Malaysian Indian political awakening – must not fall into trap of being tarred “anti-Malay”

MIC President and sole Indian Minister for more than 28 years, Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu should have realized by now that it was a fatal mistake for him to believe that the “frustration and anger” of the Malaysian Indians who had taken part in the 30,000-strong Hindraf demonstration in Kuala Lumpur on Nov. 25 was not directed against him.

In his second TV appearance on RTM in four days, this time over the hour-long Tamil programme Karuthu Kalam or Opinion Forum on Saturday, Samy Vellu said the Indians had taken part in the Nov. 25 Hindraf demonstration “to register their anger over the inadequacy in the implementation of projects by the Government” and that their anger was not directed at him because he had not raised questions about or fought for the plight of the community.

Samy Vellu is wrong. The Hindraf demonstration had clearly two targets: Firstly, as the Gerakan Youth vice chief S. Paranjothy said, the 30,000 Indians took part in the demonstration to express their “frustration and anger” because the community had been “marginalized, oppressed and ignored”.

But there is a second target – none other than Samy Vellu himself for his failure after more than 28 years as MIC President and sole Cabinet Minister to prevent the long-standing political, economic, educational, social, cultural and religious marginalization of the Malaysian Indians as to become a new underclass in Malaysia.

If Samy Vellu was in denial for almost a month after the Nov. 25 Hindraf demonstration, Samy Vellu should have begun to sense the truth when he was publicly booed and humiliated by a crowd of 2,000 – 3,000 at the Aattam 100 Vagai 3 (100 types of dance) cultural performance at the Penang International Sports Area (Pisa) on Saturday night.

There is palpable anger on the ground among the Indians in Malaysia at their long-standing marginalization, raising the question whether this political awakening could become a political tsunami by the Malaysian Indian voters in the next general election, creating upsets and surprises.

It is important that the political awakening of Malaysian Indians in the run-up to the next general election must not fall into the trap of being tarred as anti-Malay but must be solidly anchored as part of Malaysian national aspirations for justice and a proper place under the Malaysian sun for all marginalized groups.

Considerable political and propaganda efforts are being invested to label the political awakening of the Malaysian Indians as racist, chauvinist and anti-Malay, so as to accentuate racial and religious polarization and stampede Malays to unite solidly behind Umno in response to the perception that the Malays are under attack.

If the political awakening of the Malaysian Indians to end their long-standing marginalization falls into the trap of being tarred as anti-Malay, it would then be easy to counter and neutralize it challenge, making it counter-productive and destroying its potential to maximize the electoral possibilities in the next general election.

I had asked on Friday whether Malaysian Indian voters could create a political and electoral tsunami in the next general election expected next March in 50 parliamentary and 133 state assembly seats where they comprise more than 10 per cent of the electorate, or in 21 parliamentary and 73 state assembly seats where they constitute more than 15% of the electorate?

I had said in Ipoh last Thursday that there are 62 parliamentary seats and 138 state assembly seats where Indian voters comprise more than 10% of the electorate and that there are 28 parliamentary and 78 state assembly seats where the Indian voters constitute more than 15% of the voters where they can play the role of “kingmaker” in the electoral outcome.

These figures were wrong as they were based on the electoral roll used for the 2004 general election. The latest electoral data gives a different picture as there is a reduction of these constituencies – i.e. 50 parliamentary and 133 state assembly constituencies where Indian voters comprise more than 10% of the electorate and 21 parliamentary and 133 state assembly seats in Peninsular Malaysia where the Indian voters constitute more than 15% of the electorate.

The 50 Parliamentary constituencies where Indian voters comprise more than 10% of the electorate are as follows:

Kedah (4) – %

Padang Serai – 21.78
Merbok – 17.16
Kulim Bandar Baru 11.04
Sungai Petani – 10.40

Penang (3)

Batu Kawan – 22.35
Nibong Tebal – 14.43
Bagan – 13.27

Perak (13)

Sungai Siput 22.45
Bagan Datok 22.36
Ipoh Barat 21.24
Tapah 19.67
Telok Intan 19.02
Tanjong Malim 17.29
Beruas 13.75
Taiping 13.15
Tambun 11.53
Lumut 11.04
Batu Gajah 10.74
Bagan Serai 10.45
Kampar 10.04

Pahang (1)

Cameron Highlands 22.72

Selangor (14)

