BTN – why is Muhyiddin backing Ahmad Maslan and not Nazri?

When asked about the Biro Tata Negara (BTN) controversy after the National Land Council meeting in Putrajaya on Friday, Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin said the Deputy Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, Datuk Ahmad Maslan, who is directly responsible for Biro Tata Negara (BTN), had already given the necessary explanation.

Asked whether the BTN course would be revamped, Muhyiddin said this was not a new course, that it had been decided on by the Cabinet a long time back and that he did not need to explain further. (Sin Chew 5.12.09)

Muhyiddin was being most irresponsible for evading the issue, especially as the Deputy Prime Minister had led the UMNO hawks including the Home Minister, Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein, the Agriculture Minister Datuk Nor Omar, the Women Minister Datuk Shahrizat Jalil in Cabinet in defending the divisive, racist and seditious BTN indoctrination courses.

Muhyiddin cannot be unaware of the public spat between Ahmad Maslan and the Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz, over the disagreement over the Minister’s statement that the Cabinet had decided to “revamp” the BTN course “to fall in line with the prime minister’s 1Malaysia concept” so that its curriculum will be “inclusive rather than divisive” and that a directive to revamp the BTN courses has already been given to the chief secretary of the government.

This was disputed by Ahmad Mazlan, the supremo of BTN, who said it was an “upgrade” or “improvement” and not a revamp, declaring that there was “nothing wrong with the current course structure”.

In explaining the upgrade of the BTN course to incorporate the 1Malaysia module, he said:

“The changes were made in April. There is a different focus when there is a new leader. With Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, BTN focussed on Vision 2020, and with Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, it was on human capital.”

He said the 1Malaysia module teaches unity and eight core values – culture of excellence, perseverance, humility, acceptance, loyalty, meritocracy, education and integrity.

Ahmad Maslan was guilty of both irresponsibility and dishonesty.

No wonder Nazri responded with the riposte that there was no point in denying the true nature of BTN, as no matter how much the leaders tried to deny it, there were “other” former government leaders who are now in Pakatan Rakyat who had been involved with the BTN and know of its contents.

When Ahmad Maslan said that 1Malaysia module teaches unity and eight core values – culture of excellence, perseverance, humility, acceptance, loyalty, meritocracy, education and integrity, is he admitting that the previous Vision 2020 and Islam Hadhari modules of BTN did not inculcate unity and these eight core values?

If so, why were the core values of the Vision 2020 and Islam Hadhari modules of the BTN course which make them different form the 1Malaysia module?

The issue in contention is not about these core values but the underlying and persistent agenda of the BTN course to pump communal poison and incite racial hatred and animosity among civil servants, university students and future leaders, which had continued unabated even after the so-called “upgrading” of the BTN course in April.

Ahmad Maslan’s claim is debunked by three letters to the editor in The Star in May this year, denouncing the divisive, racist and seditious BTN indoctrination programme after April this year – especially the May 28, 2009 letter “BTN course is having the opposite effect” by “Disappointed Parent” from Shah Alam, viz:

I REFER to the letters “BTN course teaches disunity” (The Star, May 22) and “BTN course turning into a farce” (The Star, May 26).

My son attended the Biro Tata Negara (BTN) course in May 2008 and came out of it very angry and utterly dejected.
Throughout the five-day course, he and other Indian participants were constantly hounded and attacked on the actions of the now out-lawed Hindraf movement.

He and his friends are not supporters nor sympathisers of the group, and yet they felt disgusted and disappointed at the way the instructors kept harping on the issue at every turn and opportunity.

I am not too sure if my son and his friends have become anti-establishment as a result, but I am quite certain that they have neither forgotten nor forgiven BTN and the Government for their unprofessional and crude indoctrination methodologies.

I pray that the Government will scrap the BTN course as it is certainly not in line with the “1Malaysia. People First. Performance Now” policy espoused by our Prime MInister.

If more proof is needed, there is the comment piece “BTN: Divisive, racist, politically-motivated” by Mariam Mohktar on her traumatic experience at having to undergo such divisive, racist and seditious indoctrination programme in the past.

Why is Muhyiddin backing Ahmad Maslan and not Nazri on the BTN controversy?

The refusal on the part of Muhyiddin to support Nazri and come clean and admit that the BTN course had been divisive, racist and seditious, and instead to support Ahmad Maslan’s denial, raises doubt that there would be any meaningful revamp of the BTN course.

When the UMNO information chief is the head of the BTN programme, Umno’s ideology of hegemony becomes the poison in the BTN courses.

The removal of Ahmad Maslan, who is Umno Information Chief, as the BTN supreme must be the first step to any meaningful “revam” of the BTN course.

The BTN as present constituted with its racist and anti-national agenda is not “revampable” and must be scrapped.

