PM should overrule Johari and rescind Internal Security Ministry order to HERALD

The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi should overrule Internal Security Deputy Minister, Datuk Johari Baharum and rescind the Internal Security Ministry order to Herald, the Catholic weekly to discontinue the Bahasa Malaysia section, so that Christmas Day this year will not be celebrated under a cloud of burgeoning religious intolerance and constitutional encroachments.

Johari has admitted that he had made the decision that the word ‘Allah’ can only be used in the context of Islam and not any other religion, and to impose the new condition on this restriction on the Herald when the annual publishing permit of the Catholic weekly is next renewed.

Although Johari said that his decision was based on a report submitted by the publications department of his ministry, it is an indictment of the arbitrary nature of the decision-making process and even misgovernance that there had been no consultation whatsoever with the religious organizations which will be affected by the decision.

Even more arbitrary and deplorable was the ministry’s decision to abolish the Herald’s Bahasa Malaysia section, which is not only unconstitutional but shows that the government itself does not give pride of place to Bahasa Malaysia.

As the word “Allah” has been used to refer to God among Christians for generations in many countries and is never meant to offend or confuse the Muslims, Abdullah should intervene to rescind such retrogressive measure by the Internal Security Ministry or it will be another signal that Malaysia is down the slippery slope of more religious restrictions for non-Muslim faiths, whose constitutionally-entrenched guarantees of freedom of religion are not being honoured by the government.

The year 2007 is already the worst year for religious polarisation in the 50 year history of the nation and the country cannot afford another lurch towards religious intolerance and constitutional encroachment of the fundamental rights of Malaysians in the last fortnight of the year.

1. #1 by Bigjoe on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 9:40 am

This is what happens when you have political hacks making decision on what are complex matters that others know more about. They don’t care what the truth is although they are entrusted and responsible for it. What matters is their politics and interest. Its people like Johari that convinces others that Islamization is bad rather than the issue that secularity that can encompass all religious needs should be held up.

Rather than debate the issue, they use a hammer and frankly why should people NOT be prejudicial if people like him are prejudicial!!

2. #2 by Yong Chee keong on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 10:11 am

According to reliable sources, the letter to the Church authorities state that this was a decision by the Minister (not the Deputy Minister). If this is the case, then there has been an abuse of the name of the Minister. Until now only the deputy Minister has been making all the statments and not a word from the Mnister himself.

3. #3 by Jimm on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 10:13 am

This is what I like about UMNO whenever the next GE is just around the corner.
    They will create enoug issue with other races just to show their own that they are the rightful owner of this land.
    And the best part of these acts, those Malays will fall for their cheap stunts over and over again.
    Who is cheating who here ????

4. #4 by Libra2 on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 10:29 am

All decisions like this are made in the name of the Minister even though it originated from a little napolean.
    But it is also possible he signed the letter without reading it.
    This sleep head, who is also Imam of Islam Hadhari, is capable of anything since he cannot think straight and has no intelligence nor wisdom.

5. #5 by Tickler on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 10:35 am

excerpts from :
    Johore state anthem : “Allah peliharakan Sultan..”
    Selangor state anthem : “Allah lanjutkan usia Tuanku..”

and I can go on pasting lyrics from anthems of the remainder states with Sultans.

I am sure the Sultans of all states would not discriminate amongst their subjects, and would like ALL subjects to be sing to their respective state anthems with pride and love. Hmmm.. now perhaps, they can’t and shouldn’t, especially if they are Catholics.

http://hesitantwritings.blogspot.com/2007/12/watch-those-state-anthems.html

6. #6 by cheng on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 10:43 am

Who are the target readers in Bahasa Malaysia ? If it is meant for Kadazan, Dusun, Murut, Iban, Bidayuh, Negrito, etc… why don’t we print that in those languages ? Not sure whehter this is possible. If it is, it would be good because those target readers can even understand better. Just leave out Bahasa Malaysia, just ignore it. By doing so, when those idiots don’t see a fight, they will be restless, and they will fight for Bahasa Malaysia to be included !!! Mendaulatkan bahasa kebangsaan again…

7. #7 by k1980 on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 10:46 am

Even if the BN loses in the GE, it would also refuse to give up power, just like Abhisit Vejjajiva’s Democrat Party
    http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/afp_asiapacific/view/318867/1/.html

8. #8 by Leo on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 10:50 am

I think the UMNO lead government is getting more bold. It seems that its true that they do not need other races votes. This is proven by their every action. Even the Keris man dare to lash out at Gerakan.

