Rise of PP voters as pioneers of Bangsa Malaysia generation shaming Umno, MCA, Gerakan, MIC leaders for their race politics

The Permatang Pauh by-election and Anwar Ibrahim’s victory is a historic milestone in Malaysian nation-building and political development for three reasons.

It is firstly a ringing endorsement of the March 8 “political tsunami” where Malaysians transcended race, religion and political affiliation to vote as one people to demand an end to the decades of Barisan Nasional misrule, abuses of power, corruption and human rights violations.

It demonstrates that the 12th general election results which saw the establishment of five Pakatan Rakyat state governments and the end of the unbroken two-thirds parliamentary majority of the Barisan Nasional represented the deep-seated aspirations of Malaysians and not a fluke shot or fleeting phenomenon.

Secondly, it is an unmistakable verdict on behalf of 27 million Malaysians at their disappointment with the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, the Deputy Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak, the Cabinet and the Barisan Nasional component parties at their failure in the past six months after the March 8 general election to end the deepening crisis of confidence and restore public trust and faith in the government as well as a censure of Abdullah’s failure to honour his renewed pledges to implement wide-ranging reforms, especially the police, the judiciary and on anti-corruption.

Thirdly, the rise of Permatang Pauh voters as the pioneers of the Bangsa Malaysia generation rejecting and putting to shame Umno, MCA, Gerakan and MIC Ministers and leaders for their dirty, immoral and racist politics in the 10-day by-election campaign.

Until yesterday, there was nothing for Malaysians to celebrate in the forthcoming 51st National Day on August 31.

Now there is cause for the celebration of the 51st National Day as the people of Permatang Pauh have given the nation and the world hope and confidence that there is a future for a united, harmonious, progressive and prosperous Malaysian nation when the majority of the Malay, Chinese and Indians voters in Permatang Pauh united as one people to support Anwar Ibrahim in the cause of a new Malaysia and to reject the racist and communal campaigning of Umno.

In the by-election, Najib had masterminded not only the dirtiest but also the most immoral, divisive and racist election campaign in my personal experience, particularly in the chauvinist and communal Umno line that the Malays would be oppressed by the DAP if Anwar Ibrahim is elected as MP for the constituency.

This is a lie and it is most shameful, dishonest and unMalaysian for any Umno leader to resort to such falsehoods.

But what is equally shocking is the eerie silence and acquiescence of MCA, Gerakan and MIC Ministers and leaders who campaigned in Permatang Pauh but who dared not protest with Najib or Abdullah to demand an immediate end to such racist campaigning – proving right the post-March 8 criticisms of some MCA and Gerakan leaders that the role of MCA and Gerakan were nothing more than being political “serfs” and “beggars” to UMNO.

Abdullah, Najib as well as Umno, MCA, Gerakan and MIC leaders have not learnt the lessons of the March 8 “political tsunami”.

Will they learn the lessons of the August 26 Permatang Pauh “mini political tsunami” or will they continue to be in terminal denial, aggravating the national political and economic crisis of confidence in Malaysia?

1. #1 by alancheah on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 5:03 pm

Malaysia got future now! ROCK!!

2. #2 by Amoeba on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 5:03 pm

I am 1st ahahah…….!

3. #3 by diel on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 5:12 pm

Hi Uncle Lim,

Why is it so difficult carry out No confidence against the PM/BN?
    In other countries seems easy and very professional like when the MP/Opposition having no confidence against their leaders.
    Will there be a bill next time that emphasize on the procedures to table no confidence and the leaders has to make an exit without making funny excuses/delaying/act as if nothin happens?
    I still don’t understand until what extend of Peoples voice that need to heard for our Govt to take heed of our cry?
    I was wondering if DSAI didn’t win and get into the parliment will there be anyone to fight for this cause of taking over? well it was just a thought and felt that there should be a back up plan.
    Anyhow All the best and continue the fight for justice and thank you!!

4. #4 by k1980 on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 5:15 pm

Imagine the US of A today having political parties exclusively for whites, blacks, Hispanics, Asiatics, native American Indians ect and with the majority whites claiming exclusive rights to economics, politics, education and so forth. That was why the Civil War broke out in 1860.

5. #5 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 5:21 pm

Some BN MPs are lining up to jump ship. But beware of these turncoats – some of them are opportunists and will continue to suck the rakyat dry as PR MPs! A leopard cannot change its spots!

Furthermore, not all PR MPs are people with principles. Power corrupts and some of the elected public servants will turn against or expolit their bosses who elected them (the voters).

We have to keep an eye on all of them and do the necessary before things get out of hand!

6. #6 by Freddy on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 5:22 pm

Yes, Malaysian Unity!

After 51 years, Bangsa Malaysia is realised. This 51st Merdeka is indeed special ….

7. #7 by raven77 on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 5:22 pm

The people….have won.

8. #8 by Godfather on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 5:26 pm

The legacy that Mamakthir left behind was one of divisiveness, one of divide and conquer. He made sure that the minor parties within the Barang Naik coalition had ineffective leaders so that they can be controlled by the dictator. Mamakthir dished out cabinet positions like candies to the coalition partners. Meritocracy was not important to him – loyalty and allegiance were all that mattered. The “abang-adik” culture prospered under the mamak.

How can we expect the MCA or Gerakan or MIC to lead when their leaders no longer command any respect ?

9. #9 by allen_msia on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 5:28 pm

Come on …where are all the so called great leaders of MCA n Gerakan who’s picture is on news paper every day ?

lets fight deading then be shamefull to all the 500k m’sian chinese !

?????????

???????????????????????????

????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????”

10. #10 by taiking on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 5:28 pm

So it is now clear that the 308 tsunami is no fluke.

It is now clear that the people want change.

The people is in control.

The people is dictating the change.

The people no longer accept UMNO, MCA, MIC and Gerakan’s words and deeds wholesale and unquestioningly.

Anwar knows all these and he understands the people’s sentiments.

UMNO and the rest do not. They are too arrogant even to open their eyes, ears and minds.

11. #11 by jennifer cheong on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 5:29 pm

Dear YB Lim Guan Eng and YB Lim Kit Siang,
    I hope DAP will have new agenda, explosive good suggestion and innovative proposals to improve Malaysia people’s lives to win more voters over in the PR states, so that the next election, PR will be the new governor but not UMNO again! just in case 916 tak jadi! I think DAP’s leaders mostly are not as dedicated as before and some of them are too young and no experience, they need to catch up the train and speed up the growing up ! All the best for them who stand for the right of the people! cheers!

12. #12 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 5:42 pm

The failure of our education system and family indoctrination is manifested in the ‘first’ mentality in individuals. From young, a child is encouraged to be first this, first that, as if being first, at all costs and even over a dead body, would bring glory to the individual, the family, and the ancestors!

So we see people behaving recklessly and childishly (cheap thrill as well) everyday to be first in everything – first to beat the red light, first to jump queue, first to squeeze into an LRT coach before other commuters leave the coach, first to jom an empty seat even from a disabled or elderly person, first to pee or defecate in a new toilet, first to leave a line in a blog, ……. and ultimately first to report to Hades or to arrive in Hades!

13. #13 by Hishamuddin on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 5:44 pm

YB Lim,
    As a first step, shouldn’t the PR form a shadow cabinet first ??>???

14. #14 by cancan on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 5:46 pm

A thank you message

Link: http://www.kingsmary.blospot.com/

15. #15 by KennyGan on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 5:59 pm

YB Lim,

If the partisan speaker doesn’t accept a motion of no confidence, this is easy to overcome. With enough MPs in the house, just vote down any bill proposed by the BN government. It’s the same as a vote of no-confidence. Obviously they cannot govern if they cannot pass any bill.

If PR takes over, I hope new general elections will be called early after repairing all the damaged institutions, repealing unjust laws, replacing corrupt ones at the top. Maybe as early as 9 months after taking over.

This will legitimize PR rule and wipe out any political debts to defectors.

16. #16 by Michael Ng on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 5:59 pm

Yes, the people has spoken yet again (loud and clear). Since the March 8 GE, those in the BN still cannot accept that their halcyon days are over. Koh Tsu Koon and the other MCA bloke looked so pathetic in the presence of the DPM. Still practising the master-servant mentalilty.

Anyway, nothing is going to happen on Sept 16 that’s for sure. Anwar was just playing mind games with the BN. However, should some BN dogs from either Sarawak or Sabah decides to jump ship, I want to know what is DAP’s view on this? I personally feel these type of politicians have no principles and they should not be part of the Pakatan Rakyat. DAP has had its fair share of members jumping over to the MCA in the past. I am happy to note that those turncoats didn’t last very long politically speaking.

17. #17 by KennyGan on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 6:03 pm

Obviously, Koh Tsu Koon, Samy Vellu, Ong Kah Ting and other leaders of component parties have a lot to answer for supporting and assisting the racist Umno campaign at Permatang Pauh. How can these shameless leaders continue to face their communities and claim that they represent Chinese and Indians?

18. #18 by flyer168 on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 6:03 pm

Dear YB LKS,

Very well said indeed.

With our nation’s Historic “Ground Zero” established by DSAI, Pakatan Rayaat & the Permatang Pauh voters, let us keep our “Focus” on our journey to that “Dream” Destination.

Just ponder on this :

Let us ALL be “Magnanimous in Victory” & not forget that “PERSON” that made it all possible, will be etched in the History of this great nation…..

“Malaysia for ALL Malaysians” (Anak Bangsa Malaysia) where EVERY citizen can “Dream” of, be “GIVEN” the “OPPORTUNITY” to “WORK” hard “TOWARDS IT”, to “ACHIEVE” the “MALAYSIAN DREAM”.

Our Malaysian Heroine of the 21st century – Dato’ Seri Dr. Wan Azizah Ismail, the first woman “Leader of the Opposition” in the Malaysian Parliament….”Graciously” resigned as the MP for Permatang Pauh to pave the way for this “New Dawn”.

She had sustained the “PKR Fortress” during its “Sad” years , later together with her daughter YB Nurul Izzah managed to elevate it to its present status, achieved the status of being nominated & presided as the first woman “Leader of the Opposition” in the Malaysian Parliament…..

Against all odds, with the Humiliation, Intimidation, Harrassment, Punishment, etc meted to her, her husband DSAI & her family by the “Powers-that-be”…..

My heartiest Congratulations, Gratitude & Tribute to our Nation’s Heroine of the 21st century – Dato’ Seri Dr. Wan Azizah Ismail.

19. #19 by badak on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 6:03 pm

Just got back from a talk by a government department,What surprise most people there was,When the pengarah said.”” minta maaf kerana kita di arah oleh pehak atasan jangan jemput YB,s dari parti pembangkan””.
    When will government servants learn that the people had spoken,We want PKR,DAP and PAS to represent us.Not MIC ,UMNO PPP GERAKAN.

20. #20 by k1980 on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 6:04 pm

New song to be sung on 31.8.2008

Where has all the money gone?
    In just 51 years
    Where have all the money gone?
    Short time only
    Where has all the money gone?
    All has been eaten by BN
    When will we ever learn?

(Sung to the tune of Where have all the flowers gone?)

