. Mismanagement of human resources until humans who are assets become human liabilities or the other way round. Mismanagement of finance to the point of having to prove to the world that we can build first world infrastructures when many of our people prefer to be stuck to a third world way of thinking by only obeying orders. Mismanagement of power when people with little or no substance are chosen to obey the whims and fancies of their big bosses .

Therefore I will vote out:
    evils
    egoism
    wastage
    injustice
    credulity
    liabilities
    corruption
    lawlessness

A quote:
    On the eve of the Battle of Brandywine, this call was given out.
    “… your unworthy minister will march with you, invoking God’s aid in the fight … need I exhort you to fight the good fight for your homesteads !”

56. #56 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 7 February 2008 - 9:30 am

“…//…This is my 42nd year in politics and the tenth and probably last general election which I will be contesting when Parliament is dissolved some time this month…//…” YB Kit.

However “probably” in relation to taking part in last general election does not mean “definitely” – right?

We wish Kit the best of health. May God bless him a long and healthy life. If health is good and mind is sharp, there is no reason, why he cannot (say) at 2013 even at the age of 72 take on that last general election!

There is nothing that preserves one’s physical and mental health more than carrying on actively one’s calling that one has passion and love for. And there’s nothing that helps one’s deterioration quicker than to lose that active engagement with one’s love and passion!

From the many compliments here and elsewhere Kit should know that many appreciate his 42 years of sacrifice and dedication for the Cause of Democracy, which is a debt Malaysians yearning to be free cannot hope to adequately repay for his speaking for them.

Talking about age and active engagement versus retirement, there are many examples in history but it suffices that I mention only three.

The first is Lord Alfred THompson Denning, the famous “people’s” judge amongst peoples of all Commonwealth.

Born in 1899, he retired in 1982 at the age of 83 after having delivered more than 2,000 memorable judgments that not only have monumental influence over the development of English law, both in its substance and style throughout the Cpommonwealth but also had ameliorated the pain of law school readings for millions of law students in these parts by his lucidity and sharpness of thinking right up to the age of 90!

The second example is Sir Winston Churchill born on 30th November 1874. In his country’s hour of greatest danger from Hitlerian threat, Winston was asked to form the coalition government on 13th May 1940 at the age of 66 to fight the war on which occasion he mused : “I felt as if I were walking with destiny, and that all my past life had been but a preparation for this hour and for this trial….” (reference – The Second World War by Winston Churchill).

And after he had led Britain to win the wear, he was elected the Prime Minister again in 1951 at the age of 77!

The third example drawn from nearer regions and of more contemporaneous times is S’pore Senior Minister Lee Kuan Yew.

Born on September 16, 1923, he only stepped down from politics in 1990 at age of 67 but is now still actively engaged in advice to Singapore administration and active in lecture circuit at the age of 85!

I could be wrong but surmise that the greater majority of leaders whether in governments or oppositions running or influencing the affairs of the world, at any one time, are above 60 in age! So don’t leave the exclusive club when one is still healthy and sharp, never mind the chronological age : it is the emotional and mental age and its vibrance that count! :)

57. #57 by zizou on Thursday, 7 February 2008 - 9:55 am

Dear Uncle Kit,

A warm CNY from cool cameron highlands.I will be voting in the coming election, with my 13other family members. I dont care which ooposition it is going to be here, our votes(more coming!!!) is for the opposition.

If anybody out there been to this highlands lately, you guys will be in a shock to see the amount 0f “development” that has taken place….

The only way to stop the rape of the highlands is to vote for a better local government.

The present one is corrupt to the very core!

58. #58 by Candima Yu on Thursday, 7 February 2008 - 10:19 am

On this auspicious first day of the Chinese New Year of the Rat, allow me to wish you and your family, Xin Nian Kuai Le and Good Health to you all. It has been a long and arduous struggle for you and your family to keepsafe the future and quality of life of the Malaysian people. Much sacrifices and pain have you given and endured over the years; not only having to face incarceration personally in Kamunting, but also to see you loved ones imprisoned. What sufferings your family members had to endure.I was a bystander, watching you patiently wage your battle against such great odds and my heart wept for you.
    Without doubt, this election will be the Mother of All Elections and if the people of Malaysia do not see this as an opportunity to stand up behind you and tell the BN that we have had enough of their blatant disregard of human decency and outright irresponsibility in administering the country’s resources, then there is no more hope for any future in the country. If that happens, then I weep for the country.
    If we do not drive out leaders who have no virtues, no moral fear in indulging in corruption and wastage of the country’s resources, what further hope is there to look forward to?
    In this New Year, let’s hope the people will take off their rose tinted glasses and see clearly where we want the country to head towards.
    May you have the strength and good health to lead us to victory. It is time.

59. #59 by waterfrontcoolie on Thursday, 7 February 2008 - 11:07 am

At the ground level, YB,we should bring back elections to the town councils, city halls or municipalities. Those Councillors or Little Napoleons emplaced from above hold no responsibilty to anyone. Of course this practice was advocated by the current GOMEN to ensure that ALL their cronies would also enjoy the same ‘BENEFITS’ as they do,without having to share what they get at the top. Elections must be held at ALL levels of gomen if accountability is to be effective. This topic should also be voiced at the GE ‘ceramas’. It is all in the game, divide the take and be damned with the population!

60. #60 by waterfrontcoolie on Thursday, 7 February 2008 - 11:13 am

And ALL deliberations at ALL COUNCIL MEETINGS must be mandatorily be OPENED to the publics as part of the requirements. No Council is allowed to make such exception to their so-called in-house rules or regulations. All changes to assessments should require a public hearing. Projects which cost more than rm$1 million should be open to scrutiny by the public.

61. #61 by Not spoon fed on Thursday, 7 February 2008 - 12:35 pm

May the Mighty God bless Hon. Mr Lim Kit Siang and prolong his life and health.

In case, modern medicine could not heal friends or relatives, there is still another way: supernatural way.

See “Dead child raised in China” – http://www.born-again-christian.info/china.revival.htm

So, nothing is impossible with the right God!

May the Might Creator prevail justice and protect the weak groups in this country. May the Mighty God lead Hon. Mr Lim Kit Siang.

62. #62 by sotong on Thursday, 7 February 2008 - 12:46 pm

Meanwhile…….evil forces are working desperately to deny the ordinary people the Mother of all ang paus – an environment of harmony, fairness, decency, unity and mutual respect with accountability, responsibility and competency.

Happy Chinese New Year to all!

63. #63 by Godfather on Thursday, 7 February 2008 - 12:52 pm

Mother of all angpows ? Depends on whose definition it is. For the den of thieves, and their shameless mainstream editors, the mother of all angpows could be just RM 1, for they would have pocketed RM 99 in the process.

Badawi was quoted in his CNY message that all races must move as one. What the 4th floor boys meant to say is that all must move as one, so that “they” can all steal as one.

64. #64 by Not spoon fed on Thursday, 7 February 2008 - 1:25 pm

If you do not believe in supernatural way, please see this fact –

Because the American government regularly broke its treaties with the various American Indian tribes, the Indians placed a course on the White House. That is why, from 1860 until 1980, every President elected in the 20th year died in office. You can trace that back to 2 things. The American government’s unfaithfulness to the American Indians and the fact that Abraham Lincoln, who was the President elected in 1860, premitted a spiritist seance to be conducted in the White House by this wife. She later died in a mental institute. See how involvement in such activity doesn’t just affect individuals, it can also affect whole nations.

President Reagan would also have died in office – an attempt was made on his wife early in his presidency. However, just before he took the oath as President, a group of pastors in a large meeting, combined in prayer and faith and released not just him but also the presidency from the curse (from Indians).

You see how close the curse came to being fulfilled, the bullet lodged within an inche of his heart. That was God’s vindication of the prayer that released the curse.

This is no abstract theory; such things negatively affect the lives of people and nations everywhere!

So, pray for justice in this country and for revival in this 2008. You shall see justice prevail and political revival.

We pray for blessing from the God for DAP and for Hon. Mr Lim Kit Siang. DAP has been trying to prevail justice and fairness for this country and for all Malaysians. It was the Malaysians themselves blindfolded by the evil force (of money, of power, of greediness, of selfishness, ….)

65. #65 by Evenmind on Thursday, 7 February 2008 - 3:00 pm

BN = Brainless Nationalists., and they have to go. The country needs brains to succeed ,and definately not by way of useless brains from the result of the NEP. When you the best of brains Malaysia’s economy will transcend to the highest level ever .
    THIS IS A FACT.,NOT FICTION

66. #66 by Libra2 on Thursday, 7 February 2008 - 3:20 pm

What Malaysians need is to change our mindset.
    To change the government we need to change ourselves first.
    We need to look at our perception of right and wrong, of good governance, of transparency, of civil servants and government leaders honesty, etc.
    Do we want to be government by thieves and liars?
    If we keep thinking of maintaining status quo – jobs, business interests, bank accounts ,so as not to “rock the boat” – then ultimately we will end up sinking with the boat.
    Just say, “Come what may and vote for Opposition” and you will never be wrong.
    The right people will be there to bring this country to greater hights.
    BN will bring us into the opposite direction.

67. #67 by Libra2 on Thursday, 7 February 2008 - 3:20 pm

Correction:
    Do we want to be governed by thieves and liars?

68. #68 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 7 February 2008 - 3:28 pm

One can’t help but compare Sdr. Lim’s new year’s greeting and the PM. Sdr. Lim is a generation older than our PM and yet its reflects poorly our PM that his message is out of sync with the masses compared to Sdr. Lim. Sdr. Lim’s message is change to be united and face globalization, one of hope and possibilities.

The PM’s message ‘Malaysia… belong to all races, .. will work harder.. etc.’ are old excuses and sermons. Its clearly besides the point and grouses of the masses. In fact its downright insulting. Does he really believe that Malaysian does not know they are divided and its they that are holding things together not the government? Does he believe that they don’t appreciate what they have and don’t know what and why they don’t have especially the Chinese voters?