However, I think nothing much will change.. the non-bumis will always be non-bumis as most are blinded and vote for BN. Which gives them the authority to do anything and everything as they pleased.

DAP had improved a lot in recent months to reach out to the people and show that they are capable in forming a government (state). However, more have to be done. The party members should be more proactive and reach out. Newsletters should be printed and issued out.

Anyhow, in this christmas season let us all pray..Christians, catholics, buddist or hindus that together in solidarity we can fight this religious intolerance and constitutional encroachments in Malaysia.

9. #9 by DiaperHead on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 11:07 am

It is time I quit the role playing.

To YB Kit

I am of a race legally deemed by our Constitution a Muslim but I am a practicing Christian. The link I provided earlier speaks volumes for me http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wa9JAL-IH8k&NR=1

I’ve been living in exile for more than a decade. I left family and friends behind so I could stop living a lie. The sacrifice was necessary as I could no longer pretend to be what I am not. I’m not a Muslim. I never went to a mosque in my entire life.

I’m now resigned to a life in exile and have over the years accepted the fact that I may never set foot in the country of my birth ever again. There are many like me. Once I made contact with Karpal Singh but I guess he was too busy to help.

I wish you would fight for the freedom of those deemed by law to be Muslims, who would want to exercise the freedom to choose their faith and not limit your efforts to Indians and Chinese who are looking for ways to convert out of Islam. I understand the dangers to yourself and your career as a politician, that you are a pragmatist when it comes to issues like this.

In my case I’m no longer a Malaysian national and you wouldn’t be helping a Malaysian breach Article 11 of the Constitution. But what of the many thousands who are living in the shadows?

10. #10 by Cinapek on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 11:13 am

I am neither a Christian nor a Muslim and do not profess to know much about either religion. But am I not right to say that both religions teaches that there is only ONE God?

In my simple layman thinking, if there is only one God, then all of us is refering to HIM only when we are talkng of God and it matters not what terminology we use. And if HE is god to all of us, then why are we squabbling about how we should we address HIM?

And I am sure that whether it is Islam or Christianity, both religions teaches that God is benevolent and loves his children equally. So I am sure HE does not mind if HIS children from one religion or language “borrows” a term to address HIM from another religion or language. It all means the same.

So why is the human being so selfish that they would want to monopolise a man-made term to address HIM all to themselves?

11. #11 by Aramaitii on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 11:34 am

Typical UMNO, do all this before election to show they are the real defenders of the Malays…

12. #12 by Tickler on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 11:35 am

NGOs have also stopped cooperating with the UMNO run Bilik Gerakan after a very sad and disgusting incident. Staffers from different NGOs had accompanied some of the food and other flood aid from the Bilik Gerakan to some villages. At one particular badly hit area, people of all races, i.e. Chinese, Indians and Malays, lined up to get the food. However, the UMNO ‘volunteers’ informed the people very crudely that the food and other flood aid was only for the Malays. The Indians and Chinese did not get any. The staffers from the NGOs which included Indians, Chinese and Malays were shocked and left in disgust.
    [ ]
    In another area, about 250 Orang Asli were promised 50kg bags of rice. This was clearly a false promise because most of the rice was delivered in 5kg or 10kg bags. The rice destined for the 250 Orang Asli was despatched by the Bilik Gerakan but it never reached the Orang Asli. When the UMNO ADUN from the area visited the Orang Asli the next day and inquired if they had all ‘sudah makan’, they jeered him and said ‘awak semua penipu’. Again the rice had been hijacked by the UMNO ‘volunteers’ and siphoned off elsewhere.
    [ ]
    Because of the dishonesty and outright stealing by the UMNO ‘volunteers’, flood victims are very angry and tensions have been high in the affected areas. The mainstream media have not reported that when Fu Ah Kiow, Deputy Internal Security Minister and MP for Kuantan, visited the affected areas, the flood victims screamed and threw stones at him. The Deputy Minister had to leave the scene in a hurry.

http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=272&Itemid=36

13. #13 by optimuz on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 11:36 am

Cinapek…if only it were that simple!