Kota Raja 25.91
Kuala Selangor 21.32
Hulu Selangor 19.01
Kuala Langat 17.99
Sepang 17.73
Kelana Jaya 17.59
Klang 17.43
Selayang 15.23
Shah Alam 14.71
Puchong 14.20
Subang 13.85
Petaling Jaya Selatan 13.38
Tanjong Karang 11.89
Kapar 11.77

Federal Territory Kuala Lumpur (3)

Lembah Pantai 17.94
Batu 14.31
Segambut 12.09

Negri Sembilan (6)

Telok Kemang 22.64
Rasah 19.15
Rembau 14.94
Jempol 13.35
Seremban 11.16

Malacca (1)

Alor Gajah 11.64

Johore (5)

Labis 14.63
Tebrau 12.70
Pasir Gudang 11.13
Segamat 11.08
Gelang Patah 10.87

As there is no single parliamentary or state assembly constituency in Malaysia where the Indian voters constitute the majority of the electorate and could singly decide who would be elected the MP or State Assembly representative, it is vital that the political awakening or even “uprising” must not be perceived as a threat to the other communities, such as falling into the trap of being tarred as “anti-Malay”, but as part of a Malaysian awakening of all marginalized groups in the country to demand for justice and an equal place under the Malaysian sun.

It is only if the Indian voters can join forces with voters from other communities to demand for an end to the marginalization of all Malaysian groups that the “political uprising” of the Malaysian Indians has the opportunity to create a political tsunami in the next general election, such as producing the historic result of denying the Barisan Nasional its unbroken two-thirds parliamentary majority.

1. #1 by mandelism on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 5:13 am

“It is important that the political awakening of Malaysian Indians in the run-up to the next general election must not fall into the trap of being tarred as anti-Malay”
    this holds very true indeed. The ground feeling is not against the brothers and sisters from the Malay community. The Indians realise that even their peers from the Bumiputra group are being marginalised and are poor as well.

The anger is actually towards the flawed system and government machinery that failed to rectifiy the problems of the underclass.

2. #2 by ahluck on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 5:25 am

what is semi value waiting for after all this happening……knock his head and tell him to step down. Indians already doing his dead rites. he is of no value now.

3. #3 by takkan_hilang_india_didunia on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 5:35 am

Dear Sir (Lim Kit Siang),
    I agree that we need to be discontented with the quality of life of all quarters of ‘rakyat’ who’s been marginalized. These includes Indians, Chinese, Malays, Sikhs, as I believe that there are people from all ethnic who are effected by the discrimination sdtaged by UMNO. Yes, as such, this is not anger to be shown as ‘anti malay’ but anger towards the system of governance.
    Of the 50 parliment constituency that you’ve shown, who are the possible candidates who could take the voters attention away from allowing BN component party candidates to win.
    I’d like to find out when can campaigning start?

May God bless Malaysia.

4. #4 by DarkHorse on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 6:27 am

“Considerable political and propaganda efforts are being invested to label the political awakening of the Malaysian Indians as racist, chauvinist and anti-Malay, so as to accentuate racial and religious polarization and stampede Malays to unite solidly behind Umno in response to the perception that the Malays are under attack.” Kit

This has always been the greatest challenge facing the Opposition i.e. the threat of being labeled anti-Malay, and the fear all along that the less politically astute would fall into the trap. The perception is that the Indians who are not with MIC are anti-Malay. With PKR the fear is that it will not be able to shed the stigma of being ‘soft’ on the Chinese. The rallying cry against PKR is that if they are not with UMNO then they are against UMNO.

The game of “either you are with us or you are against us” can only be played at enormous cost to racial unity. BN is adept at the game having played the game over the last five decades. It is their intention to see the races divided. They have the edge over the Opposition.

If the BN propaganda machine is working full speed to label supporters of HINDRAF as anti-Malay between now and the election day, what is the Opposition doing to counter it? What does the Opposition do to take the sting away from this latest move to discredit the Opposition as being opportunists who would stop at nothing to get what they want?

Since HINDRAF has driven the more liberal and educated urban Malays back into the arms of their ‘Savior’ UMNO, how do we persuade them to move back to the middle in preparation for the GE? Reluctant as we are to accept that the politics of race are not going to go away anytime soon, and hopeful though we may be of a new dawn and a new chapter on multiracial politics, the Malay votes remain the key. Their strategic significance cannot be ignored.

