Merdeka statement – Cabinet should deplore the Zainuddin-led attack

With two Muslim groups joining the Information Minister, Datuk Zainuddin Maidin in his attack on the Merdeka Statement initiated by the Asian Strategy and Leadership Institute (Asli)’s Centre for Public Policy Studies (CPPS), which had the endorsement of 42 supporting organizations, the Merdeka Statement has proven to be more than right when it said “recently the state of unity has been fraying at the edges”.

The Merdeka Statement said:

“Ethnic, linguistic and religious divides have deepened, causing genuine pain and hurt to many in our nation. Such a fragile state of unity should not have happened after 50 years of nation building”.

The accusation of the two Muslim groups, Allied Co-ordinating Committee of Islamic NGOs (Accin) and Muslim Youth Movement (Pembela), which have opened their fire at those behind the Merdeka Statement for having a hidden agenda to renegotiate the social contract is most shocking, as it is clear that this was never the intention of the Merdeka Statement.

Such an accusation is most surprising coming at a time when the country is witnessing a blatant rewriting of the Merdeka social contract and Malaysia Agreement, totally in an arbitrary, undemocratic and unconstitutional manner, with regard to the fundamental nation-building principle of Malaysia as a secular state with Islam as the official religion and not an Islamic state.

The Merdeka Statement is a commendable roadmap to achieve a more united, competitive, innovative and prosperous Malaysia, which celebrates the nation’s diversity and avoids past pitfalls and mistakes.

If such a sincere, genuine and patriotic effort to help chart future nation-building directions could be the subject of a Minister-led attack for being “anti-national”, it raises grave questions as to whether any purpose is served in having grand and costly “sight-and-sound” celebrations of the 50th Merdeka anniversary without addressing the issue why Malaysians seem even more divided than ever before in the nation’s half-a-century history.

The solution is not to impose further clampdown on public debate on the future direction of the nation but to have trust and confidence in the maturity, good sense and patriotism of Malaysians after 50 years of nationhood to have open, rational and responsible discussion of the best nation-building policies for the country.

For a start, the Cabinet tomorrow must deplore Zainuddin’s attack on the Merdeka Statement.

Let the Cabinet boldly return to the pledge of Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi who had promised when he became Prime Minister four years ago to lead an administration which is clean, incorruptible, efficient, accountable, trustworthy, democratic, people-oriented and prepared to hear the truth from the people, however pleasant, by removing all the undemocratic curbs and restraints on the mainstream media to encourage full, free and responsible public debate on policies and issues which affect Malaysians and future generations.

1. #1 by sotong on Tuesday, 7 August 2007 - 4:10 pm

It is disturbing to know that there are senior Minister/s in the government with hidden agenda.

No wonder national unity and interests are of no significant and the country lost and confused.

Obviously the government is very divided and not ready to move forward!

2. #2 by k1980 on Tuesday, 7 August 2007 - 4:31 pm

I challenge the Deputy Minister of Internal Security to categorically state that what Malaysia Today says is not true. If Johari Baharum keeps mum then Malaysia Today will now accuse him of also being in the payroll of the Chinese organised crime syndicate.

http://malaysia-today.net/blog2006/corridors.php?itemid=7072

3. #3 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 8 August 2007 - 8:17 pm

Hahahahah!!! The Conference of Rulers appear to have rejected Pak Lah’s nomination for the Chief Judge of Malaya’s post. This, if true, must be quite a shocker to Pak Lah and everyone. And must be quite a slap in the face for the nominated judge.

It would appear that their Highnesses must be concerned about the deplorable and deteriorating situation in the Judiciary and in the country as a whole.

So this wake-up call to the PM and his half-past-six-and-seven Cabinet and adminstration is most timely as the country appears to be steering towards dangerous roads.

Let us hope the Conference of Rulers will continue to ensure and safeguard the well-being of ALL their subjects. Come to think of it, this wake-up call, if heeded, might be a blessing in disguise for the BN.

4. #4 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 8 August 2007 - 8:53 pm

When 30,000 Malaysians across the country demonstrate today for better lives, then something is not quite right in this country.

