Praises for Najib for honouring RM3 million pledge to SRJKC Rasa and Rasa voters for being pioneers of New Politics towards a New Malaysia of justice, freedom, excellence and prosperity while insisting on their rights as citizens and taxpayers

I commend the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak for honouring his RM3 million pledge to SRJKC Rasa for the construction of a new building for the 81-year-old dilapidated school which was made on Hulu Selangor by-election polling eve on Saturday.

I will not quibble that the RM3 million cheque was only handed over to the Chairman of the SRJKC Rasa Ng Tek Kui yesterday when it should have been on Monday as pledged.

Greater praises are in order to the voters of Rasa who have demonstrated that they are worthy pioneers of New Politics in Malaysia to usher in a New Malaysia of justice, freedom, excellence and prosperity for all, regardless of race, religion or region, while insisting on their rights to development as citizens and taxpayers.

In the March 8 “political tsunami” of the 2008 general elections, the successful PKR candidate Datuk Zainal Abidin secured 56.74% of the Chinese votes in Rasa.

Will the Rasa voters be influenced and intimidated by the Prime Minister’s RM3 million carrot-and-stick tactics, resulting in a lower voter turn-out in support of the Pakatan Rakyat candidate, Datuk Zaid Ibrahim as compared to 56.74% polled for Zainal two years ago?

There were three polling streams in Rasa and the results of the voter turn-out in the Hulu Selangor by-election on Sunday are as follows:

Rasa (Hulu Selangor by-election 2010)

Stream PR BN
Saluran 1 205 (77.36%) 60 votes
Saluran 2 301 (80.05%) 75
Saluran 3 319 (88.61%) 41

As a result, for the Rasa area, Zaid received a massive support of 82.42% of the Chinese voters as compared to 56.74% for Zainal in 2008 – a great tribute to the maturity and political consciousness of the voters of Rasah.

Rasa leads all areas in Hulu Selangor in producing the highest percentage turn-out in support of Pakatan Rakyat candidate, viz:

Rasa 82.42
Kalumpang 77.16
Hulu Yam Lama 71.1
Batang Kali 80.53
KKB 78.4
Kerling 67.9
Hulu Yam Timur 71.13

This is why at the announcement of the DAP/PR candidate for the Sibu parliamentary by-election in Sibu on Tuesday night, I commended the voters of Rasa as a national example for all Malaysian voters in Peninsular Malaysia, Sarawak and Sabah as pioneers and leaders of New Politics in Malaysia to create a New Malaysia of justice, freedom, international competitiveness and prosperity for all Malaysians.

At about 1 pm yesterday, Deputy Education Ministers and MCA Youth leader Datuk Wee Ka Siong tweeted to my twitter page: “Hi YB, I m in PM’s ofis for the cheque presentation for Rasa Sch. Interested to join as witness?”

This led me to tweet back: “U think I am Superman can fly? Wld love 2b there if given advance notice. At present at ShahAlam over police killing 14yrold student. U want 2come here?”

When there was no reply, I added another tweet: “Since in PMO ask Najib come 2ShahAlam 2visit Norsiah aggrieved mother #Aminulrasyid n angry neighbours at heinous police killing of student. U r deputy education aren’t u?”

I did not get any tweet from Wee for the next 12 hours.

I had in fact together with the Penang Chief Minister and DAP Secretary-General Lim Guan Eng on our return from Sibu rushed straight from the KLCC in Sepang to Section 11 Shah Alam to get first-hand account of the heinous police killing of 14-year-old Aminulrasyid and to express our condolence to the bereaved family and public outrage.

1. #1 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 12:25 pm

Praises? What for?

Najib promised RMl3million from his PERSONAL ACCOUNT. This cheque is from the government, our money, and long overdue for the school?

Why should Rasa be grateful for them that is THEIRS BY DUE RIGHT AND OVERDUE?

Is this Malaysia, where our rights violated for years and then forced to be given back we should be thankful for? What medieval mindset is that?

I want to know how Najib can flippant say he can write a RM3million checque from his account. Singapore highest paid PM in the world cannot afford it. How can Najib feel so confident to be be able to afford it.

2. #2 by buy election on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 12:42 pm

Praises? no!!!

My condolence to all the Chinese in Malaysia. Our soul was sold cheaply through SRJKC Rasa.
    http://sibulady.blogspot.com/

3. #3 by k1980 on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 12:48 pm

RM3 million divided by 10 million Malaysian Chinese = 30sen for each malaysian Chinese. So cheap aah?

Next tweet from Wee: “Solli lah, Jib and I both got tummy ache. Cannot visit Norsiah lah. Next year maybe”

4. #4 by raven77 on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 12:55 pm

Wahhh…if this is not open bribery , I dont know what is….

Did CNN, BBC, Al Jazeera beam this “cheque handing over ceremoney” to the rest of the world to show how “democracy” works in Malaysia.