21. #21 by baoqingtian on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 6:09 pm

Malaysia Today website is blocked by Tmnet. To assess use Maxis,Jaring or Time.

Also at http://mt.harapanmalaysia.com

22. #22 by badak on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 6:11 pm

Its really hard for opposition YB,s .The YB in my area hard his electricity in his house cut by TNB.His pay is just not enough to run his family as well as his kawasan.
    When i asked him why not pay your house bill first.This is what he said”” My family will understand that i don,t have money,But my voters might not””.How sad

23. #23 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 6:15 pm

In the by-election, Najib had masterminded not only the dirtiest but also the most immoral, divisive and racist election campaign in my personal experience, particularly in the chauvinist and communal Umno line that the Malays would be oppressed by the DAP if Anwar Ibrahim is elected as MP for the constituency.

This is a lie and it is most shameful, dishonest and unMalaysian for any Umno leader to resort to such falsehoods. – YB Lim

—————————-

What do you expect to come out from the mouth of Najis??? other than “bau busuk”!!!

24. #24 by Bobster on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 6:17 pm

More to add on the list of disgraceful MCA leaders who support and assist BN campaign at Permatang Pauh:-

i. Ng Yen Yen who gave out gifts to old folks trying to buy votes
    ii. Liow Tiong Lie that talked a lot as if he will be the next MCA President.

Keep an eye on these two jokers. They have done disservice to the community and nation.

25. #25 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 6:19 pm

Koh Tsu Koon, Samy Vellu, Ong Kah Ting and other leaders of component parties are Remilegia australis or commonly known as suckerfish with a sucking disk on the head for attaching to large fish (like whales and dolphins) or moving objects, maybe feeding on the feces of the large fish.

Who is the large fish? Guess correctly and the reward is ‘spend an evening with the fool’.

26. #26 by mata_kucing on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 6:21 pm

Samy Vellu said that the Indians in Permatang Pauh were smiling. Indeed they are, now that Anwar is representing them. As for the eunuchs in MCA and Gerakan, your days are numbered like those of your master, Umno.

27. #27 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 6:23 pm

We must constantly endeavor if we are to succeed.

Thank you Permatang Pauh.

28. #28 by gofortruth on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 6:28 pm

Sorry to digress:-
    From Malaysiakini –
    “PAS Youth to protest rocker Lavigne concert
    Aug 27, 08 2:02pm

It says it will mount protests at Canadian rocker Avril Lavigne’s concert on Friday after failing to have it banned.MORE
    Concert was initially banned
    Cabinet gives green light”

http://malaysiakini.com/news/88680
    ————————-
    Someone should inform PAS leadership that this is clearly a landmine set up by UMNO to instill chaos so that they can declare a state of emergency. Don’t fall for it!

29. #29 by ch on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 6:39 pm

Dear All,

Kudos to Pakatan Rakyat and Dato Seri Anwar for retaining the Permatang Pauh parliament seat despite going against the mighty machinery of UMNO and Barisan Nasional. The mass medias were extraordinarilly unmerciful to the former Deputy Prime Minister with the continuous and spate of news reports during the campaign period. Going against all odds, Pakatan Rakyat managed to secure a thumping and resounding endorsement from the rakyat of Permatang Pauh.

It has always been nice and sweet to savour such victory and particularly most for Dato Seri Anwar, who had to endure the most stinging assault on his image and character. The image of Pakatan Rakyat of governing with its popularly known as CAT in Perak was somewhat blemished due to the arrest of two EXCO members. Most would concur that the image and political situation in Malaysia will be further exacerbated as BN grapples to cling on to power. Coming back to reality, is first, to define and to discern for the immediate present what is necessary for the continue moving forward with this great idea of Pakatan Rakyat. Standing together speaking the same voice on all issues would be the next hurdle, I believe.

UMNO will continue to play up the issues brought up at the PAS Muktamar just barely a week ago. These are issues and real issues that if overcome, then we believe PA will stand the test of time, going forward into the new Malaysia.

30. #30 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 6:42 pm

well if they wants to bane let it be, cuz Avril already billionaires who just here to entertain, if she knews this would cause trouble i doubt she wouldn’t come.

31. #31 by k1980 on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 6:49 pm

To boh-liao today at 18: 19.48

No lah, not Remilegia australis or commonly known as suckerfish. Just ordinary toilet plungers of the type used by saifool on his own bunghole

32. #32 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 6:57 pm

//….will they continue to be in terminal denial…?// – YB Kit.

One has to be in denial when one cannot change. A political organisation cannot change or reinvent itself when people stuffing it and filling its higher echelons of command are there in the first place to wield power for personal benefit. The prevailing shared norms are mutual scratching of backs and blind political loyalty. Their acts and direction are guided by the financial compass – not the moral one. Once the people from whom these politicians derive legitimacy of power and position see through their selfish game, the trust is gone, support withdrawn and wave for change begins and is unstoppable… Even the future of the Malay race” and “Malay supremacy” backed by money politics cannot stem this rising tide. The whole organisation goes into disarray as top leadership faces factional recriminations of the devastating scale of defeat in Permatang Pauh. Non Malay coalition partners grow anxious whether they are in a fast sinking Titanic and contemplate whether its time to exit and negotiate with the Opposition side rising with the tide of discontent. Such concerns are legitimate : the leadership is adrift not knowing how to address this tsunamy advancing rapidly. Well tried methods have not worked in both 8th March election and 26th Aug by-election… 5 states controlling 75% of GDP are in Opposition’s control. Opposition has been successful in articulating a national vision and a set of policies transcending race and the leaders at the helm of the beleaqured political are still dithering and pussyfooting trying to fine tune that the trite and well worn methods of playing the race, religious and money card, wondering whether they might perhaps not flashed them correctly. That is of course either missing the issue or refusing to acknowledge the obvious – that one’s constitutency has outgrown your ways and have new appetites that the Opposition is pandering but you are ignoring at your own peril!

Meanwhile with the Opposition neck to neck, the beleaquered organisation in power could not even have the decisive parliamentary 2/3 power to pass and sanction major legislations or initiate bold and decisive action plan to address flexibly the multifarious problems and challenges confronting the country which when unresolved are blamed, fairly or unfairly on the organisation in power. It is a dead end road staring at your Opponent wondering when only it decides to move against you with the vote of no confidence. This he will surely do. For he has no choice. You have already charged him for Sodomy II. You have given him no options.

33. #33 by lkt-56 on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 7:12 pm

Kit,
    Sorry… my comment will not be on this topic but another thread which appeared earlier. I sincerely hope you do not mind:

Quote:
    # zak_hammaad Says:
    Yesterday at 22: 14.19

Adam, only an antagonist like you would trust a snake like Anwar; this he has shown through his contradictory actions as finance minister and then DPM. His words of late reflect the audience he is addressing and it is the Malays who will pay the ultimate price for his selfish ambitions. If he gets to Putrajaya (which I believe is highly unlikely), there is a very real risk of a civil strife.

The opposition knows that Anwar remains the only viable Malay puppet for them to get into government. The DAP are the only winners from Anwar’s “fame” and the minorities who want a larger share of political stake and representation should know always remember May 13th; not as a scaremongering tool, but as a serious lesson in racial harmony gone bad.

Anwar’s “majority” lies with the Chinese and Indians; this is what I mean when I speak of civil strife; antagonising the majority race will not help build an equitable Malaysia as Pakatan hope.

DEAR ZAK_HAMMAD,
    THE LANGUAGE YOU USED CLEARLY SHOWS YOUR INTENSE DISLIKE FOR ANWAR. I HOPE YOU WILL GET OVER YOUR DISAPPOINTMENT SOON.

WE, THE CITIZENS OF MALAYSIA KNOW HOW TO JUDGE THE PRESENT SITUATION. WE FEEL A REAL CHANCE FOR A CHANGE FOR THE BETTER OF ALL MALAYSIANS. WE SEE MALAYSIANS COMING TOGETHER AS A NATION TO FACE THE WORLD WITH RENEWED CONFIDENCE. THIS IS WHAT THE PRESENT SITUATION TELLS US AND IT IS THE PRESENT THAT DETERMINES THE FUTURE.

YOU HAVE OF COURSE READ THE PRESENT DIFFERENTLY AS YOU SEE THE POSSIBILITY OF “CIVIL STRIFE”. BUT HONESTLY ON THE PLATFORM PROMOTED BY THE PAKATAN RAKYAT IT DOES NOT SEEM LOGICAL TO EQUATE IT WITH PREDICTION OF BAD THINGS TO COME.

SORRY, WE CANNOT BUY YOUR ARGUMENT.

34. #34 by Saint on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 7:17 pm

Dear baoqingtian,

Thank you for the MT info

35. #35 by cinta Malaysia on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 7:17 pm

Kit,
    31st as Merdeka Day is an anomaly for us in Sabah and Sarawak.
    16th September is our real Merdeka Day when the the entities of Malaya , Sabah and Sarawak formed Malaysia!
    31st August is the liberation of Malaya.Let us put history in proper perspective!

36. #36 by just a moment on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 7:23 pm

It has been a wonderful morning – Yes!
    Someone got themselves buried instead, Kudos.
    The big mouth bast…s!

YB, Pls provide clarification for us..
    1. This afternoon Malaysia Today has been blocked.
    What freedom or assurance ppl in this blog will not
    be affected?

2. Looks like none of us are free anymore, right?
    Is there no ‘person, bodies, that can stop the Goment
    from implementing any damm thing they wish?

Its becoming a ‘Police State’. Its very alarming!
    At the rate things are moving, one can expect many more
    trouble ahead, pls tell me Im wrong.

Today reaction from all BN ‘spoke person’ shows an image
    of an injured animal. Make no mistake – Intimidating.

How are PKR gonna move forward hereon? Anyone, pls
    give me input? Thanks

37. #37 by ALLAN THAM on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 7:24 pm

It was very shameful to MCA and Gerakan whose leader only dare to talk when they are no longer having a minister post or party post. Yet they claim they represent this and that. Any way MAlaysian today has rejected the RAce based politic and it is only politic that based on performance, accountability and carry out its duties and responsibility without any fear and favour and must always put the people interest as first priority can survive.

Yesterday PP’s by election result has prove once again MCA and Gerakan have become less and less relevant to the current political environment in Malaysia. These two parties have really to rethink and reconsider their position in BN in order to survive.

We all know for many years ago these two parties are only second to the UMNO as big brothers and have been keep take and seeing its face for so long, yet only those leaders that have been badly defeated during the 308 GE dare to voice out yet they are not bold enough and courages enough to bring real changes within the parties. Those still holding to minister posts still keep and sing along with the big brother, until yesterday if they still keep singing they will sink all together with the big brother.

It is time and they must really think very hard to stay relevant.

38. #38 by lkt-56 on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 7:26 pm

just a moment Says:
    Today at 19: 23.07 (14 seconds ago)

….How are PKR gonna move forward hereon? Anyone, pls
    give me input? Thanks…..