DAP’s problem is not with the Indian votes – but with the Malay votes. DAP can leave it to supporters of HINDRAF to work on the Indian votes but with the Malay votes it cannot put its finger to the winds to find out which way the wind blows. The winds of change blows strong but only once in perhaps 20 years. DAP would need to put together an operational working strategy with its partners – and put it together fast. Tone down the rhetoric where it needs to be toned down or be seen as anti-Malay.

5. #5 by ChinNA on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 7:48 am

I am just curious about electoral boundaries and the percentage of the Chinese, Malay and Indians in them.

Is there a compilation of MP per capita in these electoral constituencies versus the % of Chinese, Malay and Indian?

%of %of %of each Major
    Location of Parliamentary Population Race(Chinese vs
    Constituency Vote in Malaysia Malay vs Indian)

This would make an interesting read.

6. #6 by ChinNA on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 7:50 am

ooops bad formatting in the above.

The table should have 6 columns.

These are the columns:
    1. Location of Constituency
    2. %of Total Parliamentary Vote
    3. % of Population in Malaysia
    4. % of Malay
    5. % of Chinese
    6. % of Indians

7. #7 by takkan_hilang_india_didunia on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 8:04 am

Dear Sir (Lim Kit Siang),
    I’d like to add on what I said earlier. I agreed that we should not fall into the trap of being labelled as ‘anti Malay’. Here are my concerns:
    1. If the label ‘anti Malay’ is not suitable, how can we ( who are discontented with the situation ) be labelled?
    2. Perhaps we need not be labelled as anything, but should we forget the root of these discontentment? The root of these discontentment is actually the government policy in trying to uplift the welfare of the poor malays. But since the policy (NEP) had expired, who was responsible to renew it. Thanks to Dr. Mahathir. Is Dr. Mahathir a malay? Yes. Although, we should not ‘anti malay’ but let us NOT forget the it’s the Malay race who’s fanatic about maintaining their ‘birth right’. This must be understood by people. Any political party, including DAP should not forget this fact. Perhaps a slogan like ‘Anti Malay Agenda’ is more appropriate than ‘anti Malay’. If Lim Kit Siang could say a few words on this, I’d appreciate it.

Take care.

[Thanks. Valid concerns. Lets broaden it to not falling into the trap of being tarred as anti-Malay or with anti-Malay agenda. Kit]

8. #8 by dawsheng on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 8:05 am

“Since HINDRAF has driven the more liberal and educated urban Malays back into the arms of their ‘Savior’ UMNO, how do we persuade them to move back to the middle in preparation for the GE?

There must be some confusion about the way one define the “more liberal” and “educated urban Malays” but since when there’s been a switch? Yours is not more than a case of stereotyping the Malays as UMNO’s supporters which has nothing to do with Hindraf really, so let’s not persuade them to move back but let’s move on together as Malaysians.

9. #9 by DiaperHead on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 8:20 am

I will return to Malaysia and vote for the DAP if Kit could guarantee my freedom.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wa9JAL-IH8k&NR=1

10. #10 by Bigjoe on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 8:28 am

Just the fact 2004 and coming election electoral vote is proof enough that the Indians are being marginalized. To claim otherwise is just feudal hegemonism and its why despite the fact that the likes of Samy Vellu do still have some advantage over others, they must be replaced. After 4 years, he can’t be replaced is a failure of leadership and please don’t buy the crap about it not being easy. Its not suppose to be.

I still feel its important just that the percentage of Indian vote swing this time around not actual winning of seats. Traditionally 80% vote BN, if that percentage drops to less than 50%. it would be nothing less than a total rejection because the those remaining are just political machining and not votes of free-will. Between hardcore MIC supporters, fraud and vote-buying, its tough to go really low as sentiments would suggest.

UMNO-led BN veneer of legitimacy is that they satisfy all major race groups. If one major race group says no, then it destroys that legitimacy. It does not matter if they continue to have majority vote by race domination, its just not justifiable in today’s world and sooner or later even the rural Malays can be made to understand that and, UMNO leadership actually understand this and at the very least forced to change.

So Sdr. Lim is right, the Indian votes is a swing vote, not necessarily in terms of seats but in terms of what happens to this country. The issue is can UMNO/BN machining beat that sentiment and desire for change?

