Why Malacca State Excos of MCA and Gerakan must resign from Ali Rustam government

The Cabinet tomorrow should censure the Malacca State Government and the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi as Barisan Nasional Chairman should remove Datuk Seri Ali Rustam as Malacca Chief Minister for defiance of Cabinet decision on the formula to end the pig-rearing crisis in Malacca as well as spoiling the national mood and spirit of celebrations of 50th Merdeka anniversary in the whole country by all Malaysians.

It is shocking that Ali Rustam and his State Government were allowed to defy the Sept. 5 decision of the Cabinet that there should not be any destruction of pigs and the two-point formula to resolve the pig-rearing crisis in Malacca, viz: the Malacca state government to allow the pig rearers to change the use of the land and secondly, pig rearers allowed to get bank loans for waste disposal systems with the state government giving the guarantee that it would not revoke TOL to ensure security of the industry to justify such investments by the pig-rearers.

With such a Cabinet decision two weeks ago, why was the Malacca Chief Minister and his gang allowed to go through the charade and their “terror tactics” of forcing the pig rearers to comply with the unreasonable and impossible target to cull or reduce 97,000 heads of pigs in 17 days by Sept. 21, or face another “show-of-force” like the Sept. 4 confrontation in Paya Mengkuang against defenceless men, women and children by 2,000-strong personnel including fully-armed police FRU, enforcement squads from multi-agencies including immigration, state and local authorities together with personnel in “space suits”, tear gas, water cannons, and a hovering helicopter?

What is most shocking is that such arrogant, high-handed and coercive tactics employed by the Malacca state authorities violate every concept of a good and democratic governance, with the elected government shamefully treating law-abiding citizens making a proper and honourable living from the pig-rearing industry like criminals and even terrorists!

What is even more shocking is that the MCA was a party to the whole charade, as the actions taken against the pig-rearers in the state was not that of Umno Malacca State Government but that of the Barisan Nasional Malacca state government, comprising MCA and Gerakan state excos.

It is utterly disgraceful that 50 years of Barisan Nasional “power-sharing” has totally changed character from “equal political partners” of Barisan Nasional component parties to “UMNO political rulers and MCA and Gerakan subjects” in the State Government, with MCA and Gerakan state exco members denuded of any right to participate in the state government decision-making process.

It is very sad that 50 years after Merdeka and the “social contract”, MCA and Gerakan state excos in Malacca have been reduced to the status of “petition-writers” whose role is to appeal to the Chief Minister, Umno State Exco members, State Secretary and even Umno parliamentary secretary to try to modify harsh and unreasonable decisions instead of ensuring that such decisions are not taken in the first place.

The Sept. 4 stand-off at Paya Mengkuang, the 17-day directive to cull or reduce 97,000 heads of pigs, the compulsory land acquisition notices and the show cause demands as to why properties should not be confiscated for improper land use are instances of gross abuses of power and should never have been allowed to happen if the MCA and Gerakan are meaningful parts of the Malacca state government, and not just hangers-on and “petitioner-writers” after substantive decisions are taken whether with or without their presence.

This is why I had said that MCA and Gerakan State Exco members should quit the Ali Rustam Malacca State Government so as not to set a dangerous and disgraceful precedent of being silent part of the Malacca State Government oppression of the pig farmers.

Or has the MCA and Gerakan leaders, whether at state or national level, reached a stage where they dare not even express condemnation of Ali Rustam’s abuses of power and contempt for proper Barisan Nasional “power sharing” in the state?

What justification could there be for MCA and Gerakan to continue to be part of the Ali Rustam Malacca State Government even if all the abuses of power could be revoked — the high-handed and unreasonable decision to cull or reduce 97,000 heads of pigs by Sept. 21, the compulsory land acquisitions and the refusal to comply with the Sept. 5 Cabinet decision to allow pig rearers in Malacca to get Bank Negara Fund for Food assistance for proper waste disposal systems with State government guarantee of security of tenure of the pig rearing industry?

1. #1 by sotong on Tuesday, 18 September 2007 - 3:26 pm

This is most shameful and totally unacceptable in any civilised society…..law abiding and defenceless people treated like criminals.