The cost of living and the prices of essential items like food have been quietly going up by 10, 20, 30 cents and more in percentage terms throughout the country and the people just can’t and won’t take it any more. Obviously the government does not know or want to know the realities.

http://www.straitstimes.com/Latest%2BNews/Asia/STIStory_146734.html

5. #5 by lakshy on Wednesday, 8 August 2007 - 9:12 pm

The Singapore Straits Times today had a new article today stating that the rulers council had rejected the PM’s/cabinets choice of Chief Judge of Malaysia. But its not in our malaysian papers and not in the news.

Anyone can corroborate this?

6. #6 by lakshy on Wednesday, 8 August 2007 - 9:15 pm

When you earn mega-bucks, you cannot appreciate how those at the lower end of the spectrum are affected by cost increases.

7. #7 by lakshy on Wednesday, 8 August 2007 - 10:12 pm

You can read the article about our Rulers Council rejecting our PM’s choice for Chief Judge here

http://politics101malaysia.blogsome.com/

8. #8 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 8 August 2007 - 10:20 pm

We are living in a very interesting time indeed. Will Abdullah be the first Prime Minister to be sacked by the Agong? Who have the support of Malaysians, particularly the Malays? Who will win? The Rulers Council or UMNO?

9. #9 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 8 August 2007 - 10:25 pm

How is one going to survive with RM900 a month? Those workers better make sure Abdullah resigned or else when they got their demand for minimal wages they may found out they need RM1500 to make ends meet.

10. #10 by lakshy on Wednesday, 8 August 2007 - 10:33 pm

Hope its the Rulers Council…………..

11. #11 by bystander on Wednesday, 8 August 2007 - 10:56 pm

Why do the muslim groups, Zainuddin and UMNO always think they are always right and the whole world including 42 organisations wrong? What kind of mindset or mentality do these people have? Really dictatorial and backward. Like that, where got hope. Unless Raja Nazrin steps in and take over from these m-r-ns.

12. #12 by Jamesy on Wednesday, 8 August 2007 - 11:00 pm

Please tell all your friends, neighbours, colleages and family members that a vote for MCA, MIC, PPP, Gerakan, SUPP, PBS and etc is a vote for Islamic State in the coming General Election, not only now, but for the next 50 years.

Or Malaysia is already an ISLAMIC STATE???……

13. #13 by RealWorld on Wednesday, 8 August 2007 - 11:08 pm

“When you earn mega-bucks, you cannot appreciate how those at the lower end of the spectrum are affected by cost increases.” – lakshy

Two questions:

1. Say, if you are a multi millionaire, would the poor be a cause of concern for you??

2. Do you think the super mega rich the world over care about the plight of those in the lower income?

14. #14 by thearmchairbitch on Wednesday, 8 August 2007 - 11:18 pm

This is the article that appeared in the Singapore Straits Times today 8 August 2007:

Malaysian Sultans reject KL’s choice of Chief Justice

Decision could lead to an impasse between rulers and government.

By Carolyn Heng
    Malaysia Bureau Chief
    IN KUALA LUMPUR

Malaysia’s rulers have refused to endorse the government’s candidate for a key judicial post, setting the stage for a possible impasse between the rulers and the administration.

The Conference of Rulers last month asked Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi to reconsider the candidate named for the post of Chief Justice of Malaya (CJM), the third highest-ranking official in the judiciary.

The Constitution requires the Prime Minister to “consult” the Conference of Rulers, comprising the nine hereditary rulers, and their highly unusual move to withhold approval has created a stir in the legal fraternity.

The position of CJM has been vacant for seven months since Tan Sri Norma Yaakob retired in January. There are currently eight judges in the Federal Court who qualify for the appointment.

“There are concerns as to why the candidate was picked over three other more senior judges,” said a source, alluding to a possible reason for the lack of royal approval.

When asked by reporters about the matter, Chief Justice Tun Abdul Fairuz Sheikh Abdul Halim declined comment, saying judicial appointments were a confidential matter classified under the Official Secrets Act (OSA).