11. #11 by csl on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 9:06 am

Every generation has to sacrifice for the next one. Just like how our ancestors did in the past and granted us a better life for today. But, most of the people nowadays only know how to enjoy it but refuse to sacrifice for the next gen. This little bit wanna complain and that is not right. They will never wanna face the fact. When problem come out, always use the western type of standard to support their view but never think about if that match to our culture. For example, removing the canning system from the schools. What we get is not a creative, healthy students but only bunch of ah beng, ah lian, mat rempit and etc. Some graduates even involved with drugs and other illegal activity.

Back to the Hindraf issue. They said they were being marginalized. But no strong fact to defense their sentence. Who is the Astro, Maxis boss? Who is the JKR boss? Maybe these examples are to far to be reached. But how to explain those Bangladesh people came to Malaysia and can earn RM2-3k by opening a cheap standard car wash? In this country, as long as you have hands and legs, you won’t die for hunger. More or less money, will depends on how smart you are. And also depends on if you spend RM35 a day for cigarette and beer/stout when your pay is only RM2k+. The fact of Indian (and some chinese/Malays too) suffering for their life can be found anywhere, anytime around you. Got RM3k salary and spent 1/2 of it for the cars. Somebody call it gaya mesti ada culture.

No offense, but if you don’t work out for your future and also the next generation, no one can help you. There are 26 million of people in this country, how much can the gov help? Of cause, the gov has the responsibility to take care of those unluckily or permanently disable folks.

Why Hindraf doesn’t setup something for helping the poor Indians for long term, like education funds that donate by the public or something else, but lead a demonstration that destroy the surrounding things and created so many problems for other people and the country?

When UMNO leaders came out so many comments on revise/remove of NEP, now someone stand up and ask to add them in the list. Come on, those Indians I know won’t do this. I would like to know what type of prawn hidden at the back of the Hidraf stone.

12. #12 by csl on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 9:10 am

Sorry, responded on the wrong title/thread.

13. #13 by smeagroo on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 9:25 am

THe INdians have woken up but when will the CHinese wake up from their deep sleep? OH yes, they are busy counting money and the rich wont hv time to even bother about the poor. The rich are getting projects from the govt.

14. #14 by Jimm on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 9:39 am

It’s all about respect and both way compromising.
    Here, it’s already went off track when someone claimed to be more rightful than the others.
    It’s like a frog living under a coconut shell.
    We are always famous for being local champion because we always self claimed to be one.
    Sad as it may seems, we virtually marked our days within the rocks.

15. #15 by Bigjoe on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 9:47 am

This article is interesting
    http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=272&Itemid=36

I seldom qoute Malaysia-today because it often over-speculate but those who read it know that RPK does get some good details of facts.

Sdr. Lim is trying to to avoid a bad situation between Malay/Indians but ironically UMNOcrats are not helping him.

16. #16 by Saint on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 9:56 am

“It is only if the Indian voters can join forces with voters from other communities to demand for an end to the marginalization of all Malaysian groups that the “political uprising” of the Malaysian Indians has the opportunity to create a political tsunami in the next general election, such as producing the historic result of denying the Barisan Nasional its unbroken two-thirds parliamentary majority.” Very well said Kit?

What is DAP doing to attract the Indians and to integrate them into it ? This is what we have been asking all along. Able Indians are not welcomed into MIC or do not want to be associate with it. PAS is a bit tricky and keADILAN is “too new”. You have been in the scene for may years. In the times of Patoo and David, it seems Indians were able to identify with it. Now it has become a strange party to us. I was from Ipoh and I am saying this from experience.

17. #17 by DarkHorse on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 10:17 am

“Yours is not more than a case of stereotyping the Malays as UMNO’s supporters which has nothing to do with Hindraf really, so let’s not persuade them to move back but let’s move on together as Malaysians.” dawsheng

Sorry, but I’m not following you.

“…let’s not persuade them to move back but let’s move on together as Malaysians.”

How one would have wished that it is that simple! How we could wish and differences could go away. The reality is quite another.

This is about winning.

It is not about how we should think as Malaysians. It has taken some 50 years for them to sow the seeds of racism, you don’t think we can just ignore that. To think that we could wake up one day and say to ourselves that we should think as Malaysians and we then become Malaysians and not think as Chinese, Indians and Malays is a case of wishful thinking, isn’t it not?

This is about winning an election. Strategies would have to be formulated which would have to take into consideration the communal nature of politics today.