Anyway, this govt is the only one who is confused with the word ‘Allah’. Perhaps I should say insecure.

What is with the pre-dominant race of this country and their insecurities of their religion??

Do you really need a fatwa for every little thing?? Is there no personal conviction or confidence in their faith that they have to rule with an iron clad fist??

But this is classic UMNO. Play the race/religion card..appeal to the malays, win the election through fear and threats…

My dear malay brothers, I trust there are many out there who are yet wiser…please, do not be fooled.

14. #14 by sheriff singh on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 11:42 am

Aaaaaaah!!! After the Hindus its now the turn of the Christians.

With a circulation of only about 12,000 mainly among Christians, what are the others afraid of? Is it a national security issue? Are there “terrorists”?

Even in the mid-east, non Muslims use words like Allah, salaam, asalam aleikum etc etc without any problems. Here in Bolehland, even with “civilisational and progressive Islam”, we have problems everywhere, we are less tolerant than in the mid-East.

Heck, we have little Napoleons everywhere, maybe some sleepy big Napoleons too.

I am told that a possible confrontation might emerge as the Christians are determined to continue publishing with or without a permit. I hope a solution can be found quickly.

It is also unfortunate that this ban comes right at Christmas. Is this coincidental maybe or a slap in the face?

It is noted that the founder of “Islam Hadhari” won’t be around to participate in the big Christmas “Open House” in KK next week. He’s preparing for his “holiday” to you know where, floods nothwithstanding. Najib (gasps!!!) will be in charge yet again!!

To Christians, Christmas is when Jesus Christ, their saviour, was born. So they celebrate this happy occasion. But have you noticed that the mass media and public fail to understand and appreciate this?

To the public at large, Christmas is merely “Jingle Bells”, “I’ll be Home For Christmas”, “Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer”, “White Christmas”, “Santa Claus” and the like. No mention about the birthday boy. You will never find a mention of Jesus Christ anywhere. Not on the radio stations and media as they have been “advised” of this self-censorship. Or else. And one popular Mall even has “fairies” for this occasion, I am told.

And the National Open House celebrations in KK will reflect this in their “Cultural Event” organised by the Ministry of Culture, Heritage and Arts. To be sure, there will be alot of cultural dances, as usual, to reflect the country’s diversities. In actual effect, the Christmas celebrations will be hijacked as is usual.

So what are the two appointed “Ministers for Christian Affairs” Bernard Dompok and Maximus Ongkili gonna do about the Herald and Christmas “Cultural Event” issues? The KK do is in their home ground.

But the Mother of all Problems is fast approaching. What am I talking about?

THAIPUSAM!!!!!

Thats when we have the chariots being moved from the KL Hindu Temple to the Batu Caves (and back) with a large procession following. Next year’s Thaipusam on February 1st, might see the mother of all crowds given the current Hindraf and Indian unhappiness.

Will the Police issue a permit? How will they control a crowd of half a million (500,000) or possibly much more devotees? Will bad hats take advantage of the situation? Let’s wait and see.

God (Allah) Bless You All.

15. #15 by cheng on soo on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 11:51 am

“And what about the 10 to 12 million Arab Christians today? They have been calling God ‘Allah’ in their Bibles, hymns, poems, writings, and worship for over nineteen centuries.” Go to http://malaysianunplug.blogspot.com/.
    If this is to be followed, then have to put a signs at all entrance points to Msia to warn foreign non Muslim to follow this made in Msia rule, to made such announcement to all air passenger from oversea, especially to flight from Shanghai, as Shanghainese (mostly non Muslim) use this word everyday. This word means ” I ” in Shanghai dialect.

16. #16 by old dad on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 11:54 am

“Johari has admitted that he had made the decision that the word ‘Allah’ can only be used in the context of Islam and not any other religion,”

Uncle Kit, the man is right. Please do an extensive research first.

