Anwar takes his seat as Opposition Leader

Anwar Ibrahim has been sworn in as Member of Parliament for Permatang Pauh when Parliament met this morning following his historic win in Tuesday’s by-election.

The Speaker, Tan Sri Pandikar Amin welcomed Anwar’s return to Parliament after an enforced absence of a decade and announced his appointment as Parliamentary Opposition Leader with immediate effect.

Like the SAPP MP for Sepanggar, Datuk Eric Majimbun (who asked the first question this morning) and the Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz, I took the occasion when putting up a supplementary question of Project Mahathir in Sabah to congratulate Anwar’s return to Parliament after being forced out of the highest legislative chamber of the land for a decade following a second political tsunami in the Permatang Pauh by-election.

I also remarked that Anwar’s return to Parliament is taking place at a time when the the Barisan Nasional ship of state is behaving like the Titanic before its unforgettable sinking into the bottom of the sea.

1. #1 by PSM on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 10:47 am

Congratulations DSAI! Congratulations to the PR & the Permatang Pauh Voters!
    At last , some hope!
    A Happy, Peaceful, United & Blessed 51st Merdeka to all Malaysians!

2. #2 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 10:50 am

I should also say congratulation to Uncle Lim. You are an excellent man to help making this historic moment. Thank you

3. #3 by devilmaster on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 10:53 am

Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, Datuk Seri Najib Aziz…

should read as Nazri Aziz..

4. #4 by boh-liao on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 10:58 am

Getting elected as an MP is not the main issue and not the hard part. Proper service to the nation and the rakyat as an MP, without fear and favour, is the hard part.

May the force be with all MPs who strive to uplift the nation from its current path of sinking into the bottom of the sea!

5. #5 by Freddy on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 11:03 am

Congratulations to Datuk Seri Anwar, Pakatan Rakyat and most of all, to ALL anak Malaysia.

Malaysian Unity … Bangsa Malaysia …

Merdeka!

6. #6 by Mr Tan. on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 11:04 am

We have given Anwar alot of support so far, hopefully Anwar can lead Malaysia towards Bangsa Malaysia, get rid of all the double standard rights, racism and corruptions.
    A Malaysian Malaysia is what all Malaysians are looking ahead for, please do not disappoint us this time, especially for the non-Malays.

7. #7 by xplora on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 11:11 am

Congratulations Uncle Lim, Guan Eng, Anwar and PR!

8. #8 by Mr Tan. on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 11:14 am

Anwar should also look into abolishing the ridiculous laws set by UMNO like : jail before trial (ISA) and found guilty first and fabricate evidence later.

9. #9 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 11:22 am

CONGRATULATION TANIAH DSAI… GROUP HUG!

We love u guys, not to forget PKR members, congrats all!

Malaysia dream team on the move, Fight For Nation Fight for New Merdeka!~

10. #10 by oknyua on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 11:23 am

YB Lim, I am saying it again. Now the dusts have settled in W Malaysia, please direct attention towards the two eastern states, especially Sarawak. Forge a strong working relationship with PKR. Don’t allow PKR take the lead, please. DAP has better machineries, though rusty; activate them.

11. #11 by khairi ali on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 11:25 am

May be BN titanic is going down, but I do hope that Malaysia wont come tumbling down too.

I see some mischief. In US, controversial figures cant make way in any election. But in Malaysian politics, US support controversial figure. I hope Malysia is not being intimidated! Or else the process of Malaysian titanic is taking place.

12. #12 by democrate on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 11:27 am

#I refer specifically the quote from Dr M: ‘He (Anwar) may think that he can buy them but other bidders may have more money’.#
    Hey, the mamak must have practising the money game b4 especially during the political crisis in Sabah btween Pairin and Harris in the 80’s [ if i am not wrong ] otherwise how does he come to know the next bidders will bid higher ?

13. #13 by drmaharajahrk on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 11:32 am

Uncle Lim,

I believe u meant Nazri Aziz and NOT Najib Aziz .

