Mad scramble for Tupperware mars PM’s do

By Andrew Ong

Chaos erupted at the MBKS indoor stadium last night immediately after Prime Minister Najib Abdul Razak left the rally venue as people jostled to get hold of goodie bags containing Tupperware brand containers.

As some 2,000 participants at the rally were streaming out of the stadium, hundreds crowded around part of the entrance, grabbing goodie bags that were being distributed.

The bags contained a poster of Najib and either a water tumbler or a small food container of Tupperware fame.

As the rush for goodies grew out of hand, workers were forced to relocate some of the boxes of goodies away from the entrance.

As soon as the boxes touched the floor, dozens of people, many of them elderly and children, ripped opened the boxes and carried with them whatever they could.

In the mad scramble, many people fell. At least one elderly lady was seen rolling on the floor, hanging on to her goodie bag.

The scene left many journalists and policemen gasping in disbelief.

Some who were more patient were content to wait until after the big scrum was over before collecting their share of the goodie bags or boxes of biscuits.

‘Anyone would come for freebies’

One participant told Malaysiakini that he attended the event because he had read about it in the papers.

“There is free food and gifts. Anyone would come,” said the middle-aged man, who declined to be identified.

Asked if he was here to support the premier and BN, the man said he was here to see the PM in the flesh.

An elderly woman said that she was transported by bus with other flat dwellers from Jalan Ban Hock. She said she was unable to get hold of a goodie bag due to the mad rush.

When queried why she would risk injury to obtain one of the goodie bags, a young girl in her mid-teens merely smiled and walked off.

During the event, all participants wore 1Malaysia T-shirts that were given out at the door. Hamburgers and mineral water were also distributed after the event started.

The only election candidate who spoke was Alfred Yap, the BN candidate for Kota Sentosa. He made the introductory speeches before Najib took over.

The premier also called on Pending voters to support BN candidate Dr Sim Kui Hian, but did not specifically mention the rest.

Najib was also seen listening attentively to Sim who spoke before him. Sim often acts as the spokesperson for all five SUPP candidates contesting in the Kuching area.

1. #1 by hallo on Monday, 11 April 2011 - 2:24 pm

They are the devils

They are the evil minded human being

They are the corrupted politicians

They are in the law are criminals

They bn are coming……

They bn are coming ….to abetting us, lead us to, with their greed of devils, want to destroy us as the God beloved children to work against the righteous GOD, to vote them and supporting their devils of Greed against GOD

They bn are coming….to cover our minds, our eyes, our sense of righteous, with their corrupted devil minded of Greed……

They bn are leading us with their GREED to against our pure heart, our simple mind, our sense of justice, our sense of right and wrong, lead us with their corruption devils of GREED against JUSTICE, AND RIGHTEOUS….

They the corrupted politicians

They have robbed our rightful tax money billions

They have stolen our native lands

They have leading us to racism

They have tried destroying our rights freedom of religions

For your family, we must standup fight the corrupted politicians
    For your wife, we must standup fight the devils, for fairer, more security and justice Malaysia

For your children, we must standup fight the corrupted politician criminals destroying our future generations in this land Malaysia, for a fairer and justice country

Don’t weaken your mind, don’t soften your heart with corrupted politician criminals, Standup firm, standup determined, for our better future, we must VOTE FOR CHANGE

Without a country free from corrupted politicians, the country future will be in the dark of devil hands

We must VOTE FOR CHANGE, A COUNTRY FREE FROM CORRUPTED POLITICIANS DEVILS

We must VOTE FOR CHANGE, A BETTER FUTURE FOR OUR COUNTRY

We must VOTE FOR CHANGE, BRIGHTER FUTURE FOR OUR CHILDREN, FREE FROM CORRUPTED POLITICIAN DEVILS

TELL EVERYONE

Yes, we will……..UBAH….UBAH…UBAH

VOTE FOR CHANGE…VOTE FOR CHANGE….VOTE FOR CHANGE

WE ARE THE PEOPLE, FIGHT FOR BRIGHTER FUTURE OF FAIRER, JUSTICE

WE ARE THE PEOPLE, VOTE FOR FREEDOM OF RELIGIONS

WE ARE THE PEOPLE, VOTE FOR FREE OF RACISM, CORRUPTED POLITICIAN DEVILS

FOR OUR BELOVED COUNTRY MALAYSIA

FOR MYSELF, FOR MY SONS, FOR MY CHILDREN, FOR MY FAMILY, FOR MY FRIENDS

Yes, We will…..UBAH….UBAH….UBAH

Yes, We will…..VOTE FOR CHANGE….VOTE FOR CHANGE…VOTE FOR CHANG

WHEN WE VOTE, WE CAN NOT VOTE FOR CORRUPTED POLITICIAN CRIMINALS, DEVILS OF GREED AGAINST GOD

WE ARE GOD BELOVED CHILDREN

WE MUST FIGHT AGAINST DEVIL OF GREED

WE MUST FREE MALAYSIANS FROM DEVIL OF GREED THE CORRUPTED POLITICIANS

SAY IT LOUD, WE WILL VOTE FOR JUSTICE

SAY IT LOUD, WE WILL VOTE FOR CHANGE

SAY IT LOUDER, WE WILL VOTE FOR RIGHTEOUS AND JUSTICE

Yes, We will ….Ubah…Ubah…Ubah…

Vote for CHANGE…Vote for CHANGE….Vote for CHANGE

2. #2 by k1980 on Monday, 11 April 2011 - 2:27 pm

According to the Sin Chew Daily, a federal govt notice has been circulated to schools ordering that the mid-year exam be scheduled forward so that the GE13 can be held in June or July

3. #3 by hurricanemax on Monday, 11 April 2011 - 2:32 pm

waste of bandwidth news. How did it mar the pm’s do? he already left the stadium lah!
    Give me news with more meat than such frivolous gossip!