17. #17 by cancan on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 12:02 pm

This is not the first time the Umnoputras are trying to Islamize the country.

Are the Muslims so naive and Islam so sensitive that any tiny little issue can be a threat to their religion ?

Or is this a game plan by the Umnoputras to play on religion to garner support from the Malays ?

My sincere hope is that all Malaysians,especially the Malays must not fall on this trap of the Umnoputras.

May Allah,Jesus,Lord Muruga,Goddess of Mercy and other immortals bless all Malaysians.

18. #18 by madmix on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 12:08 pm

If UMNO thinks that the Muslim God is not the same as the God of the Christians and Jews, then let them. Just do not use “Allah” in Christian writings in Malaysia. I do not think that is a great problem.
    But not allowing the use of Bahasa is just too much. There are hundreds of thousands of Christians in Sabah and Sarawak who do not read English or Chinese.

19. #19 by greenacre on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 12:35 pm

Aiyo! as a kafir I can’t go to heaven. For the last 4 decades,I had been singing ‘Allah peliharakan sultan….”

The Indians say ‘how to wash the mouth’ Now I must think of writing Indian Dilemma as sequel to Malay dilemma and Chinese dilemma.

20. #20 by AsIseeit on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 12:35 pm

All I can say is that lots of Christians will not vote BN next GE!

21. #21 by cklife on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 12:36 pm

I love God, whatever you call him.
    So.. Love the way you love your GOD..
    Who cares what the books have to say…
    LOVES shall be suffice.

Screw people telling you what words they can use and what they can’t. It is for GOD to decide.

GOD might just be happy if you name him Micheal Jackson. So what?
    How do you know God don’t like that name?

Maybe GOD wants you to know him as Billie Joe Armstrong?

Maybe GOD wants you to know him as Khairy?

Only for GOD to decide…

Who are you to decide what to call GOD?

Are you PLAYING GOD??? The BIGGEST SIN OF ALL….

Stop playing around with GOD… stay true to being a Humble Human Being… Stop messing around with words…

True Believer stays true…

What are you?? Are you a believer?

Are you sure GOD is what you think he is??? Are you sure it’s not someone who tells you??

Who wrote Genesis??

Question is.. Why you conform??
    Why not conform to Morality Rules…?
    Where the rules about being humane is better than rules of religion…

A lot of atheist applied Morality Rules… A rule of doing good things for betterment of humanity…
    Do you have High Morale Value??????

Is burning incense to pollute the air a good Morality value???

Is printing religious doctrines into Billions of books and chopping down trees a good Morality Value???

Is crashing into NY towers to show the strength of religion a Good Morality Value???

ASK YOURSELF…

If you LOVE GOD.. love yourself,, love thy neighbor… love what are to become…

LOVE MORALITY…
    BE A GOOD PERSON…

22. #22 by liaw3003sc on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 12:40 pm

In Islam, the God they refer to is the God of Prophet Ibrahim. The God that the catholics refer to is also the same God of Prophet Abraham. How could the Malaysian Muslim monopolise the use of ‘Allah’?

Dear Malaysians, this is another act of how these UMNOputras try to use the ‘racial’ and ‘religion’ cards to create issues to show to the ‘simple’ Malays that they are their champion hence ensuring they hang on to their power for self interest; under the pretext of Malay and national interest!

To give a stern warning to the UMNOputras, I believe the non-Christian human right, NGO and religious bodies must also voice their resentment on this issue; do not let them divide and rule!

23. #23 by cheng on soo on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 1:09 pm

like that, non Muslim cannot sing state anthems with this word, and non Muslim also cannot sing Brunei national anthem in Msia, and also cannot sing any song in any langiage with a similar pronounciation or use such word in any languages.

24. #24 by negarawan on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 1:20 pm

From the Kamus Dewan:

Allah – Tuhan in Arabic language

It does not say anywhere that “Allah” is God of the Muslims. The issue is being politicised by UMNO to gain mileage for the coming GE. Shame on you Abdullah (and Jean as an ex-christian who should know better).