Hi,
    The election result last night is the pointer…. to change. Malaysians are ready for change. PKR just got to ride on this current.
    ;)

39. #39 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 7:29 pm

//…..The opposition knows that Anwar remains the only viable Malay puppet for them to get into government. The DAP are the only winners from Anwar’s “fame” and the minorities who want a larger share of political stake and representation ..Anwar’s “majority lies with the Chinese and Indians// – zak_hammaad

This is skewing Anwar’s role in racial lines. It does not represent the truth. Leave aside and listen to what Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah said at The Bankers Club Business Luncheon Forum July 15th : Ku Li said that the Malay leadership of UMNO must “win the trust of all Malaysians, a national party that promotes the welfare of all”. He further said the coalition’s by-election campaign, which was criticised for its racial overtones and focus on sodomy allegations against Anwar, has “embarrassed and divided the nation with its ugliness. It is time to face the music: it is we who have been buried,” he said. “Our leadership is rejected by the rakyat and, moreover, is rejected by our own members. BN’s vote count was less than the number of Umno members in the constituency” (Permatang Pauh), he added. Source : Malaysiakini Aug 27, 08 12:21pm.

40. #40 by just a moment on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 7:29 pm

Thank you, Ikt-56,
    OK, what about this blog thing?
    Think its safe?

41. #41 by Mr Smith on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 7:34 pm

Abdullah, Najib as well as Umno, MCA, Gerakan and MIC leaders have not learnt the lessons of the March 8 “political tsunami”…kit

And also the Media, ACA, EC, and the Police.

If they cannot learn from the 308 GE drumming what makes you think they will learn from the humiliation of 268 by election?
    Hey, the 8 is a lucky number!

42. #42 by lkt-56 on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 7:34 pm

Hi,
    Just type the IP address and you can still access. The internet is pretty difficult to censor, that much my limited knowledge tells me. Honestly I am not too concerned for this action only makes the force to change grow even even greater?

43. #43 by Mr Smith on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 7:39 pm

Malaysiakini just reported

“Malaysia Today Blocked. The government’s cyber watchdog says it has ordered ISPs to pull the plug on the controversial website.”

44. #44 by just a moment on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 7:39 pm

Lets hope for the best ya?
    This is the ONLY avenue we have
    in voicing our ‘existance’.
    C’mon PKR, looks like more hard work are
    needed to ensure this change takes place
    and its time sensitive too.

45. #45 by Mr Smith on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 7:40 pm

But you can still go here:

http://mt.harapanmalaysia.com/2008/

46. #46 by cinta Malaysia on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 7:49 pm

Kit,
    It looks like the Malaysian government is throwing another 4 billion of the Rakyat ‘s money on the broadband when nobody have access to the internet!Is this just a furtherance of their greed?

47. #47 by peterchiang on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 7:52 pm

They can only succeed in blocking access to an internet site if they vacuume away the brain of surfers. How many addresses are they gonna block, for how long and by how many ISPs?

48. #48 by just a moment on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 7:55 pm

Thanks Mr Smith, thats good too.
    You know, just pondering how
    similar we are with US today (challenges)
    taken from Time report: (Malaysia context)

“The race for the future is on,” keynote speaker (DSAI) Mark Warner of Virginia said in an otherwise generally flat performance. “John McCain (BN) promises more of the past. America (Malaysia) has never been afraid of the future and we shouldn’t start now.”
    Bizarre isn’t it?

49. #49 by just a moment on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 7:58 pm

Ops! should read – we should start now!”

50. #50 by bennylohstocks on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 8:09 pm

51. #51 by I Malaysian on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 8:14 pm

It’s not that they did not learn YB, it is pure selfish interest of these BN leaders to protect themselves against one man who is capable of taking them head on.

52. #53 by StevePCH on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 8:40 pm

yeah … when you look at those comments on MT, then you will know that many Malays have very very bad preception towards BeEnd.

http://mt.harapanmalaysia.com/2008/content/view/11764/84/

No matter how you block , it will just come out from some other sites.

53. #54 by StevePCH on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 8:45 pm

it now not just racial politics. Many Malaysian are matured enough to know that. It more about CAT advocated by DAP, Justice and social by PKR, morality ( for Islam ) by PAS.
    All these factors goes against the practices by BeEnd somehow. If BeEnd can come out of their AIDS disease, they may still survive. Else, coming next GE, they will be eventually obliterated.

54. #55 by ALLAN THAM on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 8:48 pm

It is real foolish to block the Malaysian Today blog, as you really cann’t blog the internet. It will resurface from all over the world.

Also note that why there is demand on this blog simply there must certain real issues that have attracted the reader and the public. Never think those people who go to the blog are blind and stupid. They just can simply be fool by the bog if there are no substance on the blog news and postings.

On the other why the authorities are so afraid of Malaysia Today blog? They have try to get RPK and they did but they have no case against him so what is the issue then? The root is BN should clean up their house instead and wash all the shits that they have, that the best way to shut down MAlaysia Today.

55. #57 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 8:52 pm

The results of PP by-election is equivalent to a 8.0 earthquake after the March 8 tsunami!

56. #58 by NewMalaysia on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 9:00 pm

You should not pin point the BN’s wrong doing and review their weaknesses, just let them continuing making more mistakes, let them exposed more of their silly wrong doing, and let them get from bad to worst and to worst. After AI won the Permatang Pauh, most of the BN’s MPs are very very very worry now, wondering who are the 30 BN’s MPs going to tilt over the fence onto PR side, and they might want to do the same. If they don’t, they are going to have nightmares as long as when they go to sleep. PR well done, stay focus and give the hell to BN and give us the NEW MALAYSIA.

57. #59 by Mr Smith on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 9:02 pm

“Anwar Ibrahim – Malaysia’s most influential son”
    ===================================
    A country engulfed in 51 years of suspicion and distrust among the races. A country where one race proclaimed itself Supreme and the others as Inferiors. A county heading towards perdition and oblivion. A country being plundered.

Just then came the ‘Saviour’, Anwar Ibrahim to do the undoable – to unify the races into one people.

History is replete with examples how one man could altar the course of a nation or redeem it from destruction.

Malaysia needed just that one man who would be accepted by all as the ‘Unifier’ to could bring all the races to accept one another as brothers of The Malaysian Race.

“India anak aku, Cina anak aku, Melayu, Khadazan, Iban anak aku”, he thundered as he spoke to them. And the people applauded in agreement.

They believe him and the people of Permatang Pauh locked their arms and marched forth to the polling stations on August 26 2008 as one people to chose that one man who could save this divided nation.

No, they did not vote for an MP. They voted for the nation. They voted for their children’s future. They voted against an Evil regime!

Anwar has removed the racial blinkers, shackles and chains of the oppressed.

And they have entrusted their entire future and their children’s future in the hands of Anwar Ibrahim.

And now I call upon all Malaysians who love this country to back him all the way. Set aside your personal agendas, ideologies, preferences, differences and work for the common good of the nation.

And we shall prevail!

http://mrsmith2.blogspot.com

58. #60 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 9:11 pm

Look at MCA and Gerakan, they were supposed to be a little smarter than UMNO in BN, but now they appeared as stupid as UMNO. They also endorsed sodomy for the campaign, in addition to racism. It has been their only tool for the past few decades without any real idea. They will be buried together with UMNO.

The voice within UMNO stating that they have put in every resources (most money wasted) and dirtiest tactics, yet the outcome was worse than before, and the number of Arif Shah total counts was less than the UMNO members! UMNO has been rejected by the people.

The ruling of five states really ensured the people that Pakatan Rakyat can be the federal government without doubt. I am waiting for these great gentleman/women to appear in the government to lead Malaysia.

59. #61 by bolehlandor on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 9:19 pm

Subject: IS MALAYSIA HEADING THE WAY of INDONESIA

Indonesia is one of the world’s richest countries in terms of natural resources.

God has blessed Indonesiawith gold, uranium, copper, oil, timber, beaches, seas and other wealth. The land is fertile with abundant rain. Stick a twig into the ground and it grows into a tree.

Yet Indonesians sleep in the streets.

Food is expensive. The average Indonesian eats some rice, tempe, tauhu and may be some vegetables for breakfast, lunch and dinner everyday.

An average Nasi Padang meal for four persons in a single star Indonesian restaurant can cost RM60(160,000 Rupiah). This is way beyond the income of the average Joko or Ketut in Indonesia.

Why is this so ? The answer is because the ruling elites in Indonesiado not care about the people. They have pillaged the country.

They craft policies that only serve to keep the elites in power and wealthly. The same thing is happening in M’sia.

There are also millions of Indonesians who go to school and university but do not learn skills that can help them survive in the real world. They are very poor in European languages like English or Dutch. All their education is in Indonesian. So they cannot keep up with the latest developments and technologies. They cannot compete. They remain poor.

The children of the elites are sent overseas for their education. An average Indonesian university graduate cannot bring world class skills to his employers. He or she therefore earns a pittance. This is happening in Malaysia. Bumiputra university graduates only strike it rich if they get Government jobs where they do not do much work but earn a good salary with a pension. In the private sector they may not get a job or earn only a pittance.

That is why 100,000 graduates remain unemployed in Malaysia.

Bumiputra university graduates are turning up for interviews as taxi drivers and shop assistants. What about those who flunk out after SPM ? They become Mat Rempits (Motorcycle Racers). Last Saturday I saw another Mat Rempit get killed at the road races in Shah Alam (near Section 7).

In Malaysia, just like in Indonesia, food is getting very expensive. But the wages and salaries of the people, especially the Malays, is not keeping up with the increase in prices. Instead of developing the competitive ability of the people, the Government has been using the failed NEP to provide subsidies and dish out money on a plate.

Everything is subsidised, even cooking oil, flour, rice, sugar, fuel, etc.

The Government has been providing these subsidies so that the people will keep voting for the ruling party. So it has never been to the Government’s advantage to make the Malays independent. A Malay who is independent of the Government may not vote for the BN. It is therefore better to keep feeding with subsidies.. So, for the past 50 years, everything has been subsidised.

But now with 27million people in the country of which more than half are Malays, subsidies are getting more expensive. There is also much much more thievery and wastage by the elites in Malaysia .

But there is no bottomless ‘well’ full of money.

Everything has its limits.

The money will soon run out. Without the subsidies for cooking oil, sugar, flour and petrol, how are the people, especially the Malays, going to survive ? Already university graduates cannot find jobs or compete in the private sector. What happens when the oil money runs out ? What happens when (not if, but when) the Government cannot simply spend billions of oil money to sustain its voting base any longer? That is when we may see people sleeping in the streets, just like in Indonesia . If that happens this country will go up in flames. We will all be consumed.

In Indonesia , the Government has not mobilised its hundreds of millions of people (over
    250 million Indonesians) with the competitive skills to grow enough food for themselves. Hence food is expensive. They do not even have simple survival skills like coming to work on time, organising themselves to do simple tasks, maintaining good hygiene and cleanliness and so on. They are poorly read and not informed about many things that are going on around the world. Their Government has failed in all these aspects. Hence the average Indonesian remains poor.

The same thing has happened in Malaysia . Our young people, especially the Malays, do not possess basic survival skills. We are not talking about competitive skills but just basic survival skills. The Government is not serious about giving them useful competitive skills either.