The Chinese voters are always more than willing to listen and in 1999 eventhough we knew that Dr. M and BN screwed up, we threw our weight behind Dr. M and BN as the Malay vote split for practical reason. In 2004, we threw our votes behind Badawi because he promised much although deep down we knew there was a chance he would not deliver. We knew what was promised was precious and every chance should be given.

What did he do? He trivialize it, when he walked away too easily from his promises and now again trivialize it by preaching to us.

Its downright insulting to think that the issues that concern Chinese, the corruption, the crime, judicial independence, religious tolerance, educational excellence, economic waste are selfish racial issues. Nobody is under any illusion that they are thinking of the Chinese votes when they won’t lift the subsidies.

This is a PM clearly lost. The problem is that he think he has a gameplan when he does not just as George Bush Jr. thought he had a game plan when he went into Iraq. That is why he don’t have a message because he does not know one.

69. #69 by kanthanboy on Thursday, 7 February 2008 - 5:22 pm

“…In case, modern medicine could not heal friends or relatives, there is still another way: supernatural way….See “Dead child raised in China…”
    —————————————–
    Not spoon fed,

I have read the article titled “Dead child raised in China” on the website as recommended by you. The author claimed that many miracles of healing and raising the death were performed by believing in Mark 16: 15-20. My advice to you is to seek the truth and ask the Holy Spirit to give you the spirit of discernment. Don’t be spoonfed with errors.

Are you aware of the fact that earliest manuscripts and some other ancient witnesses do not have Mark 16: 9-20? Most versions of bible will have footnotes at the end of Mark 16: 8 pointing out this fact. If you do a Google search on “Mark 16: 9-20” you will find tons of articles and reason for doubting the authenticity of verses 9-20.

For example: [Mark 16: 18 they will pick up snakes with their hands; and when they drink deadly poison, it will not hurt them at all…..]

Do you really believe the verse in Mark 16:18? I hope you don’t try to drink deadly poison!

70. #70 by Loh on Thursday, 7 February 2008 - 6:23 pm

///Let all Malaysian Chinese and Malaysians ponder long and hard what were the factors which had held back Malaysia in the past five decades from being a world-class nation whether in terms of parliamentary democracy, rule of law, educational excellence, international competitiveness, efficient and incorruptible public service, low crime, quality of life – allowing other countries like Singapore, Taiwan and South Korea to overtake us and presently in peril of being left behind by others like Thailand, Vietnam and even Indonesia.///–Kit

The single most important factor that held back Malaysia is the race-based political structure in the country. The formula Alliance party, comprising UMNO, MCA and MIC, utilised to gain independence met with success. The leaders of the component parties then were able to work together for mostly the interest of the people and the nation, for a decade. But not long after Independence, Article 153 was used as a basis to start ketuanan Melayu programmes. The example was the creation of Felda Scheme where the settlers were almost 100 per cent Malays. Then May 13 which was initially used to dethrone Tunku was utilised to perform non-Malays enfeebling programmes. The past 50 years show that race-based politics only favour the powerful party just like in the corporate world where the winners take all leaving crumps for those who are near the centre of power.

All told, the problems Malaysia faces are because the race-based politics. After 50 years of independence UMNO continue to fight for Malays, MCA and MIC were supposed to look after the interests of Chinese and Indians. The country is in perpetual war among the different ethnic groups. For the war to continue to be meaningful, to the warring parties, UMNO must be seen to be doing something against the interest of non-Malays so that they are seen to be fighting for the rights of the community it represented. Whether it was the deliberate attempts to cause headache to the vernacular schools or to perforn dead body snatching for Muslim burial, none of these acts could be considered to be beneficial to the nation, nor to Malays. But those acts serve to prove that Ketuanan Melayu is alive and kicking.

UMNO can claim to be continuing to fight for the Malays because the persons who gain unfair advantage through the corrupt practice of obtaining government contracts without tender are Malays. MCA and MIC have modified their role in leading non-Malay citizens to capitulate to UMNO demand, in grateful thanks to their UMNO bosses for keeping them in position for power sharing at their individual level. To demonstrate their ability to garner Chinese and Indians votes to get them in position to enrich themselves, and be stooges of UMNO, they were ‘kind’ to whisper the threat that the position of Chinese and Indians in the country would be worse if not for their effort in slowing down the pace of UMNO in its pursuit at discriminating and marginalising the non-Malays. It is clear that the conditions of non-Malays would only get worse as time goes by if the same race-based political setup remains.

Malays will continue to support racist UMNO. If Chinese and Indians continue to hope that MCA and MIC would stand up against UMNO for their rights, they can only expect hope to remain while losing everything else. UMNO can continue to claim a legitimate existence because there are MCA and MIC doing it. To stop race based politics, we have to stop MCA and MIC to participate in political activities in the country. MCA and MIC can continue with community services for self help, just like any other non-government organisations. They should not pretend to fight for non-Malay interest when their existence as political parties is fighting the interest of the communities they claim to help.

Human greed would not stop MCA and MIC from working for their self interests. The Indians, Chinese, and others who like to see a change for the better should vote for the opposition parties, including PAS.

The AngPow to all Malaysians is to vote against MCA and MIC candidates in the next GE.

71. #71 by limkamput on Thursday, 7 February 2008 - 6:41 pm

kanthanboy Says:
    It is difficult to draw a line between honor and dishonor in a Tunship.

Your observation is valid. But if indeed the Yang DiPertuan Agong confers a Tunship of Sdr Lim, I think you and I will not have any doubt that the award is for his contribution to this country. I am careful not to ask the Government to confer the award on Sdr Lim. To ask from the Agong I think is different although some wannabe lawyers will say the King acts on advices etc etc.

72. #72 by Colonel on Thursday, 7 February 2008 - 7:52 pm

What have you got against lawyers and lawyer wannabes, limkaput?? Still smarting from the grilling you got?

Time to move on, ‘ol fart.

73. #73 by lakshy on Thursday, 7 February 2008 - 9:10 pm

Evenmind,

someone actually said to me that she cant wish me because it goes against what they have been told by their religious leaders. Aaah… how sad. Should I retaliate and strike them off my list too?

74. #74 by kcl on Thursday, 7 February 2008 - 10:57 pm

YB Lim,

I can still remember the very first time I met and listened to your speech back in 1986 at this civic center in PJ state area by chance. I was one of the young college boys then and didn’t know much about politics but your speech really enlightened me and my perception towards Malaysian politics has never been the same.

I finished college and came to the US for my undergraduate and graduate school. I worked for a company for a while and started my own business later on. I took up my US residency many years ago but still reluctant to “convert” to US citizenship mainly because I still call Malaysia my mother land!! I am still proud to identify myself as a Malaysian and tell them where whenever any ignorant Americans here ask me where in the world Malaysia is!!

I come home to Malaysia to see friends and relatives every 2-3 years or so since 22 years ago. Whenever I was home, I will always try to brush and catch up the latest Malaysian news through our local biased media. Of course, today’s internet surfing and blogging, an alternate media, has make it easier and keeps me better informed in the past 2-3 years.

Your 42 years in active politics as a Malaysian freedom fighter eventhough you were put in jail many times under ISA for invalid reasons in your political career really gained my great respect and admiration.

I’ve been convinced long ago that the DAP is really an organisation that champion the rights of every Malaysian. You don’t do it for fame and fortune. None of the DAP leaders that I know of carry any fancy Malaysian titles. As Jeffrey said earlier on his posting “…from the many compliments here and elsewhere, Kit should know that many appreciate his 42 years of sacrifice and dedication for the Cause of Democracy which is a debt Malaysians yearning to be free cannot hope to adequately repay for his speaking for them….”

I have make up my mind. I will travelling home in a week from now to give you my utmost support and a vote for the DAP!! I’m spreading the word here to all the proud Malaysians to vote for a change and hopefully see more Malaysians coming out in full force to vote for a change this time.

50 years of corrupt BN rule is enough!!

75. #75 by limkamput on Friday, 8 February 2008 - 2:45 am

Colonel, are you a lawyer wannabe? Don’t be too sure. I don’t think you even qualify for that. You are a nut head who know next to nothing and yet want to talk very big. That is who you are. Even wannabe may know better than you. What do you mean time to move on. You think is so easy? Have you seen what is under the skirt yet? But out of decency and respect for this blog, I am not saying it here.

76. #76 by Count Dracula on Friday, 8 February 2008 - 8:19 am

Limkamput, I see you’re still at it! Can’t you take a hint that bloggers here are not interested in your personal feud?

77. #77 by Count Dracula on Friday, 8 February 2008 - 8:31 am

“This is my 42nd year in politics and the tenth and probably last general election which I will be contesting when Parliament is dissolved some time this month.” Kit

No doubt a strong and emotional appeal for all Chinese to unite and give the leader of the Opposition a grand send off! This may yet see a wave of support for the veteran of Malaysian politics who has become a living legend.

78. #78 by ktteokt on Friday, 8 February 2008 - 8:31 am

I agree with Loh. To make one party superior, you need others to admit they are inferior. This is the law of comparisons. By remaining in BN and succumbing themselves to being made “slaves”, MCA and MIC has in fact betrayed the races they represent (or claim to represent). The situation is worsen when they try to blind the race the represent by using “smoke screens” and telling the people they represent that such “drastic” actions by UMNO is “for their own good”!

I believe the leaders of MCA and MIC are not blind and knows exactly what UMNO intends to do but they simply accept it because of personal interests and benefits at the expense of the others. If such is the attitude of leaders of ethnic political parties, then these minority ethnic groups are going to be made slaves forever, earning a hard living just to keep their “jelly fish” masters alive.

79. #79 by sotong on Friday, 8 February 2008 - 8:42 am

It is time – Candima Yu.

It is long overdue for a change…..BN had lost its plot and more of the same will destroy the country!

80. #80 by LadyGodiva on Friday, 8 February 2008 - 11:25 am

Happy Chinese New Year boys! Enjoy.