25. #25 by sheriff singh on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 1:24 pm

Kedah’s State Anthem

Lyrics

Allah selamat Sultan Mahkota
    Berpanjangan usia di atas Takhta
    Memelihara agama Nabi kita
    Negeri Kedah serata-rata

[edit] Literal English Translation

God save the Crowned Sultan
    Long life upon the Throne
    Upholding the religion of our Prophet
    Throughout the State of Kedah

See? Allah = God

Otherwise non-Muslims might find it difficult to sing this anthem if Allah = Muslim God.

What about other states?

26. #26 by hotsync on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 1:25 pm

Why can our dumb ministers just shut-up!! Lets reserve the word “Syaitan” for this bunch of morons.

27. #27 by toyolbuster on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 2:20 pm

Islam Hadhari, an agent of Satan created to trigger off WWIII

28. #28 by sj on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 2:27 pm

We witness first hand, how our dumb minister abuse religion. Perfect specimen for stupid people.

29. #29 by kanthanboy on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 3:11 pm

“Johari has admitted that he had made the decision that the word ‘Allah’ can only be used in the context of Islam and not any other religion.”

The word “Allah” is not a Bahasa word. The word was widely used long before the religion of Islam was founded in 622 AD. No one in history has ever laid claim on the exclusive use of the word “Allah”.

Some interesting facts from Google search:

[It is interesting to notice that Allah is the personal name of God in Aramaic, the language of Jesus and a sister language of Arabic.]

[In Islam and according to the Arabic bible and sincere Arab Christians, God has one name only and it is “ALLAH”.]

[Arabic-speakers of all Abrahamic faiths, including Christians and Jews, use the word “Allah” to mean “God”.]

[The Christian Arabs of today have no other word for ‘God’ than ‘Allah’. Arab Christians for example use terms Allah al-ab meaning God the father, Allah al-ibn mean God the son, and Allah al-ruh al ghodus meaning God the Holy Spirit.]

30. #30 by cheng on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 3:26 pm

Perak state anthem (sing to the same tune as Negaraku):
    Dilanjutkan Allah usianya Sultan
    Adil dan murah memerintah watan
    Ditaati rakyat kiri dan kanan
    Iman yang saleh Allah kurniakan
    Allah berkati Perak Darul Ridzuan
    Allah selamatkan Negeri dan Sultan

31. #31 by frusmalaysian on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 3:44 pm

It is accepted that the word Allah is used by the Arab Christians and Arab Muslims without any confusion arising amongst them. This is because they believe, together with Judaism, in the one almighty God who is Allah. The followers of each of these religions know, deep in their spiritual heart, who their God is as told to them by their religious teachers and their respective holy book.

So, how come there would be a confusion in this country – over the use of the word Allah by the Catholics?

Could it be: they are underestimating the ability of Muslims here to differentiate, if there’s any, between his God and their God; if this is so, would their teaching play a part in creating this confusion; or is this another of their ‘ketuanan melayu’ thingy?

What the government is trying to do is way beyond ordinary people’s comprehension and must be redressed.

32. #32 by 4th_wife on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 3:54 pm

Johari: Only Muslim can use “Allah”.
    Indian: Only Indian can eat “Roti Channai”
    Chinese: Only Chinese can eat “TouFu”
    Malay: Only Malay can eat “Nasi Lemak”

33. #33 by Anba on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 4:04 pm

Dear Bloggers,
    Hi there. I used to use the blogger name “takkan_hilang_india_didunia and decided not to use the nick name anymore as I don’t want to hide behind my nick name when speaking the truth.
    In reference to the issue at hand ,can someone post the original sentence from the HERALD and the translation of that sentence in Bahasa Malaysia. From a little research in Wikipedia, I found that the word God and Allah are used interchangeably. From Wikipedia:
    Allah (Arabic: ????, All?h) is the standard Arabic word for “God”.[1] The term is most likely derived from a contraction of the Arabic article al- and ?il?h “deity, god” to al-l?h meaning “the [sole] deity, God” (ho theos monos); another theory traces the etymology of the word to the Aramaic Al?h?.[2]

References:
    1. Encyclopædia Britannica. 2007
    2. Encyclopedia of Islam

The following excerpt is from International Herald Tribune – Asia Pacific

The Herald, the organ of Malaysia’s Catholic Church, has translated the word God as “Allah” but it is erroneous because Allah refers to the Muslim God, said Che Din Yusoff, a senior official at the Internal Security Ministry’s publications control unit.