As for Nazri’s accusation that u are a coward for mentioning Project Mahathir, when Mahathir was not in parliament to defend himself………..so when we talk about the Reid Commission, do we need Lord Reid to be there ?

Besides wheh Nazri asked Mahathir to prove if he was a “Jantan ” was Dr Mahathir there ?

14. #14 by ALtPJK on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 11:40 am

Congratulations DS Anwar Ibrahim.

“I shall return” is now complete.

From here begins, we all hope, the journey that will complete the return of the country to the rakyat.

15. #15 by Saint on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 11:43 am

Congratulations to Anwar.
    Lead wisely – Do not let Malaysians down.
    Learn from your mistakes and hardships.
    Many Malaysians are undergoing the same under the “UMNO Laws”.
    Do not forget them.

16. #16 by democrate on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 11:45 am

They threw everything they had at Anwar – Saiful, Ezam, Nala, the American agent, the Jewish Agent, Mr Double-Face, and sellouts to the Malays. Yet he had won with big majority.
    Syabas !

17. #17 by Yee Siew Wah on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 11:52 am

I must apologise to the speaker Tan Sri Pandikar Amin for my remarks on him with regard to DSAI entry to parliament.
    I repeat, sorry, I misunderstood your intentions and character.
    Great that DSAI is now a member of parliament.
    Hope he can bring a better future for malaysia in terms of race, religion, education and not to mention our economy.

18. #18 by I Malaysian on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 11:57 am

I heard someone saying ” Anwar has the aura of leader, in his presence people tend to be tamed”. Isn’t that true from our experience?

19. #19 by Emily Pratt on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 12:06 pm

The Star reported today: “The moment he entered the Dewan, he was instantly surrounded by other Pakatan Rakyat members, including Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng, Selangor Mentri Besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim, DAP veteran Lim Kit Siang and PAS president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang.

However, only three ministers were present in the House for the swearing-in.”

I think The Star was wrong, Anwar was surrounded by ministers-in-waiting. However only three soon to be ex-ministers were present.

EP

20. #20 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 12:08 pm

What did Nazri tell Uncle Lim? Tsunami swept away his opposition leader’s seat? Don’t be silly, UMNO. Uncle Lim and Anwar will be moving to another more important seats soon!

21. #21 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 12:16 pm

lol haha @ I Malaysian…

His a bridge for UNITY, Saviour and a man of Wisdom that proved to be to succeed.

For those BN members, if you really cares for Moral and Dignity behind this event, leave now or never.

22. #22 by Kathy on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 12:27 pm

YB Lim, saw the live segment of you mentioning the titanic bit on RTM 1 this morning. We were not happy with whoever said the words “sudahlah! sudahlah” came out from somewhere. My mother-in-law was angry that someone can actually interject like that (it was her first time seeing the live parlimentary discussion).

She wanted to see the swearing-in of Anwar on TV but since there was none, she was sorely dissappointed.

23. #23 by Godfather on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 12:29 pm

On one occasion in the early 90s, I travelled with Anwar to New York. A group of us had meetings in his hotel room (I think it was the Waldorf Astoria.) On his desk was War & Peace (Tolstoy) which he had just started to read. Anwar remarked that his heavy schedule meant that it seemed to take forever to finish that book. I understand that since then, he has read more classics than anyone else. You cannot help but be changed by the great philosophers of the past.

That is why we must give him a chance. That is why complacents like Badawi and Najis can no longer compete with him.

24. #24 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 12:32 pm

UMNO bigwigs play down the significance of Anwar’s triumphant re-entry into Parliament saying that business is as usual and would not threaten BN’s position as the ruling coalition.

They are wrong.

A no confidence motion on the government cannot be effected without a clear Opposition leader commanding majority in Dewan Rakyat. It is the first prerequisite in any attempt to achieve the same outcome if a motion for a vote of no confidence in Parliament were for any reason denied by the Speaker.