5. #5 by Bunch of Suckers on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 1:19 pm

Simply, BN/UMNO has no choice as promised!
    1) It saves ugly faces, esp. for our puss-kat and porn star Dr Chua…
    2) That puss-kat gave away with strings attached, as to win hearts and souls of Chinese voters, for the coming damn big GE, man! It is strategic plan! Please don’t think BN/UMNO is so kind to Chinese as you could have heard and seen that fat Perkasa pig voiced, agitated and pressed vigorously against it…
    3) Our porn star Dr Chau and other relevant BN/MCA already have plans for how-to deal with that 3Millions…
    4) That amount 3Millions would become 300Thousands after transferring bunch of bank accounts
    5) The building stand up would be just a new classroom rather than bunch of new classrooms
    6) Currently, Hanjin Chengho is pretty busy in contacting and pursuing our porn star Dr Chua
    7) As such, Hanjin Chengho and Hanjin NNKhoo would be absent from further posting their comments temporarily…

6. #6 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 1:21 pm

Lessons to voters. Next time come out and threaten BN to get them to promise everything under the sun. Hulu Selangor so small and tiny got hundreds of millions including this RM3million check.

Sibu voters should make as much noise as possible like putting up posters where is their RM3million check. Organise like songs, public shouting when the BN candidate show up. If they don’t promise make more noise the louder the better

7. #7 by dagen on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 1:34 pm

The question is would jib have honoured the pledge without LKS’s grand effort and pakatan’s strength? And pakatan has (in terms of support in peninsular) almost the same strength as umno. In other words, LKS speaks with a very loud voice and he tweets quite quite loudly indeed. Jib cannot just shut his ears and eyes. THAT IS NOT POSSIBLE!

In any case, the payment by jib out of his (PM’s) special projects fund is testimony of a very important fact. IT IS OK TO SUPPORT AND VOTE PAKATAN FOLKS. THERE WILL BE NO BACKLASH.

8. #8 by artemisios on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 1:38 pm

well… how about holding back the construction of 2nd Penang Bridge… only to resume the mega project when the 13th GE is close? Will that win BN the Penang govt?

Depriving the people of what they deserve and then give it back & make it look like it’s some kind of ‘present’ or some kind of ‘pledge’…. well that’s a cute strategy…

Now BN can start thinking of which community to bully… then ‘un-bully’ them when GE is close…

Keep in mind that we’re STILL talking about the people’s money… which belongs to the people… this is NOT some kind of personal assistance from the govt….

9. #9 by cheng on on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 1:38 pm

If in the past, there is regular allowance/fund from govt for maintaining all schools, this Rasa school need not wait til this by election to get the money for repair/rebuild etc,
    Repair schools = duty of govt, need not beg like a slave or beggar, if govt don’t, just change govt!
    Depend on how u view it, this RM3 m, can be interpreted as a long outstanding debt paid!
    If bn never lost in March2008, the school still same, no fund at all, so bn need to lose to be good?? then let bn lost totally loh!

10. #10 by frankyapp on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 1:39 pm

Bribing,promising and delivering only the sum of money to voters through association upon winning the election is indeed pretty unprecedented. I think Najib has set up an ugly precedence whereby in future all election ,every community would take advantage to ask or demand from politician or political party to make promises to such and such a thing to be fulfilled if they wish to win. I think it’s like a kind of ransom the voters would hold against the politician and the political party. I think this new malaysian politic is obviously benefited mostly the ruling political party .

11. #11 by cheng on on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 1:43 pm

If Rakyat = boss,
    In a company, Manager don’t do his work for the whole year, then come bonus time, only do a little works, How do the boss find this manager??

12. #12 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 1:44 pm

I heard the cheque bounced. Maybe float period not over yet.

They used a Bank Islam cheque. What will the Islamic purists and Perkasar say?

Some newspapers say the cheque was presented to MCA’s Chua Soi Lek and only then the school chairman. MCA needs all the goodwill it can get to boost its rock bottom image.

In fact, everyone wanted the publicity, Noh Omar, Kam A Lan, Chua SL, Wee Ka Song, Najib were there. Only MACC, the Police, Mahathir, AG, Ibrahim Ali were not seen.

What choice has Najib got? If he doesn’t deliver the RM 3 million, he just can’t go to Sibu. Its a no brainer.

As for Sibu, how many tens of millions will he have to give away? Maybe his buddy, Taib the Sarawak Rajah, will do the promising this time.

As for the DAP candidate Wong Ho Leng. Don’t you all have a better choice? Isn’t he already an Assemblyman? Why make him do double duty?

Give others a chance, lah. Groom new blood, else you are gone. And expect more defections from the disappointed ones who will complain about the “Little Napoleons” in DAP.