This government had lost it…..using the state’s defence personnels in all areas of combat to resolve this small non violent domestic isssue!!!

The MB must apologize and resign immediately. The Non Malays must seriously reconsider their place in BN and increase their political awareness to protect their basic rights under the Constitution.

2. #2 by achmedrauff on Tuesday, 18 September 2007 - 4:44 pm

I guess MCA and Gerakan has been relegated to do the dirty work. Reminds me of a Mafia like organization.

3. #3 by waterman on Tuesday, 18 September 2007 - 4:44 pm

“It is very sad that 50 years after Merdeka and the “social contract”, MCA and Gerakan state excos in Malacca have been reduced to the status of “petition-writers” whose role is to appeal to the Chief Minister, Umno State Exco members, State Secretary and even Umno parliamentary secretary to try to modify harsh and unreasonable decisions instead of ensuring that such decisions are not taken in the first place.”

Spot on again YB Uncle Lim!

What a painful way down for us Chinese led by MCA:-

In the late 60’s our Chinese leader put a population of 40%, on the NB negotiating table & went away with the worst deal imaginable in history.What a “push over man”!

Some 40 years today our Chinese leader still has with him a population of 25% but can find that negotiating table no more and has to plea & appeal. What a “beggarman”!

Looking ahead not far down the road with a yet smaller % of population, our would be “chinchong” leader will wake up to find no body needs you here anymore.What a “Pityman”!

I suggest we take the 25% now and start negotiate for a new & fair deal once every 5 years, if not, then its time to get out of BN. “!( Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting, I hope you get to read this, you owe this to your Chinese people!)

Quite honestly, we Chinese need a “put our foot down man” working hand in hand with all the other races fairly & harmoniously to a better, stronger & wealthier Malaysia.

God bless my country, Malaysia.Amen!

4. #4 by ihavesomethingtosay on Tuesday, 18 September 2007 - 5:04 pm

LIOW’s tail is now between his legs just like the rest of its running party mates.

5. #5 by madmix on Tuesday, 18 September 2007 - 6:19 pm

when it involves the business and livelihood of non-malays, show no mercy and just bulldose through. When it comes to malays, this Rustam fellow can sell government assets to them at heavy discounts to market price to “help bumiputeras”. What is there to prevent the buyer to reap a profit by selling it later without even operating the resort.

6. #6 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 18 September 2007 - 6:24 pm

“I suggest we take the 25% now and start negotiate for a new & fair deal once every 5 years, if not, then its time to get out of BN.” waterman

It doesn’t work that way isn’t it? Can all Malaysian Chinese unite under one political party that fight for their rights without any question, that dares to say in Rustam face “we wants our pigs!”. MCA cannot achieved it, what makes DAP can? You see, most of the BN supports are businessman because they still have the crumbs, you know the situation where you got no fish prawns also can, why would Chinese need to “put our foot down” when it is still ok to eat less but more expensive pork (eh..! who knows one day pork will be exotic delicacy in Tanah Melayu?). MCA already kena play backside in Malacca, that’s good enough! Now see if the pig rearers are sensible enough to vote for DAP, then if Rustam misuse his authority again, DAP can start a “pig war” with them.

7. #7 by Justicewanted on Tuesday, 18 September 2007 - 7:07 pm

Fifty years ago, Umno, MCA and MIC were partners in forming the Government.

Now the Umnoputra has Umno-king and MCA, MIC, Gerakan and others have their subjects.

8. #8 by Justicewanted on Tuesday, 18 September 2007 - 7:11 pm

sorry typo should be… Umnoputra has become Umno-king

9. #9 by disapointed86 on Tuesday, 18 September 2007 - 7:54 pm

lolz..i wonder the country im living in now is Democratic or what?…cannot settle the problems use so much manpower(violent)(from few dept) to fight against defenceless children and women? lolz..[deleted]….if PM does not sack him… i believe this govn is driving the country towards the drain…suddenly feel pity to all the late PM’s….fight so hard for independence and end up [deleted]….by the way.. they complain about the resort nearby the pig farm spoil the beauty of the resort..a question from me..”Who occupy the place in the first place”..my goodness so unreasonable..its like..u stay there first..follow by me..i dont like you..can you please transfer elsewhere? [deleted]