Under our Federal Constitution, the Yang di-Pertuan Agong has to appoint as Prime Minister he who commands the confidence of a majority of the elected lower house of Parliament, the Dewan Rakyat.

What happens if more than half of the Dewan Rakyat Rakyat circumvent prospects of the Speaker’s ruling against such a motion by signing and presenting a petition with signatures of (say) 120 MPs (including BN defectors) out orf the House of 222 to the Yang di-Pertuan Agong to say that the Opposition leader has their confidence instead??

Anwar’s re-entry into Parliament has significance in that it represents a complete political rehabilitation and provides a constitutional platform for him to present himself as the focal point around which the disaffected from the government benches could cross over and rally around for the King to make a call that the Opposition is united and have a credible and available leader commanding majority of the House with which to take over the reins of government.

25. #25 by pselvams on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 12:36 pm

SYABAS TO DSAI AND MORE IMPORTANTLY DATIN SERI DR WAN AZIZAH FOR HAVING THE FAITH IN GOD, TRUST IN HUSBAND AND WILL IN HOLDING PP FOR 10 YEARS.

NOW DSAI WILL HAVE A TASK TO BRING BACK THE GLORY OF RICH MALAYSIA TO THE PEOPLE OF MALAYSIA.

THIS CAN ONLY BE POSSIBLE WITH ALL THE HELP FROM PR LEADERS AND THE PUBLIC . TOLERANCE IS A VIRTUE. PLEASE HELP DSAI TO MAKE THE PEOPLES DREAM COME TRUE.

FROM A CITIZEN WITH VOTING RIGHTS.

26. #26 by wanderer on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 12:38 pm

I am waiting for the moment, for the whole opposition now, dance across floor to the other side. It will certainly make my day!

27. #27 by Godfather on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 12:42 pm

I watched him as a student radical in the 70s and 80s. I was a skeptic when he accepted Mahathir’s invitation to join UMNO because I was part of the system that “invented” deals and overpriced deals for UMNO cronies, and I knew that the power of money of such vested interests would soon overwhelm any idealist. I knew then that Anwar would either become one of them, or be kicked out for speaking his mind. He tried a balancing act from within. We talked about the looting by Mahathir’s children and by Mahathir’s cronies, in particular Daim. Anwar said he needed more time to change what was an entrenched system.

I watched with dismay as Anwar persisted with the wrong advice from a wrong group of people. Only Azmin stayed the course with him. When the Asian Financial Crisis hit in 1998, Anwar thought that this was the chance to follow IMF advice, devalue the currency drastically and take the bitter pill. He also thought that the requirement for transparency under the IMF umbrella would spell the end of Mahathir’s nepotism and cronyism. Of course Mahathir disagreed. Ahmad Don, the BNM governor, was summarily sacked, and a person whom the ACA caught with RM 200,000 in his drawer was promoted by Mahathir to be the new BNM governor. Anwar was sacked as finance minister, and the person who lost RM 12 billion of our money gambling on FX was installed as special economic advisor.

Those were really dark days for truth, transparency and integrity. I think Anwar has learnt a heck of a lot since then.

28. #28 by drmaharajahrk on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 12:45 pm

Nazri said the Tsunami moved YB Lim Kit Siang from the 1st seat in the opposition bench…….thats only a small “wave” my friend…..

A true tsunami will see Nazri and his bunch of jokers across the floor in the opposition benches soon ………..

29. #29 by renaissance.MY on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 12:48 pm

congratulation to DSAI for returning to Dewan Rakyat in style by winning P44 with a bigger margin

renaissance.MY’s last blog … Anwar In Parliament

30. #30 by swipenter on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 12:49 pm

What can I say but “WELCOME BACK” to DSAI. Make us proud again as Malaysians unlike Umno/BN who turned us into the laughing stock of the world. Correct! Correct! Correct!

31. #31 by taiking on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 12:54 pm

“YES THE HONOURABLE LEADER OF THE OPPOSITION”

32. #32 by Elwin Heng on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 12:59 pm

RTM didn’t live broadcast during Anwar Ibrahim has been sworn in as MP for Permatang Pauh when parliament met this morning!