81. #81 by limkamput on Friday, 8 February 2008 - 12:20 pm

Limkamput, I see you’re still at it! Can’t you take a hint that bloggers here are not interested in your personal feud? Dracula

Are you a wannabe too? Or are you Colonel in another handle? Why do you bother what I said? Sesiapa yang makan cili rasa pedas.

82. #82 by limkamput on Friday, 8 February 2008 - 12:22 pm

No doubt a strong and emotional appeal for all Chinese to unite and give the leader of the Opposition a grand send off! Dracula

NO, you are wrong again. The appeal is to ALL Malaysians. Don’t make DAP a racist party. I think that has been the intention of some Indian racists here all along. Again those who makan cili rasa pedas.

83. #83 by BlackEye on Friday, 8 February 2008 - 9:18 pm

Kit says and I quote:

‘The 2008 Chinese New Year will be the most memorable of 50 years of Chinese New Year since Merdeka as well as all 50th Merdeka anniversary celebrations if on this occasion, the Malaysian Chinese…”

“I have only one wish for the Year of the Rat – let Malaysian Chinese …”

“This will indeed be the biggest ang pow that Malaysian Chinese..”

“Let all Malaysian Chinese and Malaysians ponder long and hard ..”

This is a speech given here on the occasion of the Chinese New Year, not Thaipusam, Christmas or Hari Raya meant primarily for a Chinese audience. Still Kit did not take an exclusive approach but an all inclusive one. He’s too smart for that!

limkamput, if you’re not too busy bashing others for their views you’d have noticed that Kit did appeal primarily to the Chinese and there’s nothing wrong with that! It is after all Chinese New Year when all Chinese celebrate the coming of the Year of the Rat – the kind of rat that obviously you’re not.

84. #84 by Count Dracula on Friday, 8 February 2008 - 9:19 pm

Ouch!!!

85. #85 by BoDo Singh on Friday, 8 February 2008 - 10:25 pm

What “ouch”??

86. #86 by Not spoon fed on Saturday, 9 February 2008 - 12:26 am

87. #87 by limkamput on Saturday, 9 February 2008 - 12:36 am

I just have to quote a few sentences from what Sdr Kit said:

“I have only one wish for the Year of the Rat – let Malaysian Chinese and all Malaysians give the biggest ang pow of all – the “mother” of all ang pows – to the nation”

“to mark a political coming-of-age with a political will and commitment by Malaysian Chinese together with all Malaysians to usher in real change after 50 years of failure to fulfil”

“Let all Malaysian Chinese and Malaysians ponder long and hard what were the factors which had held back Malaysia in”….

You group of Kampung Attap rats; you dare even twist and turn Sdr Lim statements. Tell you what: you are a group of Indian racists who should rightly be sucking up with MIC or IPF (if you have not done so, or if you done so but without success). There is no doubt that you are here to undermine DAP for whatever perverse motive you have. Can all of you please tell Colonel that under the skirt, they found his (colonel’s) old mini with two flat tyres.

88. #88 by Not spoon fed on Saturday, 9 February 2008 - 12:40 am

kanthanboy:

” they will speak in new tongues; 18they will pick up snakes with their hands; and when they drink deadly poison, it will not hurt them at all; they will place their hands on sick people, and they will get well.”

“They will speak in new tongues” – still happening today. If you have not see people speaking in new tongue, I could recommend you to see at one place….

Today, there are still people who have confidence and faith, still pick up snakes with their hands. We could watch this on ASTRO.

Today, there are still many people drinking poison – so many poison drinks out there in the market.

This requires wisdom to intreprete and to see it is a parable.

There are also verses like “If you have faith, you could move mountain”. It is a parable saying your confidence would do a big task.

89. #89 by limkamput on Saturday, 9 February 2008 - 12:47 am

Just look at the posting times of BlackEye (Yesterday at 21: 18.02), Dracula (Yesterday at 21: 19.46) and Bodo BoDo (Yesterday at 22: 25.36). Can it be that coincidental? You are dishonest to the core. If you are holding a position in Government today, there is no doubt in my mind that you too will abuse, take money and mismanage. Scam bags.

90. #90 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 9 February 2008 - 12:50 am

May be. But nobody here is interested to know.

91. #91 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 9 February 2008 - 12:51 am

By the way it is not “scam bags” but “scum bags” unless you write words the way you pronounce them. Hint, hint!

92. #92 by Count Dracula on Saturday, 9 February 2008 - 1:10 am

Limkamput, if you are really concerned for ‘sifu’ at least pen a few lines under the thread relating to his back pain which may put him in a wheel chair for a long time. Instead you’re everywhere seen looking for a brawl with cyber personalities who could be as delusional as you are or worse.

93. #93 by limkamput on Saturday, 9 February 2008 - 1:28 am

it is not “scam bags” but “scum bags” unless you write words the way you pronounce them. Darkhorse

It really shows your personality, nothing else – a personality disorder of finding faults, of trying to belittle others, and of showing others you are perfect. I have seen you doing to others including Undergrad2 for obvious mistakes by others. We shall see, you are not god.

Dracula, you should direct this question to yourself. Why are you here, if not looking for response of your irritation on others. I have told you, we can go on. I don’t have to earn a living like you.

94. #94 by LadyGodiva on Saturday, 9 February 2008 - 3:21 am

God!! Boys shall be boys! Limkampuit, you have to grow up fast.

95. #95 by kanthanboy on Saturday, 9 February 2008 - 7:57 am

I am writing in response to Not for spoon fed.

” they will speak in new tongues; 18they will pick up snakes with their hands; and when they drink deadly poison, it will not hurt them at all; they will place their hands on sick people, and they will get well.” – Not spoon fed

I feel that errors need to be corrected.

“They will speak in new tongues” – still happening today. If you have not see people speaking in new tongue, I could recommend you to see at one place….”.- Not spoon fed

What you see is probably people babbling. The word “tongues” means “languages” in the context of biblical tongues. Check your bible, when the word “tongues” is used, there is always a footnote to indicate that it means languages. If you want to know what biblical tongues are you should go back to where it started, chapter 2 of the book of Acts.
    Scripture: Acts 2: 6-11 [When they heard this sound, a crowd came together in bewilderment, because each one heard them speaking in his own language. 7Utterly amazed, they asked: “Are not all these men who are speaking Galileans? 8Then how is it that each of us hears them in his own native language? 9Parthians, Medes and Elamites; residents of Mesopotamia, Judea and Cappadocia, Pontus and Asia, 10Phrygia and Pamphylia, Egypt and the parts of Libya near Cyrene; visitors from Rome 11(both Jews and converts to Judaism Cretans and Arabs—we hear them declaring the wonders of God in our own tongues!]
    The reason why God enabled the apostles to speak in other languages which they had never learned was to enable them to declare the wonders of God to people who came from different parts of world in their own languages so that they could understand.

Today, some people try to equate speaking in tongues to holiness and use the manifestation to edify themselves. Some even claim that if you don’t speak in tongue you are not filled with the Holy Spirit. What they are saying is: I speak in tongue, see how holy I’m. You don’t speak in tongue because you are not filled with the Holy Spirit. This is all from the flesh and pride of men.

What’s the purpose in speaking in tongues (other languages) if you are in a congregation where all the people there understand the language of the speaker? If God has a message for the congregation He can ask the speaker to speak in plain language for the benefit of everyone. Whey is there a need for someone to babble in an unknown language? As an illustration, if you want to say something to your children, just speak to them in the language you normally speak. Do you have to speak to them in a Timbuktu language and then have somebody else interpret to them? Speaking in tongue will be relevant in situation where let say during a Chinese or English church service a group of German tourists come in and they don’t understand the language, then someone who has never learn and spoken German before stand up and starts speaking in German to these tourists declaring the gospel to them. This is what biblical tongue is. I personally have not seen this happens before. Do I believe this can happen? Absolutely yes, because when there is a need to preach the gospel to people in their own language so that they can understand the message, God will enable His people.

There are others who claim that tongue is a prayer language and it is a way of communication between the person and God. What they are saying is: We have a hotline with God and we speak in a spiritual language. I have to say that God doesn’t need to hear a special language. He listens to your heart. What do you do when your pastor or priest tells the congregation: “Let’s have a moment of silent prayer?” If God needs to listen to what you say how can he hear you when you pray in silence? As a matter of fact, God is smarter than man, He is not gullible, He listens to your heart.
    Scripture: Matthew 6: 7-9 [And when you pray, do not keep on babbling like pagans, for they think they will be heard because of their many words. Do not be like them, for your Father knows what you need before you ask him.]

“Today, there are still people who have confidence and faith, still pick up snakes with their hands. We could watch this on ASTRO.” – Not spoon fed

I think you watch too much TV. I saw people pick up snakes long before TV was invented. As a small boy I watched those roadside medicine sellers pick up snakes. Are they Christian? I’m sure you know the answer. People can be trained to pick up poisonous snakes but if they are not careful and get bitten and not being treated in time they will surely die. Come on, have some discernment, these have nothing to do with Christianity.
    Scripture: John 2:23-25 [… many people saw the miraculous signs he was doing and believed in his name. But Jesus would not entrust himself to them, for he knew all men. He did not need man’s testimony about man, for he knew what was in a man.]

“Today, there are still many people drinking poison – so many poison drinks out there in the market.” – Not spoon fed

I agree that there are so many poison drinks out there in the market. But what’s your point. Are you suggesting that if you have enough faith in Mark 16:18, drinking poison drinks and even deadly poison will not harm you? For me, I would advise people to avoid any poisonous drinks.

Can Jesus heal? Of course he can heal simply because he is God, the creator.
    The ultimate healing is to accept Christ and be born again of the spirit. What’s the point of healing you from cancel if you do not come to Christ? It doesn’t matter what type of sickness you have been healed, you will still die one day.

How many people had been raised from the death by Jesus other than Lazarus? The reason why Jesus raised Lazarus from death is to prove his is the Son of God and it was a foreshadow of his resurrection. So if you think raising people from physical death is a Christian ministry, you have missed the point of His ministry. If someone believes his ministry is to heal those physically sick, he should visit the hospitals everyday and heal as many people as possible. This will solve the problem of shortage of doctors.

