The reasons I stayed

Adrian Ng
May 26, 2011

MAY 26 — There are actually more reasons to leave than stay in Malaysia. But then again, I decided to stay… at least for now. Why?

1. I love the food; I can step out in the middle of the night and still find my favourite food — nasi lemak (tambah telur mata kerbau) with teh tarik kurang manis.

2. I love the weather here, though it sucks at times, but it is still better than being in 20 inches of thick snow or being roasted to death in a 42-degree heat wave.

3. I speak Malay with my friends; can’t find that many friends who can speak the language outside the country.

4. There are a lot more other people in the country who need help and assistance and I will contribute in whatever way that I can.

5. I (still) have faith in the system and country, although it is not perfect; there is always the option of an easy way out, as in migrating and leaving the country.

6. I (still) believe I can do something to contribute to nation-building in whatever way I can (while I continue to complain a lot). Why leave without giving it a “fight” to try to make the country better.

7. I will have to start all over again if I leave for another country. I still feel very foreign in another country i.e. I am a (still) second-class citizen.

8. I have a bunch of fantastic, crazy, caring, responsible, intelligent, ethical, loyal friends here. They keep me entertained.

9. Importantly, my family and relatives are here. I am no one without them.

10. And, most important, this is my country. This is the place I call home.

1. #1 by tak tahan on Thursday, 26 May 2011 - 11:18 pm

I feel exactly the same way too except some compromise on the 7. Hallo…anybody three…??This one ar..monsterball sure got something to teach the hilly-billy professors to shut up and behave accordingly.

2. #2 by Taikohtai on Friday, 27 May 2011 - 10:10 am

A strictly personal viewpoint from Gold Coast:
    1. Though outdoor dining is more expensive, we have more varieties: Malaysian, European, Asian, Americans, African, you name it.
    2. Beautiful weather one day, perfect the next. Okay, floods do happen but not annually. No tsunamis, no earthquakes.
    3. We speak more than Malay – Australian, Mandarin, Cantonese, Vietnamese, French, Japanese, Spanish, Arabic etc etc and so many ever willing to teach you, especially the swear words :)
    4. Two party system with Greens/Independents holding balance of power. Best thing is NO CORRUPTION! Malaysia has lots to catch up :(
    5. Aussies are one of the most generous donors, home and abroad.
    7. 1st class citizenship and damn proud of it!
    8. Ditto and more
    9. Okay, this one I admit a major disadvantage but thanks to cheap flights these days, its only A$500 return plus bad airline food :(
    10. Malaysia is becoming more pitiful but we still fight for a better future for all.
    And may I also add others reasons such as excellent education system, superb public facilities, pension, top notch economy and strong A$, fair judiciary, police, commendable health system, racial harmony, multiculturalism, welfare benefits, world class sports, and of course, our famous XXXX.

3. #3 by LKY on Friday, 27 May 2011 - 3:24 pm

7. I will have to start all over again if I leave for another country. I still feel very foreign in another country i.e. I am a (still) second-class citizen.

True, you’d have to start over. But I’d like to know, in which country would you be treated as a second-class citizen ? I don’t know about less developed countries, but if you’re referring to western countries, I think you’re mistaken. Are you not a second-class citizen in Malaysia now ?

4. #4 by wopstk on Friday, 27 May 2011 - 10:19 pm

It is good that there are people like you who prefer to stay back to contribute to your contry of birth and still hopeful of the future of the country.
    To uproot a family from your country of birth and move to another country and start from gound zero is indeed a daunting task. No one would take it likely and very few are willing to do it without very good reasons. I must say that most Malaysians who migrated to other countries because of “push” reasons rather than the “pull” of greener pasture in the other countries. I know this because I am one of the Malaysian diasporas.