Timid-or-Coward!
    Irrespective Nazri, non-standard!
    Dynasty Tun M, no doubt you-&-me dare not challenge and comment even I/we seem some proposals submitted were irrelevant and “out of scope”, right!

Congratulation and salute to DSAI, PR!
    Foresee and awaiting CHANGE, Pakatan Rakyat(PR)!

For our own security, PR MPs please assure Budget2009 with the spirit of Competency, Accountability and Transparency(CAT)!

Victory of 308-&-826, YES, I/we want change for a new Malaysia where all states and Malaysians whether Malays, Chinese, Indians, Sabahans, Sarawakians and others, have an equal RM funds subsidy (ignorant of Kelantan, Kedah, Penang, Perak & Selangor) and just place under the Malaysian sun.

BN, bare in mind, Malaysia Malaysian Unity, 51th Merdeka!

TQ.
    Warmest regards.

33. #33 by Godfather on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 1:01 pm

Badawi had the opportunity in 2003 to make history by rehabilitating Anwar within UMNO, but it would mean that Badawi had to sacrifice half of the Supreme Council of tainted Mahathirites – Najis, Nazri, Rafidah, Mike Tyson, Tengku Adnan, Aziz Shamsuddin, etc. Badawi instead chose to keep the status quo.

I think when the 4th Floor boys unlocked the country’s Treasury, they simply refused to give up the key.

34. #34 by RKP on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 1:02 pm

There is something about this man,Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

He is an ordinary man but doing extraordinary things in Malaysia.
    The people around him are also doing extraordinary things.Pakatan Rakyat is doing things that were never done before in Malaysian history. Pakatan Rakyat is an extraordinary party.There is ‘Somebody Stronger’ behind this party.

We are going to witness the impossible happen.With ordinary men like us, everything seems impossible to us.But, with that ‘Somebody Stronger’ behind us, the impossible will become possible.

The days to rejoice are fast approaching!!!

35. #35 by drmaharajahrk on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 1:06 pm

not only did RTM not show Datuk Seri’s swearing in at parliament today, they also didnt show him sitting in his seat through out the 30 minutes live telecast……….

real childish behaviour by RTM [ of course under instruction from their superiors ]

36. #36 by La Pax on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 1:09 pm

Congratulations to DSAI! the chinese/indian/malay stand by you!
    We pray for PR to excel!

37. #37 by boh-liao on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 1:11 pm

General Douglas MacArthur vowed: “I shall return.”
    And was it the Terminator who sneered: “I’ll be back”?

38. #38 by k1980 on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 1:14 pm

And Dollah sobbed: “I shall return (to Kepala Batas to retire)”

39. #39 by Godfather on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 1:18 pm

The whole world is watching, and Anwar knows it.

http://edition.cnn.com/2008/WORLD/asiapcf/08/27/malaysia.anwar.ap/index.html

40. #40 by teacher on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 1:28 pm

Its been great to know thar DSAI is back in parliament today. Was all prepared in front of tv waiting to see swearing in but not shown. Raakyats money used for transmission but we not given the real things but shown only crap when flip flop talks his rubbish.
    Nazri was so childish telling LKS about the tsumani of being moved and he had his fellow idiots cheering.This bunch of monkeys need to be evicted from this august house and it will happen soon. Akan datang!!!!!!!!!

41. #41 by newchief on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 1:28 pm

To Datuk Lim & all PK
    is there anyway datuk can arrange to record whole parliament sitting witout censoring for rakyat like us to see on internet ?? if has, pls let me know the site network.

i want to see how ALL MP debate , shout , sleep or bury themselves which i think will come mostly out from barbaric nationalist (BN) . thank you

42. #42 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 1:33 pm

RKP Says:
    Today at 13: 02.45 (19 minutes ago)

*We are going to witness the impossible happen.With ordinary men like us, everything seems impossible to us.But, with that ‘Somebody Stronger’ behind us, the impossible will become possible.