The common error of most of the so called healing ministries is based on what you and I can do instead of focusing on what He can do. Jesus said if you have faith of the size of a mustard seed you can move mountain. I agree that it is a parable but it is not about how big a task you can accomplish based on your confidence. It means you don’t have big faith (smaller than a mustard seed) so don’t think it is your big faith that enables you to do big task. Jesus said: “Without me you can nothing.” Christian faith is based solely on what He can do and not what you can do.We don’t have big faith but we have a big God.

Another common phenomenon based on the common error of what you can do rather that what He can do is the power of prayer based on number: The power of prayer is dependent on the size of the number of people involved. So if God doesn’t answer my prayer, I’ll get one thousand people to pray for me and if God still doesn’t answer I’ll get one million people to pray, then God will be obligated to answer my prayer. If this is true, then you are greater than God because you can twist God’s arm until he listens to you.
    Remember the song “turn your eyes upon Jesus”? That’s what Christians need to do instead of following men. Turn away from the men’s teaching.

96. #96 by limkamput on Saturday, 9 February 2008 - 9:45 am

LadyGodiva Says: God!! Boys shall be boys! Limkampuit, you have to grow up fast.

Don’t call me boy, you old woman/man. You are either blind or you have a screwed mind that can’t think fairly and impartially. I already told you earlier, if you can’t be fair, just shut up, old woman/fart.

97. #97 by limkamput on Saturday, 9 February 2008 - 9:51 am

LadyGodiva Says: God!! Boys shall be boys! Limkampuit, you have to grow up fast.

Don’t call me boy, you old woman/man. You are either blind or you have a mind that can’t think fairly and impartially. I already told you earlier, if you can’t be fair, just shut up, old woman/man or in between.

98. #98 by Morgan Lovell on Saturday, 9 February 2008 - 12:59 pm

I think this platform should not be used to wage personal vendetta, and instead should be a common platform for intelligent Malaysian to conduct intellectual communication, don’t you all agree?

I used to be extremely enthusiastic about DAP, feel that the world would be MUCH better without BN, extremely annoyed by certain unconsiderate comments, depressed due to certain ‘unfair’ treatment, tremendously pissed by how my tax money are been ‘utilized’, and the list goes on and on forever.

That was Me back in 3 years ago.

After that, I was fortunate enough to join a company that has provided me opportunities to be stationed oversea. As a person who had never went oversea for education, that really opened my eyes after experiencing the world outside of Malaysia.

Although I’d received many comments about Malaysia from all the people I’d met in different countries throughout my oversea assignments(UK, Holland, Germany, France, India, China, Indonesia, Philippines, Japan, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Bangladesh, Most of SEA Countries), the following are the Top-10 common comments that I’d gathered from them:

1. Malaysia is a wonderful country, Truely Asian, alot of natural places to visit and at the same time provide a reasonable shopping experience.
    2. Malaysia KLCC is a magnificent building, a MUST visit.
    3. Dr. Mahathir ‘is’ Malaysia PM (though Abdullah had already become PM for quite sometime)
    4. Cost of living in Malaysia is damn cheap (food, petrol, transport).
    5. Cost of owning a house in Malaysia is dirt cheap!
    6. Malaysia is a safe haven (no Tsunami, no earthquake, no volcano, no coup, no terrorist, no bombs)
    7. Malaysia has alot of greenery, particularly great view travelling from KLIA to KL City
    8. Taxi or rent a car is the best mode of transport to travel within Malaysia, public transport system are too complicated and complex
    9. Malaysia is a haven for DVDs, 2nd to China (up until the government crack down those shops in Low Yatt and brought in the 2 famous “puppies”)
    10.Cars in Malaysia are expensive (What? a 18k USD car without ABS and dual airbag??, simply unbelievable.. Which beemer did you buy for 21k pound? You had bought a Toyota/Honda Japanese car for 21k pound? you must be crazy… You bought a beemer at 500k RMB? ok, quite a bargain for a E60 there for 500k RMB.. wtf.. a E90 3 series without i-drive, sharkfin and chrome tailpipe for 500k RMB??)

If Malaysia is really that bad, I certainly don’t think that we will still received so many ‘compliments’ from people around the world. Among the people that I’d spoken to, alot of them actually wanted to retire in Malaysia or migrate to Malaysia and obtain Malaysia citizenship (not just Bangla and Indonesia as in our prejudices).

While I’m not Pro-BN, I also think that we can’t deny a certain facts of this country.

1. Malaysia Petrol is cheap thanks to subsidies
    2. Malaysia cost of living and cost of owning a house is cheap
    3. Crime rate are on the rise because alot of Vice Activities which is the main source of income for a certain group of people had been cracked down hard (human trafficking, pirated DVDs, etc)
    4. Malaysia is still safe from terrorism and extremist activites (not sure whether this is related to Malaysia been self proclaimed as an Islamic country)
    5. The main GLCs in Malaysia are reforming and transforming and are more efficient now(Tenaga, TM, Sime Darby, MAS, etc)

To an average Joe living in Malaysia, a rise of petrol from RM 1.92 to RM 2.3, or a rise in Teh Tarik from RM 1.2 to RM 1.5 is totally unacceptable, and it’s completely the government’s fault. However, people need to realise, Malaysia is also part of a global economy body, anything happening outside of Malaysia will affect Malaysian as well. The longed subsidies system had turned Malaysian into unsensitive creatures towards world events and the consequences of these events.

One might argue, Malaysia is different, we have plenty of natural resources, we have OIL!!! Why should we pay so high, so much for something which we ourself produce? Why can’t Petronas return those enormous profits that they had reaped in for such a long time and help us joe public?

Bear in mind, OIL is a resource that would eventually depleted, and Malaysia OIL reserved won’t be able to sustain generations after generation of subsidy. The money is better off to fund for other things such as buying into foreign asset that has potential to grow (What Singapore Temasek has been doing but are increasingly difficult to be done), or to fund better infrastructure building, fund for development of the country, etc)

However, whether the money saved from the subsidy are spent wisely or not, is of course another story.

I would say that the opposition idea of creating an subsidized world of living is like an Utopia to me. It might woes some votes initially, but in the long term, it’ll damage the country competitiveness on a global basis and eventually this will prove what BN claims on the oppositions are true, that they are only season votes wooer with exciting but impractical ideas.

When people quote Obama for ‘Change’, people have to realise, In order to have a Change, there must be a sufficient force ready to make the ‘Change’ and ready to replace. Is the opposition ready as Obama? I certainly hope so….

99. #99 by limkamput on Saturday, 9 February 2008 - 2:49 pm

Morgan Lovell,
    First when you compare anything, I would urge you to compare with the resources each country has at its disposal and not with you other countries. Other countries may be more poorly endowed than Malaysia. Also, other countries may have some aspects that are worse off and some that are better off. So it is not fair for you just the compare those that Malaysia are better.

It is not only you that have travelled widely and therefore thinking that you know better than others, far from it.

Talking about Mahathir as the PM. Do you think foreigners really know what was going on here during his administration? Let me tell you this, Mahathir is good in generating sensation which gather the attention of foreigners who are probably angry with their own governments. Mahathir presided over Malaysia’s worse cronyism and corruption far more than the “good”, if any, he has done for this country.

100. #100 by limkamput on Saturday, 9 February 2008 - 2:51 pm

Morgan Lovell,
    If you want to compare car and petrol prices, you better compare vis-a-vis the per capita income of the country concerned rather than their prices based on official exchange rates. The price of cars in Malaysia is probably one the most expensive items based on income per capita basis. Ask yourself how many months’ wages are needed to buy a car in Malaysia compared to those in UK or USA. You must remember people in UK and USA earn income in pound and US$ just like Malaysians earn ringgit. The starting pay in pound or US$ is as high if not higher than the starting pay in ringgit for Malaysians. I think you have not factored that one in.

101. #101 by limkamput on Saturday, 9 February 2008 - 2:53 pm

Morgan Lovell,
    As for petrol, again you miss the point. A litre of petrol in Australia is A$1.20 (November/December 2007) while in Malaysia is RM1.92. If you convert based on official exchange rates surely you will say the price of petrol in Malaysia is dirt cheap. But you forget, in Australia, the starting pay for a graduate is A$30k, while in Malaysia you are lucky if you get RM24K a year. So let me ask you who is having higher cost of living. Please don’t talk about food being cheaper in Malaysia. Yes in Malaysia, you can get a plate of mixed rice for RM3.50 while in the US it may cost you US$5.00. But you forget again, the saving you get from buying a cheaper car in US is enough for you to buy your mixed rice for the rest of your life.

102. #102 by limkamput on Saturday, 9 February 2008 - 2:54 pm

Morgan Lovell,
    How you do know GLCs are transforming for the better? What evidence have you got? Do you know how much the government are providing grants and assistance, including loan guarantees to some of these GLCs. If you know nothing much, I think it is better for you to say less.

103. #103 by limkamput on Saturday, 9 February 2008 - 2:56 pm

Morgan Lovell,
    Yes, Malaysia is part of Global economy and people should accept a more market based and market driven economy. But are we having this? Almost every damn thing in this country is controlled and regulated from flour, rice, sugar, to cars, steel and cement. The more the government control, the more distorted the prices, the more corruption would take place and the more rent seeking activities would emerge. Have you ever wonder why the airport taxi fare from KLIA is so bloody expensive. Do you know who is having the monopoly of this service and in the process sucking both the taxi drivers and passengers dry?

104. #104 by limkamput on Saturday, 9 February 2008 - 2:58 pm

Morgan Lovell,
    Yes, I agree that oil revenue should be better used to build up income generating assets like what Tamasek is doing? But if you care to look at the government spending, you would know where the bulk of it goes? Yes, transfer to statutory bodies, government “god know” companies, building fountains, flower pots in the middle of roads, and other landscaping activities which has nothing much to do with building capacity and investment to ensure that future GDP of the country will grow faster. Since the government is wasting lots of money anyway, what is wrong we the people ask that part of oil revenue be used to subsidise the price of petrol. After all, please think about it, petrol subsidy is one of the few goodies that we the rakyat can get without having to suck up to somebody in the Government. If you want the government to withdraw subsidies, then let’s do it across the board including freeing the CPI and allow greater flexibility in wage determination.