The Mat Rempits are being glorified by the politicians as saviours of the nation (Mat Cemerlang). Correction. they are drug users, gang rapists, snatch thieves and street fighters.

When an efficient Policewoman called Nooriyah Anvar was appointed Chief of Traffic Police she went after the Mat Rempits with a vengeance. Does anyone remember her ? She confiscated their bikes on the spot. But soon the Mat Rempits called their political muscle and Nooriyah Anvar was kicked out. To date she holds the record of being the shortest serving Traffic Police Chief in Malaysia . She has been replaced by Senior Asst Comm (II) Datuk Hamza Taib.

So the Government is not serious about improving the position of the Malays..

It serves the Barisan Nasional Government to keep the Malays down and out. Then the Malays can go to the Government for crumbs. This way the ruling elites get to keep the whole loaf to themselves. Go and visit Indonesia . This is what is happening over there. It is happening over here too.
    Does Malaysia have a problem ? yes the Malays are not happy, the Chinese are not happy and the Indians are not happy.

They spoke out at the March 2008 polls and hope things will change for the better, now they have some oppositions who promised change.

The Malays are being duped by their corrupted leaders by using the religion, the Chinese and Indians are being marginalised by the ruling elites.

Let us all Malaysians wake up and fight the corrupt system for the benefit of everyone. Let us all unite and stand together and change the system for once and for all.

We are not Malays, Chinese or Indians, we are Malaysians.

Malaysians May End Up Sleeping in the Street. We desperately need Pakatan Rakyat to save our beloved nation ….now!

60. #62 by cinta Malaysia on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 9:21 pm

Michael Ng,
    you must be totally blind what is happening around you.May be you just been released fromTanjong Rambutan, a mental pervert.
    You have the odium to refer us in Sabah and Sarawak as dogs taking only scraps from people like you who has this disgusting colonialist mentality!
    Tell you what,get your backside greased and come over to Sabah and Sarawak and see what dogs can do on you!!

61. #63 by haris01 on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 9:24 pm

agree with MR.SMITH….
    anwar have unite all parties/all race into one.
    zam have something bad to say about anwar…
    perhaps zam do need to drink some of the bn urine’s to get to the right track….

62. #64 by ahluck on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 9:31 pm

The whole nation can support Anwar to be PM but what power the people has over Agung and Sultan. Agung can over rule people’s vote. Malaysia is for all race. As long as Agung and Sultans are there, Ketuanan Melayu is there. so how ah?

63. #65 by fjjs on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 9:31 pm

I really don’t know why these leaders of BN are still so arrogant after their disastrous losses during the March 8th GE and the latest battle in Permatang Pauh. What the BN leaders should do is to admit defeat and be ready to implement reforms that can benefit the rakyat to gain back confidence and support from the people. When will they ever learn?

64. #66 by badak on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 9:36 pm

PAS youth want to blocked AVRIL LAVIGNE concert.Why must PAS be the MORAL GUARDIAN of MALAYSIAN.If PAS members can,t control their lust by seeing a beautiful girl perform .Then just stay home.
    How dare PAS, push their muslim principles on non MUSLIM in MALAYSIA .LAVIGNE is one of the most talented singers to come to our shores.She writes her own songs,She don,t take drugs. Had PAS members seen any of her concerts.
    Next we will hear PAS demostrating at every 4D outlets.Burning down all pub and night clubs.
    If this the way PAS behave ,then just get out from PR and join BN.Come the next GE PAS like UMNO will be kick out by all right thinking MALAYSIANS.

65. #67 by chin on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 9:44 pm

Yeah ! Mr.Smith, India anak aku, cina anak aku, melayu anak aku, kadazan, iban dll. Thats should be the mission statement for PR.

66. #68 by Damocles on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 9:57 pm

“Why is it so difficult carry out No confidence against the PM/BN?” – Diel

Diel, you’re right.
    The no confidence vote is an escape clause for the electorate to dump the government that has not lived up to expectations.
    This should be a priority project on the list of “To Dos” on the agenda of the PR.

67. #69 by Damocles on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 10:02 pm

“I really don’t know why these leaders of BN are still so arrogant after their disastrous losses during the March 8th GE and the latest battle in Permatang Pauh. What the BN leaders should do is to admit defeat and be ready to implement reforms that can benefit the rakyat to gain back confidence and support from the people. When will they ever learn?” – fjjs

Why should they learn?
    For decades, they have been riding rough-shod over the people of this country. WITH THEIR CONSENT!!
    Otherwise, how will you explain the landslide mandates this government has managed to obtained in most general elections?
    And the worst government has the biggest mandate in our electoral history!

68. #70 by riversandlakes on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 10:08 pm

Well said, Uncle Lim!

69. #71 by riversandlakes on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 10:13 pm

Shut up, zak_hammaad. You’re not welcome in this blog – free speech or not. We’re free to heckle you that is.

Snake – as much as Old Man Ma or What Lah or Barang Naik government? Anwar shows much promise as a leader when he was rolled over with the sodomy bus by Old Man Ma.

Go away, zak_hammaad. What a lamer.

70. #72 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 10:15 pm

It is not surprising that 50 years of pent-up dissatisfaction ends up with a tsunami; like the actual sea tsunami that is caused by a build up of energy somewhere in the sea and it hits the nearest beaches. It will happen and it happened yesterday. Tomorrow Datuk Anwar will swear in as a member of the Parliament and he has to continue on his political journey which was abruptly ended some few years back. He has to fulfill his destiny, same like all of us who have our own destinies too. If Barisan Nasional has not learned a thing, then the people should come to their conclusions regarding what sort of a party BN is. If our judicial system needs to be repaired, then the general Malaysian population is the judge for the time being and a better judge too.

71. #73 by unsatisfied on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 10:18 pm

we all owed pematang pauh voters, they did a great job in defeating BN. However, the arrogant BN had started to work against bloggers, Malaysia-today was officially blocked by the BN!!!!

72. #74 by kwmark on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 10:26 pm

Today at 20: 32.11 (56 minutes ago)
    Michael Ng ,
    I quote two of your sentences:
    “However, should some BN dogs from either Sarawak or Sabah decides to jump ship,
    “I personally feel these type of politicians have no principles and they should not be part of the Pakatan Rakyat”

I assumme PR would take in only capable and clean former BN MPs into its fold.I certainly would want to see capable leaders from BN to serve in PR’s Goverment. Jumping parties for the sake of the rakyat sincerely,why not?right?We voted them for party or for us,the rakyat???

There are many capable leaders from current and former BN such as Muhiyddin , Chew Mei Fen , Lim Ah Lek , Mukhriz , Zaid , Lim Boo Chang , Dr Toh , ex-MIC VP Subra , Ng Yen Yen , Michael Chong , Yong Teck Lee etc..

My salute to you ,sirs (LKS & Karpal & LGE )

Terima kasih

73. #77 by kutlakut on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 10:31 pm

Ahluck said: The whole nation can support Anwar to be PM but what power the people has over Agung and Sultan. Agung can over rule people’s vote. Malaysia is for all race. As long as Agung and Sultans are there, Ketuanan Melayu is there. so how ah?
    Ahluck, you don’t seem to understand what the issue is with ketuanan Melayu.

It is the BN’s policy of Making The Malay Person the superior over other races! The Sultan shall always be our tuan for he is the Sultan. Period. The rich man who pays the bill is the tuan of the people who are invited to his dinner party. There are superior men over you everywhere in the world.

We are against the fraud of Malay interest for the sake that he is a Malay. I hope you can see the nuance of ketuanan Malaya. A Malay menial worker cannot be your tuan for example – but BN policy is that this person’s interest overide your legitimate rights because he is Malay and you are not.

Friend, a large number of educated Malays disavow this fraud. It is BN’s ploy of gaining the support of unqualified Malays who don’t deserve certain things to support UMNO for the special priviledges!

74. #78 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 10:37 pm

Anwar’s triumph in the PP by-election showed that the people of PP wanted practicalities, i.e. food on the table, a roof over their heads and a good education. They had no interest for sexual innuendos and no time to pry into private lives of leaders. Najib’s most immoral, divisive and racist election campaign was totally irrelevant to the people of PP. His campaign merely exposed what kind of leader he is!

MCA, Gerakan and MIC are only “office boys” of UMNO – how you expect an office boy to have a “say” in an organization?

75. #79 by imranj78 on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 10:40 pm

Cookie Monster / ahluck,
    Do you seriously think the Malays would allow the Malay sultanate institution to be disbanded? As much as many Malays want to embrace the `Malaysian’ concept, any such talk would cause DAP and PR to loose the goodwill and support of many Malays. Besides, I strongly doubt PKR and PAS would support any such idea anyway as it is political suicide.

76. #81 by hadi on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 10:52 pm

I think Mr. Bean can do a better job and more creative than Najib the goons. Sorry YB Kit, much of the Permatang Pauh euphoria, I still believe the Merdeka celebration should be on September 16, One dream for One nation and “We the people” and not “We the favored few”. Have funs and good rest.

77. #83 by hiro on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 11:22 pm

Here’s looking at the bright side.

Anwar will be sworn in Thursday. DNA Bill passes 2nd reading and a vote is called for it to pass in Parliament as an Act. BN fails to get the numbers to pass the Act. That’s a vote of no confidence :)

78. #85 by For Malaysia on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 11:25 pm

Ahluck you need not worry about KeSultanan Melayu. How much have they affected us? It has always been “upon advise from the Prime Minister” thing before a royal consent is given. So what can you conclude here? Look at the process of Bill before it becomes a law of the land. After reading at the Lower House, it is passed to the Upper House. Upper House cannot amend. They can, however, “recommend” or “suggest” for some amendment to be made. Then it is passed to the YDPA for Royal Consent. After 30(60?) days, even if YDPA doesnt’ gives his consent, it automatically becomes Law. We don’t have to become republic. Our Monarch is that of Constitutional Monarchy unlike in some other countries. What we really need is for the three most powerful agencies be properly administered and monitored. The Police and the ACA should not be under the purview of the Home Ministry and the Prime Minister’s Office respectively. They should be put under a Select Committee comprising of the government, the opposition, the NGOs and other bodies deemed necessary. And the law-making process should also be put under a Select Committee too before it is passed to the YDPA for Royal Consent for a simple reason that if a law is proposed by the government side, then the proposed law will become law no matter how ridiculous or pompous it will be, because the majority will vote for it. That way I believe we, Malaysians, will be protected of our rights from ill treatment by the Police, ACA and any unfavourable laws.I am a Malay who has voted for change. But I still believe the Sultanate Institution should and must be maintained no matter who becomes the government.

79. #86 by Malaysian Mummy on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 11:27 pm

Hello ! The Sandiwara in Permatang Pauh by election was over now // The result showed Dato Seri Anwar and the People Power WON !

All BN leaders and Arif went missing in actions to cover their shameful graceful defeat and speechless.

Tomorrow is a D-Day for DSAI to swear and takes his oath in Parliament and to act as an Opposition Leader.

Two main questions raised by all Bangsa Malaysians:-

(A) Will DSAI keeps his words and promises to take over the Federal Government before September 16, 2008 ? BN is challenging DSAI and Pakatan Rakyat to proof it.