Once the Opposition takes control of Parliament, there is a lot of time to re-think. The concept of national building could then be re-engineered and re-formulated to take into consideration developments over the course of fifty years.

In the meantime, there is the Malay psyche, the Chinese psyche and the Indian psyche rather than a fictitious Malaysian psyche which would have to be considered when formulating strategies.

18. #18 by Tickler on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 10:19 am

There is much ballyhoo over this hindraf being anti-malay and that is subscribing to the machinations of the BN traps. Look at the mixed crowd of 4,000 in Klang recently that Anwar addressed recently.
    It is the commentators here who take particular stands against the Indians and propagate and give life to the BN myth.
    Don`t worry about the Malays and Indians who get along fine. At the hindraf rally there were malay participants. I have heard malays praising the indians for taking a stand that they (the malays) could not.
    So the commentators here should be more positive in their outlook.

19. #19 by Tickler on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 10:26 am

The malays are currently more occupied with the UMNO attempt to remove the word `allah` from the state anthems.

20. #20 by dawsheng on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 11:12 am

“This is about winning. It is not about how we should think as Malaysians.”

In this case, it is easy. If UMNO offered RM200 for a vote, DAP can offer RM250.

21. #21 by dawsheng on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 11:14 am

“Once the Opposition takes control of Parliament, there is a lot of time to re-think.”

I beg your pardon?

22. #22 by shaolin on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 11:17 am

We as Minority Groups of Malaysia, demand the Govern-
    ment to end The Marginalization and The Apartheid
    Policy currently practised by UMNOputras run Gomen!!

The Gomen is Racist in implementation of policy! Talking
    of 1 action and implementing the policy of another set
    of policy…!!! This is biased decision and treating and
    classify peoples of all Malay-sia to different categories.
    However, the Malaysia Gomen still says ‘We treat
    everyone Equal and Sound…’?? Hypocrites!!

We will Not compromise to our Demand of Equal Shares,
    Equal Rights and Equal Treatment. We DEMAND to be
    classified as 1 Malaysian Race, rather than ‘Bumi’ and
    Non-Bumi’ status!!!

The Malaysia Gomen is taking the 1st wrong step forward
    , causing the ‘uprising’ of The Hindraf Movement…??!!
    Who were to be blamed?? The Indians or The Government??

23. #23 by dawsheng on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 11:20 am

“But how to explain those Bangladesh people came to Malaysia and can earn RM2-3k by opening a cheap standard car wash?”

Because the Bangladeshi car washer is better than Indian car washer?

24. #24 by dawsheng on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 11:24 am

“In this country, as long as you have hands and legs, you won’t die for hunger.”

This is an understatement! In this country, you don’t have to have hands and legs, you don’t even have to have brain and you won’t die of hunger, you can even get rich, just join UMNO and steal.

25. #25 by Aramaitii on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 11:29 am

Haha…good one dashweng….UMNO is the biggest charity house..steal from everyone and give to its members

26. #26 by dawsheng on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 11:49 am

“When UMNO leaders came out so many comments on revise/remove of NEP, now someone stand up and ask to add them in the list. Come on, those Indians I know won’t do this. I would like to know what type of prawn hidden at the back of the Hidraf stone.”

You are asking what is wrong with having one million or more poor Indians in this country when we have perhaps one hundred Indian millionaires?

27. #27 by dawsheng on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 11:54 am

csl Says:

Today at 09: 10.32 (2 hours ago)
    Sorry, responded on the wrong title/thread.
    —————————————————————-

Yeah! Merry christmas and a happy new year.

28. #28 by cheng on soo on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 12:12 pm

No Msian in right state of mind wan 2 be “anti-Malay”. There is only 1 party who like to simply label or falsely accuse anybody as such. This party U know who lah!

29. #29 by greenacre on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 12:57 pm

Fear of the unknown robs us of the courage to face the known situation. If we are not labelled as anti malay then the alternative must be pro malay. A year ago I was drinking sugar cane juice at a Malay stall. Beside me there was a malay father and son. All of us heard ‘ching chong; ching chong” a chinese funeral procession passing by. The malay son asked his father ”ada orang meninggal ke pah?’ and the father’s answer was ‘China sudah mampus!”
    So, they must be pro other races. Truth hurts.