10. #10 by the archer on Tuesday, 18 September 2007 - 8:55 pm

dear yb
    maybe you can write another article as to why it won’t happen? i am sure you would be able to write it with justification as well as you have written this article. while you may be creating awareness amongst the rakyat as to what should rightfully happen and maybe this is part of your overall “information” strategy, you have yet to inform us on the opposition plan for the coming ge? have you all got your act together yet(i mean the opposition) or is it going to be last minute scuffle as it always happens and then you all just fade away for another five years and keep filling us in on details like what should and should not happen. it’s good that you have proposed a budget which i believe is much much better than that presented by the govt(i remember suggesting this a few months ago..but i am sure that it was being planned anyway)…now we need to know ure plans for the coming ge..maybe not entirely but at least enough for malaysians to decide…and i think many malaysians will give you and the opposition a chance this time around…just get your act together sir.

11. #11 by voice on Tuesday, 18 September 2007 - 8:59 pm

Just wondering can we put our voices on this website?
    http://www.avaaz.org/en/

let’s get the world’s attention

12. #12 by ablastine on Tuesday, 18 September 2007 - 9:45 pm

There is no point harping on the issue because you can talk as much as you want but if it is not followed by resolute action nothing will come out of it. Talk is just cheap. If you want change then you must fight for it. If you want to retain your rightful place in the country you must make your stand when pushed and challenged. The time has arrived. If the people can allow Ali Rustam to do as he wishes to the pig farmers, there can be no place to run or hide. When is it going to stop. Today it is pig farm. Tomorrow it will be the chicken farm. Then it will be the duck farm. MCA and Gerakan cannot and will not do anything of substance. If DAP can show that they have the guts to stand up to this injustice, it has earned at least the moral right to lead not just as opposition but perhaps even the country.

I sincerely suggest that Uncle Lim not only table his motion tomorrow in Parliment but organise the entire DAP and whoever feels that such injustice cannot be tolerated to gather for the showdown with Ali Rustam and his stooger on 21st September at the pig farms. It is my sincere wish that PKR and even PAS stand on DAP side this time at the frontline to show everybody especially the BN Government that the opposition is not to be meddled with. Enough is enough. Lets see who is mightier. A frustrated people or Ali Rustam stoogers. MCA or Gerakan may choose to resign from Ali Rustam government or continue to hide behind UMNO with their tail behind their legs [deleted].

13. #13 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 18 September 2007 - 10:43 pm

What “show-of-force” ?

Come September 21st, you can bet that these so called ‘defenceless men, women and children’ will be there at the front line to defend their livelihood, whether or not DAP, PKR or other NGOs are there to show solidarity.

Doe anyone seriously think that the “2,000 strong personnel including fully-armed police FRU, enforcement squads from multi-agencies including immigration, state and local authorities together with personnel in “space suits”, tear gas, water cannons, and a hovering helicopter will be ordered to mow down defenceless men, women and children?

There will be certain bloodshed that even Ali Rustam and his State Government (especially after the Sept. 5 decision of the Cabinet) – and the BN government – cannot afford. They are just issuing threats in hope that the farmers are intimidated to relent but if the farmers stand up to them and prepare to fight it out, the force will not show!

MCA and Gerakan’s officials are in such pathetic situation because they have given in every inch of the way, pride being relegated to 2nd seat because of the desire for crumbs in betterment of their personal livelihood.

Though outnumbered, the farmers too will be there to fight – and they too, for their livelihood!

You think that Ali Rustam is willing to face a real clash with the responsibility of injuries and even death of defenceless men, women and children just to posture for votes for the coming election?

I may be wrong but if the farmers really come out in full force on September 21st to defend their livelihood, I think it is the Malacca State Government that will surely back down.

I can see no other outcome in the face of a dangerous and explosive standoff unless the MB has gone out of his mind!

14. #14 by House Victim on Tuesday, 18 September 2007 - 11:11 pm

Should it be time that Parliament should put a test to show what can be done if someone choose to ignore the resolution of the Parliament?

