Limit the parliamentary majority

— Lucius Goon
Nov 29, 2011

NOV 29 — In a democracy it comes down to numbers. Barisan Nasional has more numbers in Parliament and is able to push through legislation, even when it is self-serving and meant for regime preservation.

This afternoon the Peaceful Assembly Bill was passed in Parliament by BN members and the frogs (calling them independent would be a disservice to independents the world over). Pakatan Rakyat MPs walked out because they wanted the Bill to be withdrawn and redrawn.

But that was never going to happen. As it is the Najib government was forced to eat humble pie and amend the Bill after it was pointed out that the legislation was even more regressive than Myanmar’s new laws on protests.

There is no use wailing or crying foul. BN has the numbers and we gave them the numbers in 2008. So it is perfectly legitimate for them to rubber stamp any legislation they want, except any change in law which requires two-thirds of Parliament’s support.

It is not the end of the world. We can always take back the numbers we gave them in 2008 and make sure that the next government repeals the Peaceful Assembly Act.

But if there is one lesson which we should take from today, it is this: it will be a dangerous gambit for us to give BN enough seats for them to have two-thirds majority in Parliament. Very, very dangerous.

Because then they will be able to change the Federal Constitution, put restrictions on the freedom of religion, assembly, revocation of citizenship and the like.

1. #1 by dagen on Wednesday, 30 November 2011 - 9:08 am

DOWN WITH UMNO!

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 30 November 2011 - 9:20 am

PSA is like a loaded gun pointing to just about anyone. It could be YOU. Sooner or later SOMETHING will fire it. Its guranteed..

You don’t want a loaded gun pointing at you. The only way is to get rid of UMNO/BN..

3. #3 by alikim on Wednesday, 30 November 2011 - 9:23 am

” Limit the parliamentary majority” for better Malaysia!

4. #4 by SENGLANG on Wednesday, 30 November 2011 - 9:28 am

It was not easy for any government that have in rule for ages to make fundamental changes. The taste of sweet is not that easy to be forgone. If any one wish for a fundamental changes it can only happen by changing the majority and it is off best to have a government change.

That will not be easy as the ruling coalition parties have all the machinery within their disposal that also included taxpayers’ funded such as the government agencies.

but hope is not lost all we need is to cast our vote wisely come the next GE.

5. #5 by tak tahan on Thursday, 1 December 2011 - 1:07 pm

It’s so sad to hear that Malaysian Parliament passed away at the age of 54.

http://malaysia-today.net/mtcolumns/letterssurat/45410-occupyparlimen-memorial-service-for-death-of-malaysian-parliament