It should instead be replaced by an independent non-partisan national civics institution which is completely independent of the government-of-the-day and answerable to Parliament for its curriculum and management to foster national unity and Malaysian consciousness among all sectors of Malaysians.

1. #1 by Comrade on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 8:46 am

The leaders cannot let go of the BTN because:
    “They are killing two birds with one stone.
    One through possibe misuse of BTN allocation.
    The other is the indoctrination process according to their tone.
    So don’t give a chance to BN in the next general election.”

2. #2 by Comrade on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 8:51 am

typo error “possibe” should be “possible”.

3. #3 by limkamput on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 9:50 am

It is the good cop and bad cop thing which they have used since Tunku’s time. The “dual tracks” strategy is aimed at galvanising supports both from the extremists and the moderates. The paramount assumption here is Malaysians are gullible and sometimes I do think that way and that is why the strategy has been repeatedly used with considerable success in the past. Number one is always the good guy – the PM of all Malaysians mah. Number two is usually the bad guy – the extremist, rightist and hawkish image – because he can wait and when the time comes, he will change his image to a good guy. Tun Razak used it, Mahathir used it too.

Can we ever trust anything our leaders said or not said anymore? They can’t ever extricate themselves from so many scandals and jostling, how else can we expect them to do the right things for Malaysia. We are hapless nation, it is time the leaders at all levels clear their names. It is time they put all the accusations, real or imagine, to test and to rest. We can not proceed otherwise.

4. #4 by limkamput on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 9:52 am

I wish someday Mariam Mohktar will become the Prime Minister of Malaysia.

5. #5 by limkamput on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 9:55 am

sorry repost:
    Can we ever trust anything our leaders said or not said anymore? They can’t even extricate themselves from so many scandals and jostling, how else can we expect them to do the right things for Malaysia. We are a hapless nation, it is time the leaders at all levels clear their names. It is time they put all the accusations, real or imagine, to test and to rest. We can not proceed otherwise.

6. #6 by Godfather on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 10:51 am

Mariam Mokhtar? Why not Marina Mahathir? Just to prove that bad genes aren’t necessarily passed down…

7. #7 by Winston on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 11:12 am

Does anyone noticed that UMNO/BN has been getting more and more crass with each passing day?
    They have been admitting to all sorts of wrong doing for a very long time and YET, surprisingly they still get landslide majorities during many general elections!
    Does the gullibility of the Malaysian electorate knows no bounds?
    It’s time everybody does everything in his/her power to dump the UMNO/BN and get PR into Putrajaya in the next GE.
    No ifs, no buts!
    Just make it your mission!

8. #8 by superstar48 on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 11:47 am

Is there any maruah left in the so called Govn. leaders? At one time cannisters and chemical sprays were used against hindraf movement and they were even classified as Tamil Tigers and today the same sameless leaders are getting garlanded and also flower decorated crowns on the heads.What has happen to all the so called accusations.How came the Tamil Tigers became kuching kurap so suddenly.PM why are asking for cheap and sympathy publicity like this?

9. #9 by superstar48 on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 11:49 am

typo error How came to How come.sorry for the mistake.

10. #10 by k1980 on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 11:53 am

Oppose umno, classified as Tamil Tigers

Support umno, classified as Tamil Pussies ( cats, and not the ones Tiger Woods got bashed up by his wife )

11. #11 by tenaciousB on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 12:01 pm

Those with Tiger woods were sluts or whores.
    Women who sell their souls to dig celebrity dollars.

12. #12 by limkamput on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 12:06 pm

tenaciousB, i think it is not fair. There must be someone willing to be dug. What do you expect, free lunch?

The gullible and the stupid are those making Tiger billionaire just by watching him putting a few miserable balls into a tidy hole.

13. #13 by boh-liao on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 12:22 pm

MY needs BTN 2 remain status quo 2 guarantee himself as d next PM after NR
    MY needs civil servants n educated Malays 2 b brain washed 2 believe in Ketuanan Melayu
    N 2 believe in Umno B as d saviour of Malays
    Furthermore, MCA, MIC, Gerakan etc support d current BTN n accept Ketuanan Melayu
    MY figures NR won’t stay on as PM 4 long with Altan n TBH haunting him n RM
    So what if BTN, corruptions, n robbery deter ppl fr seeking 2nd home in M’sia, no big deal

14. #14 by limkamput on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 12:28 pm

I said earlier, BTN should be scrapped not revamped. There is no such a thing as national ideological training other than trying to indoctrinate the people. So today it is Ketuanan Melayu, tomorrow it maybe something else. The communists did that too and I am glad it has failed.

The love for a nation can not come about through formal training or indoctrination. The feeling has to come from within – their sense of love for the country because they can see and feel that the country is for them. They will even sacrifice for the country if what the country stands for is something worth protecting.

