Let Us Clean Up The Police Force And MACC To Make Malaysia Safe For Our Children

by Lim Guan Eng

I do not know Teoh Beng Hock.

But now every Malaysian who reads will know who is Teoh Beng Hock – his open pleasant face, his distraught fiancé and his twisted body lying grotesquely on the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) building imprinted indelibly in our minds.

I vaguely remembered meeting him once. He was one of the many idealistic, bright and young Malaysians who joined the DAP after the political tsunami on 8 March 2008 that transformed our political landscape.

Teoh wanted to participate in the flowering of democracy and forge the real changes that promised equal opportunity, good governance and justice. Teoh wanted to be part of this amazing transformation shaping his country and future. He wanted to serve the public, through his position as a personal assistant to a Selangor State EXCO member.

This wish to serve has tragically cost Teoh his life, taking him away from his loved ones. Denying his parents of a son, his fiancé of her husband and his unborn child of a father.

Teoh is not the only one. Before him there were many others, Indians Malays and Chinese but he was the first DAP member to die so cruelly.

I am still in a state of shock and am terribly upset at the MACC for allowing this to happen when Teoh was under their custody. Much as we know the evil that lurks within our security agencies, we are still shocked at such acts of depravity. Whilst the many officers are decent human beings, it is always the few criminal elements that shatter any belief that our security forces can protect us or genuinely fight corruption.

We can ask the police why they are wasting public resources to arresting PR leaders and members but not focusing their energies on criminals threatening our safety. We can ask the MACC why they are interrogating hapless personal assistants over a few thousand ringgit for 11 hours till 3.45 am(who are not even suspects) but not applying the same harsh approach on those named in the RM 12.5 billion Port Klang Free Trade Zone scandal. We can also ask why the police and MACC allow themselves to be used as political weapons of BN.

But I choose to ask what wrong has Teoh done to deserve this? He did not steal or kill, he was only trying to do his job to serve and change Malaysia.

Which is perhaps why I cry but there are no tears!

Nothing said or done would ever wipe out the tears of Teoh’s loved ones. But if there is one duty we can do is to stop the deaths. To make sure that there are no more bright, young and idealistic Malaysians like Teoh dying in the hands of police or MACC.

This is one duty that all Malaysians whether fathers or mothers, sons or daughters must undertake. That we must clean up the police force and the MACC to make Malaysia safe for our children.

I still see Teoh’s crooked body lying there so helplessly in the MACC building. Like all Malaysians, we feel sad that we got to know Teoh Beng Hock after his death. But the memory of his ultimate sacrifice shall reside in our minds for the rest of our lives. And his dreams of a better Malaysia shall live in our hearts as long as we breathe.

Teoh Beng Hock Rest In Peace!

1. #1 by DAP man on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 7:33 am

The only way to clean up the Police and MACC is to change the government. BN, PDRM,MACC come in one package. Together they want to preserve the Malay hegemony at whatever costs – even blood of the Opposition -.

From recent events – Perak takeover, unfair Judicial decisions, Police/MACC harassment of the DAP and the Chinese leaders – it is evident they are threatening and instilling fear in the Chinese community to withdraw support for Pakatan and stand behind BN or risk persecution.

Teoh is the first. Will they stop at that? I doubt it.
    I also doubt that there are many decent men in MACC. Most of them are trash, fit for hell.

This is racial as well as political!!!!

If there is only ONE decent man in MACC, he will step forward with the truth about Teoh’s ‘murder’.

2. #2 by k1980 on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 7:48 am

TBH died because the macc wanted to extract info from him that would lead to the downfall of the Selangor PKR state government. Unlike the case of Perak, where 3 corrupt PKR aduns could be bought over to topple Nizar’s adminisration, umno to buy over any adun in Selangor. Therefore, it unleashed its dogs in the macc to manufacture lies to unseat the aduns there. Unfortunately for umno, there are no PKR aduns who own RM24 million homes, are directors in PKFZ or had spent millions to visit disneylands.

3. #3 by k1980 on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 7:54 am

Sorry typo
    umno so far has been unableto buy…

There is only 1 way to clean up the Police and MACC, and that is by spraying FUMAKILLA all over their carcasses.

4. #4 by newchief on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 8:14 am

assumptions of teoh’s death:
    1) khir toyo’s wrath puts pressure on macc
    2) khir’s obsessiveness for greed and power to maintain his daily life to forcing macc to dig dirts on present selangor oppositions to charge and eliminate them all so that he can sit on the ‘throne’ again once pk falls in selangor
    3) macc personel threw teoh off the buildings unintentionally because of pressure, not enough sleep and getting no-where with teoh who practically might knew nothing ,won’t want to betray fellowmen , won’t accept bribe or even worst, selangor pk mp are actually ‘clean’ in their professions.

from the above, MOST pk mps were rampaged and khir’s name was mentioned because his mansion case wasn’t taken seroiusly by macc . What macc didn’t know was that teoh was going to get married and was going to be a FATHER!!! THAT’S THEIR BIGGEST MISTAKES and i have no doubt that these killers won’t confess nor a scape-goat would arise.

to depend on police, their answer will surely be ‘lack of evidence for foul-play or even teoh jumped himself because of loan sharks!!’

to dtk lim guan eng, i agree polis and macc really needs throughly cleansing but sadly, it can only be done via general election or voting in parliament of which both of these are just ‘MISSION IMPOSSIBLE’ unless pk can withdraw bn’s fixed deposit i.e.sabah and sarawak.

5. #5 by Jong on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 8:28 am

We don’t need liars, thugs and gruesome murderers in MACC and PDRM. Yes, change the government it is!

Malaysians, jangan mudah lupa when the time comes there will be promises of straight bridge, crooked bridge whatever, just forget it. No ifs no buts!!!

6. #6 by k1980 on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 8:58 am

Kindergarten Question

You are ordered to go to a place and 10 hours later, your broken body is found 14 floors below that place. Who must the police go after?

A. The place you were ordered to go to
    B. God Almighty because it is an Act of God
    C. The people who ordered you to go to that place
    D. You yourself because you went to that place

7. #7 by vsp on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 9:10 am

Never have I heard of a person falling down from a high building experiencing a wardrobe malfunction. The tear from Teoh’s trousers is highly suspicious and unlikely. There were no blood splashing around where he fell. The only thing I can conclude is that Teoh was tortured to death and his body flung out of the window. And the only conclusion the police can come in their preliminary investigation is that Teoh died due to injuries from a high fall. Morons, who do not know that? Even a kindergarten child would do better.

