Cry “This is not Manchester or Los Angeles, this is bloody Malaysia” finds resonance in the country and reflects gravity of crisis of public confidence in police professionalism

“Hisham: We’ll be fair – Home Minister promises a thorough investigation” and “No cover-up in probe, says IGP” are two headlines in the Star today on the trigger-happy “shoot-to-kill” police killing of 14-year-old student Aminulrasyid Hamzah in the early hours of Monday morning, some 100 metres from his Shah Alam Section 11 house to assure the Malaysian public of the action being taken by the authorities.

Both the Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein and the Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan can shout from the rooftops but the duo will not be able to inspire confidence whether the aggrieved family or the outraged Malaysian public that there would be a thorough, independent and professional investigation into the heinous incident causing the death of a 14-year-old Form III student in Shah Alam.

The ham-fisted and unwarranted “stern warning” by the Selangor Police Chief Datuk Khalid Abu Bakar to politicians and the public not to make statements or to speculate on the incident has the unintended effect of further undermining public confidence in police integrity and professionalism.

Khalid is clearly behind-times as he does not realize that we are in the era of democratic and accountable policing, and not living in a police state where no questions should be asked about the police!

In fact, an independent and professional investigation into the Aminulrasyid police killing should include an investigation why Khalid had come out with an official police version which has been immediately challenged by the family, the neighbourhood and an eyewitness?

For instance, Khalid alleged that Aminul, who was driving, had suddenly reversed the car and tried to ram into the police personnel while his companion “had exited and was able to escape”.

The family had challenged this version, denying that Aminul tried to reverse the car to jam the police personnel and that Aminul had died when he was shot in the back of the head causing the car to crash into a tree, retaining wall and into a drain some 100 metres from his house.

Khalid alleged that the police found a long machete in the car driven by Aminul, which had been denied by Aminul’s mother, Norsiah Mohamad, saying that the car belonged to one of Aminul’s married sisters and contained shoes and not a machete.

Will Khalid resign as Selangor Chief Police Officer and personally apologise to the aggrieved family if the official police version is proven to be untrue?

The aggrieved family and the immediate Shah Alam neighbourhood are rightly outraged at the circumstances of the police killing of 14-year-old student Aminulrasyhid as if he is a big-time gangster, causing one of the neighbours to exclaim: “This is not Manchester or Los Angeles, this is bloody Malaysia”!

This heart-felt cry “This is not Manchester or Los Angeles, this is bloody Malaysia” has found resonance and reverberation in the breasts of all fathers and mothers throughout the country and reflects the gravity of the crisis of public confidence in police professionalism.

Aminulrasyhid’s neighbours raised two pertinent questions: Didn’t the police have the common sense to realise that the student is not a criminal or he would have sought escape to the highways instead of entering a residential area, trying to flee home to his mother.

Secondly, if Aminul was trying to ram into the police by suddenly reversing and was shot, how could the car ram into a tree, retaining wall ending up in a drain?

As Aminul was shot in the back of his head and killed, he could not have posed any clear or present danger to the police personnel. Why then was he shot in the back of his head – with some neighbours reporting to have heard not less than five shots?

One of Aminulrasyid’s best friends and neighbour, Wan Iztmir Izzat Wan Abdul Rahim, has given a heart-rending account to the Malay Mail of the death of Aminulrasyid.

Itzmir declared: “He was no criminal, he was a nice boy and a great friend.”

The police has launched intensive investigations into the case. They should have established by now whether Aminulrasyid is a criminal or not and if not, they should immediately and publicly clear his name and that of his family even before the final and conclusive close of investigations.

Meanwhile, a Royal Commission of Inquiry must be established to inquire not only into Aminulrasyid’s tragic shooting case but also into all other cases of police shooting, like the case of single-mother Norizan Salleh, 29, who was shot five times after a car chase in Kuala Lumpur in February. She survived the near-fatal shots, but claimed to have been kicked and stepped on by policemen while crawling out of the car, bleeding profusely.

It has been reported that there had been an annual average of some 40 people fatally shot by the police in Malaysia when in England and Wales, there were only five deaths by police shootings per year, on average, in the last decade.