BTN, can you tell us what is worth our affection and protection now?

15. #15 by tenaciousB on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 12:39 pm

Perhaps if the british stayed on we may have had a meritocratic governance.

16. #16 by boh-liao on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 12:44 pm

Mara scholarship holder Izzarul Asyraf Ibrahim was charged with molesting a 15-year-old British girl in Cardiff
    Was he brain washed by BTN (2 b Ketuanan Melayu everywhere) b4 he went 2 Wales?

17. #17 by frankyapp on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 12:46 pm

All these showed Muhidin is in charge of team B with most of the loser ministers supporting him. Pretty lots of action would soon be happening within Umno.The two teams would grasp each other throat ,struggling between themselves,with no end to the fighting.Other BN members would come in to advise them to stop and batch up,else all the Umno/Bn machineries would go down the drain.Wow it’s pretty good news,the people are all waiting and welcoming to see it.

18. #18 by tenaciousB on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 1:00 pm

come to think about it, the opposition bought a movie ticket and are sitting back and enjoying their popcorn while watching BN implode. LOL

19. #19 by boh-liao on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 1:05 pm

PR may not hv done much since 308
    At least PR managed to force d Federal Cabinet to agree to declassify d report on Bukit Antarabangsa landslide
    A baby step in dismantling OSA, yeah

20. #20 by pwcheng on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 1:18 pm

Moo hi deen will remain dogmatic and insists that BTN must survive for the survival of UMNO.
    What choice does Ahmad Maslan has in not defending BTN as it is under his charge. He cannot put a noose around his own neck by saying the reverse.
    Hishamuddin is a guy who shoots out faster than he can think and his job is there to tell whatever UMNO does it is correct. Has he ever said otherwise.
    Sharizat is a write off as she has been beaten by a young novice. It is better for her to shut up and not to defend something that cannot be defended. She is brought in as a rep of Wanita wing as the other is rotten to the core. What has she contributed to society after all these years.

ONE thing, you can be sure in UMNO. IF one UMNO man were to say there is something not right with BTN or any other UMNO manipulative project it is definitely better than a hundred of UMNO men/women saying otherwise. We have live long enough to know to know all these.
    UMNO exists not for the people but for their survival at the expense of the people. They will manipulate whatever way they, even to the extent of hatred among the races for their survival.
    On one hand they will defend ISA, OSA, the seditious act,etc to the hilt as though they are great defenders of unity and they even have a ministry of national unity, but behind the scene they are doing all the evil deeds of disuniting the people.
    Walk into any government Department, you will find the coldness and unfriendly gesture among the young government servants. One way or other UMNO is bent on “divide and rule” and BTN is just a small contribution for them to achieve it.

21. #21 by monsterball on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 1:22 pm

Muhyiddin is the most idiotic DPM we can come across.
    Najib is another liar and low IQ man.
    An idiot leading an idiot.
    Put them together…you can expect ding dong bell..pendulum and basketball game type of government…with these two clowns performing..as main performers.. for the last curtain calls for UMNO.
    Enjoy and wait for 13th GE.

22. #22 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 2:21 pm

boh-liao writes: was charged
    While there are occasional spectacular miscarriages of justice, I expect the Pontypridd Crown Court will dispense reasonable justice on Jan 8. Perhaps one of our regular law-minded contributors will be able to confirm, but “committed for hearing” (from the Star’s article), when Section 3 offers sentences for both summary convictions and indictments:
    http://www.opsi.gov.uk/Acts/acts2003/ukpga_20030042_en_2#pt1-pb2-l1g3
    suggests to me that the charge is being contested. If the charge wasn’t being contested, wouldn’t a summary conviction at the magistrate’s court, or “committed for sentencing” at the Crown Court be the result?
    Either way, perhaps it would be as well to hold off a conviction in the court of public opinion until all the facts are in.

23. #23 by ekompute on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 3:33 pm

Dump Barisan Nasional in GE13, together with its lapping dogs, dumb MCA, dumb Gerakan, and dumb MIC. Habis cerita. No need to argue about the contents of BTN.

24. #24 by Lee HS on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 4:37 pm

It is the misguided masses that we have to worry about. It is not the PM, DPM or all the BN ministers. If the masses can think right we have no problem in Malaysia.

25. #25 by wanderer on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 5:22 pm

Ole Mamak is back in town. This time he complained Anwar is trusting the “Whites” more than the Malays…
    No, Tun Mamak, DSIA trusts the Malays more than the Mamaks!!!
    I don’t blame him….Malaysians know why…….

26. #26 by ekompute on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 5:32 pm

It is good to be a Mamak. Just like a chameleon, you can switch colors, depending on the prevailing environment. I bet Dr M would have chosen his Hindu ancestry if he had lived during the Srivajayan era, LOL. But this was 1984.