30. #30 by cheng on soo on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 1:20 pm

If after 50 years, still label or accuse others of anti-certain races, or cause race A to anti race B, etc. & vice versa, where is the country going? Where is “Trully Asia” ?
    This anti-race XX thing is labelled by national leaders (waving offensive weapon), appear in paper, forum, so often, wasting so much time argue, explain, defense etc. How to progress further??

31. #32 by Tickler on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 1:30 pm

Muslim religious teachers in Malaysia today still preach the Islamic concept of heaven in a terminology which is neither Malay nor Arabic, but Hindu. The sanskrit word “Syurga” is always used in connection with the Islamic concept of paradise. The proper Arabic word for this is actually “Al-Jannah”. In the same way, the Hindu religious term “neraka” or hell is used by Muslim Malays to explain the Islamic concept of hell. The Arabic word for hell is “Al-Nar” or the place of fire. Then the Muslim fast, the annual religious abstention from food and drink, is known by the Sanskrit term “puasa”. A Muslim religious teacher is often called “guru”, another Hindu religious term, in fact the name of a Hindu deity, Betara Guru. The Muslim prayer is among the Malays, called “sembahyang”. “Sembah” in Sanskrit means to pray, and “yang” is a Sanskrit term meaning divinity or conjuring respect, as in “Sang Yang Tunggal”, the most divine one, and “Yang Dipertuan”.
    http://www.geocities.com/aizaris/suvarnabhumi.html

32. #33 by kanthanboy on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 3:45 pm

DiaperHead,

You want Kit to guarantee your freedom? As a matter of fact he can’t even guarantee his own freedom. He has been lockup twice before under ISA. If the opposition wins big in the next GE, they will probably lock him up again. Don’t get him into trouble please. You should try to register as a postal voter but don’t forget to write in the “lain-lain” column of your application that you wish to sokong BN. Wish you good luck.

33. #34 by shortie kiasu on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 8:04 pm

Deep down Samy must have felt rotten in his conscience if he ever has one to boast but he has to put up a brave face in order he can continue to be the sole Minister for many more years besides the 28 years he has had relentlessly occupies the ministerial post. Even with the expansion of the cabinet posts, he was not able to win additional ministerial posts for his Indian community. Just one and only one and he plainly refused to let go. Is there a dearth of capable leaders in his community? or he is suppressing them and subsequently killing them? That is why the offshooting of organization like Hindraf.

34. #35 by shamshul anuar on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 11:00 pm

Dear Greenacre.

They say a swallow does not make a summer. It means that one man’s slip of tongue must not be interpreted as the general practise of a race, community.

Actually Hindraf proves a vital point to Malays. Malays are curious as how so political parties such as DAP has no qualm in tolerating any insult to them( Malays). DAP goes to great lenght to defend Hindraf although everybody knows Hindraf lied about etnic cleansing.

As for Dawsheng, it is unfair to blame Govt squarely on poverty. Poverty cuts across racial boundary. Do understand that there are also poor Malays and poor Chinese, not to mentioned poor Orang Asli. They must be helped, not by accusing another race of etnic cleansing but by a genuine desire to eradicate poverty eradication.

As for Tickler, well you are wrong. That is not the preoccupation of Malays. The preoccupation of Malays right now is how dangerous a situation when people play with racial issue, hiding under mantra “freedom expression”.

35. #36 by DarkHorse on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 11:00 pm

“As a matter of fact he can’t even guarantee his own freedom. He has been lockup twice…” kathanboy

Not really – because sometimes you can do for others what you cannot do for yourself.

36. #37 by DarkHorse on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 11:02 pm

“In this case, it is easy. If UMNO offered RM200 for a vote, DAP can offer RM250.”

Well, not quite but you got my drift and that’s all that matters!

37. #38 by DarkHorse on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 11:05 pm

“Because the Bangladeshi car washer is better than Indian car washer?” dawshen

No. It is because the Bangadeshi car washer does more of the washing and the Indian car washer works more for less.

38. #39 by DarkHorse on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 11:08 pm

“I beg your pardon?” dawsheng

That’s a good one, dawsheng. Have a happy new year! Oh, we’re not there yet? It is still Christmas?