But I do know of one famous wardrobe malfunction. This came from the sister of Michael Jackson, Janet Jackson during one of her high-octane performance. From a person bigger than life itself, and combining with another heart-trob, Justin Timberlake the chemistry flow between them inevitably caused a wardrobe malfunction, to the astonishment and delight of million of MTV gawkers.

But the MACC episode is macabre and disgusting. This is a political murder engineered by no other than the veteran Perak-coup leader, Najib.

8. #8 by SENGLANG on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 9:23 am

MACC chief said they have no thing to hide. That true, why should they have thing to hide? The idiot really get it wrong about what the public want. They have nothing to hide Yes, but they have do all the wrong things that was the REAL issue.

There will no being any change with or without RCI but it will be sort of calming down the people with the setting of RCI. We will no expect any wrong about MACC any way.

So, what next since nothing have changed no even reports like those written by the Sun Nades and Terrence, no to say those from RPK.

Any change, if any will only come from political mean ie a change of the government of today.

PR should FOCUS on the real issues that are affecting the people. MACC is one, the Police is another and there are so many issues. PR must consolidated further with their political struggle.

The people are really sick about on what is happening and MACC conducts and what they have conducting their investigations are not new. But despite all those complaints no thing can change them because what they did all this while suit the political master of today. And what they did also good for then to keep sitting that and all their posts and position will always intact term and term. So this was the real issue.

Only change can come with a change in the government that is the only choice we have now.

9. #9 by limkamput on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 9:26 am

//Whilst the many officers are decent human beings, it is always the few criminal elements that shatter any belief that our security forces can protect us or genuinely fight corruption.// Guan Eng

I disagree with you on that. If many are decent, we would have all these mess in the first place. To me a few good ones are no longer effective because they are overwhelmed by many of bad (and racist) ones.

//We can also ask why the police and MACC allow themselves to be used as political weapons of BN.// Guan Eng

It is the whole federal apparatus, not just MACC or the police in case you still don’t get. You are smart enough and I think you should be wary of the civil service even at your own state and local authorities levels.

Guan Eng, I am moved to tears after reading your post. But I still want to ask you and DAP why he was left alone for so long and even after the plunge, it took almost more than 12 twelve hours for someone to discover his body. Why DAP Selangor, his boss and his loves never enquired about him? Why we just left him there to the wolves for so long? Please tell me.

10. #10 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 9:43 am

Third degree/torture/interrogation methods, sometimes resulting in inexplicable custodial deaths, are pretty universal, their existence conceded, though scale varies from society to society.

I imagine I were a police interrogator faced with following temptations. I am under pressure to produce results in my investigations. Due to limited allocations, my office is not helped by modern technology or trained specialists in forensics like CSI! However there’s plenty of experience in different torture methods both psychological and physical making up the shortfall in forensics. Some of suspects are hardcore criminals and don’t yield unless I whack them. I get lazy. What for work (mentally) so hard? I try the easier way to get their confession. If admissible in court without coercion proved, I get my commendation/ promotion. Even if inadmissible, however the torture could lead to revelation of other admissble evidence. In any case, suspects are totally within my dominion and power. My salary may be meagre but power and my ability to bully with a touch opf sadism is an occupational perk and psychological compensation. And why not? Interrogations and 3rd degree methods are committed safely in the dark rooms of the precincts in the presence of other personnel/co-workers who will, by reason of esprit de corp, swear never speak against their colleagues or superior on these methods. All have a hand in the past in different occasions, and no one who lives in a glass house will cast the first stone! Because of advent of techonolgy like the camera in cell phone, the first rule is no one is allowed to carry cellphone to such rooms. No closed-circuit televisions are installed in interrogation rooms. Even if there were a snitch amongst us, there are other of my collaborators who will bear witness in corroboration of my story that I did not employ methods complained of by that snitch. His word against theirs and mine. In court, I am assisted by criminal jurisprudence mandate that my guilt of using 3rd degree methods must be proven beyond reasonable doubt, which brings in lots of difficulties in my conviction even if assuming prosecutor (who works hand in hand with me on other cases) breaks his bond to prosecute.That depends on whether society will clamour the prosecutor to do so.

And I know society is hypocritical, saying one thing and closing eye to the other.

The case against 3rd degree is that in a free society, the moral value/standard is that the successful investigations leading to prosecutions and conviction of several hardened criminals cannot be justified by brutal treatment and inadvertant killing of even one innocent suspect! Champions of civil liberty & upholders of strict letters of law will argue so. In practical reality, society turn a blind eye because removing those criminals that threaten society’s safety is greater priority than pretension in upholding constitutional rights. I know the one I whack, and inadvertantly kill will not be missed by society.

The danger I face is that the one brutalised is not a hardened criminal nor a terrorist. He may be just a petty snatch thief. Worse still he is a mere witness asked to help the case. The worst is that he is politically affiliated when it also becomes a political issue taken up by many quarters. There’s a lot of anger and sysmpathy generated out there in society. There lies the difference. They’re now coming for me, ‘protector’ of society, now a target of peoples cries for “justice” born from primal collective desire for vengeance for wrong doing perpetrated on a hapless innocent.

Best story line is that the victim committed suicide since immediate cause of death was multiple injuries caused by impact of fall.

However how do I allege he was suicidal when tragedy happened on eve of his marriage? And even if a person were suicidal, why would he choose police precincts to make final grand exit – of all places? How to explain trouser tear in backside of victim which people are alleging was caused by someone’s holding on to end of trousers near ankles of someone struggling in panic, fighting the forces of gravity ??? These are just some of the problems I would face.

Caveat: I am just telling a story in general terms relating to social/psychological dynamics of custodial accident deaths (without reference to any security organisation in particular), the examples used are for convenience (only) and any correspondence is mere coincidental, not intended (at this moment) to depict the factual circumstances of Teoh’s case, still under investigations. :)

11. #11 by Billy on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 9:48 am

Kit Siang, the first thing that the PR should after taking over the federal government is to purge the various agencies off these cancerous cells. They have mutated (from police to MACC) and it is going to get worse. More people will die.