Yes man, unity is power. With that force nothing is impossible we can break them!

(i/m/possible)… Hidup Rakyat!

43. #43 by drmaharajahrk on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 1:35 pm

teacher,

if Nazri calls Lim Kit Siang change of a few seats a ” Tsunami “, I wonder what he will call the whole BN sitting in opposition bench soon ……………..

44. #44 by oknyua on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 1:37 pm

“Anwar was sacked as finance minister, and the person who lost RM 12 billion of our money gambling on FX was installed as special economic advisor.” Godfather

I think to be specific, he was instructed by the “diam” man.

45. #45 by alancheah on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 1:51 pm

Uncle Lim, I saw you on TV just now saying that Titanic sinking statement. It was funny… LOL.
    But, what you mentioned is true! :)

And… congratulation to Anwar Ibrahim.
    Hope that this country have a better future.

46. #46 by yhsiew on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 2:07 pm

Once Anwar TAKES his seat, the BN will try to REMOVE his seat. Anwar must tread carefully in the days that lie ahead. Good luck Anwar!

47. #47 by Jamesy on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 2:27 pm

Uncle Lim,

Out of topic. But this is the first time that MCMC has ever order all ISPs in Malaysia to block a particular website, thereby breaching the MSC Malaysia 10-points Bill of Guarantees.

It’s such a serious breach in freedom of speech and expression!

48. #48 by PHUAKL on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 2:29 pm

Dear YB Lim

Anwar Ibrahim is a real “Duppy Conqueror”!

As the great reggae star Bob Marley wrote in his song:

The bars could not hold me/Force could not control me
    They try to keep I down/But Jah put I around
    Yes, I’ve been accused/Wrongly abused now
    But through the power of the Most High/They got to turn me loose now

P.S. Duppy = Jamaican English for evil spirit (and therefore, by extension, evil people).

Phua Kai Lit

49. #49 by PHUAKL on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 2:33 pm

Hi YB Lim

May I add one more comment:

Titanic is sinking after hitting Anwarberg. But where is the Captain FIL and his First Officer SIL? Rearranging the deck chairs?
    Or perhaps trying to blast Anwarberg by showering
    “Vitamin M” around?

Phua Kai Lit

50. #50 by pselvams on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 2:47 pm

YB LKS,

I would like to propose to your goodself to speak to your son who is doing a wonderful job as CM of Penang.

YB LGE is on the right track when he proposes and awards sportspersons with honorific title such as Datukships. I think this is great, instead of offering this awards to corrupt business people of politician who do nothing for the good of the community, awarding of honorifics to sportspeople who carry the Malaysian flag with glory and victory should be encouraged.

In this context, we should now consider higher honorifics to people like DSAI who have gone through we know what to be where he is today. This is a joy for the people of MALAYSIA, let alone a few sour grapes.

YB LGE should consider a TAN SRI or better still TUN title for our leader Anwar Ibrahim before he takes on the premiership. This will make him the first premier entering the office with such great honours.

Please talk to your son please.

51. #51 by yhsiew on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 3:11 pm

# Jamesy Says:
    Today at 14: 27.30 (35 minutes ago)

Uncle Lim,

Out of topic. But this is the first time that MCMC has ever order all ISPs in Malaysia to block a particular website, thereby breaching the MSC Malaysia 10-points Bill of Guarantees.

It’s such a serious breach in freedom of speech and expression!
    ——————————————————————-

Only Streamyx has blocked the “Malaysia-Today” website. The solution is very simple, just change the Internet Service Provider. I may consider switching from Streamyx to Wi-Max when the latter becomes available towards the end of the year.

What is the use of paying to Streamyx when they shut down websites and try not to let you access them?

52. #52 by trublumsian on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 3:11 pm

amen to that, godfather.

in another post i commented on my differing viewpoint from bakri musa’s. he had said tdm had stood a good course in the face of imf’s demand for transparency n monetary policies in exchange for bail. tdm took no money n did well compared to the other asian tigers that did. 11 years on, we see who did the right thing. malaysia’s economy stagnated at best, while the other countries like korea flies by. tdm wouldn’t have make it had transparency been installed.