No the opposition is not trying to create an utopian as alluded to by you. You got it all wrong. What the opposition want is this: they want the money from the national coffer spent more efficiently and effectively to build GDP generating infrastructure and the capacity to compete, not enriching a few through giving out contracts building good for nothing landscaping “pondok”, water feature, cement tables and chairs at the park which six months later the lalang and mosquitoes will be taking over.

105. #105 by limkamput on Saturday, 9 February 2008 - 3:00 pm

Morgan Lovell,
    To me Oboma’s task in the USA is much simpler and easier than the opposition in Malaysia. You got it all wrong again. If you want to talk about the challenges and the tasks confronting the oppositions in Malaysia, you have to compare them with Nelson Mandela of South Africa during apartheid or Martin Luther King in American in the 60s and 70s. Please look at everything in context and perspective.

I think i am tired already. I have not even talked about crime, but then what is there to talk when it is there for everyone to see, unless one is blind.

106. #106 by Morgan Lovell on Saturday, 9 February 2008 - 8:28 pm

Mr. limkamput,

1. Please check petrol price (Current) in Indonesia, Philippines, Thailand, China, India and not just Australia. Also, I’m unfortunate to not been able to travel to Australia like you do, so won’t know what’s going on there.

2. No, I’m not bragging about the number of countries that I’d travel as that was obviously not the point, if you had interpreted it from that direction, then I would like to appologize for misleading you to think so.

3. Regardless of Mahathir’s reputation, he seems to be the only PM that most foreigners remembered, coincident?

4. Regarding the starting pay of Australia, could you please minus income tax, state tax, community tax and their EPF similar fund deduction and let me know what is their NETT pay? What about the starting pay of a fresh grad in Thailand, Philippines, Indonesia, China and India? Are all those countries having a starting pay as High as Australia? Since McD is available in all those countries, do you know how much is a McD value meal cost you in all those countries?

5. Cars aren’t that expensive in Msia if you don’t aim on luxurious brand (of course, by promoting the 2 P, government had been supressing the people’s right for a better car all these years). One should buy car based on his own financial capacity. Why don’t you compare the Housing Price Index within the Capital vacinity of all those countries that you are familiar against Klang Valley area prices? Of course, in my original posting, I’d stated quite clearly that almost all foreigner commented that Msia cars are expensive, yet you are talking here as if I’m claiming otherwise, thus making me in a state of confusion.

6. As for GLC been more efficient, try using 1 of their services against other service provider of similar developing countries. You think they aren’t performing better? Check out their share price, P/L statement, P/E Ratio, EPS against Bursa latest update. You think you know the world of business well enough? Had you did any business in countries such as Indonesia, Thailand, Philippines, India, China and not just your precious Australia? Oh yes, then you would argue that we can’t compare ourself with countries such as India, Phillipines, Indonesia because we are ‘better’ than them. Is that really so?

7. Regardless of countries of having high Per Capita or low Per Capita, do you think that petrol price in each of these countries would be different if the government had not subsidize it? Do you think that the petrol price there could be constant throughout the year if the government had not make neccessary effort to control and subsidize it?

8. On the contrary to your statement and claim, I think that it’s the government’s controlled pricing mechanism that is actually reducing the cost of living in Malaysia. Did I hear someone saying about Steel, Sugar, floor, cement, etc? Also, how much is the current KLIA Taxi fare now? What about the fare price structure of local taxi rather than KLIA taxi?

9. I’d never illustrated Obama’s task was relatively easier or more difficult. My point is that until there is 2 similar powerful political force present like in Obama’s case, then we would have the political platform readily available for the people to make a ‘Change’.

10. I would really appreciate if you could be less personal in your arguement and act as if you know everything and that all other people out there are just simply dumb or plain idiot that can’t match your knowledge, experience, and expertise during an intellectual communication. At least that’s what your tone in all your message projects. Personally, I’d rejected 3 promotion opportunities to be based in developed countries and returning back to Malaysia to pay Msia taxes and contribute to my home country, what about you? Where are you currently residing?

107. #107 by BlackEye on Saturday, 9 February 2008 - 9:58 pm

“I would really appreciate if you could be less personal in your argument and act as if you know everything and that all other people out there are just simply dumb or plain idiot that can’t match your knowledge, experience, and expertise during an intellectual communication.” Morgan

Forget it! Many posters here have been trying to knock some sense into this braggart for centuries to no avail. “You ain’t seen anything yet” as they say.

But then perhaps after reading this statement he may take a step back and be all polite and soft in the knees etc but not for very long. He’ll shower some praises on some commentators just to show that he’s not what you say he is. But it’ll not last. He’ll launch into his usual tirade.

No one can hope to indulge in any intelligent discourse with this fella for long without him insulting you for your ‘low’ intelligence etc. He has done a lot of disservice to this blog.

108. #108 by limkamput on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 1:31 am

MORGON LOVELL
    Please be consistent here Morgan. I thought you so eloquently wanting to compare with the more developed countries like Holland, Germany, etc and suddenly you want me to look at Indonesia, Philippines, etc. As I said, I am not interested in comparing with different countries because you can always pick whatever that favour your arguments. I am interested in comparing vis-à-vis what the country is capable of doing.

Those examples I mentioned in my earlier response to you were just counter arguments to illustrate the point that if you want to compare Malaysia is better, I can also compare Malaysia is worse.

I mentioned car prices just to show that it is useless to compare because while some countries may be worse off in some aspects, the car prices alone would negate lots of advantages Malaysia has.

Yes I forgot to mention about taxes, but in my previous posting (not in this thread) I did mentioned that (this is just to show that I am honest with my argument). But then I can also say that citizens in some countries that pay higher taxes also get more services and benefits from the Government. Since you mentioned about rejecting three promotions to work in more advanced countries, let me just tell you that in the US, if you have school going children, they do provide free bus transportation, quality textbooks, and state of the art computer facilities in school. I am only referring to a state in American that I previously resided (where my children have gone to school there) so I may not be able to generalise to other states.

For someone to state that he has rejected to work in three developed countries does not sound very humble to me too. So don’t come to talk to me about humility. I may be an odd person here, but so far I have not boast as to what I do and where I have served before. Suffice for me to say that I am no less equal to you.

With regard to price control and regulation, what I was saying is perhaps the government has to ensure better competition instead of trying to intervene into the economy too much. If competition is sufficient robust, prices will generally take care of themselves. By saying that I am certainly aware that there are instances where government intervention is required due to “market failure”.

With regard to GLCs, it is a fact that the Government has been using tax payers’ money to heavily support some of these corporations. I would not say it in specific terms no matter how you challenge me and even if you called me bs. It is ok with me. You quoted better stock prices etc of GLCs. I can also say that the recent performance was also due to overall stock market performance. Compare with private companies, the prices of GLCs are nothing to shout about. May be I will just quote you the plantation sector. You may want to compare the price performance of IOI and KLK with SimeDarby (previously Kumpulan Guthrie, Golden Hope, etc).

If I am labelled personal in my argument, so be it. It is my style and I am not here to exchange pleasantries. Perhaps you should also read your earlier posting. The impression I got was whatever views presented here by others are outlandish and that you have best qualifications and experience to state your views. So the feeling is mutual.

May be I want to mention one more point. Each time when corruption and rent seeking issues are being highlighted, the reactionary forces are simply too big because the money and vested interest groups involved are overwhelming. They can have paid consultants just to take care of issues like this in any forum. I am speaking from experience but I am not implying that you are probably one of them.

Finally, just like the way you argued. I did not say that you are not contributing and paying taxes to this country. Please also consider that others may have also done the same.

You may want to put up a rejoinder but this is my final response to you. I see no further arguments will serve our purpose. I would prefer to let others read and form their own opinions. But if you have darkhorse, blackeye, Dracula, and colonel supporting you, it is also understandable to me and probably to many others as well. Please don’t come back to say that many are against me. They are actually one person in different handles. Besides, in any debate, let the truth prevails, it does not matter how many are against me.

109. #109 by DarkHorse on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 2:26 am

Don’t take it too hard, Morgan Lovell. You’re not the first he had addressed in this way. He literally ran out a Ph.D student studying at Cambridge University, deriding him for his views, even questioning the status of Cambridge University as deserving of being among the best in the world, and calling contributions made by our resident contributor, Jeffrey, as “hollowed sophistication”.

Seriously speaking, I think he has issues if you know what I mean.

110. #110 by DarkHorse on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 2:31 am

“Besides, in any debate, let the truth prevails, it does not matter how many are against me.” limkamput

The great limkamput has spoken!

And the truth is, of course, everybody else is “just simply dumb or plain idiot that can’t match your knowledge, experience, and expertise during an intellectual communication” to use Morgan Lovell’s words.

111. #111 by BlackEye on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 3:59 am

Helloooo! Limkamput, don’t hide behind mommy’s skirt. Don’t be shy now! C’mon boy!

112. #112 by Morgan Lovell on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 4:41 am

Just a few quick note:

1. I’d mentioned “UK, Holland, Germany, France, India, China, Indonesia, Philippines, Japan, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Bangladesh, Most of SEA Countries” as my base of information collection, since when did all those countries especially Bangladesh turned into ‘Developed’ country? Seems to me that Mr. Limkamput has a tendency to read between the lines or simply read what his mind wants him to see.

2. As for car, I still can’t understand how the cost of a car would overweight the cost of a house in one’s life, especially the part about the cost of a car would ‘negate’ lots of advantages. but since you won’t be replying anymore, I hope someone from this forum would be able to enlighten me.

3. I agree to your competition market theory, an example would be DIGI driving down the cost of Malaysian mobile phone bill. We certainly need more Telenor similar guys here to help us tear down the corporate dominance barrier.