12. #12 by SENGLANG on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 9:51 am

i do agree with limkamput why let the young champ going alone and with the interrogation from 6 pm until next morning? i think his boss have to answer this question?

Am sure in the next morning some one must have contacted him or at least his boss. if failed to get him, why did not immediately go to MACC to find out what happening. During the most important hours of from 6am to his fall why no body check on him from DAP? That was quit puzzling and DAP should conduct its own investigation and ensure this kind carelessness will not happen again.

All their political secretary and all the staffs should given basis training to deal with all this interrogation conduct by police and MACC.

13. #13 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 10:09 am

” I disagree with you on that. If many are decent, we would have all these mess in the first place. To me a few good ones are no longer effective because they are overwhelmed by many of bad (and racist) ones.” – LimKamPut.

This is an example of disagreeing for the sake of disagreeing, to get vicarious attention for disagreeing with a respected man.

It may be given to posters like LimKaput to make an assessment and express an opinion that many in security forces are bad (and racist) – and may well be correct – but the Chief Minister of Penang and a responsible DAP leader cannot, in the absence of verifiable/proven evidence/statistics, make such a statement – like for example “whilst the many officers are bad (and racist), it is always the few good ones that reinforce any belief that our security forces can hold promise of protecting us or genuinely fight corruption” :)

LGE made a politically correct statement. It is not given to him to make a contrary one against a state institution. One cannot malign it publicly on majority bad and only a few good apples without concrete facts/statistical proof and evidence no matter how one feels one’s suspicions othewise are accurate. Don’t be a nincompeep to disagree on a none issue.

14. #14 by limkamput on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 10:28 am

You may be telling a general story, but I know your agenda. Your agenda is to justify torture, pure and simple. Your intention is to allude to the fact that harsh torturing methods are permissible in most circumstances. Who is talking about hardcore criminals here? But the way, how do you define hardcore criminals and therefore probably deserve harsher investigating mechanism?

As I put it elsewhere, this is not even an “investigation”. It is a harassment, pure and simple. In harassment, there is no intention to find the truth. In harassment, you try to find the “truth” your masters want. In harassment, you threaten, insult, provoke and coerce to get the “truth” your masters want (just like you writing what your paymasters want). You talked about investigation protocol, but this only applies if the intention is to investigate to find the truth.

15. #15 by lopez on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 10:44 am

TEOH BENG HOCK has shown us there is an urgent need for change.

16. #16 by limkamput on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 10:46 am

Hello, turn coat, to you everything must be based on statistics and facts and figures. If I tell you corruption is getting worse, you will probably ask me to show you the proof. From now on I will be observing you to see what general statements you have made which are not based on facts and statistics. You watch me, I assure you. You said the same thing the other day.

I am just expressing my frustration to the fact that most of the time we are hypocrites. We make politically correct statements but right in our hearts, we know it is not true. Do you seriously believe that I do not know Guan Eng is making a political statement based on the fact that he is a responsible Chief Minister of a state in Malaysia? Look, you can not be that naïve. Look, I am making a statement (and don’t tell me I am not entitled to) that I feel he (as a responsible chief minister) is not able to make. Now who is arguing just for the sake of argument?

Use your brain lah, if you have one! If majority of the personnel in Police and MACC are decent, why the need to clean up. Whatever mishaps happened would be incidental or accidental and therefore tolerable, am I right, turn coat? Do you seriously think the mishaps that are happening are accidental and incident only? I don’t have any statistics, but do you? Do you have statistics to prove that mishaps are accidental and therefore nothing to worry about? I don’t call you a turn coat for nothing. You are smart, but I think you have sold your soul, seriously.

17. #17 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 10:48 am

///Your agenda is to justify torture, pure and simple. Your intention is to allude to the fact that harsh torturing methods are permissible in most circumstances/// – LimKaput

I am enjoying this. Where in particular – which sentence, which word in what i posted – on the basis of your infinite wisdom that you make such a logical deduction???

“As I put it elsewhere, this is not even an “investigation. It is a harassment, pure and simple. In harassment, there is no intention to find the truth. In harassment, you try to find the “truth” your masters want. In harassment, you threaten, insult, provoke and coerce to get the “truth” your masters want (just like you writing what your paymasters want)…You talked about investigation protocol, but this only applies if the intention is to investigate to find the truth.”

That is your opinion/speculation. It may even well be right. But where is the relevance of semantics regarding harrassment vs investigation/investigation protocol?

Before one could prove wanton harrassment as a conclusion the prior enquiry even by RCI or any impartial tributal will have to enquire into many factors and areas, one important first area of which includes (but is not limited by) whether interrogation methods and protocols as prescribed in manuals have been carried out by the relevant officers.

Even the independent Bar Council “requested for a full review of Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) protocols on interrogation and investigation techniques” – see Asrul Hadi Abdullah Sani’s report in The Malaysiainsider Report KUALA LUMPUR, July 18.

Concerning what my “masters want”, you may not want to know : they tell me that they have a “mole” in this blog playing ‘good and bad cop’ with me. No prize for guessing who nay that be! :)

18. #18 by lopez on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 10:59 am

damn right ,so predictable , who the hell has all those effort and time to gather so much c & b and if ever challenge may even claimed to have the world biggest ass hxle

19. #19 by limkamput on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 11:02 am

Now you want proof whether it is a harassment or investigation; that is who you are. Unless you are from Mars, everybody knows how MACC does its job. Why the over zealousness on a few thousand ringgit here and there on DAP state assemblymen? Are you saying that you are not aware of the mega corruptions and abuses happening right now under your nose? You want RCI to find out the truth and so also is the BAR council. It is my right to say that you and the BAR council are idiots. RCI as a method to harass the government into action yes, but RCI as a mechanism to find out the truth, you can kiss my ass. What happened to RCI on Lingam tape, and what happened to Police investigation on Kugan’s case? Just to name two.