53. #53 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 3:12 pm

Tuns and Tan Sri are honorific senior federal titles awarded by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong on recommendation of the Federal Government/Ministers – not by State govt. :)

54. #54 by scorpian6666 on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 3:22 pm

A Malay fighting for Humanity across races in Malaysia would be a new world record!
    That’s what I called “Man Enough!” … nah “TAN SRI”, “TUN” …are for people like Dr. M and his kinds … I would rather remember ANWAR as ANWAR (down to earth) ….. sound to me like a glorious WARRIOR !
    NOT forgetting sweet manly name like LIM KIT SIANG
    It would a few more generations before “TAN SRI” and “TUN” restore their original intended statue
    Keep the FIRE BURNING !

55. #55 by Godfather on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 3:33 pm

trublumsian:

Yes, 10 years on, some Asian countries that took the bitter IMF medicine may have done better than Bolehland, but we must also not forget that the past 5 years under flip-flop Badawi has got to be the worst in terms of direction and policy. We can of course put the blame squarely on Mamakthir for destroying meritocracy and inducing severe brain drain where the best Malaysians end up working in Singapore and Hong Kong.

Mamakthir had no choice in 1998. If the books were to be opened to the IMF, his sons and cronies will have had to declare bankruptcy.

56. #56 by Godfather on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 3:34 pm

sorry, typo…” ….would have had…”

57. #57 by ahoo on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 3:39 pm

YB Kit,

Unity is strength ! We just love the sight of peoples who are colour blind during the campaign period in PP. Congratulation to the peoples of PP and to all peace loving Malaysians. We are witnessing a new dawn in politics where the power of money cannot dictate peoples votes.

Just ignore cheap words by the bn minister in parliament as you are geared for greater things in life. The satisfaction of a job well done is more meaningful in life than clamouring for a position in parliament. You have indeed serve Malaysians well and I can vouch that not many can come to your standard in sincererity and integrity to see true changes for Malaysia.

Use your wisdom to nuture more party members to excel in their quest for changes in Malaysia by engaging the Malay youths into understanding that DAP represents democracy for all without compromising their rights as agreed upon. We want them to succeed too not by ways of bn cronism but by virtue of doing the Right thing.

Change is inevitable and success will come to those who dares to try. Let the maxim of what you know comes back to us instead of who you know as under the concept of who you know will breed corruption to the highest order. Without any transparency, just like the era of 22 years MM rules, where cronies literally cause this nation to suffers much with overpriced highways, forex losses, bailout of failed projects, pursuing dream towers and many more which when written could runs into hundreds of pages.

This nation could have been better than a small dot down south if only the leaders then had not marginalised those who are capable and caused such a brain drain that has now cause the country to search for expertise abroad. The best brains that M’sia discard is just across the causeway and I strongly believe that many will return to contribute when meritocracy is reinstated. We need to enrich the nation’s coffer in order for the people to have a better
    livelihood and let the govt that cares for the peoples take over if the current govt insist on business as usual.

With minimal corruption, this nation can certainly gives more to the poor and needy as we are blessed with much natural resources and not forgetting the many brilliant brains that are in the opposition in parliament for now as they will eventually change side to be the govt and still with their integrity intact. I salute your stand for democracy for Malaysia and no amount of praise can anyone offers to replace the honour that you fought and continues to fight all these years for a better Malaysia.

58. #58 by Hishamuddin on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 3:40 pm

YB Lim,

U are talking about theose current BN MP whom have no brains. It is just a simply waste of time to even having to mention them.

Their brains will eventually rot with the Titanic.