(B) Will DSAI challenges and scrutinise the Budget 2009 and he questions Pak Lah since he is holding a Minister of Finance post? It is a Hot Topic on Friday Debate for the Budget 2009 to bring down the inflation and petrol / diesel prices.

Malaysians want concrete positive answers from DSAI coming weeks before D-DAY Sept 16 Reformasi ! Merdeka ! Merdeka ! Merdeka ! BE END RULES ARE OVER SOON !

It is time PAKATAN RAKYAT takes over.

MALAYSIANS OF ALL RACES RESPECT SULTANS IN MALAYSIA. PLEASE AVOID SENSITIVE ISSUES BY IRRESPONSIBLE BLOGGERS IN THIS LKS BLOG. THANKS !

HIDUP BANGSA MALAYSIA.

80. #87 by milduser on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 11:31 pm

The next logical move is the anticipated “jump” of the 30 odds MP (hopefully they are the good guys) to PR. My assessment is that it may bear fruit. Why? Because its the fast path to reforms for those who sincerely want reforms, whether in BN or PR. But being a sensitive issues for MPs in their present coalition, the plan has to be secretly executed, eventhough publicly announced. Thus far there is little leakage, except for SAPP MPs, which I believe is for testing the water purposes, just like the no confidence motion. I think the MPs who are ready to “jump” ship are waiting for the cue from DSAI. It has to be done in a lightning strike manner. Otherwise, it will definitely fail. So watch out guys for the next drama to unfold so that DSAI can make good his promise to bring down BN come 169.

81. #88 by parameswara on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 11:48 pm

Cookie Monster Says:

“i suggest once dsai comes to power , he change malaysia into “republic of malaysia” then all eleven states sultan and national king will have to vacate their throne.”

================================

ketuanan melayu is a concept that has weakened the competitive edge of the Malays as a whole.

it breeds corruption, and benefitted only a few.

it should be rejected, and replaced by a fairer policy for all Malaysian with citizenship papers to prove.

however, the Sultans are keepers of the Malay heritage and tradition.

the aim is to reject ketuanan melayu which is an umno concept, and not reject Malay heritage and tradition.

I suggest, don’t ever bring up such a topic on the monarchy, don’t even think about it. There must be a limit to what we can comment.

82. #89 by Malar on Wednesday, 27 August 2008 - 11:51 pm

I am so happy and would like to see DSAI taking the oath but only worried the UMNO morons would come up with some …..mee problems. What happened to Samy value’s people who went door to door campaigning. Wake up MIC, Wake up. But sad to say, even if you wake up, it is too late becos indians have dumped you long ago. Still you have a chance i.e. join PR.

83. #90 by pangwl88 on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 12:01 am

WHEN ARE YOU GUYS COMING TO SABAH???

THAT GUY WHO GOT CAUGHT IN HONG KONG WITH THE 16 MILLION IS NOW DRIVING HIS LOBOGINI AROUND TOWN …. FREE LIVING… HOW COULD THIS HAPPENED?

THE COALED FIRED POWER PLANT, WHICH IS REJECTED BY THE SANDAKAN PEOPLE, HAS ALREADY BEEN BOUGHT FROM CHINA, BUT, WE DON’T HAVE COAL RESOURCES IN SABAH……., WE HAVE TO BUY FROM INDONESIA, AND WHO DO YOU THINK GOT THE ONLY LICENSE TO IMPORT COAL FROM INDONESIA??? YES, ANOTHER MONOPOLISED GOVERNMENT CONTRACT….ONLY TO THOSE FEW …. PROXIES…. BLOOD SUCKERS OF SABAHAN’S TAX MONEY…..OH… AND WHO HAS THE ONLY LICENSE TO EXPORT SCRAP METAL FROM SABAH???

WE HAVE A LOT OF RESOURCES HERE…..BUT WE ARE ONE OF THE POOREST (THE 2ND POOREST???) STATE IN MALAYSIA???

THE TOURISTS DONT BELIEVE ME WHEN I TOLD THEM SO…. HOW SAD…

SO…… WHEN CAN YOU GUYS COMING OVER TO SORT THINGS OUT??

84. #91 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 12:07 am

Why has KuLi and his supporters not launched a coup to purge UMNO of its reactionary elements? What is he waiting for? What are they all waiting for?? Why are they stalling??

85. #92 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 12:09 am

Waiting for the Party’s General Assembly??

86. #93 by lkt-56 on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 12:10 am

Some posed the ethical question of cross overs by BN MP’s. This is a polar world. There is evil there is goodness… even different degree of evils and goodness. This is reality and we have no choice but to accept it.

At the moment it would appear that cross overs would be the short cut to realisation of PKR’s objective of taking control of the government. To reject cross over on moral grounds would mean perhaps prolonging the sufferings of the reform minded Malaysians. Faced with this reality, we have to look at the relative degree of evil in these two choices.

What’s your choice folks? I have made up my mind… ;)

87. #94 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 12:21 am

Guys,

Zak_hahamad has had his fifteen minutes of fame and this blog is fast turning into exchanges between this ‘coconut head’ to borrow the term used by limkamput, and the rest – rather than opinions about the issues raised by YB Kit.

It is time you guys show some respect to the host of this blog!

It used to be Kasian Amat. But he is busy making arrangements to leave the country to go to Canada now that Anwar has won the election!

88. #95 by kutlakut on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 12:21 am

For Malaysia wrote: I am a Malay who has voted for change. But I still believe the Sultanate Institution should and must be maintained no matter who becomes the government. *****************

Not just you or the Malays, we all support the respect and continuation of the Sultanate – no question at that.

My personal view, and one that must be shared by all Malaysians, is the acceptance of the Sultanate without any attempt to modificaton, and if one is not happy with that I suggest that he migrate to another place.

That said, let us not forget that it was Mahathir that reduced the Agong to a mere puppet. It was Mahathir who showed disrespect for the sultans and the Malays could not undo this anormaly.

Malay characteristics of this country must not the undermined or diluted.

I am afraid that many still cannot see the nuance of a Malay characteristic Malaysia Is Not Racial Discrimination. Yet there is still racial divversity

China Has Chinese Characteristisc, India has Indian characteristics, and Malaysia Must Have Malay characteristics.

Yet there is room for personal cultural rights

89. #96 by sirrganass on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 12:30 am

Let’s celebrate this MERDEKA DAY. Malaysia will be different with DAP/PKR and PAS ruling this country. But 5 yras is too short for us, don’t easily get dissappointed if we can’t perform well within the next 5 years. DSAI can’t do everything within a short period. All members in PR must be patient and adjust/tune yourself to each other as careful as we can. We have many more years to go to finally achieve the REAL MALAYSIA. Is 10 yrs enough?

90. #97 by sirrganass on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 12:34 am

Pls change the future from “racial” (Malay, Chinese, Indian) to Muslim and Non Muslim only. DON’T count the races again. You want it to be malaysian? Ok, drop all the talk about race from today. Can?

91. #98 by parameswara on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 12:37 am

KuLi let out the clarion call, and is waiting for a ground swell to come to his cause. However, it is not coming to him strongly as he expected, to give that decisive knock-out punch.

Therefore he must wait a little for the members to boil while he adds fire.

i think there is much fracture, and much self interest within umno, which makes it difficult for any one to gain the quantum support in a short time.

92. #99 by just a moment on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 12:38 am

Warm greeting Udergrad2:
    Why BN is stalling is perhaps, they had just got another TKO!!
    Those blinking cows may have to take time to recover.
    Do not assume they have empty their ammunitions, think you’ll agree.

One other thing, Just ignore this Zak ‘thing’.
    Sent him to a corner, let him think for himself
    ‘Quarantine?, Like what you do with unknown ‘viruses?’
    He just craft for attention, thats all, lonely pest, poor thing.

Ikt-56, you sum it all up. My minds made up too.
    The objective is still the same. Get the numbers first
    and form a new Goment. The rest of issues can be address
    ‘Internally’ without the “trouble makers” around.

93. #100 by trublumsian on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 12:47 am

leave the royals. they’re symbolic and are links to the history of malaysia. as an entity, they do much better in the integrity department than sorry asss umno. tdm single handedly changed the face of malaysia and it is what it is today. rather than undoing it, it’s best for the next gen leaders to take that n run the best w/ it. bn as we know it today is an extension tdm and it’s taking the rakyat down the path to oblivion.

94. #101 by trublumsian on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 12:52 am

now that anwar has a set of keys to the parliament, i hope pr will start doing things for the rakyat. politicking will happen, but please multitask. walk the walk so zak hammy can shut up.

95. #102 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 12:53 am

Correct and True… we should have no question and doubt for OUR Sultanate in this country, “Daulat Tuanku”.

To be remind, this is a fight of democracy and liberation as a Nation, we should Unite at all cost. As our ancestors fought and die for this land for hundreds of years ago, regardless of our race or religion.

Peace and Goodnight.

96. #103 by limkamput on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 1:07 am

I have ignored this zak for a long time, only occasionally called him coconut head. Only the stupid among us will continue to debate with him. He is crafty; those who debate endlessly with him are stupid. If we ignore him completely, he will not come here again, trust me.

97. #104 by limkamput on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 1:10 am

Cookie Monster Says: i suggest once dsai comes to power , he change malaysia into “republic of malaysia” then all eleven states sultan and national king will have to vacate their throne .

Moderator,
    You are not doing your job! I think what cookie monster said was seditious.

98. #105 by sirrganass on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 2:01 am

LKS: //It is particularly significant as Malays form 69% of the electorate (41,000) with a good mix of Chinese and other races. This is particulary galling to UMNO to see that their traditional Malay ground has rejected their policy of ketuanan melayu, corruption and cronysm.//

The defeat of UMNO is because the Malays themselves has rejected UMNO. Majority of the voters in PP are the Malays. The chinese and indians can only “TUMPANG” – a very small percentage only. Did you people say that you want ANWAR? Did you all (Chinese/Indians) say that you can’t accept UMNO and all its racial concept?

Well! The 69% of Malays themselves has rejected UMNO and the racial-based party. So, can you all be thankful to the Malays? YOU MUST SAY THANK YOU TO ALL THE MALAY IN PERMATANG PAUH – They have given you what you have been wanting all this while, ok? Say “thanks” pls! Don’t forget all those Malay in PP, they did it for you.

99. #106 by AhPek on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 2:24 am

In spite of the full weight of government machinery employed against him together with the dirtiest campaign tactics thrown at him,Anwar Ibrahim not only win but win will a majority even larger than the wife’s signifying the arrival of the Malaysian Generation X into the political scene.Generation X does not carry the baggage of the earlier generation and YB you should be shrewd enough to capitalise on this fully to effect change that is so necessary for Malaysia to turn around the pit she has fallen into thro corruption and mismanagement of the present government.
    Yes indeed,YB, there is definitely a reason to celebrate this 51st Merdeka Day and what have your Pakatan controlled states planned for this occasion?

100. #107 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 2:47 am

“Moderator,
    You are not doing your job! I think what cookie monster said was seditious.” limkamput

It’s called sleeping on the job.