Should it be time to let people see if Parliament really cares about the Rules & Regulations that had been built by the last 50 years for members of Parliament to solve the problem of the public at the HIGHEST LEVEL? Or, it has become a show place for the Parties and no more for the resolve of PEOPLE’S matters?

When Parties have more priority than the Daily business of the People, the meaning of Parliament had gone – half way!!

If there is a penalty cause for violation of the resolution of the Parliament, please motion it to activate that penalty by Voting with the note of the names of each and every member. Let the People see WHO will vote for the benefit of the People.

If nothing can be done, then, the existing of the Parliament is meaningless as they cannot even put their resolution to work!!!

And, so what is the meaning of the GE!! Oscar??

15. #15 by ablastine on Tuesday, 18 September 2007 - 11:33 pm

The pitiful farmers together with their helpless families should not be allowed to be outnumbered by the raiding party of Ali Rustam. A civil society is not just about talking but must also do its talk. I plead that anyone with a streak of righteousness in him and appreciate the helpless predicament of the farmers to come out in force to support them.

16. #16 by wtf2 on Tuesday, 18 September 2007 - 11:53 pm

the pigs
    the dogs

watch out for your temples and churches and all things that are not halal

17. #17 by NextNoName on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 12:15 am

18. #18 by Godfather on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 1:25 am

Resign and risk losing the crumbs handed out by UMNO ? No way ! They’d rather sell their own race down the river.

19. #19 by mwt on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 4:35 am

Another Reprieve for Malacca Pigs? – No more Mass Killing? According to the exclusive interview with Sin Chew, Najib has stated the cabinet has instructed the Meleka government not to carry out large-scale pig destruction operations and proposed two solutions. The first is that the Melaka state government is to allow pig farmers to change their land tenure. Secondly, the state government will assure banks that it will not be recalling the original temporary leases of the pig farms. He added that this is only an agreement between the Melaka state and the Federal government.
    In view of the GE, the BN at last has come to its senses for the survival of MCA and the marginal BN seats. More details at:

http://powerpresent.blogspot.com/2007/09/reprieve-for-malacca-pigs-no-more-mass.html
    & pics of solidarity Dinner at Malacca

20. #20 by sotong on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 7:36 am

A slogan like ” Defend the Pigs! ” could win the Opposition the coming election, if not many seats in Non Malays areas!

21. #21 by k1980 on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 10:15 am

In the light of Muslim sensitivity, “Defend the Pigs!” slogan should be renamed to “Defend the Short Buffalows!

22. #22 by Kingkong on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 10:17 am

No one really wants to solve the problem, the government, the opposition and the pig farmers.

The government shut down pig farms in other areas, perceivably politically weaker and so all other pig farmers started to move to Paya Mengkuang perceivably politically stronger. As a result, the pollution of the area, particularly the beach nearby, intensifies. One should go and see the area around the mouth of the river which is forever dark as in contrast to the other parts of the beautiful beach where holiday makers like to go. Obviously no one would like to swim around where the pig shits gather.

The pig farmers are the wealthy lots. Yet no one is willing to invest in an effective system for the sewage discharge and the government does not help either. Everybody only provides lip service. When the pollution problem forces kampong folks to the wall, the government steps in, the pig farmers call MCA, Gerakan or DAP to counteract and this scenario has been going on for so many donkey years.

The problem has become tricky; the Chinese have to eat pork, depending rearing pigs for living and the Malay kampong folks, unfortunately surrounding the pig farms have to suffer from the pollution of the pig shits which somehow is a taboo to their religion.

This is a potential time bomb for a possible clash if it is not dealt with intelligently.

