My friend Aminul

Itzmir reels from the tragic death of his best buddy
ALFIAN TAHIR
Wednesday, April 28th, 2010 14:12:00 | Malay Mail

SHAH ALAM: The loss of his best friend, Aminul Rashid Amzah, 15, who was shot dead by police on Monday morning after allegedly trying to flee upon colliding with another car, is something Wan Iztmir Izzat Wan Abdul Rahim, also 15, can’t come to terms with. Recalling how Aminul died some five metres away from his best friend’s house, Iztmir said he was at home when he heard a loud bang.

Thinking it was just another accident, he ignored it until he realised there was a commotion outside.

“When I saw patrol cars and many people, I went out and saw a car with a youngster in it. I recognised my friend’s T-shirt and thought Aminul had one just like it,” said Itzmir “I got closer for a better look and I couldn’t believe what I saw. My best friend was slumped in the car.

“I asked the policeman what had happened but he told me to get back inside my house. When I asked again, the policeman just kept quiet.

“I was very sad when I read the newspapers the next day. Aminul was nothing like what was written.

“We grew up together and we shared a lot of things. Aminul won’t do such thing. He was probably scared after colliding with the other car.

“He had no driving licence. Suddenly faced the police, what would you expect him to do? I would run away too because I don’t have a licence to drive.”

His friend’s sudden death keeps haunting him. “My best friend was covered in blood in that car.

“He was no criminal, he was a nice boy and a great friend.”

On Monday morning, Aminul Rashid sneaked out from his house at Jalan 11/2G, Section 11, to meet friends at a mamak stall. Aminul drove his sister’s Proton Iswara and was accompanied by another teenager, whose identity is still unknown.

On the way back, Aminul collided with another car. In panic he drove away from the scene. A patrol car spotted the incident, pursued the vehicle and managed to stop it by shooting at the tyres. However, the boy was shot in the back of his head and died on the spot. His friend, who was not injured, escaped.

The victim’s mother, Norsiah Mohammad, 60, yesterday morning denied police allegation her youngest son was a criminal. She expressed sorrow at reading the allegations in newspapers.

“How can they call my son a criminal? That is wrong. I am his mother. I know what my son does everyday.

“He is an active schoolboy who never caused any trouble to the family.” Her focus now is to seek justice for her son’s death and insisted she was not looking for revenge.

She only wants an explanation as to what transpired, with nothing covered up.

Puchong MP Gobind Singh Deo also urged Bukit Aman police to have an independent investigation into the incident.

Another police report was later lodged at the Shah Alam headquarters by the mother and family lawyers.

A Facebook group entitled “KAMI BENCI KEKEJAMAN POLIS MALAYSIA! — JUSTICE FOR AMINULRASYID” has attracted over 3,500 fans since it was set up yesterday at 3pm.

1. #1 by Cinapek on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 12:42 pm

Deepest condolences to the bereaved family for the loss of their son. A young man taken away before he could achieve his destiny.

I read with extreme sadness the various news article covering this tragic incident. It is a sad day when comments made by the Home Minister, IGP, ministers, political leaders and NGOs uses very defensive words such as “transparent”, “fair”, “no cover up”, “independent”, all of which underscores the complete lack of faith and trust in the police force to conduct a genuine investigation. Subconciously this defensive stance by the authorities clearly indicates they are aware that the PDRM has sank even lower in the eyes of the public. It has only themselves to blame. Its highly questionable actions in the recent past has driven themselves further into a corner. Unless they have the will and sincerity to make amends and deliver the truth, this tragic incident will drive another nail into the coffin of the PDRM and the now defunct IPCMC.

2. #2 by k1980 on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 12:54 pm

Go to any kampung and you will see 11-year-old boys riding their relatives’ motorbikes without wearing any helmet. Woe betide the fellow should he/she unintentionally knock into them. Need I say more?

3. #3 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 1:01 pm

To those voters in Hulu Selangor who were not desperate for the money that BN was spending – this is why Zaid Ibrahim need to be in office. The blood of this kid is on all those voters who did not need the money of BN but voted for them anyway…

4. #4 by raven77 on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 1:19 pm

This tragic accident waiting to happen. Already our PDRM is filled with uneducated louts and a 14 year old boy drives to mamak stall in the middle of the night with no license. Both the policeman who took the shot and the boy clearly are products of our lowya education system. It can happen in Somalia maybe. But in Malaysia where our citizens are supposed to be matured. How come kid so berani to take out car at 12 midnight without license. Cikgu never taught him and boy took law, and the difference between right and wrong lightly. And how come policeman took a shot at the car in Section 11? Next shoot anak Sultan staying right across the roundabout? Incident happened hardly a stone’s throw away from both Shah Alam and Selangor police contingent. Maybe policeman trigger happy. Not mature. No common sense. Maybe real penakut, scared to death for his own life. We are a nation in serious decline. Because the human resource we have do not have the intellectual and moral capacity to make mature decisions anymore. Our school and university systems are junk. Maybe time to start employing Nepalese in PDRM. Education. Education. Education. This country needs a government change and the first order of the day would be make our young capable with the capacity to think. Until the, this is what you get if you run a Malay school system.