27. #27 by yhsiew on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 7:01 pm

There is no need to revamp National Civics Bureau (BTN) training modules as in the current form, they were fine for instilling the patriotic spirit among Malaysians, said Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad. – (The Malaysian Insider). Muhyiddin said this was not a new course, that it had been decided on by the Cabinet a long time back and that he did not need to explain further. (Sin Chew 5.12.09)
    =============================================

These people were reluctant to revamp the BTN courses because they knew that there are immense benefits to reap by playing the race-card through BTN. They had witnessed in the past how the race-card brought positive results to UMNO. So they are banking on the same card to bring positive results to the party come the 13th GE.

28. #28 by tenaciousB on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 7:02 pm

The people gave BN the power to rule.
    BN has misused and abused its power for the last 5 decades. They have manipulated the public with race based politics for years and continue till today.

BTN is an example of their racist indoctrination. Tun mahathir supports it because it was his brain child after all. The man himself condones these affairs and the chaos we are in today is the result of his ‘genuine’ interests in the welfare of malaysians. He and his cronies have made their big bucks and are happily retired at the expense of our future in this country.

I hope the opposition comes to power and unravels all of his misdeeds and that of his cronies. Justice is around the corner but responsible citizens have to push for it.

29. #29 by ekompute on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 7:14 pm

“Tun Mahathir supports it because it was his brain child after all. ”

Actually we can’t blame him. After all, outside of Malaysia, he would have been deemed an Indian. So he must prove that he is more Malay than Malay. Who cares about national building, anyway? Pocket first and luxury living, to hell with statesmanship, LOL.

30. #30 by Dap man on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 8:08 pm

Mr Lim Kit Siang,
    It is clear as daylight that Muhyiddin is waiting to topple Najib and become the next PM. His stance on several issue points to that.

Now if you want the clearest evidence I suggest you get your DAP Muar to check on this billboard at the Muar-Pagoh bus station. (Muhyiddin is from Muar)

In this bill board, Muhyiddin portrait is in the foreground looking confident and smiling. Just behind him is a stupid looking Najib who seems to be grinning.
    Muhyiddin portrait is larger and higher than Najib’s which is placed lower than the DPM’s.
    Now what does this tell you.
    I noticed this billboard as I passed through Muar the other day but had no camera with me.
    It speaks a thousand words.

31. #31 by tenaciousB on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 8:13 pm

Actually malays have forgotten their roots. Once upon a time their ancestors were hindus and most of their culture stems from hindu culture from the sri vijaya empire.

32. #32 by tenaciousB on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 8:33 pm

The only was forward for Malaysia is:

1. End race based politics
    2. Establish meritocracy at all levels
    3. Wean off unnecessary special previlleges
    4. redistribute wealth equally throughout the nation
    5. encourage interracial marriages to unify the races
    6. continue as a moderate islamic state
    7. end cronism and nepotism
    8. establish a mainstream universal schooling system with english being the language of instruction. place equal importance for bahasa melayu but as a secondary language. Other languages should be available but optional.

perhaps with these few suggestions, malaysia can be a truly democratic and peaceful nation and who knows a safe haven which no doubt would halt brain drain.

33. #33 by johnnypok on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 9:09 pm

“Episode 2 of 513” is coming soon. The movie is ready, and will be released any time, through CNN and BBC for the whole world to watch FREE.

34. #34 by alaneth on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 11:15 pm

Muhyiddin & Maslan has gone thru many many BTN courses to be the ‘leaders’ of today. Whereas Nazri is much more liberal.

Maybe the Selangor PR Govt can introduce their own BTN course at state level to inculcate harmony among races to counter the Federal govt’s BTN.

35. #35 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 11:26 pm

Dr. Mahathir is good for nothing except for the playing the emotional incitement of ethnicism and xenophobia! When the Malaysian Malays start to acquire more and more political consciousness through the influence of internet education and worldwide cultural influence, we will find that Dr. Mahathir indeed has nothing much to offer to Malaysia except for his notorious legacy of corruption culture that is all along being faithfully practiced by the Umnoputras.