59. #59 by milduser on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 4:05 pm

Only an irresponsible gomen will pass the buck to its predecessor. The Mamak Project should be answered by the present gomen whether the Mamak is around or dead. That Nazri attitude is deplorable, not fit to be an MP and a minister. If he can’t answer the question, just say so. Better still, just say I’m new and ignorant to all this. Say maybe we should summon that Mamak to answer and not say LKS is a coward for asking the question when the Mamak is not around. STUPID minister. How he got voted in is beyond me. That’s a sample reflection of how our MPs answer questions – sub-standard compared to other countries parliamentarians, like Singapore.

60. #60 by Toyol on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 4:37 pm

Congrats to DSAI and to PKR, DAP and PAS for making this a reality. Looks like tossing away our racial and skin color is the way forward. BN is set to belong to a quack museum.

I hope DSAI and PR can bring about the change that we Malaysians have been found wanting under BN’s rule. I hope that one day, with DSAI at the helm, that M’sia can cast aside its prejudices and work together towards a common goal.

61. #61 by akarmalaysian on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 4:39 pm

congratulations to anwar ibrahim.i dun care who is gonna champion for ketuanan melayu,ketuanan china or ketuanan india.these are all greedy liars championing for their own pockets.but if thrs somebody who will really champion for bangsa malaysia then i am willing to sit down and listen.nazri and all those…..their days are numbered.

62. #62 by 7even Sins on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 5:06 pm

CONGRATULATIONS TO DATO SRI ANWAR IBRAHIM AND CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL WARRIORS OF PAKATAN RAKYAT..!

GO & GET THEM, TIGER..!!!

63. #63 by boh-liao on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 7:32 pm

Very few BN ministers were there to witness the swearing in of AI.

Ya loh, perhaps most BN ministers were busy making plans to leave the country next month. Got to consult MM where to go. Got to talk to bank managers to move funds overseas. Got to talk to real estate agents to buy houses overseas. Got to make plans for family members, girl friends, boy friends, thisful, thatful, ……… Sibuk lah.

64. #64 by sirrganass on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 10:39 pm

31,000 votes for DSAI from a total of 58,400 voters in P.Pauh. Only 47,000 voters voted that day. 32% of them are Non-Malays. Let’s say 100% chinese+indian voted, so you have 15,000 votes from Non-Malays. The balance of 16,000 votes came from where? From the MALAYS. You see: 16,000 Malays from P Pauh voted for DSAI and what does that mean?

1) The Malays themselves have rejected UMNO, no need for DAP to work so hard to condemn BN!

2) The MALAYS of PERMATANG PAUH have help DAP’s dream of bringing DSAI to the PARLIMENT and to lead the oppositions. In this blog, all DAP members wish for the return of DSAI. And finally you get it. DSAI is here because the Malays in P Pauh want him to be here too.

The conclusion is: Just bear in mind that if DAP happens to be successful and manages to achieve your Malaysian’ Malaysia policy through DSAI, then, “it is simply because the decision of the majority of Malays in P Pauh“.

Please don’t ever forget this for the rest of your life. Please!

Just like the success of our badminton star in Beijing… is because of Misbun – partially, of course!

65. #65 by aquaimplotec on Thursday, 28 August 2008 - 11:38 pm

Its time to attack the 2009 Budget, the vehicle of funding of UMNOputra corrupt practices.

All compartments of the Titanic’s hull must be breached! The derailment of the NEP funding from the 2009 Buget allocation will be the Titanic sinking iceberg.

The abolition of the exorbitant exise duty on motor vehicles and withdrawal of subsidies for Proton monstrosity; and

The abolition of the newly introduced direct assessment of companies will bring back the imputation system and will benefit all retired Malaysians who will get back their tax credits from holding investments at a time when they have no earned income; and

The abolition of the AP requirement for import of vehicles; and

The winding up of Perwaja dinosaur and elimination of restrictions to let us have cheaper imported steel; and

The abolition of road toll for the PLUS highway; and

The control of the Petronas slushfund by parlimentarians; and

Effect a ban on participation by members of parliament and their next of kin on government funded projects.

That should bleed the cancer cells dry of sustenance and crack the bulkheads of Titanic corruption.