5. #5 by son of perpaduan on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 1:24 pm

Masih dalam siasatan, no comment.

6. #6 by son of perpaduan on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 1:49 pm

Police Di Raja Malaysia keseluruhan adalah badan legislatif mengurangi akuntabilitas dan perwakilan di pembentukan kebijaksanaan di sistem pengadilan institusi dari pemerintah, karena pengabaian prosedur, penyedotan sumber daya, dan pejabat diangkat atau dinaikan jabatan bukan karena prestasi. Pada saat yang bersamaan, korupsi mempersulit legitimasi pemerintahan dan nilai demokrasi seperti kepercayaan dan toleransi. Walau korupsi sering memudahkan kegiatan kriminal seperti penjualan narkotika, pencucian uang, dan prostitusi, korupsi itu sendiri tidak terbatas dalam hal-hal ini saja.
    Korupsi politis ada di banyak negara, dan memberikan ancaman besar bagi warga negaranya. Korupsi politis berarti kebijaksanaan pemerintah sering menguntungkan pemberi sogok, bukannya rakyat luas. Korupsi memerlukan dua pihak yang korup: pemberi sogokan (penyogok) dan penerima sogokan, merugikan keuangan negara atau perekonomian negara.
    PDRM patut tukar kepada Polis Di Rakyat Malaysia.

7. #7 by Voter get Voters campaign for PR on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 4:58 pm

Albert Einstein ……” the world is a dangerous place NOT because of the evils that these people do but because of the other good people who just LOOK ON and does NOTHING ”
    ” Malaysia is in such a deplorable place NOT because of EVIL umNO / BN but because you and I the eligible voters did not cast your votes “. Now by just mere casting your vote is NOT ( NEVER ) enough.We need more new VOTERS
    Its we the commentators and readers of MT who are to blame if we dun do anything about it except to complained at best.
    For FREE ” VOTER-get-VOTERS ” stickers, email me your postal address to voter-get-voters @ hotmail. com or sms 017-3740176. or collect from me at Low Yat Plaza, Lot10,Times Sq any monday to thurs betw 12 to 7PM

8. #8 by monsterball on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 5:33 pm

The case concerning Teoh Beng Hock seems to fall off and prove MACC innocent of all wrong doings. Just few millions will solve the problem..to buy a parrot from overseas to talk and save crooks.
    This will be another case.
    Right now..Kugan is also forgotten..knowing people move on with their lives and forget.
    But come 13th GE….there will be a huge wake up call…and all will be reminded to voters … with their conscience.
    Yes…I pity the parents of Aminul….Kugan and Teoh Beng Hock.
    Not one case solved…and findings take years and years.
    Come to murders and corruptions…forget justice to be seen and done.
    After all…Najib has one hang on his shoulder…and look at the pattern for justice?
    On corruptions..all PKFZ suspects are freed. No one is guilty…and Toyol can live n his RM22 million in peace.
    Mahathir is smart…billions stolen..not one sen in his pocket….and live a simple life.
    But no one can see how he spend millions upon millions tax payers money….did as he likes…traveling plane loads…to all the countries in the world….enjoying himself…and eat all the good expensive food he wanted and live him the most expensive hotels.
    So…why do Mahathir needed billions stolen to be found in his personal bank account?
    So many cronies…relatives and sons.
    Toyol owns a RM20 million manssion. He owns half of Pulau Langawai with Diam plus 30 horse and a Japanese bakery.
    His sons are multi billionaires….saying at their defenses…”My sons are smart people”…..insulting all Malaysians…being so stupid…cannot make millions…being less smarter than his sons.
    All these must not be forgotten by all Malaysians…and much much more.
    Yes..murders and corruptions…no way Malaysians can get justices from UMNO BARU.
    All we should do is feeling happy..out children are safe from harm’s way…in this sickening country.

9. #9 by tak tahan on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 8:50 pm

These malaysian’authorities can say whatever obvious sturborn and illogical statemens as they pleased.Ah yo yo,this bolehland semua pun boleh boleh boleh.Beh tahan.

10. #10 by c730427 on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 11:15 pm

Just Like TBH, this case is highly sensitive and now happened to a kid! How could Musa made such irresponsible statement when the whole nation is shocked by this tragic misadventure.

The PDRM logo will forever be stained with the blood of Aminul. Unless the IGP is replaced.