Indeed, Dr. Mahathir’s dirty Machiavellian political tricks and gimmicks by the practice of playing the divide and conquer terrorist techniques of ethnicism and xenophobia were the most despicable ones among many political tactics that had been adopted by the comtemporary politicians in the South-East Asia. These ethnicism and xenophobia techniques were even worse than the bomb-planting sabotage tactics being adopted by the former Secretary-General of the dissolved Malayan Communist Party, Mr Chin Peng. This was because MCP’s bomb-planting tactics could only hurt one or two members of civilians or militant forces but Dr. Mahathir’s racist incitement would hurt the feeling of several million people of different races of the nation for several decades. For instance, many non-Malay Malaysians would still believe that May 13 Incident was a military planned racist armed attack on the non-Malay people of Kuala Lumpur and they would not forgive those culprits such as Dato Harun and Dr. Mahathir who had incited the Malay armed forces to start the riot. Therefore, it is fair to say that Dato Harun and Dr. Mahathir had already done much more damages to the national unity of Malaysia than what Mr Chin Peng did. And both Dato Harun and Dr. Mahathir could be equally labelled as the despical racist creatures of Malay Supremacy inferiority complex!

36. #36 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 11:30 pm

Sorry, typo error!
    “despical racist creatures” should be replaced with “despicable racist creatures”.

37. #37 by tenaciousB on Sunday, 6 December 2009 - 11:46 pm

I agree with ‘onlooker politics’

TDM created this manifesto and generation of umnoputra racists scumbags. we hope the opposition can annihilate them come 13th GE.

38. #38 by HJ Angus on Monday, 7 December 2009 - 12:28 am

Of course TDM will say nothing is wrong with BTN.
    It started under his watch and if you ask further he will say nothing wrong with MACC, PDRM and all the mega-scandals of the BN government.
    http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2009/12/malaysiakini-on-continuing-story-of.html

39. #39 by Jeffrey on Monday, 7 December 2009 - 1:26 am

TDM is expected to support Biro Tata Negara (BTN). He will support the racial architecture of Malaysian politics – after all it is so much an integral part of his political legacy – never mind it fosters the divisive values of making more than ½ of people feel entitled to dominant say and control of the country’s affairs and wealth and the substantial rest, also tax paying citizens, feeling like hewers of wood and carriers of water in the back woods and backwaters of the country’s mainstream…For he knows that if his legacy survives UMNO will maintain dominance and Opposition Pakatn Rakyat will not win, and Anwar Ibrahim will not become Prime Minister and for so long as that is the case, he and his heirs and friends and their heirs will avert in their life times full accountability in respect to whatever he had done (whether good or bad) during his long 22 years at the helm, a tenure second in terms of length, by world standards, to only Fidel Castro’s!. It may well be the case that he is scared stiff of the prospects off Anwar ever becoming PM. No matter the prostestations by Anwar to let bygones be bygones TDM neither believes him nor feels secure. If TDM were to criticise the rulinbg parties/leaders on specific issues it is only to make them not do or continue to do things that will undermine their own traditional support and lose power to Opposition PR – at least within Anwar’s lifetime….

40. #40 by Jeffrey on Monday, 7 December 2009 - 1:38 am

In a videotape that was recorded on Thursday Sept 25th 1998 just after his ouster as DPM/Finance Minister but before his arrest (that was broadcast throughout the world), Anwar Ibrahim said it clearly – (quote) “They are afraid that when I take over power, their positions, their crimes and their bribes are not secure”. (unquote). It was relevant then as it is now, a decade later.

41. #41 by Jeffrey on Monday, 7 December 2009 - 1:57 am

“Asked on Opposition Leader Anwar Ibrahim’s call for independent observers from Australia to monitor the next general election in the country, Mahathir said: “If it is the white man, he will trust. If it’s Malays, it is otherwise.” – source Malaysiakini Dec 6, 09 4:11pm under Caption “ Dr M sees nothing wrong with BTN courses”.

The comment came from a man who does not see the irony in his administration paying American Jew Abramoff (a white) for his lobbying services in 2001 and 2002 to arrange for an opportunity for TDM to have a photoshoot session with Big White Chief US President Goerge Bush (whom he obviously does not trust!)

42. #42 by Jeffrey on Monday, 7 December 2009 - 2:19 am

What about The Pergau dam at the Malaysian-Thai border, if one does not trust the whites why award contracts for the dam to UK’s Balfour Beatty, a company with close links to the British Conservative Party – and Cementation International, a company which employed Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher’s son Mark? [Britain’s aid agency, the Overseas Development Administration (ODA), opposed the funding of Pergau in 1989 concluding that Pergau would not be an economic proposition until the year 2005 at the earliest!]

It was later reported that revealed that the aid package for Pergau was linked to a reciprocal arms deal whereby the Malaysian government agreed to buy over £1,000 million worth of British military equipment in return for the UK funding Pergau.

Somehow the white man cannot be trusted with his sense of fairness to monitor the next general election in the country but when it comes to big business and money can be trusted to build our dams to provide electricity and supply us their arms to defend the country. Mysterious ways, the logic that is applied here.