The DAP leadership must learn to let go and give others a chance to enter the arena. Is the party so lacking in talent that you all have to do double, triple duty even?

If the BN can give an unknown Kam A Lan a chance, why not the DAP?

13. #13 by SENGLANG on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 2:19 pm

I did not see anything that need to praise about. It was immorally to assist the Chinese school just because of the by election otherwise nothing will come easy for the poor Chinese school. So are many other allocations that seem only by election can achieve and not otherwise. Do we mean we need by election to have allocation for development. This is big shame to BN. An insult.

Now shall Chinese repent ? What sins did they committed. May the only sins that Chinese committed are running to ques up to pay their taxes 2day and 2 morrow.

14. #14 by Loh on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 2:29 pm

Najib should be congratulated for not succumbing to the threat of Ibrahim Ali who noted that Chinese did not vote BN in high proportion. But Najib was trying to bribe the voters in Hulu Selangor even though the people there tried to tell the government that they prefer to have regular meals rather than a feast once in a while when there is a buy-election.

When Zaid Ibrahim takes up the case, he should list bribery as a reason to reject the buy-election results.

One wonders how the BN government functions. It takes a buy-election for the Ministry and the Prime Minister to notice that the school building in Rasa in that horrible state can ever exist in Malaysia. It also took the buy-election for Kerismuddin to notice that the governemnt had failed to act properly resulting in citizens their citizens being denied their citizenship right for decades. It shows that government servants have not been up to the performance expected. But then one does wonder whether Keridmuddin and UMNO ministers had not purposely reserved those cases to be announced to sway election. Ministers in other countries would be too embarassed for such negligence to be known, much less publicised. But then that is UMNO value and UMNO culture. One cannot be sure whether Kerismuddin was trying to show that he had the power to act, and also that he could choose to delay it for decades, or not to act rightly at all. UMNOputras should be taught to know shame.

15. #15 by k1980 on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 3:10 pm

//Give others a chance, lah. Groom new blood//

Look at all those frogs which hopped over to BN. With very few exceptions, they are mostly first-term elected reps. It is better to have time-tested veterans as candidates because they are unlikely to be bought over. Had PKR chose that first-timer Dr Halili as its candidate, the Chinese school would never has gotten its RM3,000,000

16. #16 by Voter get Voters campaign for PR on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 4:50 pm

Albert Einstein ……” the world is a dangerous place NOT because of the evils that these people do but because of the other good people who just LOOK ON and does NOTHING ”
    ” Malaysia is in such a deplorable place NOT because of EVIL umNO / BN but because you and I the eligible voters did not cast your votes “. Now by just mere casting your vote is NOT ( NEVER ) enough.We need more new VOTERS
    Its we the commentators and readers of MT who are to blame if we dun do anything about it except to complained at best.
    For FREE ” VOTER-get-VOTERS ” stickers, email me your postal address to voter-get-voters @ hotmail. com or sms 017-3740176. or collect from me at Low Yat Plaza, Lot10,Times Sq any monday to thurs betw 12 to 7PM

17. #17 by monsterball on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 5:07 pm

Am happy for the very good news.
    He promised and delivered.
    The fun has just started.
    Just watch a long string of promises being made by the government…add them up….more than RM1 billion…to be delivered…the whole list was posted here…and all only to Malaysian Chinese group. How about the Indians ..Ibanese…and other projects…promised and to be kept…not yet delivered for decades?
    That may mean few more billions.
    I guess he will wait to tell voters in the 13th GE…the good news..all over the country….if UMNO is returned to govern the country.
    It is noted more than 75% Chinese voted against UMNO in HS.
    Will his bribery and corruption acts work with the Chinese community like the Felda settlers?
    Will freedom and dignity means more than money to the Malaysia Chinese community?
    I hope the answer is a big YES.

18. #18 by boh-liao on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 5:27 pm

C how our UmnoB-bullied mentality works! So sad!
    A wretched paltry RM3 million 2 SRJKC Rasa fr BN n ppl jumped 4 joy as if gold fr heaven
    Ppl felt sooo grateful 2 NR n wanted 2 suck, lick n kiss his organs
    Do u know how much his sidekick RazakB n wife got 4 doing absolutely nothing?
    RM500 million!! They would not touch RM3 million, such a miserable sum, an insult 2 them
    Wake up ppl, we deserve more, not just as bribes during election, GE or buyE

U think NR n UmnoB r fair n deserved 2 b praised?
    Visit http://belagakini.wordpress.com/ n read abt “TV2 Documentary Series On Bakun Dam Were Forced To Off The Air” – d start of another series of oppressive tactics

19. #19 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 5:29 pm

OK. Enough bashing. Lets be brutally honest.

This money do give MCA ammunition to work. The Chinese may be uneasy with Perkasa but MCA can still work it with this kind of money. Not for majority of Chinese but that is not their goal.