The Royal Commission of Inquiry into police shootings should cover from where the Dzaiddin Royal Commission on Police ended, i.e. from 2005 onwards into all cases of police shooting deaths, so that no Malaysian would have cause to exclaim with pain, sorrow and despair: “This is not Manchester or Los Angeles, this is bloody Malaysia!”

1. #1 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 3:51 pm

The issue is why does it resonate so much with Malaysian? We are traditionally apathetic communal voters. Why are we angry across racial lines now? For the same reason as tsunami 3/08.

What has changed since 3/08? – the world economy turned around. BN has done nothing. Nothing on corruption, nothing on police, nothing on judiciary, and in fact nothing on the economy too.

What is so surprising these things continue to happen and will continue to happen?

2. #2 by joeorange23 on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 4:06 pm

AND IDRIS JALA, claims that MALAYSIA is better than London in terms of crime. But this is bloody MALAYSIA, man. Why don’t we compare ourselves to Singapore.
    Why do Malaysian politikus, appointed or otherwise always benchmark against the lowest and the worst.
    Maybe this heartfelt and righteous statement that we are not Manchester or Los Angeles, but bloody Malaysia be made a rallying cry to once and all force the change that the Malaysian public want to see in the police.

Enough of nice boys and nice young men(TBH) falling victim.

3. #3 by ringthetill on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 4:10 pm

I see this as a case of a teenage joy riding which happens everywhere. Yes, we shouldn’t condone such menace as it puts other road users at risk, and should be tackled by police. However, the issue here is, why is the boy shot and why does the police describe the incident in such a manner as to give the impression that they, the police, have shot a would-be criminal.

4. #4 by Voter get Voters campaign for PR on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 4:38 pm

Albert Einstein ……” the world is a dangerous place not because of the evils that these people do but because of the other good people who just LOOK ON and does NOTHING ”
    ” Malaysia is in such a deplorable place NOT because of EVIL umNO / BN but because you and I the eligible voters did not cast your votes “. Now by just mere casting your vote is NOT ( NEVER ) enough.
    Its we the commentators and readers of MT who are to blame if we dun do anything about it except to complained at best.
    For FREE ” VOTER-get-VOTERS ” stickers, email me your postal address to voter-get-voters @ hotmail. com or sms 017-3740176. or collect from me at Low Yat Plaza, Lot10,Times Sq any monday to thurs betw 12 to 7PM. MT already vouched for me

5. #5 by donplaypuks on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 4:49 pm

YB

This issue of the tragic police shooting of 14 year old Aminulrasyid, if not satisfactorily resolved after the police “internal inquiry”, must result in the IPCMC being brought into law.

The IGP and AG have now for 3 years defied and insulted the Agung by not following up on the findings of the Royal Commission of Inquiry into the Police (and the Judiciary as well vis-a-vis Lingam and ec-CJ Eusoff Chin)!!

Additionally, the unfair and baised conduct of the Election Commission in re-designating voting stations and some voters to new constituencies at the 11th hour is being challenged in court by Zaid while numerous police reports have been made by others as well.

DAP/Pakatan must go hammer and tongs to weed out rogue elements in PDRM and the EC. If the Govt and courts will not act to protect the Rakyat, then you must strongly petition the Agubg for another 2 RCI’s to rein in the rogues in PDRM and the EC!!

dpp
    we are all of 1 race, the Human Race

6. #6 by monsterball on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 4:51 pm

Khalid must learn to listen to the two sides of the story….and read what is posted here.
    Any intelligent and level header police chief will immediately jump at the “shoe box” and not a
    “machete” as reported to him….and question that officer seriously…as if his own on was shot dead.
    Will he do that?
    The answer is how much he values the reputation of the force and what mentality is he….a racist or a Malaysian.
    However….the chances he will keep on defending the culprit is part and parcel to keep his job.
    Empty vessel .who is making the most noise…Hishamuddin ….the figure head Home Minister man..is such an unreliable..unproductive cowardly man…in the cabinet. ..that if the family of the dead.. and Malaysians ever depend on him for one good job done….to speak up …you may as well expect a miracle to happen…than depend on this sickening good for nothing minister.
    Najib knows it…yet have no power to replace him…just transfer from Education to Home…as the band of robbers and thieves.. must stick together..for better or worst.