43. #43 by frankyapp on Monday, 7 December 2009 - 2:24 am

Hey jeffrey,that’s why I have been saying,TDM have used whatever it takes to stop this revelation .AAB broke his promise,hence was quickly kick out of sight.Now NR (due to atan case} has to co-survive with TDM,using similar tactics to cover up all the ills and evils both have committed.The book by Barry about TDM will be luanched soon .Lets wait and see whether TDM would quickly react like the way he reacted on the BTN case.

44. #44 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 7 December 2009 - 5:19 am

Dear Muhyiddin,

Has anyone ever told u right to yr face that u r such a pathetic product of yr time aand upbringing. BTN is so patently divisive n racist n yet u ignore all logic n common sense n blindly defend the program? See why u will never b great or world-class!

I hope to see UMNO n u kiss the dust in yr lifetime – which is the inevitable end of a racist, unthinking party.

45. #45 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 7 December 2009 - 5:34 am

Dear Tun M,

I hope u read this. In these yr twilight years, u yet persist to play ‘politics’ with d lives n future of future genrations of Malaysians. I hope u have had time to reflect on yr abject failures in over 20 yrs of yr administration. Do u wonder why u r hardly sought after for yr ideas n opinions beyond d Malaysian shores n Malaysian newspapers? Think?

The politics of racism never ever leads to true greatness. Mugabe thinks he is a great man. Do u agree? True greatness, like beauty, lies in the eyes of d beholder. Mugabe, like u , will in d short space of a few yrs, return to meet His Maker. I wud, if I were u, conduct myself more circumspectly, courteously n with lots of the God-given coomon sense that yr Maker has vested upon u n for which he will seek an accounting at the coming God-Sinner judgement. Do not be wise or smart in yr own eyes. After all u know very well u, like all of us, that we are but mere dust, worth no more than RM10 worth of C, H, O, N, S, P and some trace elements.

So, whatever u can do that may lay credit before yr maker ought to b pursued. U think Nik Aziz has gone bonkers for saying that he is calling upon d Almighty for retribution upon Najib? Perhaps, many have done the same for u. Delay doesn’t mean God is slow to justice,eh. A thousand yrs is but like a day in God’s accounting and a day like a thousand yrs – give or take a few. So, doont have that smirk or smart alecky look in yr eyes. We shall all be humbled at d last reckoning.

I only hope to persuade u to let common sense n basic human decency get d better of u. No one can undo d lost decades. But God wants to know what we do now with our present n our future.

If I ‘ve been blunt (even rude), it was necessary. No one, least of all, yr so-called friends n cronies, wud b sincere enuf to tell u straight to yr face what u wud not like to hear. It is d suufering public that must do u this last favour.

46. #46 by Bigjoe on Monday, 7 December 2009 - 8:12 am

The interesting thing about this is that Muhiyiddin is putting Najib at an ackward position with his support for BTN.. Najib has to backdown at least to some degree. Which means that Muhiyiddin will be emboldened. HE WILL NOT WAIT TOO LONG FOR HIS TURN AT THE PM JOB..

If you ask me, unless Najib gets lucky meaning the economy goes gang buster eventually, he has only maybe one term left after GE13 and then Muhiyiddin would want his turn at the trough. In no way is Najib going to leave only in around two terms.. Firstly, his record would be rather pathetic. Secondly, he can’t get rid of Altantuya and other corruption hanging over his head even by then. I would not be surprised if Muhiyiddin supporters are already dredging up stuff on Altantuya to use against him if he does not step down.

Its an eventuality Najib and Muhiyiddin is heading for a show down. It will take time but it will happen…

47. #47 by HJ Angus on Monday, 7 December 2009 - 8:44 am

That is what politics is about in Malaysia. Nothing is done for the ordinary people except the “me,me,me” mantra for crony contracts.
    UMNO is not so different from MCA. When AAB tried to change things, the knives(keris) were drawn and he had to “retire”.
    It is obvious that Najib too is having the same nightmarish scenario.

48. #48 by taiking on Monday, 7 December 2009 - 9:05 am

Huh? Singing different tunes merely, are they? Or are there something brewing that we dont know about? Now where are the msm pundits? Look. If something similar were to happen to Pakatan, judgments would be out. “Pakatan is Cracking.” “Failing.” “Crumbling.” I say the contradicting stand by senior members of umno on the btn issue is the clearest symptom – more than that, they are signs actually – one could find on the rapidly failing health of that party.

Rejoice. Yes but not quite yet. Then again, it wont be long.