Under the Malaysian Constitution, the rulers are to be consulted on certain key government appointments such as judges or members of the Election Commission.

In the case of judicial appointments, the Prime Minister makes the recommendations after discussion with the Chief Justice.

However, while they rarely reject recommendations, the Conference of Rulers has always been active in debating the appointments.

One of its most senior members, Sultan Azlan Shah of Perak was head of the Malaysian judiciary in the 1970s. PM Abdullah is believed to have met the Perak Sultan over the matter.

Legal opinion is divided on whether the rulers’ refusal to accept the candidate will stymie the appointment.

The Constitution is silent on this point, while in the case of Bills passed by Parliament, it states that they automatically become law after 60 days if the rulers withhold assent.

A similar case arose in 1999 when sacked deputy premier Anwar Ibrahim tried to disqualify judge Mokhtar Sidin from hearing his case.

He argued that the judge might be biased against him as he had represented the administration at a Conference of Rulers’ meeting which declined to accept Datuk Mokhtar’s appointment to the Court of Appeal.

Datuk Mokhtar was nevertheless subsequently appointed to the bench.

The court ruled then that “to consult does not mean to consent”, and the rulers’ views are not binding on the prime minister.

However, in his 2004 book “Constitutional Monarchy, Rule of Law and Good Governance”, Sultan Azlan Shah noted that this goes against the grain and spirit of the Constitution.

The consultation process is meant as a mechanism of checks and balances, he argued.

Yesterday, Chief Justice Ahmad Fairuz, who has been acting as CJM for almost seven months, would only reveal that the No 3 post would be filled before the end of the year.

But to add to the complexity, the post of the President of the Court of Appeal – the No 2 post – is currently also vacant fllowing the death of Tan Sri Malek Ahmad in June.

Tun Ahmad Fairuz himself is also due for retirement in October.

15. #15 by ReformMalaysia on Wednesday, 8 August 2007 - 11:29 pm

RealWorld Says:
    “1. Say, if you are a multi millionaire, would the poor be a cause of concern for you??

2. Do you think the super mega rich the world over care about the plight of those in the lower income?”

JUst as you enjoy the TUANSHIP STATUS and UNFAIR ADVANTAGES over other races…..You would not care about others rights and hardship???

16. #16 by k1980 on Thursday, 9 August 2007 - 12:22 am

Many in this blog are looking forward to the pm’s removal, but beware of his successor. Indonesian dictator Sukarno was replaced with the even worse despot Suharto whose tyranny lasted 32 years.

17. #17 by Rocky on Thursday, 9 August 2007 - 2:21 am

Pak Lah promises tak boleh pakai punya. He hood wink most of us to vote for him based on a very good marketing but time to deliver, he can’t. What will be the next GE strategy? Make it a racial one lo like what KJ has said. And will they cause trouble?

As for the Cabinet ministers, well they are the biggest in the world but that is all there is to it, XXXXL. Brain power? even an UK graduated lawyer can’t debate in parliament except shout bodoh X numbers of times. Kesopanaan dan kesusilaan…apa macam?

Thank god we are not goblok like them and take everything they say to us as the gospel truth.

Loyalty to King and country. Not the PM or the govt. They are our servants.

18. #18 by dawsheng on Thursday, 9 August 2007 - 2:23 am

What is UMNO? The guardian of muslim faith in Malaysia? It is because of UMNO we Malaysian are divided today. What has UMNO gave to the Malay? Oppotunities on the expense of others. Malaysians who is Malay, it is about time you understand what is the meaning of being fair to the others, I mean being fair to the minoirty race. You see, we Chinese and Indians and the other will survives even under the most difficult situation, because we are determine to but we also know that a succesful nation must be made up of everyone inregarless of race, creed and religion, what kind of nation we are if only the Malay are well off? You also have to understand our problems is not only UMNO, but it is the whole of BN, that inlcudes the MCA or MIC etc etc. UMNO is nothing without MCA, the former hole the power and the latter the fincial and the brain, unfortunately, they are al crooks!

