Surcharge who?

Sdr. Lim Kit Siang, You might be interested in my experience in Sabah, trying to save Government/Taxpayers’ Money:

When I was serving in Sabah, in 1989 I think it was, and called for quotations to buy ‘Dental Drills’ for use in the field by Nurses, to fill Children’s teeth. You may not know that the Children in Sabah had really very poor Dental Health, and there was an urgent need to do as much as possible, by way of stretching both equipment and personnel available.

The lowest quote I got was for RM 1250/- ber unit. The basic rules in Sabah were as follows: Quotations from Sabah registered Companies get a 10% advantage, and Sabah registered Bumiputera companies get another 5%, over and above the 10%..i.e. a total of 15 % over the price quoted by Companies outside Sabah.

Generally these Sabah Companies contact the bigger suppliers in Semenanjung and, submit bids just under that 10% thresh hold,or just under the 15% thresh hold, as the case may be.

In this situation, I, being a west Malaysian, was aware that a tender had been awarded to a Company in West Malaysia to supply these same units at RM 850/- per unit, and the lowest quotation that I had received locally in Sabah, was way above the 15% thresh hold, some 47% higher!

…so I contacted the West Malaysian Company and asked them if they could Supply the same units deilvered to Sabah for the West Malaysian tender price i.e. I was going to get the item at some considerable savings, which meant that I could buy more units for the same amount, and clearly many more School Children would benefit through such a purchase, directly from the West Malaysian Company.

Having concluded the purchase, and I thought that I was Smart, having saved the Government some RM 400/- per unit….but lo and behold!…the next thing I knew, was that my salary for the following month was withheld!…with a Threat of ‘Surcharging’ me for not puchasing the items from a Sabah Company!!…I had to submit a long explanatory letter to defend my action before my Salary was released a month or so later!

That was my first and only experience in being threatened with ‘Surcharge’ during my 30 years in Government.

The Moral of the Story: DON’T Try to Save Money for Government!…The Children’s Dental Health, that We are Professionaly commited to Improve, doesn’t really count in Our System!…and more important still, don’t disturb the hornets nest!

…Slow Learner!

1. #1 by monsterball on Tuesday, 1 November 2011 - 9:47 am

When corruptions are encouraged…no one can be sincere and decent in business.
    The incident told is sickening……but not new.
    It is who you know and not what you know to do businesses under a very corrupted government.

2. #2 by Godfather on Tuesday, 1 November 2011 - 10:27 am

Ng Yen Yen claims she made savings from ad contracts. She didn’t overpay by RM 270 million as alleged by the Auditor General. There is no curi-curi Malaysia, she says.

Noh Omar says the lembu project is alive and well. Who says it is a failure ? The RM 250 million grant was well spent, and we should be grateful that a minister’s son is willing to be a cattle-herder. We should now await a request for a further grant from the gomen since the project is so successful.

Zahid says the APC contract was above board. The difference in prices was due to currency fluctuations. Fuc-tua-tions, Zahid ? Same to you too.

3. #3 by dagen on Tuesday, 1 November 2011 - 11:14 am

Punished for doing the right thing. Rewarded for doing all the wrong things. In umno the reward can be very very great indeed. This is perverse. This is sick. Actually worse than that. Umno and perkasa have the gall to argue in favour of continuing with this perversity and to insist that it was their constitutional ketuanan right to do so.

Then again godfather could well be correct. You see umno (and their cronies in mca and mic etc) could see images and shadows which we all could not. Images and shadows of people and yes, even of companies and corporations. Yen2 said there was no overpayment. True. Some payments were made to real people and real companies. And some to imaginary people and shadowy companies. So all payments accounted for. Nothing wrong. Yeah. True. True. Its just that we the rakyat got this odd feeling that we have been phaarked somehow.

4. #4 by Godfather on Tuesday, 1 November 2011 - 11:52 am

What Zahid wanted to say – really – was FUC-U-NATION instead of currency fluctuation.

5. #5 by k1980 on Tuesday, 1 November 2011 - 12:44 pm

If Yen Yen were to be from Pakatan Rakyat, she would had been flung from the macc window long, long ago.

6. #6 by grace on Tuesday, 1 November 2011 - 6:09 pm

Dear Sincere dental surgeon,
    You are indeed a very honest and sincere doctor. The country truly needs many in your mould. I think there are many like you who truly have the poor patients at heart.
    But, sad to say , the authority especially the political leaders of the ruling party.
    To those parsites, it is their pockets first and the public’s welfare is far from their minds the moment they see the ringgit signs.

7. #7 by cemerlang on Tuesday, 1 November 2011 - 9:55 pm

Many people say that. Don’t save money for the government. I said before that you are planting the seed of greed and the love of money. Your staff who first come in were truely good people until they learn the art of making money from you. You said like all civil servants are like that. You have not met those good ones. There are good ones but they are hidden amongst the many bad apples. Then many say it is so easy to make money out of the government. If you have any morals and ethics left, you should be ashamed of yourself. Integrity. Transparency. Don’t forget religion even. aduh !

8. #8 by Not spoon fed on Tuesday, 1 November 2011 - 10:46 pm

When will Pakatan print the Orange Flyer and deliver to each household in Sabah, Sarawak and Peninsular Malaysia?

Must start soon to let rural area people to know this.

9. #9 by Not spoon fed on Tuesday, 1 November 2011 - 11:07 pm

We really need to uproot this unproductive big old tree (BN).

We really need to change the present government and hopefully to repalce the present federal government by Pakatan (like the ones of Selangor and Penang).

We really need Pakatan to print Orange Flyer about REFORMATION and distribute to each household in each town by local Pakatan chapter.

Publicise shadow government. It does not matter to publicise this because it could always be changed later after real general election.

Pakatan should now show their agenda on TVs as advertisement. This costs money and time to air in all TVs stations in Malaysia. Most of the rural houses have TV in Peninsular but in East Malaysia many do not have electricity.

10. #10 by Not spoon fed on Tuesday, 1 November 2011 - 11:12 pm

Make hay while the sun shines about the auditor’s report. People are still talking about this.

Please print Orange Flyer ASAP and to distribute to each household to let everyone “we must change” this present federal government who is incapable, inefficient and ineffective in running the national resources.

We could not repeat to see such report anymore. Must stop this wastage and corruption among the them (BN) and the public services departments must be ruled by new blood like the ones in Selangor and Penang.