4. Are you sure you are comparing ‘Sime Darby’? lol I thought it’s Synergy Drive that you are refering to? Nothing to say about MAS, TM, Tenaga?

5. Humility are used with courtesy against people with similar characteristic. People with attitude are best served with similar response. I’d already appologized to you if my ORIGINAL message had made you think that I was boasting/bragging about the oversea assignments, which is not my original intention, yet you still wish to quote and requote.

Btw, why are you avoiding the question on where are you residing now? I’m simply curious, for someone that has such ‘in-depth’ understanding of Malaysia ‘current’ event, I certainly hope that you aren’t sitting in the cozy beach of gold coast enjoying your sea breeze while commenting heaps of ‘current’ event with some ‘up-to-date’ information. For someone who can mistake Synergy Drive with Sime Darby, know how to comparing the price of a car but not the price of a house(perhaps someone never owned a house before), can’t provide the tax range of ‘one of the state in US’ in his arguments, it reallys doesn’t make much sense as the ‘great’ Mr. Limkamput.

Of course, I do acknowledge that I’m not the only one that is paying Malaysia taxes. The reason I’d raised the issue whereby I’d rejected 3 offers to be based in oversea was not to be arrogant or show off. Too many times I’d seen Malaysian with arrogant attitute that went to Australia/US for education for few years, then pretend as if they know everything inside out about their new land of opportunity and decided to shoot all kinds of comments from across the border stating how good is their new land, how bad is Malaysia, how this and how that without even sharing any of those pains that the general public in Malaysia are facing. I certainly hope you are not one of them as it would be pointless to have any intellectual exchange with such people as their ultimate goal is just to Show Off and seek attention rather than to contribute.

ps: I wasn’t aware that Malaysia is already having state-of-the-art professional forumer to reply and dress-up/cover-up corruption and rent-seeking issues, but since that you had already experienced it before, I take it that this type of consultancy job does exist in Malaysia. Hopefully it’s a lucrative business and some recruiter would eventually comes and recruit me, then I won’t need to work my ass off so hard anymore.. LOL

ps2: It’s Morgan, not MORGON.

ps3: I do agree with the great limkamput, Oxford grads aren’t really that great once you get to them more…

ps4: The more that one pretend to be an expert and talk about something that he/she are not familiar with or some ‘school bus textbook experience’ that aren’t their own, the more mistakes he/she will make and it’s best that such person rest their case as soon as possible before someone blow their cover.

113. #113 by Colonel on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 5:58 am

He told us he’s residing in Kg. Attap, Kuala Lumpur a red light district in case you do not know, for the disadvantaged, the marginalized and mentally challenged.

Obviously he has every reason to be jealous of you. I’d suggest you stop trying to communicate with him on an intellectual level.

114. #114 by Colonel on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 6:15 am

“Too many times I’d seen Malaysian with arrogant attitute that went to Australia/US for education for few years, then pretend as if they know everything inside out about their new land of opportunity and decided to shoot all kinds of comments from across the border stating how good is their new land, how bad is Malaysia, how this and how that without even sharing any of those pains that the general public in Malaysia are facing. I certainly hope you are not one of them as it would be pointless to have any intellectual exchange with such people as their ultimate goal is just to Show Off and seek attention rather than to contribute.” Morgan Lovell

You said it all. Except that he has not gone anywhere.

He took down a commentator blogging from the U.S. who despite spending many years away from the country he grew up in, and is now U.S. permanent resident but who looks upon Malaysia as a good place to live in and loves his country.

115. #115 by Colonel on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 6:21 am

….and for your information this guy hides behind a misleading handle. He is not what he appears to be.

116. #116 by kanthanboy on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 9:43 am

“…If Malaysia is really that bad, I certainly don’t think that we will still received so many ‘compliments’ from people around the world…” Morgan Lovell
    ——————————————
    First of all, the top 10 common comments that you have gathered during your oversea assignments are not ‘compliments’. How can you consider comments such as: Truly Asian, a lot of natural place to visit; a lot of greenery; no tsunami, no earth quake, no volcano; taxi or rent a car is the best mode of transport; heaven for DVD and car is really expensive as compliments? These are common information you will normally find on a tourist leaflet.

Dear Morgan Lovell,

If a foreigner asked you the following questions about Malaysia, what would your answers be?
    1. Is corruption a serious problem in Malaysia?
    2. Do all citizens have equal opportunity for university education?
    3. Do all citizens have equal opportunity for employment in public services?
    4. Houses are relatively cheap but do all Malaysians pay the same price for houses?
    5. Does your country have an independent judicial system?
    6. Do the mainstream media report fairly without fear or favor?
    7. Does your government practice racism in implementing policies?
    8. Do you have freedom of worship and every religion is free to build places of worship, print and distribute religious materials?
    9. Does your government treat every community equally in development of public funded projects?
    10. Does Malaysia have a fair and transparent election commission to oversee general election?
    11. Do you have a professional and independent police force?
    12. Do you have an honest government?
    I hope you will answer these questions from the bottom of your heart.

117. #117 by limkamput on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 11:48 am

Thank you, kanthanboy.

118. #118 by limkamput on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 11:56 am

It was sime darby, then advanced synergy, and now is sime darby again. I respond to this one because it is a factual stuff so that when you tell foreigners how great Malaysian is please tell them the correct name otherwise they may invest wrongly into a counter like transmile or megan media. That is all. The rest are perceptions and opinions and I think no amount of arguments can resolve them. Let others readers judge.

119. #119 by limkamput on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 12:36 pm

Don’t act smart with me, Morgan. Yes, the price of decent houses in Malaysia is exorbitant when viewed vis-à-vis per capita income of Malaysians. That is why we have housing loan repayment that is 25 years or more or even extended to two generations. In fact, the moment we have all these, it indicates either that the price of house is too high or the income is too low. I am sorry I am not supposed to argue further, but I cannot ”tahan” the ignorance and the self indulged importance of some individuals here who probably earn a 100k a year, own a house in the suburb and think they have the world under their feet. I need not tell you where i reside because it is none of your business and it has nothing to do with what we are discussing here. But if think i am lying about my US experience, then I too can say that you are bs-ing. Don’t keep pushing for the marginal tax rates in other countries, ok. As i said, it is pointless to compare, they have unemployment benefits, does Malaysia have?

120. #120 by limkamput on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 12:43 pm

…and for you Colonel, please just keep ensuring that your old mini and two flat tyres are still under the skirt. That is sufficient for you now.

121. #121 by Morgan Lovell on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 1:17 pm

Did some quick research and yea, you are right, it was Sime Darby again now, but it was not ‘Advanced Synergy’ but Synergy Drive. Looks like I’d gotta update my Bursa Knowledge more regularly. Advance Synergy was another company that was long been establish since before 2000 and is still an active counter.

Type : Announcement
    Subject : SIME DARBY BERHAD

LISTING OF SIME DARBY BERHAD (COMPANY NO: 752404-U) (FORMERLY KNOWN AS SYNERGY DRIVE BHD) ON THE MAIN BOARD OF BURSA MALAYSIA SECURITIES BERHAD (“BURSA SECURITIES”)

Dear Kanthanboy,

Noticed the word ‘compliments’ was in quote? please do find me a tourist leaflet that imprint all those information that you had quoted as I would very much like to own 1 of those as a collectible items.

1. Had you been to a country where you have to pay ‘tax’ upon entry of the immigration? Absolute Power creates absolute corruption, thus come back to my original point of 2 similar powerful political body competing with each other, then you would have the options for ‘Change’ or at least having a independent Anti Corruption Agency like ICAC, which is of course sadly might not be the case now.

2. Don’t need to rub salt on people’s wound as I was also 1 of those people who were denied access. However, by quoting Local University, do you include Uniten, Multimedia U, various local colleges which had or will be granted University status etc? At least the PTPTN was opened to public and all of my friends regardless of race or religion during my time got their PTPTN loans approved. So theorically you were been given equal opportunity, just that some opportunity cost more while some opportunity cost less.

3. Please define your ‘equal opportunity’ as I’m not sure whether you are refering to specific top positions or just merely entry to the public service. Are you a civil service workforce yourself? What about doctors and teachers, are doctors and teachers classified under public service sector?

4. Nope, but what does foreigner cares? So long as it’s still much cheaper than their own country.

5. Which court case had you lost before due to non-independent judical system? When you choose to migrate to another country later, would this be your key consideration?

6. I think you are only refering to “Mainstream Media” in Malaysia. Were you been denied access to ‘alternative’ media that you deem is ‘reporting without fear or favor’ such as CNN, BBC or simply an e-paper across the strait in Singapore reporting on Malaysia current events?

7. Which policies that you deem is ‘racism’?

8. Do you go to Church or Temple? Were you denied access to any of those place of worship?

9. So you are saying that only a certain group of ethic took LRT, KTM, takes up jobs in Cyberjaya?

10. Again, why does foreigner cares? Are you implying that foreigners should be given ‘fair and equal’ voting rights as well?

11.Similar response to my 1st answer.

12.’honest’ is subjective, government is a relative big body, which issue are you targeting?

‘Equal’, ‘Fairness’ are both subjective, there is no way to provide Absolute Equal to everyone. The world doesn’t just constitute Malaysia only. Can Malaysia request for ‘absolute equal’ treatment by other countries and ask them to provide ‘equal opportunity’ , ie for every 100 tonnes of electronic components that China Export to US, Malaysia should be given an quota of 50 tonnes?

There will always be a certain rule of game impose to us regardless of which country we are residing, it is how well we know those rules and play the game that matters. Ultimately, only the fittest survive. You only live your life once, you can choose to hide behind your computer keyboard and whine about all the unfair and unjustice, or you can go out there and make a different to your own life, The choice is entirely yours.

122. #122 by Morgan Lovell on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 1:31 pm

You arguement sound like a boy losing a game when you said “But if think i am lying about my US experience, then I too can say that you are bs-ing.”.