“Christians cannot use the word Allah. It is only applicable to Muslims. Allah is only for the Muslim god. This is a design to confuse the Muslim people,” Che Din told The Associated Press.
    The Rev. Lawrence Andrew, editor of the Herald, said the weekly’s use of the word Allah was not intended to offend Muslims.

“We follow the Bible. The Malay-language Bible uses Allah for God and Tuhan for Lord. In our prayers and in church during Malay mass, we use the word Allah,” he told the AP.

“This is not something new. The word Allah has been used in Malaysia for a long time. There is no confusion,” he said.

I’m keen to find out which reference did Che Din Yusoff used when he made the statement about the use of the word Allah. If he does not defend his statement with authentic source, then we can conclude that his statements were derived from sentiments and not truth.

God bless Malaysia.

34. #34 by vckc72 on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 7:01 pm

Islam, Christianity and Judaism are all Abrahamic Religion. In short, these are the religions that worshiped the same God.

“God” is deity expression in English Language.

In Latinate “Deus”, Greek “????”, Slavic “Bog”, Sanskrit “Ishvara”, or Arabic “Allah”. The same holds for Hebrew “El”, but in Judaism, God is also given a proper name. (Refer to Wikipedia). In Bahasa Malaysia “Tuhan”……..and so on!

Malaysia is now joining the waive of global development and looking forward to be recognized as developed nation soon.

Rakyat, especially the Leaders (I have doubt that Malaysian Ministers are knowledgeable enough to lead the nation) should have a broader views and more open minded in many humanity aspects.

Para menteri-menteri sekalian, kenapa masih “Katak di bawah tempurong” bila lagi menteri-menteri sekalian bersedia untuk tempurong dialihkan.

Tidak mingkin, sebab matahari terik; nanti hangus dijemu matahari. Jadi, tukarlah perangai; janganlah jadi katak lagi, jadilah burung helang.

Therefore, none should claim the superiority or priority or “copyrighting” of the usage of the “Allah” simply on expression of God in Arabic language .

Anyone can use the word “Allah” as long as it is for the good intention.

Inside the Kamus Dewan, you can find many Malay words are originated from foreign languages particularly the English language. This is a great mile stone in the nation development. Many countries did the same thing, “localized” the foreign languages.

God is omniscience, omnipotence, omnipresence, omnibenevolence. He understands all languages. The most important is the hearts of the followers of each religions. Are we practising our faith at the expense and the suffering of others?

Malaysian Ministers are simply too paranoid and fear of changes. But then asking the Rakyat to change. Hypocrites!

Everything in the name of “National Security”. For their personal sake, better known as “MY (Malaysia) Insecurity”- loosing their parliamentary seat.

35. #35 by k1980 on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 7:06 pm

http://www.asiasentinel.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=952&Itemid=31
    But if a minister is so ignorant, how can the rakyat – Malaysia’s citizenry – be expected to know better? For Muslims, Jesus was a prophet of Islam. For Johari on the eve of the birthday of Jesus to make this astonishing decision is an insult to his own religion as well as to the Christian one from which Islam sprang.

36. #36 by vckc72 on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 7:23 pm

Anba,

I salute you!

You are definately 100% correct.

Let’s sent Che Din Yusoff to study for any proper University (Religious Study) for another 5 years.

He is not capable to be at his chair!

37. #37 by shaolin on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 7:47 pm

DiaperHead,

Maya Rumantir is a Great Indon Christian Singer from
    Indonesia.

She is Indonesian and she embraces Christianity as her
    Religion.

If she is born in Malaysia and embraces Christinity, she
    WILL definitely be jailed…!!!

38. #38 by sheriff singh on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 7:51 pm

The Fourth Floor boys and the Minister for (Mis)Information currently thinking of a “clever” answer.