49. #49 by Jeffrey on Monday, 7 December 2009 - 10:35 am

It is natural that any political elite in power will not want to give it up. Our elite (UMNO) in 1957 had it easy. British colonialist (after being depleted by Hitler) granted independence and handed over power to elite on a silver platter without fight. The elites then had experienced no intellectual renaissance. They had not a clue of what formula would work best for the country. They even allowed the British (Lord Reid Commission) to write the Constitution; they copied colonial model of governance, and adapted it to local conditions as we went along. adapted. Hence we see relics of colonial control strictures and control surviving till today : the ISA, divide and rule in relation to races. On issue of who has legitimacy to rule, the adaptation, in replacement of Colonial rulers, is elite of the original inhabitants as distinguished from immigrants based on bumi/non bumi dichotomy justified on philosophy of the Social Contract/Special Privileges – later extended to the NEP. [Biro Tata Negara (BTN)’s role is to inculcate this philosophy amongst civil service and students who are the future leaders]. Again the elites copied British colonialist in exploiting wealth of the country. As we followed British Party system of electing PM from party that won elections, so the paramount leader here (PM) is elected by party leaders and warlords of the party that won election and not directly by the electorate like the American/Indonesian presidential system. This means the leader here has to pander to party’s warlords. If party’s warlords are OK, country will be Ok and if corrupt, the country habis lah! Problem here is that given that there was never any intellectual renaissance amongst elites to give rise to an alternative enlightened national formula, again they copy the colonialists on how to exploit the country’s economic wealth. When Britain introtroduced privatisation of Utilities to make more efficient delivery of public service, our elites here also copied except it was not to make more efficent service delivery, bit how to give contracts to cronies, so that gravy train was put in place to ensure the continuous supply of money from national resources to buy votes and keep the elites in power. Hence the rise of money politics and corruption, which is convenient because there’s a national platform of NEP to afford the pretext under which this mechanism can run smoothly. It has worked well, spread largesse amongst elites of other component parties and one could maintain façade of racial representation and yet maintain national ideology of Ketuanan against which majority votes are assured. All one has to do is to draw election boundaries to give more weightage to rural areas and less weightages to towns and cities where the unprivileged are greater in numbers. (This explains why one’s political subordinates are loyal to Money and Positions and plot inecssantly for one’s overthrow). Then came an unexpected development (not from ex-colonial power) but from Middle East: revival of Islamic fundamentalism by Ayatollah Khomeini’s Iranian revolution. Elites led by TDM/Anwar invested enormous public resources in building up a network of Islamic institutions. If one cannot control winds of change from Middle East, so it was thought they could control the institutions that do the interpretation (in favour of elites agenda) rather than let PAS have the votes. It hasn’t turned out quite as expected. The accompanying Islamic lobby / bureaucracy is, after 22 years of TDM’s administration, now so powerful that it can challenge even the national parliament and get defence of cabinet : eg Kartika’s whipping that shocked the PM! The elites have woven themselves in the corner that to stay in power they hacve to juggle between conflicting demands of the powerful Islamic establishhment on one hand and demands for economic performance and investors confidence on the other hand. The net net result is the exacerbation of polarisation of the country along racial and religious lines. Now how to compete on international stage against outsiders in cliamb up value added chain when own people are divided? Singapore, when it left Malaysia, should be subject to same constraint of copying colonial model with no intellectual renaissance amongst elites with one major difference: the intellectual there (Harry Lee) knew that S’pore was just a bare rock with no natural resources, hence survival/prosperity depended on Meritocracy/human capital without corruption. By default Harry got it right and the rest is history why Singapore $ surges ahead of Ringgit. Indoenesian elites had more intellectual renaissance – they fought the Dutch colonialist – and came up with the Pancasila Constitution embracing of all races and not promotive of any particular ethnic group based specifically on religion. Hence they hold greater promise to struggle with the problems and improve themselves.

50. #50 by ekompute on Monday, 7 December 2009 - 10:45 am

I was reading this entry in Kamus Dewan and surprisingly, this description for menunjuk-nunjuk seems to fit both Ddins (Kerishammuddin and Muhyiddin) hand in glove and cock in condom:

“menunjuk-nunjuk: gemar memperlihatkan kelebihan diri sendiri: Ancaman besar terhadap perasaan muhibah di negeri ini ialah daripada pemimpin-pemimpin politik perkauman yang cuba menunjuk-nunjuk pandai dan terlalu bercakap banyak.”

51. #51 by Jeffrey on Monday, 7 December 2009 - 10:57 am

From the above historical perspective, one can understand why many of our elites (including ex premier) defend Biro Tata Negara : it propaganizes values that hold them together in a seamless web since May 13 1969 which they hope will hold them together in power till at least 2069! It could have if TDM did not sack insider Anwar so that he went over the other side to galvanise and fight on platform of greater multi racial inclusiveness (in contradiction of national ideology of Ketuanan) and fight against corruption proven successful in 308 tsunamy. So present elites have to now do some cosmetic changes, talk of re-inventing, by 1 Malaysia to hijack/neutralise Anwar’s main leitmotif (inclusivist Malaysia) and stop the Opposition march to Putrajaya but its not making progress when party wordlords having vested interest in the existing system and who determine whether the Number stays and leaves keep resisting change and fighting for retention/perpetuation of the system and its propaganda mouth piece (Biro Tata Negara) perceived and proven beneficial to their personal selves, never the country’s higher and longer term interest…