20. #20 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 11:05 am

“….everything must be based on statistics and facts and figures. If I tell you corruption is getting worse, you will probably ask me to show you the proof…”

Don’t be irrelevant. I have not asked you any proof of what is anecdotal evidence & general perception. I only say a person like Chief Minister LGE cannot make statements that majority bas in security services without such proof. Don’t be irrelevant in your argument. And to express your “frustration to the fact that most of the time we are hypocrites” as if LGE is one for making a politically correct statement is a frustartion misplaced. Hypocrisy abound, it is one it is intended for. If he hypocritically tells them majority are good and only few bad apples is intended to encourage the security services to investigate their own to rid bad practices it is different for some hypocritical others who are corrupt and say they hate corruption and point the fingers at others. Hypocrisy is necessary in first context and hateful in second: so why so undiscerning to feel frustrated at politically (read) hypocritical statement to express your disagreement?

21. #21 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 11:09 am

Typos corrected – “bad” in security services, “frustrations” “Hypocrisy abound, it depends on what it is intended for”.

22. #22 by limkamput on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 11:13 am

Look, turn coat, you are the master in twisting and turning, for which I admit I have no match. But I think I have done my job to expose who you really are – from a bright contributor to a lost soul. Look I am in the blog long enough, probably as long as you. I read and I could discern the change in you. You know the reason better.

23. #23 by limkamput on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 11:17 am

//I am enjoying this. Where in particular – which sentence, which word in what i posted – on the basis of your infinite wisdom that you make such a logical deduction???//. Jeffrey @ trun coat

I am enjoying this also. Do you understand the words “allude to”, and “general impression one gets”?

24. #24 by rabbit on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 11:39 am

MACC shell bear all this. Police should not invol this, gov dr also cannot join in to make the COD report. they are in 1 package. Bro LKS, ask from MACC enquiry video record or voice record for t b h. we want to know how n what they ask. only this can clean MAACC.

25. #25 by ctc537 on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 11:43 am

Despite what you claim, truth on cases such as the Lingam tape, Kugan and the now Teoh Beng Hock deaths will be known one day. Don’t know whether those who committed the crimes and wrong would live long enough to receive due punishment. MP Teresa once wrote in her blog: The sky has eyes.

26. #26 by k1980 on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 12:00 pm

Sure, the causes of their deaths will be known one day. But when? The Year 2099? Or 3009? Or 9009?

27. #27 by YK Leong on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 12:06 pm

It is a very highly questionable fall from over a hundred plus feet. I had witnessed numerous falls during my career in the building construction industry. Why was there no blood around the head as seen from the photograph? The body was lying sideway in a twisted position. Sorry, I am not an expert.

28. #28 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 12:16 pm

“But if there is one duty we can do is to stop the deaths.” (Lim Guan Eng)

The above sentence is a fragment (Incomplete sentence).

I guess that this article which is contributed by CM Lim Guan Eng could have been written on the weekend, when noone else was available around Guan Eng for doing the proofread job in favour of Guan Eng.

I suggest that the sentence be rewritten as follows:

“But if there is one duty we can do, then it is to stop the deaths.”

Yes, we ought to stop all kinds of untimely mysterious deaths in the hands of the Government Officers.

29. #29 by ablastine on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 12:23 pm

Lots of work to do after PR takes over later – the Lingam tape, Kugan torture/death, C4 blasting and now Teoh’s death and MACC. But justice will be served one way or another. If it can’t be done on earth then it will be done in hell for the perpetrator.

30. #30 by SENGLANG on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 12:38 pm

I have just a comments writing by Tricia Yeoh posted in Malaysiakini. The analysis was a good one.

Now from what was written by Tricia, the subject concern was an amount of RM2,400. while corruption is corruption ever RM1 or a cigarette also can view a a form of corruption.

But, the way MACC has conduct and initiated this investigation has raised much questions. Need not to say, the people is a better judgment on why MACC has come to such a bias and abusive in their conducts.

31. #31 by limkamput on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 12:41 pm

Onlooker politics, Guan Eng is right, you are wrong! “If” does not follow by “then”. But in Malaysia, the wrong has become right, including English usage.

32. #32 by chris chong on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 12:45 pm

terima kasih kerana menterjema berita kepada BM.

seluruh rakyat malaysia, tak kira bangsa harus bangkit bersama untuk menuntutkan kebenaran dan keadilan dalam perkara ini.

sekiranya kita masih tidak menyuara sekarang, tidak akan ada orang menyuara demi kita apabila ahli keluarga kita pula terkandas.

jangan berfikir ini bukan masalah kita, ini masalah cina. tidak, kerana anuwar dan kugan juga mengalami kezaliman yang serupa dan mereka belum dapat menuntut keadilan mereka kerana kita tidak menyuara sebulat hati.

sekiranya kita masih bisu, kejahilan akan berganda. negara tersayang kita akan terjerumus dalam kandar kegelapan dan binasa.

mari kita bersama-sama menyedarkan kawan-kawan, ahli-ahli keluarga and jiran-jiran kita dengan mengagihkan email, risalah-risalah supaya rakyat malaysia betul-betul bergandi tangan menuntut kebenaran dan keadilan demi negara tercinta kita.

33. #33 by i_love_malaysia on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 1:18 pm

Najis could be the shortest serving PM of Malaysia (just more than 100 days) if he is involved in this saga!!! RAHMAN came through which might due to coincidence, but the shortest serving PM of Malaysia is guarantee if the truth did not prevail!!!

34. #34 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 1:26 pm

by ctc537 MP Teresa once wrote in her blog: The sky has eyes.
    But unfortunately the images at Google Maps are too low-resolution for any real forensic work.

Are we talking about after-life judgement? Great. Not much use to those still alive or those yet to live, is it?

LGE is asking you to do something about the sorry state of the nation you call home. He can’t do it on his own, and appealing to Karpal Singh, the Sultans and your favourite metaphysical being hasn’t been very productive, has it? Apologies to Karpal, I think he plays an important part, but he’s just one man – 25 million burdens is just too much.

This is democracy – rule by the people. How much ruling did any of us do in the last 25 years? Maybe we should pencil it in to our schedules. Or set a recurring alarm on our handphones. Why not? How about every Sunday evening at 8pm “Plan 1 constructive hour on improving Malaysia this week”. Pleading for someone else to do something should not be considered constructive.

I’m with limkamput on LGE’s Bahasa Inggeris. It’s because we’re reading it on our monitors that it doesn’t seem quite right. Just imagine him driving an SUV, cigarette in one hand, shouting it into a handphone in the other hand, and it’ll seem flawless. The message about duty is spot on.