19. #19 by lakshy on Thursday, 9 August 2007 - 7:14 am

Realworld, obviously you being super rich and a receipient of umno’s favours do not understand the plight of the poor.

Thanks for reinforcing my point that the umno leaders cannot appreciate the problems of the poor. Or perhaps they do, and its by subjugating these people and keeping them ignorant that they can get rich.

20. #20 by lakshy on Thursday, 9 August 2007 - 7:15 am

k1980, if you ask most indonesians today, they will say that things were better during suharto’s time….

21. #21 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 9 August 2007 - 7:36 am

Under the British Resident system, British Resident advisers ‘advised’ the Malay sultans in affairs of state. They did no such thing. In truth they told the Malay sultans what they were required to do. “Advice” was the politically correct language to use then – as now. When the PM appoints members of his Cabinet, the King is advised as to who they are. The King is said to act on his advice. Like every other appointments the King has no choice. When you are sent to the detention centre to feed on a staple diet of curry and roti canai for two years, it is always at the expense of His Majesty’s Government. His Majesty had no role in any of the acts of the executive.

So why should the Conference of Rulers be “consulted” – provisions within the Federal Constitution must be interpreted in such a manner as to preserve consistency among the constitutional provisions. Mahathir amended the Federal Constitution to make sure bills become law once passed by Parliament notwithstanding royal consent or dissent.

The Conference of Rulers would be consulted for an opinion but that is all. Its functions are ceremonial except for issues concerning the Muslim religion.

22. #22 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 9 August 2007 - 7:38 am

…and Malay special privileges under Article 153.

23. #23 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 9 August 2007 - 7:40 am

So another constitutional crisis brewing??

24. #24 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 9 August 2007 - 8:42 am

“Singapore’s Straits Times reported today that the Conference of Rulers had last month asked Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to reconsider the government’s candidate for the position.”

Why Singapore’s ST? Why not NST, STAR, SUN from MAlaysia?

Hello, ZAm-ZAm – let’s begin with yr first duty – and yr first step. Free the press!

Hello, Zam-Zam, kau ni jangan bagi Tun M label kau separuh masak, half-past-six. Can you understand now why the need for blogs and the strength and popularity of blogs? BN has shot itself in the foot by harassing and seeking to clamp down on blogs. Muzzling the press is a boomerang. The dogs of the pressworld will bite BN, notwithstanding the muzzle.

25. #25 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 9 August 2007 - 8:45 am

There is something to be proud of this Merdeka – one of the most repressed and constructive opposition that can be found anywhere in the world. But then again, its not something very proud either…

26. #26 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 9 August 2007 - 8:51 am

“consult” is just another word in the English dictionary, not unlike the bloody word “murder”.

Each word will develop its special legal meaning through judicial pronouncements in the court. This is what common law is all about. So, if AAB is not happy with the Rulers’ decision, he can bring the case to court and get its definition clarified. Then the world will know the system of ‘handouts’ and Executive interference in the nominally independent third pillar of the government. In Malaysia, the 3 branches are not seen as independent; Parliament is subject not just to the Executive, even worse, it is subservient just to UMNO! From the drift of all that’s been reported in the press over the years, it seems ‘evident’ judges are handpicked, even for elevation, according to their compliance with the whims of the Executive; again, it’s not the Executive per se but UMNO. Just UMNO can make the Malaysian world go round and round and round. Really giddy!

27. #27 by RealWorld on Thursday, 9 August 2007 - 10:11 am

“Realworld, obviously you being super rich and a receipient of umno’s favours do not understand the plight of the poor.” – lakshy

Obviously you have some trouble reading. I merely asked you two simple questions. It has nothing to do with me being “super rich” (as you claimed) or UMNO.

28. #28 by RealWorld on Thursday, 9 August 2007 - 10:18 am

“JUst as you enjoy the TUANSHIP STATUS and UNFAIR ADVANTAGES over other races…..You would not care about others rights and hardship???” – ReformMalaysia

What has my 2 questions gotta do with “tuanship status” and “unfair advantages”??? Suggest you read through my questions again … slowly this time.