Talking about house price vs per-capita income. What is an average 100 Square metre apartment cost in Shanghai, Beijing or even Shenzhen? What about Jakarta, Bangkok or even Manila? Any of those country Per-capita income is HIGHER than Malaysia?

As for where you are residing, I’d already stated the reason why I think it matters, you can choose to ignore it as usual.

123. #123 by limkamput on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 2:02 pm

Mr. Morgan, Yes I meant SYNERGY DRIVE not advanced synergy, sorry. But I think you know i meant synergy drive. Sometimes we typed or talked differently from what was in our mind. There is no need for you to tell me advanced synergy is a listed company when i can tell you that Synergy drive is now Simedarby.

I responded the way i did because you doubted me first.

I have already told you it is very difficult to compare across countries because it will never end. I have counter arguments to your mentioning of Shanghai, Jakarta and Bangkok. But i think it is pointless to prolong because we basically come from very different political beliefs and value systems.

I shall stop here now. Despite the “heated argument”, i find you challenging. For once we see some discussion on policies and economy which are so different from familiar laws and constitution.

124. #124 by BlackEye on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 4:10 pm

Not to worry. A few knocks he’d simmer down. But never for long until the next Morgan Lovell comes around.

125. #125 by kanthanboy on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 5:12 pm

Hello Morgan Lovell,

The reason I posted the 12 questions to you was in response to the comment that you made:
    “…If Malaysia is really that bad, I certainly don’t think that we will still received so many ‘compliments’ from people around the world…” Morgan Lovell

I am disappointed that you choose to either avoid the questions or answer them with a question of yours. Anyway, I shall response to your answers one by one.

Question: Is corruption a serious problem in Malaysia?

Morgan Lovell’s answer: [Had you been to a country where you have to pay ‘tax’ upon entry of the immigration? Absolute Power creates absolute corruption, thus come back to my original point of 2 similar powerful political body competing with each other, then you would have the options for ‘Change’ or at least having a independent Anti Corruption Agency like ICAC, which is of course sadly might not be the case now.]

Response: The question is very direct and simple. So don’t tell me a story to divert the question. Is corruption a serious problem in Malaysia? Yes or No?
    Question: Do all citizens have equal opportunity for university education?
    Morgan Lovell’s answer: [So theorically you were been given equal opportunity, just that some opportunity cost more while some opportunity cost less.]
    Response: How can it be equal even theoretically as you said when some opportunity cost more while some opportunity cost less? Equal means comparing half pound with 8 ounces. Is it what your mean by theoretically equal by excluding from the equation local universities such as University Malaya, University Sain, University Pertanian, University Technology and other local universities and colleges that are funded by Malaysian tax payers?

Question: Do all citizens have equal opportunity for employment in public services?

Morgan Lovell’s answer: [Please define your ‘equal opportunity’ as I’m not sure whether you are refering to specific top positions or just merely entry to the public service. Are you a civil service workforce yourself? What about doctors and teachers, are doctors and teachers classified under public service sector?]

Response: Again you try to avoid the question by asking for the definition of equal opportunity. To make it simple for you, equal opportunity in this context means there is should be no discrimination based on race. I’m referring to all levels of the government services; it includes all types of jobs in the government service.

Question: Houses are relatively cheap but do all Malaysians pay the same price for houses?

Morgan Lovell’s answer: [Nope, but what does foreigner cares? So long as it’s still much cheaper than their own country.]

Response: Foreigners don’t care because they don’t need to buy houses in Malaysia. Do you care? I can say all right thinking Malaysians care. It is a matter of fairness and simple economic theory. When Bumiputra billionaires receive 15% discount for new houses do you know who pay for the 15%? The developers will just pass the costs to the non Bumiputra buyers.

Question: Does your country have an independent judicial system?

Morgan Lovell’s answer: [Which court case had you lost before due to non-independent judicial system? When you choose to migrate to another country later, would this be your key consideration.]

Response: A good example is the case of former DAP MP for Bukit Bintang who was disqualified as an elected MP. The judge declared the losing BN candidate become the MP automatically without a by election. This case was implicated in the Lingam Tape of judge fixing and case fixing.

Question: Do the mainstream media report fairly without fear or favor?

Morgan Lovell’s answer: [I think you are only refering to “Mainstream Media” in Malaysia. Were you been denied access to ‘alternative’ media that you deem is ‘reporting without fear or favor’ such as CNN, BBC or simply an e-paper across the strait in Singapore reporting on Malaysia current events.]

Response: Don’t try to avoid the question. CNN, BBC and e-paper are Not the mainstream media of Malaysia. I really don’t believe you are not aware of TV3, RTM, New Straits Time, The Star, The Sun, Nan Yang Siang Pau, Sin Chew, Utusan Malayu, Berita Harian. Do I have to go on?

Question: Does your government practice racism in implementing policies?

Morgan Lovell’s answer: [Which policies that you deem is ‘racism’?]

Response:
    * The NEP (New Economic Policy) is racist.
    * Policy that all Bumiputra are entitled to15% discount for new houses regardless of their income is racist.
    * Policy that non Bumiputra students are not entitled to loan school book if their parent’s income is over RM$1000 whereas all Bumiputra students are entitled to loan school books even if their parents are billionaires. It is racist.

Question: Do you have freedom of worship and every religion is free to build places of worship, print and distribute religious materials?

Morgan Lovell’s answer: [Do you go to Church or Temple? Were you denied access to any of those place of worship?]

Response: I have been to churches located on the second floor of some shops because Malaysia government has stopped giving approval for new church buildings.

Question: Does your government treat every community equally in development of public funded projects?

Morgan Lovell’s answer: [So you are saying that only a certain group of ethic took LRT, KTM, takes up jobs in Cyberjaya?]

Response: Don’t try to change the subject. For example, over 95% of the MOE’s budget for school buildings are given to National (Malay) schools. Chinese and Tamil schools received less than 5% of the budget.

Question: Does Malaysia have a fair and transparent election commission to oversee general election?

Morgan Lovell’s answer: [Again, why does foreigner cares? Are you implying that foreigners should be given ‘fair and equal’ voting rights as well?]

Response: It is not a question whether foreigners care or not. Do you care? I can say all right thinking Malaysians care. What do you think of the 50,000 Malaysians of all races that marched to the King’s place to petition for fair election for?

Question: Do you have a professional and independent police force?

Morgan Lovell’s answer: [Similar response to my 1st answer.]

Response: It is not a question whether foreigners care or not. Do you care? I can say all right thinking Malaysians care. If a former deputy prime minister can be assaulted blindfolded in a police lockup by none other than the former IGP himself. It doesn’t bother you at all? If this can happen to a former deputy prime minister, no one is safe from the brutality of the Malaysian Police!

Question: Do you have an honest government?

Morgan Lovell’s answer: [’honest’ is subjective, government is a relative big body, which issue are you targeting?]

Response: Don’t try to avoid the question. This government has broken its written promised that the NEP is only for 20 years. This government has promised in Parliament to eradicate poverty irrespective of race but in practice it gives 15% discount to Bumiputra billionaires for new houses This government was lying when it said Bumiputra has less than 30% ownership of the economy

Back to you Morgan Lovell.

126. #126 by Loh on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 5:58 pm

Malaysia is a great place for tourists, if they are lucky not to be robbed or even killed.

Malaysia would have been said to be successful if the country had not the blessed natural resources. It has even wasted on its human resources through brain drain for obvious reasons, and for those human resources that could be put to good use, the people in power preferred to pamper them and make them uncompetitive.

Malaysia could be proud of the high percentage of its population owning and driving cars, but it is the worst among ASEAN countries in terms of personal safety.

As Malaysian nationals we want our country to be developed social and economically, we wish to be free from fear of personal safety and security. We want to be able to remain in the country to earn a decent living, and be treated as equal Malaysians without discrimination based on race and religion. Unfortunately, after 50 years of independence, that idea of Malaysian Malaysia has yet not been achieved.

It is obvious that because of the unfair treatment of Malaysians by the government based on race, the country has stagnated. That has been discussed in considerable depth in this blog. Readers might be persuaded to believe that statements in praise of the country in whatever form serve to mitigate on behalf of the governement, and considered it important to emphasize the ills in the country. And becsuese the country is so polarized, and the faults of the government are beyond dispute, the heated debate was the more intense.

Kanthanboy asked interesting questions.

127. #127 by limkamput on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 6:39 pm

kanthanboy, I salute you. I login just now and was hoping that you will come in to reply.

128. #128 by Morgan Lovell on Sunday, 10 February 2008 - 8:48 pm

Dear kanthanboy,

You had asked some open ended questions, yet you expect to receive closed ended responses? It’s not like you are asking questions such as ‘Is your name Lim Ah Kao?’ and the process of clarification is to ask further questions to find out the true meaning behind those questions that had been posted, yet you labelled the process of clarification itself as ‘avoiding question’.

Secondly, let’s clarify your objective of asking those 12 questions. You asked:
    ” If a foreigner asked you the following questions about Malaysia, what would your answers be?”

I’m answering it on the assumption that the foreigner that you had mentioned would like to know more about Malaysia for certain purpose such as relocations, 2nd Home policy, buying properties, investing in Malaysia, etc. However, you are judging my response purely from a deeply suppressed Malaysian point of view.

Question 1: Read my answer again without prejudices and you shall have your answer.

Question 2: By reading your response, you are implying that an opportunity that cost more is not equal to an opportunity that cost less, is that understanding correct? In that case, all fresh graduates from any university should have same pay regardless of which company that they had joined, as all the companies in Malaysia are govern by labour law of Malaysia and all University in Malaysia are ‘equal’ in standard?

Question 3: That’s why I asked the question of whether you are a civil servant yourself. If everyone is questioning the same question as you are asking without joining the public service workforce themself, how can a certain group of ethic improve their status in the public service workforce? The reason I’d also asked you about doctors and teachers is that these 2 public service sectors are relatively populated with a well diversified different ethic groups and are all Head of dept been restricted to a certain group of ethics only?