52. #52 by ekompute on Monday, 7 December 2009 - 11:44 am

I agree with Jeffrey’s analysis. By sacking Anwar, Mahathir has unwittingly split the Malays irrevocably, thus causing tremendous political damage to UMNO that he himself will be hardput to cement, even if he continues as Prime Minister, what more his successors. Is that why he finally decide to call it a day? I bet he will still be clinging onto his post till kingdom comes, if not for the Anwar factor.

53. #53 by frankyapp on Monday, 7 December 2009 - 12:00 pm

TDM supported muhidin and the likes.simply because he wanted to destroy the smart but scandalous NR ,allows the idiot mu to take over for a while then triger push his son mucriss to the pm post.Then and only then,he can be rest assured,all his ills and evils would not be revealed.

54. #54 by frankyapp on Monday, 7 December 2009 - 12:44 pm

Well guys,malaysia is in a great mess,pm scandal is ticking again ,dpm is an idiot,the ex-pm ills and evils would be exposed to an unimaginable degree of explosion.And this would turn the country up side down and the whole world watch and laugh at us.No wonder many smart guys have left with their families.No wonder too,many umnoputras have transferred thousands of million to foreign countries. Oh yep.wonder as well MACC would check the ex top cop his local wealth of 47 million plus perhaps more invested in other countries. Yep,Abu kassim wonder again why not make this your first probe as the new chief.Yep if you expect us to work with you,why not eh !. Again how about the n sembilan guy.the new ex-malacca yb,oh yeh,your ex-boss,you not going to let him go scott free,right ! Yeh,ABu kassim,list out your top priority inestigations,especially the mega fish,then the rakyat would work with you,if not the people would work against you.

55. #55 by tenaciousB on Monday, 7 December 2009 - 1:18 pm

All the ministers u see on national TV frequently are all competing in a reality show themed ‘The Biggest loser’. LOL

by the way, no offence but i saw a snipet of some national show call ‘pesta tarian’ showing rosmah dancing…oh man where were the censors..it was grotesque! LOL

56. #56 by Kamen Rider HG on Monday, 7 December 2009 - 4:54 pm

In short. BTN stands for Balik Tiu Nenek.

57. #57 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 7 December 2009 - 5:37 pm

Hmmmmm….some people think DPM support Mazlan and so on..maybe there is some alignment of forces here.

See Tun M supports DPM. Tun M doesn’t like Nazri’s guts n gumption.

Tun M thinks Najib’s term will b shortlived…can’t rid Altantuya’s ghost. So as a hedge….

Najib gone, Muhyiddin rise….ahem, Mukriz bin Tun M, also rise. So Tun Razak’s son can become PM, Tun M’s son also can. Malaysia Boleh?

58. #58 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 7 December 2009 - 5:47 pm

Billion ringgits loss to produce 100% pure NAZI thinking govt officials to persecute “Jews of the East” and “Ulars” !!!
    How can we ask the NAZIS to revamp their own NAZIS apparatus??? Grow up and be realistic with these NAZIS of 21st Century!!!
    We shall not see this good for nothing BTN exists after GE13!!!

59. #59 by ekompute on Monday, 7 December 2009 - 5:49 pm

Sometimes I wonder whether these UMNO goons realize how ugly and greedy they have become. Or they have become so blinded by the pursuit of wealth and power that they couldn’t care less. What they are doing is absolutely incompatible with any religious belief (even a cult), what more a major religion.

And I can’t understand these MCA, Gerakan, MIC and the rest of the gungho BN parasites. They can keep quiet in the face of gross injustice like this Teoh Beng Hock’s case. So amazing, it is hard for anyone interested in society to keep mum but they must either be mute, muted, or else they are simply extraordinary.

60. #60 by ringthetill on Monday, 7 December 2009 - 10:12 pm

Nazri for once is making sense and dispalying sensitivity to all Malaysians. Much appreciated, DS. Even the mamak kutty is not spared from his outburst.
    The mamak old man has had his time and chance, and has really messed up our lives.He has lost his credibilty, sensibility, sensitivity and whatever -ity. So just shut up and let others repair the damage, Bapa Rosak.

61. #61 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 8 December 2009 - 11:38 am

So it seems that after TDM no one from the ruling BN will last for long; with all the scandals waiting to be exposed.
    The warlords are all fighting to protect their own turfs; no thought being given to providing a good and honest government.
    It is time for a CHANGE of government or Malaysia is surely becoming a failed state like Zimbabwe.