29. #29 by Godfather on Thursday, 9 August 2007 - 11:06 am

UMNO Poodle, go away, and let us debate the real issues amongst ourselves. Stop sidetracking the rest of us like your masters are doing to the Malays.

30. #30 by lakshy on Thursday, 9 August 2007 - 11:50 am

…but undeniably the receipient of umno’s favours! Cheers Amigo!

31. #31 by lakshy on Thursday, 9 August 2007 - 11:51 am

and thanks for the endorsement..pasted herebelow again

“Thanks for reinforcing my point that the umno leaders cannot appreciate the problems of the poor. Or perhaps they do, and its by subjugating these people and keeping them ignorant that they can get rich.”

32. #32 by lakshy on Thursday, 9 August 2007 - 11:52 am

…and pass some of the bones to their underlings to enjoy too!

33. #33 by RealWorld on Thursday, 9 August 2007 - 12:25 pm

“UMNO Poodle, go away, and let us debate the real issues amongst ourselves. Stop sidetracking the rest of us like your masters are doing to the Malays.” – Godfather

Petty insults again?? Dude, you really need to step up with something more concrete than your usual tirade. And why do you see everything along racial lines?

“I’m a rottweiler.” – Godfather

Do you go around sniffing ass? :)

34. #34 by Godfather on Thursday, 9 August 2007 - 12:49 pm

My nose isn’t quite as brown as yours yet.

35. #35 by RealWorld on Thursday, 9 August 2007 - 12:58 pm

I bet each time you pee, you have one leg up. :)

36. #36 by Godfather on Thursday, 9 August 2007 - 1:01 pm

I have one leg up on UMNO.

37. #37 by Godfather on Thursday, 9 August 2007 - 1:18 pm

UMNO’s modus operandi is very clear. They send out their attack dogs one at a time. Najib made the “Islamic nation” comment. Mat Taib made the “insult against Islam and Agong” accusation. Zainuddeen Maideen made the “anti-Merdeka Statement” position. Then they all sit back and wait for the reaction. If the reaction becomes a little too hot, they call the press to stop writing. If the voices from the other BN parties become too unruly, they call the parties to threaten them.

All these would have worked well had it not been for the alternative media.

38. #38 by RealWorld on Thursday, 9 August 2007 - 1:36 pm

Well, I guess dogs do have wet dreams too.

39. #39 by Godfather on Thursday, 9 August 2007 - 1:37 pm

Particularly poodles when they are thrown crumbs by their thieving masters.

40. #40 by RealWorld on Thursday, 9 August 2007 - 1:49 pm

I think we are pretty clear who is the dog here.

… But a dog is a loyal animal, except for some pariah ones.

41. #41 by RealWorld on Thursday, 9 August 2007 - 2:02 pm

Classic!

42. #42 by never ending pain on Thursday, 9 August 2007 - 2:25 pm

hey guys…have you enver wonder whether these dogs have any dignity? if they do, guess they won’t do what they are doing now.

43. #43 by ethnicmalaysian on Thursday, 9 August 2007 - 6:32 pm

I’ve not really done this before putting people on the spot in a blog discussion, but in the interests of ‘on-tracking’ the side tracking above, would like to know if RealWorld is agreeable with the Merdeka Statement or with Zam’s position, and if so why?

44. #44 by shortie kiasu on Thursday, 9 August 2007 - 9:14 pm

I support the Merdeka Statement. I cast my vote herewith.

45. #45 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 9 August 2007 - 10:59 pm

Now we have the Conference of Rulers withholding their consent to the nomination by the government of the next CJ – unprecedented in our history!

What does it speak of our system of constitutional monarchy. It has its uses therefore. So you anti-monarchists out there listen up!

46. #46 by ihavesomethingtosay on Friday, 10 August 2007 - 12:07 am

I’ve not really done this before putting people on the spot in a blog discussion, but in the interests of ‘on-tracking’ the side tracking above, would like to know if RealWorld is agreeable with the Merdeka Statement or with Zam’s position, and if so why? – ethnicmalaysian

Well said, I agree with you.

