Police Paralysis of KL and Klang Valley – preview of a Police State

Never before in the nation’s history has there been such a massive police mobilisation, paralysing the Federal Capital and the Klang Valley as today creating a massive traffic chaos, when there is totally no cause. It is a preview of what a Police State could be like.

In the past two days, the police had created infernal traffic congestions with roadblocks in Kuala Lumpur and the surrounding areas locking up the Klang Valley, purportedly to forestall a Pakatan Rakyat public gathering or demonstration in or near Parliament because of the Standing Order 18 no-confidence motion today which is to be presented by the Parliamentary Opposition Leader, Datuk Seri Wan Azizah Ismail after question time at 11.30 am.

The Speaker, Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia not only rejected Azizah’s no-confidence motion, he also rejected my motion under Standing Order 26(1)(p) to refer the Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan to the Parliamentary Privileges Committee for failing to comply with the parliamentary motion dated 28th April 2008 directing the IGP to ensure that MPs are not obstructed in their passage to and from parliamentary meetings.

Many MPs from both sides of the House met with police obstruction today and did not have free passage to Parliament, which is against the specific parliamentary directive to the IGP contained in the parliamentary motion of April 28, 2008.

No good or convincing reasons were given for the rejection of both motions by the Speaker. In the protracted arguments in the Dewan Rakyat over my proposed privilege motion, I had occasion to remark that a Speaker should not speak too much – and that the best Speaker is one who does not speak.

Today is indeed a black day for Parliament. Under the doctrine of separation of powers, Parliament is co-equal to the Executive and should be fully informed by the police of any developments justifying the adoption of extraordinary measures hampering not only the free movement of MPs, but also free public access to Parliament.

In this particular case, the police had no cause whatsoever to launch a massive mobilisation causing great inconvenience and even hardships to members of the public for three days, as Pakatan Rakyat had not organised or issued any call for any gathering or demonstration in or near Parliament today.

This was why there was pandemonium in Parliament this morning for some 45 minutes – the first episode over my motion to refer the IGP to Privileges Committee and the second episode over the rejection of Azizah’s Standing Order 18 motion of no-confidence in the Prime Minister.

The Pakatan Rakyat MPs staged a walkout in protest against the rejection of the no-confidence motion as well as the synthetic security crisis created by the police in the past three days causing great inconveniences to the public when there was no cause or justification – and will boycott the rest of the parliamentary sitting today.

Video clips of the two episodes are available as follows:
Motion under Standing Order 26(1)(p) [Part 1 of 4]

Motion under Standing Order 26(1)(p) [Part 2 of 4]

Motion under Standing Order 26(1)(p) [Part 3 of 4]

Motion under Standing Order 26(1)(p) [Part 4 of 4]

No Confidence under Standing Order 18(1) [Part 1 of 2]

No Confidence under Standing Order 18(1) [Part 2 of 2]

Print Friendly

1. #1 by pakpandil on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 11:32 am

BN Government bloc the roads to inconvenience the public. The ‘rakyat’ are suffering but BN is ignoring this fact. We will vote for Pakatan Rakyat in the next general election/ by-election.

2. #2 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 11:37 am

“…one is not responsible to the nation as such motion of no confidence affects adversely the markets and investors’ confidence (not to mention traffic ..” Jeffrey

I believe investor confidence has been adversely affected by events for some time now – culminating in the ‘08 GE. Any challenges to the status quo necessarily bring with them some political instability and investors do not like political instability because of the economic uncertainty involved and the increased exposure to their capital which ‘change’ brings. The political opposition filing a no-confidence motion against the PM in Parliament is a symptom of that ‘change’. It has already been factored into their calculations.

The longer the crisis of leadership within UMNO continues, the worse it gets.

In a developed country, the mere mention of a scandal involving a Minister is enough to make that Minister want to step down or be made to step down because of the media attention and the distraction involved in refuting allegations which have nothing to do with the business of government. But, of course, Malaysia is a third world country and could not be compared to others in the developed world – and what’s more it is living up to its name!

The fact that an issue as important as a no-confidence motion against a sitting Prime Minister has to be mentioned in the same breath as traffic jams merely adds to the confusion.

Have we not made enough mockery of our system of government?

3. #3 by limkamput on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 11:53 am

OK, PR, show it to us you can do one thing solid. Seek an explanation from the Home Minister and the IGP. Ask them to explain why the road blocks. Seek RELENTLESSLY for their resignation if no credible explanation is forecoming. Please don’t play game unless the inconvenience of the people is nothing to you and BN. Take on an issue can carry to its very end. Can you do it?

4. #4 by pjboy on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 11:54 am

Are there any legal grounds for rakyat to sue the BN gov for causing the traffic jam or road blocks unnecessarily. It is also loss of business to many many retailers, etc in the city & the surrounding town areas.

What the BN is implying is that the rakyat is dumb & barbarians only know how to protest-protest only. We know better than that & who are the real barbarian-minds.

We got better things to do. Make more road blocks & all the tourists to our lovely country will never come back.

Imagine, after driving for over 3-4 hours on North-South highway & getting stuck in a no-reason traffic jam for over 1 hour covering only 1-2km. All for the sake of protecting the powers that be. This is pea-brain action. What is BN afraid of? The rakyat or PR, or both? Not to mention all the fuel wasted & pollution caused by this moronic action. IF there were any rally or protest, it will be centralised in one area…not the entire city. As RPK said “Bodoh”. At least traffic will still be normal. This is not the 1st time.