7. #7 by rahmanwang on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 4:55 pm

Kugan dead at police interrogation.Beng Hock dead at MACC questioning.Now a 14 year old dead at the sight of a policeman.Is there any law and order in Malaysia?

8. #8 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 5:02 pm

If you care to check out my blog MalaysiaWatch for the past few years you will find that I have always maintained the government lost ALL CREDIBILITY to rule when it BACKED DOWN from implementing the IPCMC.
    In a way it show how CORRUPTION has invaded the vital institutions of government when the PDRM can refuse the findings of the IPCMC and the government just keep quiet. Instead it merely improved the conditions of pay and service that were recommended.
    So the government paid more for their services but the taxpayers got nothing in return to protect.
    This government NEEDS to be replaced asp.

9. #9 by Counterpoint on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 5:18 pm

Can I say that those who voted for this administration in the last general elections and those who continue to vote for this stinkin’ administration in the Hulu Selangor by-election assisted in killing the boy?

These voters have blood on their hands !

10. #10 by on cheng on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 7:08 pm

Yes, the boy was wrong for driving without license, but surely it doesn’t warrant a death sentence by firing, there are at least a dozen other ways to deal with this boy, definitely NOT fire into his head!! The policeman should be also summon for civil damages to pay compensation for 30 years or so!
    of course with criminal charges too!

11. #11 by Loh on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 7:20 pm

///Musa suggested that he would pull his men off the street amid criticisms over Monday’s shooting of 14-year-old Aminulrasyid.///– Malaysiakini

It seems that Musa considers himself the boss rather the servant of the people. Musa should learn, even only months to september 2010 when he is due to leave his position, that police is here to do their duties. If they have done the wrong having shot and killed innocent people, the culprit has to be responsible. It is not up to him to decide whether they want to perform their duties by pulling his staff off the street. Musa does not have the authority, or privilege. He is duty bound, unless he resigns, to keep his men on the streets and to do what are required of them, as expected of uniformed police officers anywhere in the world, such as in Singapore. It is not for Musa to threaten the citizens that police would not perform their duties; they have no right to collect their pay and goodies, and choose not to perform.

Some years back, the Police force also threatened that the crime rate would climb if the government of AAB implemented IPCMC. AAB was seen to be hopeless and he wasted his authority as Prime Minister. Kerismuddin the UMNO Youth Chief then supported the police position and rejected IPCMC even though AAB declared its establishement previously. It is now the same threat from the police with Kerisman now head of the Home Ministry. Was IGP speaking on behalf of Kerismuddin?

12. #12 by on cheng on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 7:24 pm

In bolehland, rakyat who do not support or agreed with bn or umno are labelled as traitor, ungrateful, disloyal, unpatrotic, anti-malay, hooligan, etc

13. #13 by Loh on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 7:30 pm

///(Mamakthir) He believes that cozy ties between BN and Perkasa might have helped the coalition clinch Hulu S’gor. ///–Malaysiakini

To Mamakthir the country can go to hell so long as UMNO won the buy-election.

It is the ex-leader who does not behave like one that causes the endless trouble in this country. It would appear that Mamakthir is not exactly supporting Najib, and certainly not Najib’s slogan of 1Malaysia which is known to be a mere slogan without any intention to move away from race-based politics. Moodim hopes that he would stand a chance supporting the opportunistic-racist to create a regime change within UMNO.

A regime change is long overdue, so is the absence of the unwanted in the political arena.

14. #14 by son of perpaduan on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 9:31 pm

Khalid should resign long tim ago.

15. #15 by monsterball on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 9:39 pm

At first when I read his message..I thought he as right.
    But then….everything he spoke and acted upon were all protecting UMNIO and applying…clear double standards.
    So how can such a person is right…and LKS have said it all.
    He should retire and get lost.
    He has so many trigger happy policemen that are protecting UMNO politicians and not Malaysians….which include the IGP himself.
    All have same mentalities and behaviors.
    UMNO and Police stooges..do no wrong things at all. I know few high ranking police officers…that have retired and feel shameful to tell others…they were police high racking officers…saying the police have a very bad reputation.
    I told them ….no. The public does not hate policemen in total.
    The public hates the high ranking corrupted police officers that are on the take and our present IGP.