47. #47 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 10 August 2007 - 9:52 am

Malaysia needs leaders with a cosmopolitan mind, peaceable attributes that can foster harmony amongst its diverse populations. Taken into account, there is no one race in the absolute majority if you regard Kadazans, Ibans, etc as being not Malay.

There must be balanced forces and reasonable leaders to develop fair and free policies for Malaysia. Think long-term. Otherwise, Malaysia will suffer when extremists and racists hold the reins of power. UMNO, for one, is racist and extremist. UMNO cannot be allowed to rule for another term or there will be worse damage. Malaysia should not slip into the same graves dug by countries like Afghanistan, Pakistan, Lebanon etc. nor the graves of corrupt nations like Zimbabwe.

Malaysians must wake up and give PKR/DAP a chance to prove their mettle through the next GE.

48. #48 by RealWorld on Friday, 10 August 2007 - 10:25 am

“Malaysians must wake up and give PKR/DAP a chance to prove their mettle through the next GE.” – ENDANGERED HORNBILL

Aikks, what about PAS? Arent they too in the Opposition?

49. #49 by k1980 on Friday, 10 August 2007 - 10:27 am

An excerpt of the letter (also sent to Malaysiakini) below, in which the writer calls on the US Embassy in Kuala Lumpur to revoke KJ’s US Visa.

Dear Sir,
    I call on the US consulate in Kuala Lumpur to revoke Khairy Jamaluddin’s visa, unless of course he is carrying a diplomatic passport, which he shouldn’t be.
    His recent statement that Anwar Ibrahim is a proxy for the Jews and Americans is a blatant racist remark and uncalled for.
    If Khairy strongly feels that towards Americans, then he should not be vacationing in the US and buying iPhones, which he recently bragged about in a newspaper article.

Srikanth Siva
    Chicago, IL USA.

http://www.malaysiakini.com/letters/70925
    This ‘young chiku’ has not even stood for a single election nationally. If not for his father-in-law, where would he be today?

http://www.malaysiakini.com/letters/70892
    Is it befitting that a young leader of the youth wing of Umno issue threats to these senior members of the coalition which preaches fair play and goodwill? Is this the new Barisan Nasional way?

50. #50 by Godfather on Friday, 10 August 2007 - 11:02 am

RealWorld: Stop sidetracking and answer the question posed by ethnicmalaysian above.

51. #51 by undergrad2 on Friday, 10 August 2007 - 11:13 am

“Malaysia needs leaders with a cosmopolitan mind…” HORNBILL

I hope you’re not referring those who read the ‘Cosmopolitan’.

52. #52 by RealWorld on Friday, 10 August 2007 - 1:24 pm

Dear Godfather,

You have not answer me why there are very few or none malays and indians in the DAP? (remember, you tai chi-ed my question to KIt???)

53. #53 by k1980 on Friday, 10 August 2007 - 2:47 pm

http://www.sun2surf.com/article.cfm?id=18877

…what is so objectionable about the setting up of a truth and reconciliation committee, designed to listen to people, talk about their personal experience of nation-building, of instances where government action or policy has, instead of bringing good, caused hurt and pain. It would be ordinary people sharing their stories, recounting their difficulties, letting the rakyat speak for themselves. There are so many things that we are not allowed to talk about, so many things that are the subject of threats of prosecution or incarceration, or actual gag orders.

54. #54 by ihavesomethingtosay on Friday, 10 August 2007 - 4:48 pm

Realworld, was your IP block by YM RPK’s Malaysia-Today’s website?

55. #55 by Godfather on Friday, 10 August 2007 - 7:36 pm

For those who have been objecting to my classification of UMNO as a den of thieves, read this:

http://aisehman.org/?p=237#comments

“We are not in the business of cheating the people.” AAB, 2006

56. #56 by RealWorld on Friday, 10 August 2007 - 11:23 pm

ihavesomethingtosay, no.
    Was your application for a credit card declined by the bank today?

57. #57 by devilmaster on Saturday, 11 August 2007 - 2:06 am

Do you think RealWorld has guts to go into Malaysia-Today? I told him to go there last time if he is interested in flaming with me. Until today, i am still waiting for him calling out my name in Malaysia-Today.