Question 4: On the contradictory to your belief, foreigners are picking up local assets especially in Klang Valley areas like hot cakes as an investment instrument simply because the housing prices to them are relatively cheap. As your original question to me was that ‘When a foreigner asked me this question’, that’s why I’d answered why do they bothered? 10 out of 10 foreigners that asked me a question regarding house price in Malaysia never asked this question that you had posted. All they had asked was, ‘How Much for a house this big at this location’.

Question 5: I’m sorry for your losses if you are the DAP MP involved or the voters in BB area. Again, back to the original concept of your question, “When a foreigner asked me this question”, that’s why I’m asking you back a question, would this be a key element in your consideration should you decide to migrate to or invest in another country?

Question 6: Please read my answer again. Your so called “Mainstream Media” are only limited to Malaysia, and I’m well aware of what you are refering to as Malaysia “Mainstream Media”. Why would you want to constraint yourself in “Mainstream Media” within Malaysia as your ONLY source of information/news when other globally recognized Mainstream Media are available as an alternative to you? Do you watch your latest football match ‘Live!’ on “Mainstream Media” in Malaysia? My answer to the question is that there are other source of news/information available to you without restriction unlike certain country (such as during the military coup in thailand). When something was blackout in your ‘local Mainstream Media’ such as certain Bersih/Hindraf news, does that means you are unable to obtain those news from alternative source? I’m not trying to avoid the question here, just merely suggesting that “Local Mainstream Media” aren’t the only source of information, so you can spin, control the local Mainstream Media however you like, but I’ll refer to my ‘prefered’ channel of news for reliable news update.

Question 7: As I’d mentioned earlier, there will always be a certain rule of game impose to us regardless of which country we are residing, it is how well we know those rules and play the game that matters. Ultimately, only the fittest survive. Again, I’m not going to touch on why foreigner won’t bother about this as their children will all go to International school. Since you think NEP is unfair/unjust, how did NEP got implemented in the first place and what had you done to mitigate this rule of game that you dislike?

Question 8: You had asked for “freedom of worship and every religion is free to build places of worship” and you had just answered the question yourself.

Question 9: I’m not changing the subject, you had asked “treat every community equally in development of public funded projects?” without refering to any specific projects. Thus, I’m asking back if Cyberjaya development and promotion, LRT/KTM developement are not public funded projects? IF you want to talk specifically about a particular issue, you should raise that issue directly instead of expecting everyone else to be able to guess “oh, Mr. kanthanboy is refering to the MOE budget for school building when he raised this question’. Anyway, to answer your question, it’s a simple maths game, how many NEW non-National school had been build every year? the more Non-National school that are build and granted full sponsored status, the more budget will be allocated. :)

Question 10: Again, back to the original “When a foreigner asked me this question”, thus my response, why would foreigner care about this question? If you had asked me the question as a Malaysian, whether I care or not, I can tell you that during Bersih and Hindraf case, I rushed back to my hotel in Bangladesh during a pre-Cyclone period just to obtain latest update from Al-Jazeera channel and Jeff-ooi website.

Question 11: Refer to answer to Question 10.

Question 12: Your question is equivalent to “Is everyone with the Surname Lee an Honest person” and yet you expect a close ended answer. Again IF you want to talk specifically about a particular issue, you should raise that issue directly instead of leaving other people guessing and then label them as ‘avoiding the question’ when they can’t guess what’s in your mind. When you propose to your gf, do you ask “Does all marriages life ended happily” and expect your gf to answer “Yes” to marry you or “No” to reject you?

For the NEP termination, I’m not very good in History but is the NEP termination clause only limited to 20 years or there are other clauses such as bumi controlled share should be equivalent to a certain value?

I think that you are refering to Millionaires instead of Billionaires as the number of official Bumi Billionaires are numbered. So since you think that the government is lying, can you proof it out with statistic? Again, there will always be a certain rule of game impose to us regardless of which country we are residing, it is how well we know those rules and play the game that matters. what had you done to mitigate this game of statistic that you dislike?

Finally, just a summary and conclusion, most of your expected answer comes from a perspective of someone who is deeply concerned and affected by the various policies or shall I say rule of game within Malaysia, so by asking ” If a foreigner asked you the following questions about Malaysia, what would your answers be?” of course you won’t be getting the answers that you are expecting.

I don’t think you need to be emotional in this exchange of ideas and constantly exclaiming ‘Don’t avoid my question!’. Less hostility and demand would ensure the channel of intellectual exchange are been kept opened.

129. #129 by BlackEye on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 12:28 am

“I don’t think you need to be emotional in this exchange of ideas and constantly exclaiming ‘Don’t avoid my question!’. Less hostility and demand would ensure the channel of intellectual exchange are been kept opened.” Morgan Lovell

Commentators here know for some time now that no one can or should hope to have an “intellectual” exchange with this limkamput retiree who has a “kampong attap education” to use his own words. When he reads this he’d show he is not what many others think he is, praising you even – but it would not last. Why?? He keeps tripping over his artificially self-inflated ego, if you know what I mean. Don’t take my word for it. Just browse through the threads and you’ll know what I mean. Many of his comments got deleted and he was warned by YB Kit and the Administrator and had to withdraw at one time. Now he’s back annoying and irritating commentators (interspersed with praises occasionally for obvious reasons) with his personal and hostile remarks – if you so much as disagree with him. Correct that. You don’t have to disagree with him, just expressing your views would be sufficient. He’d take the opposite view which often is not his own but just to show he is ‘smarter’ than you, ‘knows more’, ‘traveled more’, ‘been there done that’ – if you know what I mean.

You put your finger on the button earlier when you refer to him as “a boy losing a game having a hunger for attention”. We have a name for that – ADS or Attention Deficit Syndrome. Which he didn’t know what that stood for because he asked what it meant.

If you’re looking for a good exchange of ideas try it out with commentators like Oknyua, HB Lim, Jeffrey, Godfather and Undergrad2 to name a few.

On the other hand, you could continue with this “intellectual” exchange with him because now he’d show you more respect and even praise you for your views – but only to prove his critics wrong.

130. #130 by BlackEye on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 12:32 am

Ooops, the head note is wrong.

It should read “I would really appreciate if you could be less personal in your argument and act as if you know everything and that all other people out there are just simply dumb or plain idiot that can’t match your knowledge, experience…” Morgan Lovell

131. #131 by kanthanboy on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 7:53 am

Thank you Morgan Lovell for the exchange. I agree with Loh that because the country is so polarized, and the faults of the government are beyond dispute, the heated debate was the more intense. I can shake hands with you.

132. #132 by limkamput on Monday, 11 February 2008 - 9:49 pm

Ooops, the head note is wrong. Blackeye

See, you can’t even get one thing right!

Anway, BlackEye, Nobody cares and nobody reads your hallucination/delusion/insinuation. Even if they read, I think many don’t understand your incoherent and rotten English. Please face reality. You are incompetent and useless just like BN. .

133. #133 by DarkHorse on Tuesday, 12 February 2008 - 2:24 am

Someone got snubbed by kathanboy!

134. #134 by lovemalaysia on Tuesday, 4 March 2008 - 1:17 am

vote all out to DAP, we will not be misleading again after 50 yrs dreaming, wake up! I was a fresh graduate during the last election, believing fairness and this society is kind, but everything is changed, you knw, rasuah frm many municipal officers & some govt bodies, u never believe if you are not being “involved unwillingly”. For election, BN is always using those tactics, newspaper, tv, radio advertising, u knw, the cost is frm Rakyat who are paying taxes, if u r doing good all the while, u no need to waste Rakyat’s money to advertise…UMNO members with racist speeches in yr 2006, we all remember! PM, pls dont say that the few members do not represent the whole UMNO or GOVT, your son-in law was one of it, who said Malay is being marginalise in penang? which ppl can get 30% share in the non-bumi company by compulsory? which ppl get disc in buying houses even with Million dolar cost? which contractors can only get govt projects? who get the most place in Govt Uni for study? who get the highest position in Public Uni? and which race can become PM, while some races will never have a chance? i m not racist, and in fact i m highly educated person, the races issues only created by certain parties in Malaysia, without these party, Malaysia will not have so much races differentiation, and the ‘Hasutan” is frm certain political parties! The majority of Malaysian loves each other without seeing frm the perspective of races,religion. We need a party to represent all, not like the current status, some party for Malay, Chinese Indian, in fact, we all Malaysian! Why MCA need to fight hard for Chinese schools, and if get one or two established, put on newspaper with wide coverage? i thought this is the basic for Malaysian? why some ppl no need to “fight” and will get everything? why Indians’ temple being dismantle and MIC could not do anything before the Eve of Deepavali 2007? There are many Malaysian has not been given a chance to speak out the worries, concerns, complaints. I had made the some questions in Warkah Utk PM, which is newly launched for 2008 election, no reply since yesterday, i am waiting for the answers…i did remember also sent some msg to PM when BN won the majority in yr 2004, no reply at all! They were saying that PM wants to knw truth of words frm everyone! Now this warkah thingy….no hope! It just as “gimmick” to pleased voters. BN candidates, showing on the newspaper, jotting down many “issues” frm the voters, its only can be seen during election campaigning period, after & before this? where are u? Frm youtube, u can see some Parlimen clips is published. And dont forget, many BN ppl will say: “Sounds like me, and looks like me” if being suspect on certain issues. Pity on the opposition parties being working so hard, to attend Parlimen almost all the time, not like many BN candidates that rare to attend parlimen meeting, being little voice to fight BN, i was shedding my tears looking at many oppostion reps, being very few person and being bullied, but u all are strong! Who said “Malaysia is an Islamic State, kalau u tak suka, u keluar dari Malaysia”? Look at YB Kit, sacrifice almost whole life for Rakyat, they never have chance to get Datukship, never being enough fund to run campaign, but he is till doing campaining around the Malaysia, he is not young anymore, but he is still fighthing for all, my tribute to u! DAP, your die hard fans will all support u! do not give up and disappointed in the Parlimen! We hope many hearted voters will help by sending more reps to back-up u all!