4. #4 by boh-liao on Monday, 11 April 2011 - 2:34 pm

Y no goodies with fotos of FLOM n d Mongolian beauty 1?
    NR will b remembered as d PM who openly n crudely mass bribed voters during erections, n who also openly used seks as a weapon against AI b$ n during an erection
    Well, S’wakians, grab all d goodies n $$ fr BN, BUT VOTE 4 PR, yeah, OK

5. #5 by Loh on Monday, 11 April 2011 - 2:40 pm

That is Tupperware election. A RCI should be set up to establish how much Tupperware company contributed to the election campaign, in return for the advertisement.

6. #6 by Winston on Monday, 11 April 2011 - 2:53 pm

Well, take whatever you can because it was bought with your tax money!!
    The goods belong to you in the first place!
    BUT GIVE THEM THE BOOT JUST THE SAME!!!!

7. #7 by Godfather on Monday, 11 April 2011 - 3:09 pm

To all Sarawakians:

Take all the tupperwares, sewing machines, bicycles, angpows, green pows, whatever that BN throws in your direction. Then vote Pakatan. After all, all these “gifts” are from your money and from my money.

Take the 1Malaysia t-shirts home, then cut them up, and use them as rags or as door mats. You will find that they are really of lousy quality – made with commissions paid to some BN crony. I have one which I use to wipe my feet.

8. #8 by limkamput on Monday, 11 April 2011 - 3:51 pm

See, I have told you all to be aware of Milo, cheap biscuits and meehoon, now it is Tupperware and water tumblers. See, it is not just the rural people, it is who we are as Malaysians. Look at the big picture, please. No more time to waste, and no more opportunity to throw away.

9. #9 by Antitheist on Monday, 11 April 2011 - 3:52 pm

Andrew Ong wrote…

“As some 2,000 participants at the rally were streaming out of the stadium, hundreds crowded around part of the entrance,”

But Clara Chooi wrote…

“Even with the bussing of people from various neighbouring constituencies into Kuching South City Hall’s indoor stadium, only a thousand were seen in it.”

There’s nothing quite like objective, accurate reporting, and this is nothing like it.

I just want to read the facts. Now I’m not sure who to believe.

10. #10 by tak tahan on Monday, 11 April 2011 - 4:23 pm

Common sense will judge by the size of the swelling crowd,no matter more or less the quantity it was seen.Finally Sarawakian has grasped the common sense(UBAH) to free themselves from the racist,repressive and corrupted BN.Sarawakian,spread the good words for change and encourage more of your family member,relatives and friends to support PR which by far the better government as proven by Penang,Selangor and kelantan.No native land grabbing,free water(Selangor) compare to no water(certain areas in the supposed rich state,Sarawak) and low poverty rate compare with 40% or more Sarawakian.

11. #11 by Ray on Monday, 11 April 2011 - 4:47 pm

Time to Decide Now…..
    UBAH >>Taib- Najib BN Evils will beget more Evils….
    All Poor Rural Urban Unsurvivable Sarawak People ……Wake up now and DO NOT Be So Easily cheated by these Eection Goodies like Tupperware containers , few Tin cans of Sardine Fish Milo etc, Free Zinc Roof,Free this and that ..>>>How long will these goodies last you??
    >>>>>Only PR can Deliver and serve you well in good hands with Live survivals like Native Security Bond, Real Economics Growth-Share Dividences generous payout ,Government Ministry Civil Service Jobs ,Open-tender Projects development contract ,higher std of
    Living,lower cost as well and a harmonious free society with PR Good Governance.
    Lets Ask ourseleves >> Which Goodies do you All Sarawak People want??? …Decide Now BN langsong No Hope for your Future .
    Only Hope will be and can delivered by Pakatan Rakyat if PR elected into Parliament 2011 by you All Semua Sokong PR…..
    Vote PR into Putrajaya now.
    Remember in this Globalised Internet World community>>You can be either the Hopeful type or the other so called “”HOPELESS”” group..BN Taib kaki…..
    2 Hopeless sons is a good sample of Hopelessness grouping.
    pls go tke all the free goodies of your taxes paid by you BUT Only Vote PR into Undagan Negri Sarwak.

12. #12 by HJ Angus on Monday, 11 April 2011 - 9:39 pm

Suppose a Tupperware costs say RM25
    but one acre of your land costs RM50,000 and that has been given to a BN crony.
    Surely that is not a clever trade-off?

13. #13 by dagen on Tuesday, 12 April 2011 - 8:20 am

PM’s do has been marred? You mean it was actually marred? By some ugly behaviour of participants? Amazing. How very amazing. But I thought that was normal. That was precisely what umno represents. What umno stands for. What umno really is. Grab. Grab and Grab. Give me more. Give me more. And Give me some more.

14. #14 by rockdaboat on Wednesday, 13 April 2011 - 8:32 am

This is really pathetic.