Nazri would do the country a greater service to warn New Straits Times group editor Zainul Arifin to stop his outpouring of communal poison which undermines Najib’s 1Malaysia motto and his credibility as Prime Minister

The de facto Law Minister, Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz, seems to have found a new hobby. He is merrily issuing warnings against all and sundry, regardless of whether he has any basis for such warnings or not. Probably Nazri should be labelled Minister for Warnings.

Nazri warned me not to turn the death of Teoh Beng Hock into a racial issue. Teoh, the political secretary to Selangor DAP State Exco and State Assemblyman for Seri Kembangan Ean Yong Han Hwa died mysteriously on Thursday after plunging from the 14th floor of MACC on Thursday after going to MACC to co-operate in its investigations.

As a de facto Law Minister, Nazri should not act in any lawless manner. I challenge him to substantiate his warning by citing an instance where I have turned Teoh’s death into a racial issue?

If he can’t, is Nazri prepared to be gentleman enough to apologise for his baseless and unfounded warning?

I have dedicated my entire life to the ideal of a united, harmonious, peaceful, just and prosperous Malaysia and have approached Malaysia’s multi-faceted problems from the perspective of a Malaysian nationalist – and not from the vision of a Chinese, Malay, Indian, Kadazan or Iban chauvinist.

I regard Teoh’s death as an indictment of the Malaysian system of governance and not a racial problem.

I have never regarded the MACC as a Malay or Malay-controlled institution and this is why I do not regard Teoh as a victim of the failure of Malay government but the indictment on a Malaysian government, holding all the Barisan Nasional Ministers and component parties equally responsible!

It is racists like the New Straits Times group managing editor Zainul Arifin who could spout rank communalism who should be the subject of Nazri’s attention and warning.

In his Sunday article in Berita MingguKematian Teoh timbulkan pelbagai spekulasi politik”, Zainul Arifin made the utterly irresponsible, abhorrent and baseless allegation against DAP and Pakatan Rakyat for harbouring the agenda to weaken Malay-controlled institutions like MACC in our campaign for justice for Teoh Beng Hock.

Zainul Arifin could even be so irresponsible as to resort to blatant race-baiting as when he demanded of Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim: “Why does Selangor Menteri Besar, a Malay, doubt the ability of those of his own race to act fairly and sincerely?”

I do not hide the fact that I am a strong and sustained critic of MACC and its predecessor the Anti-Corruption Agency as a Malay institution.

This is simply because of its dismal failure in the battle against corruption as illustrated by the unchecked plunge of Malaysia’s ranking in Transparency International Corruption Perception Index from No. 23 in 1995 to No. 47 in 2008 and the latest admission of MCA President and Transport Minister that corruption was deteriorated with the corrupt emerging from the “darkness” to operate in the open with impunity!

I have always regarded MACC, and before that the ACA, as a Malaysian institution and criticized it of any failings not because it is a Malay-controlled institution but because it is a Malaysian institution.

Is Zainul Arifin suggesting that the RM12.5 billion Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) scandal is a Chinese scandal because three MCA Ministers and four MCA Port Klang Authority Chairmen are now implicated in it?

Not at all. Just as PKFZ scandal is a Malaysian scandal and not a Malay, Chinese, Indian scandal, the scandal and outrageous death of Teoh is a Malaysian scandal and not a Chinese, Malay, Indian, Kadazan or Iban scandal.

Twenty-five years ago, I was accused of being anti-Malay for exposing the Bumiputra Malaysia Finance (BMF) scandal. If today, there is still such mentality, Najib’s 1Malaysia slogan cannot have any meaning.

Zainul Ariffin has made a most racist and irresponsible statement, completely unbecoming of a top journalist heading a national daily.

Does Nazri endorse Zainul Arifin’s communal writings and if not why is there no warning from him to the New Straits Times group and its managing editor?

I shudder to think what would happen to Chinese and Tamil newspapers if their editors or writers had played the racial card like Zainul Arifin as their newspaper licences would have been suspended if not revoked immediately?

Why the double standards, Nazri?

Zainul Arifin’s racist article makes a complete mockery of the 1Malaysia motto of Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak.

As Zainul Arifin is managing editor of Umno’s flagship newspaper group, the News Straits Times, are Umno leaders like Nazri prepared to dissociate themselves from Zainul’s racist article, take disciplinary action against Zainul and publicly apologise for Zainul’s racist and communal article.

1. #1 by Woof on Tuesday, 21 July 2009 - 8:36 pm

“I regard Teoh’s death as an indictment of the Malaysian system of governance and not a racial problem.” LKS

It is an indictment of Najib’s committment to transparency, good governance and accountability – all components of the 1Malaysia concept which he has so proudly announced will be his goal.

What say you Najib? Or should it be what say you Rosmah?

2. #2 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 21 July 2009 - 8:38 pm

Eeerrrrr … Nazri would consider those articles as good reading.

3. #3 by assamlaksa on Tuesday, 21 July 2009 - 8:48 pm

during discussions with friends and colleagues all discussions were about the procedures of MACC such as why late hours, where is his handphone, why he is not committing suicide, etc. yes, we discussed MACC is a government agency but we don’t talk about Malay/non-Malay issue. only racist people will link the issue as racial issue.

btw, i just visited the BH online via the link in the above article. and wow, there are so many get rich scheme advertisement in that page.
    no wonder why there are so many people getting involved in these get rich scheme despite warnings and warnings being issued.

4. #4 by Woof on Tuesday, 21 July 2009 - 9:08 pm

If race riots break out, this Zainul guy is like that guy who cried fire in a crowded cinema. The deaths of many will be on his hands and should be charged in court for their deaths.

