Police investigation into Aminulrasyid’s killing most disgraceful and unprofessional in subjecting 15-year-old Azamuddin to three questionings when the student had consistently stuck to his version as given in his first police report the very same day

(Speech at the launching of the Rejang Park Operation Centre of the DAP Sibu by-election campaign on Friday, 7th May 2010)

Borneo Post carries the headline today: “Drop in crime index for first four months” . However, it does not give Malaysians any accompanying assurance of greater safety and security whether in the streets, public places or privacy of their home since the beginning of the year as illustrated by two recent episodes:

• The charade of the Selangor police chief’s official car being stolen; and

• The trigger-happy police shooting and killing of 14-year-old Form III student Aminulrasyid Amzah some 100 metres from his Shah Alam house 12 days ago at 2 am on April 26, 2010 whose only offence is underaged and unlicensed driving to watch the football match Chelsea vs Stokes at the neighbourhood mamak stall with his friends.

All Malaysians, regardless of race, religion or region, whether in Sibu, Kuching, Miri, Kota Kinabalu, Sandakan, Tawau or all over Peninsular Malaysia feel outraged by the senseless killing of Aminulrasyid and the ham-fisted handling of the heinous killing by the police and government authorities simply because we are 1Malaysia even before Datuk Seri Najib Razak promoted the idea when he became Prime Minister a year ago.

Two days ago, the Police questioned the key witness in the police shooting of Aminulrasyid, his friend who was eye-witness to the police killing as he was in the car that fateful morning, Azamuddin Omar 15, for the third time.

This is a most disgraceful and unprofessional example of police investigations of the Aminulrasyid shooting death as in all the three police questioning sessions, Azamuddin had consistently stuck to his version of events as given in his police report the very same day of the tragedy.
When DAP Secretary-General and Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng and I visited Aminulrasyid’s bereaved family in their Shah Alam house on Wednesday, 28th April on our return from Sibu, I was given a copy of the police report which Azamuddin had lodged at the Section 11 Shah Alam Police Station on 26th April 2010.

I still have a copy of the police report with me and I have re-read it, and found that Azamuddin has fully and consistently stuck to the very same version of events he had given to the Police in his first report despite the trauma he went through from seeing his friend killed with a bullet at the back of the head.

Why is it necessary to subject the 15-year-old student to three questionings over the very same version of events if the Police investigators had been responsible, thorough and professional?

Such unprofessional police conduct on top of a heap of most disgraceful conduct by the Police, especially the Inspector-General of Police and the Selangor Chief Police Officer, and the Ministerial authorities whether the Home Minister, Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein or Deputy Home Minister, Datuk Abu Seman Yusop do not inspire confidence that we have an efficient and professional world-class police force or Home Ministry.

The Prime Minister must realize that the grave crisis of confidence in the police and the government over the police killing of Aminulrasyid is not an inherited problem from previous administrations but solely the responsibility of his administration – and the only satisfactory and accountable solution must be a Royal Commission of Inquiry and not a PR “public circus” like the Abu Seman Special Panel.

1. #1 by dagen on Friday, 7 May 2010 - 6:46 pm

Tell me who doesnt know the unwritten “shoot to kill” policy of the police. And the policy goes further to say that (1) no victims is to survive any exercise of that policy and (2) incriminating evidence e.g. firearms or parangs, must always be planted to justify the action after the event.

Do a spot check on police cars nationwide. Lots of interesting items can be found, I am sure – always there and ever ready to be used when the need arises. Drugs, bullets, knives, parangs etc etc. Look at sodomy 1 and 2 and the extent to which they go in creating evidence. But the question is how come the police can be so bold? Because they have umno’s support that is why. Nazri knew without any need for investigation or expert assessment that beng hock jumped out of the window to commit suicide is one good example of umno’s support. Then again why on earth would umno give these people so much back-up and cover-up? The answer is simple. Police, like the macc, can then be used by umno as tools to overcome dissents and opposition members.

Malaysia under umno is really and truly rotten. Yeah. The only way to salvage the situation is to boot umno out as soon as possible. Of course, if left alone umno would still sink under the sheer weight of its wrongdoings. But I suppose after 50yrs, people could no longer sit around, do nothing and wait for that day to come. So people of sibu, do something. Vote pakatan. Start the ball rolling.

2. #2 by Bunch of Suckers on Friday, 7 May 2010 - 6:56 pm

Bolehland police tries to play psychology with the kid, the victim friend. They hope the witness will provide inconsistency answers, and then they can evade and push aside their faults… This is all game play as to frightening him… Those suckers might interview or interrogate him 4th & 5th times…

Similarly, our sucker, Hanjin Chengho, also game play with his mama-topping comments… Only persons who are cunning like wolves will deploy this mama-topping interrogation and comments…

3. #3 by ekompute on Friday, 7 May 2010 - 8:55 pm

“Police investigation into Aminulrasyid’s killing most disgraceful and unprofessional in subjecting 15-year-old Azamuddin to three questionings when the student had consistently stuck to his version as given in his first police report the very same day.”