35. #35 by i_love_malaysia on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 1:28 pm

How many more Teoh Beng Hock need to die in vain before true reformation happens??? But history had shown us that true revolution happened not in one day or two but followed by numerous incidents which really driving people or Rakyat to make the most difficult decision to over throw the corrupt establishment irregardless of their personal well being!!!
    Malaysia Boleh Bunuh (MBB) !!!

36. #36 by k1980 on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 1:49 pm

Yes, the sky has eyes, but some crooks are still enjoying power after blowing up others with c4, or buying RM24 million homes with money obtained through dubious means, or dancing the night away while dividing their RM12.5 billion loot. All these while poor Charon is kept busy ferrying their innocent victims across the river Styx. So the sky has eyes, as surely as Obama has a black ars.

37. #37 by jsaiban on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 2:29 pm

The fathers of Malaysia independence will definitely jump out from their grave afterseeing this unbecoming of their fruit.

EM should start reviewing the objective of joining Malaysia (good call by Sultan of Brunei and LKY) … what good have they receive beside being looted for half a century to fund the crony. Without S & S, BN will fall like Humpty Dumty

38. #38 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 2:48 pm

///You want RCI to find out the truth and so also is the BAR council. It is my right to say that you and the BAR council are idiots. RCI as a method to harass the government into action yes, but RCI as a mechanism to find out the truth, you can kiss my ass. What happened to RCI on Lingam tape, and what happened to Police investigation on Kugan’s case? Just to name two./// – LimKamPut.

Anyone who told you to be yourself couldn’t have given you any worse advice: you are always in natural self prone to making emotional and irrational statements shooting through the mind without filtering in the area between your ears!

It is true that as you said there’s nothing (yet) regarding RCI on Lingam tape, and Police investigation on Kugan’s case!

However RCI is comparatively the only mechanism available to address this kind of abuse and make it come to public light.

As I have said in posting in earlier thread on same subject:-

· MACC’s conduct of internal investigation cannot be counted upon to be able to make an objective and impartial determination of a high profile case involving its own possible lache and its own officers’ wrong doing. It will judging one’s own case.

· the other alternative is police but police themselves are under long shadow of A Kugan’s custodial death, yet unresolved, so how could they be counted upon to investigate the other branch regarding a common accusation?

So other than MACC or police, which other body there is (besides RCI) will be in the position to enquire and investigate such a case?

Not only the BAR council and I are idiots for mentioning RCI (which you say come to nothing) : YB Kit also suggests RCI. So do NGOs like the Bar Council, Kuala Lumpur and Selangor Chinese Assembly Hall, Centre for Independent Journalism, Centre for Policy Initiatives, Group of Concerned Citizens, Malaysia Youth and Student Democratic Movement, Persatuan Kesedaran Komuniti Selangor and Jamaah Islah Malaysia.

They are all idiots? Don’t have any enquiry by RCI then lah if a “Lim Kam Put Commission” were not possible – is that it?

Although Royal Commission(s) Of Inquiry on police misconduct and Lingam Video Clip have not (yet) yielded results in terms of punishment of the culprits, their deliberations were well publicized in media including the mainstream media, and who (but LimKamPut) can otherwise say that the publicity of these deliberations had no beneficent effect on the voters and the results of the General Elections of 8 March 2008, touted the political tsunami?

39. #39 by limkamput on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 3:04 pm

So other than MACC or police, which other body there is (besides RCI) will be in the position to enquire and investigate such a case? jeffrey

You asking me? The answer is none, sifar, zero. It is not going to give you the truth of what actually happened. But I did say RCI is a mechanism to pressure the government into some actions. Remember you wager with me on the Malaysian courts to dispense justice on what happened in Perak. What happened? I won.

40. #40 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 3:30 pm

“But if there is one duty we can do is to stop the deaths.” (Lim Guan Eng)

‘Onlooker politics, Guan Eng is right, you are wrong! “If” does not follow by “then”.’ (limkamput)

limkamput,
    I think you must be too old to realize that the above sentence of Lim Guan Eng is a fragment (incomplete sentence). Even if you don’t like to add the word “then”, the sentence still needs to be rephrased, anyway!

41. #41 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 3:42 pm

Corruption, Crime, Injustice No. BN must go.

Rasuah, Jenayah, Tidal Adil Tak Nak, BN Tak Nak..

There have NEVER been a political party that has reformed without being kicked out. lets do BN and ourselves a favour and kicked them out..

42. #42 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 3:53 pm

Limkaput … this is one instance when you really prove that human beings can be totally incompetent. I said before, NO ONE is allowed into interrogation sessions. If you want to wait its waiting outside the building perhaps or in the lobby. Also, when one goes in to assist the police or authorities, NO ONE expects to be:

i. interrogated for more than 10 hours;
    ii. tortured;
    iii. coerced;
    iv. thrown off a building.

So no one will think that they are sending a lamb into the lion’s den. Can you not understand it? The police etc are suppose to PROTECT society.

Limkaput, use your brains for once. LGE’s statement shows regret for the incident. Why can’t you leave it at that and NOT ARGUE? Seriously, who the heck are you? You are only able to argue in coffee shops. Baseless arguments.

Someone just bloody died. Stupid is it? Want to argue for what? If you want to talk so much, then WRITE to MCA and Gerakan and the authorities stating your disdain. I have done it, with my real name and contact. Have you? Talk is cheap.

Jeff … you are idiot, Bar Council is idiot, DAP is idiot … everyone is stupid, idiotic, etc. Sheeesh … do mothers actually give birth to things like that? They ought to make a law that such things ought to be snuffed out at birth!

43. #43 by limkamput on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 4:10 pm

SpeakUP @ loose cannon ball one, you can hammer all you like about PR for not cooperating and quarrelling and I can’t even ask some questions. It is not who the heck I am. I am certainly welcome here. It is who the heck are you to ask me who the heck I am, got it? I hope it is not too difficult for you.

So you wrote to MCA…big deal. Did it make any difference? By the way, you know nothing about me, so don’t assume too much others not doing this and that. To me, I am sure about you. You are now loose cannon ball I, because the original has retired.