101. #108 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 2:54 am

“…it was Mahathir that reduced the Agong to a mere puppet. It was Mahathir who showed disrespect for the sultans and the Malays ..” kutlakut

What that mamak did was to stop one of them from hitting his caddy on the head. You call that respect for the caddy.

102. #109 by pjboy on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 3:25 am

PP-44 b-e shows that we are all UNITED as MALAYSIANS. It’s BN-UMNO-Baru that do not want to see this happening. Too late for BN-UMNO-Baru.

This 51st Merdeka will be known as NEW MALAYSIA MERDEKA FOR MALAYSIANS!

Big salute to all PP voters out there. Even if it was not a public holiday, the turnout will be just as great. I heard some people were even willing to lose their pay for that day just to cast their vote to make a point. That’s how powerful it is & how much it means to these simple folks. The government has taken the rakyat for granted for too long.

It’s time to make Malaysia rock!

103. #110 by monsterball on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 3:43 am

UMNO and BN cannot change.
    Don’t expect miracles from one who succeeded for 52 years …playing race and religion politics to become….. just the opposite.
    It is like telling a real crooked person to be a good…totally impossible.
    And in the course of these 52 years…UMNO thinks they own the country and the people. They do as they like…like dictators…big ans small….how to change to be simple?
    So they must stay together to fight it out.
    It’s like a warfare…the crooks are loosing…….so they stick together…as they still holds the ruling power.
    But the mighty mighty Malaysians force ..who put them into power will be the one…to take back the power …next general election…if Anwar cannot do it in politics.
    But Anwar is confident to do so on 16th Sept. He has the Malaysians support to be PM.

104. #111 by trublumsian on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 3:57 am

digress a little –

speaking of mamakthir, in a previous posting by bakri musa he extolled the stance taken my tdm during the 97′ crisis in turning the country around. i say if that is the only compliment one can throw at tdm, that’s one too many. 11 years is enough to see the long term effects of economic policies. just look at the countries that got bailed by the imf, i.e. south korea. the turnarounds took time but was worth it. the reason tdm was in ur face to the imf was that had the conditions set would expose all the dirty laundry tdm has. he just got lucky. and transparency would have killed him.

105. #112 by kanthanboy on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 4:26 am

//i suggest once dsai comes to power , he change malaysia into “republic of malaysia” then all eleven states sultan and national king will have to vacate their throne .//

Suggestion of changing Malaysia into a republic is very hurtful to the Malays and is not helpful for DSAI and Pakatan in uniting all races to establish a government on the foundation of justice, fairness and respect for all races. Constitutional Monarchy is not a stumbling block to true democracy. True democratic countries like UK, Canada, Australia, Denmark and Holland have Queens and Kings as their heads of state

106. #113 by vsp on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 5:21 am

UMNO will not change. It is in terminal decline and the only cure is for it to be put to death. I believe that if DSAI were to become prime minister and still remained in UMNO he will not be able to effect any changes because UMNO will swallow him whole! Just look at Badawi and you will know what I mean

107. #114 by isahbiazhar on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 5:26 am

UMNO/BN will never learn.They have to be completely taken out of the scene.They still cling to the last straw.The UMNO/BN parties should dissolve and quickly join PKR to form the nation we want.If they hesitate they will be ridiculed and they have to leave the country as said by Mahathir.The people had changed for the good.UMNO/BN coalition does not understand what the needs of the rakyat.They knew about their needs.People’s power had now strengthened.Any leader who go against the norm will be weeded out.It is a good sign for the country.Annuar should lead with care and caution and should not be drunk with power and start making mistakes like UMNO.History often repeats.We would see the demise of UMNO/BN soon.

108. #115 by bumi-non-malay on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 6:11 am

Yes everything said can be seditious…….that law like ISA needs to be ABOLISHED too. How can Freedom of press operate with seditious law??

We can however say Federal Territory should be abolish and return back to respective state & Sultan….that is saying we support the Sultan and stop trying to Replace FT with Singapore.

That is the brain washing going on …..we have 13 states…..UMNO Ultra racist malay trying to cover up History…what for?? what benefit?….face the facts and deal with it……UMNO-BN will need to get use to this mantra…..50 years of Racism is enough!!

109. #116 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 7:21 am

YB Kit,

Sorry off topic : Hope you can raise at earliest convenient time (even in Parliament) the issue of Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC) ordering all internet service providers (ISPs) to block controversial online portal Malaysia Today.

“It is being blocked because we found that some of the comments on the website were insensitive, bordering on incitement,” MCMC chief operating officer Mohamed Sharil Tarmizi told Malaysiakini.

The government has a plethora of laws against Internet abuse and it has already brought sedition and criminal intimidation charges against website owner RPK so why the censorship?

Under point 7 of the Multimedia Super Corridor (MSC) Malaysia 10 Point Bill of Guarantees to the international community, the government promises to ensure no internet censorship.

Here government does the censorship ‘indirectly’ by invoking Section 263 of the Communications and Multimedia Act (1998) by pressuring license holders (such as ISPs) to take action against service user like Malaysia Today alleged to be contravening national laws. (Under of the Act, a licensee must “use his best endeavour” to prevent his/her facilities from being used to violate any law in the country”).

If they can block Malaysia Today they can block other blogs like this one too.

As mainstream media is controlled and used as a propaganda machine, the Internet is the last bastion of free speech and source of truths (as well as untruths) though it is up to readers to sift and separate wheat from chaff.

Please remind them on implications of breaching an international guarantee like MSC Bill of Guarantee and its effects on MSC, investments and gfenerally government’s credibility in the international arena.

110. #117 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 7:58 am

Those politicians in BN who are good and have a heart to serve the people, it is time to leave BN. Pakatan Rakyat has to screen all those who want to move and reject the rotten ones.

111. #118 by Anba on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 8:22 am

Uncle Lim,
    I’m hopeful with Anwar Ibrahim but very cautious. Here are my questions:

1. This so called Pakatan, what is the breakdown of the diferent race in this party?

2. So far, have Anwar met with any other BN coalition party to discuss what he will do to eliminate or reduce the discrimination done by BN?

3. Is there any written memorandum of understanding given by Anwar on what exactly he would do?

Can Jeff and Uncle Lim or any other explain this hidden issues?

God bless.
    Anba

112. #119 by Godfather on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 8:26 am

“I have ignored this zak for a long time, only occasionally called him coconut head. Only the stupid among us will continue to debate with him.” Limkamput

Oops, I engaged Zak in several exchanges in another thread yesterday. I must be stupid. Sorry.

113. #120 by trublumsian on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 8:26 am

not that i think the republic idea was worth debating, but having some jurisdiction within the state government is a form of checks and balances. so far we haven’t seen umno doing too much to wrestle what is at the state level. otherwise, pr winning 5 states would be a moot point.

114. #121 by trublumsian on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 8:30 am

i don’t agree with leaving zakky alone. he may be a nuthead, but having him here draws some of the best from you guys, and that’s an enjoyment.

115. #122 by limkamput on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 8:32 am

Jeffrey says: “As mainstream media is controlled and used as a propaganda machine, the Internet is the last bastion of free speech and source of truths (as well as untruths) though it is up to readers to sift and separate wheat from chaff.”

If internet is to remain the last bastion of free speech and source of truth, I believe the blog owners must exercise some discretion and block out materials that they knowingly know are untrue or lies. That is only way to ensure that the internet remains a credible source of news and truth. Otherwise internet users are just self destruct. To argue that it is up to the readers to discern the wheat from the chaff is a little farfetched. Not everyone is well-informed and not everyone is discerning. I support the internet be used to tell the truth (no matter how painful the truth is), but it should not be used to tell stories that can not be substantiated. If we have too many of such stories, a time will come when we ourselves may no longer believe what we read in the net.

116. #123 by trublumsian on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 8:36 am

anwar’s first 100 days must have a manifesto or some kind to show for. i suspect some bn folks sitting on the fence aren’t sure what to make of pr and anwar. time to go to work.

117. #124 by limkamput on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 8:36 am

Oops, I engaged Zak in several exchanges in another thread yesterday. I must be stupid. Sorry. godfather

My strong word is purposely intended to create attention. I think too many of us endlessly engage with him and he is enjoying every minute of it.

118. #125 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 8:43 am

The question here is who determines what is truth and what is lie?

The Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission? The ISP? The Government Minister?

119. #126 by taiking on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 8:45 am

Godfather,

Zak has dual nationality. He said it somewhere.

If malaysian is one of his two nationalities then he could be an illegal overstayer.

That is the problem with our country.

That is why the people decided to repeat the 308 GE message to UMNO in the recent by-election.

Everyone knew the 308 GE message.

It was very loud and very clear.

But obviously it has failed to penetrate some really thick skulls.

The fact that we have to send the first message is already bad for UMNO.

And that we have to repeat it again, is certainly a sign that UMNO is far too arrogant, is completely out of touch and is clearly unwilling to free itself from the tangled-mess of vested pecuniary interest.

Well what is good for them must be good for us.

120. #127 by oknyua on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 9:01 am

YB Lim KS, please take note and mention this MCMC’s ruling on websites critical on the many actions of the people from the ruling admnistration. The look of it, each time PR made one step forward, the current administration places another roadblock in front.

121. #128 by PHUAKL on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 9:01 am

Dear YB Lim and other progressive friends

What do you think of this scenario?

1. Crossovers lead to the fall of the BN regime
    2. PR forms new govt
    3. After a few months, PR calls for a snap General Election
    4. PR wins snap General Election by a super landslide
    and silences all those who question its moral authority to rule
    5. PR implements pro-people public policies
    6. A 2-party (2-coalition actually) political system emerges in
    Malaysia. This provides checks and balances and prevents a
    return to the bad old days.

Phua Kai Lit

122. #129 by limkamput on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 9:01 am

If you ask me, I don’t think I want to the MCMC or the Minister concerned to determine what constitute the truth. That is why I said the blog owners must exercise discretion. Of course one may come back and argue that the blog owners are telling the truth. So the issue here is: if the government or its agencies can be accused of biasness and abuse of power, so also are blog owners (more so those individuals have strong political inclination toward certain political party or agenda).

How do we assess the credibility of blog? I have my doubt if a blog keep churning out stories that can not be proven or substantiated.

123. #130 by oknyua on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 9:05 am

Please take Zak’s comment in positve note. If YB Lim KS’s blog can accomodate dissenting opinions, surely we are matured enough to accept differences among our midst. If we can’t take Zak’s comment, we are just like Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, the PM of only those he likes. We are not obligated to like each other, but surely we can listen (read).

Zak, continue to post, please.

124. #132 by SK2 on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 9:10 am

By trying to block Malaysia Today the government will give our dear Raja Petra more publicity that those that have never accessed the site will be curious to take a look. Anyway it can still be accessed at http://mt.harapanmalaysia.com

It is definitely the desperate act of an unpopular government to cling on to power at all costs. Instead of running the government, the parties in power is fighting fires here and there to stay in power.

Anyway, BN = Beginning of the End.

125. #133 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 9:10 am

Give them some credit. They know but they don’t know what to do. The problem really is after so many years, they don’t know how to change anymore. They did not plan for it.