5. #5 by thaiming on Tuesday, 21 July 2009 - 9:29 pm

Zainul Arifin is above NAZRI

6. #6 by limkamput on Tuesday, 21 July 2009 - 9:42 pm

//It is an indictment of Najib’s committment to transparency, good governance and accountability – all components of the 1Malaysia concept which he has so proudly announced will be his goal.//woooof

Owah so fierce today! But since when did BN/UMNO and its leaders do what they say? Be consistent lah wooooof, on one hand you condemned the uselessness of RCI, but on the other you expect high hope on 1Malaysia. What happen to you, sign of Alzheimer is it?

7. #7 by limkamput on Tuesday, 21 July 2009 - 9:49 pm

The race strategy works. It has been working for the last 50 years. March 8 showed some rays of hope. But now, the same old strategy is being reused again. If UMNO is able to turn around, it only shows one thing – most Malaysians are still stupid and ignorant racists.

8. #8 by All For The Road on Tuesday, 21 July 2009 - 9:56 pm

This is what one calls irressponsible journalism at the highest extreme.

A police report should be lodged on this racist article and the writer be investigated and action taken!

9. #9 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 21 July 2009 - 10:12 pm

Does Nazri endorse Zainul Arifin’s communal writings and if not why is there no warning from him to the New Straits Times group and its managing editor?
    ======================================

Nazri should immediately send warnings to Zainul Arifin to show he (Nazri) means business, otherwise nobody will believe what he says next time.

10. #10 by johnnypok on Tuesday, 21 July 2009 - 10:48 pm

Don’t waste time talking to a mentally retarded idiot who only thinks about “TAXI”

11. #11 by tanjong8 on Tuesday, 21 July 2009 - 11:02 pm

Zainal Arifin Isa, the NST managing editor.

I suggest DAP compiles a list of these racialists who must be brought to book when the time comes if the present government does not take action against people like him and Awang Selamat of the Utusan.

WE need to organise better.

12. #12 by The Enforcer on Tuesday, 21 July 2009 - 11:04 pm

Correction lah johnnypok, this retard only thinks about SEX….ha ha ha

13. #13 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 22 July 2009 - 8:37 am

Teoh Beng Hock is already buried BUT yet there were EVEN MORE people that showed up in yesterday’s forum in Penang.

Its a clear proof that the people across ALL spectrum do not trust govt institutions when it has even a modicum of conflict with BN.

I argue that people have always known this but what is different is that they feel the system must change in order for things to go forward. In other the message to BN is ‘change or perish’ and it comes from all corners of the country. That is the inevitable future.

But BN has shown it is incapable of changing. Hence its days are numbered.

14. #14 by Joshua on Wednesday, 22 July 2009 - 9:07 am

what about all those warnings on the 60,000 plus taxi licenses when we travel in a taxi in KL?

You all know who issue them and RM10 per day as ‘royalties’ of graft?

pw: learnt presi-

15. #15 by k1980 on Wednesday, 22 July 2009 - 9:19 am

It is regrettable that in this day and age that our state agency could still treat citizens like some worthless piece of flesh and bones. It is like the state is a gangland, ruled and managed by fear, where dungeons and hooded men abound, ready to interrogate in the darkness of nights….

http://art-harun.blogspot.com/2009/07/macdeth-act-ii-open-letter-to-berita.html

16. #16 by taiking on Wednesday, 22 July 2009 - 9:21 am

Because beng hock is chinese and because lks is championing a cause for justice for him, his wife, unborn child and family therefore lks is turning his death into a racial issue.

How more stupid can nazri get? If he is any stupider he would turn into a jackass. Maybe he is there already – a jackass in form and in substance, full and complete.

17. #17 by ekompute on Wednesday, 22 July 2009 - 9:27 am

“Nazri would do the country a greater service to warn New Straits Times group editor Zainul Arifin to stop his outpouring of communal poison which undermines Najib’s 1Malaysia motto and his credibility as Prime Minister.”

LKS, do you still not know this guy? Expect rubbish from him but anything sensible, I won’t put my money on it!

18. #18 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 22 July 2009 - 9:30 am

They think Opposition/you making Teoh Beng Hock a political martyr, his death a symbol of all that is wrong in governance, and their way to douse this is to accuse Opposition/you of turning the death of Teoh Beng Hock into a racial issue.

To characterise it such contains a veiled threat that those who stoke racial sentiments may face the wrath of the law (sedition) controlled by them (of which their press is immune) How clever :)

19. #19 by kcregister on Wednesday, 22 July 2009 - 10:00 am

“I do not hide the fact that I am a strong and sustained critic of MACC and its predecessor the Anti-Corruption Agency as a Malay institution.”

I think Kit was meant to say :
    “I do not hide the fact that I am a strong and sustained critic of MACC and its predecessor the Anti-Corruption Agency as a Malaysian institution.”

20. #20 by SpeakUp on Wednesday, 22 July 2009 - 11:48 am

The scary part is that many out there who read such articled will believe its a racial matter. That is the scary part.

For me its as scary as those who believe what that Wee Wee did is correct. As scary as people who say they will die for the illustrious DSAI when that man has no guts to discipline the racist Kulim ADUN.

So you see, we can criticise all we want about the NST group. But it should not be seen as a lame act. Many will believe in it so that is why they do it. Then again, we have a few like that within PR too. Scary thought?

21. #21 by Justitia on Wednesday, 22 July 2009 - 6:45 pm

Nazri should just shut his BIG Clap Trap!

22. #22 by johnnypok on Thursday, 23 July 2009 - 6:09 pm

He is a blood-sucker and only good in leaching taxi-permits.