Why Join Politics?

Media Statement by Yeo Bee Yin on joining the Democratic Action Party on Monday 27 August 2012 in Kuala Lumpur:

My mom has rightly asked, “you can have a decent and comfortable life now already, why choose such a hard life?” The reason is because I love this nation and desire to see a better Malaysia.

I have met just so many young and bright Malaysians who left home for better opportunities abroad. If all of these continue, we’ll soon reach a point of no return.

Therefore I decided to join DAP to make a change. I do not want to be a bystander as my country is going through one of the most important turning points of history, either for the better or worse future. I do not want to regret at the latter part of my life, seeing my country at peril, just because people of my generation have not done enough and have chosen comfort over sacrifice. To quote Edmund Burke (埃德蒙·伯克), “all that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing”.

I believe that Malaysian youths can make a difference, and am always encouraged by Apostle Paul who wrote in a letter to his spiritual son, Timothy, “Let no one despise you for your youth, but set an example in what you say, in the way you live, in your love, faith and purity.”

Yes, young Malaysians are on Facebook and Twitter most of the time and we do watch YouTube videos quite ‘a bit’ but we too are concerned about our environment, the welfare of fellow Malaysians and the future of our children. We have different opinions on how our country should be governed.

Therefore I want to make young voices heard and hope that more young Malaysians can join us or at their respective positions do their part, to make Malaysia a country that is free from corruption, united regardless of race and religion as well as competitive in the global economy.

How I hope to contribute to DAP

I will continue to use my expertise in social media to help DAP to reach out to the young and internet savvy whose support are critical in the next general election. I believe strongly that the social media will add a completely different dimension to political campaigning in the very near future.

At the same time, I have a strong interest in environmental, sustainability and energy policy and believe that this has been an area generally neglected by politicians. I will take part actively in policy-making when the opportunity arises by contributing my knowledge in this field constructively towards a greener Malaysia, as we move forward in economic development.
———————–

** Yeo Bee Yin grew up in a small town in Segamat. She attended Chinese schools for both her primary and secondary education. Just like many kampung teenagers, she couldn’t speak English until she attended the university.

She studied Chemical Engineering in Universiti Teknologi Petronas under Petronas Scholarship and graduated top in the graduate year 2006. After 2 years of work, she continued her study in Cambridge University under Gates Cambridge Scholarship. She completed her MPhil in Advanced Chemical Engineering in Cambridge University with a Commendation from the Department of Chemical Engineering.

During her bachelor year, she spent 6 months interning in BASF Headquarter in Ludwigshafen, Germany. Prior to attending Cambridge University, she worked for Schlumberger as a Field Engineer in oil and gas industry. She was assigned to work in Turkmenistan and spent two years working in the desert and in the middle of the sea.

After a few years abroad working and studying, she was back to Malaysia end of 2010. She changed her career path entirely and started her own business in the new and growing social media industry.

Bee Yin currently serves as DAP HQ Social Media Strategy Advisor

1. #1 by sheriff singh on Monday, 27 August 2012 - 5:22 pm

Well done gal. Impressive. When you get into Parliament, watch out for that Bung from the interior if he manages to sneak in again. He and his geng of bullies have the itchy disease. Give him a scratch or two to cure his itchiness. Good luck.

2. #2 by Winston on Monday, 27 August 2012 - 5:58 pm

My mom has rightly asked, “you can have a decent and comfortable life now already, why choose such a hard life?” – End of quote

Yes, you mom is right.
    Politics is tough.
    And in a country ruled by a party that is a disciple of Satan, it’s doubly hard.
    It’s a place where those who are in the wrong never cease to criticise those who are right.
    They will say and do anything and everything that flies in the face of facts.
    Because they have stumbled onto a good thing – the gravy train.
    And they will protect it come what may.
    To be successful in this field, one must be unswerving and be able to throw everything back at them.
    And more.
    Here’s wishing you every success!

3. #3 by monsterball on Monday, 27 August 2012 - 6:37 pm

“Let no one despise you for your youth. but set an example in what you say, in the way you live, in your love, faith and purity”…Ms Yeo quoted Apostle Paul.
    With that she became a soldier of truth… marching on for country and people.
    She is much to be admired at this young age….behaving so unselfishly.

4. #4 by changay on Monday, 27 August 2012 - 11:25 pm

God Bless you as you courageously take on this new challenge to make badly needed changes to our country. You can be sure many right thinking Christians will be praying for you and the country. Thank you for choosing the narrow and difficult path, but God will be with you.

5. #5 by Comrade on Tuesday, 28 August 2012 - 12:58 am

“Go in through the narrow gate, because the gate to hell is wide and the road that leads to it is easy, and there are many who travel it. But the gate to life is narrow and the way that leads to it is hard, and there are few people who find it.” (Matthew 7:13-14)

Thank you young lady for choosing the narrow and hard path,but God will bless you and give you wisdom and strength as you face the challenges to give a better future to our country.

6. #6 by monsterball on Tuesday, 28 August 2012 - 1:19 am

Loving God and the country and people by anyone is much to be admired.
    Blessed with good educations and can earn a good living..give it up to fight for freedom for the people at this time…is from a most unselfish Malaysian.
    So young …so well educated…so unselfish…future leaders are made of such stuffs.
    Do not have jealous eyes and envious …..if she rises up to be somebody important to become an important Malaysian law maker in the future.

7. #7 by monsterball on Tuesday, 28 August 2012 - 1:22 am

Najib said UMNO b law makers have always been God fearing and got tons of comments from Malaysians proving…no so..especially from him and Mahathir..all at Malaysiakini.

8. #8 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 28 August 2012 - 7:28 pm

Congratulations! Bee Yin, you are young and promising. The face of Malaysia will soon change for the better when young people like yourself dedicate your lives to a higher cause.

And there is no higher cause than to serve God and Man.

9. #9 by boh-liao on Friday, 31 August 2012 - 1:30 am

Aiyoyoh, what a WASTE such a young n delicious l@ssie hanging around DAP? Opined d hum sup porno boss of a political party
    WHY? Y? Y?! Come lah, cutie juicy pie, join my party, just like Ms TowTruck 拖車姐
    I promise U a great time together, let dis
    老牛吃嫩草 (Old bull eats juicy young leaves)
    I am right here, waiting for U
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iLi_osYNsOU