16. #16 by taurus 88 on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 1:08 am

YB
    This is the scenario after the shooting:

Musa answer phone groggily: ‘Hello’

Kerismuddin: ‘Where the bloody hell are you? I rang you house and you wife said you are still working in the office.

Musa: Sorry boss I’m with this Mongolian bird, very beautiful boss.’

Kerismuddin: ‘ You idiotic fool, your men had just shot a teenager.’

Musa: ‘Betul ka boss? Well don’t worry for if they did, this kid then most likely deserve it boss. I train my men well you know boss.’

Musa ring Khalid: ‘What the f..k happen idiot?’

Khalid: ‘Sorry boss, we have only just shot and kill this joy-ride kid. Nothing serious so don’t worry boss. It’s this stupid kid’s fault anyway, he knows damm well we only have ONE policy the PDRM and is shoot to kill. Anyway I have already worked out what to say to the press and all.

Musa: ‘Make sure your statement is good and make me proud you understand bodoh? Celaka, how can they disturb my night with my Mongolian bird. Semua bodoh!’

Musa ring Kerismuddun: ‘Boss, no sweat, only a kid la….. nobody important. Also told Khalid to wrap everything up nicely. Same time in the club tomorrow boss?’

There is no malice or insult to Aminulrasyid Hamzah and family.Please accept my sincere condolence for the bereaved family. I hope those responsible for this outrage will be make to pay.

17. #17 by Onlooker Politics on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 1:13 am

The Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein is incompetent in putting a check on the happening of extra-judicial killing by the Police Force. About two months ago, a case of extra-judicial killing by the Police was happening in Hishammuddin’s constituency of Kahang (at Kampung Batu 24, Jalan Mersing, Kahang). On the second day of the killing of an Indian man by the Police in Kahang, Hishammuddin took flight by helipcopter from Paloh (he was meanwhile attending Chinese New Year celebration in Paloh) to Kahang in order to pacify the Indian family of the Police shoot-out victim. The happening of another extra-judicial killing of 14-year-old student Aminulrasyid Hamzah in Shah Alam recently clearly showed that Hishammuddin had failed to improve the system of checks-and-balances on controlling the extra-judicial killing which had been deliberately done by the Police frequently. The competency of Hishammuddin as a Home Minister is really questionable!

18. #18 by homeblogger on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 5:58 am

There IS NO police professionalism. What we have is below par men and women who join the force because they’re not good in their studies, earning below average wages and trying to survive a growing tsunami of crime triggered by a government that is corrupt.

I said it before, I say it again. There are thousands of kids who go on joy-rides using their parents’, siblings’ or friends’ cars and motorbikes every day. Often the owners of the vehicles knowingly allow it. What happens if these unlicensed kids kill innocent people? What if these joy-riding kids kill your sons and daughters? After this incident, kids will stay at home for a while. Parents will warn their kids NOT to take their cars out for a spin for a while. Until this incident is forgotten. Then, they’ll be out again, waiting to potentially take others’ lives for the the sake of their “right” to joy-ride.

Don’t get me wrong. Our IGP IS and idiot and from the looks of it, incompetent. But the fact is, Aminul would NOT be dead if he didn’t break the law in the first place. As a parent, I find it hard to feel sorry for his death because if he was not shot, he could possibly have killed by son or daughter at the very next turn or next joy ride.

19. #19 by homeblogger on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 6:00 am

apologies. typo. last line should read :

“he could possibly have killed MY son or daughter at the very next turn or next joy ride.”

20. #20 by dagen on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 8:45 am

Oh dear. 1700 HS folks have effectively voted the IGP and his band of trigger-happy subordinates into power and authority.

They should have voted to “save malaysia” instead. RM3m for a chinese school from jib is absolutely meaningless if he continues with his other hand to allow his police force to take away innocent lives.

“SELAMATKAN MALAYSIA”