44. #44 by sightseeing on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 4:12 pm

//Whilst the many officers are decent human beings, it is always the few criminal elements that shatter any belief that our security forces can protect us or genuinely fight corruption.// Guan Eng

The statement is statistically correct. We need to understand what Guan Eng meant when he said “ the few criminal elements”
    We have all these mess because the few criminal elements are happened to be the top guns of the PDRM, MACC, AG and the Judiciary. All those serving under them are just taking orders. The decent ones will never be promoted to occupy the top posts. If they have not found a criminal of equal standard they will just extend the service of the one who is due to retire. So you know why they want to extend the service of the IGP.

45. #45 by limkamput on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 4:22 pm

Onlooker politics, you should notice by now I usually leave you alone because I find your writing and ideas lack standard. So don’t start with me being too old and all the nonsense. I have commented on your English because you tried to correct Guan Eng’s sentence, “But if there is one duty we can do is to stop the deaths”, which to me is perfectly acceptable. Instead you have come up with an alternative which is WRONG ENGLISH. “IF” can not be followed by “THEN”. Don’t try to argue further ok, you ignorant fool. Even if Guan Eng’s sentence is fragmented, so what? Are you trying to be his English tutor? I wouldn’t get you to tutor my maid because you obviously do not know the nuances of English language.

46. #46 by limkamput on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 4:27 pm

“IF” can not be followed by “THEN”. It is not whether i like it or not, got it? That is English Language.

47. #47 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 4:28 pm

Limkaput … you really have no respect for anyone … none. Time to just ignore you. Pointless, this thread is about someone who died and all you wanna do is argue with almost everyone.

Bye bye … :)

48. #48 by kickToyoAss on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 4:34 pm

The very 1st things that Najib needs to do is to setup RCI immediately without further delay. Secondly, suspend MACC chief and wait for investigation. 3rd, interrogating Khir Toyo immediately on how he gets his 3M palace. Also, the big time screw up of the PKFZ scandal.

He better clean up these shits in order to restore the order of this country. Else, his reputation is at stake.

49. #49 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 4:34 pm

“IF” can not be followed by “THEN”. It is not whether i like it or not, got it? That is English Language.

This is amazing, I guess someone has no idea of CONDITIONAL STATEMENTS. Read and not be so ignorant:

http://library.thinkquest.org/C006354/2_1.html

50. #50 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 4:38 pm

limkamput,
    Now I try to rephrase the sentence as follows:

“But if there is one duty we can do, IT is to stop the deaths.”

Do you notice the word “it” which I have added?

I can tolerate some common man like limkamput who always writes broken English. However, I do have a very high aspiration on Guan Eng because I want him to write English as good as his dad, YB Kit.

I am still young enough to choose a political party to join. I don’t want to join a party which has a leader who seldom proofreads his press statement. Do you get it, limkamput?

51. #51 by SpeakUp on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 7:47 pm

Onlooker … maybe the press sec. was rushing, that poor girl is always busy la. :)

52. #52 by limkamput on Sunday, 19 July 2009 - 8:06 pm

Conditional statements? goodness me, i am really talking with a group of phua tang sai here. I suggest you check with any textbook on English grammar, ok?

Onlooker politics, I suggest you join MCA or Gerakan. I think they write good English. Owah, so enriching, I notice the word “it” which you have just added after your broken English was pointed out earlier. How long did you take to write your last posting? I am sure you have repeatedly checked and checked again, am i right?

53. #53 by OrangRojak on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 12:34 am

When you start cleaning, is it possible to outlaw ‘plain clothes policemen’ used for crowd control? They appear to be indistinguishable from hooligans. See 1:12 in this video of arrests outside the MACC offices:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0BAxeFy2NA4

Is that someone standing on a woman lying on the ground?
    They’re not police officers, they are idiots enjoying the opportunity to assault someone and get away with it.

54. #54 by StevePCH on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 12:40 am

YAB Lim …. to clean up the Police and MACC ? maybe we need to sack 95% of the force.

55. #55 by House Victim on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 1:45 am

The Rots of the Police and MACC are because of the Rots in the Constitution, the Laws, the Politicians, the Systems and those in Power!

The Rot started long time ago with the loss of Ethnics!

Can you ask the Police when can they finish the Investigation on the Cheating and Assaulting Case of a Penang Lawyer onto his clients since April 2008?

PK Government should at least be able to collect ALL the Complaints and continuously Pressing the Police and MACC for pending Complaints!

Otherwise WHO and WHAT are we going to Clean?

56. #56 by Callum on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 7:16 am

What do u expect from their investigations ? Before they announced their investigations, we already knew the answers. It will be the same as Kugan case. I can bet my life savings on this.

57. #57 by SpeakUp on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 8:59 am

Callum … another Kugan in the making. Investigations are carried out dilligently but then dead end. Mysterious circumstances. Sigh …

58. #58 by Onlooker Politics on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 9:29 am

“Onlooker politics, I suggest you join MCA or Gerakan. I think they write good English.” (limkamput)

limkamput,
    Thank you for telling me that you are the agent for MCA or Gerakan. I did sometimes read articles contributed by writers from MCA or Gerakan. However, I did not usually take their writings too seriously because I always found that there were tragically lack of intellectual substance in those writings!

“How long did you take to write your last posting? I am sure you have repeatedly checked and checked again, am i right?” (limkamput)

limkamput,
    There was sometimes no chance for me to check on my writing in this blog because I couldn’t get to see the blogpage. This blogsite had been exposed to high risk of international cyberattack recently. YB Kit should explore the possibility of migrating the blog server location to a much nearer neighbouring such as Singapore.

59. #59 by Onlooker Politics on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 9:31 am

This blogsite had been exposed to high risk of international cyberattack recently. YB Kit should explore the possibility of migrating the blog server location to a much nearer neighbouring COUNTRY such as Singapore.

60. #60 by OrangRojak on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 10:05 am

Onlooker Politics – I see LKS has been tweeting that his blog has been hacked recently. I have often found the site inaccessible. It seems to me that the problem is coincident with times of great political interest. ‘Cyber warriors’ or ‘Idiots with nothing better to do’ – whatever you want to call them – need good access too. The more efficient the access to the site, the easier it is to hack.

Given the noted coincidence, it is my strong suspicion that LKS’ server (hardware or server) is simply incapable of coping at times of high load. If LKS were to have a week of Azly Rahman articles, I would expect his site to enjoy its tip-top performance.

The blogging platforms (like WordPress) rely heavily on dynamically-generated content, requiring great resources at the server. I’d be interested to know what fraction of a server LKS uses at SliceHost. There are things that can be done to WordPress to greatly reduce its dynamic demand, but they are by no means straightforward.