39. #40 by DarkHorse on Monday, 24 December 2007 - 11:10 pm

ooops should read ‘work less for more’

40. #41 by Anba on Tuesday, 25 December 2007 - 1:30 am

Dear Shamshul Anuar,
    You mentioned ” one man’s slip of tongue must not be interpreted as the general practise of a race, community.” First of all, if a slip of tongue comes from an official of a country, and if others in the country don’t come forward to say it’s wrong or it needs to be researched better, then that slip of tongue appears to be the general practice of the race or community. When the Malay father answered the son “China sudah mampus” upon seeing the funeral procession, then it is imprinted in the son’s mind of looking at chinese in a derogatory manner. The son is going to grow up being a racist the same way his father was. Don’t give me the crap by saying it’s a slip of tongue. The Malay father in this case was being a racist. Period.

On your allegation that Hindraf’s claim of ethnic cleansing is a lie. First, it was Uthaya who mentioned about this, but now you are claiming that Hindraf mentioned it. If Uthaya’s words can be concluded to be Hindfar’s claim, then can a Malay father’s racist remark be considered the remarks that comes from Muslims in general. Do you understand my analogy?

There are many definitions for ethnic cleansing. Uthaya had used the narrower definition of systematically, illegally involving gross human right abuses.( see definition below)
    Here is a possible definition of ethnic cleansing, according to Drazen Petrovic, as appeared in Wikipedia :
    Drazen Petrovic has distinguished between broad and narrow definitions. Broader definitions focus on the fact of expulsion based on ethnic criteria, while narrower definitions include additional criteria: for example, that expulsions are systematic, illegal, involve gross human-rights abuses, or are connected with an ongoing internal or international war. According to Petrovic:

[E]thnic cleansing is a well-defined policy of a particular group of persons to systematically eliminate another group from a given territory on the basis of religious, ethnic or national origin. Such a policy involves violence and is very often connected with military operations. It is to be achieved by all possible means, from discrimination to extermination, and entails violations of human rights and international humanitarian law.”[3]
    Reference [3] : “Ethnic Cleansing – An Attempt at Methodology” p.11.
    Nevertheless, Uthaya mentioned that the ethnic cleansing is an ethnic cleansing ala Malaysia. That means an ethnic cleansing a unique Malaysian style.
    You mentioned “poverty cuts across racial boundary”. Well you are right, and whats true is also that the Malays have all the avenue to get help when they need it. If a Malay is still poor in Malaysia today, it simply means that the richer Malays are not willing to redistribute their wealth to poorer Malays. Thanks to Dr.Mahathir and shame to the rich Malays who simply became greedy upon accumulating wealth.

You mentioned that the Malay’s preoccupation as :” The preoccupation of Malays right now is how dangerous a situation when people play with racial issue, hiding under mantra “freedom expression”. Who is playing with racial issue, and which race is hiding under the mantra “freedom expression”? If you are saying that other races ( other than Malay race) are hiding under the mantra “freedom expression”, you are spineless like Hishamuddin. Do you know that the Malay race is hiding under the ‘NEP’ umbrella and hope to be spoon fed throughout generation after generation. Well, this preference given to the Bumiputera’s must be stopped. Everyone born in a land is actually a “Bumi Purtan” a tamil phrase that means the “prince of the soil”.
    Please do a little research before writing, don’t be like the other Malay politicians who are showing to the world that they are incompetent in running the country. Wake up to reality.

If you’re a competent Malay ( I’m not sure if you’re a Malay or not), then please reply to this message.
    God bless Malaysia.

41. #42 by SIMPLYJUSTICE on Tuesday, 25 December 2007 - 7:44 pm

As usual s/v is looking for the credits on the hard work done by Hindraf. Everyone knew that he is a shameless person, leave alone his family!

42. #43 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 26 December 2007 - 3:39 am

Anbar,

It is obvious that Shamshul’s verbal skills are not anywhere near the best in this blog when he said:

“….everybody knows Hindraf lied about etnic cleansing.” Shamshul Anuar

Perhaps he should have said it a different way, more selective in the choice of words and more sensitive to those who feel passionately about the issues – like yourself.

Uthayar’s intention is obvious and something he admitted i.e. to draw world attention to a problem long suffered by his community who has been economically marginalized. There can be no dispute to that.

43. #44 by ktteokt on Thursday, 27 December 2007 - 9:53 am

Oil and water simply don’t mix! Ask the govt how they can sustain what was written in the Rukunegara – “membina masyarakat yang adil” while maintaining “special rights for bumiputras” and “ketuanan Melayu”? This is as good as slapping their own faces! Can equality be achieved when these are enforced?