To RealWorld – i am still waiting for you in RPK’s website. If you got balls, come in and we can debate many issues there. You can chide my comments at there as liked you are doing to others in LKS blog. But beware of my fiery retaliation.

58. #58 by Godfather on Saturday, 11 August 2007 - 8:21 am

The poodle has been told by UMNO to use diversionary tactics. It’s perfectly OK for the more he defends the indefensible, it becomes clear to all the double standards practised by UMNO.

When I said “cakap tak serupa bikin” to UMNO, he tells everyone I also “cakap tak serupa bikin” by using company time to comment on this blog. When I outlined the methods of theft by UMNOputras, all he could say was that the opposition may also do the same. When I called him a poodle, he said it was petty insult, but he never said anything about his boss KJ labelling us as monkeys. When ethnicmalaysian asked him for his stand on this particular thread, he kept quiet and instead asked me why DAP has so few Malays and Indians as members.

When others complain about the blatant abuse of power and the lack of security in our own country, he comes up with a Johannesburg comparison. When I call his big boss the Sleeping Beauty, he accused me of petty insults (when even a standard 6 student knows who I mean) and then said that we are lucky there was no Slobodan Milosevic in this country.

Double standards everywhere. Justifications everywhere. All for the purposes of clinging to power in order to steal.

Look at the family that perished in Kluang because the father wanted to save money for his children’s education and therefore opted for candles instead of electricity. This is a Malay family, for heaven’s sake. While the UMNOputras cavort in limousines, helicopters and private jets, there are so many Malays out there who are deprived of the so-called NEP benefits. The majority of NEP benefits go to a few elite UMNOputras. Is this what Islam Hadhari is all about ?

59. #59 by ethnicmalaysian on Saturday, 11 August 2007 - 1:00 pm

I guess the fire got a little hot in the kitchen and RealWorld decided to bail on the question I posed above. Which is a little disappointing actually as i was half hoping to engage in a meaningful discussion of a substantive nature. Ah well, this is line with Umno’s modus operandi I guess, that is to avoid and sidetrack and shout, threaten, insult and ignore rather than engage and rebut in a rational and factual manner.
    But having said that, I don’t think RealWorld is an Umno stooge. Based on his/her comments thus far, my gut feel tells me he/she’s maybe more of an MCA/MIC apologist, eg. better to work within the system rather than without and better the devil you know than the devil you don’t.

60. #60 by RealWorld on Saturday, 11 August 2007 - 5:09 pm

“But having said that, I don’t think RealWorld is an Umno stooge. Based on his/her comments thus far, my gut feel tells me he/she’s maybe more of an MCA/MIC apologist, eg. better to work within the system rather than without and better the devil you know than the devil you don’t.” – ethnicmalaysian

Alamak member MIC/MCA pulak now?? Dulu cybertrooper. :)
    Man, can you lot do away with those assumptions?

Hmmm …. I am very tempted to make an assumption on you …

61. #61 by RealWorld on Saturday, 11 August 2007 - 5:13 pm

devilmaster,

Why, too hot for you to have a decent exchange in here?
    Your “But beware of my fiery retaliation.” You mean you are unable to hold a decent debate and will resort to losing your temper and throwing a rant??

Ohhh deary me … :(

62. #62 by devilmaster on Saturday, 11 August 2007 - 5:53 pm

Why, too hot for you to have a decent exchange in here? You mean you are unable to hold a decent debate and will resort to losing your temper and throwing a rant?? – RealWorld

If there is a better place, dont you think it is better to utilize it? Why want to waste it?

63. #63 by RealWorld on Saturday, 11 August 2007 - 7:57 pm

“If there is a better place, dont you think it is better to utilize it? Why want to waste it?” – devilmaster

Why is it better there and not here? You mean you cant unleash your … “But beware of my fiery retaliation” here, is it???

and dude, why la fiery retaliation? We are just having a discussion, no need to issue threats la.