66. #66 by undergrad2 on Friday, 29 August 2008 - 5:58 am

Jamesy Says:

Yesterday at 14: 27.30
    Uncle Lim,

“It’s such a serious breach in freedom of speech ”

Oh yeah!! Never knew that!!

67. #67 by newchief on Friday, 29 August 2008 - 10:37 am

DSAI claims he can boot BN out on September 16 with the help of present BN MPs to join PK . How i wish this can really happen but regretfully and sad to say, I DOUBT SO. The reason being so are :

1) there is no provision in MALAYSIAN CONSTITUTION that says even having more than 30 BN MPs to join PK that this will make BN to give way to PK just as simple as that.

the provision CLEARLY stated that once a person vacate his/her constituency (to join opposition or retire or sudden death) , that particular place WILL HAVE TO GO FOR RE-ELECTION. So, even if there is a fresh election, it doesn’t really guarantee a WIN for PK so i don’t think the present BN MPs will want to take the risks as they all know BN always played dirty during election times. Unless PK can ASSURE these BN MPs with confidence and that they will still be MP for PK, then, there might be a chance for them to do so (by joining PK on September 16th).

2)Due to DSAI upcoming courtcase, BN MPs feels that their future are not guaranteed so they might do the wait and see attitude. Only if DSAI case has been judged FAIRLY and defended by his really GOOD LAWYERS and if he is acquitted, only maybe then they will decide to join.

3) to have a majority suddenly with the joining of 30 BN MPs and approaching for Agung’s advice to either change government or request for a freah election again, i fear that BN will MAKE SURE that this meeting with the Agung will not materialise (remember Hindra’s supporters goign to Istana but Police & Red Heads awaiting outside and threaten to arrest using ‘public disturbances’ and ISA as excuses?

Without having to seek Agung’s attention, BN will surely impose ISA or worst – State of Emergency on Malaysia.

4) An alternative way to have BN oust out is to have mast country public demonstrations demanding for BN to step down. However, as said , BN will use State of Emergency and start arresting people. It is sad also that since we want a change for the better, we don’t have the guts to fight for it so asking rakyat to have demo will not materialise either .

With all said, it really disgusts me that DSAI can never become PM unless maybe in the next election which is 5 years from now. Worst senario is maybe he will be framed once again for sodomy case & be put to jail for max of 20 years !! If there is no robust politican to replace him, then it is the end of Malaysian rakyat especially the lower income people.

Only God is our hope to hear our prayers that some miracles will fall upon Malaysia to make it to be a better place to live and enjoy our spendings no matter how big or small it is.

68. #68 by shamshul anuar on Friday, 29 August 2008 - 10:07 pm

Dear Sirganass,

Yes. The Malays do accept Anwar in Permatang Pauh. And sizable still also vote for UMNO. However, a win is a win. Congratulation to Anwar.

However, I wish Anwar to have the same humility as PM. If PM can accept that PKR won in Selangor, I ( and I think practically all Malaysians with the exception of Uncle Lim of course) to accept reality that at federal level, BN still win, albeit on fewer majority.

As such, Anwar must accept reality of the situation. If he isa championing “ketuanan Rakyat”, well they have spoken. They delivered 5 states to PAS, DAP, PKR but decided to Federal Govt to BN.

So, please respect the decision. In other words, if he wants to become PM, well contest in the next election. Do not sacrifice the country just to fulfill your life long ambition. In other words. no need to condemn Malaysia before Indonesian audience in Jakarta by saying election in Malaysia is maniupulated. Is he saying that he won in 1982,86,90 and 1995 throuigh maniulating election.

However, I must admit many admire his ability to slander his real opponent, Najib, by conducting non stop campaign linking DPM with Altantuya while so reluctant to swear when challenged by many, not only from UMNO. I must also register my admiration on how PAS after condemning him as being homosexuals and challewnging DR Mahathir to sack him as early as July 1998, can sacrifice its Islamic image just for political gain.