Tajem’s message to the Ibans

The Broken Shield

SERIAN: An adviser to PKR and former deputy chief minister Datuk Daniel Tajem (pic below)warns the Iban community that they will lose their native customary rights lands if they continue to elect the State Barisan Nasional coalition in the coming State election.

“Many Ibans in other parts of Sarawak have already lost their lands and we will continue to loose our land, if the State Barisan continues to govern Sarawak.

“In Balai Ringin we are about to lose our lands, when four companies linked to Chief Minister Abdul Taib Mahmud have been given provisional lease (PL) to plant oil palm in our lands.

“A total of 741,000 hectares of our NCR lands have been earmarked for this purpose,” he said, adding that the land owners had protested, but to no avail.

In fact, he said, he and the land owners have written to UMNO to intervene and stop the State government from taking away people’s lands.

Tajem said: “Lands are our only assets. And if we lose our lands, we will lose everything. We will become landless people. We do not know where to go except to seek refuge and sleep under a bridge.

“Landless People who sleep under a bridge are a common sight in other countries. And this will happen to us, if we do not change the State government,” he said, when he opened the annual general meeting of PKR Sri Aman division on Saturday, 24 April 2010.

“We do not change Taib Mahmud, but what we must change is the state government. So we must be united and work hard to change the government and only then we can prepare a new programme of development,” he stressed.

Tajem went on to say that Pakatan Rakyat must aim to win at least 36 seats out of 71 in order to take over the administration of the state government.

“Even winning the state government alone is still not good enough; the Pakatan Rakyat must also take over and control the federal government, otherwise the federal government will make life unbearable in Pakatan-controlled states.

“Look how the federal government retook the Perak State government after the Pakatan had won it through the electoral process.

“Similarly what happened to Stephen Kalong Ningkan’s state government in late 1966, when he did not agree for expatriate officers in Sarawak to be replaced with Malayan officers?

“When Ningkan refused to resign, the federal government declared a state of emergency in Sarawak. Then the federal government amended the state constitution in order to give authority to the governor to dismiss Ningkan as chief minister,” said Tajem.

“Thus, it is also very important that the federal government be controlled by Pakatan Rakyat,” he added. – The Broken Shield

Source: http://www.thebrokenshield.blogspot.com/

1. #1 by fun888 on Friday, 7 May 2010 - 12:22 pm

Kit,

UMNO and Perkasa have been going around shouting racist remarks claiming Malays are the majority in Malaysia thier rights need to be protected and must be given “handicap”/ advantage over other races. When it’s for Sarawak Ibans/Dayak, they are taken as 3rd class citizen despite they have long history way before Malays and Chinese step into the land of hornbills.

Why UMNO and Perkasa not fighting for the Iban/Dayak rights and put in a leader from one of them?

Instead now thier native land been taken away?

2. #2 by buy election on Friday, 7 May 2010 - 12:23 pm

We are worrying about the buy election. Najib kept bringing in money to Sibu to fool the people. We should educate BN that delivering money without vision does not work. We are not stupid.

I hope some of you will read about my concerns.
    http://veryfatlady.blogspot.com/

3. #3 by chengho on Friday, 7 May 2010 - 12:45 pm

Tajem,
    you are still dreaming sir , in Sibu byelection is a fight between Foochow and Foochow

4. #4 by k1980 on Friday, 7 May 2010 - 12:49 pm

Why is Daniel Tajem talking about this now? He should had done so in 1963 before joining malaysia.

5. #5 by boh-liao on Friday, 7 May 2010 - 1:09 pm

As a former deputy chief minister, he should know d dirty tricks of BN
    Y is he now with PKR?

6. #6 by frankyapp on Friday, 7 May 2010 - 1:34 pm

Hi guys please don’t be harsh to Daniel Tajem.Remember the taste in the pudding is in the eating. He has eaten it and now he knows the fact that his people ie the Ibans/Dayaks are in trouble ie been losing lands to others and would ended up being landless and sleep under the bridge one day.Mr.Tajem is human,like us we make mistakes too.However he’s a man,admited his mistakes and now ensuring to deliver what’s belong to the Natives should remain where it is in order to protect their future livelihood.Yea I think he needs a second chance.