23. #23 by pwcheng on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 1:44 pm

Brother Kit, where do we have power sharing since the dawn of TDM. The powers are all in the hands of the Bumi .The portfolio the nons are holding are all second class portfolio either heavily diluted or of no consequences to their NEP,viz

i) Ministry of Transport has only enforcement power and issuing of road tax. This ministry is eroded by the Ministry of Entrepreneur Development which has the power to issue commercial vehicles and taxi licenses to fulfill their NEP policy. This LPKP portfolio is to dilute the power of the transport ministry for purpose that is clear to all of us.
    ii) Ministry oh Health and Ministry of Works. Tell me how much power do they have other than being a “Mandor” to that Ministry. All high level administrative matters (or money making) like contracts for buildings and Procurement of medicine are handled by the Finance Ministry. Have we not heard of our great Samy Vellu shouting “go ask the Finance Ministry “ whenever there is a fiasco in the any of the govt buildings.
    iii) Ministry of Housing and Local Government. This is a Ministry which has absolute power on matters relating to rubbish and drains. They do not have any power over The Local council which are 100% run by the Malays. We know why there is no election for local councils and the Chinaman minister cannot do anything even the council is rotten to the core, which is happening everywhere.
    iv) Ministry of Primary Industries. Isn’t petroleum falls under the Primary industry. Primary industries are capital intensive except some old Chinese estates. They know NEP is not very critical in this Ministry.
    v) Minister of Energy, Water and Telecommunication, Malaysia. How much voice does he have insofar as giving out contracts to supply, build and maintain any infrastructure that concern his ministry.
    vi) Minister of Unity. What power are we talking in this ministry.

So it is real bullshit that they are telling us and the world that there is power sharing since the demise of Tan Siew Sin, Lim Swee Ann. Whatever the Ministry the nons are holding are all diluted and of no hindrance to their NEP. Further more all contracts involving any of those ministries are handled by the Finance Ministry and more often than not they messed it up for the nons to answer.

24. #24 by ablastine on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 1:57 pm

The fairest way as I can see is to give sufficient notice to the pig farmers to relocate to a designated areas where chances of pollution to rivers is minimal and away from especially Malay kampongs. If they do not want to install modern waste disposal system then do not issue them the licence to farm. It would be helpful to extend low interest loans to families who cannot afford the expensive system. If they refuse to relocate after all this and especially after adequate time has been given for instance 2-3 years then there is every right for the authority to step in.

25. #25 by House Victim on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 2:18 pm

Any industry with pollutants needs rules and regulations as well as an effective pollution handling system not only by individuals but also to be worked out by professionals and the government with a well organized system. They must work together.

Similarly, to a housing estate where pollutants are also quite abundant but they are handled by different systems, such as sewage and garbage collection system. Same could be applied for pig farming but in a bigger scale and different technique.

However, the pig farming in Malaysia had been lacking the support from the Government where there could be a lot of rules and regulations but have they be effective and practical with the right technology and supports?

If the Government are willing to find solution, there are quite a number to be found in Denmark or in Hong Kong. The former being one of the biggest in the world with co-operative system with combined efforts from the farmer and the government and they are one of the important agricultural sector in Denmark. One of the technique including sawdust bedding leading to solid waste treatment instead of the huge sewage treatment system. With wood/furniture industries in Malacca, sawdust could be a lot to enable this to be started. But, without the confirmation and support from the Government with loan and land and system to support the solid waste treatment (which is much smaller when compare with sewage treatment) but still a huge investment that depends on long-term return.

Unless Pig farmer is taken as a national agricultural project just as any agricultural project with the support of the Government in all respect with loan or subsidize and planning for long-term investment, the problem will continue as any agricultural production could be profitable but also quite risky in compare with others.

HAD THE PIG FARMERS BEEN GIVEN AN EQUAL CHANCE TO WORK TOGETHER WITH THE GOVERNMENT? Or, a sector being discriminated or being sacrificed under BUREAUCRACY or even ….?Why pig farming in many countries can work out and not Malaysia?

As mentioned by KingKong, it is a question of willingness to handle with wisdom!

26. #26 by sotong on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 4:16 pm

Pollution, like other issues, is just an excuse.

Decades of religious extremism and fundamentalism with narrow, shallow and damaging politics had done a lot of damage to a multi religious country.

If the people are not proper guided in religion with an open mind, how could they understand other religions and be tolerant of differences…..there is no quick fix.