Change does not come easy for political parties. At any time there are entrenched interest and the old way dies hard. If parties can reform that easily we would not really need liberal democracy ultimately.

The problems of UMNO/BN began long time ago and its going to take a long time to change as well as something external to push it through.

PR in Putrajaya is a favour to UMNO/BN if they are to survive in the long run..

126. #134 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 9:13 am

So is Malaysia Today ‘a blog keep churning out stories that can not be proven or substantiated’ deserving blockage of access as directed by Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission?

127. #135 by oknyua on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 9:13 am

YB Lim, today’s paper on Chua SL challenged for Ong TK to say “that” in front of UMNO – ie MCA would quit BN if UMNO continue with “Ketuanan Melayu” rhetoric. Permatang Pauh’s wave.

This is the second party, after Gerakan. Silent from MIC (May I Come) party.

128. #136 by SK2 on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 9:17 am

Thanks for the info ‘pangwl88’ on Sabah’s coal fire power station. No wonder the state government keep on insisting on coal power. The smiling face CM must have a stake in the construction of the coal fire power station and the monoploy on import of coal from Indonesia.

It just doesn’t make sense that we cannot tap on the electricity generated by Bakun dam or make use of the abundance of the natural gas off-shore of Labuan to generate electricity.

129. #137 by Toyol on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 9:36 am

MCA and MIC are already irrelevant. The more they keep quite about UMNO’s wrong doings, the faster they move into oblivion. Cannot understand BN coalition anymore. UMNO, MCA, Gerakan and MIC just doesn’t click. Don’t know why they can’t see themselves as lackeys of UMNO and has to beg for scraps just to survive. No principles at all.

130. #138 by lextcs on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 9:48 am

1. Apa yang telah dijangka sudah pun berlaku.

2. Anwar menang.

3. Barisan Nasional kalah.

4. Saya biasa menulis berkenaan dilema Melayu. Saya percaya dalam pilihanraya kecil Permatang Pauh ramai yang berada dalam keadaan serba salah. Bukan sahaja Melayu tetapi juga bukan Melayu.

5. Ramai pengundi tidak ingin undi bagi Dato Seri Anwar. Tetapi mereka juga tidak ingin undi Barisan Nasional. Calon Barisan Nasional baik tetapi kalau beliau menang maka Dato Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi akan dakwa yang dirinya menang, dakwa yang sokongan kepada Barisan Nasional iaitu pada dirinya sudah kembali, dakwa Barisan Nasional telah dipulih dibawah kepimpinannya.

6. Saya percaya dengan berat hati penyokong-penyokong Barisan Nasional telah undi PKR supaya Dato Seri Abdullah akan sedar yang kepimpinannya tidak dikehendaki lagi.

7. Wang yang banyak telah ditabur atau dijanji akan ditabur. Pekerja Barisan Nasional dibayar saguhati. Calon yang diletak sesuai juga. Apakah yang tidak kena dengan Barisan Nasional sehingga pengundi memberi kelebihan undi yang lebih banyak dari bulan Mac kepada Dato Anwar yang enggan bersumpah.

8. Mesej yang hendak dihantar oleh pengundi Melayu, Cina dan India menjadi sia-sia kerana Dato Seri Abdullah tidak ada telinga untuk mendengar, tidak ada mata untuk melihat.

9. Tetapi ahli UMNO daripada pemimpin lain UMNO perlu sedar dan faham mesej daripada pengundi Permatang Pauh. Sejak Mac 2008 sokongan kepada UMNO dan BN bukan pulih tetapi merosot.

10. Kamu boleh terus sokong Dato Seri Abdullah sebagai Presiden parti. Tetapi rakyat tidak akan sokong UMNO kerana UMNO sudah jadi alat Dato Seri Abdullah dan keluarganya. Apabila datang pilihanraya ketiga belas rakyat akan jatuhkan UMNO dan Barisan Nasional kerana hanya dengan cara ini sahaja rakyat akan dapat jatuhkan Dato Seri Abdullah.

11. Malang bagi UMNO dan Barisan Nasional. Tetapi kerana UMNO dan Barisan Nasional tidak sanggup bertindak, rakyat terpaksa bertindak.

12. Untuk pulihkan sokongan kepada UMNO dan Barisan Nasional, Dato Seri Abdullah perlu bertanggungjawab dan letak jawatan sekarang. Ini akan memberi masa empat tahun bagi pemimpin-pemimpin UMNO berusaha untuk menarik balik penyokong UMNO dan Barisan Nasional. Jika ditunggu hingga Jun 2010 masa yang tinggal untuk pemulihan hanyalah 2 tahun; terlalu pendek untuk kerja yang berat ini.

13. Pilihan bagi UMNO hanya dua. Setia kepada Dato Seri Abdullah dan kalah dalam Pilihanraya Umum ke 13 atau setia kepada UMNO lebih daripada setia kepada Dato Seri Abdullah dengan kemungkinan menang Pilihanraya Umum ke-13.

14. UMNO perlu ingat undi daripada ahli-ahli setianya sahaja tidak mencukupi untuk mendapat kemenangan. Untuk menang calon UMNO perlu undi orang bukan ahli parti dan orang Cina dan India. Dalam keadaan sekarang, dalam keadaan UMNO dan Kerajaan di pimpin oleh Dato Seri Abdullah tidak mungkin orang bukan daripada parti UMNO dan orang Cina dan India akan beri kemenangan kepada calon UMNO atau Barisan Nasional. Bahkan ahli-ahli UMNO yang kecewa dengan pimpinan Dato Seri Abdullah pun tidak akan undi UMNO dan Barisan Nasional.

15. Saya percaya akhbar dan TV arus perdana akan putar cerita pilihanraya kecil Permatang Pauh untuk menyedapkan hati pemimpin UMNO dan Dato Seri Abdullah. Justeru itu pemimpin, terutama Dato Seri Abdullah akan yakin yang dianya dikehendaki untuk pulih semula parti. Dan UMNO pun akan terus pilihnya dengan sebulat suara pada bulan Disember. Dan akan merosot lagilah UMNO dan Barisan Nasional.

16. Dengarlah, lihatlah apa yang dipertunjukkan oleh pengundi Permatang Pauh. Mereka tidak undi untuk Dato Seri Anwar dan PKR. Mereka undi untuk mengalahkankan Barisan Nasional dan UMNO.

17. Kelebihan undi bagi Dato Seri Anwar berbanding Mac 2008 tentulah kerana dalam jangka hanya lima bulan sokongan kepada BN dan UMNO merosot lagi.

18. Nak tunggu sampai bila wahai ahli UMNO, sebelum kamu sedar akan perlunya kepimpinan Dato Seri Abdullah ditamatkan?

131. #139 by Mr Smith on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 9:50 am

Going by MCMC’s logic almost half the blogs in this country can be blocked.
    For my part I have also blocked the MSM – the newspapers and the TV stations. You view them in my house.

132. #140 by Godfather on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 9:55 am

Zak might be here courtesy of Mamakthir’s “open-door” policy of the late 80s and 90s – opening the country’s door to Indonesians, Filipinos, Arabs, Pakistanis, Indians, Bangladeshis. Most of these immigrants, if not all of them, come from one faith.

I remember working with a major local company owned by a Mahathir crony (whom I shall not name) who was asked to hire a young Indian national. This young Indian national turned out to be a nephew of the EPU chief at the time, and I understand that this young man has now been given citizenship.

Dual citizenship not possible in Bolehland ? Think again. Everything in Bolehland also can kowtim if you have the right connections.

133. #141 by Godfather on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 9:57 am

Mr Smith, viewing the MSM in your house can’t possibly be defined as “blocking”.

134. #142 by oknyua on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 10:00 am

Jeffrey/Mr Smith,
    The strange thing, none had the courage to take RPK into the court of law. Instead they made use of the government rules and machineries to counter RPK. Say the case on Altantuya – who would have an interest to take RPK to court? Why didn’t they? Instead it’s the gov’t using sedition acts.

I am not totally “unconvinced” what he wrote have been the untruth otherwise, why should the gov’t be on the defensive?

On the same note, many issues raised by YB Lim here echoed what RPK highlighted. Don’t tell me YB Lim’s blog is the next target!!

135. #143 by Godfather on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 10:01 am

Those who are careless (or could not care less) about postings on the net should be made to account for their actions. We are a nation of laws, and the laws should prevail. If the government is incompetent or corrupt in terms of enforcement, then don’t blame others.

There are always excuses from the government of the day – not enough personnel, not enough judges – but the need for transparency must override everything else. As we grow, so will the maturity of the audience to be able to separate the wheat from the chaff.

136. #144 by boh-liao on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 10:15 am

Gerakan KTK said: Barisan’s defeat in the Permatang Pauh by-election is another wake-up call for the ruling coalition.

Umno AAB said: The loss suffered by the Barisan Nasional in the Permatang Pauh by-election should not be read as an emerging trend for other constituencies.

Bravo. Will AAB contemplate resigning his MP post and having a bye election in Kepala Batas?

137. #145 by StevePCH on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 10:27 am

BeEnd flying kite oredi …..

They “block” MSM by controlling it but can they block the handphones and gag voters ?

The current govt had successfully proved that they are incapable of governing properly in judiciary , economic and social terms .

Bye Bye BeEnd.

Welcome back to our Parliament after 10 years of absence.

138. #146 by boh-liao on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 10:28 am

Umno knows that “The pen is mightier than the sword”. It must control the MSM and it must be the source of information for the rakyat. The rakyat must not be too well educated. Pariah local public universities producing blinkered graduates who cannot think objectively and fairly and who must rely on the BN government for their living are fine, while the korek-korek Umnoputras send their children to be educated in international schools and foreign universities. That’s how BN remain in power – playing divide and rule racial politics and creating xenophobia among the different racial groups here.

That’s why BN must block Malaysia Today!

139. #147 by StevePCH on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 10:31 am

AAB forever having “AIDS” and will die with it without understanding why BeEnd was defeated on both occassions. 308 and 268

140. #148 by PSM on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 10:31 am

Bro Kit,

Wow…one day in the not to distant future, these PP Voters will be able to tell their Grandchildren that “they” were the ones who put DSAI back in Parliment & thus pave the way for a real “Bangsa Malaysia”! I bet you even those that voted for the BN would say they voted for DSAI!!!!!
    Congratulations PP. Yes, at least Malaysians now have “some” hope!
    Wishing all Malaysians a Happy, Peaceful & Blessed 51st Merdeka!

141. #149 by richard.wong8 on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 10:37 am

Looks like the “RAHMAN” will not happen after all!

R = Rahman.
    A = Abdul Razak.
    H = Hussein Onn.
    M = Mahathir>
    A = Abdullah Badawi.
    N = ??? Never going to be happen.