44. #45 by shamshul anuar on Sunday, 30 December 2007 - 6:37 pm

Dear Undergrad2.

I refer to your response to Mr Anbar. You wrote ” Perhaps he should be …..”. Exactly that is my point. Why on earth Hindraf claimed on etnic cleansing?. And why accused Govt( meaning UMNO led) of sanctioning killing of Indians?

Why Hindraf lied? Why ? Call a spade a spade they say. Exactly Hindraf accused Malaysian Govt of conducting etnic cleansing in the same league with that Serbians did to Bosnians.

Nobody is denying Uthaya’s right in promoting the interests f Indians. But why must he lie?. Are you saying it is OK to spread lies on Malays in order to promote the interests of Indians?. Why must malays, UMNO, Islam be insulted in the process.

Are you saying it is OK Hindraf to lie in order to draw attention to its flight. What is the point of holding potrait of Mahatma Gandhi but not following his teaching. So nice of you , Anba to absolve Hindraf on its “fitnah” by creating another definition of “etnic cleansing ala Malaysia”.

What about Malays. Do not they have the right not to be accused of etnic cleansing. Does a race that choose to allow Indian politicians to win in Malay majority areas practises etnic cleansing?

Who is playing with racial issue actually?. Who is so creative in ridiculing Moslem women wearing tudung with a “rap” on “Negarakuku”. Who is actually feeding fear on Chinese Community on Sekolah Wawasan as a “ploy” to eliminate vernacular schools.

Who is feeding hatred by not telling the truth that the said demolished temple actually sat on a private land? Who is actually playing with racial issue by keeping to remind Chinese community on a closure of a Chinese school in Damansara( actually relocated not closed).

Who is actually tend to close private sectors to non Chinese by insisting on Mandarin requirement. Who is actually crying out loud about “ketuanan Melayu” but keeping quiet on “Ketuanan Cina” in economy.

And Mr Anba, what is wrong on Malays becoming rich. Malays also use their brain in order to succeed in life. Perhaps you are not aware of Muslim billionaires building schools in kedah, Melaka. Is that is the way you reason, I can also crying out loud to accuse rich Indians of not helping poor Indians.

Greed is a universal plague. No race is immune to it. And do read my remarks carefully. I did not accuse Chinese and Indians of playing with racial issue. Similarly, if you do not like Hishamuddin, please do not lump all Malays as “spineless”.

45. #46 by Anba on Monday, 31 December 2007 - 3:59 pm

Shamshul Anuar,
    I read your response with some questions on your claim like Hindraf accuses the Malaysian government of conducting etnic cleansing in the same league with that Serbians did to Bosnians. Where did you take this statement from. This is why you need to reference from where you took that statement. Without references, you are also acting like our ‘pendekar’ politicians who say things without thinking and without referencing.
    I’m not against Malays becoming rich. But can the Malays become rich by competing with other races with merit and hard work?

If the Malays can enter local Universities by competing with other races, then it’s okay for Malays to become rich.

If the Malays ‘birth rights’ are taken away by abolishing the NEP and allow other races to compete in the economy equally, then it’s okay for Malays to become rich.

If the government contracts are open to all races by means of competition and allowing all business owners ( of all races) to bid for the tenders, then it’s okay for Malays to become rich.

When the three important aspects above are still practiced by the Government to help the Malays, why on earth should I be happy with Malays becoming rich? Shamshul, perhaps you are enjoying the privileges given to Malays in Malaysia. Put yourself in the life of an Indian or Chinese who have been discriminated by not getting a place in the local university, unable to compete fairly in business, and many other ways the other races are being discriminated. If you are the other race who was discriminated, would you then be angry when you see Malays enjoying all aspects of life when you can’t even get to educate yourself? When Malays can enter the University with their scrappy results, why is the Government bargaining with non Malay students who obtained all A’s by not giving them Medical seats? The government and all Malays who are enjoying these priveleges at the expense of other races suffering is truly a pathethic situation.

Finally, I wonder why Malays pray 5 times a day, when in reality, they don’t live up to God’s expectation. Does God allow people to take away anothers rice bowl, anothers rights to be educated? I wonder how so many Malays sleep peacefully and with conscious at night. By saying all these, I’m not saying that you belong to that category. All I can say to you is , ‘Tepuk Dada, tanyalah selera’.

God bless Malaysia.