27. #27 by disapointed86 on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 5:08 pm

i believe pig farming is like a criminal to the government..we dont see such problem occurs in our neighbouring country? why? so obvious because the government also work together to set up those location and set up a systematical sewage discharge so that the nearby places wont be affect by the farm…i believe this problem occur because Ali Rustam’s gov…is a muslim where pig is (NON-HALAL) to them…

28. #28 by DarkJustice on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 5:48 pm

This is the opportunity and publicity for BN to put fear to voters that DAP and opposition parties are creating troubles by instigating the farmers to go against government in the pig issue. I am very sure it will be shown at TVs and widely reported in the newspaper with lies on how DAP instigate the farmers and this will create opportunity for the BN to get the police to arrest DAP leaders before the General Election.

See what they have distorted in the Trengganu ceramah recently blaming opposition parties trouble makers and burning of natinal flags,etc..

I hope the rakyat will not be fooled by the dirty tactics of BN before the General Election as they are trying to get the opposition leaders be arrested under the so-called ISA again.

Why the needs of Immigration Dept personnel to be at the Paya Mengkuang?? Don’t tell me you want to check they are illegal pigs?? Don’t waste your time here.. There are many illegal immigrants many places that you need to go and check and even at airports..to stop them from committing crimes at our countries but not the pigs!!

Is this what the Islam Hadhari preached by Pak Lah and BN stooges to kill those poor animals(pigs) in the holy month of Ramadhan?? They have lives like us too and perhaps it’s good Pak Lah read the story on “Animal Farm – by George Orwell” that one day the animals will revolt against human beings one day…..Maybe the characters of ‘Snowball’ and “Napoleon”- the two famous pigs will come alive on 21 September to fight against the BN..

29. #29 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 6:39 pm

If they can kill cows and buffalos openly during Hari Raya Haji, why not kill pigs in Ramadhan? But what are they going to do with the carcasses? Have a kenduri?

All these jazz about Malaysia being an Islamic state is just a big fuss. As I have mentioned in my other comments, if at all Malaysia is to be an Islamic state, many things have to be changed first of all.

PAS should be invited to join the governing of the nation by BN as it is a pure Islamic organization. By denying such status to PAS, BN is proclaiming TWO separate Islam religions in Malaysia – UMNO Islam and PAS Islam. So, are there two different QURANs?

Then, perhaps non-Islamic political parties like MCA, MIC, Gerakan, PPP and others should immediately quit the government for these are non-Islamic political parties. Their members are non-halal and are not fit to sit in a parliament consisting of Muslims running an Islamic state. Members of these political parties have not been circumcised and they still eat pork!!

In view of this argument, AAB’s proclamation that Malaysia is an Islamic nation is nothing but utter nonsense.

30. #30 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 19 September 2007 - 7:39 pm

See, we don’t really need the pigs you know. It is even ok to make it as illegal farming in Tanah Melayu, eat more vegetables is good for you. Now we can support Rustam iniatives but what when the pig rearers are out of business, who’s gonna take care of them, their childrens and their future? UMNO? MCA? Or Gerakan? Are they going to pay to feed them all? I don’t think so because I beleive that isn’t how political party works.

We can all convert to Islam for all I care but can we then become equal citizens and not some Malaysian Chinese Muslim and had different set of laws just to complicated our lives? Can UMNO name the criteria how non-bumis can be equal as them? Rustam must be warn there is a borderline as what a government can or cannot do as the consequences can be dangerous yo! There is some facts that cannot be changed in Tanah Melayu, the Chinese is here and damn they eat pork. Try banned it and see!

31. #31 by ktteokt on Thursday, 20 September 2007 - 9:04 am

They killed dogs in the year of the Dog, now in the year of the Pig, they turn to shooting pigs. Are they going to shoot rats in the year of the Rat, then cows, tigers, rabbits, dragons, snakes, horses, goats, monkeys and chickens according to the chinese zodiac?

32. #32 by akarmalaysian on Monday, 22 October 2007 - 12:55 pm

hey…its good not to take so much pork.but then malaysians of non muslims hv the right to eat pork the way they want it to be.whats so wrong with pigs whn thr are so many blood sucking animals in the cabinets?you definitely cant take the right off fr the people who consume pork.its to absurd and childish.guess its just another idiot trying to salvage attention for himself.i am not a muslim but i am a MALAYSIAN who happens to eat pork.by the way…we knw what pigs are….i am sure many of you knw what too ko is…right?