142. #150 by PSM on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 10:43 am

Guys,

This Zak_Hammad character says he is Caucasian. So either he is lying or he has been “bought” by the BN.
    Whatever the case may be, he should be allowed to post his “stupid/irrational” comments. Even if it’s just for us to remember that no matter what we believe in for Malaysia (i.e. Peace, Harmony, Bangsa Malaysia, Racial & Religious Freedom, Transperancy), you will always have “Satan & his minions” trying to wreck havoc!
    Go ahead Zak, say what you want BUT make sure you crawl back into the “Cess pool” you came out from & while you are at it…take some of the crooked, corrupted & evil BN politicians with you!

143. #151 by k1980 on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 10:45 am

Mykmu Net, a popular Web site for governing party members, published comments by readers who said they hoped Abdullah would be “quickly ousted” and that Abdullah’s “resignation will be the only way out.”
    http://www.iht.com/articles/2008/08/27/asia/malay.php

144. #152 by parameswara on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 10:47 am

R = Rahman
    A = Abdul Razak
    H = Hussein Onn
    M = Mahathir Mohamed
    A = Abdullah Badawi
    N = N-war Ibrahim

145. #153 by law1999 on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 10:49 am

New strategy from BN= Beginning coming to an eNd

They will SHUT DOWN:

1. Block RPK website.Coming NEXT SHUT DOWN all the INTERNET operators in TOWN.
    2. Shut down all the MEDIA
    3. SHUT down all the MOBILE operator.
    4. And many more to come……

So they will make sure everyone.
    SEE no EVIL
    HEAR no EVEL
    SAY no EVIL
    KNOW no EVIL

Everyone ONLY can hear the song from Beginning coming to an eNd from the DPM …….THE SMART MAN IN TOWN

146. #154 by Toyol on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 11:35 am

Stupid govt only wants the people to listen to their spin stories. They control the mainstream papers, TV stations, publications. They try to brainwash us with their propaganda. When the blogs started highlighting issues which hit them in the eye and they have no convincing answers, they want to censure it.

If govt want to block bloggers websites, then let us boycott the newspapers, starting with NST and STAR. Also boycott the local ISP’s like TMnet, Celcom, Maxis who agreed to block these websites. Lets take the battle to them.

147. #155 by Godfather on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 12:04 pm

“We are not in the business of cheating the people.” AAB, 2005

AAB is now the Opposition’s best friend. UMNO knows it, the whole world knows it, but AAB cannot be dislodged because of stupid provisions in the UMNO constitution put in by none other than Zak’s hero, Mamakthir.

148. #156 by Godfather on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 12:15 pm

Badawi and the 4th floor boys:

The people need justice. You reduced fuel prices by 5 pct to try to buy votes at PP. You gave RM 200 angpows to voters. You offered personal loans of up to RM 3,000. You used the mainstream press for your shameful aims. Still, you lost.

Now, we need justice. Electricity prices are up, food prices are up, raw material costs are up – and the people are hurting.

Saiful doesn’t need justice. He is living on the courtesy of taxpayers’ money in the guise of police protection. The ordinary people need justice in these extraordinary times.

Badawi: can you spell J U S T I C E ?

149. #157 by taiking on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 12:28 pm

About blocking the malaysia today site.

Its a big big mess UMNO has got itself into.

The two direct results of excessive control over the MSM are (1) the explosive growth of alternative media and (2) the refusal by the people to accept or believe what the MSM reports. In fact the public now pays more attention to the alternative media and view the MSM with scepticism.

And instead of relaxing the MSM so as to bring the situation back to some form of normality in terms of information flow, they decided to clam further. They saw it fit to target the alternative media.

And so the mess spirals further and that would definitely bring UMNO into a bigger mess. Two strong messages were sent – GE308 and PP826. Still UMNO refuse to listen and relent.

Of course, misreporting and wrong reporting are definitely not acceptable. For it would be unfair to the person who is the subject of the wrong or mis reporting. No one can deny this. In fact no one would.

But the human mind needs feeding. We are borned with a curious disposition for infomation. What would happen if the alternative media is blocked? The public’s scepticism vis-a-vis MSM will not vanish for sure. And in the absence of the alternative media, the third medium would come into play. Rumours. And that is worse.

The MSM must be free to report and to tell readers the true story, or at least it must not present one-sided stories all the time. The MSM must regain the confidence and trust of readers. UMNO must act accordingly to make sure this happens.

The public would then be equipped to determine the worth or truth of a piece of online infomation. That way, UMNO would have no need to fear the alternative media at all.

Then again, UMNO has grown too accustomed to oppresive methods after having practised it for decades without any serious challenge. UMNO is now incapable of opening up, and in any event it is unwilling to do so for all sorts of reasons even if it is capable opening up. I for one am absolutely certain that UMNO will not change its way.

The whole mess is the direct result of UMNO’s doing. The author of a wrong cannot rely on the consequences of his wrongdoing to justify his furthering the wrong. But this is precisely what UMNO is doing.

Wrong reporting by the alternative media is bad but blocking the alternative media is not the solution.

In my view UMNO is heading towards political wilderness.

150. #158 by Dr.Ken on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 12:48 pm

It is Good that the PM ,DPM, BN -uMNO,MCA,GERAKAN,MIC DIDN’T learn a lesson from the March 08 election . otherwise Anwar will lose the PP by-election. BN will collapse eventually. w/ najis be the next Leader of BN.Water bottles were hurled at him on election day , which mean the rakyat hate hin so much.Malaysian are very Lucky that Mongolian Altantuya Shaariibuu is not a US citizen otherwise Pres.Bush will sent a fleet of F16, F18 ,A10 , Apache to flatten Putrajaya, parliament house, Bukit Aman, Military Barrack where C4 were taken out to blast Altantuya,& residences of those involved.
    DSAI when u become the PM , please reopen this case so that all persons involved are fully prosecuted. As we all knew that a few pesons involve are not investigated according to 2 S .Declaration
    by bala & RPK.

PP VOTER u do a great job , SYABAS to u all. may God bless u always. we need one bangsa Malaysia.

151. #159 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 12:50 pm

Wow nice one Richard.wong8…

No no i guess RAHMAN chapter should go on to Najis!

R = Rahman
    A = Abdul Razak
    H = Hussein Onn
    M = Mahathir Mohamed
    A = Abdullah Badawi
    N = Najib… BUT

This is the beginning of the BE END. Chapter ENDS there!

152. #160 by Emily Pratt on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 1:23 pm

Speaking of MSM, I now only read the comics section of the Star…. for the Lols of course. That is what they are good for anyway nowadays.

EP

153. #161 by yhsiew on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 2:10 pm

The Permatang Pauh by-election is the shadow of the real thing to come – the emergence of a new Malaysia!

154. #162 by Hishamuddin on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 3:47 pm

YB LIm,
    I wonder how low can the Gerakan, MCA and MIC can go in the BN party. Together they are a formable force but yet they tend to behave like “a door dog” to their abang in UMNO. Always the YES man.

Yesterday I met the an MCA ex MP during breakfast. He boast that now that the the people have elected DAP in Ipoh garden East and challenge what have they done so far. The guy selling the noodles say out loadly, he say ” During your time, what have u also have done ?. We hardly even see your face let alone offer help “. He kept quiet and move away without even finishing his bowl of noodles.

Is there a cure to this ?

155. #163 by limkamput on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 4:31 pm

So is Malaysia Today ‘a blog keep churning out stories that can not be proven or substantiated’ deserving blockage of access as directed by Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission?

You tell me. I am not in the habit of reading Malaysia Today for some reasons.

156. #164 by kutlakut on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 10:00 pm

So is Malaysia Today ‘a blog keep churning out stories that can not be proven or substantiated’ deserving blockage of access as directed by Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission? said limkamput.

Sigh. Long sigh. Come on, let us not swallow this rubbish brandished by the so called MSM aka fourth estate that is the fifth column. Challenge it. We are able to distinguish curses in the bloggs from reports of what really happened.

MSM don’t report on the truth, lie by not not reporting the truth, lie by telling half truths, lie by ommission and we become igonrant. Criminals are not confronted and the criminals continue to raid the pantry. You ask them why did they not report on something that the blogger got wind of? Reply: their source is NOT Verifiable.

Poppycock@! So convinient. The BN fellas had been hoodwinking us for half a century and they won’t want us to know. Thats why they control the press and the journalists become whores of the establishment. Their editors have to consult before publishing the editorias – worthless trash compare to RPK.

Have faith in bloggers who stick their necks out for the sake of the country, so that we may know and do something to get back our country. If more people had known what was going on behind our backs, BN would have been swiped off the slate on March 8. Half the nation did not know! Half the nation did not think that we could have done it, viz shake the corrupt government that is filled with non professionals. We are being ruled by nincompoops, incompetants.

If we had known more and much earlier, then even Mahathir would have been tsunamied out sooner.

The MSM owes us a lot of confession.

157. #165 by limkamput on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 11:00 pm

Kutlakut, I think you have to sort out who said what before you gave your comments.

By all means condemn the msm and I agree with most of it. My question for you and for another fellow too proud to even mention my name when responding to my comment is this: is internet media also becoming like msm? If so, what difference will internet media be in the future?

Don’t talk about naivety with me kutlakut. I saw the follies of mamakthir way before even PKR was born.

158. #166 by aquaimplotec on Friday, 29 August 2008 - 1:37 am

Don’t read biased M’sian news:-
    From CNN——
    KUALA LUMPUR, Malaysia (AP) — Opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim took his place Thursday as a member of Malaysia’s Parliament, a major step in his goal to topple a government weakened by electoral defeats and internal dissent.

……Besides the challenge from Anwar, Prime Minister Abdullah is also facing internal opposition.

Veteran government lawmaker Razaleigh Hamzah, who wants to challenge Abdullah for the leadership of their United Malays National Organization party, said Anwar’s victory meant that “what scraps of credibility (Abdullah) had left” were gone.

Former Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad also said, “Abdullah must take responsibility and resign now.”

His lawmaker son Mukhriz Mahathir also said that with Anwar in Parliament, “we cannot afford to have a weak leadership because it could lead to our downfall.”

Abdullah rejected the calls. “I believe we can still continue the government,” Abdullah was quoted as saying by the Bernama national news agency.

A call for AAB to resign is not complete without a similar call for other National Front coalition party leaders to resign as well. All for the sake of equality and justice, applying this to the little people in the coalition as well.

159. #167 by Bigjoe on Friday, 29 August 2008 - 8:20 am

The question that is in the minds of many especially those of considering crossover to PP is what the PP votes represent. Was it a vote for a hometown boy against outsider mean BN or was it something more?

The Malay vote then to be very loyal to hometown boy, its the basis of BN’s feudal politics. But the negative reaction to outside BN is a national sentiment showing the ineffectiveness of BN negative politics at the local level. If BN continues with its negative politics, it works in favour of PR IF PR is able to build strong local representation.

BN use of money politics, its main positive national drive is not working as well as it used to be. This means that PR promise of delivery of a socialist agenda is working better at the local level.

What is keeping the PR drive from going further, to translate what happened at PP nationally is basically strong candidates at the local level. DAP has done well and continue to build strength in recruitment of strong candidates. PAS has always had strength and continue to do OK. The weak ones remain PR where Anwar must continue to recruit strong candidates especially in Sabah and Sarawak. A decent line-up in Sabah and Sarawak in the next election and Putrajaya is within reach…