I could be wrong – it would be interesting to hear what LKS’ admin has to say about the issue. Whatever the problem is, it would be good to solve it, as LKS blog has been less reliable recently than some sites in gov.my – and that really is saying something.

61. #61 by Onlooker Politics on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 10:15 am

“Given the noted coincidence, it is my strong suspicion that LKS’ server (hardware or server) is simply incapable of coping at times of high load.” (OrangRojak)

OrangRojak,
    This is a highly possible reason of the server down problem of LKS blogsite. Recently this blogsite changed to use bigger fonts, which may take up more megabits of the data throughput.

LKS’s admin also has to make sure that he/she never shares a same web server with other clients of the web server operator. It may be too costly to hire a web server by LKS himself but it will efficiently cut down the server downtime, which could be caused by cyberattack being done on another website which shares the same web server computer as LKS.

62. #62 by Callum on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 10:29 am

This has been going on for far too long. The MACC acts like God. They kidnap families and torture those they arrest. They threaten those they interrogate with death if they refuse to talk.

THE CORRIDORS OF POWER

Raja Petra Kamarudin
    The writing was already on the wall very much earlier. Alarm bells were wailing like banshees. But this was largely ignored. It was ignored because it was Malaysia Today that had triggered the alarm bells. Malaysia Today is not the most reliable source. It does not offer the best of information. What Malaysia Today dabbles in are rumours and innuendoes.

When the Anti-Corruption Agency, now called the MACC, kidnapped the family of a police inspector, Malaysia Today raised the alarm. They had kidnapped the wife and child of a police inspector who had investigated a Chinese underworld boss on the instructions of a higher-up with the rank of ASP.

The inspector was just doing what his boss had ordered him to do, and that was to open a file and launch an investigation into the activities of the Chinese prostitution, loan shark, drugs and gambling syndicate. And this resulted in the detention of three syndicate bosses.

What the MACC wanted the police inspector to do was quite simple. They wanted him to change his report so that the three underworld bosses can be freed from detention. And he would have to do that if he wants to secure the release of his family.

The police inspector refused to do that. Instead, he made a police report. And so did his wife. But nothing was done about the matter. The MACC officers were not arrested and dragged to court on kidnapping charges.

The MACC then leaked information to the media that they are investigating a very senior police officer, the Director of the CCD, for the crime of not declaring RM27 million worth of assets. The fact that MACC investigations come under the Official Secrets Act was not a hindrance. After all, the OSA is only used against opposition supporters and not against those who serve those who walk in the corridors of power.

Nevertheless, the Director of the CCD was finally not charged for not declaring RM27 million in assets. He was charged for using police property for his personal reasons, something that all government officers, ministers and politicians do blatantly every day of the week. But his real crime is that he detained several Chinese underworld bosses who control the prostitution, loan shark, drugs and gambling business all over Malaysia.

Then they arrested the lawyer who acted for the CCD Director. The MACC officers came to his office on the eve of Hari Raya and handcuffed him after roughing him up like one would do to an armed bank robber. To ensure that the lawyer suffered the greatest embarrassment this Hollywood-style arrest was done in full view of the entire office.

Malaysia Today wrote about all this. Malaysia Today not only wrote about all this but Malaysia Today repeated the stories again and again to make sure no one would say they somehow missed the story. But still nothing was done. No one denied the story. More importantly, no one did anything about what Malaysia Today revealed.

The MACC has been a tool of those who walk in the corridors of power for a long, long time. Officially, Barisan Nasional has 14 component members with Umno as the lead partner. Unofficially, Barisan Nasional has seventeen component members. The Election Commission is the fifteenth component member of Barisan Nasional, the Malaysian police the sixteenth, and the MACC the seventeenth. They all serve the interests of Umno and the Prime Minister.

The writing was already on the wall very much earlier. Alarm bells were wailing like banshees. But this was largely ignored. It was ignored because it was Malaysia Today that had triggered the alarm bells. Malaysia Today is not the most reliable source. It does not offer the best of information. What Malaysia Today dabbles in are rumours and innuendoes.

“Where is the smoking gun?” they ask. “Show me the body!” they demand. No gun, no body, then no crime has been committed.

Well, today, there is a body. It is the body of a most unfortunate Chinese opposition member who was arrested and tortured by the MACC officers. Yes, he was tortured. And he was tortured because the MACC wanted him to talk.

But he could not talk. He could not talk because there was nothing to talk about. The MACC wanted him to finger his comrades in the opposition. They wanted him to implicate his friends in the opposition for various crimes that the MACC alleges had been committed by those in the opposition.

He tried to explain that he is not being stubborn. He tried to explain that no crime had been committed. He tried to explain that he could not possibly implicate his comrades in the opposition for various crimes if these crimes are merely a figment of the MACC’s imagination.

So they continued to torture him. And he could no longer stand the torture. After all, he is not the macho type of man. He is but a gentle man who only wanted to get married this weekend. That was all that he wanted.

They threatened to kill him if he refuses to talk. With tears running down his cheeks he begged for mercy and pleaded with them not to harm him. They threatened to throw him off the top floor if he refuses to talk. Sobbing like a baby he went down on his knees and begged for his life.

They dragged him across the room and opened the window. Then something went terribly wrong. It was supposed to be just a threat. They just wanted to put fear in him. They did not really want to throw him off the top floor. They just wanted him to see what the ground floor looks like from the top floor.

The unfortunate young man panicked. He went ballistic when he saw the distance he would have to travel before hitting the ground floor. He struggled. They could not hold onto him. Gravity took over and the life of this young man was prematurely snuffed out.

The MACC then announced that they had released him the night before. They failed to announce that they had not released him from custody but released him from this world. Then they suddenly found his body the day after. He jumped. He committed suicide. He took his own life. He was never tortured. He was not dragged to the window with the threat that they would teach him how to fly.

This has been going on for far too long. The MACC acts like God. They kidnap families and torture those they arrest. They threaten those they interrogate with death if they refuse to talk.

And now one young man has really died. But no one will be punished. No one will be punished because they will say the young man took his own life. Why he took his own life no one knows. He was never tortured. He was never threatened with death. He was not made to look how far down the ground floor is. He was not accidentally dropped when he panicked and struggled and they could not get a good grip on him.