64. #64 by devilmaster on Saturday, 11 August 2007 - 8:00 pm

RealWorld,

that’s not a threat-la. Dont be over-sentitive. I dont threaten anyone with either May 13 or the crooked keris. I just want to inform you there’s a better place for you to find me. And with that”better place”, i am sure you and i can talk anything as we liked – no boundaries.

65. #65 by RealWorld on Saturday, 11 August 2007 - 10:39 pm

devilmaster,

You mean there are “boundaries” here?? :(
    What “boundaries” may I know??
    Kinda confused now, one minute you issued a statement “You come into a DAP leader’s blog and you want to set your own rules of no name-calling & no petty insults?”, which kinda tells me that it is pretty no holds barred when it comes to name calling and petty insults here in the DAP blog. And now you say got “boundaries”???

Apala lu cakap karang?? Consistent la sikit brother.

You mean “fiery retaliation” is not a threat?? Dude, tell me when is your birthday, I get you a dictionary.

Anyway, dude, seriously lets be civil. No need to issue threats i.e. fiery retaliation. You are an educated person, be like one.

66. #66 by devilmaster on Saturday, 11 August 2007 - 10:54 pm

RealWorld,

You are more confused than i am. When did “fiery retaliation” become a threat? A “fiery retaliation” is a passive matter. It needs to be activated. A “threat” is an active matter. It can be started by anyone, including you or me.

If you would like to send me the dictionary in order to make you happy that i am confused than you are, then send it to DAP Ipoh Main branch. Include another Thesaurus pls, if you dont mind.

67. #67 by RealWorld on Saturday, 11 August 2007 - 10:59 pm

devilmaster,

“But beware of my fiery retaliation.” Not a threat?
    Dude, dude, I will think carefully what I will write next, if I were you.

68. #68 by RealWorld on Saturday, 11 August 2007 - 11:02 pm

“If you would like to send me the dictionary in order to make you happy that i am confused than you are, then send it to DAP Ipoh Main branch. Include another Thesaurus pls, if you dont mind.” – devilmaster

Sure I will. Your birthdate and name please? I will get you a nice card along with your present too.

69. #69 by devilmaster on Saturday, 11 August 2007 - 11:11 pm

“Dude, dude, I will think carefully what I will write next, if I were you.” – RealWorld

That’s your problem, not my problem. Ok?

70. #70 by RealWorld on Saturday, 11 August 2007 - 11:25 pm

devilmaster,

“But beware of my fiery retaliation.” Not a threat? Care to answer now? :)

…. and by the way, since you want your birthday present delivered to DAP Ipoh main branch, I take it that you are a member. You made fun of your country by calling it Bolehland and coupled with your threats, are this the Opposition’s way?

71. #71 by devilmaster on Saturday, 11 August 2007 - 11:37 pm

“Care to answer now? :)” – RealWorld

Is that a threat? :)

72. #72 by devilmaster on Saturday, 11 August 2007 - 11:48 pm

“You made fun of your country by calling it Bolehland and coupled with your threats, are this the Opposition’s way?” – RealWorld

All of it had been answered before. Please click it & read properly.

http://blog.limkitsiang.com/2007/08/10/merdeka-social-contractmalaysia-agreement-principle-of-secular-malaysia-driven-underground/#comment-43838

http://blog.limkitsiang.com/2007/08/07/merdeka-statement-cabinet-should-deplore-the-zainuddin-led-attack/#comment-43867

Please dont repeat the same thing again la. I am getting sleepy in talking to you.

73. #73 by RealWorld on Sunday, 12 August 2007 - 12:02 am

Trying to be comical now, eh?

74. #74 by devilmaster on Sunday, 12 August 2007 - 12:05 am

Sorry, i seldom joke to others. Now i am asking you – is that a threat?

75. #75 by RealWorld on Sunday, 12 August 2007 - 12:07 am

Shall we let the authorities decide?

76. #76 by devilmaster on Sunday, 12 August 2007 - 12:09 am

Shall we let the authorities decide? – RealWorld

The best solution!

77. #77 by RealWorld on Sunday, 12 August 2007 - 12:23 am

Stay online a little while more, ok.