Well, they are hoping for the witness to contradict himself and then disqualify him. By the way, what made you think that our police is professional?

4. #4 by limkamput on Friday, 7 May 2010 - 9:15 pm

Tell me who doesnt know the unwritten “shoot to kill” policy of the police. And the policy goes further to say that (1) no victims is to survive any exercise of that policy and (2) incriminating evidence e.g. firearms or parangs, must always be planted to justify the action after the event.// dagen

Who? Oh, many, like that farting psychologist from Sunway University and Jamesy.

5. #5 by monsterball on Friday, 7 May 2010 - 9:29 pm

Najib dare not confront the IGP who is protecting him and UMNO B like a hired gun leader.
    How dare Najib make his own chosen gangster chief looses face.
    Najib will use low class diplomacy to fool Malaysians..as if he cares..with strong empty words to IGP.
    IGP started to protect his men..the moment public yell for truths..with no investigations onto his men.
    Young witness who was with Amin in the car…was question 3 TIMES….I repeat 3 TIMES…and that is because the witness said what IGP does not like to hear.
    One time is enough..if that young boy breaks down..cry..pee at his pants.. and sign up a report that rings happy bells in IGP ears.
    That’s the kind of the Police leader we are having.
    He will not be IGP if he is not a racist and an UMNO B faithful political supporter.

6. #6 by dawsheng on Friday, 7 May 2010 - 9:43 pm

We don’t need no police!

7. #7 by klaikw on Saturday, 8 May 2010 - 12:21 am

C4 A, K , TBH , and Kid A, who else next ???? RIP . . . God bless us all.

8. #8 by tak tahan on Saturday, 8 May 2010 - 12:53 am

These whole bunch of goberment agents are pathetic liars in breed.I wonder where they learned these shameless,lack of self confidence=racist ketuanan,lazy bum e.c.t.Yet ther’re talking about religion,nationhood,respect and f.kin.g blah blah.Beh tahan!I wish them to spend a moment to think of what the f.c.k they’ve been doing in their conscious mind.Biggest hypocrite of bodoh mankind!

9. #9 by johnnypok on Saturday, 8 May 2010 - 1:58 am

If not for carrying the mattress, he would be under the payroll of the local mafia today. Bodohland is truly bodoh, run by HP6 idiots with no IQ.

Become the PIG for carrying mattress

Female frog in Perak received Datukship

Sooner or later,

10. #10 by yhsiew on Saturday, 8 May 2010 - 7:24 am

///The charade of the Selangor police chief’s official car being stolen…../// (Kit)

That is the greatest laughing stock of the century!!

11. #11 by chengho on Saturday, 8 May 2010 - 7:59 am

the betting is so heavy for Sibu byelection , any taker?

12. #12 by lowxinpui on Saturday, 8 May 2010 - 8:30 am

Notice that so-called special panel saying that the investigation is at ‘highest transparency’. Such a statement is to eventually play up that the police did not cover up so the poor victim is at fault.

Sorry we have no faith with this whole sham!

13. #13 by HJ Angus on Saturday, 8 May 2010 - 8:41 am

I wonder what secrets were in the stolen car – any black book?
    As for subjecting the 15-year old to such treatment – the motive is clear to any 12-year old. I guess the RM70m spent on APCO has been wasted.
    We need a Parliamentary select committee to vet the police Rules of Engagement – who knows they may have authorised themselves to act with more powers than we are willing to grant them.
    http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2010/05/malaysiakini-readers-views-on-police.html

14. #14 by monsterball on Saturday, 8 May 2010 - 12:23 pm

Yes Chengho..I bet PR will loose this by election.
    You want to bet against me?
    So what if DAP loose this by-election?
    It’s the 13th GE that counts and I bet keDAILan..DAP and PAS will win big at that time..performing much better than 12th GE.
    Want to bet on that?
    Hi Chengho….bet big time with big money and show you face.
    Remain faceless like a ghost..don’t call it a bet. It’s nonsense.

15. #15 by Sazarin on Saturday, 8 May 2010 - 3:26 pm

Question once – not trying hard enough to find justice.

Question three times – unprofessional and disgraceful.

Normal la police question many-many times – to see whether the version change. If question once or twice only how do we find out whether the version would change or not?

Can never argue with politicians like you lah Lim…always want to win – very kiasu one. How can we vote for kiasus?

Do you have a personal vandetta with Tan Sri Musa? The way you tackle this ploblem vely unplofesyenel one…haiyyaa…! Don’t overdo your agenda laa…