39. #39 by shortie kiasu on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 7:56 pm

The Internal Security Ministry or the BN government may have to patent or register a copyright of the word allah so that others will not infringe on its usage! In addition, other names may have to be patented or copyrighted to prevent other from ever using, like the case of a teacher in Sudan. She got herself jailed for using certain name.

40. #40 by DiaperHead on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 8:51 pm

Shaolin,

Thanks for reading!

“If she is born in Malaysia and embraces Christianity, she
    WILL definitely be jailed…!!!:

But it is not about her, or anybody else. it is about me – and those like me. Merry Christmas!

41. #41 by DiaperHead on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 9:42 pm

It is not like they don’t understand that God comes by different names in different languages in different religions. The same apparently cannot be said of Hinduism because Hinduism not only predated Judaism, Christianity and Islam but monotheism itself.

In Malaysia religion has been politicized – a process that began after 1969 and gathered momentum reaching its height perhaps in the immediate post 9/11 years.

When they ban Bibles in ‘bahasa’ (bahasa Indonesia) it is not because they are afraid Malays would read it and be influenced by it and make Christianity their choice about which our Constitution has something to say. It is about Malays after reading the Bible would have thoughts about Islam they never had before. Reading the Bible written in English does not have the same effect and influence on their minds because they are written in English which is a foreign language. Some may go on and become converts later in life. But foremost in the minds of Malay politicians is that Malays must be and remain Muslims – the language of Article 11 (4) of our Constitution is clear.

So is it surprising that they refuse consent to anything written in bahasa on other religions after having withholding their consent to the Christian bible being written in bahasa? Is not one the corollary of the other?

God is God. “Allah” means “the One” – the prophet was incensed by the worship of stone idols during his time. He forbid the use of any images fearing that his followers would revert to idolatry and what that could do to his Teachings.

The Old Testament God is referred to as a ‘jealous’ God and a punishing one and Muslims follow the Old Testament in the Bible. The God of the New Testament which Muslims do not follow, is a loving God, the God of forgiveness. Jesus is God in human flesh.

It is not a different God. In Islam “Allah” translated means the One remember? Logically whatever name or language God is worshiped in, they should be happy when God is referred to as Allah.

42. #42 by catharsis on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 9:46 pm

How moronic can our ministers be – next Johari would want Jesus’s name to be erased from the Koran. Johari should go to the Bible College to learn more about Allah/Tuhan/God/Jesus’s Father in Heaven/the creator of this universe before opening his mouth again and make a mockery of himself

43. #43 by DiaperHead on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 10:44 pm

During ‘confessions’ Muslims recite one sentence over and over again which translated means “There is no God but Allah” – meaning there is only one God. But misguided Muslims read it to mean their God is Allah.

44. #44 by vckc72 on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 11:21 pm

DiaperHead,

Your words make me reflect into a much deper understanding about God.

This Christmas Eve is indeed a meaningful Christmas Eve to all Malaysians, wherever, whoever they are.

Muslim should be very proud and happy if some other religions are “borrowing” the word “Allah” in sharing their religious news.

Isn’t it so wonderful if your name being mentioned for good deeds?

So, how wonderful will it be if your God that you worshiped was also being mentioned by other religions?

Oh..oh…oh..oh…how narrow minded is our so call BN Government and it “runners”.

So, trying to “politicized” religion? No way, is contradicting to each other.

Clear enough, is for the sake of politics and votes that those words being “accused”?

Merry Christmas to ALL MALAYSIAN……….A PEACEFUL MESSAGE TO ALL.

DON’T WANT PEACE AT YOUR HOME? YOUR OFFICE? YOUR COUNTRY?

THIS IS WHAT CHRISTMAS IS ALL ABOUT.

IF YOU DONT WANT PEACE. RETURN PEACE TO ME. WHAT WOULD BE THE OPPOSITE YOU GET? NO PEACE….