That is what they will be telling you and me later today.

63. #63 by Loh on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 10:55 am

MACC chief said that the death of Teoh Beng Hock was not his responsibility. He was wrong firstly because TBH was in MACC custody, and as head of MACC, he is responsible for actions of his staff for not having ensured that people walk and could also walk out of MACC.

It MACC had acted professionally in fighting corruption it would have given priority to investigate cases based on severity of corrupt practice primarily based on the quantum involved. The persons who investigate on the case where the late TBH was summoned as witness will have to await the conclusion on how Khir Toyo was able to afford a home valued at RM 25 million with salary of MB for a decade. Also Khir Toyo claimed that the house was valued at RM 3.5 which would represent what he had to pay. How was it possible for housing developer to subsidize the balance? Had there been a payment in kind made by Khir Toyo as MB of Selangor to somebody who eventually foots the bill on the balance of value of the house?

The appropriation of funds on state allocation in Selangor government has attracted attention of MACC not because MACC was interested to pursue its mandate to wipe out corruption. It is to harass Pakatan Rakyat government. Had the MACC chief took his responsibility professionally, the investigation of the current case would be of the lowest priority. If the late TBH was not called as witness, he is still alive today. MACC chief cannot shirk his responsibly. Let his conscience pricks him, if he has any.

64. #64 by Callum on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 11:03 am

Assume TBH is convicted, but the amount so such trivial (few thousands only), does this warrant him to commit suicide ???? Only idiots believe.

65. #65 by OrangRojak on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 11:14 am

by Onlooker Politics: bigger fonts, which may take up more megabits of the data throughput.
    Are you pulling my leg?! The content and style of text on webpages are defined separately. The text remains the same, but the site suggests to your browser what font and what size to display the text in. The instructions for exactly how to draw the different fonts (such as Helvetica, Arial, Times New Roman etc) are stored on your computer, usually coming packaged with your operating system.

The site only ‘suggests’ which fonts to use because different computers may have different fonts installed. Your browser tries to match the locally installed fonts with the suggestions from the site and uses the best compromise (or exact match, if you’re lucky). The text is ‘rendered’ by looking up the drawing instruction for each character in turn and drawing it with curved lines (a square array of on-or-off dots in the bad old days, remember?)

LKS’ blog uses the very common UTF-8 character encoding (use ‘curl –head’, or ‘Tools..Page Info’ in something like Firefox), which means most of the Latin characters take 8 bits (one byte) to store. ‘Funny’ characters (like 汉字) may take 2 to 4 bytes each. The font suggestion can be changed on the server without touching the text itself.

The amount of data transferred remains the same. Rendering fonts is quite hard work for your own computer, so larger, more complex fonts will be slower (but not usually enough to notice) to render by your CPU, but won’t have any effect at all on LKS’ server.

I’m sorry if you were pulling my leg – I have fallen for it completely.

66. #66 by Onlooker Politics on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 12:29 pm

“I’m sorry if you were pulling my leg – I have fallen for it completely.” (OrangRojak)

Sorry, I may feed you with some wrong information in the previous comment.

What I actually mean is that the graphics-based presentation takes up much more megabits than the text-based presentation in this blogsite!

67. #67 by limkamput on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 1:24 pm

However, I did not usually take their writings too seriously because I always found that there were tragically lack of intellectual substance in those writings!

Let me rewrite for you:
    However, I did not usually take their writings too seriously because I always found that they tragically lack intellectual substance!

Hope you know the difference between there and they!

68. #68 by OrangRojak on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 1:29 pm

graphics-based presentation
    Well, LKS’ admin hasn’t done a bad job in this respect. If your browser supports it, you can right-click on one of the images that makes up the page’s design (such as the grey header) and ‘View Image’ or ‘View Background Image’. When your browser loads that image, you’ll see it’s stored on another server, not LKS’ server at all!

Of course, you’re right for those of us at home! Some of the recent changes means that a fresh download of an LKS blog page is over 600KB of data (check it by saving a ‘complete’ copy of the page and looking at the folder your browser creates to store the accessory files). That’s a quarter of a minute when my Streamyx connection is working properly, or 2 or 3 minutes on a normal day!

You can get some idea of how loaded LKS’ blog is by looking at the source of a page from his site (right click in the blank space on one of his pages and ‘View Source’). Near the bottom of the code is a comment that tells you how many queries (are these DB queries?) and how much time the server needed to build the page. LKS pages take about half a second in the early morning (3-4am), but often take 10-20 seconds during the day and over 30 queries. The queries seem a little high, but 10-20 seconds to build a page is terrible – an enthusiastic visitor might click ‘refresh’ more frequently than that!

I still think the problem is the server unable to cope with demand in times of excitement because all the pages are dynamically built. I think if the admins search Google for “wordpress cache”, they’ll find something in there to massively reduce the work the server has to do. Of course, I could be completely wrong – all I know is that the site is dead and there are very few clues…

69. #69 by iamkkk on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 1:56 pm

Before a regime going to collapse, it will act and behave disorderly. It is what happenning now in 1Malaysia. Let’s purnish them “kow kow” on the next GE.

70. #70 by Woof on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 8:07 pm

Teoh was seen by another DAP witness walking and looking tired and dazed. Which could only mean he already left the custody of his interrogators.

How then could MACC be responsible?? Don’t misunderstand. I’d like to make them responsible as much as anyone else.

The MACC head is responsible for the conduct of his officers so long as what they are doing is in the course of their employment. Just what is ‘in the course of employment’?

Baby face Teoh appears to fit the profile of someone who is law abiding, kind and gentle soul but also the kind of person school yard bullies would love to toy with. It is possible that his interrogators themselves having been forced to work that late and for such long hours that they took it out on him after work. It went too far and Teoh fell. Somehow.

However preposterous that may appear to many, it has to be investigated.

71. #71 by Woof on Monday, 20 July 2009 - 8:18 pm

However, everything that is being said and has been said and will continue to be said about our law enforcement agencies and deaths under mysterious circumstances is true. This has to be stopped. Somehow.

72. #72 by House Victim on Tuesday, 21 July 2009 - 12:00 am

I had came across a posting in this Blog to draw our attention that there is no blood shade around Beng Hock body.

Should a live person falling from 14th floor down without blood shade?