CSL now while he rebutted Perkasa, blamed sabotage for Hulu Selangor Chinese lost of support which, if even true, a minor reason. But doing it the way he did avoid any real internal fight within MCA at the same time avoiding a real fight with Perkasa. He is playing the same game that Najib is playing. Come election time, he will spin such RM3mil story to the new villagers and he will get enough vote to keep MCA in the game.

Again, CSL knows how to do his job well whatever else you may argue about him. The only thing that will trip him is an impossible job and that is Perkasa to trip him up. Keep asking him about Perkasa until GE 13.

20. #20 by homeblogger on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 6:11 pm

Dr Azly Rahman got it right in his article :

http://www.malaysia-today.net/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=31477:educational-absurdity-in-hulu-selangor&catid=1:a-republic-of-virtue&Itemid=100088

I can see now why my kids’ school has to resort to asking for donations to run their sports day. They are under tight restrictions because Selangor is under PR now. The UMNO government is saying “If you don’t vote for us, to h*ll with your children and their education”.

1Malaysia means we are to allow ONLY ONE party to plunder and rape our land – UMNO.

21. #21 by cseng on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 6:12 pm

For those who still excited with the 3m ill intended money for SRJK Rasa. Think the below;

If your mother has to be prostitue to feed you, don’t be ashame of your mother. You mother is a victim of evil power and unjust society. Be ashame of the evil power the pimp who take advantage over your monthers injustice. But don’t be poud of the money gotten by prostitution for this reason (is ill money for a noble cause). Be real ashame of the Pimp and the evil power (who give money in trading of her body). If you are able stop the abuse, don’t use the money. If you are not able, grow stronger and get yourself a hope to change.

Now put youself as the boy, SRJK Rasa as the mother, who is the pimp and who is the evil power?

This morning in Kim Sen Scholl BM. Parents are protesting about the KTMB take over of portion of school compound with RM20K of compensation. Bnanner with put up such as “what 20K can do?”, “who is going take care of childrens’ safety”. Againt my mother school has to prostitue for money. We love chong eng as MP, we proud of her, but should her resign allowing buy-erection, for my mother school to prostitue for fund and solutions. The pimp will come and offer the check of his master!.

22. #22 by tanjong8 on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 6:48 pm

Remember if there were no by election, there would be any allocation.

It is the buy-election that gave the people of Rasa to rasa the benefits !

thanks to Nazib ? No thanks

23. #23 by tanjong8 on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 8:06 pm

Remember Nazib kept his promise because of one event.

That is the Sibu by election.

Hence, no thanks to him

24. #24 by tak tahan on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 8:43 pm

I think Lks is projecting chinese has come to a sense of maturity of a New Malaysia of justice, freedom, excellence and prosperity while insisting on their rights as citizens and taxpayers.After all the 3m come from citizens money.

25. #25 by Onlooker Politics on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 12:40 am

It is alright for YB Kit to praise Najib on this occasion. At least YB Kit shows that he is consistent in giving support to the Chinese Education in Malaysia. Moreover, while DAP has little difficulty to mobilise support from the Malaysian voters of Chinese origin, DAP needs to work hard in order to win much more support from the Malaysian voters coming from the Malay community. Showing the Malays that DAP is indeed a moderate party which members would know how to appreciate good deed done by even such a Top National Leader from opponent Barisan Nasional as Najib will be the first most important step leaping forward to attract the attention of the Malays and to improve the political image of DAP among the Malay community. It is also very important for DAP to show that it is indeed a party consists of rational and right thinking people since DAP members will not, without justifiable reason, simply reject any good deed which has been done by its political opponent such as the Top Leader of UMNO. DAP is moving one more step towards building up a moderate political image in order to win over the support of some, if not all, voters from among the Malay community.

26. #26 by yhsiew on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 6:35 am

///DAP needs to work hard in order to win much more support from the Malaysian voters coming from the Malay community./// #25 by Onlooker Politics

Agree.

DAP needs to work harder to win the support of other races (be they Malay, Indian or Eurasian). A successful political party is acceptable by all races.

Communal politics has no place in the Malaysian society.

27. #27 by Jamal Malik on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 9:44 am

I think the Chinese should just burn the cheque in front of Perkasa Ibrahim Ali.
    Chinese are not cheap and do not have to be bribed. Only UMNO cronies get bribes.

After what they said about Indians arriving Msia as beggars and Chinese women as prostitutes, we don’t need this kind of handouts.

Chua Soi Lek – as the leader of the Chinese community and considering the amount that your brethren has siphoned off through PKFZ, how hard is it to raise $3m ringgit for the Chinese in Hulu Selangor ? Where is your leadership quality ?

28. #28 by Godfather on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 11:49 am

Chua Soi Lek got a by-erection through the $3 million donation by his boss.