45. #45 by Anba on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 11:56 pm

Dear vckc72,
    Hi there. Thanks for your response earlier. I’d like to use your statement, ” God is omniscience, omnipotence, omnipresence, omnibenevolence. He understands all languages. The most important is the hearts of the followers of each religions. Are we practising our faith at the expense and the suffering of others?”.
    You have spirit that’s universal. If people of all faiths understand God in this way, the world will become a better place to live.
    Could it be true that Che Din is worried that some Muslims who read the Herald in Bahasa Malaysia with the translation of God as Allah, may consider becoming Christians? If this is his worry, he is being vary naive. The faith of any individual cannot be shaken in this way. A faith embraced by an individual should come from a deep conviction and a personal relationship with God. I personally have transcended above religions as today I believe that I can belong to any religion. I have the tolerance to embrace and listen and observe the teachings of any prophets of God, let it be Krishna, Muhammad, Jesus, Buddha, Mahavir, etc.

Have a wonderful Christmas and let us forgive others who may be poor in understanding the omniscience, omnipotence, omnipresence, omnibenevolence of God. May their souls be filled with correct understanding and that they see light in their life from their own religion point of view.

God bless.

46. #46 by lakshy on Tuesday, 25 December 2007 - 12:14 am

The holy book of the Jews is the Torah. It is called the Old Testament by the Christians, and it is called the Taurat by the Malays. Since they all share the same book, and hence presumably the same God, it would be fair to expect to call God by the same name!

But then all names are His and all forms are His! So then tell me what name is he not?

47. #47 by lakshy on Tuesday, 25 December 2007 - 12:16 am

Adam remains unchanged, Eve becomes Hawa, Joseph becomes Yusuf, Moses becomes Musa, Abraham becomes Ibrahim, Jesus becomes Isa.

48. #48 by lakshy on Tuesday, 25 December 2007 - 12:24 am

Johor anthem, sung by ALL school students:-

Allah peliharakan Sultan
    Anugerahkan dia segala kehormatan
    Sihat dan Ria kekal dan makmur

Luaskan kuasa
    Naungkan kami
    Rakyat dipimpini
    Bersama lagi

Dengan mereka bersatu hati
    Allah berkati Johor
    Allah Selamatkan Sultan

We used to sing this every week. I guess it was an offence for us to use the word then. Better put the education dept guys behind bars for making all us nons sing it. Should have had a different version for us nons.

Cheers!

49. #49 by DarkHorse on Tuesday, 25 December 2007 - 9:48 am

“The holy book of the Jews is the Torah. It is called the Old Testament by the Christians..” lakshy

Correction! First five chapters of the Old Testament.

50. #50 by Jonny on Tuesday, 25 December 2007 - 1:53 pm

Reading Raja Petra’s Unholy Trinity article – I have a feeling there is a major war within the government.

Tussle for power. There are those who look like stupid fools (bodoh sombong), but in fact, they’re the most cunning (bodoh sepat). Maybe they’re plotting and paving way for the downfall …

51. #51 by cklife on Tuesday, 25 December 2007 - 7:26 pm

Selangor Anthem:

Duli Yang Maha Mulia
    Selamat di atas takhta
    Allah lanjutkan usia tuanku,
    Rakyat mohon restu bawah duli tuanku
    Bahagia, selama lamanya,
    aman dan sentosa
    Duli yang Maha Mulia

——————-
    Maybe they should stop singing this in school.

52. #52 by cheng on soo on Tuesday, 25 December 2007 - 7:55 pm

Notice to all foreign non Muslims visiting /staying in Msia, especially, Arab speaking non Muslim, Shanghainese non Muslim on this unique Msia rule/ law that is truly “something that has no comparison anywhere else in the world?”
    So, foreign non Muslims please respect n abide this unique Msia rule /law OK? Thank you, n have a pleasant stay in Msia

53. #53 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 26 December 2007 - 11:04 am

Don’t forget our policemen who are non-Muslims also wear badges with the words “Allah” and “Mohammed” on their uniforms!!!

54. #54 by ktteokt on Saturday, 29 December 2007 - 8:48 am

If the word Allah is so sacred, then don’t blare it through the loudspeakers on top of mosques five times every day for it is not only transmitted to through the auditory channel of Muslims but also by non-Muslims who have not been circumcised and are non-halal.

55. #55 by ktteokt on Sunday, 30 December 2007 - 8:54 am

Have they submitted applications to the Registrar of Trade Marks to register ALLAH™, ALLAH® and ALLAH© yet?