7. #7 by a-malaysian on Friday, 7 May 2010 - 1:49 pm

The future is with Pakatan Rakyat. PR is not 100% perfect but is surely 100% better than racist umno/bn.

They have now nothing to offer to Malaysians and now pushing for only Malay first as what TM had written. May 13 is umno’s war cry but we must stand united to fend off umno.

Poll: What Is Your Opinion Of Umno’s Constant Threat Of Another May 13?”

GE 13 – Change The Federal Government No matter what, we must ensure that racist umno bn do not regain the power like they had for over the past fifty two years.

8. #8 by Bigjoe on Friday, 7 May 2010 - 1:55 pm

Studies has found that one of the key reason why natives are marginalised and keep being marginalised is the poor concept of private rights that begin first with the understanding of private property.

The importance of the land to the natives is about understanding private rights and private property. If their grasp of these concepts are poor than they do not have a proper emotional understanding of the value of labour, skills, knowledge leading to poor acquisition of those things that are key to wealth/income acquisition and competitiveness. All those things begins with the simple concept of private property other than the fact its also real money/asset.

Beyond the simple basic rights, it so much more about freeing their minds and empowering them both financially and mentally…

9. #9 by frankyapp on Friday, 7 May 2010 - 2:17 pm

The main losers are malays should a May 13th 2 happened. Let us hope this would put some sense to Umnoputras and warlords before they tragically realized the huge collateral damages and human lives lost are many of their own.Time has changed,places have changed and people have changed too. This time around if it came true,Umnoputras and gang members would not be so easily bullying others.

10. #10 by ekompute on Friday, 7 May 2010 - 2:20 pm

Seems like the Ibans either don’t understand what is Ketuanan Melayu or they think that they are Melayu!

11. #11 by monsterball on Friday, 7 May 2010 - 2:47 pm

Foochow against Foochow said Chengho….with the Iban’s votes being the deciding factor?
    No Sireee…it is Foochow vast majority votes for sure …that DAP will with no problems..and the Iban votes are icing on the cake.
    Chengho is painting the picture..that the Foochows are split into halves.
    And MCA President..is going to fight for more Chinese schools and temples to win Chinese votes. MCA is such a low class party…using same age old formulas that never work.
    They always depend on Malays votes…and Malays are sick of MCA too.

12. #12 by johnnypok on Friday, 7 May 2010 - 5:33 pm

Why must you consult UMNO?

Don’t you know that UMNO is even more dangerous?

Where is your fighting spirit? Ibans are supposed to be brave. What happen? Destroyed by money, I supposed.

13. #13 by Bigjoe on Friday, 7 May 2010 - 5:47 pm

Look out Iban – when you start demanding your rights, Mahathir will call you ‘extremist’. Mahathir and his ardent follower motto is so long as they say so, then its true…

14. #14 by dagen on Friday, 7 May 2010 - 6:25 pm

Ibans, malays, chinese, indians we are all the same. So who is different? Umnoputras. That is it. But during election, umno and umnoputras would always come down and deceive everyone into believing that they too are the same as everyone else. A generation ago, they could do it successfully. Now, with umno’s (-)meritocracy policies umnoputras have all gone ga ga. I mean look at chengho. He even allowed GM to be performed on him by some umnoputra this day and age!

Ibans should just ask umno to buzz off pure and simple.

15. #15 by tak tahan on Saturday, 8 May 2010 - 1:07 am

Ppl of Sibu must open ur your eyes n look ahead much further not to be deceived by BN again after more than 5 decades.Anything better starts from a CHANGE.Stop the suffering to youself from being neglected on your selffright by the ppl who fooled you.Vote PR!

16. #16 by cemerlang on Saturday, 8 May 2010 - 5:38 pm

They have this tidak apa attitude, say one thing but do another, stubborn and fight for their own personal agenda only. Carlsberg alone can make them do wonders. A feared race once upon a time who ruled the rivers and the land, now they are just so complacent. Those who have a lot think little of those who have none. They who have a lot are given much more. Is it just plain jealousy or true patriotism ?