The PDRM can put up those ‘baywatch’ style towers to observe traffic during festive seasons…why can’t they do the same here. Instead of putting priority into catching mat rempits, snatch thieves, etc – PDRM is only interested in protecting the VIPs (Very Idiotic Politicians). Innocent rakyat getting robbed, raped, etc is not high on the agenda of the BN gov but only to safeguard their political power is. A sodomy case is now the highest priority – using all up available resources. The sodomy case seem to work faster than any other high profile & more important to nation cases too! Wonder why? Many people are baffled how our legal system works & how cases are categorised for priority. Sodomy case must be on top of all others, even if it bankrupt the nation.

Suggest all those who suffered due to the traffic jams caused by the road-blocks file a class action suit. This is especially those who needed to rush to hospital. Imagine someone just suffered a heart attack or stroke & died due to the jam coz couldn’t get to the hospital in time. Not to mention, tourist that just arrived from KLIA – tired & all – looking forward to the city, checking into comfortable hotel…but caught in a jam. What a way to welcome guests to the country.

5. #5 by limkamput on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 12:12 pm

PJboy, well said, and I think most can relate to the inconvenience caused. But I think it is pointless to sue the “government” because even if you succeed, it will take years and the penalty will be on the “government” paying out from the national coffer which is our money anyway. I think some specific person or persons in the government, the Home Minister or the IGP must be made to suffer materially. They must be sacked, demoted or fined personally for causing havoc to the city for nothing. PR must pursue this RELENTLESSLY, unless you too don’t care about the people. This is a typical example of politician engaging in shenanigans, the people suffer.

6. #6 by badak on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 12:19 pm

I saw both the TV3 8 PM news and the chiness news on NTV 7 at 9.30 pm.It really sucks when TV3 only shows one sided news.Im talking about the non showing of Anwar at the police station for his stament to be recorded.
    TV3 only showed the press statement by the CID Director.TV3 made it sound like Anwar is hiding from the police.My family and i also thought that Anwar was hiding from the police.
    But after watchng NTV7 CHINESS NEWS.It showed both the press statement by the CID Director and by Anwar,s wife. For those who only saw TV3 NEWS .Let me share with you NTV7 CHINESS NEWS.
    Wan azizah said “” 15 police officers came to my house to take Anwar to the balai for questioning.At that
    time we were in Penang,no one was home.Anwar have given full support to the police .They have our phone numbers at no time were we infom by the police that they wanted to question Anwar.
    I hope this will clear some doubts from those who only watch UMNO CONTROL TV3.
    By the way the CID Director sounds like an UMNO member.The police shoud no take sides on any issues.When you have some one as high as the CID dIrector taking sides then its sad.

7. #7 by cheng on on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 1:56 pm

If they are so paranoid, then anybody can just say, there is a protest gathering every day in KL, then are they going to block road every day? What the f..k is this police good for? the would be thieves and robbers can just spread protest news every day, and there will be not enaf police to monitor these bad hats??

8. #8 by pjboy on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 2:02 pm

They should just block Putrajaya & leave the rakyat alone. The roadblocks are worst than rally or protest. In the UK, rally or protest are common. Most of the time it is peaceful. Unless provoked by authorities. Who in the right mind would want to gather & fight in a crowd? Provocation can be within (moles planted to cause trouble) or external – unreasonable use of force & water cannons.

All of these events have been successful in burying the issue on the indelible ink…up to now, no proof for cause to cancel the use of the ink. Where are the illegal importers of the ink?

9. #9 by highhand on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 2:16 pm

its a mockery of parliment,
    its a insult to civil liberties,
    its a disgrace to democracy

with all the police in full gear and assault weapons toying around,
    some day some innocent civilian will be mistakenly shot at n mati katak

10. #10 by monsterball on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 3:03 pm

I have a strange feeling….every minister is encouraged to freely talk or act….to win votes for UMNO….and UMNO have high regards for Nazi’s decisions…as most have no guts……or no creative ideas.
    One who tried with a Kris….got blown off..now very tame and mild.
    Then one.. righteous….tame and mild mannered….from Johore…sacked by Mahathir…came back…now a minister….
    Before the 12th election…fear factors were put into actions…with tear gas and water canons.
    They are at it again..creating fear factor….now targeted on Anwar.
    With the road blocks..it is painting the picture.Anwar is dangerous and hell of a troublesome man.
    It is also telling Malaysians to keep supporting Anwar..this is what we can expect more and more.
    Anything for UMNO…all ministers are encouraged to act..and look at that nobody….what is his name..Ezam??…..challenging Anwar…with powerful words of warning to Anwar.
    Such are the signs of desparados….for Anwar have only to prove Najib is a liar….that will bury UMNO for good.
    Malaysians are patiently waiting for Anwar to deliver…and stop predicting…talking.
    I look forward to to-night’s debate.
    Don’t tell me..police will arrest him tonight?

11. #11 by Kathy on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 3:30 pm

Thank you Undergrad2 for the great comments and suggestions.

For a motion of no confidence to succeed in this case it would need bipartisan support. Is Pakatan confident that it has enough bipartisan support to succeed?

I agree with you on the above statement. If the no confidence motion is just a symbolic thing, then it would be best not to have it at all.

Most of us would actually want to see something more concrete from Pakatan than just the words and promises.

12. #12 by moy yew hon on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 6:14 pm

the speaker talks like a duck… he should be the voice for disney’s donald duck

13. #13 by moy yew hon on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 6:19 pm

another thing about pandikar amin … his english sucks… pls dont try to speak english when your english sucks